Jake loves new laws

Jake White believes the new Super 14 laws will favour South Africa’s teams.

sarcov.jpgThe former Bok coach, who has joined SA Rugby magazine as a columnist, examines the three most significant law changes in the new issue.

“There will be more opportunities to scrum from the increased number of free kicks,” says White, something which will please South Africa’s big men.

Meanwhile, all five SA Super 14 coaches are interviewed in the mag. What changes does Frans Ludeke plan to make with the Bulls? Why did Rassie Erasmus make Jean de Villiers his captain? Where will Dick Muir play Frans Steyn? Can Naka Drotske help the Cheetahs win overseas? Where does Big Joe fit into Eugene Eloff’s plans? All these questions, and more, are answered.

Then there’s the threat posed by Australian and New Zealand sides. Find out more about the new players in their squads and what players they’ve lost in the off-season.

Also in the new issue of SA Rugby magazine:
– Schalk Burger reflects on 2007 and the challenges that lie ahead in 2008
– JP Pietersen: “I deserve to play international rugby”
– Is Heinke van der Merwe the next Os?
– Transformation: We look at black Bok contenders in each position and rate their chances of being selected in 2008
– Boks overseas: Find out how Butch, Smittie, Ollie, Russell and Monty are doing.

189 Comments

• 1.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

13 dragons plus the Stormers!

• 2.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

Ollie? is there still people thats interested in Ollie’s rugby?

• 3.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

With Willem Alberts also available to Loffie it could get interesting… Will Loffie go for the hunger and talent of a youngster like Alberts or for the experience of Big Joe whose heart might not even be with the lions.

Another critical selection might be that of their captain.

I feel that loffie should make ernst joubert his first choice captain as he showed all the qualities to take the Lions to new heights.

It will also allow pretoruis to concentrate on his game as he is not in the best of form and will even not be a certain starter in my books for the lions in the S14.

• 4.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

From a sharks point of view it would make sense to play steyn at 15. They already have michalak at 10 and Barritt as well as pienaar can slot in there easily.

But the big question is where does he fit in at a national level?

• 5.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

and No_Comment moved on to 5 not out!

• 6.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

can I have the opening slot for the proteas now?

• 7.Cricketlover: Reply to this comment

Watch this space- the griekwas are gonna win the currie cup one day.

• 8.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

Rassie where does Luke fit in now? will it be No Luke now? it will be a pity because he got alot of talent… if only he can shut up and stiop the side show, he will be able to reach his full potential.

• 9.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

One day?

Just like the All Blacks will win the WC

it could be in a million years aswell

• 10.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

what happened to that league guy that the stormers signed from OZ?

• 11.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

Fransie will coach the bulls back to the dark ages of ending deadlast on the log

• 12.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

When will all the super 14 squads be announced?

• 13.Winston: Reply to this comment

In early Jan I think.

• 14.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

Ek se voorjarige nuwespoed! Ek dronk ‘n heildrink op jhulle en shtuur weste benste. Shoet wees en shterkte vir 8002. Heppi New year

• 15.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

3 ways to end the year…

1. Have plenty of ***!
    2. Drink till u cant stand on your feet anymore!
    3. Watch a replay of the Rugby WC 2007!

• 16.gottliep88: Reply to this comment

In that order?

• 17.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

You guys better get used to hearing Jake’s name in the media every week. It was just like that when Woodward left.

• 18.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

As usual still waiting for last months issue, so I cant get to excited about Jakes column yet.

• 19.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

#17 Thats good news.

• 20.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

#8 I reckon it’s a good move by Rassie selecting a new Captain, it will get Watson slightly out of the limelight and let him concentrate on his game.

• 21.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

Thoroughly enjoying my new years eve at work, in the snow and freezing North…..Hopefully I’m home by 2200 so the wife doesnt get to pissed off.

• 22.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

I like the clean and simple graphic colour of the new SA Rugby mag, althoug it’s hardly taken much imagination….perhaps the design teams been working shorter hours over December?

• 23.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

**Transformation: We look at black Bok contenders in each position and rate their chances of being selected in 2008**

LOL..”chances” ??

drop by to see how you ladies are :)

happy new year from Chokeland

Regards,

G13G

• 24.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

Haha at Chokeland…

• 25.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

As they say over in Wales…Blwyddyn Newydd Dda…

• 26.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

Henry the saviour should be able to sort out the All Blacks b4 the next World Cup at home…. lol.

….

or can he? ;-)

• 27.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

another season, same hype ;)

• 28.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Who asked Jake anyway?

• 29.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Now he’s a columnist on SA Rugby, hasn’t he just about spilled all his beans yet?

• 30.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Same ‘ol, same ‘ol, just like “Auld Lang Syne”, some things keep on recurring in cycles

• 31.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

just because Jake won the World Cup..his opinions are gold??

WTF? wake up

• 32.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

6am over here in Auckland and looks it going to be a beautiful first morning for 2008.

• 33.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Happy NY to you g13g, even if Jan. 1st is only one day away from Dec. 31st its still a nice idea to imagine some things should or could be different.

Imagination can conjure up all kinds of ideas and enthusiasms even if old Father time just watches his ancient old universe go tick tick tick through its mechanizations and we imagine one day in time is a whole new world opening up.

• 34.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

Jakes opinions are worth hearing, right or wrong.

• 35.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

Rassie and Nick have there say so why not Mr White?

• 36.richardmarais: Reply to this comment

Does anyone subscribe to KuduClub?

1) Is it available in the UK? When I look at the viewing rights, the UK is not one of the listed countries.

2) Is the service any good in terms of quality, and program content? Does it show all S14 and Currie Cup matches?

3) Does one stream the media, or do you first download the file then view it? What sort of broadband speed do you need (is 1mb enough)?

Thanks

• 37.gerhard: Reply to this comment

Nick Rassie and jake’s views sells newspapers

• 38.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Some of us may have some store in what Nick or Rassie or Jake might have to say, right or wrong, and others may not.

• 39.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Personally I would take what Nick has to say with some interest, as to the other two I’d take it with one huge dose of salt.

• 40.Mackie: Reply to this comment

richardmarais,

No Kudu will not work in the UK. This is down to rights, so you should use Mediazone if you are in the UK. The games are available for viewing about 2-4 hours after the game has been played. You can either download the game or stream it. I use Kudu here in Canada and was actually very surprised at how well it works on my TV. It really isnt bad, not perfect either, but geez ill live with it.

• 41.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

cheers Master Skop..look forward to more of your wisdom and foresight for this coming season.

beware your haters :)

• 42.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

haters are like water g13g they just glide effortlessly off a duck or swans back.

• 43.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

I use Mediazone in Sweden, however I don’t think it works in the UK.

• 44.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

Thers also a website…liveuktv or something which may do the trick.

• 45.JL1: Reply to this comment

Why work so late?

Skop give it a rest we have been down this path, he won the RWC, he is not perfect but a lot better than what was on offer at that stage or for the last 4 years

• 46.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

He should wrap his RWC trinket in cotton wool and bask in all his glory, but for what its worth spare the rest of us his holier than thou opinions, some at least know just how shallow they really are.

• 47.JL1: Reply to this comment

Skop

Holier than though, Pot, Kettle maybe you should give it a break, we have seen many a “rent a quotes” coming out of the woodwork the last couple of years.

I just hope that SA Rugby admin supports the new coach

• 48.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Who’s been renting who’s quotes JL?

Go check out what Sephaka (and some of his darker hue buddies) think about St. Jake according Peter Bills, he actually felt more secure and ‘included’ under Streauli.

• 49.JL1: Reply to this comment

Come on Skop

Sephaka had his head shoved up his own arse in many a test match, just because Jake decided not to include him in many test matches does not make him a bad coach

Remember Loffie benched Sephaka as well

• 50.JL1: Reply to this comment

Skop next thing you will quote Luke Watson against Jake

• 51.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

So should we only be listening to the ‘acceptable’ blue eyed boy ‘yes sir, no sir, three bags full sir’, disciples then JL?

How about another perspective for a change.

• 52.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

I’m going out to check if they want me to be included in this New Year (old years eve) sing along jam session at the local here, which case I’ll have to pack my guitar and go sing along. ‘Auld Lang’ ring a ding ding.

Banter another time again JL.

happy new year and all that to you.

• 53.JL1: Reply to this comment

Not what I am saying, in fact listen to everyone and decide….. but decide on the good of rugby and on results

We the supporter deserved better than what was served to us since 1999 till 2003.

Jake was a big step up and we should expect far better… in 2008 we cannot go back to the dark ages

Now we need to start winning away from home, who can help us with that mission?

• 54.JL1: Reply to this comment

Skop

Have a good 2007 and a great 2008

• 55.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

You too JL

so long.

• 56.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Big hit are you out there?
    After last week end games, there may be some questions about a few players who should be in the England squad.

• 57.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

#45 Airports never sleep. Had a week off over Christmas so got the new years eve shift. Can’t have it all.

• 58.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

48. Sepaka was useless. He was a quota player.
    Lucky to have made any springbok team and any super 14 or Currie cup squad. If I was him I would not complain. He got to play more than some other more deserving props did.
    Glad has gone to France where he will be seldom used.

• 59.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

Sephaka may not have been the best, but he had a few good games in which he scored good ratings. Will have to check the history books to find which ones though.

• 60.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

One more flight to bring in then I’m outta here, until 2pm tomorrow. Gonna watch the fireworks over Gothenburg from my hill top house.

• 61.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Hey Umb, there are some other PC sites that provide rugby I am trying to find the one I had on my favourites. I also have used Media zone but preferTV with Setata Sports
    Do you get setanta soprts in Sweden?

• 62.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Sepaka was ok sometimes depending onthe opposition. I just feel there are at least 10 props out there in SA, better than him.

• 63.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

You’re correct, the oppostion wasnt that great. Strange that a french club was interested in him though.

• 64.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

Right just done the last flight in from Fuerta’.. time to rumble on home. Have a great New Years all of you, as they say in Sweden, Gott Nytt Ã…r! See ya tomorrow.

• 65.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

sephaka started out as a promising youngster, bt the presure from the administrators on the coaches 2pick him has done him more wrong then good. He ws pushed in2 the bok squad 2quickly nd ddnt hav the chance 2develop as he had alot of presure nd xpectation on his solders

• 66.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

the same goes 4 conrad jantjes and alot of othe colored players. And it can also be said of players like gaffie and van hoeslinn

• 67.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

some players thrive when thrown in @ the deep end. Others need time 2develop. The players mentioned is crtainly part of the latter. Hope that jantjes can turn his international career around. Nd tat the other youngsters wil b manage better in the future.

• 68.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

steyn and pienaar aswel as spies and habana was some of the players that could handle the presure. Gaffie and jantjes not as they cudnt perform over a period of time. Players needs 2 b manage differently coz what work for 1 wont work 4 another.

• 69.Reinhardt: Reply to this comment

Voorspoedige nuwejaar aan almal…

• 70.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Its not about how good or bad a player, or players they or he was, they were used as political pawns in certain individuals grandiose schemes for personal vainglory, they were never considered as part of the inner kring, just as dispensable political pawns for the sake of personal showboating.

Whats worse is that the whites who performed poorly were given all manner of input and excuses to develop and improve because they were earmarked for grandiose achievement, not so with the likes of Sephaka, Tjibalika, Nokwe, Floors, Jantjes etc, they were all regarded as superfluous and dispensable non necessities, simply used as political pawns towards a grander scheme.

Even John Smit 18 months out from the world cup was a shadow of the player / captain that led the boks in France, same with many other blue eyed boys who were given plenty of rope and opportunity to ‘come right’.

Standards were doubled, certainly not obliged with similar opportunities, and this in particular is what some of these ‘outcasts’ feel pretty hurt and disappointed about, not so much that they weren’t selected, more about the manner in which they were callously glassed over and dumped on the ‘White’ mans rubbish heap.

• 71.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Happy New Year to all you ‘keo junkies’, wherever you are.
    Go South Africa, Go the Bokke, Go WP!!!!!!!!!!
    Make 2008 a good one.

• 72.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

May you all walk in sunshine throughout 2008.

• 73.BHUPENDRA DU SOLANKY: Reply to this comment

Colleagues

MY friends!! I am back in Fiji and happy to make my first post from there!! It is bloody hot and I am perspiring like hell!! Damn too hot!!

Have a great 2008 and may the lord be with us and the Bokke

By the way my copy of Jakes autobiography had arrived here before me and it was great to read…however I was a little disappointed with the book…I got the impression that the RWC stories were sort of rushed into and not properly illustrated!! Otherwise it was a page turner!

• 74.kwas: Reply to this comment

Skopskiet, the difference between John Smit ’18 months out from the World Cup’ and Sephaka at any point of his career, is that John always had the potential to get back to his brilliant best, while Sephaka would always just be what he was born to be, a political pawn set to devalue the Bok jersey.

• 75.BHUPENDRA DU SOLANKY: Reply to this comment

I read Sephakas comments. I sympathize with him really. He was not treated properly whichever way u look at it

• 76.Provvas: Reply to this comment

Great!! happy hapy!!
    Had the worst new years party ever… I was sober!!! Abyways.. finished the white mans book… it started well but ended very dull….
    When a thread comes up on which i believe white will read… i will coment on it… He seemed to only talk about things thatsuited him and winning a Wc against an england side as strong as WP means nothing… he was lucky…..

OK cheers and will appear more in the following weeks of s14!!

• 77.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

Morning All! Happy New Year to everyone! I am back from my holiday in the United Kakdom. I take my hat off to all of the folks you survive in London. The county side is really lekker but London itself is a sh1thole. Wel done to all of you who make it in that city.

Where is the Sepahka article posted?

• 78.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

Ok so I found the article on Planet Rugby. The players that Sepakha mentions are:
    Hanyani Shimange: quota player shoulkd never have been a Bok
    Solly Tyibilika: quota player never better than Burger or even Watson. Look at his conduct whilst contracted to the Lions
    Odwa Ndungane: he is farking lucky to be there, his brother is much beter
    Eddie Andrews: head shoved up arse time and time again.
    Hilton Lobberts: the walking yellow card has had his chances. He can’t even get game time at the Bulls so why should be get game time with the Boks.
    Tonderai Chavanga: the sick note.
    Kabamba Floors: He can’t even get game time at the Cheetahs so why should be get game time with the Boks.
    And Lorrie himself, how many more oppertunities does he need? He also showed how professional he is when he went walk about instead of going to training with the Lions.
    Get real.

• 79.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

The point is these players were not groomed nor part of the ‘bigger picture’ nor given the time of day to develop any latent or natural talents, whereas the ‘in crowd’ were.

They were used, Watson is a case in point, White skirted around Watson for all he was worth diminishing and decrying the lads talents to the extent where he secretly even condoned and orchestrated a hate campaign against him, calling him the most overrated player he has come across.

Whites ‘exclusive’ policies are repugnant to say the least and that is why certain players have even gone as far as saying they felt more ‘included’ and comfortable under Streauli than under White. Thats quite a statement to be making.

• 80.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Nokwe could have become a fine wing, far better than Willemse or Olivier had he been persevered with the same as Pietersen and Steyn was.

Jantjes is a fine footballer but he was never part of the mix also could have contributed far more than Olivier or Willemse.

Chavanga could become another Habana given the same input and time of day.

The psychology of the whole ‘in crowd’ business is what demoralizes and demotivates those on the fringes, so why put in the effort if you know deep inside you’re only there as a political porn, not a part of the long term, and White made no bones about who his ‘chosen few’ were, and who were not.

• 81.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Bottom line is the sham of a non racial and ‘inclusive’ rugby system in this country was and still is that. A sham under those that pretended they were there to make a difference and didn’t.

• 82.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

And that in a nutshell is why Henry has been given another stint and White is fronting as a glorified corporate salesman and writing columns in magazines.

It goes about character, dignity and honor, some things you simply cannot hide from, you either have those characteristics or you don’t.

• 83.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Loosehead, it is Akona and not Odwa.

Skopskiet, jou is a doos.

• 84.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

u need 2 b part of the coaches plans 2 b part of the inner circle i suppose. But when players is forced on2 u like luke or players is picked because of targets where does they fit in? Let the coaches select their teams cz they know what kinda players wil fit in. Sephaka had plenty of chances. Remember a few years ago when he was taken out of rugby 2 b trained nd developed @ the sports science inst i think it was. Bt ws it the rite decision? Shouldnt he hav played nd learnd bout scrumaging on the playing field?u can just do so much on technique bt the real test lies between the white lines As i said b4 he ws a talentd youngster but bcz of transformation targets he ws pushed thru 2 quick.

• 85.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

Welcome to 2008 boys and girls. May the stars be properly aligned for all of you. “Go you good thing” as the Buddha likes to sing.

• 86.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

Hi there Skop
    See you came out of the year’s starting blocks firing on the same notes you you played in ’07.
    Chill old chap. Or Jake will torture you to your grave. His latest job at SA Rugby wont help either I expect.

• 87.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

interestingly, the article on iol did mention that jake said 2 sephaka b4 the ireland game ‘this is your chance take it’. He ddnt live up 2 xpectation tat day as did many other boks. Jaco pretorius, bevan fortuin, petoors is a few others. They all were dropped for the folowing game. Petoors mite hav been the #10 flyhalf if he had a great game. And if it wsnt for james’ injury nd his prformance in the 2nd england game he cudve gone down the same road as sephaka. Its all bout takin the oportunities when they arise

• 88.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

am I playing with myself here?

• 89.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

#1 flyhalf

• 90.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

good to see I’m not alone N_C.
    I would have to agree with those who were unexcited by Sephaka’s performances for the Boks.
    Hanyani was another disappointment. They did get their chances.

• 91.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

none of the players Sephaka mentions set the world alight. When a black(read not white) player performs to international standard, it is pretty obvious to see. Take Habana and JP by way of good examples. IMO Lobberts is not an international class player(yet). Floors was bloody exciting in the CC and Super 14 games he played but the poor bugger is genuinely too small(short) IMO, when there are others who are man-mountains who are just as good and offer more. Like Wikus for example.

• 92.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

unluckily for sephaka, S.A teams got alot quality props which doesnt allow for alot of chances therefor u need 2 impres when u get the chance. Ther is always frontrowers knocking on the door. Unlike othe positions like flyhalf and fulback wher they can allow u 2have an xtended run as there isnt alot 2chose from.

• 93.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

happi new year tassies. Everything thats good 4 2008. Like a springbok tri nations win

• 94.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

tassies i agree on the players tat sephaka mentioned. Nothing special about them. In sephaka ive seen a talented youngster bt the others is ****. They all got there chances but ddnt grab it. Im a non-white but this quota thing is embaressing. I want the best team 2play even if its a all white or all colored team! I wan 2support a winning springbok team cz tat is what inspire the young players in my area. Not the number of colords in the teams. If u not good enuf u shudnt b playin whether u white or black

• 95.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

sephaka unfortunately is/was facing an uphill battle. He, like so many others, are automatically labelled as quota players the minute they run onto the park. not a nice feeling i’m sure. Then they have to perform at an unbelievable level from the word go, to shake that unwanted and unfair label. A front-rower, perhaps more than any other, takes time to mature and master his trade. They usually mature in their late 20′s/early 30′s. So Lawrence was up against some seriously stiff competition from some seasoned players. And he was just a laaitie.
    Who knows? His stint in France might settle the mind, mature the boy and he could come back and become a great. Hope so.

• 96.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

On another subject but linked to the topic, I think Jake White, in spite of being a school teacher by trade, was an astute hard-nosed businessman by instinct. Similiar to Nick Mallet in many ways. This “skill” involves being outright ruthless and devious at times. This is where I think Skop has most of his axes to grind with friend Jake. If you read between the lines of Peter Bill’s article, you will see some of this coming through. Jake had written Lawrence off and had moved on effectively uncaring about what the consequences were to the person involved. He no longer served his purpose. So determined was Jake to win the WC. Well he won it and that was great for him and the country but there were plenty of casualties along the way.

• 97.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

yes the france trip might do him good as ther wil b no presure on him bcz of skin color. Altho i think he wil hav 2 perform out of his skin push 2 the front of the line now. I think with all the quota fuss surrounding his selection everytime he also put 2much presure on himself 2prove that he belonged there and never realy took the chance 2feed of the experience of the senior nd 1st choice players like john smit, os, bj nd bands aswel as others. At the early stage of his career thats what he shudve done. And mayb the coaches shouldve told him that and assigned a mentor 2him.

• 98.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

we’ll never know the truth but I would have thought that John Smit could have helped in that mentoring process. Maybe they didn’t get on. JS doesn’t sound like a racist to me. They were both headboys of their respective schools so they had something in common.

• 99.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

the next boy in this queue is Chilliboy. Lets see if SAR has learnt from past mistakes and do a better job with him. Apparently JS has played the mentoring role with him. Same school and all. He has the talent I’m told. Time will tell us.

• 100.cane: Reply to this comment

Cane again. to easy.

• 101.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

yes jake’s handling of some players isnt the best and is also something that ive also said. The whole luke watson thing especialy could have been handled better. A bit more clarity 2 sephaka on y he ws drop would have been welcome but that dnt take away the fact that sephaka ddnt take his chances

• 102.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

Hi Cane
    compliments
    burning the candle again?

• 103.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

the comments about Luke Watson were basically childish retorts by JW.
    couldn’t believe some of what I was hearing myself. Put it down to frustration, tiredness, engaging mouth before brain stuff

• 104.cane: Reply to this comment

#16 gottliep88 ,

Yes definitely, reversing order is a recipe for failure.

• 105.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

hell its been hot here in CT these past few days. Welcome breeze just picked up to cool things down a mite. A game of rugga wouldn’t last 20 mins in this stuff. I’ll venture the cricketers(Newlands 2nd Test tomorrow) will be hoping the breeze hangs in there for 1st days play tomorrow.

• 106.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

regardless of one’s nationality

• 107.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

yes its mistakes that they should learn from. Chillyboy do have the talent just hope he will be manage better. For now im of 2 a beautiful lady. Hope when im back keo and co will be back from campsbay or clifton or whateva beach with sum fresh articles 2post

• 108.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

Cane this place is like a morgue. My fellow saffers seem to be collectively hungover. And if it gets any quieter I’m heading back to my book.

• 109.cane: Reply to this comment

Tassies,

And compliments to You and Yours as well.

Yes, it’s bed-time here in the Pacific and you can only burn a candle from both ends for so long………so it’s goodnight and all the very best to you & All who read this.

May 2008 bring you ALL personal Joy and Satisfaction……………My Good Wishes do not extent to your S14 Teams………after the WC disappointment I want (expect) a bit of payback.
    (Big Smilie).

Cane.

• 110.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

clearly these guys are chilling down at the beach somewhere. Clifton was packed last night into the small hours. I was fortunate to be looking down from a party above the beach. Stunning evening.
    Cheers. Enjoy the lady. I’m also on my bike.

• 111.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

thanks Cane.
    but don’t go betting your house on that payback.
    look forward

• 112.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

Merry nu ye!

• 113.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

No worries Tassies mate, its highly unlikely our prissy missy mr. white will be torturing me to my grave, more likely the other way round, might be I’ll be torturing him to his.

• 114.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

happy new year to all you manky buggers.

• 115.Skim: Reply to this comment

This year I will strive to do even less and get payed even more.

• 116.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

Any news on Spies?

• 117.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Helllloooooooooooo

Happy, happy and such…… to all my friends & buddies here, 2008′s going to be schweeeeeet…… fark off to those who are’nt, 2008′s going to be hell…. hehehehe

Umboxos, Spies is in training with the Bulls (well he was until the official break for X-Mas & New Year….. the S 14 teams are re-convening on 3 Jan I believe)….. Spies will be there, he will be ready…..

Cannot wait to see Chilli, Spies, Heinie Adams (as back-up to Du Preez), Mangweni & Kirchner performing out of their freegin sculls for the Bulls this year…… my favourite pick for MOST EXCITING NEWCOMER to the S 14 is Zane Kirchner…….. watch this space….

I’m still reserved in my judgment about Frans Freegin Ludeke as coach of the Bulls, but he’s a couple of years wiser than at the Cats and at least he’s got a far better core of players to work with at the Bulls……. hell he better be good enough, otherwise he’ll be lynched to a Jacaranda tree before February 2008 is finished….. I’ve bought some spare rope, just in case….

…….. and old Eddie van der Jones, the honorary Saffa, seems to be contracted to the Bulls as Assistant, albeit not full-time………

Hopefully sanity prevails and Heyneke Meyer is appointed Bokke coach on 7 January with Pieter de Villiers as Assistant and backline coach….

• 118.raven: Reply to this comment

#7 – Griquas have won the currie cup 3 times already

• 119.JL1: Reply to this comment

Happy New Year to all my friends and muppets

Boks good luck to you all in 2008

2 against Wales
    1 against Italy
    3 against the ABs
    3 against the Wallabies
    22 Nov England on Twickenham and who knows what else lurks beneath (he says with voice of the guy who advertises the movies)

• 120.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

zzzzz, Keo the sleeping giant!

• 121.Skim: Reply to this comment

When will the mag be available??

• 122.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Heppie Heppie Heppiiiiieeeee!!!!

• 123.superBul: Reply to this comment

More Tinus, lekkkker fees gehou?

• 124.Fern: Reply to this comment

heppie jouself tinus dis net nog n dag.dis eintlik sat jy sal mense kry wat weke voor nuwejaars sit en wag vir nuwejaars voor hulle positiewe veranderinge in hulle lewe wil implementeer.mors van tyd in sulke gevalle.

• 125.Fern: Reply to this comment

more superBul

• 126.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Is next week Wednesday still D-Day for the new Bok coach? The 9th of Jan?

• 127.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Goeie more superBul! Gaan dit goed?

Goeie more Fern!…

Ja, jy’s reg! Nuwe Jaar beteken nie veel vir my nie, net nog ‘n dag. Die hele ding al lankal ontgroei!

• 128.Tinus: Reply to this comment

superBul…

Was maar rustig by die huis. Mamma kan nie te aktief wees nou nie. Verkies dit egter so.

Hoe was joune?

• 129.Fern: Reply to this comment

selle met kersfees,dis net n comercial ding.
    nuwejaars is anyway n sif konsep.check hierdie oukies,tel n dolla op by n strand oor oujaars.lekker nek van die plek vry daai dolla knaend.een vraag ou beer.weet jy wat sy in haar mond gehad het voor jy haar ontmoet het???skynbaar nie so groot yster nie,ne?

• 130.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Ek het net so ‘n feeling Jake gaan binnekort, oor ‘n jaar of twee, weer by rugby betrokke raak! Miskien die Bulls?!?!

• 131.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Fern…

Hehehe! Dis asof mense Nuwe Jaar as ‘n “free pass” sien om te suip en te doen net wat hul wil!

Ja, Kersfees is iets wat heeltemal sy meaning verloor het. Dit het eintlik maar ‘n Babiloniese fees geword.

• 132.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Ek is net bly al hierdie vakansie dae is nou verby!

• 133.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Ou Kallis was darem baie ongelukkig gewees!

• 134.Fern: Reply to this comment

Tinus hulle glo seker “what happened in 2007 stays in 2007″.
    ek het net gaan slaap oujaars aand,laaste ding wat jy soek is n gesuipte girl om dronk verdriet tekry.

• 135.Pietman: Reply to this comment

More manne.

Voorspoed vir 2008, dis maar net nog n werkjaar vir my, met n ander nommer!
    In elk geval, alles van die beste, sien julle (DV) binnekort.

• 136.Fern: Reply to this comment

Dankie Pietman.Ek kry darem n verhoging in Jan/Feb.Wil kyk na n erfie koop met daai ekstra geld.

• 137.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Fern
    Sal jou bel as ek daar is, wil bietjie gesels oor daai damontwikkeling.
    Kyk of jy kan afkom Kaap toe 16 Feb.

• 138.Fern: Reply to this comment

saak is reg pietman lat net weet watter naweek.sal kyk of ek kan afvlieg.

• 139.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Fern
    Kom sommer saam met die manne met die rugbytrein, 15 Feb.
    Sal jou bietjie mail nog.

• 140.AB - RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE Face Book: Reply to this comment

More manne!

• 141.Fern: Reply to this comment

pietman ding is ek moet werk die vrydag en die maandag so ek sal dalk afvlieg.mail my net die datums asap.
    More AB het julle al verblyf gebook in CA?Waar gaan julle ble en wat is die koste verbonde?

• 142.AB - RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE Face Book: Reply to this comment

Fern kyk op die Facebook groep die detail is daar!

• 143.Fern: Reply to this comment

watter vleisboek groep?

• 144.AB - RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE Face Book: Reply to this comment

Kyk na my naam of slaap jy bietjie vanoggend?

• 145.Cousin Cervix: Reply to this comment

More, more en weer more!!!!!!

Voorspoedige nuwe jaar vir al julle manne en dames, mag dit n wonderlike jaar wees!!!!!!!!!

VIX INNIE MIX!!!

• 146.AB - RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE Face Book: Reply to this comment

Couzy
    Hierdie jaar moet ons KOOOK!

• 147.Fern: Reply to this comment

cuzzy dis al die 2de dag van die nuwe jaar.asb,moenie jouself wees nie.

• 148.trupisero...almalsemoerebehalwemyne!!: Reply to this comment

More manne en mannine!

• 149.Cousin Cervix: Reply to this comment

Ok so dan moet ek n D**s wees…

• 150.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Fern/AB
    julle het mail.

• 151.walter: Reply to this comment

Almal wat belang stel, ek gee drie seisoen kaartjies vir Ellispark weg in ‘n kompetisie op my webwerf…kliek op my naam om te gaan kyk.

• 152.Cousin Cervix: Reply to this comment

Ab,

NEE HIER KOM GROOT DINGE VIR ONS OU MAAT!!!!!!

• 153.Cousin Cervix: Reply to this comment

Walter,

Dis al hoe die leeus supporters op Ellispark sal kry… As julle kaartjies begin weg gee… :lol:

• 154.AB - RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE Face Book: Reply to this comment

RUGBY REVOLUTION!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 155.Fern: Reply to this comment

Cuzzy jy praat,sal bietjie kyk hoe loop die bulle met ludeke in charge…

• 156.Cousin Cervix: Reply to this comment

Nee jy is reg AB!!!!! Maar ons sal by mekaar kom as jy vannie plaas af terug kom!!! Dinge moet nou al begin gebeur…

• 157.Fern: Reply to this comment

cheers manne,oor en uit.mooi dag

• 158.AB - RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE Face Book: Reply to this comment

Couzy
    Ek kom die naweek terug dan kan ons begin vuur maak!

• 159.AB - RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE Face Book: Reply to this comment

Pietman
    Jou mail is stadig ou maat! Ek wag maar!

• 160.Cousin Cervix: Reply to this comment

Cheers varing jou tietkop!!!

Nee AB dis reg… Het ook so paar plannetjies wat ek aan gedink het!!!

• 161.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Cousin, AB, Pietman….

Goeie more manne!!!

• 162.AB - RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE Face Book: Reply to this comment

Couzy
    Miskien moet jy en GBS plaas toe kom die naweek vir n bosberaad!

• 163.AB - RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE Face Book: Reply to this comment

Yes Tinus!

• 164.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Cheers varing jou tietkop!!!

• 165.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Voel julle bietjie broos vandag?

• 166.Cousin Cervix: Reply to this comment

AB,

Dit klink soos n moerse goeie plan!!!

Haaaallllloooooo Tinus my ou vriend…

Het jy my SMS gekry?

• 167.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Ek voorspel ‘n Blou 2008!

• 168.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Cousin…

Gekry ja!

• 169.Cousin Cervix: Reply to this comment

Nee ou Tinus as ek geweet het ek sal vandag so dors wees, het ek meer gedrink gister!!!!!

• 170.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Gaan gou ry. Netnou terug!

• 171.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Cousin…

Heeheehiii!!!

• 172.Cousin Cervix: Reply to this comment

nee ek dink ook die bulla gaan amok maak die jaar… Die S14 draw is goed, ons speel amper al die AB’s spanne tuis en die weg games as ons perform kan ons wen!!

• 173.AB - RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE Face Book: Reply to this comment

Julle moenie worry nie die BULLE sal Ludeke reg kry!

• 174.Cousin Cervix: Reply to this comment

Bwaahahahaha!!!! Victor en Bakkies sal hom n ding of twee wys van coaching af!!!

• 175.AB - RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE Face Book: Reply to this comment

Ok julle ek gaan skottelgoed was die vrou en seun is terug in Joburg so ek werk vir n slag!

• 176.Cousin Cervix: Reply to this comment

Mooi loop AB, as jy ernstig is oor die naweek, laat maat weet sodat ek met mamma kan gesels en ****!!

• 177.Koos: Reply to this comment

Ek sien jy het nog gom oor na die feestyd Vix!! Gedog jy gaan dit los…

• 178.AB - RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE Face Book: Reply to this comment

O voor ek gaan ons het nou 203 lede!

• 179.Tinus: Reply to this comment

More Koos!

Gaan dit goed?

AB…

Watse lede is dit!

• 180.pompies: Reply to this comment

More Koos, first comment of the new year. Go da..mmm gee it’s been a long time. Roll on Feb.

• 181.Cousin Cervix: Reply to this comment

Dis rugby spoorters voice lede Tinus!!

Jaaaaaaa Koos jou d##S!!! Ek het nou oor geslaan van Prit na Bostick toe!!!

• 182.Cousin Cervix: Reply to this comment

spoorters=supporters!!!

• 183.Cousin Cervix: Reply to this comment

Nou waar is al julle moere nou..???

• 184.Simon: Reply to this comment

SA Rugby mag now has a group on Facebook. Post rugby photos & videos, and comment on various issues.

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=7004616138

• 185.Joejoe: Reply to this comment

This last edition must be one of the most interesting mags I have read, as is seven weeks of glory.

Me saying well done Keo, stranger things have happened, but yea, very well done.

• 186.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

skopskiet you self rightous ******* – are you actually Andre Markgraaf? All oof your arguments are bitter and all of them are twisting the truth.

The “in crowd” as you put it, were those players that consistently performed. Shimange was never part of the in crowd because he never consistently performed. Yes, it does demoralise those that are not in form – but that is the point isn’t it? You only want those players that have the mental toughness to overcome the odds, PUT IN THE EXTRA WORK, and kick the door down for selection. That is what “selection on merit” means you idiot.

Aaaah shame lets play Shimange and Solly today against the ABs because they are feeling a bit down and demoralised, shall we? Never mind if Solly doesn’t make a tackle all game, as long as he feels better afterwards…

And Chavangha and Nokwe were always boody injured. Solly Tyibilika was played until we were all begging for his tenure to end (and with about ten players around the country being better than him on class and form). And Solly doesn’t even fit Whites requirement for tall flankers!!

You can’t accuse him of racism, since he has persevered with Habana, JP, Julies and Ricky (despite Ricky’s form also being a little pear shaped).

You are a bitter twisted man (?) skopskiet. The poisonous bile that comes from your mouth about Jake is just not warranted.

• 187.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Aah you little cry babies simply can’t take the heat when its in reverse.

When your holy little two faced manipulator decides who his *** licking disciples are to butter his bread this way and that, and he castigates and motivates antithesis denouncements about other individuals simply to make him look better than he really is, then there’s no complaints from your sanctimonious quarter is there Sjambok?

So now that I dish him just a tiny morsel of the same back in his direction, its you double standard protagonists that shout out in anguish, just take your bitter pill medicine exactly the same way as you propose dishing it out, hypocrites.

White is what he is, I never made him to be the underhanded player that he is, I just call his bluff.

• 188.Rognvald: Reply to this comment

Any changes to the rules that favour “athletes” should favour South Africa. This should augur well for the future provided that the coaches have “Jakelike foresight” and that the executive acts rationally (A big ask?)

• 189.Ek sê my sê, ek sê: Reply to this comment

http://www.keo.co.za/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_lol.gif

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.