Wales tortured at Twickers

England gave their World Cup hopes a boost when they destroyed Wales 62-5 at Twickenham.

This “friendly” (sold to the public as a Test) told us nothing we didn’t know already. England’s pack can match any in the world, but their backs are pretty ordinary. Wales were awful in the Six Nations and judging by today’s effort they’ve spent the off-season improving their tans.

Wales’s pack was understrength, but they will still be embarrassed at how they were pummelled by the Poms. Six of England’s nine tries came from the forwards, who mauled like they were up against local club players called in to help at training.

The tone was set when England scored twice in the opening quarter through No 8 Nick Easter. The first came after a break by scrumhalf Shaun Perry down the blindside and the second from a 5m line-out and subsequent driving maul.

Wilkinson uncharacteristically missed two of his first three shots at goal, including an early penalty, but helped set up England’s third try when he broke two tackles inside Wales’ 22. The forwards cleaned up quickly and second-rower Steve Borthwick barged over. Wilkinson added the conversion and slotted a penalty soon after to make it 22-0.

England’s dominance continued after half-time when Easter was driven over for his hat-trick. Perry then finally claimed one for the backs, although it was the forwards who helped him across.

At this point England were leading 36-0, but Wales hit back when winger Daffyd James found himself on the end of a rare overlap and scored in the corner.

The biggest cheer of the day came when Lawrence Dallaglio replaced Easter midway through the second half, and the World Cup winner repaid the fans support with England’s sixth try.

Perry then scored his second to bring up 50 points, before Jason Robinson and Mathew Tait completed the rout with another two touchdowns.

England –Tries: Nick Easter (3), Steve Borthwick, Shaun Perry (2), Lawrence Dallaglio, Jason Robinson, Mathew Tait. Conversions: Jonny Wilkinson (7). Penalty: Wilkinson.
Wales – Try: Dafydd James.

By Simon Borchardt

600 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 » Show All

• 401.Fern: Reply to this comment

hallo pietman.
    wallabie i am involved in the prof part of lowcost housing for 3 days a week.
    next year the one project is only 36 000 stands.us proffesionals get payed less becuase its low cost housing,we do it because we wanna make a change.
    how have you helped the aborigines?you have never apoligised for past/current atrocities so it tells me a lot about you.

• 402.chch: Reply to this comment

400 yeam = team

Bill, feel free to slag me off after that one

• 403.chch: Reply to this comment

383 Cane,

NZ will be having training sessions combining the 2 top teams in the world ….why else are we called the ABs :-)

• 404.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Wallabie
    Howzit old mate?

You and I have ben going on here on keo a long time, right?

Now, all I want to tell you is this, you are always welcome, but read the brand name of this site and remember.
    It is the ‘Home of SA Rugby and Cricket Fans’.
    That’s what it says right there, right at the top.
    So take a hint from bloggers like chch, BigHit and the like.
    We don’t always agree, but they they never slag us Saffas because they know they are guests here, and they are most welcome.
    So are you mate.
    But easy on the Saffa slagging, or you will have to deal with me first.

• 405.chch: Reply to this comment

387 Big Hit,

Regarding England’s great pool of players ….I say again … 5 times more rugby players in England than NZ … England v NZ played 29 …lost 22!

• 406.Fern: Reply to this comment

wallabie please tell us how you became a “comrade” in the struggle against apartheid.what was your input?

• 407.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Pietman vir President!!

• 408.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Its one World Cup each. Thats the only tournament in which they play each other.

• 409.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

392 j_d we got a lock thats 37 though OK Jake left him behind this time, so how old is Albert and Os? maybe not quite 36 but getting there.

Glad to here you’re doing something really meaningful fern it gives me a whole other insight into your personality, good one mnr.

• 410.willievz: Reply to this comment

Jis Pietman, Fern en Skopskiet, hoop dinge gaan goed aan julle kant. Gaan bietjie Kopenhagen toe Dinsdag, het moeviese deal geslaan met ‘n buskaartjie…gaan vir so 2 dae.

Hello Big Hit, hows the hangover today?

• 411.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Must say England did look the part yesterday, anyone want to write them off at this stage I would say are being just a little naive.

• 412.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

wallabie, please grovel and post your apology here. We won’t hold our breath!

• 413.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Hello Skopskiet
    Fern is a ‘brother’, believe me!

• 414.chch: Reply to this comment

406 Fern,

I got dentention for leaving school to go on a protest. Sorry but I was not yet 12

Where I live now if I protest the government will arrest and deport me (as they recently announced) … what ever happened to detention :-(

I have protested in Australia against John Howard on a few accasions … he is a big fan of Menzies (who fronted a very raciest Australian regime)

• 415.The Bill: Reply to this comment

chch, all I am saying is one swallow does not make a summer.

If we put 50 past the Namibians, we will not suddenly be crowing to the world and beyond. If you look at the 2 sides how they took their opportunities against weaker opposition I can, hand on heart say at least we tried to run our backs.

When we played the Poms, we used our backs and scored a couple of tries through those means. What did the poms learn yesterday? That they have a very impressive one dimensional forward pack? Yup they learned that. In fact they leant more than they would have cared for, Joe Worsely showing he is a man of no vision and that their front row is still susceptable to injuries.

Take nothing away from the English pack, they were fantastic, but that is where it ended.

Are the Boks any better? I would like to think so. I think Butch James has waaaaay more flair than a stuttering, play by numbers JW, JDV & Farrel – even. Hipkiss & Fourie? Fourie is a 13, while Hipkiss looks to be another loose forward.

Back 3, I think we may have the edge with only Tait being a real threat these days.

Anyway, while this is fun, the proof is in the pudding.

• 416.willievz: Reply to this comment

Pietman 398

Groot plesier, hulle almal is skuim man, die hele lot.

• 417.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

M’dag willie so ek wil nog **** van daai ‘secret strategie’ wat jy in jou mou so skielik wegsteek om die poms and die verassend te vang in Parys. So spoeg dit maar uit ou maat.

Mooi skoot om daai deal wat jy onlangs getref het.

• 418.chch: Reply to this comment

408 Big Hit,

Please read 137 again …. the players are on their way … we can save you … you can appreciate rugby again outside of the WC

• 419.Fern: Reply to this comment

willie dis so vreemd.mense soos walla wat rassismse skree.waar was hulle tydens die anc se struggle?nerens.hulle het op tv gekyk en wil nou belegings rond gooi.kyk hoe behandel hulle die aborigines,hou hulle dronk en in die bundus.ons low cost housing doen dit nie.ons kon vernietig gewees het,maar ek eer mandela en sy aura.groot man,dinge kon anders gewees het

• 420.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

What these English fans fail to remember is that the World Cup is not being held at their beloved Twickenham. Was it for any particular reason England did not tour SA for six years?

• 421.chch: Reply to this comment

415 The Bill,

Very big post … I was only commenting on your typo … cheers for the reply though

• 422.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

It will be tough for England in France. We don’t win that often there but it will also be tough for South africa who seem to have lost the ability to win in the NH on a regular basis

• 423.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

So chch where you from, always thought maybe you hailed from Christchurch, obviously wrong deduction?

• 424.chch: Reply to this comment

415 The Bill,

England proved nothing about breaking the line as all players did was straighten and they went through the running butter that was Wales.

England did show that they can execute a plan and that they can through the ball around (catching too) with good skill. All good for England

• 425.chch: Reply to this comment

423 skopskiet,

Yes Christchurch … why do you doubt this?

• 426.The Bill: Reply to this comment

Well then egg on your face, having a go at my typo & leaving one of your own. Shame on you!

• 427.cane: Reply to this comment

Willievz #396.

Wallaby was only retorting to a provocative post. As he usually does.(and is his right). If the Politics, Xenophobia and Insults were were left out by All, there would be no problem.

• 428.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

The BIG question is going to be who has the psychological BMT on match day, that will be the real test and probably go 80% to deciding who takes the laurels this time round, anyone out of NZ, SA, France, England, Ireland can take it, and don’t be surprised if Argentina don’t throw a couple loose spanners in the works just to upset the whole preordained apple cart.

• 429.willievz: Reply to this comment

Howzit Skopskiet, hope you’re well man.

Yep, I am very “windgat” about the deal I struck ;)

Regarding some strategy, I have posted some insights in post 253.

We will beat them in the tight loose. While in the English half of the field, our players should stay in the air while in a tackle situation for a split second longer, and let our forwards rip the ball (this will eliminate most of our troubles come the breakdown).

Phil Vickery is a key ripper of the ball for the English in the mall situation, and there are ways to prevent his participation (legal and illegal).

Our locks and Juan Smith will have their work cut out on the day.

I will bench Albert to aid in cover defense when he comes on, and he will hava a lot of work to do in the rucks.

I will select a quick 8th man together with Schalk and Juan – since options are limited, I would opt for Skinstad.

• 430.chch: Reply to this comment

426 The Bill,

That hurts :-) cheers

• 431.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

425 wasn’t quite sure, sounded like you might have come through some political struggles of your own somewhere along the line.

• 432.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Double entendre?

To those talking about the age of the England team, they have a wide spread of ages but more importantly the older players have bags of experience. They’ve beaten the Schalk Burgers and Juan Smiths of this world before.

But imo age is just a number. We won the last world cup with what the Aussies termed ‘Dad’s Army’.

• 433.Fern: Reply to this comment

#419.willie wat dink jy daarvan?

• 434.Pietman: Reply to this comment

427# O hel, nou is hier groot moeilikheid!
    Fern, hou jou in asseblief!

• 435.chch: Reply to this comment

427 Cane,

I agree … there was a provication posted earlier … Fern posted something about Aboriginals …not a nice post for Australians as it always leaves them running to the encyclopaedia to find out who/what they are :-)

• 436.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Fern
    Hou jou in my maat.
    Ek weet wat jy wil se, maar moenie.

• 437.willievz: Reply to this comment

Fern 433

Ek **** jou…

• 438.chch: Reply to this comment

418 skopskiet,

I would put Aus and Arg ahead of Ireland. Does anybody else agree?

Skopskiet, I live in fear of miss spelling your tag

• 439.chch: Reply to this comment

438 418 = 428

• 440.Pietman: Reply to this comment

435# chch
    There is some history to Fern’s post.
    Walla said something some time back about SA politics and the treatment of black people, and Fern was waiting for him …..

• 441.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Willie – You reckon Skinstad has the ‘balls’ grind and guts for the big occasion, I would also prefer him to Roussouw though I have my doubts about his ‘physical’ presence, great in a loose flowing situation but limited in tight hard battles.
    I rate Wickus highly and would like him to go in at 6 with Juan and Schalk maybe patrolling 7 & 8 together. Maybe Albert wouldn’t be a very bad option as impact at 8 if the need arises ala Mark Andrews ’95. I reckon Bismark is a must on the bench too cause I doubt the longevity of Smit and Os up front, just hope he will have enough game sense about him not to do anything stupid on the big occasion.

• 442.Fern: Reply to this comment

ja nee manne,almal koop mos nou n greenday cd want hulle noem darfoer.net n point to ponder:
    ek het 2 maande riots gedoen om vrede tussen die anc en inkatha tekry.dit was swart op swart.ek het geweet dat die volgende deur wat ek oopmaak die laaste een kan wees..

• 443.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

On a side note, Lewis Hamilton FTW! :)

• 444.chch: Reply to this comment

431 skopskiet,

No, growing up in New Zealand you can begin to believe all the worlds troubles only happen on TV

• 445.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

I think that South African pack will get ball v England. I don’t think they will be able to ‘dominate’ England however and would be better served working on their wide game and getting the ball to Habana, Monty, Pieterson and Fourie in space.

England should do the same thing although they will be able to rely on Jonny kicking p’s

• 446.cane: Reply to this comment

Big Hit,

Wrong……..age is a FACT……and a number.

Get rid of Lawrence and your chances increase. Unless of course he is the best you have. Then you really are in trouble. (I am not saying Lawrence is not one of the greatest #8′s of all time….because he is.)

• 447.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Chch – Why the fear of miss spelling skopskiet what in the world could one fear in that?

• 448.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Are you crazy? Lawrence is a beast.

Age is a number its physical condition that matters and Lawro is fully fit and a complete beast.

Dallalio v So’aiolo? Dallyballs easily.

• 449.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Are you crazy? Lawrence is a beast.

Age is a number its physical condition that matters and Lawro is fully fit and a complete beast.

Dallalio v So’aiolo? Dallyballs easily.

• 450.willievz: Reply to this comment

Skopskiet 441

Skinstad’s role in that clash would be – tackle, tackle and tackle…we need one player to be on the alert for turnovers while the other 7 forwards do the grinding work. Skinstad proved to me that he is worth his weight in gold when it comes to defending…his performance against the Blues in the Super 14 at Calgary (be it as a blindsider) was enough for me to indicate that he is back.

If we field Danie at nr8, we are a bit short on the cover defense.

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.