Ollie dreams of Cheetahs swansong
30 Jan 2008
Ollie le Roux admits the pace of European rugby suits his game but would dearly love to end his career with the Cheetahs.
The former Springbok prop moved to Ireland at the end of last year to take up a contract with Leinster, a move that saw him miss the climax of the Currie Cup and a title-win for his beloved Free State. He began the European season strongly, starting in the front row and providing Leinster with plenty of impetus.
His new team failed to make the European Cup quarter-finals, but are still top of the Celtic League. When his contract expires in May, Le Roux hasn’t ruled out a possible return to Bloemfontein.
“I’ve spoken to Free State about coming back, but nothing is decided just yet,” he told keo.co.za. “I definitely have one more season left in these bones.
“I love playing in South Africa, in both the Currie Cup and Super 14. In spite of everything, it really is an incredible country. There are small things that get you down over here like the sun rising at 8:30 and setting at 16:30. The prices are also astronomical, I mean if you go for a cup of coffee it’s nearly R200, which can put you off going out. The people also don’t compare, they are not as outgoing as South Africans.”
Having played over 300 first class games for South African teams, Le Roux still believes the southern hemisphere competitions are superior to the ones played in Europe.
“The Super 14 is a lot faster and wider,” he said. “I’d say the intensity is the same over here, but in the Super 14 there’s a lot more structure whereas over here they tend to rely on the individual. The Super 14 also sees more free-flowing moves between the forwards and the backs, whereas it’s just as physical but much tighter up north.”
The latter aspect is one that suits Le Roux to a tee. As an aging front ranker, Europe seems a good place to be.
“At 34, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy it. I no longer have to worry about covering a Stirling Mortlock or a Doug Howlett because the pace of the game is that much slower. I can play a full game for Leinster quite comfortably, but after 70 minutes in the Super 14, I’m completely exhausted.”
Le Roux could well stay on at Leinster, who may not be opposed to the idea given his extensive experience at every level of the game.
“I think I proved myself in a big way when I arrived,” he said. “I’d played enough rugby to offer a bit as a player, and I was happy to help in other ways. Every now and then I’d give the guys some input on how to improve a drive or fine-tune a move, and occasionally they take my advice.”
Leinster boast several Ireland names with Brian O’Driscoll and Shane Horgan just two of their Test stars. Le Roux lauded their influence for both club and country but at the same time lamented their lack of exposure to the southern hemisphere game.
“They’re very passionate players and legends in this country, what we’d call ‘The Untouchables’. It’s frightening to see how much skill these guys possess and in a way it’s a shame they will never experience the Super 14. People [South Africans] will never appreciate just how special they are, I mean some of their performances, especially in the wet European conditions have been amazing to watch.”
Le Roux hasn’t featured much of late due to a rib injury, but the great thing about European rugby is the lengthy break between matches. Leinster’s last game was a 25-16 victory over the Ospreys on 5 January, while their next outing is scheduled for the 16 February. Le Roux is confident he’ll be back in action by then.
By Jon Cardinelli

41 Comments
30 Jan 2008, 08:15 am
Thanks Ollie but no thanks. The Freestate has enough props. Try phoning Rassie, he is in desparate need of a new Fatty!
30 Jan 2008, 08:18 am
F@K wil Ollie 1000 wedstryde speel, gaan rus nou in vrede ou
30 Jan 2008, 08:21 am
lol, the pace of the NH suits his game, so he can continue to stuff his face and stroll around the park…
Ollie is a cheapskate, and yes a cup of coffee would cost him almost R200 because he has to have all the muffins to go with the cup of coffee.
Ollie was sweating like a pig and looked exhausted after 5 minutes on the field.
30 Jan 2008, 08:35 am
The moment this happens watch out for super big smiles on the manager’s faces at Spur,KFC,Nandos,Romans,Woolies…..hell al the fast food joints in Bloem
30 Jan 2008, 08:46 am
Even when he isn’t in SA rent-a-quote still gets time on Keo!!
30 Jan 2008, 08:57 am
Ollie hou jou bek!
30 Jan 2008, 08:57 am
Ollie. Get a hobby china.
30 Jan 2008, 09:00 am
Oh Kid, he has a hobby, a good one! It is to piss people off with his comments…does it without fail, just check above!
30 Jan 2008, 09:01 am
Ja, Oily must stay overseas. rudolf straeuli and corne krige must go and join him too. Never come back, not even for holidays.
Although, with the way SA is going we might end up joining Oily overseas!
30 Jan 2008, 09:01 am
as ek my nie misgis nie, is daar ‘n spur in ierland, hoekom sal hy dan wil terugkom?
30 Jan 2008, 09:11 am
How many Ollies does it take to screw in a lightbulb?
30 Jan 2008, 09:13 am
Dunno Kid, how many?
30 Jan 2008, 09:18 am
Ollie is a legend
30 Jan 2008, 09:21 am
Three. 1 to hold the ladder and 1 to hold his boep up.
30 Jan 2008, 09:26 am
Ollie is a Warrior…..
30 Jan 2008, 09:27 am
…….n kukhuis warrior
30 Jan 2008, 09:28 am
15/16. hahahaha!
30 Jan 2008, 09:30 am
Faaaark, hoe dik is hy nou na al daai Guinness and cottage pies nie, wonder ek.
30 Jan 2008, 09:32 am
Has he given up smoking cigars?
30 Jan 2008, 09:32 am
Ja bliksem Pietta.
Sy span-foto verlede week was blykbaar n lug-foto.
**** die stadsraad moes eers die planne goedkeur voor hulle sy rugbytrui kon maak.
30 Jan 2008, 09:37 am
21. Ollie is an engineering miracle.
30 Jan 2008, 09:38 am
21. shoulda been 20, skuus.
30 Jan 2008, 09:39 am
Kid maybe we should get Discovery to do a show on him on Extreme engineering?
30 Jan 2008, 09:42 am
Kwagga
Lol!
Ollie was goed in sy jong dae, veelsydige sportman, maar hy het n bietjie van n kuk houding ontwikkel die laaste tyd.
En hy is darem te dik, dink as hy op Wellington in 40C moes speel, sy hart sal gaan staan met die opdraf.
30 Jan 2008, 09:44 am
23. They’ll need a wide lense though….lol.
30 Jan 2008, 09:52 am
Ollie was a very good player, a well-respected Springbok.
The ELVs, however, precludes any possibility of him making a “swansong”.
Quite simply, he does not fit.
Let him end his days in Europe – he’s playing some damn fine rugby for Leinster. Try to keep your dignity, Ollie.
In Ollie’s defence, at least he clearly states that the conditions in the South are so much faster and free-flowing.
Wonder what old Big Hit will say about that.
30 Jan 2008, 09:54 am
I am sure the Irish will love your comment “the people are not as outgoing as South Africans” – what planet are you from – they are known for their zest and VERY outgoing! Maybe they just don’t like you Ollie!!!
30 Jan 2008, 09:55 am
Well, Ollie has always been a great “communicator”.
30 Jan 2008, 09:58 am
Boggggerofski Ollie, ek hettie meer tyd vir jou nie.
30 Jan 2008, 09:59 am
#27 To be honest, Ollie spent most of his time in Bloemfontein, where the people are EXTREMELY friendly and outgoing.
In fact, Bloemfontein is so small, everyone knows each other, and is probably related as well.
Now that he’s based in Dublin, a place that’s an ACTUAL city, it seems completely different.
30 Jan 2008, 10:06 am
Keo just loves Ollie!!
Ollie has been dreaming ever since his test debut in 1993 against the Pumas!!He needs to quit, maybe Spurs can appoint him and Sephaka (transformation obligations need to be fulfilled) to be worldwide ambassadors for their priceless Burgers!! At least Ollie can start dreaming about his delicious next meal, rather than wasting his time dreaming about that Free State jersey..
Enough is Enough
30 Jan 2008, 10:07 am
Who cares what Olie thinks, people have lost respect for him and his loud mouth. He’s always complaining about something. Sounds like he is just crusing at Leinster instead of puttign in 100% … typical !
30 Jan 2008, 10:14 am
yebo
Withdraw your words.
Ollie is playing his heart out for Leinster – have you actually watched his games? He’s really performing well for Leinster.
He has been slightly unlucky with injuries, but since his arrival at Leinster has done a fantastic job of providing a stable platform for the rest of the Leinster pack to work off, beginning with the scrum. Leinster’s pack has undoubtedly improved since Ollie joined them. Leinster loves him.
30 Jan 2008, 10:36 am
perhaps ollie can play out his last season for the bulls, they will just need to stock up on cigars for him.
30 Jan 2008, 10:41 am
#33 are you Ollies agent by any chance?
30 Jan 2008, 11:00 am
Cape Shark
Hahahahaha, no!
I just recognise quality where quality’s due, and acknowledge performance.
Ollie was a great Springbok hero in his days.
It’s amazing how quickly people can turn on players…
30 Jan 2008, 12:37 pm
wp till i die .. kiff name
Leinster can have him. Ollie is an attention seeking idiot.
30 Jan 2008, 13:21 pm
10 – yes there are Spurs in Ireland.
30 Jan 2008, 13:39 pm
Ollie was good in his day and when he played the game for the right reasons. People and players respected him. It all went to his head sadly and he lost everyhting he earned when he moved up to the cheetahs and started opening his big mouth and making personal attacks on others.
Bob Skinstad was excactly the opposite. He started off on the wrong foot. Sticking his tongue out, smiling arrogantly during anthems etc. A lot of poeple did not enjoy this side to him. He tunred that all around upon his return to SA though and hats off to the boy. He earned his respect back by playing for the team and he learned that no one is bigger than the game too. Sadly this is how Ollie has come across in the twilight of career.
30 Jan 2008, 15:09 pm
I loved that side to Skinstad, especially because he backed it up on the field.
We used to run around doing the tongue celebration
30 Jan 2008, 15:19 pm
Ollie needs to find a cheaper coffee shop! That is over 18 Euro for a cup. Must have seen him coming! Fool.
Don’t know why he has to say that stuff, I am sure Leinster are looking after him. Sounds like he is not ready to cut the aprin strings.