Treu covets core group

Paul Treu has contracted 13 players for the upcoming Sevens season with the Blue Bulls’ Neil Powell named as captain.

The first leg of the IRB Sevens series gets underway in Dubai on 29 November. Treu told reporters he contracted a core group as he hopes to build towards the 2009 Sevens World Cup and the 2010 Commonwealth Games.

Treu has recalled some experienced heads with Powell having represented the side back in 2002 and Fabien Juries in 2005.

Jonathan Mokuena (Cheetahs) and Marius Schoeman (Bulls) will be available for the first two legs in Dubai and George before they return to their Super 14 franchises. However, Schoeman’s inclusion in the opening tournament is still pending a fitness test.

South Africa Sevens squad: Baldwin McBean, Danwel Demas, Fabien Juries, Frankie Horne, MJ Mentz, Mpho Mbiyozo, Mzwandile Stick, Neil Powell (captain), Norman Nelson, Renfred Dazel, Schalk van der Merwe, Tobela Mdaka, Vuyo Zangqa.