Sheridan among English casualties

Brian Ashton has made five changes to his England starting line-up – four of which are due to injury.

Andy Sheridan has joined Lewis Moody, David Strettle and Mike Tindall on the injured list and will not feature in Saturday’s game against Italy.

The Wasps’ Tim Payne will replace Sheridan while Bath’s Michael Lipman comes into the side on the openside flank. Tindall is replaced by Jamie Noon and Lesley Vanikolo earns his first start on the wing.

Nick Easter has also been brought in as the only unforced change to last week’s losing side. Luke Farraway drops to the bench.

England – 15 Ian Balshaw (Gloucester), 14 Paul Sackey (Wasps), 13 Jamie Noon (Newcastle), 12 Toby Flood (Newcastle), 11 Lesley Vainikolo (Gloucester), 10 Jonny Wilkinson (Newcastle), 9 Andy Gomarsall (Harlequins), 8 Nick Easter (Harlequins), 7 Michael Lipman (Bath), 6 James Haskell (Wasps), 5 Steve Borthwick (Bath), 4 Simon Shaw (Wasps), 3 Phil Vickery (Wasps, captain), 2 Mark Regan (Bristol), 1 Tim Payne (Wasps).
Subs: 16 Lee Mears (Bath), 17 Matt Stevens (Bath), 18 Ben Kay (Leicester), 19 Luke Narraway (Gloucester), 20 Richard Wigglesworth (Sale Sharks), 21 Danny Cipriani (Wasps), 22 Mathew Tait (Newcastle).