Sleek kit to provide Bok edge

Canterbury has unveiled the revolutionary new Bok kit designed to give the team every advantage at the World Cup.

The new kit is the result of three years of development and testing by Canterbury designers in conjunction with Loughborough University in the United Kingdom.

nbj.jpg

“The jersey caters for the needs of different player positions,” said Canterbury MD Paul Zacks. “Design features include the placement of specific grips on the jersey to improve ball retention whilst running and to enhance binding in the scrum.

“The jersey features short and long sleeve options, as well as a cap sleeve version which has been developed specifically for the props to reduce manipulation by opposition props at the scrum. A new offset loop neck and slimfit design will help players evade collar and jersey tackles.”

nbj2.jpg

Movement is also enhanced by an underarm stretch panel and a new super lightweight Temex fabric that significantly reduces moisture retention and the weight of the jersey. The fabric also wicks perspiration away from the skin to the jersey surface which prevents overheating and discomfort.

The William Webb Eliis Trophy with the legend 1995 are embroidered on the right arm sleeve, and this feature has been included for all previous World Cup winners. Incidentally, Canterbury are making new jerseys for Australia, Scotland, Ireland and Japan, but Zacks confirmed the Springbok jersey boasts the most features.

The shorts have grip panels for line-out jumpers to aid lifting technique and also feature a slim design to prevent opposition interference during the line-out. There are grip handles on the Boks’ shorts, a unique feature that improves binding at the scrum. The shorts’ lightweight material also provides greater agility.

The socks have an open weave structure that allows air and moisture to escape. In a break from tradition, the stripes have been dropped. The sock will be all green except for a gold panel at the back of the calf which is designed to manage the build up of lactic acid and thus reduce cramp.

All these changes have been made after a lengthy research process that also involved many of the Bok players themselves.

“It makes sense to test new developments with the athletes who are going to make use of the kit,” said Bok captain John Smit. “The innovations that are used in the new Canterbury kit are fantastic and the players are excited about putting them to good use during the World Cup.”

480 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 » Show All

• 351.TheMightyQuin: Reply to this comment

I actually quite like the Q in the collar.

• 352.nr nine: Reply to this comment

It looks nice!!!

• 353.vindicated: Reply to this comment

Oh yeah – the McBride case could also still be quite a revelation too

• 354.Dawn: Reply to this comment

vindicated

Please go away and go stand in front of your local news agent for the next 8 hours.

• 355.AussieInCT: Reply to this comment

to those that were laughing at the new wallaby strip last week..eat pie..cause this bok strip is KAK..

• 356.Dawn: Reply to this comment

And while you’re at it, get your copy of that Harry Potter ****.

You seem like the type.

• 357.vindicated: Reply to this comment

Auntie

“go stand in front of your local news agent”

what era are you from – news obviously travels slow to the flat lands – theres a thing called the internet now that provides the same service

• 358.SW: Reply to this comment

Tour de France here we come!

• 359.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Aussie in CT… (long arm short arm) they are the same strip!

• 360.vindicated: Reply to this comment

Back to topic

I dont really like the new Bok strip – it makes the players look a little soft

but on the other hand, that will probably suit the modern day Bok player

• 361.stavros: Reply to this comment

#344 Bod

I am not in SA, could you tell me what THAT story is?
    Thanks

• 362.vindicated: Reply to this comment

AussieInCT

whick part of the Cape you in ?

• 363.stavros: Reply to this comment

So do you like the Aussie one then?

• 364.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I want to get you away from this website, silly.

• 365.vindicated: Reply to this comment

Stavos

Yes – i do like the Aussie one, it looks harder and tougher than the Boks Power Ranger suit

What I especially like on the Aussie top is the TWO little cup things on the sleve

• 366.ufo: Reply to this comment

#341…

They make money from selling the replica’s to fans… With rugby in Aus being the 23rd most important sport, they hardly make big numbers there… go to any Bok game and see how many Saffers buy the kit… They DO make big bucks out of it… they don’t do it for charity… Still think they coulda made the jerseys appreciably different…

thanks for the wicking expplanation… any take on the one long sleeve…?

• 367.Dawn: Reply to this comment

And the two little cup things over their lactating breasts.

• 368.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

What about the socks ? Last time I saw socks like that was on a Japanese School-Girl Hooker …

• 369.AussieInCT: Reply to this comment

vindicated .. the view outside my window is a close up of Table Mountain.

stavros..no not really..the bok one is just plain bland..but both look good with healthly pair of man-boobs under there…LOL

I did not hear Naas Botha eat his words for bagging the aussie strip on boots and all last night..and god I was looking forward to that!

• 370.vindicated: Reply to this comment

I think we have our very own school girl hooker as a contributor to this site

• 371.vindicated: Reply to this comment

AussieInCT

originally from perth, my view of the mountain is across the bay

• 372.scrawl: Reply to this comment

ufo – the short sleave is so the oposition can’t grip, the long sleave is so that the props can bind to the hooker much better. my guess anyway.

why do they have gripping devices on the shorts? aren’t all players issued with that as standard equipment? maybe the roids are srinking the gripping devices?

• 373.Kayoss: Reply to this comment

i posted a while back saying that a screenshot from ea sports rugby 08 had us wearing this exact jersey… few weeks ago…

• 374.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

V – No, but lived in ***-land for a bit & have seen them in action … definitely looks like those legs above.

• 375.rugby911: Reply to this comment

What story was recalled, guys? Care to mention?

• 376.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Wat is die kanse van ‘n lys van spelers wat volgende jaar oorsee gaan speel ?

• 377.vindicated: Reply to this comment

Rugby911

see the mg.co.za site

• 378.AussieInCT: Reply to this comment

vindicated .. I’m a brisbane boy .. you been here long? Coming up for 10 years for me.

• 379.Martin: Reply to this comment

the two little cup things on the aussie kit is for their tequila nips.

• 380.vindicated: Reply to this comment

not that long for me, bout half that

• 381.Dawn: Reply to this comment

How sweet.

Unfortunately, I killed Britney off a long time ago.

• 382.Pietman: Reply to this comment

I think John Smith has the toughest job of all, Bakkies hanging on to him like that…………

• 383.Pietman: Reply to this comment

378# AussieinCT
    He is in SA, Blouberg.

• 384.ufo: Reply to this comment

thanks scrawl…

I find it crazy that they say these jerseys are skin tight with no collars etc… to make it hard for the opposition to tackle the player…

then they go and chuck hand-holds onto the shorts…

again… kinda defeats the object doesn’t it?

• 385.vindicated: Reply to this comment

When are they gonna change the emblem on the kit from a Springbok to a Protea

I can just imagine you okes in the Pubs standing up and shouting for the “Amabloemebloeme”

• 386.Porra: Reply to this comment

vic has pulled
    john’s knees into an x
    with his grip
    on john’s
    nuts

• 387.Brads: Reply to this comment

Antidorcas marsupialis has a far more masculine sound to it don’t you agree vindicated.

• 388.greenbok: Reply to this comment

Hideous!

• 389.Dawn: Reply to this comment

vindicated

I think I should buy you a cup of coffee.

• 390.pompies: Reply to this comment

Jusst read on a other site that Rassie was named the new Stormers coach

• 391.vindicated: Reply to this comment

Auntie

that will be fine but im not coming anywhere near that Hotel / Hospital of yours

• 392.Dawn: Reply to this comment

OK Oom.

• 393.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Pompies

which site?

How you doing – see you very popular this morning.

• 394.Sir Watson: Reply to this comment

Rassie gets Stormers job
    20/07/2007 09:31 – (SA)

Cape Town – Former Springbok rugby flanker and Cheetahs Super 14 coach, Rassie Erasmus, has landed the senior professional coaching job at Western Province Rugby.
    This was announced on Friday and Erasmus will fill the newly created and dual role of WP director of rugby and Stormers head coach.
    “The decision is a necessary and important one for WP Rugby as a whole. The process followed was thorough and the candidates assessed were of the highest quality. We are confident that the correct decision has been made to ensure that WP rugby attains its future goals,” said Tobie Titus, president of WPRFU.
    Commenting on the appointment, Pat Kuhn, Chairperson of WP Rugby (Pty) Ltd said: “We are happy to welcome Rassie back to Newlands, this time in the capacity as senior professional coach. An accomplished player at the highest level and a successful coach, Rassie comes with a wealth of practical and technical rugby knowledge and the innovative flair, passion and skills set that we believe will ensure the future success of WP rugby at all levels.”
    “I am very excited to be back at Newlands and am looking forward to this challenge,” said Erasmus.
    “Coaching the Stormers is a fantastic opportunity. There is an enormous amount of talent in the region and I am confident I can, with the assistance of others, make a real difference to the franchise.
    “It is my mission to help create a winning culture at WP rugby and to formulate and implement my vision for effective management and coaching at all levels in this great province, and I am relishing the opportunity.”
    Erasmus will commence duties on August 1, so as to provide the best possible contracting and athlete preparation window. His contract extends until October 31 2010.
    Dispelling recent market place rumours Kuhn added: “The player body is extremely positive about developments. Players do not have escape clauses in their contracts linked to specific individuals and we have certainly not faced a player exodus. WP Rugby remains on a firm financial footing and is convinced that changes made will produce results for all stakeholders, most importantly for our sponsors, partners, customers and fans.”

• 395.bigbokfan: Reply to this comment

You know the saying – It is better to look bad and win then look good and lose.

Who gives a $hit what they wear, as long as the bring the trophy back.

• 396.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Me? Popular? Never.

• 397.SW: Reply to this comment

Sir Watson, where you got that info?

• 398.Vossie: Reply to this comment

Aussie unveiled their WC jerseys a couple of weeks ago and has all the same features. Not sure of the cap version.

The Green looks so much more classy than that Canary Yellow Aussie ones.

And it even makes John Smit look fit.

• 399.vindicated: Reply to this comment

397. SW

Obviously from some site that deals with breaking rugby news

• 400.Anvil: Reply to this comment

What a **** Kit.Bakkies face in the pic says it all.

What’s with the boob straps ?

Might as well got ‘em all in Pink!

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.