World T20 latest (Tue)

Ashwell Prince has resigned as the president of the national players association.

Apparently an article which appeared in a Sunday newspaper, which said that black players were insisting that Cricket SA’s transformation policy be changed, caused the reaction from Prince to step down. According to the report, which stated that the 30 top SA players had signed a memorandum to enter into discussions with Cricket SA to do away with the ‘quota system’, Prince and Makhaya Ntini were said to be the ringleaders. In a statement released by Prince, he said he felt “betrayed and used”. “I trusted people and that confidentiality has been broken. I feel strongly that Saca had nothing to do with this. But the fact that it could have been a player, or players, made me realise that I cannot represent people whom I cannot trust”. He said that the person who leaked the information to the media had to be at the meeting which was held last week between the Proteas squad, team management and Joubert Strydom, the convener of selectors.

- Graeme Smith says South Africa are wary of the unpredictability that the West Indies hold. Smith compared today’s opening game against the Windies to the Rugby World Cup opener Friday night between France and Argentina, saying the Proteas will be careful not to fall into the same trap that the French did when they lost against Argentina. Smith admitted on Monday that his team had often struggled against the men from the Caribbean. “The Windies are unpredictable. They have a number of guys who can be match-winners on their own. This makes them a dangerous team.” Smith also stressed the importance of his young team beating Australia in a warm-up match on Sunday. “One can see how it boosted the confidence of the guys. They are relaxed. I have been emphasising to them that we should enjoy what we are doing. “We will, of course, play to win, but it should be seen as a fun tournament in which we want to play imaginative cricket and give free rein to our creativity. Smith also felt it would take some time for the team to get use to playing under floodlights again. “We have not played in a night game for some time and it may take a while to get used to it again,” he said.

- Australia dominated the ICC player awards that were held in Johannesburg last night, with Ricky Ponting scooping up the Player of the Year award for the second year in a row and taking home the Captain of the Year award. Ponting was also named in both the test and ODI teams of the year as well as being captain pf both teams. Teammate Matthew Hayden received the ODI Player of the Year while Mohammad Yousuf won the Test Player of the Year award. Fellow Australian Shaun Tait won the Emerging Player of the Year award and Kenya’s Thomas Odoya received the Associate Player of the Year award. Umpire Simon Taufel won the Umpire of the Year award for the fourth consecutive year. Sri Lanka have had a fair amount of success over the last year, and the way they play their cricket also won them the Spirit of Cricket award, beating off Australia, New Zealand and Ireland, the three other nominees. In the main surprise of the evening, Indian allrounder Jhulan Goswami won Women Cricketer of the Year. ODI team: Matthew Hayden, Sachin Tendulkar, Ricky Ponting, Kevin Pietersen, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Jacques Kallis, Mark Boucher (wk), Chaminda Vaas, Shane Bond, Muttiah Muralitharan, Glenn McGrath. Test team: Matthew Hayden, Michael Vaughan, Mohammad Yousuf, Kevin Pietersen, Michael Hussey, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Stuart Clark, Muttiah Muralitharan, Makhaya Ntini, Mohammad Asif. 12th man: Zaheer Khan.