Butch: I’m open to coming home

Butch James would consider returning to South Africa if he felt he had a crack at being in the Springbok mix.

Despite his assertions to the contrary it is believed Springbok coach Peter de Villiers will meet with European-based World Cup winning Springboks to talk about the possibility of returning to play in South Africa. De Villiers departs on February 8 to Europe.

James, the Springbok World Cup winning flyhalf, is currently in the early stages of a two-year deal with English Premiership club Bath. His form has been superb and has been central to their push for league honours.

James said he was “loving” his time at Bath, but conceded that an approach from De Villiers could be very appealing if the conditions were right.

“If I knew I had an opportunity to continue my international career for a couple years more I would consider it. I think I’m still good enough and I’d always be open to an approach. So if Peter could assure me of that, it would make it very hard to say no.”

James said the Sharks, for whom he played his entire professional career in South Africa, would be his first choice franchise should he return, but quickly added: “That’s only if they want me back.” The 28-year-old has had a series of knee injuries which have stifled his career, but seems to have moved past that difficult period.

He was last injured on the Springboks’ 2006 year-end tour to England and Ireland, but recovered to play the entire 2007 Super 14 and Tri-Nations (he was rested for the Australasian leg) and was the first choice pivot at the World Cup. But that streak came to an end on Sunday when he dislocated his shoulder in the process of scoring a try against Saracens. Bath looked rudderless without their general and succumbed to two Brent Russell tries, losing 26-20.

“I’m going for a scan tonight but it looks like anything from six to 12 weeks out of the game,” he said. “That’s really frustrating because I think I was playing some of the best rugby of my career.

“If it’s six weeks that’s not so bad because the Six Nations starts this weekend which would mean I wouldn’t miss any [Premiership] games but 12 weeks would be a killer because I want to play a major part in the team’s push for the title.”

Bath are currently placed third, just five points off leaders Gloucester.

549 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 » Show All

• 451.pauld: Reply to this comment

#442 RP

You sure it wasn’t Gary Glitter ?

By the way , the police in Vietnam have banned christmas/fairy lights over next christmas.

They going to hang Glitter instead

• 452.ruck: Reply to this comment

Oh Lord…..The Vasco Hotel??? of old????? Have mercy……Not surprised Katman crumbled….Pietman would have some GREAT stories about that…..sheez.

The Heidelberg…..Was there the night before the “blood”…..used to love it….early 90′s…(not even legally there I was….)

• 453.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Piet
    Phlippines … off home tomorrow. Old guy with barely post puescent girl is the ugly side of visiting a third world country :(

• 454.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Piet
    Gary Glitter ?? I read he was hoping to move to HKG upon his release – if he got caught in the motherland doing that kind of sh*t he would pretty soon become an organ donor …

• 455.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Gary Glitter is mos daai Ingelse “ster” wat koekies aangebied het aan kinders vir “gunsies” of so iets, hy’s mos ‘n pedoverniel!

• 456.Pietman: Reply to this comment

454# RP
    I would gladly castrate him, for free.

• 457.pauld: Reply to this comment

#455 VV

Weet jy wat die vroulike version van n pedofiel is ?

A: N Pedovoes

• 458.Pietman: Reply to this comment

vloervreter
    Yes, he was an English popstar, his major hit was a song called ‘Sorrow’!
    Check it out on YouTube, I am not kidding you.

• 459.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

& if I knew where he was I would tell you.

• 460.Pietman: Reply to this comment

459# RP
    He sounds like that Oddball and folanke characters we had over here on keo once, real sickos.

• 461.eth_ig_er: Reply to this comment

Who the hell wants those terrorist back.

• 462.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Talking about sickos, here we go!

• 463.katman: Reply to this comment

448 -Let me guess, Ruck. You incorporated the fireman’s pole in an impromptu interpretive dance.

• 464.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Maybe that was what he did with his alloted computer time in that Hanoi jail … Some things are simply not permitted.

• 465.eth_ig_er: Reply to this comment

i was starting to like you fool

• 466.Pietman: Reply to this comment

RP
    Where is this scumbag now, in V-Nam, or has he been exiled?

• 467.pauld: Reply to this comment

#466 Still in Nam

• 468.Pietman: Reply to this comment

pauld
    Good. I am sure those VC’s will give him less than his daily ration of rice, and a lot of bamboo up you know what.
    Serves the ******* right.

• 469.pauld: Reply to this comment

He claims to be ill or have cancer and wants to come back to the UK. They will put him inside here as well

• 470.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Skiet die bliksem, eers in elke toon, dan in die hakskene en werk dit so stadig boontoe.

• 471.Pietman: Reply to this comment

vloervreter
    Ek het sy inhegtenisname hier op TV gesien.
    Die donner is 60 jaar oud, so n maer grys mannetjie, n regte punk, dan verkrag en bedwelm hy kinders van 13 jaar oud.
    Hulle moes hom doodstraf gegee het.
    Hy het in sy sangersjare altyd so n witbesmeerde gevreet vol glitters gehad, onthou ek, erg siek daai mo#r.

• 472.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Pietman,

The man says he was starting to like you, fool !

Now you’ve gone & ruined the friendship !

Hahaha

• 473.ruck: Reply to this comment

#463 – Why Katman, what makes u think that??? LOL LOL – no i think i damaged some furniture……haha,like setting that “antique” counter on fire or something exciting….

Garry Glitter is an evil f*k……i think he was really popular with some old timers…..lets ask Biggles….SKY news covered the story really well, but i felt sick looking at the stoopid twat….

• 474.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

There are many sickos in this sick world we live in, but what in heaven’s name makes anybody abuse children?

• 475.ruck: Reply to this comment

And if anyone watched the Football Hooligans doccie last night……please give feedback..I missed it and I missed the repeat on Discovery today…., only on LAATTTEEE tonight again, and I will be sleeping…..I need the tips for our Rugby Hooligans Movement…tnx.

• 476.4man: Reply to this comment

Guys I’ve got a moerse lot of work to do so I’m gonna gap it for a while.

Pauld, you were supposed to contact last week about a chibuli somewhwere SW of London, so first round is on you next time. See you when you get back.
    baai julle

• 477.Pietman: Reply to this comment

472# Vloervreter
    Ja, ek sien.
    Maar hy is ver heen alweer op daai Atteridgeville twakkies.
    Hy kan my maar ‘like’ soos hy wil, ek hou my nie op met ‘sitbokke’ nie (Germaan se beskrywing van Adoons-hulle), veral as hulle gerook is.

• 478.YoMama: Reply to this comment

Butch needs an SA province. Cheetahs need a #10. Hmm hand in glove.

• 479.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

What you doing up at this ungodly hour Princess, honey is obviously not home these days/nights, cats away and … so the saying goes, hmmm honey girl?

So Butch, Vic, John, all these brave warrior nights who forsook the pleasures of the homely hearth to go out gallantly gallivanting into the dark wintry wet Northern battle fields in quest of the spoils of foreign sheckles, have realized, no place quite like home, this mad lust for the shiny sheckle aint quite what its all cut out to be, so now they all want to climb aboard the new bus homebound, with their latest pied piper whistling the merry tune, maybe they got short memories, or else their bones are beginning to creak and groan under the miserable weight of the northern winter, much better to cash in the chips now and all aboard the new ship, sailaway, wonder what they’d do if Div suddenly told em Luke is next captain?

• 480.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

How does the saying go – When the cat’s away……….. the dog plays with the mice

• 481.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Be fair to Butch Skoppie, unlike the other two, he was not wanted by the Sharks who believed him to be an injury liability. He didn’t want to leave.

• 482.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

So you saying Butch is there against his will actually, he’d prefer to have been here soaking in the Durban sun all along, BH?

• 483.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

To be fair, so would I, money ain’t everything, most usually discover soon enough.

• 484.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

I read his interview when the Sharks management gave him the news that they wouldn’t renew his contract citing the presence of Steyn and injury troubles as reasons for his departure. They seemed to have a big thing about his knee injuries.

I guess he could’ve held out for a move to another province but there were surely no guarantees and according to his interview he knew some Saffas at Bath who hooked him up.

But to answer your question, I don’t think he wanted to leave and says its his dream to return to play for the Sharks again.

Contrast this with Matfield who did actually seek out the foreign currency and part-negotiated the move during a test with Australia. He then didn’t tour with SA post-WC by choice, backed the wrong man in the coaching race and is now hankering after a place in the squad.

• 485.Durban Docks: Reply to this comment

Maybe he has forgotten about Eskom, crime and how strong the SA Rand is. Maybe he was just being diplomatic and saying what everyone wants him to say. Maybe just maybe.

• 486.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

All that said, South Africa do need to think about finding an alternative to Butch but I would certainly keep him around to help the new guys in as Ashton has with Wilkinson.

• 487.Sir Watson: Reply to this comment

Rangerman,

I don’t rate Butch that much, he won’t single handedly win you games but he is damn good in a good team and with an effective game plan.

If you would put him in a team like the Lions, he would be very ordinary, that being said, if you put a guy like Peter Grant in a Shark team, he would have achieved the same success as Butch James.

In the case of Butch James, he is as good as his team. this doesn’t apply to guys like Carter, Matt Giteau, Schalk Burger, to an extent even a guy Luke Watson, Juan Smit (I know what you think).

These guys are good regardless of the composition or quality of the teams they play for !!!

Think Super 12 / 14,

Think of Wikus Van Heerden(former), Januarie and Fourie world class performances for **** team like the Lion,

Juan Smith and CJ van der Linde world class performances for **** team like the Cheetahs,

Schalk Burger, Luke Watson world class performances for **** team of mine like the Stormers,

This is what make the real deal from the wanna be !!

• 488.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Huh, what happened to Jonty Goslett’s peice about youth rugby? Its just disappeared…

• 489.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Maybe just maybe, once a saffa always a saffa, euro/pound/dunhills roll royce, who th f’ck cares when your heart is stranded on North Beach, your bones are aching, and in real terms, there is definitely no place like home, right Butch?

Eskom, Zuma and Manto all rolled into one, I’d still rather be here soaking in the southern sun than freezing my bollocks while putting on some brave face, then promptly dislocating my shoulder, anyway its true, I reckon these class of 2007 boys are over the hill, bones, sinews, muscles and minds have taken too many hits already to offer 100%, Butch has matured but like all maturity it soon gets crusty round the edges, JS too, those legs will not carry that body long in the new faster game, believe me he’s toast.

• 490.hangbal: Reply to this comment

Naand Manne, ordendelike mense en Dawn!!!!

Ek sien Ig se Cousin en GBS het sy hartjie seer gemaak toe hulle hom mails stuur… Shame!!! :cry:

Nou ban hy hulle sommer permanent omdat dit nou sy klein “revenge” is… :shock:

Nee man Ig, bring vir Cousin en GBS terug, hulle het lekwar gechat op Keo!!!

Anyway!!!!

Pietman, ek hoop nie jy nooi vir Dawn om saam Cousin en GBS te kuier innie kaap nie, dis n moerse fout…

• 491.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Hi daar bangbal, ek **** jy het bietjie mail gekry vandag?

• 492.rugbinho: Reply to this comment

skopskiet,

I salute ya, JAKE WHITE boys think they are all that !!

In reality, they got the best draw in the World Cup, we all know that they won’t beat the AB.

They were lucky to only meet England, amongst the many rugby powerhouses in the world.

The class of P. de Villiers will be better than the previous, because we are currently in riches when it comes to talent, and many are young boys.

The man we all love to have, Luke Watson, is only be 24 years old, in the under 25 radar, we have Burger, Habana, Spies, Steyn, Kawkonski, Barritt, Murray, Pietersen, Chavanga, Peter Grant, Jaque Fourie, Bismarck du Plessis, etc.

These will form the core of P. de Villiers era

• 493.hangbal: Reply to this comment

Nee die maisl het weer gevloei ou maat… Hoe gaan dingetjies nog daar by jou kant??

• 494.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Goed natuurlik.

• 495.hangbal: Reply to this comment

maisl = mails

• 496.Pietman: Reply to this comment

hangbal
    Ek oorweeg nog Dawn se aansoek.
    Sal kyk hoe gaan dit met die stemmery oor Cuzzy en GBS se hertoelating tot keo.
    As sy anti stem, dan nooi ek haar nie.
    Dan moet sy maar verlief neem en saam met die ander uit die pawiljoen die braai en gesange waarneem.
    Ek is moeg om vredemaker, skinker, braaier, halfnaaier en vertrapte te speel hier.

Dis nou ‘my way, of die ‘highway’…’take it or leave it’.
    Pietman is back in town baby!
    Go Stormers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 497.hangbal: Reply to this comment

Ek wonder waar is ou staal, Pietman, Fern, K9 en daai ongeskikte mense vanaand?? :lol:

• 498.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Pietman, sy het klaar op hierdie thread teen Gee Bee eSssss en Cuzzy gestem

• 499.hangbal: Reply to this comment

Pietman,

Jy moet nie net back in town wees nie swaer, jy moet back permanent wees!!!!

• 500.hangbal: Reply to this comment

vloervreter,

Ken jy vir my ou GROOT vriende Cousin en GBS???

Nice ouens daai as jy hulle eers ken…

Pietman,

Dawn sal net een sinnetjie by die braai praat!!!

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.