Win a Bok jersey!
19 Oct 2007
Write a letter to SA Rugby magazine and you could win a Springbok World Cup jersey.
We want your thoughts on anything Springbok or World Cup-related. Please keep your submissions to 300 words or less (we don’t want essays).
The writer of the best letter gets the Bok jersey, while the best of the rest will also be published in our next issue.
Send your letters to judge@hsm.co.za or post them on the comments thread below. Letters on the World Cup final can be sent to us after the game.
Also feel free to give us your thoughts on our current issue (with Habana on the cover).

66 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
19 Oct 2007, 13:54 pm
You only look *** if you havent got the body Green!!!
19 Oct 2007, 14:19 pm
Extracted from a piece submitted in 2004:
A few Saturdays ago I took the family to Paarl to watch Grey College play Paarl Boys High. What a rare privilege it was to watch the boys in navy play a 15-man game the way it should be played. The fact that they ran seven unanswered tries past the Paarl boys does count for something, but it was the almost effortless way in which they did it that caught the eye.
One movement particularly impressed me: The movement started from a line-out within Grey College’s 22, the ball went to the left wing, tackle made, possession recycled. The ball came to the right wing, tackle made, possession recycled. The ball came to the left wing once again and, lo and behold, the halfway line was in sight. It was carried out with patience, confidence, and utter belief in themselves and their team-mates. That particular move did not end in a try; it merely set the tone for the match.
South Africans have been playing adventurous rugby for years. Unfortunately that adventure gets coached out of players by coaches who “know how to play winning rugbyâ€. Let’s take the Grey College fly-half for the day, for example: He was big and strong, without being bulky. He could pass, he could run, he could tackle, kick for goal and yes, on the odd occasion he could kick for touch like a mule. In short, on the day he was more or less the ideal fly-half. In the newspaper on the Monday I saw his name, one F. Steyn. (I honestly hope his name is not Frikkie, it just wouldn’t fit, but I digress.)
No, his name was not Frikkie. It was Francois and he’ll be around for some time marshalling the Bok back line.
19 Oct 2007, 14:22 pm
a letter
19 Oct 2007, 14:23 pm
Het ek nou gewen want ek het geskryf wat ek moes?
19 Oct 2007, 14:37 pm
… oh Springboks we luvvvvvvvvvvv uuuuuuuuuuuu!!!!
Guys i just wana say that i cant work anymore… my heart and soul is already in france already with the BOks!
19 Oct 2007, 14:57 pm
Keo/ Ig
I think you can award that bok jersay to Snowbro…
He didnt write a letter but #34 and 39 deserves it!
course for me that is what a bok supporter is all about! passion and doing everything to see a game!
19 Oct 2007, 16:05 pm
Not Smuggling Bibles Guy,s handing out leaflets, Saying Save the Springbok Emblem, Trying to get 1 billion supporters behind me, and get rid of that pr!ck Komphela,
cant wait anymore its 22h00 here,
Buck i do have TV, Star Sports, just no Vibe, yence the trek, to the big City, to go harras the poms,Bejing is full of them, The Den is the the local PUB for the BEIJING DEVILS no1 team in China
Im
Actualy in China Building A Super Mall, Massive thing.
19 Oct 2007, 18:13 pm
I will begin writing my article on Sunday morning
19 Oct 2007, 18:34 pm
Snowbro deserves the jersey, no question!!!!!!
19 Oct 2007, 19:50 pm
Vin,
Seeing it has to be Springbok or WC related I cannot see how it would be more than 50 words long.
I cannot see you writing about the Boks, and there is really not much to write about the a quarter exit either.
19 Oct 2007, 20:15 pm
Hey Fabio. What ’bout all the expats in NZ and elsewhere. Don’t we get a party. Maybe the next time they are in NZ the Boks can bring the cup with them. Sort off show it to the locals as well!! F@ck knows when they gonna see it again!!! HEHEHE!!
19 Oct 2007, 20:24 pm
60. PissAnt
Whats the point in writing before the event – theres enough of that being done already ?
20 Oct 2007, 07:53 am
Just noticed something interesting on a previous thread. In one of his posts, “The Big Hit” includes the words ‘soccer’ and ‘pupils’.
Anyone who has lived in the UK will know that no Englishman uses the term “soccer” – they call it football and the word “pupils” is also not used in England, it is an archaic term still used in SA but long abandoned in the UK.
Proof that “The Big Hit” is actually a South African and quite probably Keo himself.
Anyone else notice this kind of ploy on this site??
20 Oct 2007, 10:57 am
This won’t be an easy game. England have more experienced guys that will employ their patience. If we become impatient they have the kicker to punish us
At rucks and mauls they will be aggressive and put all their bodies on the line. Bakkies, Schalk must not retaliate as they will be hit hard at the breakdown.
Forwards to set a platform and the back-line to finish off. Our backline is our strogest weapon as we scored more tries than the English.
Need to be very patient at tackle, rucks and mauls.
Go Bokke and make us all proud.
20 Oct 2007, 17:24 pm
Yeah, its Saturday
Sunny Saturday
With the sky alight
In green and gold – wah-ey!
Bring on the boys
Bring on the ball
Onto the field
The Ruck. The Mall
The Final tonight
The World will watch
Breath’s will be held
“Ref! His foot was in touch!!”
This is our night
We’ll be as one
As we shout from the stand
“Run Habana RUN!”
“Our boys”
cheer the crowd
“Lift the cup!”
“Make us proud!”
21 Oct 2007, 12:28 pm
I’m sorry, but this particular issue did not live up to expectations. Please give us some posters in the next issue, the World Cup only comes round every four years.
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All