Jake loves new laws
31 Dec 2007
Jake White believes the new Super 14 laws will favour South Africa’s teams.
The former Bok coach, who has joined SA Rugby magazine as a columnist, examines the three most significant law changes in the new issue.
“There will be more opportunities to scrum from the increased number of free kicks,” says White, something which will please South Africa’s big men.
Meanwhile, all five SA Super 14 coaches are interviewed in the mag. What changes does Frans Ludeke plan to make with the Bulls? Why did Rassie Erasmus make Jean de Villiers his captain? Where will Dick Muir play Frans Steyn? Can Naka Drotske help the Cheetahs win overseas? Where does Big Joe fit into Eugene Eloff’s plans? All these questions, and more, are answered.
Then there’s the threat posed by Australian and New Zealand sides. Find out more about the new players in their squads and what players they’ve lost in the off-season.
Also in the new issue of SA Rugby magazine:
– Schalk Burger reflects on 2007 and the challenges that lie ahead in 2008
– JP Pietersen: “I deserve to play international rugby”
– Is Heinke van der Merwe the next Os?
– Transformation: We look at black Bok contenders in each position and rate their chances of being selected in 2008
– Boks overseas: Find out how Butch, Smittie, Ollie, Russell and Monty are doing.

189 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All
31 Dec 2007, 20:33 pm
So should we only be listening to the ‘acceptable’ blue eyed boy ‘yes sir, no sir, three bags full sir’, disciples then JL?
How about another perspective for a change.
31 Dec 2007, 20:38 pm
I’m going out to check if they want me to be included in this New Year (old years eve) sing along jam session at the local here, which case I’ll have to pack my guitar and go sing along. ‘Auld Lang’ ring a ding ding.
Banter another time again JL.
happy new year and all that to you.
31 Dec 2007, 20:38 pm
Not what I am saying, in fact listen to everyone and decide….. but decide on the good of rugby and on results
We the supporter deserved better than what was served to us since 1999 till 2003.
Jake was a big step up and we should expect far better… in 2008 we cannot go back to the dark ages
Now we need to start winning away from home, who can help us with that mission?
31 Dec 2007, 20:40 pm
Skop
Have a good 2007 and a great 2008
31 Dec 2007, 20:45 pm
You too JL
so long.
31 Dec 2007, 21:07 pm
Big hit are you out there?
After last week end games, there may be some questions about a few players who should be in the England squad.
31 Dec 2007, 21:13 pm
#45 Airports never sleep. Had a week off over Christmas so got the new years eve shift. Can’t have it all.
31 Dec 2007, 21:14 pm
48. Sepaka was useless. He was a quota player.
Lucky to have made any springbok team and any super 14 or Currie cup squad. If I was him I would not complain. He got to play more than some other more deserving props did.
Glad has gone to France where he will be seldom used.
31 Dec 2007, 21:17 pm
Sephaka may not have been the best, but he had a few good games in which he scored good ratings. Will have to check the history books to find which ones though.
31 Dec 2007, 21:18 pm
One more flight to bring in then I’m outta here, until 2pm tomorrow. Gonna watch the fireworks over Gothenburg from my hill top house.
31 Dec 2007, 21:21 pm
Hey Umb, there are some other PC sites that provide rugby I am trying to find the one I had on my favourites. I also have used Media zone but preferTV with Setata Sports
Do you get setanta soprts in Sweden?
31 Dec 2007, 21:22 pm
Sepaka was ok sometimes depending onthe opposition. I just feel there are at least 10 props out there in SA, better than him.
31 Dec 2007, 21:49 pm
You’re correct, the oppostion wasnt that great. Strange that a french club was interested in him though.
31 Dec 2007, 21:50 pm
Right just done the last flight in from Fuerta’.. time to rumble on home. Have a great New Years all of you, as they say in Sweden, Gott Nytt Ã…r! See ya tomorrow.
31 Dec 2007, 21:56 pm
sephaka started out as a promising youngster, bt the presure from the administrators on the coaches 2pick him has done him more wrong then good. He ws pushed in2 the bok squad 2quickly nd ddnt hav the chance 2develop as he had alot of presure nd xpectation on his solders
31 Dec 2007, 22:03 pm
the same goes 4 conrad jantjes and alot of othe colored players. And it can also be said of players like gaffie and van hoeslinn
31 Dec 2007, 22:21 pm
some players thrive when thrown in @ the deep end. Others need time 2develop. The players mentioned is crtainly part of the latter. Hope that jantjes can turn his international career around. Nd tat the other youngsters wil b manage better in the future.
31 Dec 2007, 22:33 pm
steyn and pienaar aswel as spies and habana was some of the players that could handle the presure. Gaffie and jantjes not as they cudnt perform over a period of time. Players needs 2 b manage differently coz what work for 1 wont work 4 another.
31 Dec 2007, 23:40 pm
Voorspoedige nuwejaar aan almal…
1 Jan 2008, 02:23 am
Its not about how good or bad a player, or players they or he was, they were used as political pawns in certain individuals grandiose schemes for personal vainglory, they were never considered as part of the inner kring, just as dispensable political pawns for the sake of personal showboating.
Whats worse is that the whites who performed poorly were given all manner of input and excuses to develop and improve because they were earmarked for grandiose achievement, not so with the likes of Sephaka, Tjibalika, Nokwe, Floors, Jantjes etc, they were all regarded as superfluous and dispensable non necessities, simply used as political pawns towards a grander scheme.
Even John Smit 18 months out from the world cup was a shadow of the player / captain that led the boks in France, same with many other blue eyed boys who were given plenty of rope and opportunity to ‘come right’.
Standards were doubled, certainly not obliged with similar opportunities, and this in particular is what some of these ‘outcasts’ feel pretty hurt and disappointed about, not so much that they weren’t selected, more about the manner in which they were callously glassed over and dumped on the ‘White’ mans rubbish heap.
1 Jan 2008, 02:34 am
Happy New Year to all you ‘keo junkies’, wherever you are.
Go South Africa, Go the Bokke, Go WP!!!!!!!!!!
Make 2008 a good one.
1 Jan 2008, 03:09 am
May you all walk in sunshine throughout 2008.
1 Jan 2008, 03:29 am
Colleagues
MY friends!! I am back in Fiji and happy to make my first post from there!! It is bloody hot and I am perspiring like hell!! Damn too hot!!
Have a great 2008 and may the lord be with us and the Bokke
By the way my copy of Jakes autobiography had arrived here before me and it was great to read…however I was a little disappointed with the book…I got the impression that the RWC stories were sort of rushed into and not properly illustrated!! Otherwise it was a page turner!
1 Jan 2008, 06:55 am
Skopskiet, the difference between John Smit ’18 months out from the World Cup’ and Sephaka at any point of his career, is that John always had the potential to get back to his brilliant best, while Sephaka would always just be what he was born to be, a political pawn set to devalue the Bok jersey.
1 Jan 2008, 07:47 am
I read Sephakas comments. I sympathize with him really. He was not treated properly whichever way u look at it
1 Jan 2008, 11:38 am
Great!! happy hapy!!
Had the worst new years party ever… I was sober!!! Abyways.. finished the white mans book… it started well but ended very dull….
When a thread comes up on which i believe white will read… i will coment on it… He seemed to only talk about things thatsuited him and winning a Wc against an england side as strong as WP means nothing… he was lucky…..
OK cheers and will appear more in the following weeks of s14!!
1 Jan 2008, 11:50 am
Morning All! Happy New Year to everyone! I am back from my holiday in the United Kakdom. I take my hat off to all of the folks you survive in London. The county side is really lekker but London itself is a sh1thole. Wel done to all of you who make it in that city.
Where is the Sepahka article posted?
1 Jan 2008, 12:03 pm
Ok so I found the article on Planet Rugby. The players that Sepakha mentions are:
Hanyani Shimange: quota player shoulkd never have been a Bok
Solly Tyibilika: quota player never better than Burger or even Watson. Look at his conduct whilst contracted to the Lions
Odwa Ndungane: he is farking lucky to be there, his brother is much beter
Eddie Andrews: head shoved up arse time and time again.
Hilton Lobberts: the walking yellow card has had his chances. He can’t even get game time at the Bulls so why should be get game time with the Boks.
Tonderai Chavanga: the sick note.
Kabamba Floors: He can’t even get game time at the Cheetahs so why should be get game time with the Boks.
And Lorrie himself, how many more oppertunities does he need? He also showed how professional he is when he went walk about instead of going to training with the Lions.
Get real.
1 Jan 2008, 12:32 pm
The point is these players were not groomed nor part of the ‘bigger picture’ nor given the time of day to develop any latent or natural talents, whereas the ‘in crowd’ were.
They were used, Watson is a case in point, White skirted around Watson for all he was worth diminishing and decrying the lads talents to the extent where he secretly even condoned and orchestrated a hate campaign against him, calling him the most overrated player he has come across.
Whites ‘exclusive’ policies are repugnant to say the least and that is why certain players have even gone as far as saying they felt more ‘included’ and comfortable under Streauli than under White. Thats quite a statement to be making.
1 Jan 2008, 12:43 pm
Nokwe could have become a fine wing, far better than Willemse or Olivier had he been persevered with the same as Pietersen and Steyn was.
Jantjes is a fine footballer but he was never part of the mix also could have contributed far more than Olivier or Willemse.
Chavanga could become another Habana given the same input and time of day.
The psychology of the whole ‘in crowd’ business is what demoralizes and demotivates those on the fringes, so why put in the effort if you know deep inside you’re only there as a political porn, not a part of the long term, and White made no bones about who his ‘chosen few’ were, and who were not.
1 Jan 2008, 12:45 pm
Bottom line is the sham of a non racial and ‘inclusive’ rugby system in this country was and still is that. A sham under those that pretended they were there to make a difference and didn’t.
1 Jan 2008, 12:54 pm
And that in a nutshell is why Henry has been given another stint and White is fronting as a glorified corporate salesman and writing columns in magazines.
It goes about character, dignity and honor, some things you simply cannot hide from, you either have those characteristics or you don’t.
1 Jan 2008, 13:52 pm
Loosehead, it is Akona and not Odwa.
Skopskiet, jou is a doos.
1 Jan 2008, 14:12 pm
u need 2 b part of the coaches plans 2 b part of the inner circle i suppose. But when players is forced on2 u like luke or players is picked because of targets where does they fit in? Let the coaches select their teams cz they know what kinda players wil fit in. Sephaka had plenty of chances. Remember a few years ago when he was taken out of rugby 2 b trained nd developed @ the sports science inst i think it was. Bt ws it the rite decision? Shouldnt he hav played nd learnd bout scrumaging on the playing field?u can just do so much on technique bt the real test lies between the white lines As i said b4 he ws a talentd youngster but bcz of transformation targets he ws pushed thru 2 quick.
1 Jan 2008, 14:13 pm
Welcome to 2008 boys and girls. May the stars be properly aligned for all of you. “Go you good thing” as the Buddha likes to sing.
1 Jan 2008, 14:18 pm
Hi there Skop
See you came out of the year’s starting blocks firing on the same notes you you played in ’07.
Chill old chap. Or Jake will torture you to your grave. His latest job at SA Rugby wont help either I expect.
1 Jan 2008, 14:20 pm
interestingly, the article on iol did mention that jake said 2 sephaka b4 the ireland game ‘this is your chance take it’. He ddnt live up 2 xpectation tat day as did many other boks. Jaco pretorius, bevan fortuin, petoors is a few others. They all were dropped for the folowing game. Petoors mite hav been the #10 flyhalf if he had a great game. And if it wsnt for james’ injury nd his prformance in the 2nd england game he cudve gone down the same road as sephaka. Its all bout takin the oportunities when they arise
1 Jan 2008, 14:21 pm
am I playing with myself here?
1 Jan 2008, 14:23 pm
#1 flyhalf
1 Jan 2008, 14:24 pm
good to see I’m not alone N_C.
I would have to agree with those who were unexcited by Sephaka’s performances for the Boks.
Hanyani was another disappointment. They did get their chances.
1 Jan 2008, 14:29 pm
none of the players Sephaka mentions set the world alight. When a black(read not white) player performs to international standard, it is pretty obvious to see. Take Habana and JP by way of good examples. IMO Lobberts is not an international class player(yet). Floors was bloody exciting in the CC and Super 14 games he played but the poor bugger is genuinely too small(short) IMO, when there are others who are man-mountains who are just as good and offer more. Like Wikus for example.
1 Jan 2008, 14:33 pm
unluckily for sephaka, S.A teams got alot quality props which doesnt allow for alot of chances therefor u need 2 impres when u get the chance. Ther is always frontrowers knocking on the door. Unlike othe positions like flyhalf and fulback wher they can allow u 2have an xtended run as there isnt alot 2chose from.
1 Jan 2008, 14:36 pm
happi new year tassies. Everything thats good 4 2008. Like a springbok tri nations win
1 Jan 2008, 14:46 pm
tassies i agree on the players tat sephaka mentioned. Nothing special about them. In sephaka ive seen a talented youngster bt the others is ****. They all got there chances but ddnt grab it. Im a non-white but this quota thing is embaressing. I want the best team 2play even if its a all white or all colored team! I wan 2support a winning springbok team cz tat is what inspire the young players in my area. Not the number of colords in the teams. If u not good enuf u shudnt b playin whether u white or black
1 Jan 2008, 14:50 pm
sephaka unfortunately is/was facing an uphill battle. He, like so many others, are automatically labelled as quota players the minute they run onto the park. not a nice feeling i’m sure. Then they have to perform at an unbelievable level from the word go, to shake that unwanted and unfair label. A front-rower, perhaps more than any other, takes time to mature and master his trade. They usually mature in their late 20′s/early 30′s. So Lawrence was up against some seriously stiff competition from some seasoned players. And he was just a laaitie.
Who knows? His stint in France might settle the mind, mature the boy and he could come back and become a great. Hope so.
1 Jan 2008, 15:01 pm
On another subject but linked to the topic, I think Jake White, in spite of being a school teacher by trade, was an astute hard-nosed businessman by instinct. Similiar to Nick Mallet in many ways. This “skill” involves being outright ruthless and devious at times. This is where I think Skop has most of his axes to grind with friend Jake. If you read between the lines of Peter Bill’s article, you will see some of this coming through. Jake had written Lawrence off and had moved on effectively uncaring about what the consequences were to the person involved. He no longer served his purpose. So determined was Jake to win the WC. Well he won it and that was great for him and the country but there were plenty of casualties along the way.
1 Jan 2008, 15:02 pm
yes the france trip might do him good as ther wil b no presure on him bcz of skin color. Altho i think he wil hav 2 perform out of his skin push 2 the front of the line now. I think with all the quota fuss surrounding his selection everytime he also put 2much presure on himself 2prove that he belonged there and never realy took the chance 2feed of the experience of the senior nd 1st choice players like john smit, os, bj nd bands aswel as others. At the early stage of his career thats what he shudve done. And mayb the coaches shouldve told him that and assigned a mentor 2him.
1 Jan 2008, 15:05 pm
we’ll never know the truth but I would have thought that John Smit could have helped in that mentoring process. Maybe they didn’t get on. JS doesn’t sound like a racist to me. They were both headboys of their respective schools so they had something in common.
1 Jan 2008, 15:07 pm
the next boy in this queue is Chilliboy. Lets see if SAR has learnt from past mistakes and do a better job with him. Apparently JS has played the mentoring role with him. Same school and all. He has the talent I’m told. Time will tell us.
1 Jan 2008, 15:11 pm
Cane again. to easy.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All