Cheeky snubs Boks

Cheeky Watson, the anti-apartheid activist and father of Luke, will not be supporting the Boks at the World Cup.

When asked if he would back the team in France, Watson told the Cape Argus: “I’m answering diplomatically: I’d rather not comment on that issue.” When asked if he supported John Smit as captain, he simply said: “no comment”.

Watson said he would have liked to have seen a team sent to the World Cup that is more representative of South Africa and that there should be six players of colour in the Bok starting XV. He added that while white players are given plenty of chances to prove themselves, a black player is dropped after the first bad game he has.

When asked if he believed the current Boks supported democracy, Watson said: “The majority of the players who stand up there are holding on to the Bok emblem as if it’s their life blood. I don’t know if they’d hold the flag with the same passion.”

While Watson refused to call the Boks racist he said they took the “least line of resistance most of the time. There’s not a culture for standing up for what is right and wrong. It’s all about rugby and not about social and rugby issues.”

Watson insisted he would not like Luke to be playing at this World Cup, but he would shout his son’s selection “from the roof tops” if it was a transformed team.

645 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] Show All

• 601.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Mooi gaan Grrrr.

• 602.eth_ig_er: Reply to this comment

pietman
    yes its true the emblem is upside down,it simply implies that jake’s team is confused like him.

• 603.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Cab

16:45- 17:00

Pietman

Dude ek weet. En ek verstaan regtig nie hoekom ek so voel oor ‘n ou wat ek nog nooit ontmoet het nie… Ek ‘laaik’ hom net niks. Ek het dalk ‘anger management’ klasse nodig! :lol:

• 604.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Cheers!

• 605.JL1: Reply to this comment

The issue about the administrators are that they do not have the skill, knowledge or attitude to run things properly.

The French Development Agency is all over Gauteng trying to equip the current muncipalities/councils and sort out the mess of the last 10 years. The guys at the French Dev Agency get paid huge salaries in Euros to help out.The only reason for this was EE and a brain drain which is not subsiding. The current rate at which emigration agencies are growing is frightning to see and experience.

• 606.Pietman: Reply to this comment

602# ethiger
    So it’s true?
    Surely they have fixed it, no?
    Why China, of all places?
    Some ANC oke had a hand in it for a few extra bucks,I guess.

• 607.cab: Reply to this comment

the eagle roars over the sunburnt mountain
    where the hearts of the canyons pump
    red sand into the raging bushveld
    and the impala gives a satisfied **** having eaten his fill.

Jinx, no copying hey.

• 608.cab: Reply to this comment

Grrr,
    thankyou very much for that.

later, lets hope we win.

• 609.Pietman: Reply to this comment

ethiger
    Why don’t you give us your run-up 15 Springboks for the WC, the way you would have chosen them?
    I am really interested to see how you think about team selections.

• 610.4teen: Reply to this comment

Typical SA:

Atlantis and the clothing factories closed down because of cheap Chinese imports. The government wants to create work but they stop factories from operating. They want black players… but there is no work for the parents!

The race card club, the merit club and the Australasian club on this site can say what they like but one thing is for sure…. A parent, not the union or the government, the parent… plays the biggest part in the development of a child!

If there are no factories for the parents to work in where will the training balls and nutrition for physical development come from?

The anc and the quota club want Africans in the national teams, but they don’t want to develop/invest: less than 200k development money but halve the cabinet is delinquent and together earn more than the green side on SARU balance sheet.

The hypocrites support china but abandon the local factory and its workers, they invest in a foreign soccer coach but the Springbok coach must pick a specialist analyst form the 36% unemployed in SA… etc. etc. etc.!

Typical SA!

• 611.Pietman: Reply to this comment

610# 4teen
    Dankie man.
    Goeie verduideliking.
    Maar n dom benadering wat onse leiers volg.

• 612.JL1: Reply to this comment

4teen

Most of SA’s minerals and irons have also been traded of to China for other things. China will soon own most of it in SA. The bubble will burst

• 613.eth_ig_er: Reply to this comment

pietman
    yes you know us man we like big bucks,they asked a chinese fortune teller about the spingboks prospects in the world cup before they sew them,the teller after looking on his stuff decided on the emblem being upside down.

• 614.Pietman: Reply to this comment

ethiger
    OK ethiger, thanx man. Big bucks and no effort, I know.

Now your ‘transformation team’, #609?
    Who are they?
    Show me yours and I’ll show you mine, which would be twice as good as yours, I bet you.

Put your big bucks where your big mouth is!

• 615.eth_ig_er: Reply to this comment

pietman
    here they are
    1.guthro
    2.bismark
    3.bj
    4.bakkies
    5.matfield
    6.floors
    7.schalk
    8.smith
    9.ricky
    10.pretorius
    11.habana
    12.julies
    13.fouri
    14.pietersen
    15.steyn
    so you can comment on them

• 616.Pietman: Reply to this comment

614# ethiger
    And remember, you need to have 10 ethnic blacks in there, not ‘coloureds’, as Stofile called them.
    I don’t have that problem, my team will be selected purely on merit.
    OK?

• 617.eth_ig_er: Reply to this comment

now you can show me yours

• 618.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

It’s amazing what some like Cheeky will say to keep the BEE shonky money coming in!

• 619.eth_ig_er: Reply to this comment

i am not stofile am i?I selected the team which i think is representative for now and capable of winning the world cup.

• 620.Pietman: Reply to this comment

ethiger
    Good my man, that is a really good team.
    The problem is it won’t fly with your friends Komphela & co., I think. You think they would be happy with your choice?
    Not if you read Stofile’s latest declaration of about a week ago (unless he changed his mind again).
    He said specifically ten players of ‘ethnic’ origin.

I see you also didn’t include Luke! I agree with that 100%.
    And I am not sure I would have started with Kabamba, but I can live with that.

Yes, ok, I will go with you on #615.
    It is good, if you can get it past the politicians.

• 621.eth_ig_er: Reply to this comment

come pietman be a man and show me your team.

• 622.crowbar: Reply to this comment

Cheeky and Luke should move to Zim this is their chance to proof that our racist system does not work. As coach and captain they will have the support of the whole nation & could obtain enormous victories for wannabe politicians that could or never will make it in rugby let alone on SPRINGBOK level, ********

• 623.eth_ig_er: Reply to this comment

why would they wanna move to zim,why don’t you move to iceland.

• 624.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Pietman,

Stop believing everything that is said. Elections are coming up. Strategies are simple:
    * ANC: Pressure the Verkramptes
    * DA: Beware the Swart Gevaar

Lots of hot air very little actual implementation

• 625.the conservative: Reply to this comment

Rugby has not produced one “legend” black player,and never will.Whites dominate rugby,as Blacks dominate basketball.

• 626.Pietman: Reply to this comment

6213 ethiger

No, I will go with your team.
    Cannot improve on that one much.
    Except maybe John Smith, for reasons of captaincy.

• 627.Pietman: Reply to this comment

624# saffa
    Yes, I figured that much.
    That’s politics, I’m afraid.

• 628.Pietman: Reply to this comment

626# ethiger
    I just fear ‘our’ team might not satisfy the ‘transformists’ in government.
    I think would like to see less ‘white’ faces’ there.

• 629.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

The conservative,

Advice: Sh*t stir when the blog is full. Pointless sh*t stirring on a Saturday morning with only a handfull of lonely souls online.

• 630.Ig: Reply to this comment

Folks i am gonna move this off the homepage, if you wish to continue this discussion it will be in the archives.

• 631.jhsmith: Reply to this comment

pietman. if you go back and read all your comments you will see that you are a very angry and bitter man. Hatred and venom spew out of your mouth towards the watsons for whatever reason. Maybe you are simply jealous that journalists from around the world arent interested in your thoughts and opinions but only cheekys??? You are not even objective in your reasoning. just bitter and twisted. the only platform you have is this website. shame. did cheeky do something to you personally?

• 632.Pietman: Reply to this comment

jhs
    Sorry, case closed.
    We are about to check out.
    Next time wake up earlier if you need my attention.

• 633.Pietman: Reply to this comment

ethiger
    Catch you later.

• 634.4teen: Reply to this comment

#631…

Don’t get personal if you lack the ability to reason against good knowledge of SA rugby and the Rugby history. Or in this case… the truth!

Pietman knocked you 6/0!

I see/read you like making profound personal assumptions… just remember:

Assumption, is the mother of all fruckups!

• 635.rich1: Reply to this comment

ethiger, about your team (#615)

Do you think ricky is better than du Preez (the world’s best No9) or would you not select du Preez because he is white?

And you complain that other people are racists!

• 636.4teen: Reply to this comment

If water is water, blood is blood,
    White is Black, Black is human and
    The righteous conquering evil everyday…

If they were “white”, how many dark players would earn their stay?

• 637.bite me: Reply to this comment

how many players of colour are stuck playing provisional or club rugby for the rest of there careers tim dualane is currently a ‘medi assistant’ never heard of a white player do that

• 638.mongrel: Reply to this comment

#610 4teen, i don’t know why i bother but here goes: Atlantis was created by the previous government as a strategy to move people of colour out of rural towns. Factories were given tax holidays and other incentives to move there to create a colouredstan. When the tax holiday ended (i think it was 5 years), most companies having made the bucks upped and left. Chinese imports may now be a new problem, but not the original cause of what we see today and its not pretty out there.

• 639.mongrel: Reply to this comment

BTW guys the reason we have ‘idiots’ (wise men trying to sort out the **** that is SA sport) is because of the idiots (no quotes) who introduced separate development, group areas, butu education, job reservation, the immorality act, pass laws, independent homelands and disenfranchised 90% of the population, so, have *** and travel!

• 640.4teen: Reply to this comment

#638…Interesting:

Why I know about the Atlantis thing was because of a Carte Blanche program where they interviewed workers and owners.

As you know it’s an investigative program and they also interviewed someone from the ministry. I if my duck are all in `n row his replay was sweet and short: We are putting some quotas in place to prevent this.

The investigation was not just about Atlantis alone but the clothing industry in general and the effect of Chinese imports.

Atlantis was know as the clothing “Mecca” in SA and they did there interviews there.

The last thing I heard was that all retailers selling Chinese clothing must indicate the land of origin to let the buyers decide if they are going to buy it.

• 641.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

640 posts later and you guys are still at each others throats, Keo & Co. sure gets a whole lot of mileage out of these emotive politically charged and character assassinating threads, at least its obvious what really grabs all of our attention, when we can fling mud at one another thats exactly what SA rugby enthusiasts love more than ever, the more divided we are the happier we seem to be.

• 642.mongrel: Reply to this comment

#640 4teen all the people in the clothing industry were fvcked up beyond repair before chinese imports. Ask carte blanche to do a story on that, its not ecomonic, its political they are poor, uneducated and had no propects. Did you know that the garment industry in this country supplied many of the top nations with rugby jerseys? That was before globalisation and branding, now we get the Canterbury to pay people 1 dollar to make our stuff. Viva Bokke!

• 643.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@jhsmith-12: Looks like Keo cannot win

• 644.cane: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-643:

What are you up to Ryeman?

6 years between posts here?

• 645.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Back to the future part 4 :)

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.