Wales tortured at Twickers
4 Aug 2007
England gave their World Cup hopes a boost when they destroyed Wales 62-5 at Twickenham.
This “friendly” (sold to the public as a Test) told us nothing we didn’t know already. England’s pack can match any in the world, but their backs are pretty ordinary. Wales were awful in the Six Nations and judging by today’s effort they’ve spent the off-season improving their tans.
Wales’s pack was understrength, but they will still be embarrassed at how they were pummelled by the Poms. Six of England’s nine tries came from the forwards, who mauled like they were up against local club players called in to help at training.
The tone was set when England scored twice in the opening quarter through No 8 Nick Easter. The first came after a break by scrumhalf Shaun Perry down the blindside and the second from a 5m line-out and subsequent driving maul.
Wilkinson uncharacteristically missed two of his first three shots at goal, including an early penalty, but helped set up England’s third try when he broke two tackles inside Wales’ 22. The forwards cleaned up quickly and second-rower Steve Borthwick barged over. Wilkinson added the conversion and slotted a penalty soon after to make it 22-0.
England’s dominance continued after half-time when Easter was driven over for his hat-trick. Perry then finally claimed one for the backs, although it was the forwards who helped him across.
At this point England were leading 36-0, but Wales hit back when winger Daffyd James found himself on the end of a rare overlap and scored in the corner.
The biggest cheer of the day came when Lawrence Dallaglio replaced Easter midway through the second half, and the World Cup winner repaid the fans support with England’s sixth try.
Perry then scored his second to bring up 50 points, before Jason Robinson and Mathew Tait completed the rout with another two touchdowns.
England –Tries: Nick Easter (3), Steve Borthwick, Shaun Perry (2), Lawrence Dallaglio, Jason Robinson, Mathew Tait. Conversions: Jonny Wilkinson (7). Penalty: Wilkinson.
Wales – Try: Dafydd James.
By Simon Borchardt

600 Comments
4 Aug 2007, 17:33 pm
12-0 Easterbunny double!
4 Aug 2007, 17:37 pm
Trrrrrrrrrrrrry time baaaaaaaaaaaabbbbbbbbby!!
4 Aug 2007, 17:40 pm
I hope Ashton doesn’t use this win as an excuse to keep Farrell in the team. Fattell has all the imagination of a South African flyhalf
4 Aug 2007, 17:50 pm
Seeing as the Sharks posting has no coments allowed, the ref there is missing a bloody good game!!
4 Aug 2007, 18:04 pm
Wales are playing very badly, thus making England look ok.
4 Aug 2007, 18:35 pm
YE not much you can take out of this game. Wales really suck so hard to judge England.
4 Aug 2007, 18:42 pm
Robbbbbbbbbbbbbbbo Tryyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!
4 Aug 2007, 18:43 pm
5 & 6
That didn’t stop you clowns celebrating when you beat an England C team on tour
4 Aug 2007, 18:44 pm
Wilko just smashed some miner
4 Aug 2007, 18:44 pm
8 I’m sure you clowns will celebrate also
4 Aug 2007, 18:45 pm
Record win!!
4 Aug 2007, 18:45 pm
Was this a Wales A team? Didn’t watch the match.
4 Aug 2007, 18:46 pm
62-5
Read it and weep saffas!
4 Aug 2007, 18:48 pm
#13 don’t you mean wales?
4 Aug 2007, 18:48 pm
Wasn’t Wales first team no. But Englands forwards looked good. Looking forward to next weeks French game then we will know their real metal.
4 Aug 2007, 18:49 pm
#13 – why? they beat Wales?
4 Aug 2007, 18:50 pm
Shaun Perry Man of the Match
Looks like our Scrum-half problems are sorted.
All we need to do is get our centre combination sorted and I can envisage a WC win!
4 Aug 2007, 18:51 pm
Dear oh dear – you saffa girls must be a little worried!
4 Aug 2007, 18:51 pm
13# What has that got to do with us?
We beat them both, didn’t we?
4 Aug 2007, 18:52 pm
18, how so?
14 & 16
Because its your boys who will be getting anxious as England’s form.
*improves
4 Aug 2007, 18:53 pm
Lets see after the game against France if SA really needs to worry
21, how so?
As soon as we get Catt in and Farrell out its all over for you guys.
4 Aug 2007, 18:54 pm
Powerfull england 30 – 0 Dumb saffas!
25 – please beat france first. we’ll probably then start calculating form.
Because you have 1 tactic i.e. bash it up in the forwards.
If we field massive forwards in good form then its over you.
England are a team SA have never been able to bash into submission up front and the record in recent years is testament to this.
4 Aug 2007, 18:55 pm
23# Le Fou
Worry about England, you mean?
Naaahhhhh!!!
We have bigger fish to fry.
4 Aug 2007, 18:55 pm
Captain ***,
You lot have had it -the england are back
4 Aug 2007, 18:56 pm
Worried Pietman?
4 Aug 2007, 18:57 pm
30, explain the derogatory language and then explain “the england are back”.
4 Aug 2007, 18:58 pm
When the Mighty Boks hit the shores of Normandy, the Poms will have gypo guts……again!
Like in Bloemfontein.
Soon we will have that blathering idiot StMichell back
My fork…….. modderotters van moddereiland kry seker nou orgasme…… o, ek sien hulle doen!!
Farking klomp bleekbene!
4 Aug 2007, 18:59 pm
Speak English
Allez les bleus
4 Aug 2007, 19:00 pm
Just look at the record books Bokke rule – you poms suck, that was’nt a test – fastest declining team ever after winning a world cup – now that’s a embarrassment – hahahahahahah
Captain paronoid,
I look forward to watching the engalnd pack walk over your little boys – all of whom will get a lesson in rugby when they all walk away from SA after the world cup.
Theyre all coming here for a reason and that reason is to learn to play rugby!
37 lol, what’s wrong?
4 Aug 2007, 19:01 pm
This isn’t a Dutch website
Yes quite a character StMic. Had good language what what? Have another cup of tea old ****.
Cappie
What’s with this Jakaranda okie?
Must be an ex-Pretorian boy, hence the ‘tree’ in his nic.
Klink hy kom daar van die Wes…
4 Aug 2007, 19:02 pm
keo was St Michael … getting hits from fools
he could even be tackler i reckon
4 Aug 2007, 19:03 pm
40 jacarandauk, if you think that is the reason you’re in for a rude awakening.
your spelling and grammar suggest you’re a disgruntled afrikaans speaking saffa who left the shores in the hope of a better life.
And all that managed to change was quicker internet.
40# Turn on the spell chick, or write in Afrikaans.
Your English doesn’t make any sense.
England ARE BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!
aaah, feels good!
4 Aug 2007, 19:04 pm
‘spell check’.
4 Aug 2007, 19:04 pm
Piet, jy lees my gedagtes.
4 Aug 2007, 19:05 pm
hey twat @ #40
how many jacaranda trees in the UK – if you going to leave and support somebody else, then leave completely without hanging onto something you sad you know what
Aggggggg Tietspier, jou donsdoos…… gaan kakas in die mielies!
I’m very frightened of these Pommies.. they beat Wales in a warm up game.
They’re probably favourites to win the tournament now!!
Omg! Watch out everyone, the Poms are back!!
Captain cod piece and Big bumhole
I own homes in four countries but only one is home!
48# Right, they are back…to winning against Wales for a change!
4 Aug 2007, 19:06 pm
My revised team:
1. Sheridan
2. Regan
3. Vickery
4. Shaw
5. Corry
6. Easter
7. Rees
8. Dallaglio
9. Perry
10. Wilkinson
11. Robinson
12. Catt
13. Tait
14. Strettle
15. Cueto
4 Aug 2007, 19:06 pm
Englands pack v wales looked awsome, their backline looked ****, they will never have that much freedom against SA, Big hit can shout away, if this makes the Poms as confident as him, no probs, misplaced it is.
Englands game v france will show us a bit more i think, but i still think my tickets for the Sunday in Marsielle are safe …..BIG HIT MAKE SURE YOU HAVE YOURS FOR THE SATURDAY IN MARSIELLE!!!!!
4 Aug 2007, 19:07 pm
Kevin kakface
I have a Jacaranda in my back garden in UK – it has the same number of braincells as an average SA forward!
4 Aug 2007, 19:07 pm
France will piss in their tea and remind them why they are actually so far down the pecking order in world rugby.
4 Aug 2007, 19:08 pm
Matfield will steal 70% of your line out ball… Habana will scorch Strettle… Butch will flatten both Wilkinson and Catt… and Perry will be embarrassed by Du Preez.
Le Fondue
Dream on frogs leegs!
wow jacaranda, I own homes in 6 countries.
Now what???? it still doesn’t change the fact that you lead a sad life thousands of miles from your once beloved country.
Shame, life is hard. And then some…
Heheheh Le Fou
4 Aug 2007, 19:09 pm
I agree. Our backs were not good. Thats why we need Mike Catt in there, to spread the play. No doubt Ashton wil still opt for the leaguey Farrell.
That said, South Africa’s backs are utterly devoid of any creativity on a good day.
#58, and the same number of skills as the english backline.
59# LOL!
And they hope to have Catt back as an improvement to their backline play!
Poor sods.
jac – stack … that is still more braincells than the complete pom team put together
4 Aug 2007, 19:11 pm
Legs, its legs not leegs. Do I have to teach you your language now?
We’ll see. Habana won’t scorch Strettle tho. Strettle has got Habana-like pace.
that’s great jacaranda … how fid you get it there and what’s your address – i know some people that might want to check it out.
in fact i think you are yet another sad saffa living abroad hanging onto what really makes you happy … home
58# Probably grew that little jacaranda tree from the seeds you picked up in Atteridgeville before you went into exile in Mudville.
4 Aug 2007, 19:12 pm
If you knew rugby, you’d know what a rugby brain like Mike Catt’s can do for a rugby team.
4 Aug 2007, 19:13 pm
HAHA
4 Aug 2007, 19:13 pm
Big Hit
tell me first what makes you English and second the you really believe England will beat SA in the WC and the score – we can then chat after the game.
i mean… why argue now -who has Wales beaten this year?
4 Aug 2007, 19:14 pm
69 donno if its pace quite like habana but i like strettle, one for the future
4 Aug 2007, 19:15 pm
Creativity they may miss, but they are brutal on defence and create chances on turnover, England had all the ball and then some , and couldn’t score …..Farrell recieved the ball about 15 times and i remember 3 passes, Catt is solid but lacks pace, if your team plays against equal opposition up front and you share the possesion and play like that, the opposition wont need any creativity to win, …….i still think SA has what it takes to beat England, but in world cups nothing can be taken for granted,(ask any kiwi you know) …..we still need to play bloody well is paris in september
4 Aug 2007, 19:15 pm
I don’t understand the first part of your post.
Wales have beaten England this year and run Australia close with a B team.
4 Aug 2007, 19:16 pm
72# Mike Catt from the Mighty Elephants in SA, now he his your big hope?
Did you see his tackle on Lomu in Cape Town?
How come you and the jacaranda tree man there rely so strongly on SA connections?
4 Aug 2007, 19:17 pm
74 ….WALES DID WIN A GAME THIS YEAR , ….THEY BEAT ENGLAND!!!!
4 Aug 2007, 19:17 pm
Just back from watching the game.
Wales were bad.
England ripped them apart and got a big score.
England were in fact pretty negative when they needed to be.
The ref made some mind boggling calls … someone please tell me this is not a world cup ref.
I am concerned about the Northern Hemishpere:
- the tacker does not need to roll away
- you can belly flop on the tacked player then claim not releasing
- you can drive the ruck forward on the ground
- you can belly flop over the ruck then pick up the ball and move it forward
- your players can join your own ruck from the opposition side and help move it forward
- you can drive a ruck forward and score a try
- the opposition is not allowed to drive over and take the ball
What boring rules!
4 Aug 2007, 19:18 pm
They’re not all brutal on defence. Butch and Schalk seem to do most of the tackling for them.
Catt broke through the French backline this year a couple of times. At 35 he still has pace.
The score was 62-5 today.
the jacaranda tree man…lol
Oi, Wales was just piss-poor today….. now you guys are creaming your poofy panties….
4 Aug 2007, 19:19 pm
Your boys better learn them quick or no World cuppy for you
4 Aug 2007, 19:19 pm
chch….he is the ref in the England v SA MATCH, I RECALL
4 Aug 2007, 19:20 pm
Are you English … born and bred or a sad wannabe? not a hard question i promise.
The Sharks ran the Bulls close but the Super 14 trophy is in Pretoria – that comes from a Sharks supporter.
So predict your eng win over sa and the score and don’t disappear after the game…
chch
So mate, how are the referees going to deal with those NH players?
What South African connections?
And that tackle in Cape Town was 12 years ago, lol.
4 Aug 2007, 19:21 pm
grootblou, leave them be. it’s the only time they’re able to celebrate. in the last four years it’s been few and far apart. It’s irrational euphoria. Tomorrow morning everything will be back to normal.
ye he is
Big mouth i mean hit, one swallow doesn’t a summer make, as i recall when we slaughtered you guys twice this year in SA, THE CRY WAS IT WASN’T OUR REAL SQUAD , WELL YOU MAY FIND THIS WASN’T WALES FULL ONE EITHER , SO DONT BE TO **** A HOOP
Congrats to Hawke’s Bay if anyone cares. Great result
4 Aug 2007, 19:22 pm
Big Hit, the man you deem to be god and the man we deem not good enough for provincial rugby in SA aka Mike Catt is a Saffa.
88# BH
Catt and the jacaranda tree from Atteridgeville, both from SA.
surreyshark
bright one you are … wales beat england, england hammered wales and now the rest of the world should be shivering.
now do you understand my point?
4 Aug 2007, 19:23 pm
IF beating a b welsh team makes you world cup contenders, Italy must fancy their chances to, hey Big Hit
4 Aug 2007, 19:23 pm
85, surryshark4,
Oh my God … it’s all over for SA
4 Aug 2007, 19:24 pm
Why? does everyone have to be South African or a bitter ex-patriot South African on this site?
As it happens, I have some family in Durban (not South African), and I am a Sharks fan.
England will beat SA by 5-10 points. I had it the other way a month ago but I think our backline (i.e. Jonny) will give us the edge.
62-5 is quite a win.
87 Pietman,
I am not sure what the Northern Hemishere players will do when someone says ‘roll away’
Perhaps they will start smoking
4 Aug 2007, 19:25 pm
Kevin w ….don’t have clue what your on about, wales are pretty ****, so that makes eng great, don’t think so
4 Aug 2007, 19:25 pm
surrey
Sorry, the ref who?
4 Aug 2007, 19:26 pm
chch….. lol
This wasn’t our real squad either. You guys seem to think this was our first XV. It isn’t.
remind me of the scores in south africa this year big hit?
Be aware that the world cup is being played in the northern hemisphere. Our rules.
4 Aug 2007, 19:27 pm
Big hit – you dont have a backline – Willo will be in plaster after his first game
If that is Northern Hemishere rugby then I hope for rugby’s sake that a Southern Hemishere team wins the WC
2nd test, half time, altitude, England ‘C’ 19-17 South Africa
4 Aug 2007, 19:28 pm
100# chch
Bwaaaaaahhh!
Funny mate!!
Roll away and light up, pass it on to the backline, I say.
who is missing big hit
Did you not see the hit he stuck on that taff today?
chch 108, I don’t think you need to worry about that.
4 Aug 2007, 19:29 pm
England tactics for the WC: 5 lineout forwards and the driving maul. Sounds familiar.
Is Jake now Ashtons best mate?
105# surrey
Not to mention the stench when they shat their pants!
Big Hit – leave the excuses – you lost – end
4 Aug 2007, 19:30 pm
Dallaglio on the bench, Catt on bench, Tait playing 15, Cueto injured, Lewsey, Rees at openside, Lewsey to return, Chuter maybe for 2.
There are many decisions yet to be made.
4 Aug 2007, 19:30 pm
surrey
102#, the ref?
4 Aug 2007, 19:31 pm
Thats Ashton’s plan. He has seen that when the Boks get matched up front, they run out of ideas.
It could very well work for England.
112 – He’s probably in out patients’ suffering from concussion now
surreyshark
go read my post and the one i’m responding to before making comments, then you might unerstand.
Big Hit
at halftime, nobody has won… a handy tip, only concern yourself with fulltime.
4 Aug 2007, 19:32 pm
chch
Is the WC being played according to NH rules then?
4 Aug 2007, 19:32 pm
the ref for the game in paris eng v sa is the same ref as todays one in the eng v wales game
4 Aug 2007, 19:33 pm
kevin
I think surrey just misread you there.
4 Aug 2007, 19:33 pm
121 – bravo – the records will read SA win – Pom loss………..
4 Aug 2007, 19:34 pm
Is he still going on about a half time score?? What is up with that???
4 Aug 2007, 19:34 pm
123# surrey
I see, thanx.
4 Aug 2007, 19:35 pm
Wales were poor. The English backline didn’t even have to run angles … players just straitened and went through
The Welsh #9 and #10 also made some poor decisions. I take it that the winger was a fill in for an injury too
4 Aug 2007, 19:36 pm
Big hit – go and light a fire with that lump wood jacarandauk – but don’t cry when there are only ashes left.
4 Aug 2007, 19:37 pm
122 Pietman,
That is what Big Hit thinks
Today may have been the exception. I am sure that Johnny made him a nice breakfast thismorning anyway
4 Aug 2007, 19:37 pm
lol rugbystud – you shouldn’t bring up “the Ashes”.
4 Aug 2007, 19:38 pm
130 the ref that is
4 Aug 2007, 19:38 pm
India oh India
4 Aug 2007, 19:39 pm
When NH teams went down south for the RWC 2003 they prepared themselves for a SH approach to refereeing as did the British lions in 2005.
4 Aug 2007, 19:40 pm
Did you all see how excited the crowd were at England’s boring tactics …. oh my god these people are starved for real rugby
4 Aug 2007, 19:40 pm
i think that pre world cup hysteria is setting in, today game meant zip , and i mean ZIP FOR the world cup, wales where poor upfront england pack played well, i would love to have seen the welsh bacline behind that english scrum, but that wasn’t the case – end result is wait for the poms to play the frogs we might get something from that!!
4 Aug 2007, 19:41 pm
135 I think the Southern Hemishere needs to double the number of players we are sending to the Northern Hemishere in 2008 ….. lets save the game of rugby
4 Aug 2007, 19:42 pm
chch, they probably have promtps against the opposite stands like in sitcoms to keep them cheering.
You mean that throw it around **** that NZ Super 14 teams play?
This was great for self-belief, dropping Farrell and getting Jake White worried
136# surrey
True.
Can’t read anything in today’s game.
133 ,,,, thats just not cricket
134 lol
4 Aug 2007, 19:43 pm
141 lmfao
4 Aug 2007, 19:44 pm
139 Everybody please read 139 … this is just the sort of thing I am referrign to in 137
Please give generously
4 Aug 2007, 19:44 pm
big hit ….now your rolling out that its great for self belief line, allthough your probably right seeing as you will in all liklyhood playing wales in the quarters, so it will be good to get a win for confidence
4 Aug 2007, 19:45 pm
144 chch, mate, i just had a chuckle reading that one.
4 Aug 2007, 19:46 pm
After the SA tour England needed a little bit of self-belief because they definitely have the ability.
4 Aug 2007, 19:46 pm
what is the NH record against SH big hit, i don’t have my fact book with me
4 Aug 2007, 19:48 pm
139# Big Hit
And you are telling me that I don’t know anything about rugby rugby!
Eish!!!
4 Aug 2007, 19:48 pm
Does England have really small numbers on their backs to make them look bigger or to make them look as though they are moving faster?
4 Aug 2007, 19:49 pm
harder to card them when they’re lying on the ball
4 Aug 2007, 19:49 pm
it’s there IQ CHCH
4 Aug 2007, 19:50 pm
Why can’t you guys just admit you’re a little worried?
If Skop was on he’d give England their due credit.
4 Aug 2007, 19:50 pm
surrey
SA beat Wales 95-3 or something in the late 90′s.
Didn’t help us in WC 1999 though.
Same with Eng. today, I reckon.
4 Aug 2007, 19:52 pm
I SAID EARLIER big hit, that to win in september we would still need to play well, but to say that todays win by england scared the **** out of me would simply not be the truth, your not really asking me to lie are you big hit
4 Aug 2007, 19:54 pm
pietman your right, what cost us that world cup was leaving the mighty teich at home, Mallets one blot of his copybook in my opinion, i’m sure if we got nick drunk he would say the same.
4 Aug 2007, 19:54 pm
This is merely a defence mechanism at play. You”ve dismissed today’s game because it feels better for you.
Truth is, England’s forwards man-handled that pack and South Africa’s forwards won’t be able to shove them around.
So whats Plan B for South AFrica?
Tell me? Butch and Jean’s creative genius?
I think not.
4 Aug 2007, 19:56 pm
I just can’t take them seriously ….
New Zealand vs England … 29 games
New Zealand 22 wins 652 points
England 6 wins 364 points
They have 5 times more players than us
And just to show how boring they are…
New Zealand 84 tries England 37
New Zealand 54 penalties England 48
New Zealand 5 drop goals England 6
4 Aug 2007, 19:56 pm
big hit if it’s honesty we are going to do ,pray tell do you honestly think that todays performance means that you will become the first team in rugby world cup history to defend the webb ellis trophy?
4 Aug 2007, 19:57 pm
151, 152 lol
If this pack performs against SA and NZ, there’s no reason why not.
Give me one reason why not?
i think the answer should be no, if it’s honesty we are doing!
4 Aug 2007, 19:59 pm
The 23-19 at Twickenham was the best reflection of the England team with a good pack playing NZ (and thats when NZ were at their peak).
NZ struggle against teams with good forwards. E.g. the first 65 mins in Durban this year.
4 Aug 2007, 19:59 pm
153 Big Hit,
No (read 158)
4 Aug 2007, 20:00 pm
161 Because God hates boring rugby
4 Aug 2007, 20:01 pm
one reason, i will give you a few,
your forwards will not have that advantage in either of the games that matter,
your backline play is sterile at best, you rely on johnie kicking to much
your line out (6 nations) is ****
your are ttrying to employ the rush defence SH teams play that week in week out.
the rest of the world hates english rugby for their arrogance and you will come off second best in most tight decisions
4 Aug 2007, 20:02 pm
Whats with this boring rugby stuff?
WINNING WORLD CUPS CHCH, THATS WHAT MATTERS!!
But then again, Kiwis have forgotten about all that for a while now
4 Aug 2007, 20:03 pm
163 Big Hit,
That is really funny becasue the score did not reflect the game …. refer to 137 again
4 Aug 2007, 20:04 pm
1 in 5 for england too mate, 1 in 5 for kiwis, 1 in 3 for SA ……NOT TO SHABBY
4 Aug 2007, 20:04 pm
Our forwards WILL have the advantage or at very least the ability to negate the opposition.
Catt will change our backline. Mike + Jonny = Tries.
Shawsy, Cozza and Dallyballs are back to rule the lineout.
I don’t think the rest of the world hates English rugby, do you?
4 Aug 2007, 20:05 pm
One way traffic for 80 mins. Can’t read all that much in a downcast Wales outfit. England are looking impressive well conditioned and focused, JW will have a few concerns especially at front row, also round the loosies, Burger cant take on all 3 big boys alone, Skinstad won’t have the metal for the grunt and grind.
Congratulations BH now lets see what happens next week.
78. Maybe for the same reason you are in Korea; cheap labour:)
167 Big Hit …”THATS WHAT MATTERS” … no, wrong ….please refer to 137 again
4 Aug 2007, 20:06 pm
I DO …..ASK ANY SIDE IN THE WORLD WHO THEY WOULD MOST LIKE TO HUMILIATE….ANSWER ENGLAND
4 Aug 2007, 20:06 pm
Good display by England at HQ against a second string Welsh outfit, many of whom won’t be playing in the word cup. Good game for White to have on “tape” as give or take a couple of players this may be very much the same side SA play on the 14th of September.
4 Aug 2007, 20:09 pm
Big Hit
Don’t know about the world, but we in SA don’t fancy your rugby match.
Same with your cars, not much to look at…
78 Pietman,
I just assumed that was his son playing today … oh my God …. perhaps New Zealand can bring back Jones agian
FRENCH —-ANS ENGLAND
SCOTS —-ENGLAND
IRISH —ENGLAND
SOUTH AFRICA —-ENGLAND (AUSSIES CLOSE SECOND)
NZ —-ENGLAND (DITTO ABOVE)
AUSSIES —-ENGLAND( KIWIS AND SAFFAS CLOSE SECOND)
WELSH —-ENGLAND , ENGLAND AND MAYBE ENGLAND
ARGIES ….ENGLAND
sAYS IT ALL
But why?
4 Aug 2007, 20:11 pm
All those countries are bitter because we own them or beat them in a war.
4 Aug 2007, 20:11 pm
ARROGANCE …..ever played in england ….RFU says it all not the ERFU ….BUT THE RFU,
4 Aug 2007, 20:12 pm
180 — I REST MY CASE YOUR HONOUR
4 Aug 2007, 20:12 pm
Jet# 172
You talking to me?
Then say so.
Cheap labour?
What are you on about?
4 Aug 2007, 20:14 pm
Its a true story tho
4 Aug 2007, 20:16 pm
180 Big Hit,
I don’t remember losing a war dispite all the New Zealanders the English killed at Gallipoli
4 Aug 2007, 20:17 pm
Why? It’s a strange one that. Probably just because. English football yob’s mouths and actions may also have something to do with it.
4 Aug 2007, 20:18 pm
When is the next international?
Canterbury playing tomorrow for those early risers
4 Aug 2007, 20:19 pm
Howzit Pietman you up either very late or very early.. which?
4 Aug 2007, 20:20 pm
England v France on Saturday.
Out of interest, are you a displaced Scotsman?
Keep talking BH, all you got is hot air to blow up your skirts
Skopskiet
Up late, just about to check out after all the excitement of the Sharks/Cheetah match!
How are things your side?
4 Aug 2007, 20:21 pm
ENG V FRANCE NEXT SAT
4 Aug 2007, 20:22 pm
Nice to see a balanced reply as usual Skop.
I don’t think we’re world beaters automatically but I know that pack can become a force to be reckoned with by Sept.
4 Aug 2007, 20:23 pm
Cheetahs showed Sharks wie’s baas today, not as much famous depth as they been proclaiming when their bokke are absent.
Things OK here thanks Piet, hope the same for you.
4 Aug 2007, 20:24 pm
There may be a slight arrogance, but thats a tough one, as we all have a slight arrogance according to the oposition. Saffas call Aussies arrogant to, and Aussies and POMS call Saffas arrogant. So I think the arrogant thing is aimed at all countires as we all have our arrogant supporters who don’t have any respect for the honour of the opposition. Ive come across arrogant supporters from all countries Ive watched SA play live, and met some seriously arrogant supporters of the Boks to. There must be something else.
4 Aug 2007, 20:26 pm
New Zealanders are the most arrogant when it comes to rugby.
4 Aug 2007, 20:27 pm
Ok could just be a older/big brother mentality. Ive played for London irish and never really came across arrogant players. All seem to have a healthy respect for oneanother. If they didnt they wouldnt be buying up foreign players left right and centre.
Enland are looking pretty sharp, Ashton’s done a good job, they look well conditioned, fit and focused, old Jake will have a few little ponderings after what he saw today, big boys are up for the fight, no walk in the park in Paris Sept. 14, Gallipoli or Roukes Drift might fade in comparison.
Not centre. Mike Catt plays centre.
4 Aug 2007, 20:28 pm
187 Big Hit ….. no
4 Aug 2007, 20:29 pm
200 187 = 189
4 Aug 2007, 20:30 pm
BH
That’s possibly because they play it the best.
4 Aug 2007, 20:31 pm
196 We just get to celebrate more
Wales was exceedingly poor today. Expect Wales to have a sub standard RWC.
England’s pack were very good today. We will see a very different team for France. England need to drop Farrel and Corry asap.
Since Eddie Jones is “coaching” the Springboks; that quarterfinal vs the Wallabies will be very interesting indeed
196 I didnt mention them, mainly because they deserve to be arrogant. No other team in the world has been more consistantly placed at the top of world rugby than them. Apart from World Cup claims. But rugby history is much bigger than that cup. Personally think we can do away with it. And yes I’ve met some SERIOUSLY arrogant Kiwi supporters. It may even get worse if they win this WC as I cant see anyone taking it away from them in their home WC in 2011. Then they will be going on about back to back WC champs.
Boks vs England
is gonna be a helleva a match
4 Aug 2007, 20:33 pm
204 john_doe,
Yes, Eddie coaching the Boks will give Australia the upper hand
4 Aug 2007, 20:34 pm
4 chokes in World Cups tells a different story. Its all very well playing well when other sides are in development.
Once again we’re seeing a NZ side stuttering in a World Cup year.
Nah, I have watched many games with New Zealanders (including the Lions series in ’05). A more arrogant bunch when it comes to rugby you could not meet.
NZ struggle against big packs.
4 Aug 2007, 20:34 pm
204 who’s quarter final vs Wallabies, SA or England?
4 Aug 2007, 20:35 pm
205 hmmmm back to back … I hadn’t considered that yet …. perhaps not so arrogant
4 Aug 2007, 20:36 pm
You’re another one carried away with the illusion of the mighty Kiwis.
These guys consistently struggle under pressure and thats the truth.
4 Aug 2007, 20:37 pm
Course you did.
Win one first, then think about back to back.
4 Aug 2007, 20:37 pm
#208 Didn’t the All Blacks play with 13 men on the field at Twicks…and still win???
4 Aug 2007, 20:38 pm
How about Corry at 2nd row where he played in the win v France?
He’s a big unit and has got a great workrate.
4 Aug 2007, 20:38 pm
206 Joeboy,
It is just huge. Bigger than the France vs Ireland and that one mostly decides who plays NZ
The England game surely doesn’t suit the Boks … England will play for the penalties in the forwards
4 Aug 2007, 20:39 pm
Howzit all? Eish that score is unbelievable! But we are more than capable of defeating the English, after all we are the mighty Springboks!!!
4 Aug 2007, 20:41 pm
BH #199
That’s what he meant. Buying a SAFFA at centre.
#209 Wallabies vs Springboks.
Withdrawing the Boks from the 3N was a monumental mistake. We will be underdone going into that test vs England.
208 Big Hit,
You are so arrogant about New Zealand that you consider us chokers if we do not win a World Cup. You are far more arrogant about New Zealand than New Zealanders!!!!
Read Keo’s thread on the ABs a few below this one
Cory aint a 7 and not much of an 8 Easterby much better so next step 4 or 5 at the expense of who?
4 Aug 2007, 20:42 pm
Ja Catt is a Saffa, he didn’t have the skills or ability to make it as a Bok, so he decided to play for the English…
4 Aug 2007, 20:42 pm
Big hit…
Lets see how many of the mighty Wales Slayers walk away… England seem to be doing well in the Porcelain stakes..
Let Ashton take stock of what he still has available on Monday, before we start writing the Boks off…
4 Aug 2007, 20:43 pm
211 Big Hit,
You are now contradicting yourself in 208
4 Aug 2007, 20:43 pm
I consider you chokers when you fail to win 4 World Cups despite possessing the players to do so.
At the expense of no one. Unless you include the sub-standard Borthwick. Its a no-brainer imo.
4 Aug 2007, 20:44 pm
213 john_doe,
England prefer the 16 a side game
4 Aug 2007, 20:45 pm
#214 All you can expect from Corry is grinding “slow” forward play. Trust me England can do better…
4 Aug 2007, 20:45 pm
His mother is English.
4 Aug 2007, 20:46 pm
Thats why I’d put him in the 2nd row. They’re supposed to be slow and grinding.
So he was born in South Africa, therefore he is South African.
218 john_doe,
I still have that one as Boks vs Aus
4 Aug 2007, 20:47 pm
So according your assessment j_d we going into quarters vs Aus, you might very well be right, but its not a foregone conclusion, I think saffa mentality still has to learn to raise the bar in the psychological arena, and on today’s performance the English pack can match and maybe even dominate ours up front. Looks like Jake will now undoubtedly go with Roussouw at 8 he needs the bulk against these guys and he better have Bismarck on the bench and not Gary Botha otherwise he’ll be sunk.
4 Aug 2007, 20:49 pm
224 Big Hit,
You have lost 22 games out of 29 against New Zealnd with five times the number of players …. choker
4 Aug 2007, 20:50 pm
Howzit Skopskiet?
4 Aug 2007, 20:50 pm
I don’t think the England will ‘dominate’ the Saffa pack but I feel we can negate them or maybe edge them forcing them into a non-existent plan B.
Roussouw didn’t go far against England on tour. Wasn’t he criticised?
4 Aug 2007, 20:51 pm
232…
Need we say more!!! BMT!!
World Champions.
How long since you could say that? choker.
Big Hit buddy…
Congratulations on the win. I saw the game, it was impressive.
However, I will tell you this.
I know EXACTLY how to beat England…I will watch the game again just to make sure, but I saw some interesting points out there….
Wait and see.
215# yea chch the Boks have to beat them up
and i reckon we will.. its gonna be nasty
4 Aug 2007, 20:54 pm
It is gonna be nasty. It will be an all out war imo.
4 Aug 2007, 20:54 pm
236…
How long until you can say it again.. At the rate you are contracting southern hemisphere players. CHOP!!!
4 Aug 2007, 20:55 pm
Anon 240
I would not worry…England have problems, SERIOUS problems I am telling you….
4 Aug 2007, 20:56 pm
Do share your theories…
Perhaps 2 months. There’s no clear contender for the WC this year imo.
4 Aug 2007, 20:57 pm
237 willievz,
How the Boks can easily beat England … make sure that the Germans don’t get to the deck chairs first then the English wont have to lie all over the ball
4 Aug 2007, 20:58 pm
I get the impression that the England pack is a gang rather than a unit. That’s the weakness.
4 Aug 2007, 20:58 pm
I don’t think I am going to share it here, but rather somewhere else where it matters…
4 Aug 2007, 20:59 pm
I’m not a Roussouw fan, but I know Jakes thinking regarding brawn over brains or mobility, as long as he has Smit on he won’t be needing Skinstad on the field so he’ll likely start with Roussouw now that Spies is gone. Then he’ll have Burger, Smith and Roussow to counter Worsley, Easter and either Dallaglio or your other flanker if you have Corry in at lock. The real issue though is up font because I can’t see Os Durant going further than 50 mins against your front row. Bismarck on the bench is a must in that game otherwise we will be playing Australia in the quarters.
4 Aug 2007, 21:00 pm
England do not have history on their side but they do have Mike Cat which is kind of the same thing
4 Aug 2007, 21:02 pm
245 williez,
I gave away my secret theory in 243 so you have to now… please
4 Aug 2007, 21:02 pm
Howzit saffa dude, how goes it?
Willie howdy, glad you can see the weakness only thing is pity you are not SA coach, I hope you have the inside track on slipping your info to E.Jones seeing as JW has effectively become media manager while EJ takes over the strategy and coaching duties.
4 Aug 2007, 21:03 pm
#58 – Jacaranda
Lets see:
Average IQ of England = 102
Average IQ of the Netherlands = 109
What is the heritage of the “average SA forward”?
4 Aug 2007, 21:05 pm
249 skopskiet,
The idea of gaving any master plan to Eddie Jones just has me in stitches
4 Aug 2007, 21:08 pm
I don’t think Jake White will listen. He only listens to Clive Woodward and Eddie Jones.
Its not the finalised England pack. But I see your point, they haven’t gelled.
But what a gang. This pack is a beef machine:
1. Andrew Sheridan – 6 ft 4, 19st 7lbs
3. Phil Vickery – 6 ft 3, 17st
4. Simon Shaw – 6 ft 9, 18st 7lbs
5. Martin Corry – 6ft 5, 17st 7lbs
6. Nick Easter – 6ft 4, 18 st 2lbs
7. Joe Worsley – 6ft 5, 18st
8. Lawrence Dallaglio – 6ft 4, 17st 7lbs
I will tell you this though.
They do engage in some shannanegans off the ball and what you stress is a valid point, but their angles of running from the forwards are very predictable. Their mauling is also predictable, the key men involved there should just be curtailed. Doing this is troublesome if you don’t you who are the silent enforcers, but I know now…
England will get beaten up front. Scrums are a different kettle of fish though. I am talking about the tight loose.
I am not going to say a word further…
Howzit skopskiet, doing well there?
4 Aug 2007, 21:10 pm
Mike Catt > Mauger and Iceman Toe
Skopskiet 246
I agree that Bismarck should be on the bench for the England clash.
And for that fixture, Albert vdB should be benched as well, I have a specific role for him…one role…
Look on oddschecker.com
Average odds on Boks to win the World Cup is 5:1
Average odds on England are 25:1
Looks like the Poms are not putting their money where their mouths are……..
Or maybe everyone just thinks they are cr@p.
4 Aug 2007, 21:11 pm
Big Hit
I still see value in Mike Catt, he is a must play for you.
4 Aug 2007, 21:12 pm
Keep it under your hat Willie boy and slip it to EJ, better still get employed as tactician in chief for the boks and plan the English downfall yourself.
4 Aug 2007, 21:14 pm
#230 #231
No I have to disagree. With the exception of Wales
and the Springboks, all the top teams have had a good buildup to the RWC.
Matches vs Namibia and Connaught cannot compare to
tests vs the All Blacks and Wallabies.
The top Boks, in my humble opinion, will arrive at the RWC way short of match practice and will sadly be underdone.
Just being realistic thats all.
Good on you Willie I trust your instincts only problem is will Jake listen to your wisdom, sadly I doubt it.
I’m glad someone sees the value in Catt. He’s one of the most intelligent players in the game today.
4 Aug 2007, 21:15 pm
You wanna play Albert at 8 huh Willie ala Mark Andrews?
4 Aug 2007, 21:16 pm
Bear in mind Tom Rees is first choice openside and great on the floor.
Keep that on tha downlow tho
4 Aug 2007, 21:17 pm
258 willievz,
Commedy value ?
4 Aug 2007, 21:17 pm
The boy is a genius, born in PE, so going forward he might have immense value, but when the big boys come thundering through will he hold the line or fold? MC that is.
4 Aug 2007, 21:18 pm
John Doe 260
Of course, that is one side of the coin. I share your concerns, but I will tell you this – the Boks will mentally be the most prepared team at the RWC.
This year’s 3N was overshadowed in the minds by the RWC later in the year, hence our first team would have travelled 24h on a plane with their thoughts not on the big event later in the year. It was a mission that they had to refrain from IMO.
4 Aug 2007, 21:18 pm
Just keep bigging up the ‘Toe’
4 Aug 2007, 21:19 pm
183. Hold on to your knickers Pietman, as far as I am aware, no protocol exits on this site where one has to refer to a bloggers handle and that failure to do so will be disrespectful.
Forget the previous post, not really worth explaining.
4 Aug 2007, 21:19 pm
Let’s hope
4 Aug 2007, 21:20 pm
260 john_doe,
That means (being realistic) that New Zealand and South Africa will meet in a semi (and being even more realistic) deciding the WC winner
4 Aug 2007, 21:20 pm
Jet 269
You are right, no protocol exists, but good manners are rewarded everywhere. Even on the internet.
4 Aug 2007, 21:22 pm
He won’t fold. Its only Jean opposite him don’t forget, not Jonah.
The SA centres aren’t going to steamroll anyone. Centres rarely do these days.
4 Aug 2007, 21:23 pm
#246 Good assessment. Bismark though was chosen on his abilities in the CC. So we will have to hope and pray that he has what it takes as a test hooker.
Big Hit isn’t Dayglo 35 yrs old?
4 Aug 2007, 21:24 pm
268 Big Hit,
I am not a Toeava fan …. I am trusting that GH told him to play **** in All Black games so that they could use him as a world cup secret weapon … either that or Toeava has naked photoes of GH
4 Aug 2007, 21:26 pm
Jean and even Jaque are reasonable size boys that come at one at speed, maybe your Farrel boy is a better option to hold the line there, and could be that Ashton sees it the same.
Catt will be there to cover for Wilko, as he was in 2003.
England need to be respected, certainly not feared.
Big Hit
All I am saying is that it depends on the attacking team where the point of breakdown will take place, and also the speed with which it goes to ground.
If our players refrain from going to ground in the tackle for a split second longer, we are going to see the true English colours…then the fetcher is not the primary concern, but the ripper in the maul…
Your very strength is also your achilles’ heel…
Would you like to play against him? He’s a powerful player
Mauger isn’t much better. Solid at best.
4 Aug 2007, 21:28 pm
Chch
Who would be your AB centre pairing in the RWC?
4 Aug 2007, 21:28 pm
2 many OLD men in the England team
Boks gonna beat them
roll on world cup
4 Aug 2007, 21:30 pm
In addition to my previous post….
If the running lines of our backline will improve, ie running straighter, the point of breakdown will automatically be closer to the loose trio, doing away with many of the problems SA have encountered in this department.
Now imagine if they can manage to keep the ball in the air while in contact a little longer…
I can’t wait…
4 Aug 2007, 21:30 pm
274# Bismarck is the best hooker in SA.
Now if we can only ger rid of Smit and Gary
4 Aug 2007, 21:31 pm
#271 the Wallabies more than stood up to the Boks in SA. I’m keeping my fingers crossed but the Wallabies do have BMT…
I also expect Los Pumas, my second favorite
team, to sneak past the French.
278 williwvz,
I think you need to be prepared to cycle the ball before the lie on it and try to avoid the slow players walking back on side.
What would happen if England tried to mall anyway? They seam to be good at the rolling ruck!
I agree. Catt and Wilkinson together are a great team and Jonny benefits hugely. More so than he would with Farrell. Jonny is the best player in the world when playing alongside Catt imo.
Centres that break the line these days hit space, they don’t steam roll the man any more like Scott Gibbs used to. I would imagine a good defensive 13 will be played outside Catt if he plays and with Wilko inside it should be fine.
Saturday will provide a true indication of England’s strengths.
4 Aug 2007, 21:32 pm
66,000 watchd that game today btw. compared with 45,000 for the Tri Nations finale.
Shocking.
4 Aug 2007, 21:34 pm
279 Big Hit,
Mauger is good … (he is a specialist 12 by the way where as Toeava is a pretend center)
4 Aug 2007, 21:35 pm
Why doesn’t he ever do anything special then?
4 Aug 2007, 21:35 pm
Depending on field position, of course that is a very effective strategy too
4 Aug 2007, 21:37 pm
280 willievz,
Mauger and Smith as first choice
McAlister and Mils as backup (MacDonald is first choice full back for me anyway)
…but as GH says … there is a plan for each opposition team
#283 Smit is a tried and tested test hooker, whereas Bismark was chosen solely on his form in the CC.
Very dangerous to do that in my opinion.
I agree with you on G Botha, he weakens the pack.
Ashton has told Farrel that he’s fighting for his place in todays game.
4 Aug 2007, 21:38 pm
The game is over.
lol. Don’t listen to Graham Henry. He’s a losing Lions coach and a failed Wales coach. He’s won nothing of repute.
4 Aug 2007, 21:39 pm
182 willievz,
We should not forget the good old Southern Hemishere tactic of putting forwards out wide to create optional safe breakdown points … I am not sure the Northern Hemishere so this
4 Aug 2007, 21:40 pm
Big Hit
What about (Sir) Clive Woodward as Lions coach?
4 Aug 2007, 21:40 pm
4 Aug 2007, 21:42 pm
271 john_doe,
I have an option on a ticket for the 1/4 final and I would prefer France or Ireland to qualify 2nd to make it a bigger game.
4 Aug 2007, 21:45 pm
chch 295
Chris Jacks speciality. The Boks still haven’t worked it out!
4 Aug 2007, 21:47 pm
289 Big Hit,
You missed the tri-nations then … please refer to 137
4 Aug 2007, 21:50 pm
I’ll put money on England beating SA next month.
SA have won LESS THAN 10% of their away games against England over the last 5 years and the trend should continue.
Despite this, many SAFFERS are over-confident and have written off England. Incredible arrogance and pomposity from the yarps. Arrogance comes before a downfall. The day of reckoning is approaching fast. Jake White’s ragtag mob will be shown up badly.
Delek told you first.
4 Aug 2007, 21:55 pm
#295 Hahaha spot on.
#298 I’m hoping Los Pumas gets the second spot. Firm supporter of the Argies
4 Aug 2007, 21:55 pm
New Zealand has won 66% of away games against England in the last 5 years. I wish we drew England
4 Aug 2007, 21:57 pm
#301 Delek you are going to make enemies on this board
4 Aug 2007, 21:58 pm
302 john_doe,
I prefer Argentina to take 1st spot
Somoa taking first spot would also make things interesting …. England may have to play 17 players just to be sure
4 Aug 2007, 22:01 pm
john_doe,
I just checked my World Cup spreadsheet (where I have already filled in my predicted results) and I have Argentina finishing 2nd ahead of Ireland
4 Aug 2007, 22:04 pm
International packs from best to
1) All Blacks
2) Argies
3) England/Springboks/French
4) Wallabies
5) Wales/Italy…
4 Aug 2007, 22:06 pm
307 john_doe,
Does Somoa not beat Italy?
4 Aug 2007, 22:06 pm
David 299
See my post 258.
Note that I have envisaged a specific role for Albert against England, coming from the bench…
4 Aug 2007, 22:07 pm
International backlines from best to
1) All Blacks
2) Wallabies
3) French
4) Argies
5) England
6) Springboks
7) Wales/Italy…
4 Aug 2007, 22:07 pm
Actually some of the AB forward play in the tri-nations was a bit off … Woodcock and Hayman don’t usually have off games but they did
4 Aug 2007, 22:09 pm
And the question is WHY…
Disrupt Vickery (not in the scrums necessarily) and England will have problems…
4 Aug 2007, 22:10 pm
#308 They are all grouped together…
BTW #307 & #310 is based purely on test wins.
4 Aug 2007, 22:11 pm
310 john_doe,
A bit harsh … in an average games the Bok backs have a lot more to do than the English … English backs are always fresh
4 Aug 2007, 22:13 pm
#309 Whats Alberts role?
4 Aug 2007, 22:16 pm
Cheers folks, I am off to bed … have to get up for Canterbury game tomorrow …. I will have to find out Alberts role then but I think I already get the idea
4 Aug 2007, 22:16 pm
#314 Ok then I’ll group them together. Both have non-existent backlines really.
4 Aug 2007, 22:18 pm
To aid in the breakdown and to cover defend…running behind the backline on attack.
Not necessarily standing as wide as Jack or Williams for the ABs, but you get the idea…
Read post 295 of chch, it is proposed in similar vein here…
4 Aug 2007, 22:18 pm
Yes guys I am also out for now.
See later!
4 Aug 2007, 22:20 pm
How good is this English coach? Wasn’t he the former backline coach? On last years end of year tour the English backline resembled a Std 6 team. Terrible passes
4 Aug 2007, 22:26 pm
WOW they are a world cup threat….I thougth so when everybody was writing them of….They have the forwards
4 Aug 2007, 22:28 pm
Just reading the above comments. I can’t believe these guys even think England have a chance after one good game.
4 Aug 2007, 22:29 pm
272. It’s so petty, if you wanted to be bad mannered towards someone, simply insult them (and you could do that by using their handle as well)
Do you agree that if people want to preach, then they must be beyond reproach?
4 Aug 2007, 22:32 pm
BIG HIT, PRAY TELL WHAT WAS ENGLANDS PLAN B TODAY, I CERTAINLY FAILED TO SEE IT?
4 Aug 2007, 22:34 pm
South Africa 55 – 22 May 2007
South Africa 58 – 10 England
NEED A PLAN B …..?
4 Aug 2007, 22:42 pm
Jis… BH England cannot compete with The Boks don’t you realise that? We have superior players on skill, commitment and ability levels…
4 Aug 2007, 22:45 pm
If the game showed anything today it is that Johnny W is about half as good as he used to be.
It could have been Hougard out there except for the defence.
4 Aug 2007, 22:51 pm
The Poms showed they will have a good pack, but showed that they have no fluidity in their backs or confidence in them either.
Will be interesting to see how the Poms play against the French who have the pack to more than match the limmies.
4 Aug 2007, 23:01 pm
France will be a force at home. But literally any team can win the cup. The team who always under-performs in the group stages ends up winning.
4 Aug 2007, 23:06 pm
What utter nonsense you guys talk … England outplayed Wales bigtime … Both teams were literally at full strength … The English team that played today would have beaten any South African concoction Jake White and his boeties would have put together.
The final result of todays mismatch is that the final will be contested by a possibility of three teams:
New Zealand
England
France
No possibility of us getting to even the quarters.
But you know what… talk to me at the end of the World cup !!!
All your idiotic concontions of Springbok teams etc will make no differance, except if the Boks were playing the Blind pensioners, no cup this year, is coming back to South Africa, certainly not the Web Ellis Trophy…
Wrong Coach, wrong coaching methods, wrong selections and def. wrong administration !!!
4 Aug 2007, 23:11 pm
325. Wow England sent there big hitters to South Africa and they never got ill !!!
Might as well put up the New Zealand loss South Africa got when we sent our “Full Strength Team” to play in the final SA Match of the Tri-Nations …
Wales have been considered as an obsticle to Teams in this years world cup!!! do your Maths….
4 Aug 2007, 23:13 pm
Gawie,
give up the wit blits boet, no chance of making the 1/4′s boet i will give you 100/1 on that ,,,,show me your money
4 Aug 2007, 23:19 pm
Gawie you talk kak! Even the commentators said that Wales were badly under strength. They had their first choice front 5 missing by choice.
England bullied them & did it well. But the backs were shown up by the forwards who displayed way more skills the 10 -15.
Maybe it will be enough come WC, I doubt it, but we will see. There are others sides who have forwards to match, but are prepared to use their backs.
4 Aug 2007, 23:36 pm
Princess you about? Thanks for the oldfriends site in NZ found the person I was looking and a few others to boot.
Man what a blast talking to someone after thirty years. Have a good weekend and chat later.
4 Aug 2007, 23:41 pm
gawie can see the poms making the quarters but Ireland and Argentenia will be putting in a show as well. England wont make the semis and we will probably see a Sth Africa, NZ, France and Ireland semi. Dont let a blown out scoreline mislead your thinking that it translates into any sort of placing in the WC.
Consistency like the AB’s over a long period is a slightly better formula. I think thats the Poms first win in 4 years isnt it?
4 Aug 2007, 23:45 pm
No captain. England soundly beat South Africa in November 2006.
4 Aug 2007, 23:49 pm
Gawie #330 good post.
The writing is on the wall for this SA team and in around one month they will implode. Many SAFFAS probably sense this deep down inside, but because rugby means so much to them they are in denial and going around saying they will “win the world cup”.
Yeah Right.
4 Aug 2007, 23:55 pm
The Bill have you actually stopped to consider how weak, uncoordinated and ineffectve the Bok backline is??
In the Durban test this year the ball went down the Bok backline to the no.13 a TOTAL of THREE times. IN an entire game. Three backline moves. In the same game the AB’s attacked with their backs 26 times.
Butch James is inconsistent and limited. I would rate the SA backs as worse than the English. I know this is not a politically correect view on this site but on the evidence of the last few seasons this is fact. Yet Yarpies are blind to this. A huge Bok implosion will happen at the World Cup.
5 Aug 2007, 00:24 am
338, and still only won it in the final 10 minutes and we had a yellow card.
your point is absolutely futile. much like all the other **** you post here.
5 Aug 2007, 00:49 am
Fantail
Happy to help
It is cool catching up with old friends isn’t it ? Well, sometimes …
5 Aug 2007, 02:50 am
323# Jet
You still there?
Then read jacarandauk from #30 onwards, and you will see what Willie meant when he referred to ‘manners’.
This guy jacaranda is just out to slag us Saffas,
he never discusses any rugby here.
And I for one, won’t stand for it.
It has nothing to do with Korea or cheap labour, or whatever else you might want to drag into it..
5 Aug 2007, 02:53 am
Hello Cappie
Heng, ek het al gaan slaap en is weer terug.
Ek sien jacaranda het n maatjie bygekry, maar ou Willie het hom op sy gewone. diplomatiese manier tereggewys.
Goeie, gemanierde mannetjie, daai Willie…nie soos ek en jy en GBS wat net mo#r vloek nie!
5 Aug 2007, 03:00 am
338# Delek
Your 20th celebration of the AB WC win finished then?
What is this new word you discovered, ‘implode’, implosion’?
The last time that happened at a WC was when Dominici left you guys for dead in the 1999 semi’s, twice.
And when Wilson started spewing at Ellis Park in ’95 after Chester spear tackled him!
‘Implode’ at the WC? Yes, you should know all about that…
5 Aug 2007, 03:21 am
Hey Pietman I guess I asked for that.
Don’t forget I’m a huge fan of Bok rugby but I HATE the limited way the Boks play now. Big stodgy forwards (who get dominated by most other teams except in the lineout where they are quite strong), One dimensional losse forwards who are just not good at the breakdown, and a conservative, unadventurous approach to the game by the backs. Come on man, it’s not inspiring stuff, Jake White has a VERY poor record as Bok coach, his overseas record is appalling, one of the worst in Bok history. And when last have you seen the Boks playing ‘thinking’ rugby??
SA could do MUCH MUCH better.
Now as for the AB’s although they often slip up in the semis, they are the most consistent team at the world cup, they are the ONLY team to have made the semis of EVERY world cup, and they have played in them all. Overall they have the most consistent form of all tteams in world cups, but yes, they do have a habit of slipping up in the semis or finals.
SA are currently very limited and uderprepared and I look forward to discussing with you on this site in eight weeks time what went wrong for the Boks and what the way forward is.
5 Aug 2007, 04:43 am
Delek
SA is going to win the WC!
JW is a wily old fox.
You ain’t seen nothing from SA yet, believe me.
WC is whole new ball game.
5 Aug 2007, 05:38 am
Great win for England, but how much do we really read into it? A question that will be asked by the England camp first and foremost come Sunday morning review.
The England pack displayed great rugby from the top shelf, but against a Welsh team that left out 10 of its top tier players, but what may worry the English fans, is the way the backs played. Cueto injured in the warm ups and that was probably an omen into how the backs played.
62-5 or 16-5, it is always better to go into the RWC with any sort of momentum.
5 Aug 2007, 05:44 am
JW a “wiley old fox”? Wile E. Coyote, more likely. Eternally in a vain, fruitless chase after the far-smarter Beep-Beep the Roadrunner.
Jake fluked a 3N win on debut, thanks to an identical win-loss scorecard to Aus and NZ, but with a non-rugby “bonus point” to clinch it.
Since then?
Nothing at all.
Zero. Zip. Zilch. Nada.
Cobwebs in the trophy cabinet.
5 Aug 2007, 05:48 am
Tackler
I have marked this post of yours, until after the WC!
5 Aug 2007, 05:53 am
uhh…john doe
englands back line is even worse than South Africas. and in your rating of forward packs are you talking tight five strength? cause no way can Argentina compete with SA, France or Australia in terms of a complete pack (loosies)
5 Aug 2007, 06:32 am
347# Tackler
I remember you talking in the same vein ahead of the S14….
5 Aug 2007, 07:01 am
morning Pietman; gents; I see Big H is back; I predict the pom media will be all over themselves with this result; the favourite words being “brutal” and “unleash”
5 Aug 2007, 07:15 am
jb
Hello.
Yes,but come next Saturday, then they’ll be sipping cold tea again!
5 Aug 2007, 07:20 am
going 4 a surf now; catch up later; check out the webcam on magicseaweed; cracking conditions and good swell
5 Aug 2007, 07:26 am
jb
Enjoy!
5 Aug 2007, 08:16 am
#345 pietman good luck but every team is saying that.yes we have an ace up our sleeve or you aint seen nothing yet. What after the AB’s beat your A team at home from behind did the boks have some sort of revelation and now have come back with super extra ordinary powers over a couple of weeks. Jake maybe a wily fox, but Henrys the man on the horse with the bugle and the hounds on the scent are doing the Haka.
5 Aug 2007, 08:17 am
Talking about extraordinary powers does anybody know how the drug testing works under the IRB?
5 Aug 2007, 08:36 am
#310 – someone forgot Ireland altogether who have clearly got a better backline than Australia.
Lets not read too much into the result – England are ordinary at best and the Boks will crush them next month. Wales were a disgrace to the jersey and don’t even deserve to gain caps for what was nothing more than a glorified training run for the Poms. Sure they have a big pack but the Boks at full tilt will more than match them, plus we have a true playmaker at 12 not a league plodder who can only run straight and don’t forget Habana the ultimate game-breaker. The English are fooling nobody. Brian Ashton has been found out, he was the great white hope of English rugby, the man to end their stone-age forward-based game and turn their backs into wizards. Has he done that? No he’s reverted to type. Funny.
5 Aug 2007, 08:45 am
Aaaaaaaah ignore my first comment – have just read #310 properly!
5 Aug 2007, 08:46 am
jonnyman-never forget the Irish. If there is to be an upset this WC it will come from them.
5 Aug 2007, 08:48 am
#311 chch..it is difficult to be perfect all the time.
5 Aug 2007, 08:48 am
England play France next week as a warm up WOW
5 Aug 2007, 09:19 am
Now the english think they are going to win world cup
5 Aug 2007, 09:24 am
I was at the game – understrength or not wales got it up the *@# and england put in a very convincing performance whichis beginning to worry me forour pool game in just over a month
5 Aug 2007, 09:35 am
#347 – Something like the cob-webs in the AB WC trophy cupboard – No?
5 Aug 2007, 09:56 am
Big Hit
Where ever you are. I hope you can read this and it helps shut you up until your lame team gets knocked out of the RWC. South African odds of winning the RWC 4/1; England odds 20/1. DEAL WITH IT!!!!
5 Aug 2007, 10:00 am
“JJ Harmse of Rapport says that the new quota will be a minimum of SIX quota nonwhites in the team, and than any quota nonwhite with three or more test caps won’t be part of the 6-man quota any more.
So, if a quota player is good enough to earn a fourth test cap, his quota place must be filled by a new black quota, meaning that the team will now have seven black players in it: the compulsory 6 quotas and the seventh, now “off-quotaâ€, former quota player.
There must be a minumum of 4 black players on the field at any point in the game.
In practice, this will result in a minimum of 12 black players.
Well, forget about the top 5 ranking”
Tackler.
Wonder when the rest of the Rugby playing nations will step in and stop this blatant NEW RASISM called transformation. Its not transformation its breaking down values that is dear to us, the once proud Springbok is on the altaar, for greedy , vindictive politicians.
What can the IRB do? Well FIFA didnt hesitate to suspend the current Euro champion Greece after thier government sticked his nose into soccer.
Its time for the Rugby World to stand up and be counted.
5 Aug 2007, 10:08 am
Tackler, you conveniently forget Henry won the 2005 Tri Nations on bonus points. Criticise him for that like you criticise White.
SB. They need to transform from the ground up and that has been acknowledged. I believe the “3 caps” nonsense is scaremongering by JJ.
5 Aug 2007, 10:25 am
england v france ….home and away over the next twoo weeks will give a better impression of englands strengths, that was a decidely understrength welsh side, let hold judgement till then, personally i hope england play well in both games it will stop any chances of south africa being over confident in the paris match.
5 Aug 2007, 10:26 am
#366 superBul– I’m with you on this one- what can we all do?
raven thank god the Webb Ellis is a small cup as there aint much room left in the AB cabinet and no room for cobwebs. Hows your Glamour Draw going?
5 Aug 2007, 10:27 am
dalek…..england soundly beat south africa in 2006 ……won by 3 points against our b team, puts a new perspective on the word soundly!
5 Aug 2007, 10:30 am
oops sorry it was 2 points ….23 – 21
5 Aug 2007, 10:41 am
wilkie is the Mardonna off rugby look at those cheeky kicks
5 Aug 2007, 10:43 am
Guys
you can look at it any way you wish but the draw certainly favours OZ, SA & England.
They’ll all make the semis without having played more than one decent game.
France, Ireland and Arg will all play at least 2 maybe 3 hard matches (depending on who comes second in group D and meets NZ in quarters)
Even NZ will have a decent quarter-final opponent
and could easily lose to any of the three.
(ok they’d be favourites but still very possible)
So form teams will not necessarily be the semi finalists. Kinda makes mockery of the whole thing?
But if France, Arg, Ire or even NZ lift the cup they’ll deserve it more than others
5 Aug 2007, 11:24 am
“This “friendly†(sold to the public as a Test) told us nothing we didn’t know already.”
South Africa will be facing Australia in the 1/4 finals based on England pomping SA in the groups.
5 Aug 2007, 11:25 am
USA v BOKS Montpellier. I have 4 tickets for sale. email; wjranderson@yahoo.se
5 Aug 2007, 11:52 am
Wallabie – it looks then your time will be up in the 1/4 finals.
Either or England or the Boks will smash you okes. When last did you play well in the NH?
5 Aug 2007, 12:29 pm
wallabie, running scared of the poms so much you would rather have the boks
5 Aug 2007, 12:30 pm
aussie or wales …..same result = win for boks
5 Aug 2007, 12:46 pm
Problem for Oz is they have no depth. One or two front line players get injured & that is it, competition over.
5 Aug 2007, 13:04 pm
You guys go on about your depth ****!!!
Your depth got beat on tour…lose the idea gents…shake out of that hallucination of yours/
5 Aug 2007, 13:09 pm
No Wallabie, our depth almost beat your first stringers…
But it is carte blanche at the RWC, looking forward to the games…
5 Aug 2007, 13:09 pm
wallabie,what have you done today to better the circumstances of the aborigine people?what are your thoughts on their bad treatment?
5 Aug 2007, 13:11 pm
At least the English have meaningfull opposition (Wales and France)in these final weeks before the WC.
NZ have nothing.
SA have Namibia.
I think their preparation is more desirable.
5 Aug 2007, 13:13 pm
So what does this tell us?
Exactly what i have been saying all along,
lets not go into the WC thinking we will beat England, coz we all know that Saffas being the favorites is never a good recipe.
Their pack is still strong, as ours.
their backs are still plain, as ours.
I think this was good for us, had England narrowly won we would have walked into the WC overconfident and have lost.
Least now we know we have to put in a big game to whip the poms, and that our forwards will have to be super agressive.
good game tho, thought the poms have made good strides in getting better, still dont think they can challenge for the cup tho
5 Aug 2007, 13:18 pm
The Bill #379.
Aussie have never had real depth in Rugby. Their Elite Athletes get spread over 4 codes of footy………………still hasn’t stopped them being the most successful WC Team ever has it!.
They will be there or thereabouts come Q-finals and finals. And whoever plays them will know they will have to at their best to prevail.
5 Aug 2007, 13:25 pm
Was watching the telly with the GF when I saw the new Springbok RWC advert.
Whoever approved that advert needs to be shot at dawn. Talk about embarrassment!
I nearly fell off the chair LOL. We couldn’t decide which super hero they resembled so we settled on teenage mutant ninja turtles.
Cowabunga dudes
The fact is, England are back and the pool of players available to them is amazing.
What have guys done for the betterment for the black population…the same people you tortured, killed and abused in the past.
Some would say that this abuse continues on SA farms.
I would say you have done nothing….the majority government has been dumped with this problem and the whities are resisting this change.
I am not including sport here.
5 Aug 2007, 13:26 pm
Our backs aren’t average
9. Perry – excellent
10. Wilkinson – excellent
11. Robinson – excellent
12. Catt – excellent Farrell – ****
13. Hipkiss – needs more ball
14. Strettle – good, Lewsey – excellent
15. Cueto – excellent
Our backs just need the ball and a good 12.
5 Aug 2007, 13:28 pm
“Almost” does not take the candy home…mate!
It was 17-0 and then it was one way traffic….jake white employed a game plan to limit damage…he cannot do so at WC time….winner takes all!
This is where SA will struggle because there whole game plan till now has been defensive (keep scores low) but the problem will be once the Boks go behind on the scoreboard.
5 Aug 2007, 13:31 pm
wallabie actually a lot.i am busy in the creation of lowcost housing about 3 days a week.i also donated some money for some black kids from soweto to go and play rugga in bethlehem.click my nick and check it out.
truganini
namatjiro
5 Aug 2007, 13:31 pm
#387 Big Hit,
Why does England have so many geriatrics in the side. I mean your No8 Dayglo is 36 years old!!
5 Aug 2007, 13:35 pm
329 Lions,
only 7 teams have a realistic chance
5 Aug 2007, 13:36 pm
#389 Quote of the day
“Hipkiss – needs more ball”
Hahahahaha.
5 Aug 2007, 13:43 pm
Princess and Fantial,
Just found the site … ‘old friends’ .. been out of NZ for 9 years so very handy
5 Aug 2007, 13:46 pm
Wallabie
This is uncalled for mate. I don’t go on Australian sites and remind Australians about the killings of Aborigines…
I respect your knowledge about the game and appreciate the banter in good spirit, but leave such political concerns out of the equation please.
5 Aug 2007, 13:50 pm
Hello Varing
Vertel hom my maat!!
5 Aug 2007, 13:52 pm
Willie
Hoe gaan dit ou Kleinbaaier?
Dankie dat jy gister bygestaan het met Jet, jacaranda en daai ander lot van Pta- VerWes!
5 Aug 2007, 13:54 pm
373 Flametop,
The mere fact that someone can talk about deserving it more shows how much the World Cup has become an over rated event which apparently decides who is the greatest. The winner of the World Cup will be the winner of the world cup tournament.
Save rugby … value all games
5 Aug 2007, 13:55 pm
376 The Bill,
Do Either have a stonger yeam than England?
5 Aug 2007, 13:56 pm
hallo pietman.
wallabie i am involved in the prof part of lowcost housing for 3 days a week.
next year the one project is only 36 000 stands.us proffesionals get payed less becuase its low cost housing,we do it because we wanna make a change.
how have you helped the aborigines?you have never apoligised for past/current atrocities so it tells me a lot about you.
5 Aug 2007, 13:56 pm
400 yeam = team
Bill, feel free to slag me off after that one
5 Aug 2007, 13:59 pm
383 Cane,
NZ will be having training sessions combining the 2 top teams in the world ….why else are we called the ABs
5 Aug 2007, 14:00 pm
Wallabie
Howzit old mate?
You and I have ben going on here on keo a long time, right?
Now, all I want to tell you is this, you are always welcome, but read the brand name of this site and remember.
It is the ‘Home of SA Rugby and Cricket Fans’.
That’s what it says right there, right at the top.
So take a hint from bloggers like chch, BigHit and the like.
We don’t always agree, but they they never slag us Saffas because they know they are guests here, and they are most welcome.
So are you mate.
But easy on the Saffa slagging, or you will have to deal with me first.
5 Aug 2007, 14:03 pm
387 Big Hit,
Regarding England’s great pool of players ….I say again … 5 times more rugby players in England than NZ … England v NZ played 29 …lost 22!
5 Aug 2007, 14:04 pm
wallabie please tell us how you became a “comrade” in the struggle against apartheid.what was your input?
5 Aug 2007, 14:06 pm
Pietman vir President!!
5 Aug 2007, 14:08 pm
Its one World Cup each. Thats the only tournament in which they play each other.
5 Aug 2007, 14:10 pm
392 j_d we got a lock thats 37 though OK Jake left him behind this time, so how old is Albert and Os? maybe not quite 36 but getting there.
Glad to here you’re doing something really meaningful fern it gives me a whole other insight into your personality, good one mnr.
5 Aug 2007, 14:10 pm
Jis Pietman, Fern en Skopskiet, hoop dinge gaan goed aan julle kant. Gaan bietjie Kopenhagen toe Dinsdag, het moeviese deal geslaan met ‘n buskaartjie…gaan vir so 2 dae.
Hello Big Hit, hows the hangover today?
5 Aug 2007, 14:11 pm
Must say England did look the part yesterday, anyone want to write them off at this stage I would say are being just a little naive.
5 Aug 2007, 14:12 pm
wallabie, please grovel and post your apology here. We won’t hold our breath!
Hello Skopskiet
Fern is a ‘brother’, believe me!
406 Fern,
I got dentention for leaving school to go on a protest. Sorry but I was not yet 12
Where I live now if I protest the government will arrest and deport me (as they recently announced) … what ever happened to detention
I have protested in Australia against John Howard on a few accasions … he is a big fan of Menzies (who fronted a very raciest Australian regime)
5 Aug 2007, 14:14 pm
chch, all I am saying is one swallow does not make a summer.
If we put 50 past the Namibians, we will not suddenly be crowing to the world and beyond. If you look at the 2 sides how they took their opportunities against weaker opposition I can, hand on heart say at least we tried to run our backs.
When we played the Poms, we used our backs and scored a couple of tries through those means. What did the poms learn yesterday? That they have a very impressive one dimensional forward pack? Yup they learned that. In fact they leant more than they would have cared for, Joe Worsely showing he is a man of no vision and that their front row is still susceptable to injuries.
Take nothing away from the English pack, they were fantastic, but that is where it ended.
Are the Boks any better? I would like to think so. I think Butch James has waaaaay more flair than a stuttering, play by numbers JW, JDV & Farrel – even. Hipkiss & Fourie? Fourie is a 13, while Hipkiss looks to be another loose forward.
Back 3, I think we may have the edge with only Tait being a real threat these days.
Anyway, while this is fun, the proof is in the pudding.
Pietman 398
Groot plesier, hulle almal is skuim man, die hele lot.
M’dag willie so ek wil nog **** van daai ‘secret strategie’ wat jy in jou mou so skielik wegsteek om die poms and die verassend te vang in Parys. So spoeg dit maar uit ou maat.
Mooi skoot om daai deal wat jy onlangs getref het.
408 Big Hit,
Please read 137 again …. the players are on their way … we can save you … you can appreciate rugby again outside of the WC
5 Aug 2007, 14:16 pm
willie dis so vreemd.mense soos walla wat rassismse skree.waar was hulle tydens die anc se struggle?nerens.hulle het op tv gekyk en wil nou belegings rond gooi.kyk hoe behandel hulle die aborigines,hou hulle dronk en in die bundus.ons low cost housing doen dit nie.ons kon vernietig gewees het,maar ek eer mandela en sy aura.groot man,dinge kon anders gewees het
5 Aug 2007, 14:17 pm
What these English fans fail to remember is that the World Cup is not being held at their beloved Twickenham. Was it for any particular reason England did not tour SA for six years?
5 Aug 2007, 14:17 pm
415 The Bill,
Very big post … I was only commenting on your typo … cheers for the reply though
5 Aug 2007, 14:19 pm
It will be tough for England in France. We don’t win that often there but it will also be tough for South africa who seem to have lost the ability to win in the NH on a regular basis
5 Aug 2007, 14:20 pm
So chch where you from, always thought maybe you hailed from Christchurch, obviously wrong deduction?
5 Aug 2007, 14:20 pm
415 The Bill,
England proved nothing about breaking the line as all players did was straighten and they went through the running butter that was Wales.
England did show that they can execute a plan and that they can through the ball around (catching too) with good skill. All good for England
5 Aug 2007, 14:21 pm
423 skopskiet,
Yes Christchurch … why do you doubt this?
5 Aug 2007, 14:22 pm
Well then egg on your face, having a go at my typo & leaving one of your own. Shame on you!
5 Aug 2007, 14:23 pm
Willievz #396.
Wallaby was only retorting to a provocative post. As he usually does.(and is his right). If the Politics, Xenophobia and Insults were were left out by All, there would be no problem.
5 Aug 2007, 14:23 pm
The BIG question is going to be who has the psychological BMT on match day, that will be the real test and probably go 80% to deciding who takes the laurels this time round, anyone out of NZ, SA, France, England, Ireland can take it, and don’t be surprised if Argentina don’t throw a couple loose spanners in the works just to upset the whole preordained apple cart.
5 Aug 2007, 14:24 pm
Howzit Skopskiet, hope you’re well man.
Yep, I am very “windgat” about the deal I struck
Regarding some strategy, I have posted some insights in post 253.
We will beat them in the tight loose. While in the English half of the field, our players should stay in the air while in a tackle situation for a split second longer, and let our forwards rip the ball (this will eliminate most of our troubles come the breakdown).
Phil Vickery is a key ripper of the ball for the English in the mall situation, and there are ways to prevent his participation (legal and illegal).
Our locks and Juan Smith will have their work cut out on the day.
I will bench Albert to aid in cover defense when he comes on, and he will hava a lot of work to do in the rucks.
I will select a quick 8th man together with Schalk and Juan – since options are limited, I would opt for Skinstad.
5 Aug 2007, 14:24 pm
426 The Bill,
That hurts
5 Aug 2007, 14:25 pm
425 wasn’t quite sure, sounded like you might have come through some political struggles of your own somewhere along the line.
5 Aug 2007, 14:26 pm
Double entendre?
To those talking about the age of the England team, they have a wide spread of ages but more importantly the older players have bags of experience. They’ve beaten the Schalk Burgers and Juan Smiths of this world before.
But imo age is just a number. We won the last world cup with what the Aussies termed ‘Dad’s Army’.
5 Aug 2007, 14:26 pm
#419.willie wat dink jy daarvan?
5 Aug 2007, 14:27 pm
427# O hel, nou is hier groot moeilikheid!
Fern, hou jou in asseblief!
5 Aug 2007, 14:27 pm
427 Cane,
I agree … there was a provication posted earlier … Fern posted something about Aboriginals …not a nice post for Australians as it always leaves them running to the encyclopaedia to find out who/what they are
5 Aug 2007, 14:28 pm
Fern
Hou jou in my maat.
Ek weet wat jy wil se, maar moenie.
5 Aug 2007, 14:28 pm
Fern 433
Ek **** jou…
5 Aug 2007, 14:30 pm
418 skopskiet,
I would put Aus and Arg ahead of Ireland. Does anybody else agree?
Skopskiet, I live in fear of miss spelling your tag
5 Aug 2007, 14:30 pm
438 418 = 428
5 Aug 2007, 14:31 pm
435# chch
There is some history to Fern’s post.
Walla said something some time back about SA politics and the treatment of black people, and Fern was waiting for him …..
5 Aug 2007, 14:31 pm
Willie – You reckon Skinstad has the ‘balls’ grind and guts for the big occasion, I would also prefer him to Roussouw though I have my doubts about his ‘physical’ presence, great in a loose flowing situation but limited in tight hard battles.
I rate Wickus highly and would like him to go in at 6 with Juan and Schalk maybe patrolling 7 & 8 together. Maybe Albert wouldn’t be a very bad option as impact at 8 if the need arises ala Mark Andrews ’95. I reckon Bismark is a must on the bench too cause I doubt the longevity of Smit and Os up front, just hope he will have enough game sense about him not to do anything stupid on the big occasion.
5 Aug 2007, 14:32 pm
ja nee manne,almal koop mos nou n greenday cd want hulle noem darfoer.net n point to ponder:
ek het 2 maande riots gedoen om vrede tussen die anc en inkatha tekry.dit was swart op swart.ek het geweet dat die volgende deur wat ek oopmaak die laaste een kan wees..
5 Aug 2007, 14:32 pm
On a side note, Lewis Hamilton FTW!
5 Aug 2007, 14:33 pm
431 skopskiet,
No, growing up in New Zealand you can begin to believe all the worlds troubles only happen on TV
5 Aug 2007, 14:33 pm
I think that South African pack will get ball v England. I don’t think they will be able to ‘dominate’ England however and would be better served working on their wide game and getting the ball to Habana, Monty, Pieterson and Fourie in space.
England should do the same thing although they will be able to rely on Jonny kicking p’s
5 Aug 2007, 14:34 pm
Big Hit,
Wrong……..age is a FACT……and a number.
Get rid of Lawrence and your chances increase. Unless of course he is the best you have. Then you really are in trouble. (I am not saying Lawrence is not one of the greatest #8′s of all time….because he is.)
5 Aug 2007, 14:35 pm
Chch – Why the fear of miss spelling skopskiet what in the world could one fear in that?
5 Aug 2007, 14:36 pm
Are you crazy? Lawrence is a beast.
Age is a number its physical condition that matters and Lawro is fully fit and a complete beast.
Dallalio v So’aiolo? Dallyballs easily.
Are you crazy? Lawrence is a beast.
Age is a number its physical condition that matters and Lawro is fully fit and a complete beast.
Dallalio v So’aiolo? Dallyballs easily.
Skopskiet 441
Skinstad’s role in that clash would be – tackle, tackle and tackle…we need one player to be on the alert for turnovers while the other 7 forwards do the grinding work. Skinstad proved to me that he is worth his weight in gold when it comes to defending…his performance against the Blues in the Super 14 at Calgary (be it as a blindsider) was enough for me to indicate that he is back.
If we field Danie at nr8, we are a bit short on the cover defense.
5 Aug 2007, 14:37 pm
442 goed vir jou fern, wel gedaan ou maat.
5 Aug 2007, 14:38 pm
440 Pietman and Willievz,
I find it ironic that you are waiting for an apology from someone who lives with a government famous for not being able to say the simple word ‘sorry’
I think that Wallabie may be at a klan …I mean John Howard supporters meeting
5 Aug 2007, 14:39 pm
Why not play Juan Smith at 8?
btw AJ Venter would’ve been perfect for this game.
5 Aug 2007, 14:39 pm
Danie is not an 8 he is a small 4 or 5, a little like Corry for England doesn’t quite fit the loosie role, Jake should abandon that idea forthwith post haste, but I know he rates size above mobility so too bad for that happening.
5 Aug 2007, 14:40 pm
I do apologise…It is ALBANY and not CALGARY…this happens if you talk to Canadians over the phone on a regular basis
5 Aug 2007, 14:40 pm
Do they sell that SA rugby magazine anywhere in the UK? I want to read that Butch interview.
5 Aug 2007, 14:43 pm
Ok I’m gone see you guys around, well played to your boys BH they’re looking good though can’t take all that much out of a one sided game, when you come up against some serious competition then we can compare notes, next week should be interesting.
So long, Adios, totsiens almal.
5 Aug 2007, 14:45 pm
#453 Big Hit
I agree. I will play a quick 8th man together with the opensider, because theoretically the 8th man is the second loosie at the ruck.
Which is why you cannot play 2 fetchers at 6 and 7, but rather at 6 and 8. Having said this, Bob is certainly no fetcher, but is more likely to be involved in cleaning the ruck ball than Danie.
If Smith is fielded at nr8, and I assume Wickus to play at 7, we will see a similar scenario than was the case with the Stormers this year – play two opensiders at 6 and 7, which does not work. One of these flankers will arrive too late at the breakdown to do the necessary cleaning, and in the process the “fetchers” gets confused about what their specific role is.
Schalk at 6
Juan at 7
Bobby at 8
Of course, I am a strong supporter of fielding Burger at nr8, but this is not going to happen. In that case, Wickus could have played 6, with Smith remaining the blindsider.
5 Aug 2007, 14:45 pm
I accept that. I feel though, that my prohesy of all the players coming together at the right time is coming true.
But we’ll know after Saturday.
5 Aug 2007, 14:46 pm
Cheers Skopskiet, I am also out.
Bye all!
5 Aug 2007, 14:46 pm
456 Big Hit and anyone,
What is the Butch James article about … the boxer who went to hang up his gloves but then realised that he never wore gloves and that the things at the end of his arms were quite useful in helping him play rugby and then he became the number 1 1st five in a country that doesn’t even have 1st fives!
5 Aug 2007, 14:47 pm
457 See ua Skopskiet
5 Aug 2007, 14:48 pm
452# chch
No mate, I don’t expect an apology from my friend Wallaby.
He is a learned man, and his in-laws come from my part of the world.
He also knows my country well, and travels there regularly.
I just don’t want him to always be so condescending.
His team got whacked 92-3 at Loftus, his coach now is on our payroll, but he still talks as if the Aussies are Osprey beaters and leaders in the field of human rights!
I have two Aussies who work for me, from Adelaide, and they definitely don’t share Walla’s sentiments.
I show them his posts on keo sometimes, and all they say is a word starting with a ‘d’ and ending with a ‘d’, and shake their heads.
5 Aug 2007, 14:48 pm
See ya Willie
5 Aug 2007, 14:49 pm
Skopskiet
Mooi loop ou maat.
5 Aug 2007, 14:49 pm
I Prefer Wickus at 6 he’s far better in the rough and tumble loose ball grafting and dirty work scenario than Schalk who is more of a roving ball carrying and cover defender ala nr. 8, thats my last tuppence worth, see you around, cheers.
5 Aug 2007, 14:51 pm
Chch #435.
You are the first person to agree with me for one and a half years.
I shall treasure this moment.
Nag Pietman, alles goed op die oorlog teen wat verkeerd is ou maat.
SA could do worse than fielding Wikus who is the form back row player along with Burger right now.
#452,chch what i said was that at the age of 19 i did 2 months riots to stop the inkatha and anc from killing each other.i was 19 and understood very well that the next door i may be opening to search may be my last.what did you do in the struggle for a democratic sa?got a badge of honour?sitting overseas and commentating is easy.I thank God for Mandela.
463 Pietman,
Your friends are from the only state not to start as a prisen colony
I did live in Adelaide for a while …. I can say “every day is Sunday in Adelaide”
5 Aug 2007, 14:53 pm
BigHit
Go to ananzi dot za dot com, then click ‘news’, and then ‘Sunday Times’, for the Butch interview.
Oh, you also have to click ‘sports’, you don’t want to read all that other stuff, I’m sure!
5 Aug 2007, 14:55 pm
470# Fern
Ou chch is aan jou kant, hy betwyfel niks wat jy se nie.
Kyk mooi.
5 Aug 2007, 14:57 pm
Pietman #463,
If you have two Aussies from Adelaide working with you, the chances of them knowing anything at all about Rugby Union is about 80 to 1.
5 Aug 2007, 14:59 pm
471# chch
Only those big, black flies in Adelaide…I spoke very little whilst over there, too scared to open my mouth!
#473 i go off the handle when people mention facts to suit themselve.apoligies.
470 Fern,
I did almost nothing (just protesting … i.e. trying to force a greater commenwealth stand on the issue from a small country zillions of miles away)
….
I am not trying to say I did anything
On a weird topic though … I recently worked with a Dutch dude who made bombs during the troubles
Springbok Match 15 vs England:
Percy Montgomery
Bryan Habana
Akona Ndungane
Jean de Villiers
Jaque Fourie
Butch James
Fourie du Preez
Juan Smith
Danie Rossouw
Schalk Burger
Victor Matfield
Bakkies Botha
Os du Randt
BJ Botha
John Smit
Sends shivers down my spine.
Big Hit lets see the English lineup.
5 Aug 2007, 15:02 pm
I got to the sunday times but I can only find a Q&A with Butch.
5 Aug 2007, 15:03 pm
chch something has to be done about zim.i dont hate anyone but cant wait for mugabe to die.
5 Aug 2007, 15:03 pm
Fern,
Post 452 refers to the Liberal Party of Australia … I am not sure what you thought I meant
5 Aug 2007, 15:04 pm
cane
Right!
How did you know?
They watch the game with me sometimes while staring into their beer, they reckon it is very boring and ‘a game for pansies’!
I had to explain to them what ‘Bledisloe Cup’ means, and also why Greagan was black and from Zambia and captaining their national side.
5 Aug 2007, 15:06 pm
Big Hit
Click on sport, have you?
Or else enter Butch James in ‘search’.
5 Aug 2007, 15:06 pm
Cane and Pietman
I met some guys from Melbourne the other day in Poland as well, they knew absolutely zilch about union.
5 Aug 2007, 15:08 pm
480# Fern
Makapie is brain dead already, just the old carcass hovering about….
5 Aug 2007, 15:09 pm
1. Sheridan
2. Regan
3. Vickery
4. Shaw
5. Corry/Borthwick
6. Worsley/Moody
7. Rees
8. Dallaglio/Easter
9. Perry
10. Wilkinson
11. Robinson
12. Catt
13. Hipkiss/Tait
14. Strettle/Lewsey
15. Cueto
The ones on the left are the men in possession
5 Aug 2007, 15:09 pm
480 Fern,
It is relevent that John Howard was one of the 4 (I think he led it actually) members of the group set up to decide what action should be taken against Zimbabwe about 3 years ago … he recommended nothing
Some people are unfortunite to fall under bad ragimes … I am always shocked at how little the rest of the world really cares
By the way … I have being paying for many medical bills, rent and the odd roof where I currently live
5 Aug 2007, 15:12 pm
I went to times dot co dot za. I couldn’t read ananzi site. But the times just has a Q&A session. Have I got the right paper?
5 Aug 2007, 15:14 pm
Willie
I had the same experience in Italy.
I ran into an Aussie tour group down in Sorrento once, and I tried to strike up some conversation in a pub over a beer, talking about Mark Ella, Michael Lynagh and so on.
They didn’t have a clue!
I felt quite stupid actually, not a good start to the evening.
5 Aug 2007, 15:15 pm
willievz,
I took some life long Warratah and Wallabie supporters to their first live game of rugby in Sydney (for real)
It was always funny how people from Sydney didn’t know the difference between Aussie Stadium and Stadium Australia too
I also watched the Wallabies play the Pacific Islands in Adelaide and everyone around me in the crowd was asking me questions about the rules (was all good for rugby though – new fans)
5 Aug 2007, 15:15 pm
488#
BigHit
Wrong paper.
Go to ananzi first, as I said above. That will get you onto SA news.
5 Aug 2007, 15:17 pm
chch
But still, it is to Oz’s credit that, despite the lack of interest, they are so good at union!
5 Aug 2007, 15:18 pm
#486 V Good side.
Expect a monumental arm-wrestle up front. Two tries apiece, one drop goal and an English victory
5 Aug 2007, 15:18 pm
Mirrag…..
Ek sien Groot Tietspier hang nog steeds hier uit……
….. gedog teen hierdie tyd sou hy homself al in ‘n koma in orgasmes gegee het!!
5 Aug 2007, 15:19 pm
492 Pietman,
The NRL are very good at player development
5 Aug 2007, 15:20 pm
GBS
Geluk met jou hole-in-one op Superbruvva!
Dis die rekord sover, 7 punte.
Terloops, wie is ‘Tietspier’?
5 Aug 2007, 15:21 pm
Howzit chch……. I was’nt trying to be rude to you by speaking in Afrikaans……
5 Aug 2007, 15:22 pm
Daai bleekbeen modderotter Pommie, Big Hit!
5 Aug 2007, 15:23 pm
492 Pietman,
Actually you are right. Even though they have more players than NZ grass roots rugby in Australia does not seem to get the same support. Even at the top Australian supporters will only follow a winning team. A tough life for an Aussie rugby player
It was only a reaction to an imposter who decided to bring up pasts!
Please allow it to be intended for the person to whom it was directed to.
Groot Tietspier = bleekbeen
What a cosmopolitan bunch
5 Aug 2007, 15:25 pm
Pieta,
In die 1 ste of 2 de rondte van die S14 het ek ‘n allemintige score gehad…….. ek dink dit was 6 uit 7 reg met 2 waarvan ek maksimum geslaan het….
5 Aug 2007, 15:26 pm
G’day Wallabie.
5 Aug 2007, 15:26 pm
497 Hi grootblousmile,
That is ok. I am trying to learn Tagalog at the moment and I think my Africaans is stuck at 5 words
5 Aug 2007, 15:27 pm
Idiot go and read who started the insults….and dont turn a blind eye while you are doing this.
5 Aug 2007, 15:27 pm
GBS
Ek wou Vrystaat pick, maar ek het ge-’gun’ vir Koos in die Sharks game!
5 Aug 2007, 15:29 pm
Tagalog…….. eishhhhhhh
Learn some Afrikaans man…….. most discriptive language in the world…..
First Phrase: Gaan kakas in die mielies = Cheers
5 Aug 2007, 15:29 pm
#501 John
LOL!
5 Aug 2007, 15:30 pm
404 Pietman
You commenting on my rant….I hope you take into account he ranted on about aboriginals and aussies.
To say I am bad and not curse your fellow saffa….what would that make you???….Supporter of the original insult???
5 Aug 2007, 15:30 pm
Walla bong bong gongalong…… you sound aggro!
5 Aug 2007, 15:32 pm
Lewis Hamilton 7 laps from victory.
5 Aug 2007, 15:33 pm
GBS
Don’t you think we should enroll chch at SARSU?
It would be nice to have his input, don’t you think?
5 Aug 2007, 15:34 pm
BigHit
Did you get it, the Butch report?
5 Aug 2007, 15:34 pm
wallabie,how many aborigne neigbours do you have?i have 2 black neighbours.lekker pappie
5 Aug 2007, 15:36 pm
Pieta,
chch is a good oke but SARSU’s for SA Rugby Supporters…….. of course if he changes his allegiances…… he may become a member!!
5 Aug 2007, 15:37 pm
I went to ananzi dot co dot za. Its a SA search engine. I clicked on ‘news and weather’ on the left. Then i clicked on Ananzi news. Then I seen a list of newspapers on the left. I clicked Sunday Times and its the same paper as before.
5 Aug 2007, 15:38 pm
512 Pietman,
Who here is a SARSU member?
5 Aug 2007, 15:38 pm
509# Wallabie
Mate, I am a supporter of anything anti-Oz and anti-Pom when it comes to rugby.
Nothing personal against you or your ancestral half brother BigHit from Mudville, just a rugby thing…
5 Aug 2007, 15:39 pm
chch,
Me, Pieta, Fern…….. many more are SARSU members…..
5 Aug 2007, 15:40 pm
517# chch
All the boys with blue nics.
Just click on GBS’s nic, and you are in.
He is on the management over there.
5 Aug 2007, 15:40 pm
Vicccccccccccccccccccccctorrrrrrryyyyyyyyyy!!! HAMILTON WINSS!!!
5 Aug 2007, 15:47 pm
401 Fern
You are stupid!!
Because you have not heard it in your lifetime does not mean i8t has not been done.
An apology by our government (on bewhalf of us) has been made and a considerable amount of money is invested every year to give the aboriginal people a chance to have an equal opportunity like the rest of us.
You are very insulting with your ignorance….and your ignorance or lack of knowledge in Australias state of affairs is not what you make it out to be.
5 Aug 2007, 15:48 pm
McClaren had 791 pages of illegally acquired Ferrari documents.
Puts a bit of a downer on this years F1 now doesn’t it?
5 Aug 2007, 15:48 pm
Nice site the SARSU site. I like the idea, good stuff.
The New Zealand has a supporters club but it is about getting tickets … this is something else.
OK, Big Hit has informed us the the F1 is over so I am off to the pub to catch up with some folk.
Cheers people
5 Aug 2007, 15:50 pm
Not for me!
5 Aug 2007, 15:51 pm
Chch
Catch you later, cheers mate.
5 Aug 2007, 15:52 pm
440 Pietman
And my rant weeks back was in reaction to fern again raising australias past.
Please dont think that I have to make an apology when your fellow saffas dont.
Heard of people in glass houses!!
Aus and SA have a past that needs to be forgotten and a present to be corrected.
some saffas need to practise what they preach.
5 Aug 2007, 15:53 pm
522 Wallabie,
I don’t really want to get into this but I met many Aussies who believe that they should have killed them when they had the chance … shocking stuff … even more shocking from some females
I missed the sorry … can you please post a media reference to it?
5 Aug 2007, 15:55 pm
527# Walla
Why address me mate, I have fu#kall to do with it it?
5 Aug 2007, 15:57 pm
chch,
Yeah SARSU is something totally different……. supporters making a real difference to rugga & everything else in SA…….
Cheers our NZ friend.
5 Aug 2007, 16:01 pm
chch
“It is relevent that John Howard was one of the 4 (I think he led it actually) members of the group set up to decide what action should be taken against Zimbabwe about 3 years ago … he recommended nothing.”
You talk utter rubbish!!! Utter rubbish!!!
I will say it again….utter rubbish!!!
Obasanjo, Mbeki and Howard were the mediators in deciding Mugabes future. Howard suggested intervention and obasanjo said likewise but with a more moderate approach but guess who wanted a “quiet diplomatic” methods. Mbeki got his way and look were it got him….doing exactly what howard suggested.
If you know nothing about this topic please do not comment on it….ignorance does not make you right.
5 Aug 2007, 16:01 pm
Walla,
have you heard the American Indian saying: “Don’t judge a man until you’ve walked a mile in his mocasins”
So….. stay the hell away from judging SA History…… I’ll stay the hell away from judging Ozzie History.
Some of us, like for instance with the SARSU initaitive, is actually doing things in a positive way for all SA.
5 Aug 2007, 16:03 pm
It was not four members…it was 3….just shows your ‘facts’ are very vague.
You trying to put forward an argument with no basis.
5 Aug 2007, 16:04 pm
531# Walla
Doing ‘exactly what Howard suggested’….
And here we are, a complete ‘balls up’!
5 Aug 2007, 16:05 pm
Some saffas like to point out Aus bad past and make it look like it is happening currently yet the SA past is very recent compared to Australias.
We started making changes in the 60′s and the apology was in the 70′s and strategies to change has been on going.
There have been hiccups…when is there not.
5 Aug 2007, 16:06 pm
Am I under the influence or what the hell is up with All Out Rugby??
It has shown the Lions beating the Bulls with Andre Pretorius kicking the winning points????????
It shows Chris Whittaker touring with Aus in November?????
And it shows the presenters dressed by Woolworths????
I must be tired…
5 Aug 2007, 16:06 pm
#525 So it doesn’t bother you that McClaren used espionage/spying/theft… to get the better of the other teams?
You must have enjoyed the Dope de France then.
5 Aug 2007, 16:08 pm
Dope de France……. hehehehe
…. or Tour de Anabolics
5 Aug 2007, 16:11 pm
Have black neighbours is no indication on your racial stance.
Dont try that mate!!!
How many aboriginis are there per capita in NSW compared to in the nothern territory!
How many of those neighbours do you invite over for a braai or allow their kids to stay over the night to be with your kids…you dont need to answer I know what your answer will be for the purposes of thios thread.
Answer this in your heart!
5 Aug 2007, 16:12 pm
Cappie,
I also thought I was dreaming……. jeeeeeeezzz old footage……just repeated again……..
5 Aug 2007, 16:13 pm
groot, thank gawd…thought I was losing my marbles.
5 Aug 2007, 16:13 pm
Did you not say there was abit of history???
I was addressing that.
5 Aug 2007, 16:15 pm
groot, sien die rose broers is in die tjoekie? Of is ek rerig mal?
5 Aug 2007, 16:16 pm
Cappie,
waar sien jy die Rose broers is in die tjoekie…….. sal nie verbaas wees nie!
5 Aug 2007, 16:17 pm
Voorblad van Rapport!!
5 Aug 2007, 16:17 pm
Howard suggested that the 3 leaders enforce free and fair elections and force Mugabes hand in acknowledging the opposition….mugabe did lose the elections and at best mugabe should have done the elections again. Howard wanted this.
Sanctions was next as suggested by howard and mbeki was against….guess where mbeki is…imposing sanctions and calling for fair elections.
5 Aug 2007, 16:20 pm
Fook, en daar is die leeus highlights teen die Griekwas. hahahaha
my sanity is besig om te gaan!!!!
5 Aug 2007, 16:23 pm
I will stay away from SA past and I am an advocate of where SA is going because it is very similar to Australias….equal opportunity.
There will be pain but in doing so there will be redemption…it has to happen.
But to raise ones past dont think that there will be no retaliation and it will be directed at the instigator.
SA and Aus history is very similar when it comes to how we treated the black population.
5 Aug 2007, 16:23 pm
Cappie,
Ek sien dit was in die Kaap Rapport…… volgens website…… wou sê ek het die Rapport self vandag gelees (gebrowse), maar dit nie gesien nie, en net Sport Rapport deeglik gelees.
5 Aug 2007, 16:24 pm
ahhh, het nou rapport website opgesoek maar kon niks kry nie. net die foto en byskrif gesien. nie koerant gekoop nie.
5 Aug 2007, 16:25 pm
Daai Rose broers is regte gomtorre…… gangsters……
5 Aug 2007, 16:26 pm
I find it amusing that when it comes to a person raising another nations racial indescretions there is no opposition to that bloggers insults…yet when I do raise the same fact about SA’s there are issues.
In the end of the day both instances there is a racial past.
It seems you guys condone one and not the other.
5 Aug 2007, 16:26 pm
mmm, Jody apparently hit his girlfriend…and Earl has done the same last year.
5 Aug 2007, 16:27 pm
groot, lees hier. hahahhaa
Mev. Maudine Rose, die seuns se ma, wat na haarself as Sandy verwys het, het aan Kaap-Rapport gesê die wêreld se aandag is maar gedurig op die Rose-gesin gevestig.
“Ons kan nie te hard lag nie, dan is dit ‘n groot probleem. En die mense wat die stories versprei, is ‘n klomp moffies.”
5 Aug 2007, 16:30 pm
Interesting that those who raised the subject have all gone I assume it is due to their lack of knowledge in the subject and wanting to save face.
Next time get your facts right.
This is directed to some saffas…before anyone throws a fit.
Big hit for you
Asked as to whether an England style would emerge over the three matches, Ashton was equivocal to the point of vacuousness. “I’d like to think we can be adaptable depending on a) who’s playing in our side, b) who we’re playing against and c) what happens during the game,” the England coach said. Farrell was equally vague on the same subject. Either both men are keeping strategic and tactical subtleties under wraps until the big showdown against South Africa or they haven’t a clue as to how England will shape up. My money is on the latter.
not my words Paul Ackford Sunday Telegraph
isn’t it always?
5 Aug 2007, 16:31 pm
Walla,
You have no inkling about goings-on in SA, except from TV news & papers…… don’t think for a minute that having been here on holiday qualifies you to comment either…….
You are totally oblivious to what’s happened not having lived through SA’s past….
Let us sort out our own backyard, which we aim to do… now back off donsdoos!
5 Aug 2007, 16:34 pm
Wallabie i disagree in that statement, we were forced to face our injustices, with strong aussie goverment sanctions and a lot of pressure from your govermment, yet you hardly have a clean bill of health yourself on the matter, and don’t particully like it when we chirp, i would call that hypocritcal, would you not?
5 Aug 2007, 16:38 pm
Cappie/GBS
Daai Rose storie, sal mens dit iewers kan kry op die internet?
Eisshh, lyk my jy kan n gammat Paul Roos toe vat en Hottentots-Hollands HS toe vat en klomp geld en n Subaru gee, maar gammat sal hy bly…al trek hy Tvl toe.
5 Aug 2007, 16:39 pm
Pieta,
kyk op Rapport se site www dot rapport dot co dot za ………. taamlik heel onder onder Kaap Rapport
5 Aug 2007, 16:41 pm
Surrey
Aagh bro, just let Walla be.
We will always have him with us, like the poor and the pauper…
No redemption.
I have given up on my old mate from Down Under, he doesn’t listen and he doesn’t learn.
5 Aug 2007, 16:42 pm
GBS
Dankie.
5 Aug 2007, 16:46 pm
GBS
Pas gelees.
Die ou ma klink ook maar ‘Meraai’-erig, moet se.
Nee, raak ontslae van daai mop.
Hulle het hul kans gehad.
5 Aug 2007, 16:48 pm
Pieta janee ……… loutere rubbish…… geen morele rug-graat nie!
5 Aug 2007, 16:53 pm
Wallabie not similar you guys had Aboriginal hunting licences-official approved and stamped
5 Aug 2007, 16:56 pm
Hall julle!
Is daai WALLA poephol alweer besig? Ai jai jai jai ji
5 Aug 2007, 16:57 pm
AB,
Hoesit…….
5 Aug 2007, 16:58 pm
Big Hit
Just before you pull your sphincter muscle from all the excitement, have read what old Stuart Barnes thought about England yesterday
How do you evaluate a victory against such limited opponents? Limited would be kind to this Welsh XV because all that Gareth Jenkins discovered was that a number of his second or third string players were not up to an afternoon stroll in Richmond Park let alone a morale-sapping massacre at the hands of their traditional English enemy.
In particular Wales’s abject lineout ensured that the flickering potential of their backline could never be realised as England’s mean and muscular eight controlled the game from first to last – controlled it to such an extent that the highest number on the back of a try scorer was 9, Shaun Perry, who enjoyed his best and most straightforward game in an England shirt. It was not until the 78th minute that the threequarters grabbed a score as Jason Robinson and Mathew Tait dashed over for late tries.
The pattern of scoring was a fair reflection of the strengths and weaknesses of the England performance. What an irony that Robinson, a scorer in the 78th minute, was seduced from international retirement purely by the promise of working with Brian Ashton, regarded by the Sale wing among many as one of the most visionary of coaches.
Ashton’s brief for players has always been to utilise the complete width of the rugby pitch. Yet yesterday England’s performance bordered on the lamentable when they swung the ball wide. As has been the case for the last three years overlaps are not so much being wasted as unidentified. It was of no importance at Twickenham because Wales as they were in the late 1980s and 90s were overpowered by the sheer heft of this substantial English forward unit.
Related Links
England warm up in style
Wales coach takes heat
France will be acid test
This was the first of three matches which double as a test and trial. When the opposition is as substandard as Wales it becomes nothing but a trial. The Twickenham jury passed a positive verdict but this is a jury that has been starved of success since winning the last World Cup, hungry men are often content with morsels. Ashton must imagine that instead of Wales this was an England team to face South Africa on September 16.
Consider the area of England’s strength now. The lineout, such a one-sided contest yesterday will be an area where England will be delighted to gain parity against Victor Matfield’s Springboks, arguably the best lineout unit in the world. The scrums are not likely to be decisive when these two teams meet but the contact zone will be. In the first half alone England turned Wales over nine times, a staggering statistic that is impossible to contemplate when the likes of Juan Smith and Schalk Burger stand in four square over the ball.
Undoubtedly England went into yesterday’s game with more than one eye on this contest in Paris and Ashton and John Wells, his assistant, must be immensely pleased with these areas. On the evidence, admittedly flimsy because of the opposition, England look as if they may have a pack to complete with even the giant South Africans. Thereafter however the question arises: how do they beat them in what is bound to be a tight match? They will not if they squander as many chances as they did in southwest London yesterday.
There was one television shot of Ashton in particular that showed him shaking his head in utter disbelief when Joe Worsley, as ever carrying the ball in one hand, ignored the easiest possible overlap in the 45th minute and dived for glory. Having failed to make the try line with two unemployed England threequarters outside him, he probably found that he had dived into a far more mucky situation as far as his coach is concerned.
Worsley in particular symbolised the English performance and the English dilemma as they prepare for South Africa. Having been critical of the flanker’s distribution skills it must be said that his work at the breakdown and his support running were of the very highest order. Fit and on his toes the man who has twice inspired Wasps to victory in Heineken Cup finals appears athletically primed for the World Cup. But his inability to link with the threequarters directly ensured that so much of the forwards’ good work would be undone when the final pass was required.
Worsley must be shifted back to his more limited and muscular position of six where his destructive defensive work could make him a key player against South Africa. But for England to do this creates a problem in the minds of the selectors because Martin Corry on the blind side offers an extra lineout forward above and beyond Worsley’s quality.
If England are to link backs and forwards in the way they could not yesterday Tom Rees is the natural selection. Very few people in England doubt that Rees will start but something in the pattern of England’s play makes me wonder whether the decision has not been made to sacrifice the Ashton philosophy for brute belligerence and dynamism. If that is the case Ashton has a conundrum, for he has to find try-scoring potential other than through brute force. This force could put England in a winning position against South Africa, reversing three miserable years of underperformance, but the opportunity to grasp that win will not be taken unless Robinson receives more and better ball.
Worsley’s deficiencies came to the fore as England opened up Wales and created space behind their defence but the management are bound to consider his hard running support lines off Perry. The side hit Wales hard at the tail of the lineout and around the fringe of the scrums, areas areas where they will want to test the Springboks. The wider the game the more Ashton may feel his team risks being hit by the Springboks blitz and turned over with potentially devastating effect. If the two tribes go head-to-head up front one spilt ball, one scooped-up piece of Bryan Habana genius could settle it. Ashton the most positive-minded English coach of his generation could just be coming down on the side of positive negativity in his bid to resurrect what has appeared a dormant England team.
Before kick-off Ashton said that England were trying to make up for lost time “that we should never have lost in the first placeâ€. The reference was to the lack of direction which has plagued England whether they tried to go tight or wide. Yesterday there was direction – unfortunately it was the forwards who pointed the team in that direction. The coach has always been a believer in the variety of the game and the ability to hurt a side through the pace of a wing or the power of a prop. There were clues against Wales that he and his management team feel that the race against time has been lost. It could well result in the tightening of his vision and an intensity of purpose.
Robinson, lured back with the thought of pretty rugby, is going be playing some pug ugly stuff. Ugly but effective. Ashton must now find the precision of finishing and England might just be competitive.
Stuart Barnes won 10 caps for England between 1984 and 1993
5 Aug 2007, 16:58 pm
Lekker die kant man. Daar by jou?
5 Aug 2007, 17:02 pm
Goed man…… lewe is mos ‘n lied!
Sê my, het jy nog admin regte by Strontpraat…. indien so gaan sit myne weer aan, ‘n d@@s het myne gaan afsit.
5 Aug 2007, 17:04 pm
Nee ek het nie! Ek moet bietjie check miskien het daai suurgat wp supporters my ook afgesit!
5 Aug 2007, 17:06 pm
AB
Dis ek, Boerboel en Katvis.
Ons het n kwotastelsel ingestel, te veel Blou Bulle daar.
So, ons sensor so bietjie…
5 Aug 2007, 17:08 pm
Ons moet vir Koos & SuperBul vra of hulle regte nog aan is…… after all SuperBul het die ding begin…….. dink ook ‘n sekere WP man het ons afgehaal….. wonder of hy dink hy’s baas van die plaas……….
Indien so, dan stig ons ons eie nuwe Blog waar ons baas van die plaas is en bly…… en ons verlaat Strontpraat soos ‘n sinkende skip.
5 Aug 2007, 17:09 pm
Ek is nog op GBS! Ja hallo Pietman ek is seker ons getalle unsettle julle! GBS miskien moet on nog n Blog begin waar ons die admin beheer en ons nie mense se regte sal wegvat nie al is hulle bergbokke
5 Aug 2007, 17:12 pm
AB/GBS
Ek sien julle ouens more.
Ek moet vroeg opstaan in die nuwe week, so ek gaat nou omdop.
Mooi gaan.
5 Aug 2007, 17:13 pm
Cheers pieta lekker slaap ons praat weer more!
5 Aug 2007, 17:15 pm
AB,
Dis maklik….. hulle gee aan ons admin regte of hulle verloor ons as lede……… baaaaie maklik!
Ek staan of aanvaar nie eiegeregtigheid nie…….
5 Aug 2007, 17:15 pm
Ok hy bestaan “rugbyfriends” ek sal hom vanaand lyf gee!
5 Aug 2007, 17:18 pm
Barnes is always very critical of England because they don’t play throw it about rugby like Wales do.
He was a running flyhalf and wanted Hodgson in even in 2002/03 when Wilkinson was outstanding.
I don’t believe he enjoys it when England play a forward style of rugby because that is exactly what robbed him of maybe 50 England caps.
If you look at the end, Barnes gained a meagre 10 caps. Compare that with his Wilkinson-esque rival Rob Andrew with over 70 and many 6 Nations grand slam wins.
Make no mistake, this England team are BACK!
I told you earlier in the summer JL1 that this was going to happen. Nobody believed me.
5 Aug 2007, 17:18 pm
Gooi my ‘n uitnodiging deur…….
5 Aug 2007, 17:20 pm
Dis n oop blog vir almal om te comment. Posting rights kan ons beperk. ek sal vir jou die ander regte deur mail!
5 Aug 2007, 17:21 pm
England backrow and approach looks very similar to their WC ’95 side.
Big and physical..but ened up being runed off the park by faster smaller forward pack.
France will seriously test the pace of the English pack.
anyway. whats happened to Richard Hill?
5 Aug 2007, 17:21 pm
Mail my die URL
5 Aug 2007, 17:34 pm
Thanks……. sit nou admin regte aan……
5 Aug 2007, 18:52 pm
BH: and no one continues to believe you.
5 Aug 2007, 19:16 pm
Serious injury, he can’t train. Moody and Worsley are able deputies tho.
5 Aug 2007, 19:25 pm
531 Wallabie,
So you have been at a “I love John Howard” convention
5 Aug 2007, 19:31 pm
Forget that England did a number on Wales and that their pack pulverised the Welsh forwards. The best news for the World Cup from this warm-up slaughter is that Jonny Wilkinson is bit by bit getting back to where he was. And that will have South Africa, as well as New Zealand, Australia and anybody else who fancies their chances of lifting England’s world title, sitting up on their hind legs.
Last season Wilkinson got a bit of mileage back under his belt, and having managed to survive the summer ordeal against the Springboks, he has now, touch wood, got over his unlucky run of injuries. He looks fit, confident and back in the groove as one of the greatest match-winners the game has seen – and he must have given France coach Bernard Laporte plenty of food for thought ahead of Saturday’s encounter at Twickenham.
I would be surprised if Laporte arrived with a side that he did not think could do well. France may have won the Six Nations title but they got a shock when they lost to England at Twickenham and after watching England demolish Wales yesterday, Laporte knows that if he fields a weakened side, he could be seriously embarrassed.
As with England, the French need to get some early momentum in these games and, as hosts, they must get the country behind them before their World Cup opener against Argentina. They are not great Six Nations champions but they made one significant advance in terms of finding a decent half-back partnership in Pierre Mignoni and David Skrela.
Related Links
England warm up in style
Thrashing allows England to dream
Wales coach takes heat
With the exceptions of the veteran hooker and captain, Raphael Ibanez, and the combative Sebastien Chabal, the French pack is a little short of star quality. Ibanez has been phenomenal in the twilight of his career at Wasps, while Chabal will always stand up to be counted. Both are inspirational players – and they will need to be, because the rest of the French pack is not the ferocious beast it used to be.
As a result, the French may have to rely on their backs in this World Cup – and also against England on Saturday – if they are to make a serious bid for glory. This is no bad thing because there is a massive amount of talent in a back-line that includes Aurelien Rougerie, Christophe Dominici, Vincent Clerc, Cedric Heymans, Yannick Jauzion, Florian Fritz and Damien Traille. There is nothing that England showed in the backs against Wales that will have the French holding their breath.
The acid test for France is whether their smaller, lighter pack can win enough ball. But if they do get parity, then England had better watch out. Laporte’s biggest problem is what to do with Frederic Michalak, the enigma of French rugby. He may have the magic to confuse defences but he can also end up confusing his own team. He has so much talent but struggles to dominate a game when he is at fly-half. His ideal position is probably scum-half, although it’s a bit late in the day to play him there, and he’s not a patch on Mignoni.
However, he could provide a spark from the bench if France ever need to go for all-out attack – but, for me, he would not be a starter against teams such as England and Argentina. Michalak has always been billed as France’s answer to Wilkinson but it is a no-contest. One of the things that must have filled Wilkinson with confidence was the way the giant English pack took it to the Welsh, with Nick Easter’s power at close quarters reminiscent of his boss at Harlequins, and one of my old teammates, Dean Richards.
The way England dominated the forward exchanges yesterday, Jonny must have thought he was playing behind the 2003 World Cup pack all over again. In fact, they are not as dynamic or as mobile as that outfit but they have very strong similarities to the England pack that I played behind in the early 1990s.
In other words, they tend to keep a lot of possession to themselves, and not let it out to the backs as much as they should. However, it’s difficult to quibble when they are putting the volume of points on the board that they successfully did at Twickenham yesterday.
The result was that the backs did not see much ball for the first 25 minutes, and the first time it actually moved right down the line was at the start of the second half. However, when it was given a bit of air, the English backs showed more life than they have for years – and I was pleased that it was Wilkinson’s little jink and inside pass to set up the try for Steve Borthwick that carried England clear.
Outside Wilkinson, Andy Farrell grew in confidence as the game went on. To begin with he played as if he was a man under the microscope, hanging on to the ball in contact to make sure he did not give away possession, rather than chancing his arm and throwing the clever off-loads that made him a rugby league legend. I would love to see Farrell making half-breaks, and players such as David Strettle, Jason Robinson and Dan Hipkiss getting on the end of them.
Farrell showed that he can carry the ball up and take heavy contact – talking of which, it was notable that Wilkinson, who is the best defender at fly-half I have ever seen, was hurling himself into everything again.
At scrum-half, Shaun Perry looked a lot sharper for having lost about a stone in weight, but the fact is that England still need to clear the ball from the breakdown much more quickly. Elsewhere, Hipkiss made a good debut at outside-centre. He is one of the straightest runners in the England game, and his low centre of gravity and the strength of his leg drive make him a very hard player to stop.
England need to find someone to fill the No 13 shirt and on this evidence, Dan could be the man. I would like to see him get another run against the French and hopefully get a bit more ball.
5 Aug 2007, 19:32 pm
Wallabie,
No reply to 528???
Is this where you stand?
5 Aug 2007, 19:34 pm
589 Big Hit,
Shorter posts please … we all saw the game
England ar boring
5 Aug 2007, 19:35 pm
and i can not spell
5 Aug 2007, 19:37 pm
England are World Champions, boring or not.
NZ are chokers.
Game over.
5 Aug 2007, 19:46 pm
Big Hit (#593) – I can’t argue with that. England are World Champions (albeit not for very much longer), and the All Blacks are indeed chokers.
However, in the past year or two, England’s World Champion status has taken on the appearance of a cruel joke. That’s why it’s good to see them bouncing back in time for RWC2007, so that they can at least be competitive in losing their title.
Chances of England beating South Africa in the pool match? Well, how many players do England have who are the best in their position in the world? Zero. South Africa? Schalk, Victor, FdP, Bakkies, Habanero… a good argument could be made for Smit, Os and Percy as well. And these guys have been playing together for years now, and they’re properly rested (an unusual occurrence in SA rugby).
If the SA/England match is close, that will only be because the Bokke tend to play up or down to the standard of their opposition. If SA keep thir foot on the acceleterator for a full 80 minutes, this will be a comfortable win.
5 Aug 2007, 19:55 pm
walla go and read my post #401 and reply.I told you later I have black neighbours and you said it doesnt mean anything.how many of your neighbours/frinds are aborigines?
5 Aug 2007, 20:42 pm
I see your point about SA’s players but thats on paper. Gameplan-wise the Boks have offered little outside of forward dominance. They won’t have this to rely on against England.
Crucially, the Boks don’t have much going on in their backline. England will by gametime and they have Wilkinson’s boot.
Don’t be so sure.
5 Aug 2007, 22:23 pm
By Christmas:
Lewis Hamilton to win the F1 Championship
England to win the Rugby World Cup
Hatton to knock out Mayweather
You know it.
6 Aug 2007, 01:33 am
BH, Lewis Hamiltonn is an African in Eng, driving a German car, suing Eng budget based upon colonial sins to b who he knows he can be.
Last time Saffas played a Wales team that played this bad they won by 78 points, that was a Saffas B team. Wales are farking with your minds in any case, they basically checked out your gameplan, your falling for that. Can bring on other players, one like the other, all whitesy pants. Eng, if they try to dominate with forwards come WC, will not closely make it against Saffas, ABs, AUs, Ireland and France, simply no dominance nor the the ball to do it (remember pocession figures pasttests). take your backline this weekend, remove half the pocession they had, get the point?
3 guys in your A team were playing against us earlier this year in any case, including key positions like Johnny Wil who still look pretty average, was it really that much of a C team?
Think France will be a ave test this coming weekend, but will clarify a bit more.
Hatton who? Never even heard of him.
6 Aug 2007, 04:24 am
593 Bih Hit,
England number of players vs New Zealnd number of players … England has 5 times more
England vs New Zealand …. played 29 lost 22
Choker
6 Aug 2007, 04:49 am
Agree with the majority of the SH posts here regarding not reading too much into this game. Although i have to give BH his dues. England can hardly be blamed for playing forward style rugby, and as for the massive score, it something i wish the boks would do to lesser sides more often.
Would make me sick to see the RWC go to another NH side, however i really don’t think we have much to fear from the poms. My concerns lie with the unpredictable French, and the very complete Irish side.
If we can’t take this world cup, then I would hope the Wallabies or the AB’s do the business. In that order.