Durban’s new Playboy
12 Feb 2008
Frederic Michalak is a model, a gay icon and music producer. But he wants you to remember him as a rugby player.
SA Rugby magazine visited the French flyhalf in Durban on the eve of the Super 14 to extract the man behind the hype.
“I’m here for the rugby and not for the party as some would have you believe,” he says. “I’ve always dreamt of playing Super Rugby and I’m not going to blow my opportunity.”
In the mag, Michalak reveals why he joined the Sharks, which Sharks players he rates and why this pre-season has been the toughest of his career. He also explains the meaning behind his tattoos, why he prefers children to adults and why he’s a big fan of hip hop.
In the new issue of SA Rugby magazine:
– Peter de Villiers on apartheid, Luke and Cheeky Watson, playing an expansive game against the All Blacks, and what he would have told Heyneke Meyer after the Bok coach announcement
– Nick Mallett on life in Rome
– Stofile: Mad Mike or Iron Mike? You decide?
– Neil de Kock sizzles for Saracens (but still dreams of playing for the Boks again)
– Super 14 focus: Big Joe, Jongi Nokwe, Conrad Jantjes and Wikus van Heerden
– Why the President’s Council should not be running SA Rugby
– Lost Pumas: Argentina’s battle for recognition
– Bob Skinstad joins our team of columnists
– Giant 2008 fixtures poster

448 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 » Show All
12 Feb 2008, 11:23 am
Seen some of those calenders.
Wasn’t there some test/survey done that showed that those most anti-*** hetros were the ones most aroused my images of gayness.
12 Feb 2008, 11:24 am
my = by
12 Feb 2008, 11:26 am
#301 – Don’t know about no survey….BUT I know if they ever did “survey” me, I would not have much to say except, KEEP EM COMIN…
12 Feb 2008, 11:31 am
fabio,
the truth too much for some. I am looking forward to the game coming up. WP look to have a very unpredictible but exciting attacking backline. But, its a case of whether their pack can muscle up to the Blue pack that will determine how much ball they actually get to run with.
12 Feb 2008, 11:34 am
i wonder if bakkies will be 100% committed after he was denied early exit from his contract? if he isnt, the bulls pack could be the weakest in the competition.
12 Feb 2008, 11:37 am
Ou Cuzzy, tiek-tok, tiek-tok….. 20.5 ure oor…
Flokkit, my kleinste is amper 15….. maar om by te staan by die beboorte was steeds die grootste emosionele gebeurtenis in my lewe…..
Oë so groot soos pierings, adrenalien wat pomp…… dis mooooooooooosa hoe die menslike instinkte beginne inskop !
12 Feb 2008, 11:38 am
Are there any women rugby players on par with Michalak looks?
In other words, attractive & not looks like a man.
12 Feb 2008, 11:39 am
Bakkies will be to busy thinking about what could have been…
He is just an ordinary lock now. He wont give anymore than he has to.
12 Feb 2008, 11:42 am
greatest13gerber
Open your eyes
Pretoria has a very high *** population. 2nd highest in the country I think
Also what has Christainity got to do with anything
12 Feb 2008, 11:54 am
Greatest13 seems to be wracked with guilt for coveting his neighbour’s ***.
12 Feb 2008, 11:55 am
Hopefully the Stormers play with *** abandon over the weekend.
12 Feb 2008, 11:58 am
lol racheljie!!
12 Feb 2008, 12:01 pm
funny thing is, once a player indicates he wants to leave, most professional sports sides worldwide are more than happy to assist. this is because the player can lose commitment and focus and lets be honest, at the lvel bakkies plays at, if he is not giving 110%, he will soon be found wanting by his team.
even the pretoria mafia wont be able to motivate bakkies!
the poor guy must just sommer trek!
12 Feb 2008, 12:06 pm
katman, did you enjoy man city’s preformance on sunday?
12 Feb 2008, 12:10 pm
311 – Isn’t that when the Traveling Bullbellies realise that they forgot gbs at Cape Town station on Saturday?
12 Feb 2008, 12:11 pm
G13G,
So Pretoria is the *** Capital of the High Veld.
Fat Bald Ugly Faggs…………
Now, I know why you chose to live in Auckland. You tiger you.
12 Feb 2008, 12:15 pm
#315 – LMFAO….Stop it now…decent folk such as I, are trying to work, and forget that the S14 starts in 3 days….
#316 – LMFAO2
12 Feb 2008, 12:20 pm
we are not talking about the same Pretoria here.
#316 Cane
I live on North Shore City not Auckland. there is a distinction.
12 Feb 2008, 12:22 pm
Yes, Buck, I did. That puts Arsenal 5 points clear at the top.
And poor Man U were playing at home in their old, historic kit.
12 Feb 2008, 12:23 pm
Stormers win this weekend to be the first of many upsets in this years Comp.
Luke to shine, his halo a beacon of inspiration to his team mates.
12 Feb 2008, 12:30 pm
#320 – Cane, you are now OFFICIALLY one of my Rugby Gods….I am going to tell young Luke how he even has support in NZ. Bless you Cane.
12 Feb 2008, 12:34 pm
keo: I am thoroughly sick of the homophobia on this website. In particular, the use of words like “moffie” (see post #2 on this thread) is no better than using a racially abusive epithet when talking about black people (which I’m sure plenty of the muppets on this site in fact do in the privacy of their own homes and when braaiing and drinking brandy with their racist mates, but that’s another story).
keo, I’m serious. I invite you to delete all postings containing homophobic terminology and the constant childish gat jokes about the Stormers. These jokes are just as bad as the use of abusive terms like “moffie”, since they imply that there is something funny about being ***.
In addition, I invite you to ban all contributors who persist in submitting homophobic postings after they have been warned once – which is exactly what you would do if someone here was using explicitly racist terminology.
I hope and trust that you will take me up on my invitation, keo. If not, then you are implicated in the homophobia as well. This is what the Human Rights Commission and the Equality Courts exist for.
12 Feb 2008, 12:41 pm
#322: Chill out man.
12 Feb 2008, 12:42 pm
Doc,
Actually, in the past I have been a bit cruel to Luke. I often refered to him as The Halfling or the Hobbit.
But when all and sundry began to persecute the poor Guy for things he had no control over I moved into his corner.
Stormers have a very good Loose Trio in Melk, Luke and Burger. As good as any in the comp.
12 Feb 2008, 12:44 pm
pierre, you need a good spanking. really. **** bashing is completely different to race bashing. most men find homoness gross and unsettling. not so about race. so bugger off
12 Feb 2008, 12:46 pm
as for saturday, i’ll be there giving it horns!
12 Feb 2008, 12:47 pm
Just turn the other cheek.
pierre,
You are right and I for one should have known better.
Don’t let it get to you. Take it on the chin.
12 Feb 2008, 12:49 pm
iamyourfather are you ……..Steve Hofmeyer?
12 Feb 2008, 12:49 pm
#324 – And wait til you see Pieter Louw (he’s gonna miss the Bulls game, but he said at cricket last Sunday he’d be fit for the Sharks.) He captained the Baby Boks 2 yrs ago, a real Corne Krige type of player – love him.
Robbie Diack also good – played some great rugby.
Yes, if I may say so myself…in agremment with you, our loosies are hot.
Gettin excited about the comp? Are the Canes ready to rumble? (well Jerry at least…)
12 Feb 2008, 12:51 pm
Cane, has your team been announced yet for the weekend?
12 Feb 2008, 12:55 pm
Ruck
Francois Louw is self ‘n sak vol spykers!! Ek is net baie spyt Conrad is beseer…
12 Feb 2008, 12:56 pm
Doc,
Yes, we are ready to kick some serious butt. *** butt or straight butt we don’t care, but we are gunna kick some.
12 Feb 2008, 12:58 pm
G13G
Listen to Pierre and stop dissing ****. We all know that when you’re down at your local in North Shore ****** and a guy gets up from the bar – you are the first one there to push his stool in.
12 Feb 2008, 12:59 pm
loosehead… i am the real hoff. i just get, uh, bummed when okes get all serious about stuff when the chatting is all lighthearted.
12 Feb 2008, 13:01 pm
#332, Ruck,
I’m sure they have named the Team, but (no pun here) I have not seen it.
As far as I’m aware we have no injury problems so we should be at full strength.
12 Feb 2008, 13:04 pm
#337 – GUD. Hope Jerry takes his ritalin before the game…..(If he gets sent off in the first week, he has screwed up my Fantasy league team BIG TIME..) So you go and tell him that for me – ok?
12 Feb 2008, 13:21 pm
What’s for lunch?
12 Feb 2008, 13:30 pm
Who is going to the Shark Tank this Friday?
12 Feb 2008, 13:31 pm
Not me.
12 Feb 2008, 13:34 pm
Would like to. Not everyday you get to see a *** icon live in action.
12 Feb 2008, 13:37 pm
Ive seen Wynand Olivier in action a few times
Ruckles,
Jerry and I are not talking.
Last year after reading a lot of, “AB’s should not pick Pacific Peoples” posts here on Keo, I attempted to broach the subject with Jerry at my local bar.
I was at the urinal when Jerry took the berth next to me. I started to say “You Pacific Islanders should go home and play for Samoa or whatever and not be allowed in the AB’s, only Maori and Euro Kiwi’s”………….when the Fooker grabbed my head and bit off the end off my nose, and then he spat the tip of my nose into the trough.
The prick didn’t let me finish. I was about to add “this is what foreigners are saying”.
Anyway, he left and I immediately began searching the urinal for my nose tip.
About 30 seconds later I heard the door open again and from my vulnerable position down in the urinal, among the scented crystals, blood, water and unmentionables (I found 50 cents by the way) I looked up to see Jerry had returned………Fook…. what now I thought.
Jerry very precisely and very clearly said, “you got to learn to be more diplomatic, we Islanders are Kiwi’s, just like you. We are home.
Well, I did find the end of my nose and got it sewed back on. I now look a bit like a white Tana Umaga, but it could be worse. I did learn a thing or two as well.
- I got to more diplomatic.
- Be careful how I start a sentence.
- Pacific Islanders are not going home, because they already are home.
So, sorry Ruckles I’m not speaking to Jerry just at the moment.
#342 – Haven’t you got Steve’s LIVE in Tshwane dvd?
12 Feb 2008, 13:40 pm
Bigotry aside Rachel you will be looking at the most talented bunch of rugby players in the world at the moment.
12 Feb 2008, 13:42 pm
A Steve dvd? Over my dead body. Never.
12 Feb 2008, 13:46 pm
no wonder he’s that good with the rugby ball, and slippery when tackled… i c meisiekind’s defence improving already when the play the bulls…..”there’s only place for one b!+c# on the rugby field…..
12 Feb 2008, 13:46 pm
I sure hope WP get smacked this weekend. Would make my weekend. Humble pie anyone?
12 Feb 2008, 13:48 pm
“why he prefers children to adults” a bit of Micheal in there….”have you seen me childhood”
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 » Show All