Cheeky snubs Boks
24 Aug 2007
Cheeky Watson, the anti-apartheid activist and father of Luke, will not be supporting the Boks at the World Cup.
When asked if he would back the team in France, Watson told the Cape Argus: “I’m answering diplomatically: I’d rather not comment on that issue.” When asked if he supported John Smit as captain, he simply said: “no comment”.
Watson said he would have liked to have seen a team sent to the World Cup that is more representative of South Africa and that there should be six players of colour in the Bok starting XV. He added that while white players are given plenty of chances to prove themselves, a black player is dropped after the first bad game he has.
When asked if he believed the current Boks supported democracy, Watson said: “The majority of the players who stand up there are holding on to the Bok emblem as if it’s their life blood. I don’t know if they’d hold the flag with the same passion.”
While Watson refused to call the Boks racist he said they took the “least line of resistance most of the time. There’s not a culture for standing up for what is right and wrong. It’s all about rugby and not about social and rugby issues.”
Watson insisted he would not like Luke to be playing at this World Cup, but he would shout his son’s selection “from the roof tops” if it was a transformed team.

645 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All
24 Aug 2007, 18:11 pm
Watson currently the only way your son would make a Bok team is as a token or sympathy slection.
You have no commitment to a non-racial democratic South Africa and you are in my opnion a charlatan.
I’m absolutely gob-smacked that you get the recognition you do, or that journalists phone you for a quote. You remind me of PW Botha, only you sit on the otherside of the political spectrum.
24 Aug 2007, 18:11 pm
Cry me a frikken river!
24 Aug 2007, 18:12 pm
I fully support cheeky watsons view. This is not a team that represents the whole of south africa. The majority of blacks and coloureds are not going to support this team. We need to work on producing a team that is supported by all and not just white south africans.
cheeky watson has done his bit towards changing things so that all of south africans are represented. this is just a white mans team
24 Aug 2007, 18:13 pm
But he supported an almost all-white Super 14 team that Luke captained … selective morality?
24 Aug 2007, 18:14 pm
I said this before on another thread and will say it again, soon the Springbok Nude Girls will have to undergo a name change and transform themselves.
These admin morons constantly remind us that we have different skin colour, 12 years after Democracy.
Its a fakken sham!
Grow up Mr. Watson – geez some saffa’s are disturbingly sad!
24 Aug 2007, 18:15 pm
Danie Craven helped transform the game, not this Watson ***!
If it was not for Danie I doubt we would have hosted the 95 RWC.
24 Aug 2007, 18:16 pm
#3, I watched Bafana Bafana the other eveing – didn’t see any white okes playing but I still supported them.
Maybe you need to understand what a non-racial democracy is?
This is really ****…firstly – i would have had the first comment, but then I lost my password… secondly – who are these black players who play once then get dropped?
Guys like willemse has been in the team and know one know why
Unsteady Eddie Andrews always seem to make it into any team
January is not the second best halfback…..
Akona whateva is not the best wing in the coutnry…
I wish that people would leave race out of sport. It has absolutely nothing to do with it.
Pietman
now HERE is your Afrikaaner-hater !
24 Aug 2007, 18:19 pm
lol – turn the other Cheek boys
jhsmith – you are ignorant – goodbye
24 Aug 2007, 18:20 pm
cheeky watson gave up playing for a racist white bok team years ago to make people aware of the wrongs and evil of apartheid. He supports luke not an almost all white super 14 team. Keo you are so joined at the hip with jake white and his very white team that we cant expect an objective opinion from you. You just want to go with white to the world cup that nothing else matters.you always go with the popular vote and have no courage to speak out against wrong. nothing has changed/ build the country instead of agreeing with racist white teams.
Why doesn’t this ******** insist there should be more white players in Bafana bafana?
Hehe heh old Cheeky!
He sees this as an opportunity to get his name up there again
Perhaps he is even aspiring for a cabinet post …in Zimbabwe!
He is not doing his son any favours by this.
So Mr Watson, Sir, who do you support then, in this WC?
Perhaps Namibia, because they are representative of the Ovambo, Herero, KhoiSan, and all those other tribes?
You should rather assist the Mighty Elephants back in your home town, because they are kuk and they need your help.
And perhaps you can again open that little spaza shop in Galvendale.
24 Aug 2007, 18:22 pm
Geez, JHS you got some beef with Keo there I see.
24 Aug 2007, 18:22 pm
JHSMITH – You are the weakest link – Good Bye –
Explain to me what colour has to do with anything.
Do you hounestly believe that forcing a white guy out of a position to make place for a coloured person is fair? isn’t that what the old regime did?
If i was coloured, and I knew I was in the team only because of my skin colour, then i would be really ashamed
24 Aug 2007, 18:24 pm
The above comment is for both Watson and jhsmith. They both say racism is wrong when black people are the “victims” but its fine for blacks to be racist against whites.
24 Aug 2007, 18:25 pm
12# jhsmith
Go talk kuk at the ANCYL. Cheeky was never been near the Springbok team, not even the Junior Bok team!
He couldn’t even make the regular EP team ahead of Carel Fourie.
The closest he got to international rugby was a game again the All Blacks in 1970, for EP.
That is his only claim to fame.
And the fact that his brother was an undercover ANC agent in exile.
That is his ticket.
24 Aug 2007, 18:27 pm
10# BigRed
Yes, I know.
There are racist ars#holes in SA as well, not only in your parts!
24 Aug 2007, 18:28 pm
Cheeky,jou ou Does.Die see kan jou skeinheiligheid nie meer weg was nie.WTF is fout met die ou?Hey Piet,was jy al in Gelvandale?
24 Aug 2007, 18:28 pm
18# ‘has never been near……’, sorry boys.
24 Aug 2007, 18:29 pm
Guys, affirmative action or whatever you care to call it is not new to this country!
The ANC did not invent it.
Barry Hertzog introduced it to uplift the Afrikaners after the Anglo-Boer war and urbanisation of Afrikaaners. It was in the +/-1930′s that he felt the Boer & Brit could shake hands and therefore came and end to affirmative action.
What we have here is similar, one day when goverment feels we can all shake hands then and only then will all this crapola come to a halt!
Until then you have to just deal with it!
24 Aug 2007, 18:29 pm
all racism is wrong. keo you have a very checkered career so i dont think you can spell the word morality. pietman, watson is currently the co president of e.p rugby tying to help them so you need to wake up. the majority of people on this web page are white so it is understandable the attack on watson/ He didnt and still doesnt care about what people think about him. He speaks out against what is wrong
24 Aug 2007, 18:30 pm
I’ll be diplomatic and not comment on my feelings regarding the Watson father and son duo, nor Luke’s heavenly rise to the green and gold.
24 Aug 2007, 18:31 pm
Ye Mackie,
But this is 2007 – the new SA is a democracy…..we can keep using the past as excuses….
Reminds me of little kids – one blaming the other.
In 10 years time the whites can say the same as the blacks then
Die Dier
Nee, nopg nie.
Is ook nie van plan om in daai nes in te gaan nie.
Dis Watson-area.
Ek is n harde WP-man, soos jy, maar hierdie kuk van Luke se pa staan my al lankal nie aan nie.
Cheeky is n agitator.
Hy wil he sy seun moet kaptein van n swart Springbokspan wees.
Wel, ek het nuus vir hom.
Hy kan maar droom saam met sy vennoot Stofile, dit gaan nie gebeur nie.
jhsmith,ek hoop jy try net ietsie stir,want as jy nie is nie wil ek net se jy speel met die leeu se bal….Niemand hier het net voor die world cup tyd vir sulke moffie comments nie jou hans kaki.
24 Aug 2007, 18:34 pm
23# jhs
Cheeky is about Cheeky.
He doesn’t care about you okes or EP rugby.
The man is an egoist and a loser.
All he has left is his political ticket and his son Luke’s rugby future to rely on.
Piet,rattle iemand my vere sommer so vroeg in die oggend.Anyway,ek het in Livinstone Hospitaal gewerk,daar naby Gelvandale….
jhsmith: watson speaks out about some of the things that are wrong. We don’t hear him criticising the ANC much. If racism is the problem the ANC are the worst culprits.
24 Aug 2007, 18:35 pm
Rich, are you still beating that Bafana Bafana drum? How many white players do you think would be the right number? And how does that square with less than one sixth of the population?
Rowen Fernandez, Delron Buckley and Bradley Carnell look white to me. They might be coloured, frankly I don’t care. Need for affirmative action? – definitely not.
24 Aug 2007, 18:37 pm
Cheeky really got it wrong. For a rugby player it is in the first place about rugby and nothing else.
Recently, on the Bulls site, supporters had the privilege to ask questions to Chilliboy. To the question how does it feel to be a quota rugby player, his answer was:
I reckon I AM A GOOD RUGBY PLAYER
A very good answer
Cheeky, even Chilliboy said he wants to be about rugby, and NOT the politics.
24 Aug 2007, 18:38 pm
Alicamousa : same number of white players will make Bafana on merit as black players would make Boks on merit. So yes it is the same thing.
24 Aug 2007, 18:39 pm
pietman.carel fourie was playing for the transvaal when watson was playing for e.p. The two wings for the gazelles were potgieter and watson who played against the all blacks in 1976. watson also played in the final bok trials in the same year. pietman you obviously getting your facts from the funny **** youre smoking.you attack cheeky and luke regularly and with all kinds of facts that are wrong. totally wrong
24 Aug 2007, 18:40 pm
Bafana Bafana will IMO never gain a winning culture. The 95 Boks never quiet had it before the WC, they went in hoping to do the best they could, but certainly did not expect to win the event.
But after THAT win our Springboks immediatly inherited a winning culture.
Bafana Bafana are gonna have to secure a descent scalp before they take their game to the next level. I just dont see it! Like I said before, this is simply my opinion.
24 Aug 2007, 18:41 pm
Cannot believe Luke had the pleasure of pulling on a Bok jersey … absolute joke ! My most hated player of all time !!
24 Aug 2007, 18:44 pm
the only reason there is a watson story again is because keo’s site has been very dull and quiet for the last few weeks and any watson story gets things heated up and this causes a huge amount of activity on this site. watson stories are put out there by keo to cause aggitation. he never says anything positive about them so its a ploy to get people worked up.
24 Aug 2007, 18:47 pm
You know I never thought bad of Luke before, but with his pathetic interview answers while he was a “brief bok” I cringed. He kept saying **** like..”well im different as my old time rugby heroes are…”and he’d only name black players. One of whom was the numb nut manager Zola Yeye.
Luke, pack it down at flank boytjie and shut your cake hole. The way he answere made it sound like all the other players were/are racist.
Sorry Luke, but on a scale of 1 to 10 you get a minus 3.
24 Aug 2007, 18:47 pm
34# jhs
I am talking 1976 All Blacks, Hermanus Potgieter and Tino Kankowski and Cheeky Watson were the in form wingers.
I know he had played Springbok trials, and I also know that he didn’t make it.
I saw him play.
He was a serious contender for Springbok colours, indeed.
But why would he go play trials if he wasn’t interested in earning Springbok clours.
He only turned down Springbok colours because he wasn’t chosen!
24 Aug 2007, 18:49 pm
Guys, who cares about how many whites there are in the Bafana team? If a white player is good enough then he will make it. Just like it SHOULD be in rugby.
Cheeky and Luke think that they both the most overly important people on this planet. Ignore them and they will go away. If Luke plays well then congratulate him, otherwise ignore him. The only reason that journo’s go to any of the Watsons for comment is because they are 100% gaurenteed to give a comment that will put their names into the headlines.
It is the same way to deal with Tackler, just ignore him and he will go away.
IG, agree with #24
24 Aug 2007, 18:52 pm
38# Mackie
Aagh man, Yo-Yo cannot even get the Springboks into a decent hotel with proper beds on time.
He is a quota manager, and he played with Watson for Kwaru or something way back then, just on the other wing!
Both useless wingers and even more useless politicians.
24 Aug 2007, 18:54 pm
Pietman #39, Cheeky thought that he was bigger than the Beatles. They gave back their OBE or MBE whatever it was, so Cheeky thought if they can, then so can I. One day Luke might even give back the watermelons that he carries under his arms.
24 Aug 2007, 18:55 pm
Shame on you Cheeky Watson. You know which side your bread is butter’d and you know the more controversy you make regarding the ANC’s view the more you will get from them.Fine. However – when you boy Luke becomes a Springbok and maybe captain next year with the new look african political representation – let us see the results. But pleas do not give the excuse to lose in the name of “transformation”. I also see you as trying to get a top job within SARU frmo the ANC. Your boy in my opinion (and everyone has one)is simply to egotistical and self centered and therfore not representative of proffesional ruby – but instead of politics of which you will agree – you have the full backing if the ANC and you will use it to advance you Luke. What a shame.
24 Aug 2007, 18:56 pm
41# Sorry Yeye!
Not Yoyo.
Honest mistake, I promise.
24 Aug 2007, 18:58 pm
I agree with most comments. Bottom line is we need everyone to stand behind the bokke now and support them. Cheeky is a miserable , negative person.
Keo or Ig or whoever. A article about how transformation has progressed sometime would be nice.To see the stats of how many players of colour have played for the boks each year. It is constantly improving , i know it. I know more and more players of colour are getting chances every year. And more and more players of colour are there on merit, which is the way it should be. So I guess Cheeky aint watching the rugby tommorow ….he’s more than welcome to fetch me a few beers during the game.What a idiot
loosehead_LOL!!!!!
42# loosehead
I am a WP man, and I will die a WP man
But this Luke boy I cannot support.
jhsmith, who would you take to the world cup then?
I am in full support in you argument but the thing is, there are no quality black players to field a team of 15.
If you want transformation you need to start at grass roots – something this government is not doing enough of. Likewise, they are not willing to televise games on channels like SABC, so even if the boks were a team made up of all black players, who is really going to be able to watch them? the small group of black people who have enough money to afford Cable?
Blame the government for not making transformation happen quick enough and for not allowing the african population the chance to support them – can the average african person afford R250 to see a test match? how much do they pay for soccer games?
24 Aug 2007, 18:59 pm
Wonder how the Boks are getting on in that Midget shed – thanks to Zola.
Wonder if anyone has let him know that we are playing the Scots this weekend and not the Irish.
Eish…someone drop him a line before he goes to conference…
24 Aug 2007, 19:02 pm
Pietman,ignoreer daai dwaas JHSmith.Hy het nie ‘n idee waarvan hy praat nie.Ook ‘n taktiese fout van Keo om so ‘n storie te post.Ek het geweet dit sou ‘n reaksie lok,maar dan is daar mos altyd ‘n klomp natsakke wat ons kom aanvat op die blog.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All