Sevens retain awesome eight

The success of last year’s Sevens series has seen the IRB announcing the same eight venues for the 2007/8 competition.

The series will once again kick off with the tournament in Dubai, the leg which South Africa won in 2006. Tournaments in Adelaide, San Diego and Edinburgh were such a success in the previous series they have been retained for another term.

“The inclusion of these exciting new locations into the series proved popular and also served to foster the growing global appeal of Rugby Sevens. Each Tournament was a resounding success with over 25,500 fans attending in Adelaide while San Diego’s attendance of 25,000 was a record for a USA Sevens event,” said IRB Sevens Manager, Beth Coalter.

“The series climax in Edinburgh was also a huge success with the competitive action on the field backed up by an attendance of almost 30,000 over the two competition days to see New Zealand lift the title.”

New Zealand won the series on the last day in Scotland which indicates just how tight the title race between New Zealand, Fiji and Samoa was throughout the competition.

“The 2006/07 series was without doubt the most successful in the history of the event, setting new broadcast and attendance records, while the standard of competition on the pitch reached new levels. A total of 32 Unions participated across the eight series Tournaments while there were four different Cup winners, with Samoa securing a series Cup title for the first time,” said Coalter.

IRB Sevens Series 2007/08 Schedule:
Dubai – Nov 30/Dec 1
South Africa – Dec 7/8
New Zealand – Feb 1/2
USA – Feb 9/10
Hong Kong – Mar 28/29/30
Australia- Apr 5/6
England – May 24/25
Scotland – May 31/June 1