Kiwis crowned in George
8 Dec 2007
New Zealand beat Fiji 34-7 to record their second successive victory in the 2007/8 IRB Sevens Series.
The Kiwis blew the islanders away with four early tries, and not even a brave fightback by Fiji in the second half could make up for the lost ground. This is the second time in two weeks they’ve lost New Zealand after going down 31-21 in the Dubai final.
Fiji beat South Africa 21-12 to get to the Cup final, while the Kiwis defeated Argentina 38-14.
Canada won the Shield division while Wales edged England 21-19 in the Bowl final. Kenya beat the Americans 15-14 in a tight Plate final.
SATURDAY FIXTURES
New Zealand 34-7 Fiji
USA 14-15 Kenya
England 19-21 Wales
Canada 31 – 14 Zimbabwe
South Africa 12 – 21 Fiji
New Zealand 38 – 14 Argentina
Scotland 15 – 17 Kenya
USA 24 – 19 Samoa
Wales 22 – 17 France
England 29 – 14 Australia
Tunisia 17 – 21 Zimbabwe
Canada 31 – 5 Uganda
Fiji 24 – 12 Kenya
South Africa 21 – 17 Scotland
Samoa 19 – 22 Argentina
New Zealand 36 – 0 USA
France 24 – 19 Zimbabwe
Wales 31 – 24 Tunisia
Australia 34 – 7 Uganda
England 35 – 5 Canada

83 Comments
8 Dec 2007, 09:49 am
big hit will be along as soon as Argentina make a remark.
8 Dec 2007, 09:51 am
because there is a pecking order and that is where Ashtons Circus is currently showing, below Argentina……night all!!
8 Dec 2007, 11:03 am
As England lost to Kenya yesterday. Big Hit will claim it is all part of the English masterplan to win the WC in 2011
8 Dec 2007, 12:17 pm
Jake White was on Super Saturday this morning.
He said that SA Rugby were not serious about Transformation because if they were then Allister Coetzee would be selected as Bok coach.
He further said that New Zealand could be unbeatable the next two years as well with GH remaining the coach.
He also added that he could still be consulting the Boks (I believe this is only when AC is appointed) and believes he could play a role (like Francois Pienaar)in our 2010 Soccer World Cup.
8 Dec 2007, 12:31 pm
7-7 Scot/SA
8 Dec 2007, 12:32 pm
Matthew Tait is the man at 7s, shame he wasn’t available.
8 Dec 2007, 12:34 pm
12-7 Scotland
8 Dec 2007, 12:37 pm
14-12 SA, Juries flying
8 Dec 2007, 12:39 pm
Try time Scotland, 17-14
8 Dec 2007, 12:45 pm
SA score at the death and go through. lucky.
8 Dec 2007, 12:45 pm
Zanqa, jou lekker ding
8 Dec 2007, 12:46 pm
Lucky? Big Hit, England lost to Kenya
8 Dec 2007, 12:48 pm
The mighty Kenya…… Big Hit will tell us that they poach players next…..
8 Dec 2007, 12:51 pm
What’s Kenya’s IRB World Ranking Biggles?
8 Dec 2007, 12:54 pm
SA were lucky, Scotland dropped the ball over the line.
Btw Kenya just scored versus 7s giants Fiji. They’re no slouches.
8 Dec 2007, 12:54 pm
QF: Kenya 7 – Fiji 7 (First Half)
8 Dec 2007, 12:59 pm
Gee whiz. I wonder why Jake would prefer Allistair Coetzee as the new Bok coach…
8 Dec 2007, 13:02 pm
Tac
If AC is appointed, Jake will be our technical consultant (like Eddie J) in 2011. They are very loyal to each other AC & JW ; JW & EJ.
8 Dec 2007, 13:03 pm
Surely Jake will be looking for a new job up north after 6N or at one of the big clubs. He won’t have time.
8 Dec 2007, 13:06 pm
Big Hit
Jake said that in 2 years time he might feel ‘lus’ the urge to win a Currie Cup.
I don’t believe he will move up north, especially if AC is the new Bok coach.
8 Dec 2007, 13:06 pm
Biggles,
It appears you are correct……These Kenyans know how to play.
Who do England play in the “Plate” section?
Andorra,The Vatican and Guam?
8 Dec 2007, 13:07 pm
Tshwaneerder. I was being sarcastic in post 17.
It is beyond blindingly obvious what Jake’s motives are.
No.1: Coetzee will ask for Jake’s input ALL the time.
N02: Coetzee will probably fail miserably, making it look like Jake was indeed some kind of saviour of SA rugby. And when Coetzee brings in Jake, Jake can try and take some credit for any possible upswing in fortunes.
No.3: Jake is already preparing us for this, with claims that NZ will be unbeatable for the next 4 years. Kak. We have the team, under a coach like Heyneke, or even Muir, to be up there with NZ as of this year.
Ah Jake. If only you would act differently from what I expect, my esteem for you would actually grow. But you never disappoint. With you, it’s always about what’s best for Jake. Like it has been from the start.
8 Dec 2007, 13:09 pm
Sevens Semi-Finals:
NZ vs Arg
SA vs Fiji
8 Dec 2007, 13:10 pm
The money might lure him. There’s always one club looking for a new coach up north. He might get Tana Umaga’s job at the rich Toulon club if they fail again.
just wait til the Argie game.
8 Dec 2007, 13:12 pm
Big Hit
Jake is a fraud, my man. A big appointment will starkly expose him. Instead, consulting, “facilitating the 2010 World Cup” etc. etc. is an easy way to make bucks without putting your balls on the line.
8 Dec 2007, 13:14 pm
Jake said this morning that the week before the final against England, Eddie Jones told him not say anything silly (like the bus driver being the most important) as that would only boost England’s chances.
Our Possible 2011 Coaching team:
Coach: Allister Coetzee
Forward Coach: Gert Smal
Backline Coach: Brendan Venter
Consultant 1: Jake White
Consultant 2: Eddie Jones
8 Dec 2007, 13:14 pm
tshwaneerder,
Fiji to take the whole caboodle.
They are magnificent.
8 Dec 2007, 13:16 pm
True, he’s no rugby genius, but he has won 2 world cups and has got the CV to attract the NH clubs come the end of the season.
8 Dec 2007, 13:17 pm
They are good aren’t they Cane. Skill levels and organisation are supreme.
8 Dec 2007, 13:18 pm
Regarding the 7′s.
What a pisspoor SA side. I don’t know who half these guys are, and the other half won’t even make the starting line up of the top Currie Cup sides, nevermind the Super 14 teams.
But they appeal to a certain type of crowd, so rock on.
Interestingly, I saw Heyneke in the crowd at the SA game. So, at least we know Heyneke is in George at the same time that the Bulls are having their pre-season training camp there…
8 Dec 2007, 13:19 pm
Cane
NZ won last week/two weeks ago against Fiji in the final. I think they are the favourites.
8 Dec 2007, 13:22 pm
Biggles,
Good luck to your “Working class Hero”, Hatton.
What magnificent fans he has. 12,000 Poms have gone to Vagas to be near the action. Little hope of tickets, so most will have to watch on TV.
8 Dec 2007, 13:22 pm
Tac
I also saw the greatest rugby coach in the world, the 5-time Currie Cup winning, first SA Super 14 Championship and should be next Bok coach Heyneke Meyer.
8 Dec 2007, 13:28 pm
tshwaneerder,
Yes NZ did,
but Fiji lost it rather than NZ winning it.
Fiji had 2 players binned in the final.
SA also have a good Team. And they will get better as the year progresses.
8 Dec 2007, 13:28 pm
Those Cape Town idiots (called Stormers) are now following our example because I think they will also be in George from tomorrow.
Ag Shame Stormers dink julle die beker gaan dalk Kaap toe as julle ons voorbeeld volg.
Nee, stellig nie manne, dis of ons of die Crusaders volgende jaar.
8 Dec 2007, 13:36 pm
I think they’re ok. Perhaps lacking a little bit of organisation but loads of raw talent. Outside of Habana, which of the Bulls team would make the team?
Did you watch the weigh-in Cane? Hopkin went after Calzaghe, great to watch. I think Hatton will put Floyd down, he’s pumped.
8 Dec 2007, 14:12 pm
Big Hit
Damn, the below article from News24 just completely put me off my lunch.
Big Hit, please say it ain’t true. Good heavens, a MONTH without changing underwear???
London – Six million Britons don’t wash their hands after using the toilet and more than half a million only change their underwear once a month, a survey revealed this week.
More than a third of Britons admitted they did not wash every day and 27% said they picked up food from the floor and ate it, according to the survey of 3 000 people conducted by British pharmaceutical company Milton.
“We were keen to discover people’s attitudes towards common hygiene activities to help raise awareness of activities such as hand-washing and see how seriously people are taking their personal hygiene and safety,” Milton Technical Director Steve Riley said on Friday.
The survey found that Londoners and Scots were the cleanest with 68% bathing daily, though the capital also had the highest percentage of people who bathed only once a month.
8 Dec 2007, 14:17 pm
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
I know that some of my Saffa friends in England have told me you can’t stand to close to them on the trains, tube etc because of the smell.
8 Dec 2007, 14:18 pm
“they picked up food from the floor and ate it”
Blue Bulls and South Africans in general don’t eat from the floor.
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
8 Dec 2007, 14:32 pm
#32 cane, the number of Poms that went to Vegas is actually 22 000… Great support – they took over at the weigh-in, singing, cheering, marching band the whole kaboodle – shouting ‘Who are ya?’ at Floyd… I hope Ricky destroys him
8 Dec 2007, 14:54 pm
Hello Hef
Het jy al Hatton gesien baklei?
Ek weet nie wie hy is nie, maar daai Merryweather en sy pa is-hulle is maar n laaggeteelde spul.Ek dink Floyd pa het hom op n stadium afgerig ook. Wanneer is die geveg, vanaand?
Verder, hoe staan sake daar?
Ek sien julle manne gaan saam rugby toe, Willlie, Pauld, 4man en so aan.
8 Dec 2007, 15:07 pm
‘more than half a million’
You do realise there’s over 70 million people in Britain?
Besides, British people are naturally cleaner and don’t need to wash as much. A superior grade of individual if you like.
8 Dec 2007, 15:08 pm
Btw Tacs, that SA 7s side would destroy the Bulls backs in a game of 7s.
8 Dec 2007, 16:05 pm
41# Mayweather, of course.
But I have just been watching the build up to the fight, and Hatton seems cocky enough to take him.
Let’s see….
8 Dec 2007, 16:12 pm
#42 oh dude LMFAO having lived in the UK for close to ten years i can vouch that the Limey as they are most commonly known, are in fact the dirtiest viesest bunch of people on earth.
In fact its got to be the biggest dump on Earth.
England used to be a great Empire. They are now a mudpit island in the North sea, its to funny.
8 Dec 2007, 16:18 pm
What is the score?
8 Dec 2007, 16:25 pm
and New Zealand go through to another final
8 Dec 2007, 16:26 pm
New Zealand vs the winner of South Africa / Fiji in the final
8 Dec 2007, 16:33 pm
What is the score now?
8 Dec 2007, 16:37 pm
score updates please the freakin satelite is off. highveld thunderstorm.
8 Dec 2007, 16:40 pm
useless
8 Dec 2007, 16:44 pm
sa lost
8 Dec 2007, 16:47 pm
It is looking like the big 4 Southern Hemisphere sides are pulling away
Team – Last Weeks Position – Possible final points
New Zealand (1) 36-40
Fiji (2) 28-36
South Africa (4) 24-32
Argentina (5) 20
England (3) 12-14
Kenya (7) 10-12
Somoa (6) 10
Scotland (8) 8
USA – 6-8
Australia (9) 2
Wales – 0-2
8 Dec 2007, 16:48 pm
South Africa 12 – 21 Fiji
8 Dec 2007, 16:50 pm
sorry I am bored …. updated points after SA loss
Team – Last Weeks Position – Possible final points
New Zealand (1) 36-40
Fiji (2) 32-36
South Africa (4) 24
Argentina (5) 20
England (3) 12-14
Kenya (7) 10-12
Somoa (6) 10
Scotland (8) 8
USA – 6-8
Australia (9) 2
Wales – 0-2
8 Dec 2007, 17:30 pm
45# wls
But why don’t they wash themselves, those Poms?
They have water a plenty.
I can’t imagine people going without a bath for more than a day, I tell you.
Faaaarkkk! Imagine what those women’s panties must be like.
Eissh!
Sorry, not for me.
8 Dec 2007, 17:35 pm
Ig,
Hi do you support monoface typefaces/fonts?
8 Dec 2007, 17:42 pm
I pay 12 pounds a month for sky sports yet I’m asked to pay 15 to watch the hatton fight on sky box office. F@ckin pay per view. What a rip off.
I like Jake, but he is wrong – AC is only just better than Chester and appointing him has nothing to do with transformation. A coach can only pick the (black) players available to him. I don’t buy into this bullsh1t that in this day and age a white coach has a natural prediliction to selecting white players (oh boy, let’s hope Odogg isn’t reading this…)
8 Dec 2007, 17:42 pm
Hallo Pietman
Die Mayweather/Hatton uitsending begin moreoggend 4:00.
8 Dec 2007, 18:01 pm
Fern
Hier by my is dit 11 vm. more, die fight.
Hoe gaat dit?
Ek eet Provita, biltong en appeliefiekonfyt vanaand!
So, ek het nie n saak met die wereld nie.
Pampoen se dankie vir die Castle, sy drink elke dag een, spaarsaam.
8 Dec 2007, 18:03 pm
Wales beat England in the Bowl final
Wales get on the sevens points board and go racing up to 10th equal with Australia
8 Dec 2007, 18:03 pm
58# wooden spoon
I agree, 100%
AC should get the job, on merit.
8 Dec 2007, 18:06 pm
Fern
Mail my n slag jou telnr.
Pas met Mr Audi TT gepraat, hy se dit lyk na reen daar.
Ons moet Feb bymekaarkom.
Sal jou nader na die tyd laat weet.
Ek wil daar by jou dam uitkom, oppad broer toe, op Vryheid.
8 Dec 2007, 18:09 pm
The bowl final was England vs Wales
….the more important (and more points) plate final is USA vs Kenya
8 Dec 2007, 18:17 pm
sal jou mail oor die dam wanneer ek by die dam is,dis komende donderdag.sal ook n paar fotos neem en vir jou mail.klink my die dam het ook lekker reen gehad.
reen lekker hier.
8 Dec 2007, 18:46 pm
Kenya 15 – 14 USA
Kenya move to 5th equal with England on the points table
8 Dec 2007, 19:01 pm
What does ‘viesest’ mean?
If the UK is so bad, perhaps you should return to your own country. You don’t sound like your having a great time.
8 Dec 2007, 19:03 pm
That questionnaire sounds twisted to placate the insecuriy of those in the colonies (or former colonies). Enjoy it if it suits, but it reflects more on the SH media than anything else.
8 Dec 2007, 19:07 pm
New Zealand 34 – 7 Fiji
8 Dec 2007, 19:22 pm
What has happened to the two Fijian superstars in Sevens……..have they been dumped by Fiji,
Patrick.
8 Dec 2007, 21:04 pm
Well done NZ btw, I didn’t get to see the final but a win is a win.
9 Dec 2007, 01:30 am
Make a note of the name Victor Vito in NZ 7s team. SA fans wil be seeing a lot more from him. Hes got future all Black written all over him.
He wont stay too long in the 7s though as the hurricanes will have him in the squad within two years.
9 Dec 2007, 02:22 am
USA had their shot at winning the plate and blew it. USA will only start winning in sevens if they stop having props in their squad.
I just cant understand their thinking.
Th old grid iron football mentallity.
9 Dec 2007, 04:55 am
More Coach Pete
9 Dec 2007, 05:21 am
Morning all!
Coach Pete, you watching Mayweather/Hatton fight in Vegas?
What’s happening, please?
9 Dec 2007, 05:29 am
Pietman dis die 12 rondte van die opener en dan nog een fight dan begin mayweather/sifseun pommie.is daar geen broadcast daar by jou nie?
9 Dec 2007, 06:02 am
More Princess
Nope Pietman, cost too much 40 bucks, I think.
I am sure it is going to be a good fight
Not sure what time it starts here.
9 Dec 2007, 06:56 am
Fern
No direct broadcast here.
But I just phoned my dad and woke him up.
He will report back, but please keep me posted here as well.
10 Dec 2007, 05:51 am
Mayweather handed out a hiding
10 Dec 2007, 05:52 am
otherwise known as a “*****-slap” or “snotklap”…
10 Dec 2007, 15:55 pm
The poms are so mouthy, I’m glad hatton got a PK of note!!
11 Dec 2007, 02:38 am
I hate when I hear the commentators call the NZ sevens team All Blacks they should just say NZ not the title of the Great All Blacks.
17 Dec 2007, 06:44 am
Great All Blacks! Great Chokers!