The Legends of rugby

Tell us who your favourite rugby legends is and win one of five collectors tins of Captain Morgan Black Label Jamaican Rum.

cpts_giveaway.jpg

Captain Morgan Legends of Rugby Captain Morgan Legends of Rugby Captain Morgan Legends of Rugby Captain Morgan Legends of Rugby Captain Morgan Legends of Rugby

Leave a paragraph below in the comments describing who your favourite rugby legends is and the winner will be announced weekly on this thread.

Click to enlarge the images above.

24 Comments

• 1.Rix: Reply to this comment

Serge Blanco the French legend.

• 2.AB: Reply to this comment

Naas Botha

• 3.Bugsy: Reply to this comment

Sean Fitzpatrick – A giant of the game, the longevity of Sean’s career can be attributed to his dedication to physical fitness, his undoubted technical ability and a fierce determination to see off all rivals for his position.

• 4.Tjorts: Reply to this comment

Doc Craven.

• 5.koningvanniekaap: Reply to this comment

Tiaan Strauss- should have been part of ’95 World Cup Team.

Andre Joubert- greatest fullback we’ve had.

• 6.David: Reply to this comment

Gareth Edwards
    Probably the greatest half back ever. Even though he was a specialist scrumhalf he had the speed and ability to play any position if he’d wanted.

• 7.Tetrum: Reply to this comment

Andre “Rolls Royce” Joubert

• 8.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

I have to go with Gareth Edwards, as well.

• 9.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

My legend of the game is:

Ryno Opperman. He had a beard and played lock for Free State. He dominated line outs and didnt take kak from anyone

• 10.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

Ok, My other legend is Braam Els:

Braam also played lock for Free State and also took his fair share of line out ball. Played well with Oppies Opperman and played one test.

• 11.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

Thirdly I would like to nominate Cheese van Tonder. A player with a dairy product for a name. Stuff of legends….

• 12.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

Fourthly – Izak Beneke. He kicked through in the famous FC Smit test after Hans Scriba dropped the ball like a toss. Cheetahs won.

• 13.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

Stompie Fourie. He was the butt of many jokes. Ha ha ha ha. I should work – but this is too much fun.

• 14.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

I would like to nominate a Bulls player. Piet Pretorius. He tackled the begeezus out of Lourens Prinsloo in the Lion Cup – which cost Free State the game. Dammit.

• 15.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

Schalk Naude…. Just like Ryno Opperman – he had a beard which gives him points

• 16.racheltjiedebeer: Reply to this comment

CC

What about the naked dude that tackled FC Smit? Match winning tackle.

• 17.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

China Bell – the original fat wing. Looked like a short Quinton Davids. Played for EP and entered pie eating contests with the late Frans Domkrag Erasmus

• 18.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

Racheltjie – thought i was here on my own. Bryan Baenhoff – yes indeed – a legend throughout the FS. Has never had to buy a drink since that day, and never ever will….

• 19.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

How about Chris Kasselman. Played flyhalf for Free State with his kid brother Sas at scrumhalf. He weighed 23kg… Chris Kasselman – The Captain Morgan Legend of Rugby. Nice ring to it…

• 20.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

Next nominee in my book is the fattest prop ever to play for Natal – Mort Mortestagne (spelling?). With a name like that you deserve legend status or at least to have a mafia familiy member

• 21.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

Next nominee is one of the original Free State Hensoppers – Louis Boje. Went to WP – doos. Sorry, he is not a nominee at all. I will replace him with Joubert Strydom – who also played cricket for FS.

Wait – Joubert also went to WP. Doos !!!

Guess that leaves us with the Springbok Dentist – JOHAN STYGER !!!

• 22.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

I am sure in the next 5 minutes – Keo and the gang will delete all my posts and kick me off – so I will finish with an honest and sincere one.

Chris Badenhorst. My hero since i was 6 years old. Up until recently held the record for the most CC tries. Played 2 trillion games for FS and only 1 for the Boks. In this game he scored 2 tries. A hard working small agile wing.

Give me the rum !!!

• 23.grantr: Reply to this comment

Jan Boland Coetzee. The original fetcher! This legend was built for rugby and not the ELV’s. As a player he would simply not exist in todays game but he is one of the greatest Springboks ever produced. What does this say about the ELVs – go figure!

• 24.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.