Sleek kit to provide Bok edge
20 Jul 2007
Canterbury has unveiled the revolutionary new Bok kit designed to give the team every advantage at the World Cup.
The new kit is the result of three years of development and testing by Canterbury designers in conjunction with Loughborough University in the United Kingdom.

“The jersey caters for the needs of different player positions,” said Canterbury MD Paul Zacks. “Design features include the placement of specific grips on the jersey to improve ball retention whilst running and to enhance binding in the scrum.
“The jersey features short and long sleeve options, as well as a cap sleeve version which has been developed specifically for the props to reduce manipulation by opposition props at the scrum. A new offset loop neck and slimfit design will help players evade collar and jersey tackles.”

Movement is also enhanced by an underarm stretch panel and a new super lightweight Temex fabric that significantly reduces moisture retention and the weight of the jersey. The fabric also wicks perspiration away from the skin to the jersey surface which prevents overheating and discomfort.
The William Webb Eliis Trophy with the legend 1995 are embroidered on the right arm sleeve, and this feature has been included for all previous World Cup winners. Incidentally, Canterbury are making new jerseys for Australia, Scotland, Ireland and Japan, but Zacks confirmed the Springbok jersey boasts the most features.
The shorts have grip panels for line-out jumpers to aid lifting technique and also feature a slim design to prevent opposition interference during the line-out. There are grip handles on the Boks’ shorts, a unique feature that improves binding at the scrum. The shorts’ lightweight material also provides greater agility.
The socks have an open weave structure that allows air and moisture to escape. In a break from tradition, the stripes have been dropped. The sock will be all green except for a gold panel at the back of the calf which is designed to manage the build up of lactic acid and thus reduce cramp.
All these changes have been made after a lengthy research process that also involved many of the Bok players themselves.
“It makes sense to test new developments with the athletes who are going to make use of the kit,” said Bok captain John Smit. “The innovations that are used in the new Canterbury kit are fantastic and the players are excited about putting them to good use during the World Cup.”

480 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 » Show All
20 Jul 2007, 11:13 am
Anvil daai is nou baie offside!
20 Jul 2007, 11:14 am
Great Jerseys but it means nothing if they don’t win the World Cup
20 Jul 2007, 11:19 am
I’m sure Robbie Hunter wore something similar in the Tour de France last night.
From the sublime to the ridiculous.
Wonder if it comes wth a built in rugby brain to prevent knock on’s, forward passes, and a **** scrumming technique.
Wonder if Alistair Coetzee has had one made for him?
20 Jul 2007, 11:22 am
Well they could not of found an uglier bunch of players to model this **** kit! I was just waxing lyrical the other day saying how awesome it was that the Boks still played in cotten jersies and now this happens.. Guys kiss the world cup good bye! How can anyone play well when he is dressed like a Ninja Turtle!
20 Jul 2007, 11:27 am
Come on people.
It’s not that bad!
20 Jul 2007, 11:29 am
scrumdown @ 403
my thoughts exactly. we went from a team who built their gameplan around dominating scrums/ forwards to one that needs gadgets to hopefully give us an edge in that department. at the rate that we had to remove our prop forwards’ heads out of their asses the last few weeks, i doubt whether their jersey will serve any other purpose but to make them look ridiculous.
20 Jul 2007, 11:31 am
Negativita!
20 Jul 2007, 11:32 am
can one eat that?
20 Jul 2007, 11:33 am
The Aussies were playing in the same jersey three weeks ago.
20 Jul 2007, 11:36 am
Thanks Vin #377 – yet another expose of corruption snuffed out in the corridors of power..
20 Jul 2007, 11:42 am
Dawn, #405.
Yes it is! (The Kermit look, with man breasts)
20 Jul 2007, 11:44 am
The “Traditional” Bokke Jersey was perhaps the finest ever paraded.
20 Jul 2007, 11:50 am
Damn… there goes another R600… I’m a real sap….
20 Jul 2007, 11:52 am
But because it has the most ‘features’ it probably is worth R600. Can it make coffee in the mornings??? Any cup holders??? ABS, EBD???
20 Jul 2007, 11:57 am
Some people have more money than sense!
20 Jul 2007, 12:00 pm
Rugby is all about gripping !
If Nelius doesnt have a GF is he at least still gripping the odd dollie ?
There are alot of practicle elements to the new kit
But it was obvious to see that Guthro was uncomfortable
I think in that sense players could opt for a looser fit fo rthem specifically ie 1 size up form what would have been “perfect fit”
I for one was not happy to see little place on back or side of locks jersey for flank bind
Ideally for a tight scrum flanks should bind on side of opp lock a little handle there would have been nice
and of course for the irish a a protective pocket for whiskey tot packs
For the Aussies the pocket could contain caffiene pills
for Rassie , Fake blood capsules for tactical subs (No ihave never used them as a coach my self)
for The **** , cyanide in caseof loss
for the Kiwis mascara or scrap the pocket and have a Velco detachable hand bag
For the French , the shorts should have a tight fitting scrotum pocket and a set of false ballas to fool opp french club players
Ritchie Macraws jersey could have a Snap release Yellow card attached over the right chest , just incase he wants to do the right thing and card himself when ref’s “forget” to
20 Jul 2007, 12:02 pm
grrr
…. and take into account that most of this stuff like the grips on the jersey to help with the catch of the up and under, the jersey that takes sweat away from the body etc. were already in use 4 years ago and it gives you a better indication of the “breakthroughs” canterbury is claiming. i think they couldve done better.
oh, and whats the use you have a jersey for women with a very low cut and the girls who model it forgot their tits at home? they really couldve done a LOT better there!
20 Jul 2007, 12:07 pm
Dont forget next week is pay day , put some ammo aside for my trip to CT
20 Jul 2007, 12:09 pm
Asha1
He heh he heheheh eh
i said the same thing to my dollie when we watched it last night
20 Jul 2007, 12:10 pm
they look like aliens.
20 Jul 2007, 12:15 pm
Murph
In your dreams boet.
No gripping here.
20 Jul 2007, 12:16 pm
sorry murph
only us coloured okes, boet. so, dawn, when is it my turn?
20 Jul 2007, 12:18 pm
A beer to the ou who comes up with the best
What Innovation WP need in their new Kit
Murph
Lets start with
Fluffy hand cuffs to replace to Lock grips on Prop pants
20 Jul 2007, 12:21 pm
dawn
refer 422
i meant to say …. when is it my turn … again?
Jy Skuld my Nog 3 DBL Klippies en 3 Tequilas
Moenie weg kruip !
can’t this morons design some chips to be put on the head-gears of our forwards that tells them not to go to ground everytime they have the ball.
20 Jul 2007, 12:22 pm
asha1
First I have to sort out vindicated.
20 Jul 2007, 12:22 pm
asha1
First I have to sort out vindicated.
20 Jul 2007, 12:24 pm
Ek skuld jou vokkol.
20 Jul 2007, 12:28 pm
dawn @ 428
please dawn man, dont be like that man. i’m sure it mustve been my turn already. i promise, i wont be so quick this time.
20 Jul 2007, 12:30 pm
asha1
yes she is threatening to do all sorts of “kinky” things to me
in the basement of some cheap hotel / motel / laboratory / massage parlour / pay by the hour complex
20 Jul 2007, 12:45 pm
Why is ‘SASOL’ removed??? I don’t mind, hate corporate logos on the Bok jersey but I still find it strange.
20 Jul 2007, 12:52 pm
Vindicated,#431
To have one of Dawns, “Moderating and Discipline” Cessions. ……..is the experience of a lifetime, and worth even penny she charges.
20 Jul 2007, 12:59 pm
Lobotomies are free.
20 Jul 2007, 13:00 pm
#432 … RWC regs prevent ANY sponsors logo other than a small manufacturers’ logo (max. 1/2 size of team emblem) to appear anywhere on the jersey, and the team emblem/signage itself may not be bigger than the RWC logo on the right breast.
Those are the IRB rules for RWC.
20 Jul 2007, 13:02 pm
Looks like Victor is really enjoying cupping Smith!
Thanks Tackles, didn’t know that.
20 Jul 2007, 13:04 pm
Dawn,
To have a Lobotomy first we must have a brain. In my case this could present a problem.
20 Jul 2007, 13:07 pm
Of all the International Teams it seems to me that the SA Team wear the most padding. These Jersey’s will look really silly on a padded up Franz Steyn.
20 Jul 2007, 13:09 pm
whats your issue now ****-saps.
20 Jul 2007, 13:22 pm
Is this going to be a “World Cup only” kit, or are they going to keep it afterwards?
I suppose with the new features and all the grip strips it will just make it easier to hold on to the William Webb Ellis trophy whilst doing our victory laps.
20 Jul 2007, 13:25 pm
Vossie,
WAKE UP……….you’re dreaming again.
20 Jul 2007, 13:32 pm
Earth to Vossie, come-in, anyone home, hello !!!!
20 Jul 2007, 13:33 pm
I was dreaming too – but not about rugby
20 Jul 2007, 13:33 pm
I was dreaming too – but not about rugby
20 Jul 2007, 13:37 pm
Ja, Ja.
Just you wait and see Jake’s masterplan.
Phase two complete “New jersey launched”.
Phase one is also complete. “convince the rugby world SA is one dimensional and have only one gameplan”
20 Jul 2007, 13:43 pm
vossie @ 445
yeah, and at the wc in the buid-up to the england game we can tell the world we’ve got a plan A and a plan B (like our cricket team did earlier this year just before playing aus in the group matches in the wc). i’m sure thats what you mean, isnt it?
20 Jul 2007, 13:44 pm
It’s raining!
TV weather!
20 Jul 2007, 13:46 pm
dawn
ka ekkie ma’ venaand djou kaggeltjie deel nie?
20 Jul 2007, 13:47 pm
And blankie and horror movie and whisky and couch!
20 Jul 2007, 13:50 pm
asha1 moenie soos ‘n kleurling aangaan nie man.
When you in important company, speak English!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 » Show All