Butch: I’m open to coming home

Butch James would consider returning to South Africa if he felt he had a crack at being in the Springbok mix.

Despite his assertions to the contrary it is believed Springbok coach Peter de Villiers will meet with European-based World Cup winning Springboks to talk about the possibility of returning to play in South Africa. De Villiers departs on February 8 to Europe.

James, the Springbok World Cup winning flyhalf, is currently in the early stages of a two-year deal with English Premiership club Bath. His form has been superb and has been central to their push for league honours.

James said he was “loving” his time at Bath, but conceded that an approach from De Villiers could be very appealing if the conditions were right.

“If I knew I had an opportunity to continue my international career for a couple years more I would consider it. I think I’m still good enough and I’d always be open to an approach. So if Peter could assure me of that, it would make it very hard to say no.”

James said the Sharks, for whom he played his entire professional career in South Africa, would be his first choice franchise should he return, but quickly added: “That’s only if they want me back.” The 28-year-old has had a series of knee injuries which have stifled his career, but seems to have moved past that difficult period.

He was last injured on the Springboks’ 2006 year-end tour to England and Ireland, but recovered to play the entire 2007 Super 14 and Tri-Nations (he was rested for the Australasian leg) and was the first choice pivot at the World Cup. But that streak came to an end on Sunday when he dislocated his shoulder in the process of scoring a try against Saracens. Bath looked rudderless without their general and succumbed to two Brent Russell tries, losing 26-20.

“I’m going for a scan tonight but it looks like anything from six to 12 weeks out of the game,” he said. “That’s really frustrating because I think I was playing some of the best rugby of my career.

“If it’s six weeks that’s not so bad because the Six Nations starts this weekend which would mean I wouldn’t miss any [Premiership] games but 12 weeks would be a killer because I want to play a major part in the team’s push for the title.”

Bath are currently placed third, just five points off leaders Gloucester.

549 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

• 251.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Walla
    Piss off, leave Pietman out of it.
    If I want to say something to you, I will do it straight on, right here.
    The last place I wanna be is at an Aussie’s backside, the front view is bad enough.

• 252.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

247 nee BB is net Walla en almal wat mekaar bietjie aanvat

• 253.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Hell I’m playing golf at Pecanwood tomorrow, I suppose I have to either visit the driving range now or buy plenty spare balls tomorrow.

• 254.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

hey TripE!

one of my posts was removed from yesterday’s thread, and i can only think its because i said: “a moer of a”

how sad is that?

• 255.shooter: Reply to this comment

this little “personal” battle still niggling you. You said so many things that were so wrong that I am not surprised. I actually remember a bit of it. Not knowing all the detail. but Wallabie, your comments at some times are so irratating, witout grounds and plainly uninformed, twisted out of context, derogatory and directly affronting concerning things that doesn’t involve you.. that I will second those actions anytime.

the one or two times that you are “bantering” is not worth putting up with the rest of your ****. This has got nothing to do with the fact that I know you are a second class citizen according to recent research that deals with behavioural similarities between people and nonmatter.

• 256.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Kingpaul

This is a topic for another day.

but I have it that this is the truth.

remind me later but I gotta go

• 257.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

251 Pietman het jy nie ‘n mêêêêssage vir Walla nie :D

• 258.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

shooter 255

It is not and I only responded to Kwagga…shooter wake up mate…I am inviting him back.

• 259.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

254, just plain pathetic….hehehe, anyway cheers all, gotta go

• 260.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

howcome that wallabie, gladys, dingo is always at the centre of strife?

• 261.Pietman: Reply to this comment

257# Tripples
    Nee, f#k hom, ek is juis besig hier met twee nikswerd Ozzies aan wie ek my besigheid agterlaat terwyl ek op vakansie is, swoeg al heeldag met die wetters.
    Praat so oor n halfuur weer, laat ek net gou ‘op cash’ hier.

• 262.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Bahhhhhhsically I think all this fighting is not necessary.

• 263.shooter: Reply to this comment

258, who is this is?

• 264.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

Ek dink Walla is ‘n skaapwagter van formaat.
    Ons moet dalk nog ‘n poll hier hou, een vir die terugkeer van gbs en cuzzy, en die ander vir die verwydering van alle skaapliefhebbers.
    Ons ruil jou walla vir gbs en cuzzy, en bring sommer vir Stan ook terug.

• 265.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Die liefde vir Gee BEE eSsss en die Cuzmeister loop dik hier maar die liefde vir die skeermesmisbruiker nie, wonder hoekom?

• 266.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

vloerie,
    a goeie fight is net so nodig soos brood en water.

• 267.shooter: Reply to this comment

die vent is ‘n skaap in skaapsklere. enige oomblik kan hy die grootste twak kwytraak. en hy verbeel homself hy is ‘n ere burger omdat sy vrou lank terug hier gebly het. en dan baie slim. ernstige probleme om van die blog af te bly as hy eers gesuip het.

• 268.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

ons lewens is heeltemal te steriel, ons het n bietjie uitlaat nodig..

• 269.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

255 shooter

You really need to lighten up mate!

• 270.shooter: Reply to this comment

ok, walla, just stay the lightweight you are. assume the position

• 271.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

wat beteken die feit dat sy vrou hier gebly het?

my skoonma bly ook hier, wat is sy punt?

• 272.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

Ek het sopas goeie nuus gekry. GBS gaan na die 31 Januarie terugkom as die nuwe webmaster!!! Hieeehaaaa!!!!

• 273.rangerman: Reply to this comment

hey! walla!
    i thought you were off? dont say cheers and then hang around waiting top see if anyone cares. its sad.

• 274.NIF: Reply to this comment

Walla is not so bad! his better than tacitus!!!!

BB – wat se jy my vlou bul ondersteuner??

• 275.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

shooter

Its nice to know that I am irritating you…lovely…job done.

Go to bed and hopefully the new day will be better for you.

• 276.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

ranger

I was gone but then back…this thread is about to get exciting.

remeber the REDS might give the Bulls some stick.

The Brumbies will definitely so…brumbies to finish the round robin in the top 4.

• 277.rangerman: Reply to this comment

hop along walla! S14 time cometh and you will have nowhere to hide when the sharks come knocking.

• 278.shooter: Reply to this comment

275, well, you don’t want to know the category of things that irritate me. that’s the point, if your purpose here is to irritate, i get that impression.

• 279.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ha ha walla! the Reds? couldnt beat their granma at tiddlywinks buddy. what makes you think the ozzie sides have suddenly got sooooo much better?
    must be hope, something that apparently springs eternal.

• 280.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Nif

You see some here just dont get it…..I just react and push the buttons they dont want pushing.

I will talk rugby and be nice to whom are nice or polite.

• 281.Fern: Reply to this comment

#275.talking of going to bed,whats the time there by you now???

• 282.Bod: Reply to this comment

Ignatious

Is that you deleting my posts??

• 283.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

How is the new coach of the Reds, anybody know much about him?

The Reds have depth problems once again, should be wooden spoonests this year!

• 284.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

NIF, vlou bul jou tannie se gat man!

• 285.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

ranger

It gets people going..mention the worst team in the comp and that they will beat the best saffa team…it a brilliant concotion that works.

debate begins!

• 286.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

England team for Saturday:
    15 Iain Balshaw (Gloucester), 14 Paul Sackey (Wasps), 13 Mike Tindall (Gloucester), 12 Toby Flood (Newcastle), 11 David Strettle (Harlequins), 10 Jonny Wilkinson (Newcastle), 9 Andy Gomarsall (Harlequins), 8 Luke Narraway (Gloucester) 7 Lewis Moody (Leicester), 6 James Haskell (Wasps), 5 Steve Borthwick (Bath), 4 Simon Shaw (Wasps), 3 Phil Vickery (Wasps) (c), 2 Mark Regan (Bristol), 1 Andrew Sheridan (Sale Sharks).
    Replacements: 16 Lee Mears (Bath), 17 Matt Stevens (Bath), 18 Ben Kay (Leicester), 19 Tom Rees (Wasps), 20 Richard Wigglesworth (Sale Sharks), 21 Danny Cipriani (Wasps), 22 Lesley Vainikolo (Gloucester).

• 287.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

i dont think they will be wooden spoonest…even though I hope they do just to rile some of the QLders.

One will see an improved Reds…becareful!

Thats all I say.

Keep a close eye on how they do against the blues this weekend…should tell us something.

• 288.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Fern
    Dit is 11 nm in Walla Valley, maar sy Saffa vrou het hom seker weer by die bed uitgeskop, die luisgat.
    Sy berou seker die dag dat sy met laaggeteelde afstammeling getrou het.

• 289.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

Wales team for Saturday:
    15 Lee Byrne (Ospreys), 14 Mark Jones (Scarlets), 13 Sonny Parker (Ospreys), 12 Gavin Henson (Ospreys), 11 Shane Williams (Ospreys), 10 James Hook (Ospreys), 9 Mike Phillips (Ospreys), 8 Ryan Jones (c) (Ospreys), 7 Martyn Williams (Cardiff Blues), 6 Jonathan Thomas (Ospreys), 5 Ian Gough (Ospreys), 4 Alun Wyn-Jones (Ospreys), 3 Duncan Jones (Ospreys), 2 Huw Bennett (Ospreys), 1 Adam Jones (Ospreys).
    Replacements: 16 Matthew Rees (Scarlets), 17 Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), 18 Ian Evans (Ospreys), 19 Alix Popham (Scarlets), 20 Gareth Cooper (Gloucester), 21 Stephen Jones (Scarlets), 22 Tom Shanklin (Cardiff Blues).

• 290.Bod: Reply to this comment

Let me try again…

Vreter

The only thing that is going to get vreted at Pecanwood are your provees. I suggest you stock up aplenty… (Now what is wrong with that??)

Waar is daai f….n (OK, so I did swear) agenda en gastelys van jou. We need to prepare… (now confirm as to why this is a deleteable post Ignatious)

• 291.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I am always here.

• 292.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

Ireland team for Saturday:
    15 Girvan Dempsey (Leinster), 14 Andrew Trimble (Ulster), Brian O’Driscoll (Leinster, captain), 12 Gordan D’Arcy (Leinster), 11 Geordan Murphy (Leicester), 10 Ronan O’Gara (Munster), 9 Eoin Reddan (Wasps), 8 Denis Leamy (Munster), 7 David Wallace (Munster), 6 Simon Easterby (Llanelli), 5 Malcolm O’Kelly (Leinster), 4 Donncha O’Callaghan (Munster), 3 John Hayes (Munster), 2 Rory Best (Ulster), 1 Marcus Horan (Munster),
    Replacements: 16 Bernard Jackman (Leinster), 17 Tony Buckley (Munster), 18 Mick O’Driscoll (Munster), 19 Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Peter Stringer (Munster), Paddy Wallace (Ulster), Rob Kearney (Leinster).

• 293.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Shooter

I will explain in simple language…if u are looking to be irritated…you will get irritated!!!

you get it now?

• 294.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

walla,
    doesnt it bother you that the worst team in the comp is a aus team?

• 295.rangerman: Reply to this comment

hah walla, now i know you are stirring “the best saffa team”.who is the best ozzie team? you seem to pin your hopes to the brumbies when they only have mortlock left and even he is long in the tooth. for interest sake, check out butch james vs stirling mortlock on youtube.
    whos your daddy?

• 296.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Evening Boys & Dawn :-)

• 297.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

if this rabid dingo was a frog he’d be called Voila.

• 298.NIF: Reply to this comment

walla – which Oz team do you support? don’t think the Brumbies will do that well, they will take a while to impress without Georgie and Larkham. Western Force has a good coach and they did well last year so I recon they could be the Auzie threat this year.

• 299.Fern: Reply to this comment

Pietman is hy laaggeteel of ingeteel?

• 300.Ig: Reply to this comment

282 – nope.

164 – Jinx – would be happy to.

Dawn, new webbie nerd?!?!? Hahah i am sure he would like that

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.