Butch: I’m open to coming home
29 Jan 2008
Butch James would consider returning to South Africa if he felt he had a crack at being in the Springbok mix.
Despite his assertions to the contrary it is believed Springbok coach Peter de Villiers will meet with European-based World Cup winning Springboks to talk about the possibility of returning to play in South Africa. De Villiers departs on February 8 to Europe.
James, the Springbok World Cup winning flyhalf, is currently in the early stages of a two-year deal with English Premiership club Bath. His form has been superb and has been central to their push for league honours.
James said he was “loving” his time at Bath, but conceded that an approach from De Villiers could be very appealing if the conditions were right.
“If I knew I had an opportunity to continue my international career for a couple years more I would consider it. I think I’m still good enough and I’d always be open to an approach. So if Peter could assure me of that, it would make it very hard to say no.”
James said the Sharks, for whom he played his entire professional career in South Africa, would be his first choice franchise should he return, but quickly added: “That’s only if they want me back.” The 28-year-old has had a series of knee injuries which have stifled his career, but seems to have moved past that difficult period.
He was last injured on the Springboks’ 2006 year-end tour to England and Ireland, but recovered to play the entire 2007 Super 14 and Tri-Nations (he was rested for the Australasian leg) and was the first choice pivot at the World Cup. But that streak came to an end on Sunday when he dislocated his shoulder in the process of scoring a try against Saracens. Bath looked rudderless without their general and succumbed to two Brent Russell tries, losing 26-20.
“I’m going for a scan tonight but it looks like anything from six to 12 weeks out of the game,” he said. “That’s really frustrating because I think I was playing some of the best rugby of my career.
“If it’s six weeks that’s not so bad because the Six Nations starts this weekend which would mean I wouldn’t miss any [Premiership] games but 12 weeks would be a killer because I want to play a major part in the team’s push for the title.”
Bath are currently placed third, just five points off leaders Gloucester.

549 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All
29 Jan 2008, 12:10 pm
I think Butch should come play for the Lions. If can perform there he can do at at any level.
29 Jan 2008, 12:10 pm
Anti-apartheid campaigner John Minto has turned down his nomination for South Africa’s highest honour for foreigners because he is “deeply dismayed” about conditions in the country.
He has been nominated for the Companion of O R Tambo Award but wants the bid withdrawn.
“It was the democratic country with so much hope and . . . for many people it’s been the deepest of disappointment, and certainly it has been for me,” he said.
Mr Minto was the national organiser of the Halt All Racist Tours movement during the 1981 Springbok tour of New Zealand.
Hart co-founder Trevor Richards was presented with a gold Tambo award in 2004.
“When we protested and marched into Police batons and barbed wire here in the struggle against aparthied, we were not fighting for a small black elite to become millionaires”.
We were fighting for a better SA for all SA’s”.
29 Jan 2008, 12:14 pm
Hell Cane, thats one for the books……Thnax fro posting that – I can tell you now, this will NOT be published or reported on over here….Thanx.
29 Jan 2008, 12:16 pm
I must ask Gramps if Minto was one of the folk that “attacked” him during that tour…….Gramps kept forgetting to speak in a POM accent, and every now and again some SOUTHAFRICANISM would pop out of his mouth,,,,and he’d be “attacked” by one half of the NZ nation…….
29 Jan 2008, 12:16 pm
How can Butch just get out of his contract with Bath? Does butch mean he wants to play in this years S14?
29 Jan 2008, 12:17 pm
ruck
check news24……it is all there.
and on Beeld
29 Jan 2008, 12:19 pm
ruck, it was on SAFM too, heard it yesterday..
29 Jan 2008, 12:20 pm
1. Skunk, how did he get picked last year then? He was definitely the best fly half in the country. And Kwagga you cant even compare Victors situation with his.
29 Jan 2008, 12:21 pm
does this mean that they are going to flour-bombing parlaiment?
29 Jan 2008, 12:22 pm
ruck
I was reported in Beeld this morning already!
We spoke about it on the other thread earlier.
Interesting, though, what a Kiwi mate of mine had to say about that in his mail this morning.
Apparantly old Minto really flayed into Madiba during his (NM’s) visit to NZ in 1996, for not taking SA down the communist road!
Minto is a die-hard communist, so he is angry about the fact that we are still a capitalist society, from what people in NZ tell me, not so much at the new ANC government in SA.
This is hearsay of course.
Perhaps cane could tell us more about Minto.
29 Jan 2008, 12:23 pm
I assume he means that he wants to be assured of a spot if he is playing well and that PDV see’s him as the player he wants at 10
29 Jan 2008, 12:24 pm
Iggy,
Please organise your own Tribute Thread. (I assume no-one else can manage this minor administrive function).
If Keo.co can have a Tribute Thread for the “Undead” (Bliksem) they they can have one for a living breathing Legend.
I have always thought of this “site”, as much Ig.co as anything else.
If perchance I don’t get another opportunity…. go well Ig, and I’ll buy One Doz Mac’s Gold in your honour. I’ll drink them for you as well.
P.S. Thanks for never banning me.
P.P.S. One last favour…….pull the plug on Fernly before you go.
Yours Sincerely,
Cane.
29 Jan 2008, 12:24 pm
Cab,
“flyhalf whose taken the english league by storm ”
Even i can take the Englisg league by storm…can`t wait for S14.
I support John Minto because the same small black elite sh@t is happening over here.
29 Jan 2008, 12:25 pm
Butch should’nt return to the Sharks, they already have more than 1 quality fly half.
But, as we all know, the rest of the SA Super 14 Franchises are battling in this department, especially the Lions.
It still amazes me that SA cannot duplicate the sucessful NZ method of distribution of all available talent amongst their S 14 Franchises, so that every great player in his position gets proper game time.
29 Jan 2008, 12:28 pm
IG,
When will GBS and Cuzzy be back on Keo……why is the other 2 back…but GBS and Cuzzy must stay of…….come buddy let us know?
29 Jan 2008, 12:30 pm
No.2
That is what I mean. How he performed last year is not the same as performing consistently well this year.
Your statement is dangerous, think Luke Watson.
29 Jan 2008, 12:31 pm
65# Steyn
Yes, I also want know.
Ig, whatsup with those other two ‘ban-dits’, did they receive the ultimate penalty?
29 Jan 2008, 12:34 pm
Bring back GBS and Cuzzy!!!!!!
29 Jan 2008, 12:35 pm
lol katman, wacko was in prime form then, but then decided to ply his trade in japan.
cane 52, yip interesting not so? some in SA feel the same way.
Namblack, haha, u reckon hey. the same stuff is happening and it has to be pulled back.
29 Jan 2008, 12:37 pm
Pietman #60.
I don’t know if Minto is a Red or not. But he is definately left of centre.
Like him or loath him….he is someone who dares to take his own course is life.
Let’s put it this way, if ***** was alive right now, saying the things he said 2000 years ago, he would be labeled……….probably as a Red.
Oddly enough his brother (Minto’s, not JC’s)is CEO of one of NZ’s biggest Corporations.
On a personal note ……I admire Minto for his personal courage and for making a stand for what “he” believes is just. His face bares the scars of his commitment.
29 Jan 2008, 12:38 pm
i think cuz is starting his own site cuz.co.za
29 Jan 2008, 12:38 pm
Bring back GBS!!!!!
29 Jan 2008, 12:39 pm
Bring back Cuzzy!!!
GBS wrote me a really funny mail that i am sure all of you would love to receive it makes one feel warm and fuzzy – so he can stick to playing with Cuzzy in the sandpit. Cuzzy will not be returning unless the new guy reopens registration. He went to far to many times.
Cane – thanks for the kind words, a dozen of MG would be a delight, keep some space on the couch for me in 2011….your PPS has been under deliberation for quite awhile and may still happen….
Bring back Grootblousmile!!!
29 Jan 2008, 12:40 pm
Steyn
Maybe Ig should put Cuzzy’s and GBS’s re-entry to the vote, there in that little black voting box where we vote for Heyneke and Stofile and those on the keo homepage.
I am sure the response will be an overwhelming ‘Yay’!
29 Jan 2008, 12:42 pm
70# Cane
Thanks.
As I say, this was an opinion expressed by a Kiwi mate, I don’t know Minto’s ideals first hand.
29 Jan 2008, 12:42 pm
stop being so sensitive….you said…take it on the chin!
We will miss you…….Do you know if the new dude will be a WP supporter 2?
If so…then it will all be the same….won’t take it on the chin!!
Take it in the….no wait…you going to ban me
29 Jan 2008, 12:43 pm
If Minto is indeed Red, it’s probably from too much beetroot.
29 Jan 2008, 12:44 pm
Gee whiz GBS and Cousin still banned?
C’mon IG, let them out of their room.
29 Jan 2008, 12:44 pm
“Butch James would consider returning to South Africa if he could be guaranteed a spot in the Springbok team.”
Butch trying to be a quota.
29 Jan 2008, 12:46 pm
Cane
Didn’t Minto also eneter NZ politics at some stage, or attempted to, with Chris Laidlaw that time.
I seem to recall something like that, same time as Peter Hain went to the British House of Commons?
29 Jan 2008, 12:47 pm
think about it….you don’t even know GBS…the same with him…he does not know you….but a mail that he sent can hit you that hard?
Now you being like a real school child.
I will show them who has the power!!
Ag nee man Ig!!…be a man for once in your life
29 Jan 2008, 12:48 pm
House of Commons or House of Commies or House of Kommin Donners?
29 Jan 2008, 12:50 pm
Piet
Ek dink jy is reg….hy moet n vote op sit……..hierdie is sommer bollie
29 Jan 2008, 12:50 pm
Whatever happened to Ricane people?
29 Jan 2008, 12:52 pm
hello all
well well!
let me be the first on this thread to say PLEASE COME BACK TO THE SHARKS BUTCH!!! man, we dig that guy in Natal. love watching him smoke all opposing flyhalfs and i dont think it is a coincidence that Dan, Wilko and even liefling have never performed well against him. imagine seein butch coming flat out and knowing he is bringing the pain!
imo one of the most underrated players in SA rugby and as for all the “dirty” bs spread by half flattened convicts and AB’s, well how many yellows did butch give away at the WC? or in the last few years?
p.s. Of course the guy wants reassurance you little snipers! He is earning cash over in Europe and is not sure if he features in the new coaches plans! Hard to understand?
29 Jan 2008, 12:53 pm
skunk
Ricane was here yesterday, somewhere.
29 Jan 2008, 12:53 pm
Skunk
we not worried about Ricane….we want GBS and Cuzzy back!!
29 Jan 2008, 12:56 pm
#79, Katman,
You can beet a lot of things…..but you can’t beet a root.
Pietman,
No. Minto has never been part of National Politics.
Chris Laidlaw however was Labour Party MP for the Electorate of Wellington Central.
29 Jan 2008, 12:58 pm
Steyn TBB
I don’t care about Cuzzy but I am worried about my old mate GBS. He has served his sentence out. I think he should come back now.
29 Jan 2008, 12:58 pm
Ranger
The article is written in a “if you don’t then I won’t” way. Not sure if this is what BJ said, but this is what Ryan Vrede want us to believe.
29 Jan 2008, 12:59 pm
Cane,
Tell us more about NZ’s electoral system, for instance do they have a multi tier system like the UK (House of Commons & House of Lords) or just one National Assembly?
29 Jan 2008, 12:59 pm
Pietman,
There is a history of guarantees to be Bok in South Africa;
Bob Skinstad, Willemse, Wynaard Olivier, Wayne Julies were all guaranteed a place in the Bok, for doing bugger nothing.
Tyibilika, De Wet Barry, Marius Joubert, Jaco van der Westhuizen, Eddie Andrews, Pedrie Wannenburg were all guarantee a place in Bok and also in the World Cup 2007 by Jake White, but failed themselves
Every player in the Jake White era were guaranteed being Bok for 4 years and also for the world cup 2007.
No wonder Butch wants guarantees, he used to them. He thinks that Jake era still exists but it ended 31 December 2007, with Jake White’s contract.
Mr De Villiers has only guaranteed Luke Watson a place in the Bok, Rassie has also guaranteed Luke Watson in the Stormers team despite having kept mum about the composition of the remainder of the squad.
29 Jan 2008, 13:01 pm
howzit isigidi!
ja man, journalism with opinion. now BJ, Adi and big Vic look like arrogant kn#bs!
but me, eish i dont believe!
29 Jan 2008, 13:02 pm
Pietman
Probably old news now for you, but Peter Hain has resigned over a funding scandal.
He, as you know, was responsible largely for us getting kicked out of the Olympics. I have never forgiven him for that. I’ve watched him talk here, I dont think I could like the man easily.
29 Jan 2008, 13:02 pm
Sir Watson
do you rate butch?
29 Jan 2008, 13:03 pm
What did Grootblousmile do that rocked Ig?
29 Jan 2008, 13:04 pm
Piet that bugger was a great fella to talk rugby with.
29 Jan 2008, 13:04 pm
rangermann,
“imo one of the most underrated players in SA rugby”
Who underrated BJ?He is mostly overrated.
He is not in the same league as Dan, Wilko and Larkham,full stop.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All