Wales tortured at Twickers
4 Aug 2007
England gave their World Cup hopes a boost when they destroyed Wales 62-5 at Twickenham.
This “friendly” (sold to the public as a Test) told us nothing we didn’t know already. England’s pack can match any in the world, but their backs are pretty ordinary. Wales were awful in the Six Nations and judging by today’s effort they’ve spent the off-season improving their tans.
Wales’s pack was understrength, but they will still be embarrassed at how they were pummelled by the Poms. Six of England’s nine tries came from the forwards, who mauled like they were up against local club players called in to help at training.
The tone was set when England scored twice in the opening quarter through No 8 Nick Easter. The first came after a break by scrumhalf Shaun Perry down the blindside and the second from a 5m line-out and subsequent driving maul.
Wilkinson uncharacteristically missed two of his first three shots at goal, including an early penalty, but helped set up England’s third try when he broke two tackles inside Wales’ 22. The forwards cleaned up quickly and second-rower Steve Borthwick barged over. Wilkinson added the conversion and slotted a penalty soon after to make it 22-0.
England’s dominance continued after half-time when Easter was driven over for his hat-trick. Perry then finally claimed one for the backs, although it was the forwards who helped him across.
At this point England were leading 36-0, but Wales hit back when winger Daffyd James found himself on the end of a rare overlap and scored in the corner.
The biggest cheer of the day came when Lawrence Dallaglio replaced Easter midway through the second half, and the World Cup winner repaid the fans support with England’s sixth try.
Perry then scored his second to bring up 50 points, before Jason Robinson and Mathew Tait completed the rout with another two touchdowns.
England –Tries: Nick Easter (3), Steve Borthwick, Shaun Perry (2), Lawrence Dallaglio, Jason Robinson, Mathew Tait. Conversions: Jonny Wilkinson (7). Penalty: Wilkinson.
Wales – Try: Dafydd James.
By Simon Borchardt

600 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All
5 Aug 2007, 15:23 pm
Groot Tietspier = bleekbeen
What a cosmopolitan bunch
5 Aug 2007, 15:25 pm
Pieta,
In die 1 ste of 2 de rondte van die S14 het ek ‘n allemintige score gehad…….. ek dink dit was 6 uit 7 reg met 2 waarvan ek maksimum geslaan het….
5 Aug 2007, 15:26 pm
G’day Wallabie.
5 Aug 2007, 15:26 pm
497 Hi grootblousmile,
That is ok. I am trying to learn Tagalog at the moment and I think my Africaans is stuck at 5 words
5 Aug 2007, 15:27 pm
Idiot go and read who started the insults….and dont turn a blind eye while you are doing this.
5 Aug 2007, 15:27 pm
GBS
Ek wou Vrystaat pick, maar ek het ge-’gun’ vir Koos in die Sharks game!
5 Aug 2007, 15:29 pm
Tagalog…….. eishhhhhhh
Learn some Afrikaans man…….. most discriptive language in the world…..
First Phrase: Gaan kakas in die mielies = Cheers
5 Aug 2007, 15:29 pm
#501 John
LOL!
5 Aug 2007, 15:30 pm
404 Pietman
You commenting on my rant….I hope you take into account he ranted on about aboriginals and aussies.
To say I am bad and not curse your fellow saffa….what would that make you???….Supporter of the original insult???
5 Aug 2007, 15:30 pm
Walla bong bong gongalong…… you sound aggro!
5 Aug 2007, 15:32 pm
Lewis Hamilton 7 laps from victory.
5 Aug 2007, 15:33 pm
GBS
Don’t you think we should enroll chch at SARSU?
It would be nice to have his input, don’t you think?
5 Aug 2007, 15:34 pm
BigHit
Did you get it, the Butch report?
5 Aug 2007, 15:34 pm
wallabie,how many aborigne neigbours do you have?i have 2 black neighbours.lekker pappie
5 Aug 2007, 15:36 pm
Pieta,
chch is a good oke but SARSU’s for SA Rugby Supporters…….. of course if he changes his allegiances…… he may become a member!!
5 Aug 2007, 15:37 pm
I went to ananzi dot co dot za. Its a SA search engine. I clicked on ‘news and weather’ on the left. Then i clicked on Ananzi news. Then I seen a list of newspapers on the left. I clicked Sunday Times and its the same paper as before.
5 Aug 2007, 15:38 pm
512 Pietman,
Who here is a SARSU member?
5 Aug 2007, 15:38 pm
509# Wallabie
Mate, I am a supporter of anything anti-Oz and anti-Pom when it comes to rugby.
Nothing personal against you or your ancestral half brother BigHit from Mudville, just a rugby thing…
5 Aug 2007, 15:39 pm
chch,
Me, Pieta, Fern…….. many more are SARSU members…..
5 Aug 2007, 15:40 pm
517# chch
All the boys with blue nics.
Just click on GBS’s nic, and you are in.
He is on the management over there.
5 Aug 2007, 15:40 pm
Vicccccccccccccccccccccctorrrrrrryyyyyyyyyy!!! HAMILTON WINSS!!!
5 Aug 2007, 15:47 pm
401 Fern
You are stupid!!
Because you have not heard it in your lifetime does not mean i8t has not been done.
An apology by our government (on bewhalf of us) has been made and a considerable amount of money is invested every year to give the aboriginal people a chance to have an equal opportunity like the rest of us.
You are very insulting with your ignorance….and your ignorance or lack of knowledge in Australias state of affairs is not what you make it out to be.
5 Aug 2007, 15:48 pm
McClaren had 791 pages of illegally acquired Ferrari documents.
Puts a bit of a downer on this years F1 now doesn’t it?
5 Aug 2007, 15:48 pm
Nice site the SARSU site. I like the idea, good stuff.
The New Zealand has a supporters club but it is about getting tickets … this is something else.
OK, Big Hit has informed us the the F1 is over so I am off to the pub to catch up with some folk.
Cheers people
5 Aug 2007, 15:50 pm
Not for me!
5 Aug 2007, 15:51 pm
Chch
Catch you later, cheers mate.
5 Aug 2007, 15:52 pm
440 Pietman
And my rant weeks back was in reaction to fern again raising australias past.
Please dont think that I have to make an apology when your fellow saffas dont.
Heard of people in glass houses!!
Aus and SA have a past that needs to be forgotten and a present to be corrected.
some saffas need to practise what they preach.
5 Aug 2007, 15:53 pm
522 Wallabie,
I don’t really want to get into this but I met many Aussies who believe that they should have killed them when they had the chance … shocking stuff … even more shocking from some females
I missed the sorry … can you please post a media reference to it?
5 Aug 2007, 15:55 pm
527# Walla
Why address me mate, I have fu#kall to do with it it?
5 Aug 2007, 15:57 pm
chch,
Yeah SARSU is something totally different……. supporters making a real difference to rugga & everything else in SA…….
Cheers our NZ friend.
5 Aug 2007, 16:01 pm
chch
“It is relevent that John Howard was one of the 4 (I think he led it actually) members of the group set up to decide what action should be taken against Zimbabwe about 3 years ago … he recommended nothing.”
You talk utter rubbish!!! Utter rubbish!!!
I will say it again….utter rubbish!!!
Obasanjo, Mbeki and Howard were the mediators in deciding Mugabes future. Howard suggested intervention and obasanjo said likewise but with a more moderate approach but guess who wanted a “quiet diplomatic” methods. Mbeki got his way and look were it got him….doing exactly what howard suggested.
If you know nothing about this topic please do not comment on it….ignorance does not make you right.
5 Aug 2007, 16:01 pm
Walla,
have you heard the American Indian saying: “Don’t judge a man until you’ve walked a mile in his mocasins”
So….. stay the hell away from judging SA History…… I’ll stay the hell away from judging Ozzie History.
Some of us, like for instance with the SARSU initaitive, is actually doing things in a positive way for all SA.
5 Aug 2007, 16:03 pm
It was not four members…it was 3….just shows your ‘facts’ are very vague.
You trying to put forward an argument with no basis.
5 Aug 2007, 16:04 pm
531# Walla
Doing ‘exactly what Howard suggested’….
And here we are, a complete ‘balls up’!
5 Aug 2007, 16:05 pm
Some saffas like to point out Aus bad past and make it look like it is happening currently yet the SA past is very recent compared to Australias.
We started making changes in the 60′s and the apology was in the 70′s and strategies to change has been on going.
There have been hiccups…when is there not.
5 Aug 2007, 16:06 pm
Am I under the influence or what the hell is up with All Out Rugby??
It has shown the Lions beating the Bulls with Andre Pretorius kicking the winning points????????
It shows Chris Whittaker touring with Aus in November?????
And it shows the presenters dressed by Woolworths????
I must be tired…
5 Aug 2007, 16:06 pm
#525 So it doesn’t bother you that McClaren used espionage/spying/theft… to get the better of the other teams?
You must have enjoyed the Dope de France then.
5 Aug 2007, 16:08 pm
Dope de France……. hehehehe
…. or Tour de Anabolics
5 Aug 2007, 16:11 pm
Have black neighbours is no indication on your racial stance.
Dont try that mate!!!
How many aboriginis are there per capita in NSW compared to in the nothern territory!
How many of those neighbours do you invite over for a braai or allow their kids to stay over the night to be with your kids…you dont need to answer I know what your answer will be for the purposes of thios thread.
Answer this in your heart!
5 Aug 2007, 16:12 pm
Cappie,
I also thought I was dreaming……. jeeeeeeezzz old footage……just repeated again……..
5 Aug 2007, 16:13 pm
groot, thank gawd…thought I was losing my marbles.
5 Aug 2007, 16:13 pm
Did you not say there was abit of history???
I was addressing that.
5 Aug 2007, 16:15 pm
groot, sien die rose broers is in die tjoekie? Of is ek rerig mal?
5 Aug 2007, 16:16 pm
Cappie,
waar sien jy die Rose broers is in die tjoekie…….. sal nie verbaas wees nie!
5 Aug 2007, 16:17 pm
Voorblad van Rapport!!
5 Aug 2007, 16:17 pm
Howard suggested that the 3 leaders enforce free and fair elections and force Mugabes hand in acknowledging the opposition….mugabe did lose the elections and at best mugabe should have done the elections again. Howard wanted this.
Sanctions was next as suggested by howard and mbeki was against….guess where mbeki is…imposing sanctions and calling for fair elections.
5 Aug 2007, 16:20 pm
Fook, en daar is die leeus highlights teen die Griekwas. hahahaha
my sanity is besig om te gaan!!!!
5 Aug 2007, 16:23 pm
I will stay away from SA past and I am an advocate of where SA is going because it is very similar to Australias….equal opportunity.
There will be pain but in doing so there will be redemption…it has to happen.
But to raise ones past dont think that there will be no retaliation and it will be directed at the instigator.
SA and Aus history is very similar when it comes to how we treated the black population.
5 Aug 2007, 16:23 pm
Cappie,
Ek sien dit was in die Kaap Rapport…… volgens website…… wou sê ek het die Rapport self vandag gelees (gebrowse), maar dit nie gesien nie, en net Sport Rapport deeglik gelees.
5 Aug 2007, 16:24 pm
ahhh, het nou rapport website opgesoek maar kon niks kry nie. net die foto en byskrif gesien. nie koerant gekoop nie.
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All