UJ knock out champs

The University of Johannesburg’s victory over 2006 champions Pukke sees them advancing to the playoffs along with Stellenbosch, Old Greys and Tukkies.

Rawsonville, Middelburg, SK Walmers and Spring Roses have won through to the playoffs for the Plate. Rawsonville scored the biggest win of the day at Coetzenburg, amassing 100 points in the first half of the game against Wanderers. The match was called off thereafter due to the lack of a contest.

Match Reports

University of Jhb (3) 26 Pukke (6) 12

Defending champions Pukke were dethroned by a spirited University of Johannesburg team that took control of the contest in the final quarter. Up until then it had been a typical clash between two varsity sides: fast, physical and full of end-to-end action. Pukke led 6-3 at the end of a very tight first half. Both sides created try-scoring chances but were unable to finish off effectively and had to be content with scoring points from each other�s infringements in a game littered with penalties.

Pukke scrumhalf Jean Tiedt succeeded with two first half penalties to the one of UJ flyhalf Ryno Luus. Within eight minutes of the restart, the scores were level at 9-9 after Luus (2) and Tiedt had again traded penalty goals. The game came to life in the final quarter when UJ scored two tries in the space of as many minutes. The first was scored by number eight Gerhardus Meyer who pounced on the loose ball after Pukke had failed to clear from behind their goal-line and the next by centre Riaan Roux who rounded off after UJ exploited a three-man overlap down the left. Luus converted both to move the score to 23-9. After Tiedt and Luus had each kicked their fourth penalty of the match to make it 26-12 with six minutes to play, UJ kept Pukke pinned back for a deserved win. UJ will meet Tukkies in the semi-finals.

Scorers: UJ: Tries: Gerhardus Meyer, Riaan Roux. Conversions: Ryno Luus (2). Penalties: Luus (4)
Pukke: Tries: Conversions: Penalties: Jean Tiedt (4)

University of Stellenbosch (23) 51 College Rovers (10) 10

Hosts Maties put in a controlled performance against KZN champions College Rovers, scoring seven tries to one. Maties led 23-10 at the change after conceding an early try and then responding with three well constructed five-pointers of their own. The third try, by scrumhalf Henoe Stoffberg, was a classic. Fullback Wigan Pekeur ran from deep, shifting left and passing to flanker Chase Minaar who after a one-two with centre Pieter Stoffberg popped an inside pass to the scrumhalf who caught the ball behind his back to run in for the score.

Despite a brave effort by Rovers, Maties controlled the game in the second spell, keeping their opponents scoreless. Number eight Bennie Booysen was prominent, carrying the ball well and getting his side over the gain line. Maties kept the scoreboard ticking over with a further four tries all of which were converted. Pekeur featured in three of the Maties second half tries, scoring one and either creating the break or delivering the scoring pass for the others. Maties will face Old Greys in the semi-finals.

Scorers: Maties: Tries: Wesley Wilkens, Sarel Potgieter, Henoe Stoffberg, Elgar Watts, Wigan Pekeur (2), Joe Pietersen. Conversions: Stoffberg (4), Donald Stevens. Penalties: Stoffberg (2).
College Rovers: Try: Chris Jordaan. Conversion: Heath Wassink, Penalty: Wassink

University of Pretoria (3) 6 PE Police (0) 0

Tukkies and PE Police seldom got the spectators pulses racing in an error-riddled encounter that saw neither team gaining the upper hand in any phase of play. Both sides had heavy packs who cancelled each other out in the forward exchanges.

They were equally ordinary at the breakdown and seldom looked like creating chances up the middle or out wide with some fairly ordinary backline play, shaky handling and pointless kicking. After going at it hammer-and-tongs for 40 minutes, the deadlock was broken by Tukkies via a penalty by flyhalf Jaco Roos on the stroke of halftime.

It was much the same in the second half with Tukkies showing more enterprise but letting themselves down with handling errors at crucial times. Roos completed the scoring with a second penalty midway through the half to earn his team a place in the semi-finals.

Scorers: Tukkies: Penalties: Jaco Roos (2)

Other Results

Old Greys 17 (10) – Tries: Riaan Swanepoel, Llewellyn Hofmeyer, Bertram Johnson. Conversion: Gerrit Smit.
Wes Bank 9 (3) - Penalties: Jannie Barendse (2), Drop-goal: Darrol Murray.

Kimberley Police 23 (8) – Tries: Freek Steyn, Godfery Hendriks, Petrie Carstens. Conversion: Edrich Prinsloo. Penalties: Prinsloo(2).
Welkom 18 (11) – Tries: Innes van Rooyen, Jan-Louis Coetzee. Conversion: Hugo Kleynhans. Penalties: Kleynhans (2).

Springs 21 (14) - Tries: Shawn Botes, Jan vd Schyff (2). Conversions:Dennis Brits (3).
Buffalo 17 (10) - Tries: Jordash Kirsten (2). Conversions: Jeff Taljaardt (2) Penalty: Taljaardt.

Middelburg 55 (24) – Tries: RW Smit, Gert Swanepoel, Karel Opperman (2), Andre Grobler (2), Hercu Nel (2). Conversions: Erasmus Heyns (6). Penalty: Heyns.
Swallows 7 (0) - Try: Thabo Relu Conversion: Xolani Klaas.

Spring Rose 39 (15) - Tries: Unathi Matomela, Killer Mntaba, Dumisani Meilani (2), Nkululeko Makhwenkwe (2).
Conversions: Phumlani Mnikina (3).
Penalty: Mnikina.
Evergreens 14 (14) - Tries: Johnathan Stoffels. Penalties: Clayton Marks (3).

SK Walmers 55 (31) - Tries: Shawn Petersen, Zahier Rylands (2), Michael Petersen, Trevor Leota, Junior Leota, Johannes Ferreira, Shameeg Pead, Abbas Hendricks.
Conversions: Adnaan Osman (3), Shafiek Judaar, Adolf Stoffberg.
Young Killers 15 (7) – Tries: Zikhona Dumaphi, Khaya Makinana.
Conversion: Qundani Katywa. Penalty: Sinovuyo Ganto.

Rawsonville 100 -Tries: Kat Myburgh (4), Alwyn Hugo (2), Francois Januarie, Johnathan Schalkwyk (3), Ricardo Jones, Whalied Heyens, Johan Botha, Raven Lotter (3).
Conversions: Ricardo Jones (10) Wanderers 0
Match stopped at half-time.

The semi-finals will take place on Thursday.

Match reports courtesy of SA Rugby.