Boks 105 Namibia 13 (80 mins) brings you live score updates and play-by-play commentary from the Test at Newlands.

Team news: Springbok captain John Smit will be replaced by Gary Botha in tonight’s game against Namibia.

In a late change made on Wednesday morning, Smit was excluded from the fixture due to a hamstring injury. Victor Matfield will assume the captaincy. Botha will wear the No 2 jersey while Bismarck du Plessis will come in on the bench.

South Africa - Try: Jean de Villiers, Juan Smith (3), JP Pietersen, Schalk Burger (3), Jaque Fourie, Os du Randt, Percy Montgomery, Ashwin Willemse, Bismarck du Plessis, Ruan Pienaar, CJ van der Linde. Conversion: Percy Montgomery (12). Penalty: Percy Montgomery (2)
Namibia – Try: Bradley Langenhoven, Conversion: Emile Wessels. Penalty: Wessels (2)


80 mins: CJ van der Linde crosses for the century. The siren had sounded but a Bok maul drove them into the 22m area. The ball shifted through the phases before finding Van der Linde on the touchline to cruise over the whitewash. Monty sinks his ninth convesion to finish with a personal points haul of 35.

79 mins: Ruan Pienaar finishes a long-range counter attack that saw the ball travel through numerous pairs of hands. Pienaar ran a great support line on Smith and dashed home from 22m out. Monty’s got the Midas touch.

76 mins: Burger bags his hattrick after another powerful rolling maul. Monty’s on target with the conversion.

74 mins: A Namibian kick fails to find touch and Burger runs it back. He offloads to Akona Ndungane who steps inside and sets up a ruck. Burger picked and drove before finding Bismarck du Plessis who twisted out of two tackles for his first Bok try. Monty makes no mistake with the conversion.

71 mins: Smith pounds his way through two tame tackles to round off a great evening. The flanker’s scored three tries and had a solid match in the loose.

69 mins: Ashwin Willemse dances through a number of tackles in midfield before losing the ball in the tackle.

63 mins: Referee Jonathan Kaplan refers a decision to the TMO. On the replays Matfield looked to have placed the ball against the padding of the post but the decision is a 5m scrum to SA. They make a host of subs including bringing on Ruan Pienaar at flyhalf. The Sharks man is immediately involved, playing a role in a try that is birthed from the scrum. Monty misses the conversion.

60 mins: Another Bok expansive move comes to nothing when Fourie coughs the ball up. His having a bit of a nightmare this evening.

58 mins: Schalla grabs his second of the evening, rounding off a simple pushover from the lineout maul. Two more for Monty.

54 mins: Wessels banks another three points for Namibia.

51 mins: Montgomery joins the party. The fullback, also in his final game on home soil, slides over in the corner following a unstructured backline move. He converts his own try.

48 mins: Os du Randt scores in his final match in SA. The big prop came up with the ball after some good phase play took the Boks into the red zone. Du Randt pick and drove powerfully and the Namibian defence had no answer. Monty with the three.

43 mins: Wessels slots a penalty.

41 mins: The Boks go expansive from the restart but the ball is turned over after a good break from the 22m.


39 mins: The Boks run a free kick from inside their 22m. The ball finds Pietersen on the wing who then wraps with De Villiers. With nowhere to go on the touchline, the centre puts in a fine kick back inside towards his support. Fourie collects and scores under the posts. The conversion is easy for Monty.

38 mins: Namibia set up a rare attack but the move comes to nothing.

34 mins: The Boks go wide agains but once more the move breaks down as a result of poor ball protection. They’re awarded a scrum however, and following a sublime no-look offload to Smith from James, the flanker runs in for his second of the evening.

28 mins: The Boks set up the lineout drive on the 5m line and blitz Namibia in the maul. Schalk Burger emerges with the ball. Monty misses the conversion.

24 mins: The backline are getting it together now and JP Pietersen scores the try of the evening. The backs split after setting up a ruck in midfield and Fourie du Preez picks up Monty at first receiver going right. He finds Pietersen running a great line on his inside shoulder and the winger ghosts through a hole to score. Monty fails with the conversion.

19 mins: Juan Smith rounds off a good move that saw Jacques Cronje running off Butch James, punching through a gap and offloading to Smith. Monty adds the extras.

17 mins: The Boks’ fundamental skills are poor and although they are creating space in the outside channels, their finishing has not been clinical.

15 mins: Wessels misses a penalty from an acute angle.

12 mins: The Boks hit straight back through a well constructed move which Jean de Villiers rounds off. Monty converts.

10 mins: Try Namibia. Wing Bradley Langenhoven intercepts a Butch James pass on his 22m and races through to score. Emile Wessels converts.

7 mins: An horrendous tackle on Fourie results in another Bok penalty which Monty converts.

5 mins: A golden opportunity is lost when the Boks fail to finish a set move from a scrum. The ref’s playing advantage though, and Monty sinks the three.

4 mins: The Boks set up a rolling maul in the 22m. It’s a poor one though and Namibia turn over possession when Bakkies Botha takes it into contact.

3 mins: The ball goes through three phases before it spills out of the ruck and Namibia hack it forward. Jaque Fourie gathers the lose ball and counters but nothing comes of the move.

1 min: Butch James kicks off to the reverse side and Namibia clear from their 22m.

South Africa Р15 Percy Montgomery, 14 Ashwin Willemse, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Jacques Cronj̩, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 Gary Botha, 1 Os du Randt.
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 BJ Botha, 18 Albert van den Berg, 19 Johann Muller, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Akona Ndungane.

Namibia -15 Heini Bock, 14 Bradley Langenhoven, 13 Lu-Wayne Botes, 12 Piet van Zyl, 11 Melrick Africa, 10 Emile Wessels, 9 Jurie van Tonder, 8 Jacques Burger, 7 Tinus du Plessis, 6 Jacques Nieuwenhuis, 5 Nico Esterhuyse, 4 Wacca Kazombiaze, 3 Marius Visser, 2 Hugo Horn, 1 Kees Lensing (c).
Subs: 16 JM Meyer, 17 Johnny Redelinghuys, 18 Jané du Toit, 19 Herman Lintvelt, 20 Eugene Jantjies, 21 Du Preez Grobler, 22 TC Losper

Referee: Jonathan Kaplan. Kick-off: 7pm