RWC success to bag Boks millions

Winning the William Webb Ellis trophy will see the 30 World Cup Springboks pocket R1 million apiece.

The Star reported SARU would award this bonus if South Africa are successful at the tournament in France. Neither the International Rugby Board nor the French union will be supplementing success with a monetary reward, and so Saru have established this incentive for every member of the squad whether they possess national contracts or not.

The funds generated by the IRB in France will help member unions cover the costs of having a team at the World Cup. However, these expenses will only be paid after the competition.

Every member of the Bok squad will be paid a match fee regardless of their appearance in the match 22. The match 22, however, will be receiving cash increases according to the team’s success.

The contracted Boks receive a monthly salary of between R25 000 and R60 000. Those without national contracts will be handed a daily World Cup alllowance of up to R2000 per day.

37 Comments

• 1.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

I don’t give a **** what you pay them, as long as the win the damn thing!

• 2.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Good grief!

I’ll play for that amount of change.

PS: Dragons.

• 3.rugby911: Reply to this comment

Lets make 22 millionaires now people!

• 4.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Eish , that’s alot of pocket money.

• 5.BokkeForever--oink12: Reply to this comment

1m rand isnt THAT much is it??
    Its about what theyll get if they go and play in england or france.
    1miliion rand must be about less than 300 000 Pounds

• 6.Skim: Reply to this comment

That’s a nice chunk ‘a change….
    If they win Percy and Wynand can open their own hair salon.

• 7.Scrumdown: Reply to this comment

Actually only about 75 000 pounds.

Hardly a great amount of money in a worldwide context is it?

• 8.Weepee: Reply to this comment

Chaps – England 4 years ago where on £100 000 per man to win the tournament! Somewhere around SAR 1.4m each, take into account inflation and interest rates and I’d say SAR 2m is only keeping with the times and would provide the kind of incentive that these players could seriously sink their teeth into!

Typical SARU Nickle and diming like the amateurs they are!

• 9.Skim: Reply to this comment

Let’s see:
    Post world cup shopping lists:

Bakkies: ‘Mr Lonely’ by ‘Akon’ regarding Matfield’s departure

Schalk: One of those Hulk suits they wear in the new springbok ad.

Juan: Rassie Erasmus

Spies: American Swiss tongue ring ala Bobby in his glory days.

• 10.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Skim you forgot

Gary: The Chipmunks complete dvd set

• 11.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Well, it just ain’t going to happen. So all these calculations are just a rather pointless exercise in wishful thinking.

The Boks couldn’t beat an egg.

After the quarters or the semis it’ll be “Home, James. And don’t spare the horses…”

• 12.Fern: Reply to this comment

how many suicides after the wc this year in nz after the ab’s choke yet again?

• 13.shaka mehlomakulu: Reply to this comment

That epitome of excellence , dressed up as Butana Komphele said to Helen Zille on SABC’s Interface program last night , that every Springbok was being paid R6M and the Captain more . I have not made a mistake – I recorded the program and watched it twice – once to hear this half wit and the other to read all the SMS’s on the strap on the foot of the screen .

Here is something In also found humorous else where :
    Date Posted: Saturday 21-Jul-2007
    The ANC is quite right, in that they feel that a unifying sports symbol is needed. The existing mixture of fauna, flora and old South African racial stereotyping must go.
    Consider the Springbuck; now confined only to rugby. Its color-scheme is not ideal, in that light brown predominates, giving our Coloured community a prominence way above their station. The prominent white stripe is also very offensive to our previously disadvantaged masses. The Springbuck has been so cheapened by the bevy of clowns who have mis-managed the code for the last few years, that it bears no resemblance to its once proud, and competent image enjoyed years ago. The Springbuck should be culled post haste. Preferably shot in the head to avoid meat damage.
    The Protea, criggits new symbol, has been so enmeshed in incompetence and corruption, that it has in fact been misappropriated by the world’s bookmakers and is now their widely known and accepted logo. Also, the matter of a flower as a national symbol is likely to call to mind pansies when things don’t go well, which is most of the time. Look how well the Blue Bulls have done since dropping the Barberton Daisy. A leaf of something Herschel Gibbs is partial to smoking may be more appropriate, but the All Blacks have pinched both the name and the symbol our administrators would be most happy with.
    Bafana Bafana (The Boys, The Boys) is a legacy of Apartheid, when all Africans, no matter what their ages, were known as Boys. Even the nations butchers have reluctantly taken down their handwritten signs advertising ‘Boys Meat” and replaced them with signs saying “Staff Meat”. A soccer team called “The Staff, The Staff” is however, not really something our nation could get behind, bearing in mind the huge unemployment problem and the national reluctance to work.
    Our design team, after much research, and consultation with sporting code management, have developed a single symbol which will best serve the needs and aspirations of sports management in the country. It incorporates all of the well-intentioned ideas of the less advantaged feeding off the strong. It, being an animal that runs in packs, epitomizes the idea of sacrificing winning for inclusiveness, and the rights of those who don’t necessarily do the lions share of the work, at least getting the scraps from the table. The new animal symbol has a very representative colour scheme, being 85% dark brown and black, with the remaining 15% made of soft, white underbelly. This is very much more representative of our emerging democracy than that of the second choice symbol, the Zebra, which is white and black in equal proportions, and moreover is also known as Burchells Zebra, hardly in keeping with our policy of indigenous names. The chosen symbol is also the possessor of an unmistakable call, a joyful cackling laugh that mocks the accomplishments of the big predators, and is a reminder that, though we may not win this time, we will get you in the end. A proper and fitting message from our sports minister to all who hanker after the excellence of our past. Speaking of Ministers, the chosen symbol, while not being the swiftest or strongest in the animal kingdom, has a jaw to beat all jaws. The mouth on this beast is second to none, and can destroy even the toughest of bones in minutes. Thus, our new symbol makes a strong political statement as well as a sporting one. The hyena is the obvious choice. A new motto to be positioned under the words “South Africa” is being considered. “Carrion Regardless” is so far the front runner.

mike
    JHB
    RSA

• 14.RedLion: Reply to this comment

Keo, when are you going to post the article about the ‘no more future Bok contracts’.

Yes the guys had better go all the way if they want big money because the gravy train is coming to an end.

• 15.RedLion: Reply to this comment

I disagree, the Boks know how to crack eggs.

• 16.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

Ooh wow that is £70836.17. You cant even buy a flat for that in the UK.

• 17.rugby911: Reply to this comment

Hey guys, to most of us 1m is not a bad day at the office. Well invested, it can remain untouched, and grow, while living off the divs.

• 18.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

lucky bladyy ********

• 19.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

LOL @ Shaka #13!!!

Very well said. Absolitutely right. The administartors are akin to a bunch of pack dogs that turn on each other at any moment, with big jaws and no spine. Except that they could not work as a pack even if their lives depended on it…

• 20.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Ooh wow that is £70836.17. You cant even buy a flat for that in the UK.

Comment by leeanthonyw : July 23, 2007 @ 11:09 am

Well they’re not living in the UK now, are they?

• 21.BokkeForever--oink12: Reply to this comment

#20. Well they will be next year.

• 22.Weepee: Reply to this comment

Vinnie – no your absolutely right, most will be living in France, some in England, Wales and Scotland, with a spattering in Ireland. Considering you wouldn’t get a Garage in any of those countries for SAR 1m I suspect the reason they’re moving North is to earn the tom to give themselves financial security!

Good luck to them!

• 23.Tjorts: Reply to this comment

Can the players then sue the coach for monetary losses if his bad gameplane and selections didn’t win them the Worldcup?

• 24.odogg: Reply to this comment

Wow, great, another 24 White millionares to be created. I hate everything to do with SA Rugby. Congratualtions Jake and Co, you have succeeded in continuing to make Rugby a game for the White man. Well done.

• 25.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Comment by BokkeForever–oink12 : July 23, 2007 @ 12:45 pm

Comment by Weepee : July 23, 2007 @ 12:53 pm

So you’re saying SA Rugby should pay them more because they’re going to play in Europe next year?

How does that make sense?

• 26.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Comment by odogg : July 23, 2007 @ 12:58 pm

You sound sad and embittered good fellow.

The boys are only getting paid what other players of similar standard get paid in other countries.

How is that making rugby a game for the white man?

If the lieks of Quinton Davids, Shimange, Solly and co had got off their lazy asses and trained and made practices instead of eating too many pies they would have been a synch to make the side.

Unfortunately for them they couldnt be bothered.

Get your hand off it.

• 27.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Vinnie

Spot on, shot bro!
    How are you by the way, survived all that rain I hope?

• 28.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Not bad Pietman!

Its still freaking raining here. So much for summer…

How things your side?

• 29.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

well, I hope small unions such as EP (Despatch forever!)and Boland see some major influx of money if we win it.

• 30.Skim: Reply to this comment

I thought Saru were bankrupt?
    Where are they gonna scrape out R30mil?

• 31.aussiejoe: Reply to this comment

Guys the Rand is worth stuff all these days.In 1987 it was parity now its R5-40 to an A$.Lets hope they win as once transformation sets in it will be a long time between drinks!
    Keo has your cricket news died an unnatural death? The 20-20 WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP will be held in South Africa. I am soooo f….ng ezxcited about that event I am wetting myself? Hi Pietm,an, hoe gaasn dit daar in Korea?

• 32.Pietman: Reply to this comment

aussiejoe
    Altyd lekker ou mater!
    Jy?

• 33.upnunder: Reply to this comment

Surely the honour of playing in the green and gold is more than sufficent. 1 Mil rand is surely a nice little sweetner.

• 34.aussiejoe: Reply to this comment

pietman ok ou maat.Daar daarem ‘n klomp ouens bo 30 in die WC – alle spanne ingesluit. Jiz en ons het Os.wat gat aaan in WP?

• 35.aussiejoe: Reply to this comment

Bugger! R25000 per month! Thats ridiculous. I wouldn’t get out of bed for that ****. They deserve much more. Suppose Butnae pockets most the twit!

• 36.aussiejoe: Reply to this comment

How much will the Witchdoctor/Sangoma be paid!

• 37.nahtino: Reply to this comment

nice bundle of cash

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.