Lion cub hungry for action

New Lions recruit Michael Killian is targeting tomorrow’s friendly against the Bulls as a potential springboard to the Super 14.

Loffie Eloff has preached extensively on the virtues of investing in young talent since assuming the head coach’s role in 2006. The Lions mentor told this website at the end of last year he did not believe in buying big names and was determined to develop the better players locally.

On the brink of his second Super Rugby season, Eloff admitted he was very excited about one player in particular. He was reluctant to talk up Killian before he played, and could only say he saw potential in the 24-year-old former EP Elephants flyhalf. However, with frontline pivot Andre Pretorius ruled out of the competition, Killian may well enter the Super 14 picture sooner than expected.

“I’ve been handed a great opportunity and all I can do now is go out and give 100%,” Killian told keo.co.za. “Andre’s injury is a major loss. He’s such an important player, and his experience as a Springbok is invaluable. But his injury has slightly opened the door for me. I have the opportunity, and my inclusion could depend on how I play against the Bulls tomorrow.”

Killian will play for the Lions B team against the Bulls on Thursday night. His performance in this fixture will also determine if he features in the subsequent warm-ups and whether he makes the final squad of 30.

Born in Uitenhage, Killian came through the EP ranks first representing the U19 side in 2002. Flyhalf is his preferred position although he spent the majority of his tenure at fullback. Eloff has said he will play in his natural position, something that sits well with Killian who can switch quite easily between a direct and expansive approach.

“I do prefer flyhalf and have played a lot of my club rugby and for SA Universities in this position,” he said. “I’m a bit of a mixed bag really, I do enjoy a free-flowing game and do take the odd risk, but I’m also quite happy to play a kicking game.

“I think this fits in with the kind of game the Lions are playing at the moment, especially under the new laws. Louis Strydom is our No 1 flyhalf and he had a fantastic Currie Cup. He is also capable of playing both direct and wide.”

It’s been a lot to absorb for Killian, who until four months ago only dreamed of playing at a higher level.

“I never had a pre-existing relationship with Loffie. He gave me a call last September and it all came as quite a shock, as I hadn’t even heard that he was interested.”

Strydom is Eloff’s first-choice flyhalf, while Earl Rose and Jaco van Schalkwyk are also options although have not enjoyed significant game time of late at first receiver. If Killian shines in Thursday’s practice match, Eloff will have a further option should the Lions run into any more injury trouble at 10.

Every prospective player dreams of going up against their heroes, and Killian is no different.

“If I do make the squad, I’d really like to have a crack at the Crusaders,” he said. “You always want to judge yourself against the best, and going up against Dan Carter would be a great challenge.

“Locally, I look forward to facing the Sharks. They play an exciting brand of rugby which would be another good test for me.”

By Jon Cardinelli

86 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Great points Pietman,

the stories about Cheeky abilities were legend, especially when Danie is the one telling them.

I liked how China played the game.

Armand duP is not there because he was worse then Adri!!. Both of them together would be too risky. George was a very player in the DV Visser mould. :D

Richardson?? No way. Garth was miles ahead and could literally dictate games on his own.

• 52.Bod: Reply to this comment

Sorry… thinking about Adri Badenhorst and not Adolf Malan.

That was quite a lock pairing… Badenhorst and Raubenheimer

• 53.Pietman: Reply to this comment

50# Bod
    No, Adolf is a Polokwane (P’ burg) school boy (born in Germiston).
    Played Craven for Far North.
    Pta prokurower these days, not far from Loftus is his ‘hang out’, pardon ‘chambers’.
    Only time he saw PE is when he went to play for the Bulls, and got nailed by Armand/Adri and the boys!

• 54.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#48 No Pietman not Chris,

Shaun Gage was the one who committed suicide, think ’91. Same year Jan Lock collapse and died from drugs he was taking. Lock was a great lost, rated the strongest tighthead in SA at the time.

• 55.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Adri Badenhorst is from Prieska, their only Springbok.
    But you will like it there Bod, good old Orange River soggy bottom area!
    Long way from there to the ‘Mund’ though… 250 km up-stream from Upington, with f…all in between.

• 56.Pietman: Reply to this comment

54# Gerber
    Memory fading, sorry.
    Shaun, a hooker, who played for Natal also?
    Eishh, I hate old age creeping in…and I don’t even know how to google properly!

• 57.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Pietman,

Adri and Armand must hold some sort of record for worst disciplinary record in SA history.

Adri was one of the players of the year in his first season of cc rugby. But he really let himself down with his short fuse. A great lineout exponent nonetheless.

• 58.Pietman: Reply to this comment

57# gerber
    Yes, meanies they were indeed.
    In today’s rugby they and the likes of Moaner vH would have walked even before the anthems!
    I mean, Dennis even ‘donnered’ the opposition in the tunnel before the game as they ran out!

• 59.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#56 Pietman,

Shaun(Tvl/Natal) was quite a talent, the news of his suicide was a real shock in Natal rugby circles.

memory lost is part of old age BUT some memories form the past are entrenched. It is not a crime to remember the old days…sadly, some in govt would call us names for doing so.

• 60.Bod: Reply to this comment

Gods country Pietman…

I had a lunch with katman today and we were discussing another part of Gods country which we have both been privvy to…. Venda and the Soutpansberg.

Ever done the road from Louis Trichardt to Thoyandoyou, with all the little roads up into the mountain…. Lake Fundutsi and the like. Eish…

• 61.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

The days of the ‘biff are truley over Pietman :)

I personally thought Robert du Preez was the worst of the lot, because he was sneeky with his dirty play and often the ref would miss it. Guy got away with murder and I was first hand witness to it many times.

• 62.Pietman: Reply to this comment

61# gerber
    Robert cost the Bulls CC1991, with that late tacle on Watson…and Joel put 10 points on the board in two minutes!
    Converted try and penalty thereafter from the halfway.
    And then Robert went to play for Natal!

But, I always meant to ask, who was Naas’ #9 against the Cavaliers in ’86, when Burger broke Andy’s jaw?
    Was it Robert?
    Look at that match on YouTube, there is some shorty playing scrumhalf.
    Help me out here Gerber!

• 63.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Bod
    Yes, I worked at Sibasa for a while, and also at Turfloop Uni.,doing malaria research, during my scholarship days.
    I have some stories to tell about that…..

• 64.Bod: Reply to this comment

Pietman

The Free State scrummie (I forget his name) for the first two tests (Newlands and Kings Park) and then Garth Wright for the Loftus and Ellis Park tests…

• 65.Bod: Reply to this comment

Pietman

One of the undiscovered gems of the country, as is much of the Limpopo Province.

• 66.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Bod
    No, not Christo Ferreira (the SARP lawyer), Ia m talking about the NTvl scrummie, against the Cavaliers..
    He looks like Ferreira on YouTube though!
    But Ferreira didn’t ever play NTvl did he?
    Gerber?

• 67.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

could being Harry Viljeon as Tommy du Plessis sure had retired..and Tommy was a big for a scrummie back then.

wil have a look at that game..I still remember the buz from that tour.

• 68.Bod: Reply to this comment

Sorry

I thought you were talking the tests…

I am sure it was Tommy Du Plessis

• 69.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Bod
    Manly, XkreniWP and I was in the army there, at Rooikat base, in the Limpopo Valley, mama mia!
    Don’t remind me of those days, we walked the beat there, day and night.

• 70.Pietman: Reply to this comment

68# Bod
    Ahhh, Tommy!!!
    Thx.
    But he looks so small on the video.

• 71.Bod: Reply to this comment

My fondest memory of that tour was the Natal game, which I watched live.

Ol Graham Hefer taking a swing at Buck Shelford… realised what he had done… turned around and ran for dear life. What a brawl…

• 72.Bod: Reply to this comment

Pietman

My memories of the place would also be skewered if I did army time there. Fortunately I have precious memories of the place.

However dont mention the words Bloemfontein and Zeerust…

• 73.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Bod
    Yes, the Natal game was a moerse fight, HReece Edwards trying to hold the peace, and he got smacked by Gary Knight.
    Dirtiest game of the tour.
    But Gert Smal then did HRE a favour, and nailed Gary big time at Ellis Park the next test!

• 74.LoveJoy: Reply to this comment

Pietman,
    van watse Tobie is jy familie? Oosthuizen?

G13… China Bell was kak :)

en jy moet vir barry pinock plek maak op die bank.. al is dit net n sympathy vote, omdat hy vir amper 86 jaar vir OP gespeel het! ek het later begin dink hulle sal hom moet skiet om hom te kry om op te hou. ;)

jy kan altyd vir Jonnie Vermeulen kies as jy iemand nodig het om pale toe te skop van sy eie kwartgebied af… en jy kan Harold Karelle in sit as jy iemand nodig het om 1 briljante seisoen te speel en dan te verdwyn van die aardbol af

• 75.Bod: Reply to this comment

Ja Pietman

Still the finest punch of all time… ol’Gary went down like the Bismarck

• 76.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

No not Tommy

it was a half by name of Twiname(sp?) or something. He ended up being a reserve for one of the tests.

Christo did play for NTvl.

• 77.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

that Natal brawl must be up there as the worst in SA history.

and I have seen and being part of a few bad ones
    myself!

• 78.Pietman: Reply to this comment

76# gerber
    Yes, Donovon Twiname(sp)! Pta Police.
    Bliksem!!
    I have had sleepless nights about this oke, but just couldn’t remember his name.
    Played for W.Tvl in Potch before, and ended up in Stella with Liaam Kirkham..
    Welsh name, but boerjie from Mafikeng.

• 79.Pietman: Reply to this comment

74# Lovejoy
    Tobie Hanekom, die diknek van Keimoes, was later daar by Ou Mutual in die Baai, eers onnie by die tegniese skool gewees.
    Stem oor Barry Pinnock en Tobie Oosthuizen, goeie, harde losmanne gewees daai. As hulle jou geloop het, was dit ribbes moer toe.
    Tobie het saam met Naas vir Rovigo gespeel.

• 80.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

thats it.

Robert was also from W.Tvl but he moved to NTvl ’87/88 and was the reserve Bok halfback in ’89.

I still not sure how Twiname got on the Bok bench ahead of likes of Freddie Ferriera But fact he was Naas partner at provincial level often was an advantage.

Christo
    Robert
    Johan Roux
    Joost

• 81.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Johnny Vermeulen!
    Nou daar was n skopper van formaat, skoon vergeet van hom.
    Eish, die OP het MANNE gehad daai tyd.
    Hoop Cheeky-hulle kan die dinge regruk daar weer.
    Maar die geld is nie meer in die Baai nie, dis al probleem.

• 82.Pietman: Reply to this comment

greatest
    No man, ‘Boetieman’ Ferreira (Maties) was kuk.
    Patensie se Ferreiras.
    You talking about Christo, surely?

• 83.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Tobie got a bok trial in ’92. Apparently rated higher then Pienaar at the time. A sound EP captain.

well, Pietman and guys, must go..5am almost and time to get ready for work. Pietman, I found on trademe site here in NZ on sale, Cavaliers Tour
    video set. I will have a look at bidding for it. Worth the memories alone.

my old man, still has a good video library of NTvl games that I must find time to put on DVD one day. Have enjoyed going back to the ’80s talking about Despatch & EP. Coming from N.Tvl at the time, I was picked on by some hard ******** but it was a good grounding at a school of hard knocks :)

Despatch Forever!

• 84.Pietman: Reply to this comment

greatest and the boys
    I have to dive as well.
    Catch you manne later.
    Mooi loop.

• 85.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

LOL Pietman,

Freddie at club level was quite good in my book :)
    Same as Bonthuys at the time.

yeah, maybeFredie was average but I would still have given him a shot ahead of Donovan. Christo best year was ’85. He faded very fast after ’86!.

catchup later Pman

• 86.walter: Reply to this comment

Anybody going to tonight’s game?

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.