Black Caps blow away Proteas

The Black Caps finally won a game in South Africa – and they did it in some style.

The Black Cap chased down 210 comfortably to win by seven wickets as the Proteas lost at home for the first time this season.

The Black Caps had lost the Twenty-20 and First ODI in matches they should have won. However, in Port Elizabeth they responded brilliantly to smash the Proteas and level the three-match series at one-all.

Proteas captain Graeme Smith, who was out for a duck, is likely to miss the final ODI against New Zealand because of a viral infection picked up in Pakistan.

The win was only New Zealand’s second in South Africa.

South Africa 209-9 in 50 overs
Shaun Pollock 52, Mark Boucher 48, Kyle Mills 3-43, Mark Gillespie 3-55
New Zealand 210-3 in 38.4 overs
Brendon McCullum 81, Jamie How 76
New Zealand won by seven wickets
For the full scorecard, click here

69 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Who the f’ck asked you anyway mr. f’ckn high and mighty Maher, huh?

• 52.charo: Reply to this comment

skopskiet – once again you are acting like a complete idiot. have you taken your medicine?
    bi-polar is not incurable – just socially embarrasing.

• 53.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

Pollock has now bowled 19 overs without taking a wicket. Kyle Mills in the same matches took 8, and even him is not world class bowler!

Some people has absolutely now ability to realize what the job of a bowler is.

Top class bowlers will restrict runs by taking wickets. That is what NZ has done.

• 54.Saturday: Reply to this comment

I think SA has looked vulnerable in the one dayers post WC. Your bowling looks very tame and Pollock, while generally economical (unless playing Australia) doesn’t seem to be able to penetrate.

Morkel will have his days but bowls a lot of rubbish. NZ’s not a bad one day team but more gritty than brilliant.

You can’t possibly come to our shores with that batting lineup. Only Kallis is world class. Your openers would battle to get a game for our club sides with their techniques!!!

• 55.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Look, face it. The Black Caps are rubbish. Tests, ODI, 20/20 the whole bundle.

And they won an ODI

So what?

• 56.whatever: Reply to this comment

Faaak skoppie, you never learn do you Boet?

• 57.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

Howzit whatever,fancy a surf down at the Nahoon reef followed by breakfast at the Orient Wimpy?

• 58.raven: Reply to this comment

Best result for us – we should have lost the first one too. Maybe, just maybe, someone, somewhere, will see that the current coaching/selector regime are ding-bats of the highest order!

Absolutely no respect given to the Black Caps by not playing the best team – total f@#$#ng arrogance by Mickey Mouse and co.

See the rats scuttle to get Steyn into the team to save their arses for the decider

Fools!

• 59.Cricketlover: Reply to this comment

Another loss skopskiet but this time not against me alone against a whole group. You are unproductive being here so why did you come back? Remember to write this loss down in your little shrek diary and remember to drink your medicine. Joe maher I didn’t like you but these days I seem to enjoy your comments and you.

• 60.raven: Reply to this comment

See how many Protea batsmen get out at critical stages trying to hit sixes when fours will do – basic coaching deficiencies by Mickey Mouse and Co.

• 61.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Who really cares about our cricket results?

And, you can rightly ask, what am I even doing on a cricket thread.

Therefore, cheers losers.

• 62.chch: Reply to this comment

Congrats to the Black Caps

Just a thought … how does cricket survive with all those players playing in England

• 63.Joe Maher: Reply to this comment

Game, set….and match!

It’s got zip to do with “high and mighty”, skop, everything to do with those who choose to be verbose and psuedo intellectual in their postings and, in the process, trip over their feet, land face-first in the dirt.

Come to think of it, let’s remove Donkey from the Shrek script…you’re a more than adequate replacement, ou “bekgeveg” vegter!!!!!

• 64.Hooker: Reply to this comment

Skopskiet what do you call productive time? Putting fur on your dashboard and hanging a teddy on your rear-view mirror? Please man if you don’t like cricket then stay off this thread you tappet!

What happened last night has been bothering me since the T20 game.Our batting is so unstable and I really think that Kallis has let the media get to him. He’s trying to be too aggressive too early in his innings! Mark my words guys JP Duminy is a future star. He looks so comfortable and in charge at the crease.

• 65.Hooker: Reply to this comment

$%#@&* computer…

Even though he didn’t score last night he just looks the part. A young Gibbs perhaps,just better though,IMO.

FARK our cricket sucks and now our rugby has just gone and lost!
    KAK weekend!!

• 66.Cricketlover: Reply to this comment

Hahaha Joe!

Skoppie next time atleast back-up your k@k comments with good rugby. Your team has been BAA BAA CUE’D! WHAHAHAHA!

• 67.Saturday: Reply to this comment

Steyn will play and Smith is in doubt with and enlarged spleen he picked up in Pakistan.

• 68.marvinb: Reply to this comment

Horay we won!!!, but did it mean anything have we got a trophy from it, if not then we need to do better.

• 69.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

If the Black Caps manage to deliver another snotting to the Proteas in Game 3, they’ll win the series`2-1.

That will be their first EVER series win in any form of the game ever in SA.

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.