Win a Bok jersey!
19 Oct 2007
Write a letter to SA Rugby magazine and you could win a Springbok World Cup jersey.
We want your thoughts on anything Springbok or World Cup-related. Please keep your submissions to 300 words or less (we don’t want essays).
The writer of the best letter gets the Bok jersey, while the best of the rest will also be published in our next issue.
Send your letters to judge@hsm.co.za or post them on the comments thread below. Letters on the World Cup final can be sent to us after the game.
Also feel free to give us your thoughts on our current issue (with Habana on the cover).

66 Comments
19 Oct 2007, 11:29 am
1st!
19 Oct 2007, 11:31 am
I am going to post this on all threads so bear with me.
keo, i think that if we win, you should throw a party for all us muppits to celebrate. One in CPT, one in JHB, and one in DBN. Also, you can arrange for some of the Boks to be there and why not throw in the Trophy for us to see.
Just give us the dates and we will be there!
19 Oct 2007, 11:34 am
Dragons!!!
Bokke!!!
19 Oct 2007, 11:35 am
fabio…
F#$&^*!!!, you beat me!
Great idea, I second!!!
19 Oct 2007, 11:36 am
I are 5th
19 Oct 2007, 11:36 am
Great ideo fabio. Also good for the marketing of the sarugby mag.
19 Oct 2007, 11:37 am
Don’t even bother guys, that jersey is mine!
Keo, please put my name on the back so long!
19 Oct 2007, 11:38 am
Tinus, sorry bru! Now about our post world cup victory jol….maybe we should start a formal request and e mail it to Keo?
19 Oct 2007, 11:39 am
Less than 120 000 seconds to go!
19 Oct 2007, 11:40 am
Great Idea Fabio – listen to the man Keo, he talks sense!
Ig – I am a 44 an I would like a number 5 on the back please…
19 Oct 2007, 11:40 am
119 998…119 997…
19 Oct 2007, 11:41 am
Simon do you accept telegrams?
19 Oct 2007, 11:41 am
I’m in Fabio!
19 Oct 2007, 11:43 am
Kerneels, go buy your own, this one is MINE!!!
okay here is the deal…mail me your details fabio@brand-aid.co.za and i will send to Keo…
spread the word!
Fabio – they can basically just make a few calls and give us a venue and a date.
For instance: All the KZN Muppits meet each other at Joe Cools at 19:00 on this date. Keo can phone some of the Sharks in the Bok team to be there if possible to meet some fans.
Pta – same at, say Boston Tea Party and some of the Bull Springboks
CT – some *** pub near the harbour and invite all the Springbok Wp player(s) to come…
19 Oct 2007, 11:45 am
Cape Town – Tiger Tiger
19 Oct 2007, 11:45 am
not nice re the CPT bash Kerns!!!
19 Oct 2007, 11:47 am
fabio – hehehe, I just had to get one more shot in before the WC final!
19 Oct 2007, 11:49 am
i think this needs to be an exclusive Keo Muppits thing….maybe a braai at a local rugby club or something? Why should nightclubs and outsiders get to cash in on all our hard blogging hours?
19 Oct 2007, 11:52 am
its lekker to be lekker because its lekker
what more can I say!!
19 Oct 2007, 11:55 am
what about a bloem f#$&ing bash?
we have the man of the WC
o wait we have a cc final to organise
to much going on in bloem sorry
19 Oct 2007, 11:56 am
Why Bok is best
10 reasons it’s better being a Bok fan than a Pom fan:
1. Bok fans aren’t surprised and grateful when their team wins matches, they’re surprised when their team loses.
2. Green and gold jerseys look cool on all kinds of South Africans, but white jerseys make England supporters look like the love children of unhealthy Zombies and dead fish.
3. We actually have 15 players in our team, rather than just Jonny Wilkinson and 14 old guys.
4. The South African sports media might be a self-serving, sycophantic bunch of freeloaders, but at least they aren’t staked out outside the team hotel hoping to get a picture of Monty’s wife tanning topless.
5. Our coach has got a chin (okay, more than one when he speaks Afrikaans).
6. The Boks’ traditional rivals actually come from different countries like New Zealand and Australia, as opposed to being English provinces, like Ireland, Wales and Scotland.
7. Fans of other teams hate the Boks because they’re hard ******** – they hate the English because they’re hypocrites who won’t admit they’re hard ********.
8. Instead of wanky names like Jason, Jonny, Martin and Phil, our players have cool names like Os, Bakkes, Wickus and, uh, Percy. (Dammit, trust Percy to ruin everything again).
9. Bok fans don’t mind being hated, because of all the practice we had during the apartheid years. English fans, on the other hand, can’t seem to understand why the rest of the world loathes them.
10. Win or lose on Saturday, Bok fans are flying back to a summer of hot babes and beaches. English fans are doomed to a winter of sleet and clogged M1.
11. (Everyone knows South Africans can’t count) Schalk Burger pushes the earth down when he does press ups. Martin Corry sticks his bum in the air.
my blood is a funny dark brown black colour?
it is what you get when you mix oranje and green!
Ha. These Monarchs are so exclusive, they don’t mix with us commoners.
Fabio, I will assist in storming the Keo castle.
19 Oct 2007, 12:00 pm
Hear hear Dawn, a hostile take-over!
19 Oct 2007, 12:01 pm
good to have you on board then Dawn. So what you waiting for? Use your female powers to get us some numbers!
19 Oct 2007, 12:02 pm
Remeber Keo promised us lots of compititions but nothing happend. Lets hope it will go beter next year.
19 Oct 2007, 12:05 pm
Let’s have a get-together without them.
Now THERE’s an idea.
19 Oct 2007, 12:17 pm
hallo?
19 Oct 2007, 12:19 pm
Fabio – they should fly out some of the ‘big shots’ at keo to the parties as well. I would like to have a beer with Ig, Keo, Ryan and the boys. And I would like to have a word or two with Simon…
19 Oct 2007, 12:20 pm
Hallo ouens!
19 Oct 2007, 12:22 pm
Wanneer gaan die dag nou verby wees sodat die games kan begin?
19 Oct 2007, 12:24 pm
I must thank all of you for your comments during the RWC,
I am working in China, Near the Mongolian border, reading
All the blogs and comments, made me feel like I was part of
The rugby, Tomorrow im flying to the Den, Rugby bar in Beijing
It’s full of, Kiwis, Aussies, and Poms, and open 24 hours, so hoping
For some great Vibe, at 03hoo in the morning, they have Supersport, so
At least I don’t have to listen, to the biased, Pommie on Star sports.
Thanks again, as I drink the imported Beer at R55.00 a pint Ill remember
All my KEO buddies, you have been like Family the last 6 weeks.
Finally the Boks are the better team, after scoring more tries’ in the
Knock our stages, than the other 7 teams combined.
The upsets are over; Boks will score at least 3 tries in there Victory.
Where is every one else watching???????????????????
19 Oct 2007, 12:26 pm
Ah, daar is jy. Ek sien op News24 hulle het ‘n bier bottel uit ‘n ou se kolon verwyder in Kenya…dink jy pa het die moer in gewrod vir die skipper?
19 Oct 2007, 12:28 pm
Snow – I read that post this morning. It makes me proud to know that some of our Bok brethren on the outskirts of the planet can be so passionate about our team.
Good on you mate!
19 Oct 2007, 12:29 pm
Oh Ig, and while we are all bitching and moaning – why don’t you create an official keo group on facebook?
19 Oct 2007, 12:29 pm
Dit is notuurlik gladnie onmoontlik nie. Dink jy die twee roomies gedra hulle self of dink jy hulle maak net die hele tyd K…….? Het hulle nog stuff gevang?
19 Oct 2007, 12:30 pm
You think you guys cant wait for the Victory to start, I have to wake up 6 hours before, and wait till 03h00 to watch the match,
Love to see the Vibe In SA tomorrow, All the guys Buying, Charcoal, and Rooikrans,
gee I cant wait, my Plane leaves at China Time o8hoo tomorrow, Spending R3000.00 just to go watch the match on TV, Beijing, Im the one in Bright Green
19 Oct 2007, 12:40 pm
Was nou net by Makro om ietsie soets vir more te kry. Moes omtrent 15 min in ‘n tou wag. Hierdie land gaan sondag ‘n masjien van ‘n babbelaas he!
19 Oct 2007, 12:42 pm
41. Ons kan maar net almal ons bydrae lewer… sien jou op die SA/ENG latest news thread?
19 Oct 2007, 12:43 pm
You snowbro!
Tell us Bok fans, what on EARTH are you doing in China, on the Mongolian border bru? Smuggling Bibles?
19 Oct 2007, 12:44 pm
I meant “Yo Snowbro!”
Not “You snowbro!” Sorry bru
19 Oct 2007, 12:48 pm
You guys think you’ve got mates!!
My jersey arrived this morning, delivered by TNT sent by my friend from Johannesburg to my office in London, with a little note “I couldnt bear to think of you watching the final without your jersey”. We were supposed to get together for England/SA game during the pool rounds, he was in Germany on business and was coming to me in London. His passport was stolen on the “fast train” in Germany and he had to wend his way to Berlin for a temporary passport from the SA consulate. I gave him a blow by blow of the game on SMS as he couldn’t find a tv in Germany to watch the game on. He has refused to take payment as he says “that is my beer money when I see you again”. He was also supposed to be in London when we played England the time before in SA, as he was in New York on business and could only get to the UK in time but not back to SA. The flight was delayed in New York for 24 hours and he missed that game too. Now hows that for a mate!!!!!
19 Oct 2007, 12:50 pm
Guys forget it, the jersey belongs to us girls we can share it. Party! Party! Party! Party!
19 Oct 2007, 12:51 pm
London was “Green and Gold” this morning and e-mail did the rounds yesterday asking everyone to dress in solidarity with our team. There were two other guys in my carriage on the train in Green and Gold (I was also, of course) and then I saw about 5 people at Vauxhall station in Green and Gold and this was 0645 this morning, this place is like a boiling pot there is such a vibe.
SPRINGBOKS FOREVER!!!!!
19 Oct 2007, 12:56 pm
COME ON BOKS!!!!
snowbru. i know how you feel, was in thailand in March and spent quite a few hours researching where i could watch a stormers game on Koh Samui, was well worth it…not quite your extreme, but know that feeling of desparation of possibly missing an important game…
ruck – where did you see the green in durbanville, i was looking everywhere and spotted one lonely sod with the green and gold!~
19 Oct 2007, 13:04 pm
Only if it is one of those ones they were in games, the replica jersey’s of the new one looks ****.
19 Oct 2007, 13:05 pm
were = wear.
This is what happens if you start drinking at 11.
19 Oct 2007, 13:52 pm
#48, Pissant!
I am at work, wearing my replica right now. It’s not the one they wear in games, because those tight-fitting jerseys make a normal human being look ***!
So watch your mouth! Most people are wearing the replica anyway!
19 Oct 2007, 13:54 pm
You only look *** if you havent got the body Green!!!
19 Oct 2007, 14:19 pm
Extracted from a piece submitted in 2004:
A few Saturdays ago I took the family to Paarl to watch Grey College play Paarl Boys High. What a rare privilege it was to watch the boys in navy play a 15-man game the way it should be played. The fact that they ran seven unanswered tries past the Paarl boys does count for something, but it was the almost effortless way in which they did it that caught the eye.
One movement particularly impressed me: The movement started from a line-out within Grey College’s 22, the ball went to the left wing, tackle made, possession recycled. The ball came to the right wing, tackle made, possession recycled. The ball came to the left wing once again and, lo and behold, the halfway line was in sight. It was carried out with patience, confidence, and utter belief in themselves and their team-mates. That particular move did not end in a try; it merely set the tone for the match.
South Africans have been playing adventurous rugby for years. Unfortunately that adventure gets coached out of players by coaches who “know how to play winning rugbyâ€. Let’s take the Grey College fly-half for the day, for example: He was big and strong, without being bulky. He could pass, he could run, he could tackle, kick for goal and yes, on the odd occasion he could kick for touch like a mule. In short, on the day he was more or less the ideal fly-half. In the newspaper on the Monday I saw his name, one F. Steyn. (I honestly hope his name is not Frikkie, it just wouldn’t fit, but I digress.)
No, his name was not Frikkie. It was Francois and he’ll be around for some time marshalling the Bok back line.
19 Oct 2007, 14:22 pm
a letter
19 Oct 2007, 14:23 pm
Het ek nou gewen want ek het geskryf wat ek moes?
19 Oct 2007, 14:37 pm
… oh Springboks we luvvvvvvvvvvv uuuuuuuuuuuu!!!!
Guys i just wana say that i cant work anymore… my heart and soul is already in france already with the BOks!
19 Oct 2007, 14:57 pm
Keo/ Ig
I think you can award that bok jersay to Snowbro…
He didnt write a letter but #34 and 39 deserves it!
course for me that is what a bok supporter is all about! passion and doing everything to see a game!
19 Oct 2007, 16:05 pm
Not Smuggling Bibles Guy,s handing out leaflets, Saying Save the Springbok Emblem, Trying to get 1 billion supporters behind me, and get rid of that pr!ck Komphela,
cant wait anymore its 22h00 here,
Buck i do have TV, Star Sports, just no Vibe, yence the trek, to the big City, to go harras the poms,Bejing is full of them, The Den is the the local PUB for the BEIJING DEVILS no1 team in China
Im
Actualy in China Building A Super Mall, Massive thing.
19 Oct 2007, 18:13 pm
I will begin writing my article on Sunday morning
19 Oct 2007, 18:34 pm
Snowbro deserves the jersey, no question!!!!!!
19 Oct 2007, 19:50 pm
Vin,
Seeing it has to be Springbok or WC related I cannot see how it would be more than 50 words long.
I cannot see you writing about the Boks, and there is really not much to write about the a quarter exit either.
19 Oct 2007, 20:15 pm
Hey Fabio. What ’bout all the expats in NZ and elsewhere. Don’t we get a party. Maybe the next time they are in NZ the Boks can bring the cup with them. Sort off show it to the locals as well!! F@ck knows when they gonna see it again!!! HEHEHE!!
19 Oct 2007, 20:24 pm
60. PissAnt
Whats the point in writing before the event – theres enough of that being done already ?
20 Oct 2007, 07:53 am
Just noticed something interesting on a previous thread. In one of his posts, “The Big Hit” includes the words ‘soccer’ and ‘pupils’.
Anyone who has lived in the UK will know that no Englishman uses the term “soccer” – they call it football and the word “pupils” is also not used in England, it is an archaic term still used in SA but long abandoned in the UK.
Proof that “The Big Hit” is actually a South African and quite probably Keo himself.
Anyone else notice this kind of ploy on this site??
20 Oct 2007, 10:57 am
This won’t be an easy game. England have more experienced guys that will employ their patience. If we become impatient they have the kicker to punish us
At rucks and mauls they will be aggressive and put all their bodies on the line. Bakkies, Schalk must not retaliate as they will be hit hard at the breakdown.
Forwards to set a platform and the back-line to finish off. Our backline is our strogest weapon as we scored more tries than the English.
Need to be very patient at tackle, rucks and mauls.
Go Bokke and make us all proud.
20 Oct 2007, 17:24 pm
Yeah, its Saturday
Sunny Saturday
With the sky alight
In green and gold – wah-ey!
Bring on the boys
Bring on the ball
Onto the field
The Ruck. The Mall
The Final tonight
The World will watch
Breath’s will be held
“Ref! His foot was in touch!!”
This is our night
We’ll be as one
As we shout from the stand
“Run Habana RUN!”
“Our boys”
cheer the crowd
“Lift the cup!”
“Make us proud!”
21 Oct 2007, 12:28 pm
I’m sorry, but this particular issue did not live up to expectations. Please give us some posters in the next issue, the World Cup only comes round every four years.