Lions roar at Rassie
9 Aug 2007
The Golden Lions Rugby Union are livid after discovering Rassie Erasmus has been secretly trying to lure Brian Mujati to Western Province.
Erasmus, the senior professional coach at the Cape union, is alleged to be negotiating a move for the prop without the consent of the GLRU.
“We have a problem with Erasmus talking to Mujati behind our backs,” Golden Lions Rugby Union president Jannie Ferreira told Beeld.
“We have already made contact with Johan Prinsloo [chief executive of the SA Rugby Union] because Erasmus is personally negotiating with Mujati.”
The Lions are determined to hold on to the promising prop despite claims from his agent that it would be possible to get out of his contract, which ends after the 2008 Currie Cup.
Erasmus failed to seal a deal for his former Cheetahs prop Jannie du Plessis, who is reported to have signed to play for the Sharks next season.

89 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
9 Aug 2007, 11:54 am
fact is SA needs problems to be healthy
9 Aug 2007, 11:58 am
lol ty kind lion
9 Aug 2007, 12:00 pm
SA rugby needs WP to develop their own talent,not poach from other unions!
9 Aug 2007, 12:14 pm
the dood (53) –
Don’t talk kak, man. Most of the other provinces only manage to fulfil their quota requirements by poaching coloured players from WP. Without our resource pool, the rest of the country would be truly stuffed transformation-wise.
9 Aug 2007, 12:17 pm
Just to name a few of the top of my head – where do you think Adrian Jacobs, the Rose brothers, Wylie Human, Wayne Julies, Gurthro Steenkamp and Ashwin Willemse come from?
9 Aug 2007, 12:19 pm
Pierre,what has quota players got to do with this?
WP have a history of poaching players who have started to shine……Joe,Schalk Brits,Gerrie Britz,Chavanga.
If the WP talent pool is so great then why don’t they use it?
9 Aug 2007, 12:24 pm
Well Piere…..
Wylie Human – PE
Julies – Boland
Willemse – Boland
Steenkamp – WP age group but FS Currie Cup
Jacobs – WP age group but Falcons Currie Cup
Jody Rose never played CC rugby for WP,only age group.
Earl Rose is muck!
9 Aug 2007, 12:30 pm
nah, mate. **** did what previous successful sharks’ coaches did; he got a few boertjies from grey college. problem solved.
9 Aug 2007, 12:31 pm
#18 I didn’t realise the clubs in WP were located at FS and the Lions!
9 Aug 2007, 12:43 pm
Two words
Professional Era!!
You guys complain when the admin side is run like a nursery school but when the big boys come out and play hardball, then all fans outside of that specific union cry like a baby…
Get with the program!
9 Aug 2007, 12:46 pm
Two words:
Ball Bag!
9 Aug 2007, 12:53 pm
Strider
Piss off back to Middle Earth.
You Hobbit munching idiot.
9 Aug 2007, 13:02 pm
Strider Dan – it’s not about the professional era,it is about the union conducting itself in a professional manner.It has not been done in this case as Brian Mujati is under contract and as a result the GLRU should have an option to match (or better) the deal WP are offering.The Lions are investing heavily in their youth system rather than poaching from other provinces so it is annoying to a Lions supporter to hear that WP are trying to sign 2 of our players.The Lions took on Januarie as u/21 player and he prospered with regular gametime to become a Bok.Mujati is a youngster that the Lions are again investing in and WP are looking for a short-term fix rather than taking the time to invest in their own club players.
Before you even start going on about the Rose brothers,fair enough we got them 2 years ago after WP had developed them for a long time……but the same could be said for Big Joe and Conrad Jantjies who both progressed through the ranks at the Lions.
Schalk Brits is another who was given a chance at the Lions and then WP all of a sudden wanted him back cos they realised what a great player he was…..and I use the word ‘was’ cos his career has stalled at WP.
It may be a professional era but as a fan I think we have the right to be annoyed by player poaching,especially when our union has a policy in developing youngsters.If you look at the big name signings for the Lions in the last 4 years compared to the big name signings for WP in the same time period,you will surely see who is poaching and who is not.
9 Aug 2007, 13:05 pm
now if we can just get Habana and Jantjies back (fools for selling these two).
9 Aug 2007, 13:30 pm
And Vickus v Heerden, although we have some awsome loosies coming through.
Earnst is doing a steller job as captain.
9 Aug 2007, 13:42 pm
Let me be frank … it is a complete disgrace that WP – with such a large number of “black” players available to it – should poach such players elsewhere. WP sits on a gold mine of talented players playing their hearts and souls out on the Flats – but they prefer to import players from elsewhere. No wonder “black” players from WP/Boland end up at the Lions (and elsewhere) where their talent is better appreciated. WP should have solved the transformation equation long ago and should have set the pace for others to follow. But no, they choose to suck others dry. WP rugby is sick … very sick.
9 Aug 2007, 14:00 pm
Damn straight Katsenor – you talk alot of sense compared to the likes of these WP beauties who don’t know their arse from their elbow!
9 Aug 2007, 14:10 pm
Forgetting somebody, the Bulls will most probably loose the most players, but they also have the thickest cheque book, watch this space…
9 Aug 2007, 14:21 pm
#58 GCC – get over it.
If you can’t adapt to the professional era, then get out the game.
You have to ask yourself why do the FS boys leave? Is it money? Is it lifestyle? is it coaching? Is it conditioning? Is it professional management? Is it opportunity?
So many reasons that a professional player has to consider if he wants to keep the money coming in. If FS can’t make use of what is on their doorstep, then why not others.
Also, I think you will find the Sharks have a very good youth strucuture in place now, so are developing their own home grown talent. But I do hope they continue to bring in players from anywhere to compliment the players & keep the Sharks at the top.
9 Aug 2007, 14:44 pm
I do not know why he is bothering, he has steady Eddie in the Cape. He is a merit Bok remember!
9 Aug 2007, 14:58 pm
#69…..the top of what?
They haven’t won anything in 11 years pal!
9 Aug 2007, 15:29 pm
Los hom uit. Hy’s ‘n Leeu. Julle het mos vir Brock.
9 Aug 2007, 16:02 pm
All it says to me is that the Lions cannot match the offer … an established franchise in the heart of the SA economy.
Boohoohoo!!!!!
9 Aug 2007, 16:05 pm
# 63
Couldn’t agree more.
Rassie jy maak nie mooi nie. Los die Leeus spelers uit. Hulle speel in elk geval kak as hulle daai streep trui aan trek. Ou Schalk Brits was groot gewees in die rooi en wit.
9 Aug 2007, 16:24 pm
15.Conrad Jantjies*
14.Ashwin Williamse*
13.Jacques Fourie*
12.Wayne Julies*
11.Bryan Habana*
10.Andre Pretorius*
09.Ricky Januarie*
08.Jacques Cronje*
07.Joe van Niekirk*
06.Wickus van Heerden*
05.Geo Cronje*
04.Cobus Grobler
03.Brian Mujati
02.Schalk Britz
01.Henkie vd Merwe
wow..what could being a great side
9 Aug 2007, 16:38 pm
The Lions Purrrrr at Province I reckon. They did the same thing with Earl so shaddup!
9 Aug 2007, 17:00 pm
71# The future is bright… 2nd season in charge & **** has made a S14 final which was lost in the last minute and a dodgy ref decision.
Our time will come… soon.
Sharks are still the most professional side in SA & one of the best known brands in world rugby. I agree we need to start delivering on the field, but the time is nigh.
Besides the FS players don’t only leave to go to the Sharks, they are leaving to go anywhere in the world? I don’t know why, do you?
9 Aug 2007, 17:33 pm
Bagel don’t be a ballbag…..read the earlier posts (#63),Earl Rose and Jody Rose have been mentioned already.
The Bill,I agree with you wholeheartedly,the Sharks have got a brand awareness that can only be admired.The palyers appear to love playing for the Sharks,the fans are fantastic and the coaching is world class……but the fact remains that they have not won once in 6 finals.
’99 – Currie Cup
2000 – Currie Cup
2001 – Super 12 and Currie Cup
2003 – Currie Cup
2007 – Super 14
9 Aug 2007, 17:44 pm
Eish…
9 Aug 2007, 18:09 pm
big dawg, I don’t dispute that.
Just hope it gets better in the near future. We are certainly best placed to start turning ourselves from finalists into champions.
9 Aug 2007, 18:23 pm
I am sure it will bud – I wish the Lions was run as effectively as the Sharks.
9 Aug 2007, 19:03 pm
Gaan Bulle!!!
9 Aug 2007, 19:05 pm
9 Aug 2007, 23:12 pm
If thise idiots at WP (including Mallett) had done their job properly and actually nurtured some talent in CT, maybe they would not have to poach props from eGoli?
To be honest I have not seen or heard of much resulting from Malletts position as Head of Rugby.
No structures, no feeder systems, no incentives, no organisation, no extra money, NADA.
10 Aug 2007, 02:09 am
There’s a lot of emotion on this thread, clearly driven by provincial loyalties.
But remove that and you’re left facing the stark reality of rugby in the 21st Century: professional.
We had better get used to it…players will go where they get the best deal, believe their future is most promising.
Win some, lose some, no whinging.
Not now, not when Africa’s powerhouse economy, Johannesburg, and its team, get their act together and haul out the gigantic chequebook.
Be afraid, WP, be very afraid.
10 Aug 2007, 09:33 am
Someone on this thread said something about Waylon Murray going to the sharks… That is worrying as a Sharks fan – how true are those allegations though ??
10 Aug 2007, 10:07 am
Why should it worry you that Waylon Murray, already a Shark, is going to the Sharks?
Eish, I worry about you, Dalz.
PS I know you meant Stormers, just couldn’t resist…
10 Aug 2007, 10:18 am
Got me there boet !! But really though any truth to the rumour !
11 Aug 2007, 03:48 am
I don’t think so, Dalz.
He’d be crazy to leave a successful, well managed and well coached union for one devoid of just about all of these.
That’s before you consider how WP has become the graveyard for talented imports – Big Joe, Schalk and Gerrie Brits, Brent Russell.
We’d be happy to take him at the Lions, of course…
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All