Jake’s not to blame

Gavin Rich, writing in the Weekend Argus, responds to Cheeky Watson’s criticism of the lack of black players in the Bok squad.

You won’t get me disagreeing with Cheeky Watson in his view that the make-up of the Springbok squad for this World Cup is an indication that transformation is failing the game.

It is now 2007, 15 years on from unity, and I must admit that for a long time I was labouring under the impression that Springbok coach Jake White had been instructed to include 10 players of colour, in other words one third of his 30 man squad. And when I thought that, I knew that it would still not be nearly enough.

Seven black players in a squad of 30 is simply not good enough, and Watson is 100% correct. What I cannot understand, however, is his intimation that because of this, he will not be supporting the Springboks at this World Cup.

It is not the Springbok players or the Springbok coach who is to blame for the lack of transformation, and I have a strong feeling that South African Rugby Union president Oregan Hoskins would join me in agreeing with Watson’s basic point. As he has done on a few occasions recently, he would probably go further, and put the blame squarely on the organisation which he heads.

The real problem is not the number of black players in the Springbok team, but the number of black players coming through in first class rugby. Which begs a question of Watson – did he take the same attitude that he now takes towards the Springboks when his son, Luke, led the Stormers against the Chiefs in a Friday night match at Newlands earlier this year?

If my memory serves me correctly, Breyton Paulse was the only black player in Stormers colours that night, and on that particular weekend of Super 14 rugby, which saw five South African teams, and thus a minimum of 75 local players take the field, there were less than 10 black players in action.

I wrote at the time that it wasn’t good enough, and that this was when the likes of the rabble-rousing Bantu Komphela, who in my opinion gets quoted far too often in some sections of the media, should come forward and say so. He didn’t, and I can’t recall Mike Stofile doing so either.

Transformation was not on the agenda then because it was not the Springboks we were talking about, and I do get the impression sometimes that the emblem is the heart of the problem because of the emotion it stirs up.

By the way, if I was running South African rugby, I would have discontinued the emblem in 1992, just like all the other sports did. I don’t buy the argument of the long tradition and the history for the simple reason that if you really take a look at that history, and you are fair about it, then the “good old days” were really “the bad old days”, and the Springbok should have gone the same way as the old flag.

Back though to the point – how can you select six black players in a Springbok starting team if there are only just over that number of black players playing in the main feeder competition?

The solution is to stop blaming the national coach, and maybe even the Super 14 coaches, but to get the structures right so that there is a steady flow of black players coming through and they don’t get lost in the system after they leave age-group level.

In this regard, it was pleasing to read Hoskins, in an interview run in Friday’s edition of The Argus, talk so passionately about what his organisation is doing for rugby in the Eastern Cape. That is the real heartland of black rugby in this country, and those who have travelled down to watch the big derbies featuring schools such as Dale, Selborne and Queens College have spoken positively about the black talent coming through.

The Spears concept was never properly thought through, but the basic philosophy behind it, as I argued at the time, was good. The sooner Eastern Cape rugby is strong again, the sooner rugby will be able to deny the likes of Watson and Komphela their soap-box.

120 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

• 101.cane: Reply to this comment

long drop.#99

My protest, (and many like me) in 1981 was not against Rugby………but against Apartheid.

As for politics not interfering with sport, well, SA had already tossed the adage in the waste paper basket a long time ago sunshine.

In NZ a “long drop” is a cesspit into which excrement and urine are deposited. You picked a good Nick/sign-on long drop.

And I see you refer to the AB’s as the “Mighty All Blacks”. Well Sunshine, you at least got that right.

• 102.cane: Reply to this comment

Mick,

Maori, prior to the 1960′s, largely lived in remote rural areas. Maori Rugby was started by the NZRFU to take the game to them.

If fact the first ever NZ Team to Tour Overseas was the 1988-89 NZ Native Team which Toured the UK, Eire, NSW and Queensland.

They played 107 games, and won 78.

While there is now no special need to promote Rugby in Rural areas, Maori Rugby is so entrenched in the system, that there would be “blood on the Streets” if the NZRFU tried to do away with it.

Those Maori boys love this game of rugby.

Racial based Team —–yes.

Do any of us mind—–no.

There are avenues for all who are good enough to excel.

• 103.cane: Reply to this comment

The NZ Native Team above was in fact the 1888-89.
    Sorry.

• 104.long drop: Reply to this comment

Cane, I forgot with a small economy like NZ [australia's squatercamp] you still call that a long drop. this refers to F Steyn and his long drops. One that might win a WCup again for the boks, just like stransky did for the Boks. why dont you go back to ‘once we were warriors’ days before you try and be a smart arse. real rugby people supported the 1981 tour!

• 105.Nightwalker: Reply to this comment

Good One Cane! About the long drop ;-) And about 1981. SA should have been isolated (I was too young to understand that at the time). What grates me at the moment is the ANC slogan “No normal sport in an abnormal society” no longer applies … look at Zim.

On another issue I have just returned from my annual SA holiday and my Taiwanese wife was blown away by the rural schools… no FACILITIES!!! If the government can’t even provide soccer pitches or playgrounds where are these players of colour going to come from? Maybe Cheeky needs to speak about service delivery in the EC.

• 106.cane: Reply to this comment

Cesspit,

Being lectured about “Once Were Warriors” from someone living in the Nation with the highest murder rate in the world, outside a combat zone is quite humorous.

Though I suspect….. that was not your intention.

And yes, young Franz could yet win the Bokke the WC. We shall have to wait and see will we not.

• 107.cane: Reply to this comment

Nightwalker,

I wouldn’t have a clue about SA rural Schools, but “Rome was not built in a day”.

Give things time.

A long drop on the other hand can easily be excavated in a day.

• 108.cane: Reply to this comment

Nightwalker,

One of the really great things about soccer, is that to get started, all you need is 4 road marking cones and someone who can remember 11 rules.

Rugby on the other hand………

• 109.Nightwalker: Reply to this comment

15 years and billions of rand is time!!!… and I used to teach in one of those self same rural schools! The point is the rulers of SA need to look at the “logs in their own eyes” and stop grandstanding.

• 110.Timbo: Reply to this comment

I think Cane has a point that could/should be put into practise here. A native team, whether that is in the s14 next year or as a touring team that plays nationas all over the rugby playing world. That way we can develop talent over a period of time without ruining the boks immediately.
    I can’t believe the emotion that this WC is generating from people here in SA, it should just be about puting your bok jearsey on and supporting. Go to Cardiff on a match day, Wales aren’t competing at the moment but you won’t see a Welshman, his wife or his kids not wearing the jearsey, a beanie and a scarf in Welsh colours, it’s brilliant to see, undying support in the face of adversity.

• 111.long drop: Reply to this comment

hey cane, dont you have to get another tattoo or play your ‘warriors’ game. insest they game all warriors play! go and beat up your wife, if that makes you feel better. by the way I need my wheelie-bin emptied! cheers

• 112.long drop: Reply to this comment

timbo theres an interseting article ‘black is beautiful’ on aussieboer . com. go and read

• 113.cane: Reply to this comment

Cesspit,

I’ve got my tattoo already Bro.

It’s a phalic styled sugar cane, with the words “suck on this cane sugar” curved above it.

When you are brave enough to get your “tat”. I recommend a stylised ****. A picture paints a thousand words long drop.

• 114.Tony Moneo - The Perfect Storm..er...: Reply to this comment

Jeepers, now I remember why I haven`t been on Keo lately…

• 115.cane: Reply to this comment

Nightwalker,Timbo and Cesspit.

Goodnight and thanks for the dialog. (I think).

• 116.Tony Moneo - The Perfect Storm..er...: Reply to this comment

Cane, I expect better from you. You have always been a good poster. The above is not your style no matter how much you have been riled. Ignore the nonsense otherwise it`ll just keep coming back.

• 117.cane: Reply to this comment

Sorry Tony.

• 118.Tony Moneo - The Perfect Storm..er...: Reply to this comment

he he, it`s ok cane…

• 119.loftus: Reply to this comment

#50 nongoloshe i am sorry to read what you wrote about the springbok emblem,it saddens my heart to think of all the hatred you have inside you and you can`t let go of it.Forget the past what`s done is done,learn to start forgiving and maybe you will be a better person and support the springboks in the future.BOKS FOR THE WORLD CUP.

• 120.pompies: Reply to this comment

Sorry of the topic, I watched the game saterday and thought Bakkies had a good game, cleaning, tackling and doing the donkey work. But alot of people I talked to day thought he was kak, was he?

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.