Jake’s new job
8 Dec 2007
Jake White will assume the position of head of marketing for Richmark Holdings, a telecommunications company in Johannesburg.
This was revealed by Sunday Times sports editor Clinton van der Berg.
White won’t be lost to rugby entirely, but this is the first step towards what he hopes will be a long career in big business.
The coup was engineered by Richmark Group chief executive Gavin Varejes, a lifelong sports enthusiast who boasts the biggest collection of sport memorabilia in South Africa. The two did the deal on a handshake and Varejes’s first act as White’s new boss was to present him with business cards that read “Head coach: marketingâ€.
Varejes, a first dan in karate and president and founder of SA Rugby Legends, said he was motivated to employ White when he heard that the coach might pursue the England coaching job.
“That would have been terrible. He would have lost the heart of every South African.â€
Varejes said White was a “deal-maker†whose skills as a coach were perfectly suited to the business world. “He knows what makes people tick, he’s sharp, a great talker . . .He’s the most popular guy in SA right now,†enthused Varejes. “You look under ‘self-respect’ in the dictionary and you see the name Jake White.â€

417 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All
10 Dec 2007, 12:37 pm
Cane, firstly your taking advice on braai from a lady, secondly a Province one at that. Now I know one should be openminded. But you can’t argue with hereditary experience and collective history.
10 Dec 2007, 12:50 pm
Cane
Don’t worry I am used to disappointing Fern. Love your description of him though – holier than thou & all that
Buck
I knew it would not be you – it will be the same with the children. The discipline is always left to the women !
Ruck
In NZ when enjoying a “proper” BBQ women prepare bread & salads and prepare a table somewhere under trees, but never go near the fire. That is purely the man’s domain – they stand around the fire and drink beer /wine & burn good steaks & other meat. If you are going “posh” there may also be onions & other vegetables grilled next to the meat.
10 Dec 2007, 12:55 pm
#399 – Cane my brother, Do not waste your valuable time reading anything into the **** Shooter dribbles……..
I am a talented braaier – end of. If you ever made it out here, I would invite you to a braai.
And yes, sadly, in Pretoria we (WP’s) are roasted regularly…..(our team more than the supporters…) However, that sorry excuse for cuisine has now hopefully been banished…(Rassie, are you reading this???)
Shooter – Tatatatatatat!! (HMG – Hand machine gun…..Regular guns/ammo don’t even penetrate Bulls fans thick skins…..so we have to go automatic…)
10 Dec 2007, 13:04 pm
i must say some of the kiwi blokes are the most unreconstructed chauvinists on the planet, one in particular i count as a good pal (strange that), anyway they must make very good BBQ’s.
what i cant understand is how these poor okes are governed by a female prime minister that looks to be a cross between maggy, a leftwing tree hugger and a rotweiler…not the prettiest lady in new zealand i’m sure, but she seems very effective.
10 Dec 2007, 13:06 pm
403, ruck, Pretoria folk like, like to braai good. Now if it was a fish we were braaiing, a Provvie might be useful, although I have a few recipes for those too that will turn out 100 I suppose. don’t like too many things on meat or fish. so long as fish is fresh and meat mature>>>
10 Dec 2007, 13:09 pm
RP: LOL – that is the role we are supposed to play in the whole “braai” process…I however, refuse to conform (I make a **** salad anyway…), and I am always amongst the “men” at the fire – giving them tips and crapping them out…My hubby is pretty used to it by now (as are our friends) and there are many occasions where I braai, whilst the men sit and watch….Sigh!
My speciality on the coals is yellowtail with a secret basting sauce…..
10 Dec 2007, 13:12 pm
RP – not entirely true, but i understand the female disire to control…to prevent those unpredictable male moments that drive you crazy…
ruck/shooter..play nice, you don’t want to start or add fuel to a norf/south debate that gets every blogger out there adding his two pennys worth, creating the monster of all blogs…although those at Keo are probably watching their bonus meters rising by the second
10 Dec 2007, 13:24 pm
OKay, good night you kids – I am off to wrap Christmas presents. They must all go in the post tomorrow to arrive in time.
10 Dec 2007, 13:31 pm
Hope you not using the SA postal service. They will never arrive. DHL would be a better option
10 Dec 2007, 13:33 pm
Cheers RP. Buck, do not fear…I haev no desire to become involved in a NORF/South clash with the lovely Tswaneerders that hang out here…Plenty of time for that as Feb creeps closer…
Shooter, my dear mother is strolling around Pretoria today…the bloody zoo in fact (I kid you not…) Please wave when she passes your and Tacitus’s compound…..What a pity X-kreni only comes out at night, she won’t get to see him. ONLY gaffing….(before the laager assembles, I don’t have fighting airtime today….)
10 Dec 2007, 14:32 pm
Ruck, will do, I guess she’ll be the dame in high-heel toks? haha. (No offense on the gender issue of braaiing) I usually gather the wood, bakkie and axe/muscle, proceed to build fire, clean braai properly make sure everybody has a drink etc etc, so the point is, I think traditionally this is where it became too much of a man’s duty and the actual braaing is the natural continuation of said previous prepartions.
10 Dec 2007, 14:34 pm
SPRINGBOKKE – 2007 RUGBY WORLD CHAMPIONS!!!!!!!!
10 Dec 2007, 17:01 pm
Jake’s new job: Head of braaiing 2008 Extraordinary Portfolio
11 Dec 2007, 05:27 am
Your royal highness the Princess of Kiwi rugby, Koos,Pietman, Fern and Tackler ….Hi guys.Thought this was a rugby site.Princess I am in Hong Kong next week meeting some Kiwi chick. Can we go to Isola?
11 Dec 2007, 05:52 am
More Quota
You have been quiet of late … I hope you have a nice time in HKG, it is a great place. Now I am not Cat-Lic so mixing it up with a Dominee is probably not faith-appropriate …
However, honey is back & feeling all territorial not to mnetion in dire need of my close attention so, we may have to play it by ear. However, should my Christmas present be **** or honey’s behaviour be k*k … I might just be available for a “Tour of Duty”
11 Dec 2007, 06:05 am
what expectations do you have for a Xmas pressie RP? Hope he is loaded.Reckon you must be high maintenance! And Fern agrees with me. Me? I am off to the Op Shop to buy pressies.
11 Dec 2007, 06:12 am
Quota
I do have high expectations though & it’s okay because he knows that
He also knows I have gone to a great deal of effort for him so he won’t want to disappoint & make me
I am not high maintenance thank you very much
You & Fern make a lovely couple.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All