Butch: I’m open to coming home

Butch James would consider returning to South Africa if he felt he had a crack at being in the Springbok mix.

Despite his assertions to the contrary it is believed Springbok coach Peter de Villiers will meet with European-based World Cup winning Springboks to talk about the possibility of returning to play in South Africa. De Villiers departs on February 8 to Europe.

James, the Springbok World Cup winning flyhalf, is currently in the early stages of a two-year deal with English Premiership club Bath. His form has been superb and has been central to their push for league honours.

James said he was “loving” his time at Bath, but conceded that an approach from De Villiers could be very appealing if the conditions were right.

“If I knew I had an opportunity to continue my international career for a couple years more I would consider it. I think I’m still good enough and I’d always be open to an approach. So if Peter could assure me of that, it would make it very hard to say no.”

James said the Sharks, for whom he played his entire professional career in South Africa, would be his first choice franchise should he return, but quickly added: “That’s only if they want me back.” The 28-year-old has had a series of knee injuries which have stifled his career, but seems to have moved past that difficult period.

He was last injured on the Springboks’ 2006 year-end tour to England and Ireland, but recovered to play the entire 2007 Super 14 and Tri-Nations (he was rested for the Australasian leg) and was the first choice pivot at the World Cup. But that streak came to an end on Sunday when he dislocated his shoulder in the process of scoring a try against Saracens. Bath looked rudderless without their general and succumbed to two Brent Russell tries, losing 26-20.

“I’m going for a scan tonight but it looks like anything from six to 12 weeks out of the game,” he said. “That’s really frustrating because I think I was playing some of the best rugby of my career.

“If it’s six weeks that’s not so bad because the Six Nations starts this weekend which would mean I wouldn’t miss any [Premiership] games but 12 weeks would be a killer because I want to play a major part in the team’s push for the title.”

Bath are currently placed third, just five points off leaders Gloucester.

549 Comments

• 1.skunk: Reply to this comment

The only way to make sure you are pick is to perform. Not by what you did last year.

• 2.skunk: Reply to this comment

….picked

• 3.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Mmmmmm…… and all you bulls bashers called Matfield all sorts of names for doing exactly this……Now let’s hear what you all will have to say about Butch

• 4.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

True Skunk. He is playing great ruggas over there though.

• 5.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

butch should come to the Bulls, let the boy get a S14 trophy at least once.

or at least have a chance..

• 6.Dawn: Reply to this comment

This site is as slow as the Home Affairs queues in the Wynberg branch.

Where is everybody.

• 7.katman: Reply to this comment

Probably still stuck in Home Affairs.

• 8.katman: Reply to this comment

Except the Bulls. They’re down at the **** Fair.

• 9.whatever: Reply to this comment

mmmmmmmmm, butchie, no guarantees boet. But if you are playing well and the coach picks on merit and wants some experience then you have a good shout.

• 10.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Dead as a dodo.

Everyone was moaning about no stories 4 weeks ago, now that the Monarchs are churning them out, no-one says a word.

• 11.Provincejoulekkading: Reply to this comment

Comment by Dawn : January 29, 2008 @ 11:26 am

Get with it Dawn,that branch is now 2 trucks!

• 12.whatever: Reply to this comment

oh yeah, you also need to be able to run onto the park!

• 13.skunk: Reply to this comment

People are being delusional when it comes to the national team. No one has a birth right to it. Everyone should perform to make it in there. To say you want to be guaranteed a spot be fore coming back to the country is disgusting. To me Butch has lost all the respect I had for him.

The Boks that won the world cup are not the keepers of the jersey. They should fight for it like everyone else. John Smit has it right he will fight for the right to play for his country.

If players don’t want to fight for it then let them stay in Europe and earn money for themselves

• 14.Martin: Reply to this comment

#3 – at least he has been playing good rugby up to now….victor was shooting his mouth off before even setting a foot on french soil. and butch was’nt hanging around to see who was going to be bok coach.

• 15.Dawn: Reply to this comment

whatever

He ain’t doing to badly.

Scored a try over the weekend then promptly dislocated his shoulder.

Anyone else see PETER DIXON playing on Sunday?

• 16.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

#8, is that camp david?

• 17.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

i heard Tony Brown is playing for the stormers?
    is this true?

• 18.Pietman: Reply to this comment

skunk

Agreed, no guarantees, that’s just bullsh#t, regardless of who you are.
    Jeezz, some of these boys are acting as if they are royalty and irreplaceable.
    Bugger them, PdeV, there are plenty of youngsters just aching to play for the G&G.

• 19.katman: Reply to this comment

It’s really quite simple. SARU must promise Butch a spot on the team so that he can return. They can always renege on the deal if it doesn’t suit them later. Just like they did with Heyneke.

• 20.whatever: Reply to this comment

I’d love to know if Butch actually used the word “guaranteed”, or was it just a bit of journo licence. Ryan uses quotation marks so must be………abit of a doff thing for Butch to say really

• 21.Martin: Reply to this comment

i’m sure butch will want that guarantee in writing.

• 22.katman: Reply to this comment

16 – I reckon it probably would be. And my name isn’t David.

• 23.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

on the stormers site the log froms last year still has the sharks on top…

• 24.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

i hear through the grapevine that Luke and Jean are getting on very well.

i dont know who’s getting on first, but thats none of my business.

• 25.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Butch klink nou net soos Watson…dink hy is groter as die game….nee mater..as jy groen en goud wil oor jou kop trek….moet jy fight vir dit….werk net so maklik

• 26.Pietman: Reply to this comment

whatever
    Yes, I also wonder sometimes if these ‘quotations’ are to be regarded verbatim, as in Adi’s case earlier.

• 27.Ig: Reply to this comment

Just like Big Vic to

• 28.cab: Reply to this comment

Comment by skunk : January 29, 2008 @ 11:33 am
    yeah thats fair enough, there can be no overlong guarentees, but one would hope that an RWC-winning flyhalf whose taken the english league by storm would be guarenteed to start most of 2008.

If he is going to be overlooked for transformation reasons, these guys cannot be blamed for playing overseas, its also their livelihood.

• 29.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

Ig howzit china?!

and dont be dissing big Vic just because you have “min dae” we’ll still sort you out..

• 30.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Steyn
    Het jou probeer mail oor chingching Superbru, maar my hotmail is tydelik op die koffie.
    Sal later weer probeer inkom.

• 31.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Pietman

Wat’s die Keo party by Nuweland wat ek van **** met jou as convenor?

• 32.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

the problem is if Butchie comes back, Muir sits with 3 top flyhalves, and it would mean that Steyn will not get any decent amount of time at 10..

• 33.Staal: Reply to this comment

Butchie – hou op praat! IMO is jy goed genoeg! Dis nou nadat JW gesê het “The Boks need a flyhalf” :lol:

• 34.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Ig!
    You’re alive, and around still.
    We were beginning to get worried out here that you might have ‘AWOL’-ed.

• 35.Staal: Reply to this comment

the only thing that is “n waaborg” is taxes! … eh & power cuts!

• 36.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Staal

And Zuma our next president!

• 37.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Isigidi
    Nee, ek is nie ‘convener’ nie, ek dra maar net die wors, hout en kitaar aan.
    Cuzzy, Ex-Player en AB is in ‘charge’ van die reelings.

• 38.Staal: Reply to this comment

36 :lol:

• 39.Ig: Reply to this comment

Lol BB, all of these players need a clip round the head and told that 2007 was 2007 – it will get them a meal for the rest of their lives, but it won’t get you a game….ask Francois Pienaar.

Pietman – yup finish up on the 31st, been busy getting my shite together

• 40.katman: Reply to this comment

…flyhalf whose taken the english league by storm would be guaranteed to start most of 2008…

Comment by cab : January 29, 2008 @ 11:45 am

Not so fast, cab. By this logic Wacko Jaco could have demanded the same guarantees a couple of years back.

• 41.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Pietman

Praat bietjie uit! Hoe wie wat waar en hoeveel?

• 42.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

well we hope you pop in occasionally, i take it you are leaving for greener pastures?

• 43.Pietman: Reply to this comment

You still around on the 16th, please join your old foes at Newlands.
    Some interesting people coming down for the games, even an ex-Springbok or two.
    Let’s kiss and make up behind the North Stand…

• 44.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

katman,
    its not entirely unthinkable that Rudolph would have picked Michael Jackson as flyhalf.

i mean he picked Jorrie Muller FFS!

• 45.Ig: Reply to this comment

Yup BB, been growing my pastures all year, harvest in March…..

Pietman, i should be about, not sure i wish to kiss anyone….but i am sure i could be convinced to drink beer

• 46.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Isigidi
    Trupi het naamlyste, geldlyste, dranklyste,vleislyste, vrouelyste, kaarjielyste, hotellyste, karlyste, tydlyste en als, laat hy jou gou mail.

• 47.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Om ‘n waarborg te vra van ‘n coach is net so onlogies om n waarborg te vra van geen beserings en vorm beter as die ander ouens.
    Profesionele era = as jy nie IN VORM is nie, word jy vervang, finish en klaar!

• 48.Pietman: Reply to this comment

45# Ig
    LOL!
    See you there.
    Will let you know here nearer to the time.

• 49.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

i cant believe Tony Brown is playing for the Stormers. does he get a pensioners’ discount on the team bus?

• 50.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Piet…

dit is reg….Eksdom..het nou weer 2 keer hier kuk gemaak…..so dit gaan maar so sukkel sukkel hier by my ook

• 51.Wukong: Reply to this comment

I think Butch should come play for the Lions. If can perform there he can do at at any level.

• 52.cane: Reply to this comment

Anti-apartheid campaigner John Minto has turned down his nomination for South Africa’s highest honour for foreigners because he is “deeply dismayed” about conditions in the country.

He has been nominated for the Companion of O R Tambo Award but wants the bid withdrawn.

“It was the democratic country with so much hope and . . . for many people it’s been the deepest of disappointment, and certainly it has been for me,” he said.

Mr Minto was the national organiser of the Halt All Racist Tours movement during the 1981 Springbok tour of New Zealand.

Hart co-founder Trevor Richards was presented with a gold Tambo award in 2004.

“When we protested and marched into Police batons and barbed wire here in the struggle against aparthied, we were not fighting for a small black elite to become millionaires”.
    We were fighting for a better SA for all SA’s”.

• 53.ruck: Reply to this comment

Hell Cane, thats one for the books……Thnax fro posting that – I can tell you now, this will NOT be published or reported on over here….Thanx.

• 54.ruck: Reply to this comment

I must ask Gramps if Minto was one of the folk that “attacked” him during that tour…….Gramps kept forgetting to speak in a POM accent, and every now and again some SOUTHAFRICANISM would pop out of his mouth,,,,and he’d be “attacked” by one half of the NZ nation…….

• 55.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

How can Butch just get out of his contract with Bath? Does butch mean he wants to play in this years S14?

• 56.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

ruck

check news24……it is all there.

and on Beeld

• 57.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

ruck, it was on SAFM too, heard it yesterday..

• 58.No. 2: Reply to this comment

1. Skunk, how did he get picked last year then? He was definitely the best fly half in the country. And Kwagga you cant even compare Victors situation with his.

• 59.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

does this mean that they are going to flour-bombing parlaiment?

• 60.Pietman: Reply to this comment

ruck
    I was reported in Beeld this morning already!
    We spoke about it on the other thread earlier.
    Interesting, though, what a Kiwi mate of mine had to say about that in his mail this morning.

Apparantly old Minto really flayed into Madiba during his (NM’s) visit to NZ in 1996, for not taking SA down the communist road!
    Minto is a die-hard communist, so he is angry about the fact that we are still a capitalist society, from what people in NZ tell me, not so much at the new ANC government in SA.
    This is hearsay of course.

Perhaps cane could tell us more about Minto.

• 61.strikers: Reply to this comment

I assume he means that he wants to be assured of a spot if he is playing well and that PDV see’s him as the player he wants at 10

• 62.cane: Reply to this comment

Iggy,

Please organise your own Tribute Thread. (I assume no-one else can manage this minor administrive function).

If Keo.co can have a Tribute Thread for the “Undead” (Bliksem) they they can have one for a living breathing Legend.

I have always thought of this “site”, as much Ig.co as anything else.

If perchance I don’t get another opportunity…. go well Ig, and I’ll buy One Doz Mac’s Gold in your honour. I’ll drink them for you as well.

P.S. Thanks for never banning me.

P.P.S. One last favour…….pull the plug on Fernly before you go.

Yours Sincerely,
    Cane.

• 63.Namblack: Reply to this comment

Cab,
    “flyhalf whose taken the english league by storm ”
    Even i can take the Englisg league by storm…can`t wait for S14.

I support John Minto because the same small black elite sh@t is happening over here.

• 64.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Butch should’nt return to the Sharks, they already have more than 1 quality fly half.

But, as we all know, the rest of the SA Super 14 Franchises are battling in this department, especially the Lions.

It still amazes me that SA cannot duplicate the sucessful NZ method of distribution of all available talent amongst their S 14 Franchises, so that every great player in his position gets proper game time.

• 65.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

IG,

When will GBS and Cuzzy be back on Keo……why is the other 2 back…but GBS and Cuzzy must stay of…….come buddy let us know?

• 66.skunk: Reply to this comment

No.2

That is what I mean. How he performed last year is not the same as performing consistently well this year.

Your statement is dangerous, think Luke Watson.

• 67.Pietman: Reply to this comment

65# Steyn
    Yes, I also want know.
    Ig, whatsup with those other two ‘ban-dits’, did they receive the ultimate penalty?

• 68.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Bring back GBS and Cuzzy!!!!!!

• 69.cab: Reply to this comment

lol katman, wacko was in prime form then, but then decided to ply his trade in japan.

cane 52, yip interesting not so? some in SA feel the same way.

Namblack, haha, u reckon hey. the same stuff is happening and it has to be pulled back.

• 70.cane: Reply to this comment

Pietman #60.

I don’t know if Minto is a Red or not. But he is definately left of centre.

Like him or loath him….he is someone who dares to take his own course is life.

Let’s put it this way, if ***** was alive right now, saying the things he said 2000 years ago, he would be labeled……….probably as a Red.

Oddly enough his brother (Minto’s, not JC’s)is CEO of one of NZ’s biggest Corporations.

On a personal note ……I admire Minto for his personal courage and for making a stand for what “he” believes is just. His face bares the scars of his commitment.

• 71.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

i think cuz is starting his own site cuz.co.za

• 72.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Bring back GBS!!!!!

• 73.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Bring back Cuzzy!!!

• 74.Ig: Reply to this comment

GBS wrote me a really funny mail that i am sure all of you would love to receive it makes one feel warm and fuzzy – so he can stick to playing with Cuzzy in the sandpit. Cuzzy will not be returning unless the new guy reopens registration. He went to far to many times.

Cane – thanks for the kind words, a dozen of MG would be a delight, keep some space on the couch for me in 2011….your PPS has been under deliberation for quite awhile and may still happen….

• 75.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Bring back Grootblousmile!!!

• 76.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Steyn
    Maybe Ig should put Cuzzy’s and GBS’s re-entry to the vote, there in that little black voting box where we vote for Heyneke and Stofile and those on the keo homepage.
    I am sure the response will be an overwhelming ‘Yay’!

• 77.Pietman: Reply to this comment

70# Cane
    Thanks.
    As I say, this was an opinion expressed by a Kiwi mate, I don’t know Minto’s ideals first hand.

• 78.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

stop being so sensitive….you said…take it on the chin!

We will miss you…….Do you know if the new dude will be a WP supporter 2?

If so…then it will all be the same….won’t take it on the chin!!

Take it in the….no wait…you going to ban me

• 79.katman: Reply to this comment

If Minto is indeed Red, it’s probably from too much beetroot.

• 80.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Gee whiz GBS and Cousin still banned?

C’mon IG, let them out of their room.

• 81.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

“Butch James would consider returning to South Africa if he could be guaranteed a spot in the Springbok team.”

Butch trying to be a quota.

• 82.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Cane
    Didn’t Minto also eneter NZ politics at some stage, or attempted to, with Chris Laidlaw that time.
    I seem to recall something like that, same time as Peter Hain went to the British House of Commons?

• 83.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

think about it….you don’t even know GBS…the same with him…he does not know you….but a mail that he sent can hit you that hard?

Now you being like a real school child.

I will show them who has the power!!

Ag nee man Ig!!…be a man for once in your life

• 84.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

House of Commons or House of Commies or House of Kommin Donners?

• 85.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Piet

Ek dink jy is reg….hy moet n vote op sit……..hierdie is sommer bollie

• 86.skunk: Reply to this comment

Whatever happened to Ricane people?

• 87.rangerman: Reply to this comment

hello all
    well well!
    let me be the first on this thread to say PLEASE COME BACK TO THE SHARKS BUTCH!!! man, we dig that guy in Natal. love watching him smoke all opposing flyhalfs and i dont think it is a coincidence that Dan, Wilko and even liefling have never performed well against him. imagine seein butch coming flat out and knowing he is bringing the pain!
    imo one of the most underrated players in SA rugby and as for all the “dirty” bs spread by half flattened convicts and AB’s, well how many yellows did butch give away at the WC? or in the last few years?
    p.s. Of course the guy wants reassurance you little snipers! He is earning cash over in Europe and is not sure if he features in the new coaches plans! Hard to understand?

• 88.Pietman: Reply to this comment

skunk
    Ricane was here yesterday, somewhere.

• 89.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Skunk

we not worried about Ricane….we want GBS and Cuzzy back!!

• 90.cane: Reply to this comment

#79, Katman,

You can beet a lot of things…..but you can’t beet a root.

Pietman,
    No. Minto has never been part of National Politics.

Chris Laidlaw however was Labour Party MP for the Electorate of Wellington Central.

• 91.skunk: Reply to this comment

Steyn TBB

I don’t care about Cuzzy but I am worried about my old mate GBS. He has served his sentence out. I think he should come back now.

• 92.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Ranger

The article is written in a “if you don’t then I won’t” way. Not sure if this is what BJ said, but this is what Ryan Vrede want us to believe.

• 93.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Cane,

Tell us more about NZ’s electoral system, for instance do they have a multi tier system like the UK (House of Commons & House of Lords) or just one National Assembly?

• 94.Sir Watson: Reply to this comment

Pietman,

There is a history of guarantees to be Bok in South Africa;

Bob Skinstad, Willemse, Wynaard Olivier, Wayne Julies were all guaranteed a place in the Bok, for doing bugger nothing.

Tyibilika, De Wet Barry, Marius Joubert, Jaco van der Westhuizen, Eddie Andrews, Pedrie Wannenburg were all guarantee a place in Bok and also in the World Cup 2007 by Jake White, but failed themselves

Every player in the Jake White era were guaranteed being Bok for 4 years and also for the world cup 2007.

No wonder Butch wants guarantees, he used to them. He thinks that Jake era still exists but it ended 31 December 2007, with Jake White’s contract.

Mr De Villiers has only guaranteed Luke Watson a place in the Bok, Rassie has also guaranteed Luke Watson in the Stormers team despite having kept mum about the composition of the remainder of the squad.

• 95.rangerman: Reply to this comment

howzit isigidi!
    ja man, journalism with opinion. now BJ, Adi and big Vic look like arrogant kn#bs!
    but me, eish i dont believe!

• 96.4man: Reply to this comment

Pietman

Probably old news now for you, but Peter Hain has resigned over a funding scandal.
    He, as you know, was responsible largely for us getting kicked out of the Olympics. I have never forgiven him for that. I’ve watched him talk here, I dont think I could like the man easily.

• 97.rangerman: Reply to this comment

Sir Watson
    do you rate butch?

• 98.Jinx: Reply to this comment

What did Grootblousmile do that rocked Ig?

• 99.skunk: Reply to this comment

Piet that bugger was a great fella to talk rugby with.

• 100.Namblack: Reply to this comment

rangermann,

“imo one of the most underrated players in SA rugby”

Who underrated BJ?He is mostly overrated.

He is not in the same league as Dan, Wilko and Larkham,full stop.

• 101.cane: Reply to this comment

Skunk,

I think (hope) that many of the Aussie and NZ Posters will be back when the S14 games start and interest is rekindled.

Steyn,
    GBS was one of the great posters in my book.
    It would seem however that he has either:-
    -Tugged on Supermans Cap.
    -Spat into the wind.
    -Pulled the mask of the Old Lone Ranger.

One time too many.

But hey Ig…….open your heart. One last time.

• 102.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

The best a player should be able to hope for is “If you continue with your current form, you are in my squad”

No coach or National Union or even Provincial Union should guarantee any player their position, it would make them lax !

There needs to be that “hunger” to perform to be able to make the squad.

• 103.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Sir Watson

I here you.
    Luke has been guarenteed a place at Stormers, where, #8?
    Until Koster and Diack enter the fray, then ikt will be hell to play!

Luke in the Bok squad?
    Where do you say, who should be dropped to make for him.

Rassie might just manage to make good on his promise to Luke, but in PdeV’s case, it will be a little harder, I think, unless Peter succumbs to political pressure.
    But I don’t think that is Pieter’s style.

But let Luke go for it, let’s see…

• 104.4man: Reply to this comment

#100 Namblack
    You have it wrong he is in that league, the great equaller is his stopping skills, he also creates great tries, go and watch the games with an unbiased eye.

• 105.Jinx: Reply to this comment

4th man

Next to Sam Ramsamy, Peter Hain is an angel.

• 106.Pietman: Reply to this comment

103# ‘…to make room for him…’

• 107.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

when are you going and what u going to do?

I wish you luck and that you have every success that you hope for for the future….keo must be paying peanuts.

• 108.sondebok: Reply to this comment

Hey, are any of the western capers on the site going to the up the creek festival outside swellendam this weekend?

• 109.Pietman: Reply to this comment

4man
    Peter Hain is from Snorcity, what did you expect!!!

• 110.Namblack: Reply to this comment

He was never a legend, only maybe in Natal.

• 111.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Ig alive?? Out of action I presume or feeling a bit more forgiving seeing a lot more of my posts stayed on. Thanks!!!

Now how about GB and Cuz. Could’nt have beeen that bad

• 112.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Get GBS back on board!

• 113.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Funny cos I had lunch with both GBS and Ig at Foresters Arms in Newlands a while ago and they were both in good spirits.

Mmmmm, must be all that past lifetime karma. Must be when Grootblou came into Constantinople as a Roman and took Ig’s babe. No Turkish Delight there.

• 114.Pietman: Reply to this comment

sondebok 108#
    Not me, I am going up the ‘Liesbeeck Creek’ to Olsohn’s, there is a rugby pitch there I am dying to vist again.
    Swellendam can wait.

• 115.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Het GB Ig se nooi getrap Jinx? :shock:

• 116.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What’sgoingonhere

• 117.cane: Reply to this comment

#93.vloervreter.

We have a “one house” system.
    120 MP’s.
    Made up of 60 Party Appointees.(or List MP’s). And 60 Electorate MP’s.

Each Voter gets two votes. One for your Electorate, One for a Party.

• 118.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Cane Sounds a lot like the German system.

• 119.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

but is not GBS back already under a different nic???

• 120.Pietman: Reply to this comment

103# Sir Watson
    Pardon the typos, eish, I have to run, not built for this high speed typing on foreign keyboards.
    See you boys around.

• 121.Namblack: Reply to this comment

4man,
    I do not imply that BJ is not good because he is.
    But from rangermans post, he wants to justify him wanting a guarantee to a place in the bok team why he is not a legend at all…like Habanna for example.

• 122.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Lets have GBS back even though he tried to conspire to have me banned.

• 123.tight head: Reply to this comment

105. Jinx.
    100% right.
    Sam Ramsammy has done more to stuff up SA sport than anyone.
    Aquatics is a disaster and he is silently pulling all the strings in the background.

• 124.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Hallo Kwagga

Sê vir cousin ons campaign hard vir hom, maar IG wil nie eers daaroor praat.

Dis net so goed jy vee jou gat met kak af.

• 125.Namblack: Reply to this comment

Out for now!

• 126.rangerman: Reply to this comment

namblack
    you are welcome to your opinion and you are right on one thing, he is a legend in natal..oh ja, he has a WC winners medal too, unlike Dan.
    Butch did his talking on the field and i for one dig the guy. look how we missed him in the Baa baas game where our midfield was wide open!
    come back butchie!

• 127.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

#124 :lol: x100

• 128.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Tighthead

Sam Ramsamy is a little, teeny-weeny man with a huge chip. He is a mean spirited.

• 129.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Isigidi

Sien Ig issie meer lief vir Cuzzy nie.

Fukkit ek het nou lekker gelag jou simpel donner

• 130.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Butch is the best fly half SA has at the moment, full stop.

• 131.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What’s all this coziness and toenadering.

Leave them banned. They are the rudest bloggers around.

Onbeskof met g’n maniere nie.

• 132.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

#130 Gaan ver-steek-seker nie met jou stry op daai ene nie. Dinge nog sharp tussen die teels en die polish

• 133.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Hello gestreepte donkie.

• 134.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Dawn # 116

It’s not what’s going on here…It’s what’s going on.

Don’t change that Marvin Gaye thang susta.

• 135.rangerman: Reply to this comment

sheesh Namblack! i am not trying to justify anything! especially not a guaranteed place with the boks (who you dont support anyway!). merit merit merit! and if butchie is in the new coaches plans, then why not have him back in SA, at the sharks, winning games for us!

• 136.cab: Reply to this comment

yip vloervreter, agree.

• 137.katman: Reply to this comment

They can wash our feet like Etienne Vlok and we might think about it.

• 138.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Katman

I think you mean Adriaan Vlok.

• 139.katman: Reply to this comment

That’s him. Just testing you, Jinx. But you’re still razor sharp.

• 140.rangerman: Reply to this comment

did i mention that butch didnt give away ONE penalty at the wc. his defense was outstanding……whoops, starting to sound like Tac and his Spies worship!
    i’ll stop now.

• 141.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Katman

My tjommie!!!!!!!!!!!!! I won’t let the Kat family down. It’s a lynx to a leopard ding.

• 142.FoxAche: Reply to this comment

Have you thought that maybe Butch needs that “guarantee” to be released from his Bath contract? He most likely has a clause in his contract which will enable him to be released for Bok duty, so the “gtee” concept is not that foreign.

• 143.Dawn: Reply to this comment

katman’s feet have been washed by the brothers Etienne and Adriaan Vlok, and I, as the devoted domestic servant, have to wash his feet every night.

• 144.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ag, bring back cuzzy and gbs!
    i know there was some needling but i think we all grew as people, learnt about different viewpoints and were endlessly amused by the brawls on keo.
    i KNOW Dawn actually misses them.

• 145.cab: Reply to this comment

on hain, our old lot tried to frame him and send him a letter bomb in the mail, nice, lovely ppl.

That TRC gave some of those murderers a free pass which they should not have been entitled too, but hey Tutu is a great man. not sure forgiveness is correct for certain things.

• 146.Jinx: Reply to this comment

I think we should all meet you at Forries for a farwell lunch. Would be nice. What you t’ink?

• 147.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Oops…farewell lunch.

• 148.katman: Reply to this comment

Ah Jinx, stealth of a lynx with knowing winks and all the power of Michael Spinx. :)

• 149.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

#144 Right you are. I’m fairly certain Cuzzy got rid of ‘visvoet’ ‘snoekie’ etc from his vocabulary.

C’mon Ig. How about a week trail period for the both of them and see how they behave……….

• 150.Pietman: Reply to this comment

I say we vote, so far it is three against Cuzzy and GBS, the rest are all for their re-admittance.
    To all of of you who mailed me, I can’t repy right now, hotmail down over here.
    Will reply later.

• 151.Dawn: Reply to this comment

rangerman

For the first time … you’re wrong!

I miss them like a hole in the head.

• 152.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Who is the new webbie nerd.

• 153.myball: Reply to this comment

Ryan…. None of the sort was ever said by Butch – this story holds absolutely no truth in it whatsoever! A very missleading article!! Maybe get hold of the man for comment!

• 154.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ok dawnie!
    i just threw that in there as a tester. i see you are unmoved and unmoveable so i shall cease and desist!

• 155.rangerman: Reply to this comment

myball
    whats your source?

• 156.rangerman: Reply to this comment

got tickets for kingsmead on friday! whohhhhhoooooo!

• 157.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

#155 His ball of course!

• 158.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Whoops Ryan

The company-owned Corsa Lite is no longer available to you, please take pay cut as from end February.

• 159.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

#156 Got tickets for Wanderers :-D

• 160.myball: Reply to this comment

Butch himself.

• 161.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Wooooooooooo

Sweating there Ryan?
    So IG, why don’t you get hold of Ryan and ask him what he was smoking when he wrote this column.

Myball says he’s talking kak, just as I thought.

• 162.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

You know him personally Myball?

• 163.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

It’s gonna be tough for Peter to guarantee him a place, when he openly stated that no one is guaranteed a place, and will be judged on form. So all depends on how Butch plays when he comes back from injury, and if Peter will be able to select overseas players later on. Guaranteeing Butch as spot would go against what he has said and would be unfair on any number 10 who is performing well and has set his sights on a Bok call up.

• 164.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

3 more nights on Swedish soil, looking forward to the warmth of SA.

• 165.rangerman: Reply to this comment

kwagga
    enjoy the wanderers and be sure to bid polly farewell! gonna be an emotional day (for the ladies of course) at kingsmead on friday!

myball
    what part is kuk? is butch interested in coming back to SA? is he only interested in the boks?
    what is he thinking about when he has that vacant look on his face? uh…..thats it for now.

• 166.Dawn: Reply to this comment

As we speak Ryan is being dragged kicking and screaming to the Tudor Hotel (pay-by-the-hour) for a lobotomy.

• 167.rangerman: Reply to this comment

umbhoxo
    its not warm, its sweltering! sunscreen and a hat mate, thats my advice after your sunless swedish sojourn.

• 168.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

halloooo everyone…….C’mon Ig, bring back GBS and Cuzzy!!!! You are leaving in any case so what do you care? and weren’t you and GBS mates at sum stage?

• 169.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

#166 LOL

• 170.rangerman: Reply to this comment

they do lobotomies there too dawn?

• 171.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

That vacant look – hahahahaha – must be the Ritalin kicking in.

Bet yah my bottom dollar Butch was a blerrie busy child, must have given his mom a few gray hairs.

But he’s goooooooood.

• 172.Dawn: Reply to this comment

myball

You can’t just come on here and say a story is kuk without counter argument.

Back up your statement with something concrete.

Otherwise I will ban you.

• 173.myball: Reply to this comment

Ryan… an absolute load of kak! Get hold of Butch for comment. He’s not happy!

• 174.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

171…Am in full agreement, have always liked him and it was just a pity he lost the way for a few years when his judgement failed him, but man he can play

• 175.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

umbhoxoswede

This game ranger entertains a Swedish group in the park and afterwards a young attractive Swedish girl started getting friendly with him.
    One thing leads to another and eventually rangerman, with an appetite of a lion was doing his thing.
    The girl struggles to keep up with rangerman and eventually whispered: I’m finish, I’m finish!
    To which rangerman replies: Don’t lie to me, you’re Swedish!

• 176.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Myball = Butch James

• 177.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ja gb…sorry vloervreter!
    you know the look i am talking about.
    but he is good. ek stem saam.

• 178.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

171 – anyway miles better and more solid than AP

• 179.myball: Reply to this comment

What more do you want than a phone call!

• 180.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

rangerdude,

Yeah, I know the “vacant” look you’re talking about, your comment was blerrie funny though.

• 181.rangerman: Reply to this comment

lol isigidi!
    n my time as a rangerman, there were a few young “imports” but……dis nou ‘n ander storie!

• 182.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Nou spat die kak!!

• 183.happyhooker2: Reply to this comment

#165 & 171
    The vacant look = when the voices in his head are back…

• 184.Dawn: Reply to this comment

rangerman

The Monarchs have a room set aside just for lobotomies on errant bloggers and journos.

• 185.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Dis daai kyk soos n hond wat skyt……..kyk ver maar sien fukol!!

• 186.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Baai for now!
    The troops are far to quite to my liking. Time to kick some arse.

• 187.Namblack: Reply to this comment

GBS: I`m open to coming home.

Until the end of 2006 JW still was not sure about his firts choice flyhalve no matter what he told everyone.
    The bok management went through a lot of trouble to get rid of JP`s injuries before RWC.BJ was the obvious second choice.

• 188.rangerman: Reply to this comment

thanks vloerie!

isigidi
    i once had a young pommie bird ask me to take her out for a “night drive” and make love to her”sort of like close to a bunch of lions yea”. lol, sure recipe for disaster if those lions thought we were making distress calls!

• 189.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Isigidi,

rangerdude is soos ‘n hommelby man, hy kan nie meer steek nie, kan nie meer heuning maak nie en hang net aan die ou koek !

PS! Wat doen ‘n muskiet as hy bo op ‘n lelike girl te lande kom – hy steek nie, hy byt haar !

• 190.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#185 kwagga! lmao!

• 191.Dawn: Reply to this comment

A phone call?

OOoooooo. Are we supposed to be impressed?

Butch called you?

What are you. The ombudsman for rugby websites?

• 192.rangerman: Reply to this comment

thanks dawnie, will be sure to cross the tudor hotel off my list of places to stay!

• 193.Namblack: Reply to this comment

JP = AP

• 194.Dawn: Reply to this comment

rangerman

I compile the list for lobotomies.

You’re not on it.

So, you are welcome to utilise your lunch hours profitably at the Tudor (pay-by-the-hour).

• 195.rangerman: Reply to this comment

welcome myball to the wonderful world of dawn! she can bite but if you are nice she will spread sunshine around.

• 196.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

I think we are all missing the point of this Article though, I think all the Saffas in the Brittish leagues are already tired of Muddy Isle and the Soap Dodgers and the nasty weather, I think they all wish they were back here in SA.

• 197.rangerman: Reply to this comment

glad to hear i am not on the list dawn! also hopefully no hummers stalking me on the dark load shed streets.
    i have left my wild youth behind and am now a happily married man…but if i can convince the wife……nah, long drive to cape town!

• 198.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What’s wrong with some women!

“Oh please make love to me near the lions.”

Duh!

Ai caramba.

• 199.4man: Reply to this comment

Pietman
    I vote for reinstatement of GBS and Cuzzy. When its rugby time they stop talking nonsense anyway and they are both very knowledgable, particularly GBS.
    For the record, I dont think ANYONE should be guaranteed a place in a National side, it should be merit, ability and current form, notwithstanding the ability to act as an ambassador for your country.

• 200.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

anyone want a game of cricket…you know where to go…my registered guest name is “BOLLOCKS”

• 201.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Hello Sammajoor 4-man

• 202.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

198 Dawn

When you are with a man the only thing that rises is the SUN.

• 203.4man: Reply to this comment

Rangerman
    MAKE LOVE TO ME NEAR THE LIONS

So did you give her shots at Ellis Park then?

• 204.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Well-chosen.

You speak it 99% of the time.

• 205.4man: Reply to this comment

#201 Vloervreter

Have you got blue eyes and related to Jannie Geldenhuys?

• 206.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

Howzit Wallabie
    Long time no seen. How are you doing these fine days?

• 207.rangerman: Reply to this comment

lol 4man! way too dangerous. although no one would notice as the stadium is empty.

• 208.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Who chooses BOLLOCKS as a registered guest name anyway.

Nogal in capitals ook.

• 209.4man: Reply to this comment

#201 Rangerman
    Google “Terry the Lion”
    You might know his story anyway.
    Let me know if you get the site.
    I think the Sharks youngsters are going to have a great year. I’m just a trifle disquited by the 2nd row.

• 210.rangerman: Reply to this comment

wallabie was just showing his class.

• 211.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

Dawn I take it that you are not overly fond of old Wallabie? :D

• 212.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

4-man

Het jy al mail probeer download?

• 213.4teen: Reply to this comment

I know they will use the old laws for the first few test but if they intent using the new laws quick… these oversees players might be a liability when playing amongst players that were already playing the new rules for the whole s14.

Plus… BJ might be considered the best by some for now, but it’s an ideal time to get a young #10’s in the fold like Pienaar or some other chap that decides to stick up his hand.

BJ will not play come the next WC.

I believe in MERIT and loyalty… If you want to be a Bok, you come and play here!!!

• 214.NIF: Reply to this comment

Howzit – is anyone opening a name on Superbru where all the bloggers on keo can make their picks and see who is the best with the guessing game or the best knowledgeable!

I also vote bring the two vlou bulle back – aka GBS and Couzi…

• 215.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

Hey Vloerie, hoe gaan dit met jou? join ons met die noodroep na Ig dat hy ou GBS en Cuzzy weer re-instate!!!!

• 216.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Hello EEE maiki, wat maak jy?

• 217.Pietman: Reply to this comment

umboxhoswede
    Can’t get through on your mail.
    I left a message higher up on this thread.
    You still want to game to Newlands?
    Let me know if I should hold on to those tickets please….and clean out your yahoo mail box!

• 218.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

Ek verlang na GBS en Cuzzy.

• 219.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

GBS tried to get me banned…but hey one forgets…lets have him back…he is King of foot in mouth.

But then is he ‘Vloervreter’?

• 220.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Wallaby I see on the other thread Shaun the *** has taken a break? They don’t make them Aussies like they used to hey?

• 221.rangerman: Reply to this comment

4man
    got it. good story. love the part about feeding a completely wild lion! the chap is lucky he didnt get eaten. lol!
    good picks too. looks like terry was about 3-4 yrs old in those picks. he wouldnt have a mane like that in a wild pride as the growth is prevented as their daddies might kill them if they are seen as a threat.
    sharks youngsters are the business under muir. canny operater that man.
    apparently, **** used to come back for pre season training wearing a shirt two sizes too small and having not been out in the sun for a week or two. Ian Mac would kuk him out and he would promise to get in shape. for the next two weeks he would do training and play plenty of golf and then start wearing a jersey the rigt size or even one size too big.
    Mac would see the tan and the change in the fit of jersey and reckon old dickie had been training like a trojan, even holding him up as an example to his teammates! lol, clever chap.

• 222.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

Die Blou Bul slaap nie by net een vrou nie,

Die Blou Bul skrik nie vir ‘n spyker nie,

Die Blou Bul raps alles wat nie hardloop nie,

nou vra ek jou wie gaan Steve keer!

Koor:

Ek gaan jou dogter raps, ek is ‘n Bul.

Ek gaan jou sussie raps, ek is ‘n Bul

Ek gaan jou mamma raps, ek is ‘n Bul

en jou ouma en haar pel en die hele blerrie spul !

• 223.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

hey honjoppe!

• 224.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Wallabie take it easy. You had one small victory over him (if you can call it that)

Most of the time he had you fukced out all over the show. Don’t be diktril about something when that person is’nt here to back himself up.

• 225.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

gaan goed dankie, net lekker besig, blog so tussen die werk deur!!!!

• 226.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

The name is just aptly used to amuse your simple mind.

enjoy it

• 227.rangerman: Reply to this comment

sheesh trip
    maybe ruck is onto something when she gaans aan about you bulls gals!

• 228.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Hello bloudraad

• 229.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

Hi daar BB…..hoe gaan dit vandag?

#224 :D

• 230.pauld: Reply to this comment

You still in here ?

• 231.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

I did not have a win over him…he defeated himself that day.

• 232.rangerman: Reply to this comment

bluebarb you cracker!
    has the wind stopped blowing yet in your area?

• 233.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

#227 LOL Rangerman, I just couldn’t resist it, has been doing the rounds on the email……nogal skerp het ek gedink

• 234.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

O hel die drol gaan nie eers weet wat diktril beteken nie……….aaaaag sy hol in elk geval

Dagsê Honjop. Jy nog fighting fit na gister

• 235.rangerman: Reply to this comment

he snatched defeat from the jaws of victory!

• 236.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

233 and besides I do think Ruck would enjoy it….

• 237.rangerman: Reply to this comment

kinda like punting and his bunch of degenerate, foul mouthed cricket boyos eh walla?

• 238.rangerman: Reply to this comment

lady ruck would love it!

• 239.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

235 – and delegs and dehands and deknees and…..

• 240.NIF: Reply to this comment

EEE – dit kon net ‘n bul wees wat weer sulke **** kan uitdink!!

BB – was dit nie jy wat oor Superbru die ander dag gepraat het nie??

• 241.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

NIF – Nee jong moes ‘n wie pee gewees het!!!

• 242.shooter: Reply to this comment

wallabay thickskull, i’ve seen how you argue. and whatever.

• 243.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Most of the time he had you fukced out all over the show. Don’t be diktril about something when that person is’nt here to back himself up.

Comment by KWAGGA ROBERTSE : January 29, 2008 @ 2:39 pm

If that was the case then why did GBS and Pietman try and have me banned behind my back…is that not cowardly…when I cant defend myself.
    This was on the basis on what he said and none of my doing.
    I did not put the words in his mouth over that incident I just took him to task.

Mate it works both ways…u cant ask me not to say things when he cant defend but then does worse.

• 244.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

242 shooter

doodums….dry your eyes mate!

• 245.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

Play nice boys!!!!!

• 246.NIF: Reply to this comment

Ja jy is seker reg EEE maar dan ook as dit hulle was sou deer meer oor mans gewees het – jy weet mos hulle like van “you bend I send” besigheid….

• 247.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

hey am i missing a Barney?!

• 248.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

246 hahahahaha :D

• 249.pauld: Reply to this comment

#247 BB

Just a girlie session of handbags

• 250.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

Walla
    I’m on Keo almost every day, when did Pietman and GBS try to get you banned? And why?

• 251.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Walla
    Piss off, leave Pietman out of it.
    If I want to say something to you, I will do it straight on, right here.
    The last place I wanna be is at an Aussie’s backside, the front view is bad enough.

• 252.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

247 nee BB is net Walla en almal wat mekaar bietjie aanvat

• 253.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Hell I’m playing golf at Pecanwood tomorrow, I suppose I have to either visit the driving range now or buy plenty spare balls tomorrow.

• 254.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

hey TripE!

one of my posts was removed from yesterday’s thread, and i can only think its because i said: “a moer of a”

how sad is that?

• 255.shooter: Reply to this comment

this little “personal” battle still niggling you. You said so many things that were so wrong that I am not surprised. I actually remember a bit of it. Not knowing all the detail. but Wallabie, your comments at some times are so irratating, witout grounds and plainly uninformed, twisted out of context, derogatory and directly affronting concerning things that doesn’t involve you.. that I will second those actions anytime.

the one or two times that you are “bantering” is not worth putting up with the rest of your ****. This has got nothing to do with the fact that I know you are a second class citizen according to recent research that deals with behavioural similarities between people and nonmatter.

• 256.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Kingpaul

This is a topic for another day.

but I have it that this is the truth.

remind me later but I gotta go

• 257.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

251 Pietman het jy nie ‘n mêêêêssage vir Walla nie :D

• 258.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

shooter 255

It is not and I only responded to Kwagga…shooter wake up mate…I am inviting him back.

• 259.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

254, just plain pathetic….hehehe, anyway cheers all, gotta go

• 260.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

howcome that wallabie, gladys, dingo is always at the centre of strife?

• 261.Pietman: Reply to this comment

257# Tripples
    Nee, f#k hom, ek is juis besig hier met twee nikswerd Ozzies aan wie ek my besigheid agterlaat terwyl ek op vakansie is, swoeg al heeldag met die wetters.
    Praat so oor n halfuur weer, laat ek net gou ‘op cash’ hier.

• 262.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Bahhhhhhsically I think all this fighting is not necessary.

• 263.shooter: Reply to this comment

258, who is this is?

• 264.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

Ek dink Walla is ‘n skaapwagter van formaat.
    Ons moet dalk nog ‘n poll hier hou, een vir die terugkeer van gbs en cuzzy, en die ander vir die verwydering van alle skaapliefhebbers.
    Ons ruil jou walla vir gbs en cuzzy, en bring sommer vir Stan ook terug.

• 265.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Die liefde vir Gee BEE eSsss en die Cuzmeister loop dik hier maar die liefde vir die skeermesmisbruiker nie, wonder hoekom?

• 266.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

vloerie,
    a goeie fight is net so nodig soos brood en water.

• 267.shooter: Reply to this comment

die vent is ‘n skaap in skaapsklere. enige oomblik kan hy die grootste twak kwytraak. en hy verbeel homself hy is ‘n ere burger omdat sy vrou lank terug hier gebly het. en dan baie slim. ernstige probleme om van die blog af te bly as hy eers gesuip het.

• 268.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

ons lewens is heeltemal te steriel, ons het n bietjie uitlaat nodig..

• 269.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

255 shooter

You really need to lighten up mate!

• 270.shooter: Reply to this comment

ok, walla, just stay the lightweight you are. assume the position

• 271.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

wat beteken die feit dat sy vrou hier gebly het?

my skoonma bly ook hier, wat is sy punt?

• 272.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

Ek het sopas goeie nuus gekry. GBS gaan na die 31 Januarie terugkom as die nuwe webmaster!!! Hieeehaaaa!!!!

• 273.rangerman: Reply to this comment

hey! walla!
    i thought you were off? dont say cheers and then hang around waiting top see if anyone cares. its sad.

• 274.NIF: Reply to this comment

Walla is not so bad! his better than tacitus!!!!

BB – wat se jy my vlou bul ondersteuner??

• 275.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

shooter

Its nice to know that I am irritating you…lovely…job done.

Go to bed and hopefully the new day will be better for you.

• 276.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

ranger

I was gone but then back…this thread is about to get exciting.

remeber the REDS might give the Bulls some stick.

The Brumbies will definitely so…brumbies to finish the round robin in the top 4.

• 277.rangerman: Reply to this comment

hop along walla! S14 time cometh and you will have nowhere to hide when the sharks come knocking.

• 278.shooter: Reply to this comment

275, well, you don’t want to know the category of things that irritate me. that’s the point, if your purpose here is to irritate, i get that impression.

• 279.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ha ha walla! the Reds? couldnt beat their granma at tiddlywinks buddy. what makes you think the ozzie sides have suddenly got sooooo much better?
    must be hope, something that apparently springs eternal.

• 280.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Nif

You see some here just dont get it…..I just react and push the buttons they dont want pushing.

I will talk rugby and be nice to whom are nice or polite.

• 281.Fern: Reply to this comment

#275.talking of going to bed,whats the time there by you now???

• 282.Bod: Reply to this comment

Ignatious

Is that you deleting my posts??

• 283.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

How is the new coach of the Reds, anybody know much about him?

The Reds have depth problems once again, should be wooden spoonests this year!

• 284.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

NIF, vlou bul jou tannie se gat man!

• 285.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

ranger

It gets people going..mention the worst team in the comp and that they will beat the best saffa team…it a brilliant concotion that works.

debate begins!

• 286.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

England team for Saturday:
    15 Iain Balshaw (Gloucester), 14 Paul Sackey (Wasps), 13 Mike Tindall (Gloucester), 12 Toby Flood (Newcastle), 11 David Strettle (Harlequins), 10 Jonny Wilkinson (Newcastle), 9 Andy Gomarsall (Harlequins), 8 Luke Narraway (Gloucester) 7 Lewis Moody (Leicester), 6 James Haskell (Wasps), 5 Steve Borthwick (Bath), 4 Simon Shaw (Wasps), 3 Phil Vickery (Wasps) (c), 2 Mark Regan (Bristol), 1 Andrew Sheridan (Sale Sharks).
    Replacements: 16 Lee Mears (Bath), 17 Matt Stevens (Bath), 18 Ben Kay (Leicester), 19 Tom Rees (Wasps), 20 Richard Wigglesworth (Sale Sharks), 21 Danny Cipriani (Wasps), 22 Lesley Vainikolo (Gloucester).

• 287.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

i dont think they will be wooden spoonest…even though I hope they do just to rile some of the QLders.

One will see an improved Reds…becareful!

Thats all I say.

Keep a close eye on how they do against the blues this weekend…should tell us something.

• 288.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Fern
    Dit is 11 nm in Walla Valley, maar sy Saffa vrou het hom seker weer by die bed uitgeskop, die luisgat.
    Sy berou seker die dag dat sy met laaggeteelde afstammeling getrou het.

• 289.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

Wales team for Saturday:
    15 Lee Byrne (Ospreys), 14 Mark Jones (Scarlets), 13 Sonny Parker (Ospreys), 12 Gavin Henson (Ospreys), 11 Shane Williams (Ospreys), 10 James Hook (Ospreys), 9 Mike Phillips (Ospreys), 8 Ryan Jones (c) (Ospreys), 7 Martyn Williams (Cardiff Blues), 6 Jonathan Thomas (Ospreys), 5 Ian Gough (Ospreys), 4 Alun Wyn-Jones (Ospreys), 3 Duncan Jones (Ospreys), 2 Huw Bennett (Ospreys), 1 Adam Jones (Ospreys).
    Replacements: 16 Matthew Rees (Scarlets), 17 Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), 18 Ian Evans (Ospreys), 19 Alix Popham (Scarlets), 20 Gareth Cooper (Gloucester), 21 Stephen Jones (Scarlets), 22 Tom Shanklin (Cardiff Blues).

• 290.Bod: Reply to this comment

Let me try again…

Vreter

The only thing that is going to get vreted at Pecanwood are your provees. I suggest you stock up aplenty… (Now what is wrong with that??)

Waar is daai f….n (OK, so I did swear) agenda en gastelys van jou. We need to prepare… (now confirm as to why this is a deleteable post Ignatious)

• 291.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I am always here.

• 292.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

Ireland team for Saturday:
    15 Girvan Dempsey (Leinster), 14 Andrew Trimble (Ulster), Brian O’Driscoll (Leinster, captain), 12 Gordan D’Arcy (Leinster), 11 Geordan Murphy (Leicester), 10 Ronan O’Gara (Munster), 9 Eoin Reddan (Wasps), 8 Denis Leamy (Munster), 7 David Wallace (Munster), 6 Simon Easterby (Llanelli), 5 Malcolm O’Kelly (Leinster), 4 Donncha O’Callaghan (Munster), 3 John Hayes (Munster), 2 Rory Best (Ulster), 1 Marcus Horan (Munster),
    Replacements: 16 Bernard Jackman (Leinster), 17 Tony Buckley (Munster), 18 Mick O’Driscoll (Munster), 19 Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Peter Stringer (Munster), Paddy Wallace (Ulster), Rob Kearney (Leinster).

• 293.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Shooter

I will explain in simple language…if u are looking to be irritated…you will get irritated!!!

you get it now?

• 294.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

walla,
    doesnt it bother you that the worst team in the comp is a aus team?

• 295.rangerman: Reply to this comment

hah walla, now i know you are stirring “the best saffa team”.who is the best ozzie team? you seem to pin your hopes to the brumbies when they only have mortlock left and even he is long in the tooth. for interest sake, check out butch james vs stirling mortlock on youtube.
    whos your daddy?

• 296.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Evening Boys & Dawn :-)

• 297.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

if this rabid dingo was a frog he’d be called Voila.

• 298.NIF: Reply to this comment

walla – which Oz team do you support? don’t think the Brumbies will do that well, they will take a while to impress without Georgie and Larkham. Western Force has a good coach and they did well last year so I recon they could be the Auzie threat this year.

• 299.Fern: Reply to this comment

Pietman is hy laaggeteel of ingeteel?

• 300.Ig: Reply to this comment

282 – nope.

164 – Jinx – would be happy to.

Dawn, new webbie nerd?!?!? Hahah i am sure he would like that

• 301.pauld: Reply to this comment

#291 Dawn

Been wanting to post this for a while.

An English guy and an Afrikaans guy were neighbours. The English guy had a handsome son and the Afrikaans dude had a gorgeous daughter. They , with their respective parents permission , went on a date one night. They were told to be at home by midnight.

At midnight no sign of the pair. The English father went over to the Afrikaans father and the two of them paced up and down the Afrikaans guy’s stoep. The hours slowly passed.

At one point the English guy looked to the Eastern horizon just as the first rays of sun started to appear. He turned to the Afrikaans father and said : Dawn is Nigh.

The Afrikaans father replied :

Ek weet die donners na*i , ek wens net ek het geweet waar !

• 302.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ja Nif, but only if the dirty aussies shorten the posts again so ruans kicks are all judged not to have gone through. shocker that one was!

• 303.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

It does not bother me at all because S14 is about province/state teams.
    We dont mind the QLDers losing a bit.

But then again they have to do alot of losing to beat Blue Bull records.

Bulls wooden spoonest record holders….and longest losing streak.

I have it on good authority that the bulls are not going to do well this year…their ‘messiah’ has moved on and some players are ‘g.tv.l’

• 304.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

fern,
    wallabie’s genepool is as deep as a puddle in a KFC parking lot.

• 305.NIF: Reply to this comment

BB – nou wat het my tannie nou aan jou gedoen??

vlou bul
    blou vul, take your pick…

• 306.shooter: Reply to this comment

wallabie, ignorant Australians dont irritate me. you just confirm what I think of the general populice of Australia. I pity you for having to live through life as an aussie. honestly, I don’t see how one can have such a shallow existence and be so content.

• 307.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Yeesh BOLLOCKS

You still here?

Evening RP.

• 308.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Dear Abby ,
    I have never written to you before, but I really need your advice. I have suspected for some time now that my wife has been cheating on me. The usual signs; phone rings but if I answer, the caller hangs up. My wife has been going out with ‘the girls’ a lot recently although when I ask their names she always says, just some friends from work, you don’t know them.’

I always try to stay awake to look out for her coming home, but I usually fall asleep. Anyway, I have never approached the subject with my wife. I think deep down I just did not want to know the truth, but last night she went out again and I decided to check on her finally.

Around midnight, I decided to hide in the garage behind my golf clubs so I could get a good view of the whole street when she arrived home from a night out with ‘the girls.’ When she got out of the car she was buttoning up her blouse, which was open, and she took her panties out of her purse and slipped them on.

It was at that moment, crouching behind my golf clubs, that I noticed a hairline crack where the grip meets the graphite shaft on my 3-wood. Is this something I can or should try to fix myself, or should I take it back to the pro-shop where I bought it and try to get a refund?

Signed,
    Perplexed in PHOENIX

• 309.pauld: Reply to this comment

#306 Shooter

Was that intentional ? popu-LICE as opposed to popu-LACE ?

• 310.Jinx: Reply to this comment

This Friday arvie??? Would be great.

ATTENTION CAPE TOWN BLOGGERS:

Bloggers in the Cape area…we are meeting Ig for lunch and refreshments at The Forester’s Arms in Newlands Ave. From 1pm onwards.

Can you make it guys and Dawn and Ruck. It would be lekker.

Who would like to come? Relaxed and chilled.

• 311.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Bod,

Cuzmeister is heeltyd of by die pro om sy allemintige gholfswing verder te verfyn anders is hy op die gholfbaan (soos op die oomblik) ek het al verskeie boodskappe vir hom gelaat om my te bel sodat ek die trein nommer en presiese aankomstye kan kry vir Slaapstad stasie.

Ons het reeds ‘n Merc Stasiewa gehuur om ons hotel toe te neem, maar nog vervoer sal welkom wees want anders moet ons verskeie trips doen, hang bal daarso, die reelings sal deugegee word, moenie worry nie.

• 312.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

Wallabie, if i had one vote for everytime someone on this site told me in Jan/feb how kuk the bulls are going to be this year for a myriad of reasons, i’d be freaking president.

• 313.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Yes Ig, the new webbie nerd!

Please do not give the poor bugger any preconceptions!

He has to learn …. the HARD way.

• 314.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Nif

The 2 aussie teams this year are NSW ans Force but I really wont be surprised if the reds pull off a few surprises.

I support the Brumbies and I dont have any expectations as they have a new team but they have some really good players.
    I think they will surprise a lot of people.

we had many injuries and rested many players at different stages in the ais S14 teams so that disrupted a lot of the combinations no excuse for 2007 but looks good for 2008.

i reckon australia will be competitive again come 2009.

• 315.shooter: Reply to this comment

309, hehe. indeed. also, “I” exempt 5% Aussies on that score, ex RPrincess.

• 316.pauld: Reply to this comment

#314 Walla

Need to find some decent props before they can even contemplate being competitive again

• 317.Bod: Reply to this comment

Ah, the return of Herman Charles Bosman…

• 318.Ig: Reply to this comment

310 – Cool, let me know if it happens.

BB – Its till deeper than fernlys

• 319.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

lmao, Princess- classic.

no-brainer though, get a new club.

• 320.NIF: Reply to this comment

have a good one boyz and girlz – will chat soon, must go!!

BB – my tannie se hallo

• 321.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

312 Blue

I wonder why that is…from my side of the ocean it is quite humerous seeing the ranting unfold…all the angst about the bulls.

I think it comes with the territory…if your team is the most successful in SA the rest will be jealous.

• 322.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

will you ******** take some photo’s of the outing so the guys like me who has to keep the economy going while you lot galavant can live vicariously through your adventures?

seriously, someone get some pics and mail them to me..

• 323.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

pauld

mate..finding props wont be a problem…if they are fat and can bend they will be in the wallabies…the rest of the team will get the job done.

• 324.Ig: Reply to this comment

Jinx….Fire mans Arms?

• 325.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

Nif, ek het nog haar kleingeld… lol

• 326.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Firemans Arms is good too. Perhaps better for those who work in town.

• 327.pauld: Reply to this comment

Firemans Arms makes the best Pizzas in Cape Town. Beat any other place hands down. Was my local for about 12 years.

And if you like Eisbein then walk towards Green Point traffic dept and stop in at Vasco’s (The Portugese Embassy)

• 328.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

323, so what you are saying is your wallabies are looking for some fatties so that the rest of the team can bend them over and get the job done?

• 329.pauld: Reply to this comment

#328 BB

There was once a rumour that Michael Lynagh and Ewen MacKenzie were more than just mates if you know what I mean. Anybody else ever hear that ?

• 330.Bod: Reply to this comment

Jinx/Ig

Make it the Firemans… a lot more accessable. I am sure BuckT and the katman will be able to make it as well then.

• 331.Dawn: Reply to this comment

The Monarchs budget will be stretched to the limit on Friday.

• 332.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

hey, these are Bulls fans you’re talking about, take them to a pap&vleis joint!

if its not entirely obvious, i’m green with envy at not being able to go.

• 333.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

306 shooter

You are hilarious!!

• 334.Ig: Reply to this comment

Just a thought Jinx, happy to drink beer in the Sun anywhere if push comes to shove.

• 335.Bod: Reply to this comment

pauld

I am the mayor of Vasco’s… You still in town?

• 336.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I vote we all go to the Tudor Hotel.

• 337.katman: Reply to this comment

327 – Now you’re talking. Spend the afternoon back at the office reeking of garlic trinchada sauce and lager. Mmmm…

• 338.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

pauld, the answer is in the question, Lynach couldnt help himself. to be fair to Michael, “EWE”n is not a fair name in australia..

• 339.pauld: Reply to this comment

#335 Bod

No. I live in London. But will be in CT from 15-25 and then again 29 Feb-2 March. Always up for a trip to Vasco. Being the mayor of Vasco you must be GK or Bryn

• 340.Pietman: Reply to this comment

pauld
    I think you I should stay from the traffic dept’s!
    Let’s rather be save and go down to Pedro’s in the harbour…CFG that is.

• 341.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Shooter
    Bite your tongue – Australian my a*se :!:

Bod
    Bertie had a good day today browsing Cathay flights schedules & voting on Keo :-)

BB
    Good to know your priorities :( Followed by “guys like me who has to keep the economy” ? MWahahahahaaaa :lol:

• 342.pauld: Reply to this comment

#340 Piteman

Make in Pearley’s in Langes

• 343.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Ig’s Blogger jol for all you Cape Town mob.

Where: The Firemans Arms in Cape Town
    When: Friday 1st Feb
    Time: From 1pm onwards.

Who wants to come? Even for one drink.

Come on all you WP folk and Katman and any other Lions, Bulls, Sharks, Cheetahs supporters…pull in.

• 344.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

i havent had any volunteers re- the photo’s

Dawnertjie, you got the job! you have my addy, and you have your assignment.

• 345.rangerman: Reply to this comment

cheers all.

• 346.Pietman: Reply to this comment

342#Paul
    Up to you bro.
    Riviera at the ‘Drif’ is also cool, there by Kiewiet Bester.

• 347.pauld: Reply to this comment

#338 QUALITY

• 348.katman: Reply to this comment

And I agree on Fireman’s Arms pizzas. None of this gourmet **** with smoked squirrel nuts, seaweed and tofu on a base that’s barely 3 microns thick. We’re talking real pizza dripping with calories. And when they HOT they mean hot as a muddafukka.

• 349.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Pauld

If you are insinuiating that they are *** or had *** relations…you have been misinformed!!

• 350.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

Wat van Ernie’s Pub in Gansbaai??

• 351.pauld: Reply to this comment

#346 Pietman

I know the Riviera in Velle’drif

Only problem is that its the only place in the world where you go to a fight and a party breaks out

• 352.Jinx: Reply to this comment

The line is drawn…it’s the Firemans Arms.

Let others know through the week.

Come on okes. Lets doen it.

• 353.Pietman: Reply to this comment

3513 Pauld
    That’s why I say it is a ‘cool’ place, LOL!

• 354.pauld: Reply to this comment

#349 Wally

You reckon ?

• 355.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

I thought this was a rugby blog…
    Anyone see the game that Butch dislocated his elbow in?
    I was really battling to stay awake. Brent Russell scored two tries and the two Bath tries were COMPLETELY his fault.
    DW Barry didn’t even make thte starting team and Peter Dixon came on as a late replacement and did nothing.
    The Guinness Premiership is nowhere. Its no wonder Butch is shining there.

• 356.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Sorry I can’t make it, I’m busy on Friday. Hahaha

• 357.pauld: Reply to this comment

If any of you lot are in CT on the 29th of Feb I’d be happy to buy you a beer at either Firemans or Vasco’s

• 358.Bod: Reply to this comment

Pauld

No neither. I just know Graham from my Durban days and George is… well… just a legend.

Give us a shout when in town… we’ll have no problem rustling up a few for a good, greasy Portuguese meal washed down with some life giving katembas.

Princess

Vasco is the kinda place I need to drag you into. It makes Joe Bananas look like the Ritz…

Flight is booked. Arrive Hong Kong Febuary 13th 7.30am, flight CX 417… Bert and Dad… Make sure you meet us at the airport

• 359.4man: Reply to this comment

Rangerman

I heard later on they had to shoot Terry, I haven’t been able to get a confirmation on that. Apparently he became too belligerent. I’ll find out for you if you like. But the night of the “minister” was hilarious….the ou’s were naughty those days (I’m sure they still are).
    I have a feeling you were in one of those units (my 6th sense working), am I right?

• 360.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Is Firemans for slegs blankes?

• 361.shooter: Reply to this comment

341, oops.. then that % drops to 2%. sorry Princess :D

• 362.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

252 Pietman

Someone here, a regular. told me you and GBS did try and get me banned…you two had a sook about something.

• 363.Pietman: Reply to this comment

352# Jinxie
    Would love to go visit the ol’ Fire Man’s Arms again (it has been 10 years since I have been), but I will only be in CT the following week.
    So, we will just have to do it again sometime, maybe at Newlands?

• 364.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Shame who’s Terry and why’d he get shot?

• 365.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Pull in. We always need a bediende to clean the ashtrays etc.

• 366.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Pietman how come I ain’t invited to Newlands?

• 367.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Is the Fireman’s Arms still at the same spot, near that half finished bridge overhang in Roggebaai, across from all those fancy hotels?

• 368.pauld: Reply to this comment

#358 Bod

You got an email address where i can get in touch ?

• 369.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Are there lots of firemen?

I mean real firemen?

• 370.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Is Captain Danger still in the hood? Haven’t heard from him for 9 lightyears.

• 371.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Vloervreter

I heard murmurs that you are GBS…any substance to the story?

• 372.pauld: Reply to this comment

#367 Pietman

Firemans is the 3rd oldest pub in SA I think. But very much a pub of two halfs. The riffraff on the one side and the more cultured mob on the pizza oven/beer garden side. A great boozer

• 373.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

Dawn,
    who are you calling a sleg blanke?!

• 374.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ek moet Baas Katman se toestemming eers kry want op Vrydae is ek baie besig by sy huis.

• 375.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

369, why dawnie, do you have a bit of a fire?

• 376.pauld: Reply to this comment

#369 Dawn

There is a firemans pole you can slide down on from the roof and lots of ancient memorablia

• 377.4man: Reply to this comment

Pauld

I once saw Michael Lynagh surfing at Country Club in Durban…bloody good surfer, I could be mixing him up with another blonde dude, Queenslander, played centre, did his cruciate ligament for a season once? Help me Wallabie am I thinking of the wrong man?
    Those guys always used to spend the evening at Joe Kools at North Beach after a game in Durban.

• 378.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Hahahahahahaha!!!!!!

• 379.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

Rugby

• 380.katman: Reply to this comment

360 – Jeeze Dawn, don’t tell me you’ve never been to Fireman’s.

• 381.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Man! You crack me up.

• 382.pauld: Reply to this comment

#377 4Man

You thinking of Ben Tune

• 383.Pietman: Reply to this comment

The guest list hasn’t been finalised yet, and I don’t have hotmail at the moment.
    There are more than 45 souls in that group, and we expect more in the following week, and I am the one sponsoring the Famous Grouse and wors, and some tickets as well.
    Now some of the boys need transport as well, have a heart, I am still half way around the globe.
    Will sort it all out next week, the wife is already starting to moan about this ‘rugby holiday’ of mine!

• 384.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

Rugby rugby

• 385.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Bluebarb #273

Classic.

• 386.4man: Reply to this comment

Pauld, Pietman

I think Firemans is one of the oldest…Infact I think the oldest still going from the start pub in SA is the “Star of the West” in Kimberley, where Diamond Lil used to ply her trade, a 5 carat blue white for a poke. :)

• 387.pauld: Reply to this comment

#380 Katman

The place is an institution. Run be the very much over the hill and around the corner of Kevin and Dean. Great guys

• 388.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

Namibia drew 1-1 with Guinea yesterday.

• 389.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Bod
    Vasco sounds “charming” … not.

Coming via Singapore then ? & just in time for Valentines day too !

• 390.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Baas katman

Jy sluit my dan toe in my shack naweke.

• 391.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

4man

Lynagh is known to enjoy the surf

• 392.Bod: Reply to this comment

pauld

You seem to have the same taste as me.

Pearleys… one of my fav hangouts of all time to watch a Stormers game, although they have now have revamped Driftwoods next door and its even better than Pearleys… a stunning spot

Get me on patrobs@iafrica.com. Dawn & Princess, dont even think about it…

• 393.pauld: Reply to this comment

#386 4Man

Oldest is the Perseverance Tavern in CT. Followed by the George (which is some hooker haunt now I think (In What a kant street I think). Followed by the Firemans

• 394.4man: Reply to this comment

#382 Pauld
    No not him. This guy was in the WC winning side first time around for them….Ah, I have it Tim Horan, its him I saw surfing, not Lynagh (who commentates in England as you know)

• 395.Dawn: Reply to this comment

The oldest pub in SA?

Jeez. Does it smell?

Desert Stormer … wanna come to the stinky Firemans?

• 396.Pietman: Reply to this comment

372#pauld
    No!
    Really?
    The same pub still today?
    I used to go there for the pies and gravy, when I worked in the harbour area as a student.
    And later on, when I was waiting to have my car serviced, Baron’s VW was just up the road towards Seapoint.

• 397.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Guys I must go…catch you in the days ahead. Spread the word about Friday at 1pm. Tony Moneo, WPTID…geez… a whole span of ou’s must pull in if they can.

• 398.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

The Lions paid the Stormers good money for Earl Rose and now he can even make the starting 15 for the Lions in a Warm Up game – That’s called good business

• 399.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Odd BOD,

Did you get my message in post No 311 ??

• 400.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Desert Stormer you wanna come for a drink.

• 401.pauld: Reply to this comment

Ok mense. Got run. Got a plane to catch.

Laters

• 402.katman: Reply to this comment

Fireman!

• 403.trupisero...almalsemoerebehalwemyne!!: Reply to this comment

400 and hello

• 404.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

Dawn – Is there a direct flight from Cairo?

• 405.4man: Reply to this comment

The oldest pub in SA is “The Bathurst” in Bathurst, close to Port Alfred.
    Is the Firemans Arms still going then?

• 406.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Actually there’s an equivalent pub in Manenberg called the Firearms.

Don’t you guys wanna go there?

• 407.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Bod
    There is a name for boys like you …

• 408.Bod: Reply to this comment

Princess

Despite my rough edges, I am a romantic at heart. Glad to see you picked up on my subtleties…

• 409.pauld: Reply to this comment

Do we need our passports for that Dawn ?

• 410.Pietman: Reply to this comment

pauld
    Happy landings!
    See you out west, next week.

• 411.Dawn: Reply to this comment

katman moenie skree nie.

• 412.katman: Reply to this comment

Fireman!!

• 413.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

Who’s going to win the 6 Nations?

• 414.pauld: Reply to this comment

#413 Italy

• 415.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

Really?

• 416.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Firearms anyone?

Guaranteed to blow you away.

• 417.Bod: Reply to this comment

Vloerie

Ja, I got your message, but it was a bit like trying to translate Hyroglyphics (sic). How many doubles have you had today??

Pray, tell what Princess?

• 418.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Desert Stormer

We apologise profusely for not discussing rugby at length. We PROMISE to do so ad nauseam from next week.

• 419.Dawn: Reply to this comment

(Why is katman shouting Fireman? Should we call the police?)

• 420.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

4man, Bathurst, sad news, that pub is closed down, three consecutive owners lost the farm there.. dont think its running.

you need someone to run it as a charity project

• 421.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Bod
    About as subtle as an Australian making eyes at his sister …

You know very well what – Bertie has warned me about your filthy habits !

• 422.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

I’m bored…

Banana Banana is on a slippery slope

• 423.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Oohh … Will firemen be at the lunch ?

• 424.pauld: Reply to this comment

Flight delayed so I’ll be here a tad longer

• 425.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Bod,

I is saying dat wee will aarife at cApe Town Stasie but I can only tune u de exsat detyls wen Cuzzy fhouns me wif dose same detyls, he is playing gholf now, eim wayting for heem to piek up de dem fhoun.

U understands kleerly now?

• 426.Pietman: Reply to this comment

RP #421
    Aussie making eyes at his sister?
    Surely not!

• 427.katman: Reply to this comment

419 – Sweet heavens, woman, do you have no culture? In A League of Gentlemen, Pauline asks the hopeful jobseekers to name all sorts of jobs and poor feebleminded Mickey keeps on shouting Fireman at everything.

• 428.sondebok: Reply to this comment

405. 4 man, the firemans arms is still going strong. I think the Perseverance Tavern in Buitenkant Str. is the oldest in Cape Town though.

• 429.shooter: Reply to this comment

419, because other people percieve a greater threat to themselves, when they hear some one shouting Fireman!, as opposed to when they hear Help!, they will basically come and see what is ‘happening’ and thus you can be in greater nr hands/ rescuers when danger strikes.

• 430.Pietman: Reply to this comment

pauld
    You blogging from Heathrow?
    Hope you are flying CT direct, and not connecting at OR, Jhb, or you may be without underwear on arrival.

• 431.pauld: Reply to this comment

Going to New York. Cape Town on 14 Feb. On Valentine’s day. I intend to join the MH Club on the Cape Town flight given that it is Valentines day

• 432.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Piet

Oohh you know it is true – probably accounts for the low national IQ & poor rugger skills … it is also how farmers keep their sons away from the barns late at night :-D

• 433.shooter: Reply to this comment

430, from 1 Feb Swissport world renowned professionals for lugguage /baggage handling is taking over those duties at the (4- i think) major airports in SA. Which was great news.

• 434.ruck: Reply to this comment

Hello RP,Pietman and all happy bloggers…I have been working (for a change really really hard – sigh)KUK KUK….So what have u lot spoken about today??

The Bulls, Luke Watson, the Bluebellies trip to CT on the 16th, Eskom, the rain up north, the wind down south??????? and Bertie…..of course…

• 435.pauld: Reply to this comment

#434 ruck

actually just pubs in cape town

• 436.ruck: Reply to this comment

#434 – Spot on….they were awared the new contract….Gud luck to ‘em…cos let me tell you, I fly regularly and I have yet to report a “trip without rummaging through my bags..” – Things are’nt always stolen,,but the bags have been rummaged through…..OR, could be the times I’ve flown in my Stormers jersey…they’re looking for drugs…….sheez, it just hit me…CT/Stormers/Me = TIK…..

• 437.Pietman: Reply to this comment

432# RP
    Jeezz, what a business!
    No look, those Aussies are second to none come shaggin’ time.
    Over here is the same, they chase everything in sight with the slightest resemblance of a skirt, even a roll of barbed wire with a red flag attached to it will do.
    And don’t give them beer, oh boy! Then they don’t even mind the abscence of skirts anymore, they would go after dead policemen, I tell you.
    Weird lot.

• 438.pauld: Reply to this comment

#436 Affirmative Shopping

• 439.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

If Butch has a clause in his contract then it didn’t work for the Wales game after the World Cup.

Realistically, Butch James is the only international class South African flyhalf.

• 440.Pietman: Reply to this comment

ruck 434#
    Mostly about the ‘Travelling Bluebellies’.
    The train is becoming overloaded now, especially the ‘cattle class’.
    But they sound like they are looking forward to it, and some interesting guests coming along too, some you might recognise from previous tests against the British Lions in the 80′s.
    It is going to be good company, I’m sure.

• 441.ruck: Reply to this comment

#435 – oooh one of my fave topics……..

• 442.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Piet

When I was checking in tonight & a very scruffy late middle aged American (accompanied by a local girl too young to be even his daughter) was asking about the hotels rates … After discovering the nightly rates he asked about “half days rates” … then asked if he could use his “half day rate” 2 hours at atime over a week. EEEEEWWWWWW !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 443.ruck: Reply to this comment

#440 – Yes, they said there would be ex-Boks on the train…….the 80′s Lions tour???? mmmmmmm – so they have classy company – I still don’t think it will make up for Cuzzy…../…..Hangbal….hahah – I am actually VERY KEEN to meet Cuzzy……..hahhaa

• 444.Pietman: Reply to this comment

433# shooter
    Good news indeed.
    Selebi’s men were robbing us blind at OR.
    Now they just have to do something to protect VIP gusts exiting the airport, and then we are almostback to the good old days.

• 445.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

I read that Butch in the Telegraph doesn’t like being called Butch

• 446.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Ruck

Ig’s farewell jol/drinks.etc

Where: The Firemans Arms in Cape Town
    When: Friday 1st Feb
    Time: From 1pm onwards.

Who wants to come? Even for one drink.
    Come on all you WP folk and Katman and any other Lions, Bulls, Sharks, Cheetahs supporters…pull in.

• 447.pauld: Reply to this comment

#441 Ruck

So far we have covered the Fireman’s Arms and Vasco’s. Katman drooled into his keyboard after the Vasco blog and has since had to log off

• 448.ruck: Reply to this comment

The Firemans Arms……….bloody hell…the only pub in Cape Town to allow this lot through the doors……I got thrown out there once………sigh. Thanks 4 the headsup…..will try for sure…….even if only to buy you and Katman a drink…..hahhaha

• 449.Pietman: Reply to this comment

442# RP
    Where, Japland or Thai?

• 450.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Ruck

Would be great to see you there.

• 451.pauld: Reply to this comment

#442 RP

You sure it wasn’t Gary Glitter ?

By the way , the police in Vietnam have banned christmas/fairy lights over next christmas.

They going to hang Glitter instead

• 452.ruck: Reply to this comment

Oh Lord…..The Vasco Hotel??? of old????? Have mercy……Not surprised Katman crumbled….Pietman would have some GREAT stories about that…..sheez.

The Heidelberg…..Was there the night before the “blood”…..used to love it….early 90′s…(not even legally there I was….)

• 453.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Piet
    Phlippines … off home tomorrow. Old guy with barely post puescent girl is the ugly side of visiting a third world country :(

• 454.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Piet
    Gary Glitter ?? I read he was hoping to move to HKG upon his release – if he got caught in the motherland doing that kind of sh*t he would pretty soon become an organ donor …

• 455.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Gary Glitter is mos daai Ingelse “ster” wat koekies aangebied het aan kinders vir “gunsies” of so iets, hy’s mos ‘n pedoverniel!

• 456.Pietman: Reply to this comment

454# RP
    I would gladly castrate him, for free.

• 457.pauld: Reply to this comment

#455 VV

Weet jy wat die vroulike version van n pedofiel is ?

A: N Pedovoes

• 458.Pietman: Reply to this comment

vloervreter
    Yes, he was an English popstar, his major hit was a song called ‘Sorrow’!
    Check it out on YouTube, I am not kidding you.

• 459.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

& if I knew where he was I would tell you.

• 460.Pietman: Reply to this comment

459# RP
    He sounds like that Oddball and folanke characters we had over here on keo once, real sickos.

• 461.eth_ig_er: Reply to this comment

Who the hell wants those terrorist back.

• 462.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Talking about sickos, here we go!

• 463.katman: Reply to this comment

448 -Let me guess, Ruck. You incorporated the fireman’s pole in an impromptu interpretive dance.

• 464.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Maybe that was what he did with his alloted computer time in that Hanoi jail … Some things are simply not permitted.

• 465.eth_ig_er: Reply to this comment

i was starting to like you fool

• 466.Pietman: Reply to this comment

RP
    Where is this scumbag now, in V-Nam, or has he been exiled?

• 467.pauld: Reply to this comment

#466 Still in Nam

• 468.Pietman: Reply to this comment

pauld
    Good. I am sure those VC’s will give him less than his daily ration of rice, and a lot of bamboo up you know what.
    Serves the ******* right.

• 469.pauld: Reply to this comment

He claims to be ill or have cancer and wants to come back to the UK. They will put him inside here as well

• 470.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Skiet die bliksem, eers in elke toon, dan in die hakskene en werk dit so stadig boontoe.

• 471.Pietman: Reply to this comment

vloervreter
    Ek het sy inhegtenisname hier op TV gesien.
    Die donner is 60 jaar oud, so n maer grys mannetjie, n regte punk, dan verkrag en bedwelm hy kinders van 13 jaar oud.
    Hulle moes hom doodstraf gegee het.
    Hy het in sy sangersjare altyd so n witbesmeerde gevreet vol glitters gehad, onthou ek, erg siek daai mo#r.

• 472.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Pietman,

The man says he was starting to like you, fool !

Now you’ve gone & ruined the friendship !

Hahaha

• 473.ruck: Reply to this comment

#463 – Why Katman, what makes u think that??? LOL LOL – no i think i damaged some furniture……haha,like setting that “antique” counter on fire or something exciting….

Garry Glitter is an evil f*k……i think he was really popular with some old timers…..lets ask Biggles….SKY news covered the story really well, but i felt sick looking at the stoopid twat….

• 474.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

There are many sickos in this sick world we live in, but what in heaven’s name makes anybody abuse children?

• 475.ruck: Reply to this comment

And if anyone watched the Football Hooligans doccie last night……please give feedback..I missed it and I missed the repeat on Discovery today…., only on LAATTTEEE tonight again, and I will be sleeping…..I need the tips for our Rugby Hooligans Movement…tnx.

• 476.4man: Reply to this comment

Guys I’ve got a moerse lot of work to do so I’m gonna gap it for a while.

Pauld, you were supposed to contact last week about a chibuli somewhwere SW of London, so first round is on you next time. See you when you get back.
    baai julle

• 477.Pietman: Reply to this comment

472# Vloervreter
    Ja, ek sien.
    Maar hy is ver heen alweer op daai Atteridgeville twakkies.
    Hy kan my maar ‘like’ soos hy wil, ek hou my nie op met ‘sitbokke’ nie (Germaan se beskrywing van Adoons-hulle), veral as hulle gerook is.

• 478.YoMama: Reply to this comment

Butch needs an SA province. Cheetahs need a #10. Hmm hand in glove.

• 479.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

What you doing up at this ungodly hour Princess, honey is obviously not home these days/nights, cats away and … so the saying goes, hmmm honey girl?

So Butch, Vic, John, all these brave warrior nights who forsook the pleasures of the homely hearth to go out gallantly gallivanting into the dark wintry wet Northern battle fields in quest of the spoils of foreign sheckles, have realized, no place quite like home, this mad lust for the shiny sheckle aint quite what its all cut out to be, so now they all want to climb aboard the new bus homebound, with their latest pied piper whistling the merry tune, maybe they got short memories, or else their bones are beginning to creak and groan under the miserable weight of the northern winter, much better to cash in the chips now and all aboard the new ship, sailaway, wonder what they’d do if Div suddenly told em Luke is next captain?

• 480.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

How does the saying go – When the cat’s away……….. the dog plays with the mice

• 481.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Be fair to Butch Skoppie, unlike the other two, he was not wanted by the Sharks who believed him to be an injury liability. He didn’t want to leave.

• 482.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

So you saying Butch is there against his will actually, he’d prefer to have been here soaking in the Durban sun all along, BH?

• 483.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

To be fair, so would I, money ain’t everything, most usually discover soon enough.

• 484.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

I read his interview when the Sharks management gave him the news that they wouldn’t renew his contract citing the presence of Steyn and injury troubles as reasons for his departure. They seemed to have a big thing about his knee injuries.

I guess he could’ve held out for a move to another province but there were surely no guarantees and according to his interview he knew some Saffas at Bath who hooked him up.

But to answer your question, I don’t think he wanted to leave and says its his dream to return to play for the Sharks again.

Contrast this with Matfield who did actually seek out the foreign currency and part-negotiated the move during a test with Australia. He then didn’t tour with SA post-WC by choice, backed the wrong man in the coaching race and is now hankering after a place in the squad.

• 485.Durban Docks: Reply to this comment

Maybe he has forgotten about Eskom, crime and how strong the SA Rand is. Maybe he was just being diplomatic and saying what everyone wants him to say. Maybe just maybe.

• 486.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

All that said, South Africa do need to think about finding an alternative to Butch but I would certainly keep him around to help the new guys in as Ashton has with Wilkinson.

• 487.Sir Watson: Reply to this comment

Rangerman,

I don’t rate Butch that much, he won’t single handedly win you games but he is damn good in a good team and with an effective game plan.

If you would put him in a team like the Lions, he would be very ordinary, that being said, if you put a guy like Peter Grant in a Shark team, he would have achieved the same success as Butch James.

In the case of Butch James, he is as good as his team. this doesn’t apply to guys like Carter, Matt Giteau, Schalk Burger, to an extent even a guy Luke Watson, Juan Smit (I know what you think).

These guys are good regardless of the composition or quality of the teams they play for !!!

Think Super 12 / 14,

Think of Wikus Van Heerden(former), Januarie and Fourie world class performances for **** team like the Lion,

Juan Smith and CJ van der Linde world class performances for **** team like the Cheetahs,

Schalk Burger, Luke Watson world class performances for **** team of mine like the Stormers,

This is what make the real deal from the wanna be !!

• 488.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Huh, what happened to Jonty Goslett’s peice about youth rugby? Its just disappeared…

• 489.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Maybe just maybe, once a saffa always a saffa, euro/pound/dunhills roll royce, who th f’ck cares when your heart is stranded on North Beach, your bones are aching, and in real terms, there is definitely no place like home, right Butch?

Eskom, Zuma and Manto all rolled into one, I’d still rather be here soaking in the southern sun than freezing my bollocks while putting on some brave face, then promptly dislocating my shoulder, anyway its true, I reckon these class of 2007 boys are over the hill, bones, sinews, muscles and minds have taken too many hits already to offer 100%, Butch has matured but like all maturity it soon gets crusty round the edges, JS too, those legs will not carry that body long in the new faster game, believe me he’s toast.

• 490.hangbal: Reply to this comment

Naand Manne, ordendelike mense en Dawn!!!!

Ek sien Ig se Cousin en GBS het sy hartjie seer gemaak toe hulle hom mails stuur… Shame!!! :cry:

Nou ban hy hulle sommer permanent omdat dit nou sy klein “revenge” is… :shock:

Nee man Ig, bring vir Cousin en GBS terug, hulle het lekwar gechat op Keo!!!

Anyway!!!!

Pietman, ek hoop nie jy nooi vir Dawn om saam Cousin en GBS te kuier innie kaap nie, dis n moerse fout…

• 491.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Hi daar bangbal, ek **** jy het bietjie mail gekry vandag?

• 492.rugbinho: Reply to this comment

skopskiet,

I salute ya, JAKE WHITE boys think they are all that !!

In reality, they got the best draw in the World Cup, we all know that they won’t beat the AB.

They were lucky to only meet England, amongst the many rugby powerhouses in the world.

The class of P. de Villiers will be better than the previous, because we are currently in riches when it comes to talent, and many are young boys.

The man we all love to have, Luke Watson, is only be 24 years old, in the under 25 radar, we have Burger, Habana, Spies, Steyn, Kawkonski, Barritt, Murray, Pietersen, Chavanga, Peter Grant, Jaque Fourie, Bismarck du Plessis, etc.

These will form the core of P. de Villiers era

• 493.hangbal: Reply to this comment

Nee die maisl het weer gevloei ou maat… Hoe gaan dingetjies nog daar by jou kant??

• 494.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Goed natuurlik.

• 495.hangbal: Reply to this comment

maisl = mails

• 496.Pietman: Reply to this comment

hangbal
    Ek oorweeg nog Dawn se aansoek.
    Sal kyk hoe gaan dit met die stemmery oor Cuzzy en GBS se hertoelating tot keo.
    As sy anti stem, dan nooi ek haar nie.
    Dan moet sy maar verlief neem en saam met die ander uit die pawiljoen die braai en gesange waarneem.
    Ek is moeg om vredemaker, skinker, braaier, halfnaaier en vertrapte te speel hier.

Dis nou ‘my way, of die ‘highway’…’take it or leave it’.
    Pietman is back in town baby!
    Go Stormers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 497.hangbal: Reply to this comment

Ek wonder waar is ou staal, Pietman, Fern, K9 en daai ongeskikte mense vanaand?? :lol:

• 498.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Pietman, sy het klaar op hierdie thread teen Gee Bee eSssss en Cuzzy gestem

• 499.hangbal: Reply to this comment

Pietman,

Jy moet nie net back in town wees nie swaer, jy moet back permanent wees!!!!

• 500.hangbal: Reply to this comment

vloervreter,

Ken jy vir my ou GROOT vriende Cousin en GBS???

Nice ouens daai as jy hulle eers ken…

Pietman,

Dawn sal net een sinnetjie by die braai praat!!!

• 501.Pietman: Reply to this comment

498# vloervreter
    Sowaar?
    Nie gesien nie, was bietjie besig vandag.
    Jy seker?
    Indien wel, dan is dit bye-bye, geen braai.
    Ek laat geen boikotters toe by my samekomste nie, jammer, en dit geld vir almal, Bloubulle, Stormers, Whiteys, Blacks, ‘Culurds’, Asians, die hele bleddie lot.
    End van die prent.

• 502.hangbal: Reply to this comment

Piet Verdriet,

Is jy in n moerige bui… Jy moet relax broer, jy is in SA… Hehehehe!!!

• 503.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

No thanks Butch

• 504.Pietman: Reply to this comment

hangbal
    Nee, ek is in n moerse lekker bui, my ‘hometown mode’!

• 505.hangbal: Reply to this comment

Middag ou G13G

Wat dink jy van ons ou spannetjie innie S14 die jaar… Ek verneem van n valuable source innie BB camp dat daar n hele paar beserings is…

• 506.hangbal: Reply to this comment

Piet,

Gaan jy vir ons n kreefie reel as ons innie Kaap is???

• 507.Pietman: Reply to this comment

hangbal
    Nee, darvoor moet ons maar afry ‘baai’* toe, vir die vis- en kreefdinge, saam met KP.
    Ek eers het genoeg probleme met die Nuweland worse en hout op die oomblik, dankie.
    *Kleinbaai

• 508.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Yeah, but Carter is scared of Butch :)

I don’t know man, Bath have lost 3 games this year, two of them Butch wasn’t playing and the other was Sunday when he was injured early on after scoring a try.

He definitely benefits from a good 9 and 12 but I think both Bath and Natal will miss him this year for the next 3 months.

You could well be right, I have a cousin who was born in Durban and lived there until he was 10 and he damn sure wasn’t cheering for England on 20th November 2007

You may well be right about the new rules but I have a feeling the old laws will be around in the internationals for a while yet.

Smit’s days are surely numbered, but he’ll be keen to play in the Lions tour tests.

• 509.hangbal: Reply to this comment

Dan moet ons maar n plan maak, gelukkig vlieg ons 5 ouens eers laaaaaat die Sondag terug vannie kaap af!!!!

• 510.Pietman: Reply to this comment

hangbal
    Daai kan werk!!
    Sal bel.

• 511.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Ek waai ees manne.
    Lyk my meeste bloggers is op pad huistoe in SA, of die werk se rekenaars is nie beskikbaar nie, vandaar die stilte.
    Praat en mail more(as my hotmail hopelik weer n slag opstaan).
    Cheers.

• 512.hangbal: Reply to this comment

100% Pietman!!!

• 513.hangbal: Reply to this comment

Cheers Pieta!!!

• 514.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Tarra

• 515.hangbal: Reply to this comment

Ek loop ook nou weer, cheers!!

• 516.Pietman: Reply to this comment

hangbal/vloervreter
    Slaapplek genoeg by my.
    Het probeer mail, maar kom nie deur nie.
    Se vir K9 hy kan saam met my kom, dan braai ek en hy verder daar teen Paarlberg n lekker ribbie, ek sal hom vinnig terugvat die volgende dag…en ek bedoel soos in ‘spoed’, ek ry nie n TT nie, heheheheh!!

• 517.Pietman: Reply to this comment

516# Spoed soos in ‘kort pad’, Agter-Paarl/Windmeul deur.

• 518.charo: Reply to this comment

what absolute hogwash from some of you bloggers today!
    who is by far the best no 10 in sa at the moment?
    is there any player who comes close to butch? if there is i would be happy to consider his credentials.
    how fickle you lot are – butch played the perfect structured game in the rwc2007 final – no frills, just tight defence and keep the bok forwards in the opposition half.
    now you tossers think someone else should take over – how utterly pathetic you are.

• 519.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

I’m hoping Butch was mis-qouted or the thread is a fiction of someone’s imagination because I would hate to see another World Cup hero has feet of clay. I mean WTF!! There are no guarentees- not in life and especially not in sport. Ask the AB’s re RWC’s!!! That was a mindless thing to say… if he did say it?

• 520.ballwatcher: Reply to this comment

i doubt he said it. Nevertheless his is far and away the best we have, and for that matter in the top 3 in the world. we need him back and if de villiers doesn’t coax him back with a lollipop he is an even bigger idiot than i thought

• 521.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

But it goes against the whole institution of the game. You can’t demand a place in a side!! You have to be subtle and suggestive, like WO, so that the coach can like you. You are only as good… What if one of the local F/H’s have a blinder of a season. Like I said – no guarentees!!

• 522.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

**** Muir let him go for Michalak and Pienaar and Steyn, now you all want him back, surely Muir should know what he’s about.

We got enough talent at flyhalf here in SA just not enough coaches can recognize it and pull the talent out and make it stick, got to tough it out, even they have one or two bad games, check out the talent, like McQueen did with Larkham, like Woodward did with Wilkinson, and trust in it and let it grow and develop and become great, no they shunt the guys around from pillar to post, one week on next week off, the play wing or center or full back, and eventually all that talent is lost due to lack of confidence, coaches should understand a good potential flyhalf when they see one and turn him into a match winner, like Pienaar or Grant, but if coach don’t know the score and trust his instincts how is the player going to settle and become a winner?

• 523.ballwatcher: Reply to this comment

loose guarentees (or more pc, player loyalty) is what won us the world cup…

agreed that there is no room to make demands, but the employer needs to be wise and look after the world class players. special treatment if need be. don’t tell me sir alex doesn’t bend over for christiano ronaldo

• 524.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Some these guys are suffering from the JW syndrome, they think cos they cake walked a no contest WC they got divine right to the incumbent position in the team, somebody did them a disservice if they think they have divinity stamped all over them, some kind of over inflated ego problem if they think they just got to snap their little fingers and coach come running to say please come play in my team.

I’d let em stew if thats their almighty opinion, if they prepared to work from scratch in a new team with new ideas and new ground rules, sure come be a part and contribute, but don’t think cos the WC landed in your divine lap you an automatic shoe in next week.

• 525.ballwatcher: Reply to this comment

for f&s sakes skopskiet, don’t you see that butch is our wilko/larkham. he is at his peak and you want to chow him in favour of untested/unproven players in that position. i’m not saying they shouldn’t look at them at 10 though in s14

• 526.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

**** let him go because maybe **** is looking long term at Pienaar or Steyn and wants to start that development curve now not later, Butch will be 32 in 2011, and his knees don’t have a history of staying the pace, he’s learnt lately in his career how to control and manage his game and he has developed some decent talent of his own, but long term Butch is not the answer for SA flyhalf position, has to be a sure fire winning youngster with talent to burn who a coach will take under his wing and turn him into Mr. No. 10.

• 527.ballwatcher: Reply to this comment

agree we need to nurture long term potential. its all about timing though. look at dale steyn in ’05 vs dale steyn in ’07/’08. We have at least 2-3 good seasons out of butch while his successor learns the trade. 2011 is some time away and i need a tri-nations win…

experience does mean a lot in those tight games…

• 528.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Someone will probably emerge for South Africa at 10 during the Super 14, but Butch should still be included as back-up.

• 529.whatever: Reply to this comment

Talking of the bannings…..whatever happenned to joeboy?

• 530.whatever: Reply to this comment

#524 The only person with JW Syndrome is you skoppie!!

• 531.odogg: Reply to this comment

Thinking about Butch’s and Vic’s comments only makes me wonder what the heck Jake White was telling these boys…………….the jersey is yours by birth right. Never mind transformation, was any other talented player in this country ever going to get an opportunity seeing as how Butch and Co are the chosen ones.

I think Jake irrespective of his WC success is an arsehole of a man and not very patriotic. I am glad he was dumped! He should go and join Tony Leon is the States bad mouthing South Africa

• 532.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Jake White guaranteed him the No.10 shirt 3 months prior to the RWC so perhaps he is used to that way of doing things.

• 533.whatever: Reply to this comment

The only arsehole here is you odogg……..everything you say seems to have a racial slant. You need to wake up and realise that the country is not all a bed of roses and that critisism is a vital part of trying to sort out problems. Open your eyes dude!

• 534.whatever: Reply to this comment

At least I can have a laugh at or with skoppie. Your comments are more sinister.

• 535.whatever: Reply to this comment

BH, no one can ask a coach for a “guarantee”. You have to prove your worth on the park. Current form, injuries etc are crucial. I think all BJ is asking for is an indication that he is still, or could still be, in the “mix” as it were.

Still have my doubts that this is a verbatum quote by BJ (and Adi Jacobs as Pietman noted yesterday) Not sure how much padding goes into these articles?

• 536.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

If I was Butch I would look at the Balance sheet:

Bok blazer in cupboard? Y
    WC medal? Y
    Bok legacy secured? Y
    Bath dough in bank? N

Protect the Bath deal at all cost. That’s pen on paper, all else just promises. Period.

• 537.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Morning boys.
    Whatever, yes, you as a journalist should know better than the rest of us novices how reports sometimes get ‘coloured in’.
    I have reservations everytime I see quotation marks in an article like the one above.

• 538.Pietman: Reply to this comment

531# odogg
    Please stop chasing good and skillful folks out of SA my black brother.
    We have enough trouble luring back the ones that we already lost with this ‘empowerment’ policy (or whatever you call it these days), and as things stand now we are in dire straits with ESCOM, medical services, security, and you name them.
    You don’t want to sit in the dark somewhere someday when you are old and frail, and neither do I.
    So, let’s rather work together and restore stability and peace, instead of always inspiring ‘bring me my machine gun’ talk.
    That I would expect from an uneducated revolutionary from the old school like oom Jacob, but not from you.
    Your not an ‘old dog’, so you still can learn new tricks!

• 539.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

Pietman – yes I am stunned that all mines were shutdown the entire weekend just because power could not be guaranteed. Unless this changes, SA will lose lots of investments, Soccer WC as well. And none of us wish to see that ever happen. But ESCOM seems without solutions for next 8 years! This is very serious, and sad.

• 540.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Odogg. The jersey is Vics and Butches because they are faking good and the best players in their positions In SA.
    Well said Pietman and Expat.

• 541.whatever: Reply to this comment

Boys, it’s really a shame that we still have a few bloggers who always pull the racist card and tend to twist any sentence, phrase, comment into an anti “black” one. It is very frustrating and these guys need to take their prejudices elsewhere. I think we all know who these guys are as well………

• 542.charo: Reply to this comment

sorry to say but odogg is an extreme racist – more so than any white blogger here.
    to him, its pure hatred because white cops stopped him from burning down scools in the bad old days

• 543.BHUPENDRA DU SOLANKY: Reply to this comment

James is the man…while I like him, I think he cannot be guaranteed a Bok jersey!! Look at Jaco van der Westhuyzen..here is a man who was guaranteed the flyhalf position but then attempted to take a drop kick from his own 22…that is what happens when players believe they can walk into the Bok team…

• 544.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

WHAT? I thought the drop kick was real? JVDW promised the ref and all..:)

• 545.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Steyn or Pienaar at 10, end of story. Butch time is pass. Butch finished at the top, best ending possible.

• 546.odogg: Reply to this comment

Jeez, I think I hit a nerve with the expats. Pietman, who chased away Butch James. PDV has repeatedly said he will select the best players. Before butch gets too big headed about his abilitites, give half the chance to a Peter Grant, Ishmaeel Dollie and any other very talented local flyhalves that jake gave Butch, see if they wont be better players in international stage. You see that is the classic right wing strategy. You empower, skill and give oportunity to your own kind or those chosen ones. Get them to a certain level (not without pains mind you) and suddenly when they are near being a finished product, you stand up and say there is nobody better so we must stick with them till forever. Obviously a Butch James will be better because he was the chosen one and given all opportunity (think apartheid). ITs the same with employment equity. White executives who run our economy didnt just become great business leaders by virtue of their skin colour. From varsity, they were given exposure and continually upskilled till a point where they can now run large companies etc. without employment equity, no White person was going to afford a Black man the same opportunity of the forementioned White executives, namely exposure, skills etc. Rugby is the same as our everyday life.

The problem with Charo and the like is that you make the big mistake in thinking Black people are stupid. We can see right through your bullsh!t strategy and you know what, kicking or screaming this country will come out of your racist shadow into one where every son and daughter of this great land has an equal opportunity to make a success of their lives. If you dont dig it, I will get back to my militant best and tell you to pack your bags and leave. SAme goes to Butch Jaems or any other player wh thinks the green jersey is his birth right. We are building a country here god damnit. Not a Black country, not a White country, but an equal and fair country. People need to take time to read the Freedom Charter to understand what it is we are trying to do with this country

• 547.tight head: Reply to this comment

Odogg.
    A country will not be built on rhetoric and good intentions.
    Our government is full of the above as well as good words like you about equality, transformation and a fair deal for all.
    However they are extremely short on practical delivery to the people they are filling with good words.
    The only thing they have given practical priority to, is enriching themselves and their buddies at the expense of the very people they are promising all of these wonderfull warm fuzzy ideals to.

• 548.Durban Docks: Reply to this comment

odogg. I hope so but highly doubt it. I feel you have selective eye sight when it comes to whats happening around you.

• 549.cab: Reply to this comment

odogg,
    who said ‘patriotism is the last refuge of the scoundrel’. patriotism is often hijacked by ppl with wholly different political views.

For all JW’s supposed faults, I doubt very much anyone for one second believes there are few ppl more proud and committed of the springboks then JW. He aged significantly while in charge and it was evident how in awe of the culture he was. am sorry I dont share your take on things at all in this regard.

As for Leon and the DA, the problem with this lot is the same as the problem the nats, which they are often spot on with their criticisms which those in power dont like. Be thankful there is at least some form of opposition to our 1-party utopia planners.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.