Toulon’s locked on to Vic

Victor Matfield’s popularity in Toulon makes his status in Pretoria look silly. And Bakkies Botha is not far behind.

To say Matfield is worshipped in the quiet French city would be an understatement. Matfield is a religion – one that has attracted thousands of disciples in the two months he’s been in Toulon.

On Tuesday morning about 50 Toulon supporters gathered at the club’s training ground (around 5km from their home ground, Stade Mayol) to watch their deity practice alongside legends like George Gregan, Andrew Merhtens, Anton Oliver and head coach, Tana Umaga. By the afternoon session that number had swelled to close on to 200 (I’m told that the captain’s run on Friday’s attracts around 1 000 spectators), all discussing one thing – the impact Matfield has made since his arrival.

Matfield took just two minutes into his debut to capture the hearts of the Toulon faithful, stealing a lineout in his 22 then proving to be a secure target for Oliver to aim at. Five minutes later he was dragged down 30cm from the tryline.

“If he had scored from that try the stadium would have cracked in half because of the noise the fans would have made,” Patrick Fornet, president of the Toulon supporters club told keo.co.za.

“Matfield has been an absolute star for us. Here in Toulon, Matfield is God.”

But even “God” isn’t resting on his laurels. Matfield’s work ethic in the practice sessions was outstanding, and his conditioning is not in question. He consistently beat the loose forwards in 40m sprints and as always was at the head of the pack in repeat 80m brisk runs. His team-mates report that his gym work is brilliant.

Matfield looks at home in this environment, and has taken to his new-found fame with consummate ease. He gladly indulges those fans who wait for hours just to get close to him after practice, signing autographs and posing for photographs. Afterwards the fans always have the same question for him: “When is Bakkies coming?”

A fortnight ago keo.co.za reported that Toulon had expressed an interest in signing Matfield’s Springbok blood brother. The Bulls said then that they were reluctant to release him but acknowledged that Toulon, backed by billionaire president Mourad Boudjellal, had the financial resources to buy out his contract (with four years to run, Toulon will have to pay around R10 million to lure Botha to the south of France).

The Bulls on Monday said they would refuse to release Botha, but a source close to Toulon has told keo.co.za that Botha has already signed a pre-contract. An intent to join if you like.

Matfield, who spoke to Botha on Tuesday about the rumours that he’ll join, was reluctant to offer details of their conversation, saying: “ I never called Bakkies to convince him to come here. He will make the decision after careful consideration and it’s not my place to pressure him into a decision.”

Botha is sure to be offered a generous salary. Matfield is reported to be on multi-million rand deal and Botha is sure to be appraised similarly.

The talk about Botha is incessant. “He is a warrior, the type of player we love here at Toulon,” Fornet said.

“When we see a player like him, it’s like he was born to play here. When he comes, it’ll be a big piece in the puzzle in place. The important thing then is that we have him and Matfield playing in the same team, not just one of them.”

It is yet uncertain whether Matfield will return to the Bulls in mid-March. His contract has a escape clause that will allow him to leave should he choose to do so. At present he is uncertain about what to do, but admits to missing the hype in the build-up to the Super 14, especially since the Bulls take on an old foe this weekend.

“Bulls versus Stormers are the kinds of games I live for,” he said. “To miss it is killing me but I guess that’s the trade off you make when signing for a European club.

“The Stormers will probably feel it’s their best chance to beat us … [he pauses]… when I say “us” it shows that I’m still a Bulls boy at heart. Anyway, they’ll feel they are in with a chance, especially since they’re at home. Look out for [former Bulls lock] Adriaan Fondse. He’s a class act and will have something to prove. But the Bulls have a really good squad and I’m sure they’ll do well.

“I’ve got Kudu Club, though, so I’ll get to watch it. I wouldn’t miss it for anything in the world.”

By Ryan Vrede in Toulon, France

108 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

• 1.ruck: Reply to this comment

Will Victor also be posing for the Deiux de Stade calendar this year? Are he and Bakkies *** ICONS 2?

• 2.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Rather sickening, actually.

This is destroying South African domestic rugby.Something must be done.

The French supporters are CERTAINLY not entitled to watch our best players every weekend while we have to be satisfied with the leftovers back in SA.

It is fundamentally WRONG.

• 3.ruck: Reply to this comment

Hello Taci….mwa mwa

• 4.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

hah, even victor gets shafted by sky’s kak super 14 coverage. good old kuduclub, saved me too when i lived in hol-land

• 5.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

good morning everyone

i know this is not a sharks thread but because keo is always late here is some news for those that care
    **** Muir’s Sharks team named to play the Western Force at The Absa Stadium Durban on Friday evening shows few surprises as they look to get the season off to a good start.

After two preseason warm-up games, the last a week ago against the Lions, Muir has pretty much got an idea of the depth of his squad, and the lineup for Friday night’s 7.10pm Vodacom Super 14 match has a familiar feel about it.

Unfortunately there is an injury cloud hanging over Frederic Michalak, and he has been bracketed in with Francois Steyn at flyhalf. Should his calf muscle niggle not recover, Steyn will take his place, and Stefan Terblanche will then play at fullback.

On the bench, one of Jean Deysel or Albert van den Berg will wear the number 19 jersey depending on the former’s recovery – also a minor niggle.

In the front row, Beast Mtawarira, Bismarck du Plessis and BJ Botha provide both stability as well as an exciting element in open play. Johann Muller will lead the side, with Johan Ackermann partnering him at lock. As to be expected, the loose-forward trio is made up of three players who compliment each other’s strengths: Jacques Botes, AJ Venter and Ryan Kankowski.

Ruan Pienaar and Frederic Michalak are the anticipated halfback pairing with JP Pietersen and Henno Mentz on the wings, Bradley Barritt and Waylon Murray partnering in the midfield and Francois Steyn wearing the fullback jersey.

The Sharks proved in both 2001 and 2007 that getting the season off to a winning start, and then sustaining that momentum stood them in good stead for a finish on or near the top of the log.

While the exploits of the Crusaders have shown that a team can start slowly and build up momentum, there is no doubt that, like the Force, the Sharks will look to get the season off to a winning start.

Sharks Starting XV

15. Francois Steyn / Stefan Terblanche
    14. Henno Mentz
    13 Waylon Murray
    12. Bradley Barritt
    11. JP Pietersen
    10. Frederic Michalak / Francois Steyn
    9. Ruan Pienaar
    8. Ryan Kankowski
    7. AJ Venter
    6. Jacques Botes
    5. Johann Muller (Capt)
    4. Johan Ackermann
    3. BJ Botha
    2. Bismarck du Plessis
    1. Beast Mtawarira

Reserves:

16. Craig Burden
    17. Kees Lensing
    18. Jannie du Plessis
    19. Jean Deysel / Albert van den Berg
    20. Rory Kockott
    21. Adrian Jacobs
    22. Stefan Terblanche.

A final squad will be announced once the fitness or otherwise for the match has been finalised.

• 6.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

OK Ryan, its S14 time now. Who da fukc cares bout what Vic is doing or saying.
    Enough please!

• 7.Knock-On: Reply to this comment

That’s just about enough of Big Vic for 2 days.
    Let’s discuss the Sharks team :)

• 8.katman: Reply to this comment

5 – That really is a formidable looking team. To have Jannie and Kees on the bench says something about your depth.

• 9.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

isidigi thats why i posted some news on the sharks team for friday night

• 10.ruck: Reply to this comment

#7 – Those who have given him *** icon status are interested……

• 11.katman: Reply to this comment

Did Keo send Ryan to France, or is he there anyway for his gap year?

• 12.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Sharks-lover

Look again, you’re sure its an injury cloud dangling over Freddie?

• 13.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

even the tongan is not getting a place
    he is going to have to lift his standard to get into that team

• 14.ruck: Reply to this comment

Hiya Katman. Remember to let me know about Saturday. I tried to get a ticket for Bod…..for love, money or electricity..there is nothing available.

• 15.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

isidigi this article is fresh off the sharks blog

• 16.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Go Bakkies go , wow and i tought rugby was big in South Africa

• 17.ruck: Reply to this comment

Lets talk about the STORMERS……

Goodbye to soft-touch Stormers
    - Wednesday, February 13, 2008
    The Vodacom Stormers will be hoping to use Saturday’s opening Super 14 fixture against the Vodacom Bulls as the first step towards erasing their long-held reputation for being a team of softies.

New coach Rassie Erasmus, after being in the enemy camp plotting against the Stormers for so long, has a good understanding of the Cape team’s weaknesses as perceived from outside. And apart from bring some much needed structure to the Stormers’ onfield approach, he will also be looking to them to toughen up.

Erasmus denies that it was him who told the story, but there is one doing the rounds that has it that when he was at the Cheetahs preparing for a match against the Stormers or Western Province, he put the Stormers/WP team list up on the board and asked his players to identify the really hard opposition players that needed to be taken special care of.

The legend has it that apart from the irrepressible Schalk Burger, the Cheetahs were unable to put too many other identifying marks on the Stormers/WP team-sheet.

“I don’t know who told you that, I know it definitely wasn’t me,” laughed Erasmus when it was put to him. “But yes, obviously there is an impression in the rest of the country that the Stormers are best when the game is open and wide and becomes more like a sevens contest, and that they are not so good when it is tight and the battle is of a physical nature.”

Erasmus has been working on changing that, and he hopes that the addition of two tight forward imports in the form of Brian Mujati (ex-Lions) and Adriaan Fondse (ex-Bulls) will make a massive difference to the Stormers approach. However, he also says he has been pleasantly surprised by the level of physicality that he has encountered from the Stormers players since he has been working with them in the build-up to this Super 14.

“It may be an advantage to have been in the enemy camp before because I do have a good idea of how the opposition perceive the Stormers, but then I don’t think the previous coaches were unaware of what the biggest Stormers weakness was either,” said Erasmus.

“It is one thing knowing what the weakness is, and another thing rectifying it. That the Stormers players are soft may to some extent have been the perception I arrived with, but it is not something I have noticed in training. It is too easy to form a perception and then accept it as fact. Maybe the problem has been that sometimes the Stormers have just not placed enough consistent focus on this aspect.

“It is all a question of attitude. I know from my own experiences as a player you would often have a guy that everyone thought was soft, but then if the coach or the players around him said the right thing it would spark him and he would suddenly transform into the meanest bloke around who was not afraid of anything and who would not back down from anyone.”

Erasmus might be onto something here. Last season the Sharks were surprised by the WP physicality in a Currie Cup match at Newlands, but then watched in shock the following week as they saw the same team almost run away from the Blue Bulls at Loftus.

The draw Erasmus’s team has been handed for the new season will demand that they get up consistently and a lot of questions are set to be answered in the first fortnight.

“Everyone is saying the Bulls game is incredibly important, which it is, but that game does not stand on its own. The next week we go to Durban to play the Sharks and then we come back to Newlands to play the Crusaders. Not only are those teams all extremely physical, but they were also the number one, two and three finishers from last season.

“In South African rugby teams and individuals get tagged too easily. Something happens, someone speaks about it, and then the whole country believes it. If we can front up in all of those first three games then we will know that this physicality thing is not a problem and we have beaten it.

“At the moment it is hard for me to say for sure whether the perceived weakness remains there or not as I have yet to coach these guys in a big game. But we will know soon because you cannot ask for a more physical start.”

I AM A FECKIN STORMER….

• 18.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Pulling your leg sharkman.
    Like I said before, most S14 coaches i thing have a loosing cross behind their Sharks encounter in their pre-season planning.

• 19.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Freddy injured a calf muscle so its touch and go
    time will tell , and there is still a couple of days to go.

On the other hand i feel steyn might be a awesome sight at flyhalf
    he didnt play against the lions but when steyn came on against the cheetahs in the warm up game he changed the whole game to get the sharks that draw

so lets see , all i know is the sharks have huge depth

• 20.katman: Reply to this comment

Sure, ruck. Will let you know. I also failed in my quest to secure a ticket for Bod. I’m hoping that one of my party cancels.

• 21.ruck: Reply to this comment

I hope Adriaan Fondse flattens JP Nel, if he receives the opportunity…(Up close he is a big strong boy…young Adriaan…)

• 22.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

lol isidigi its cool bro

• 23.Green Machine: Reply to this comment

Quotes:
    The talk about Botha is incessant. “He is a warrior, the type of player we love here at Toulon,” Fornet said.

“When we see a player like him, it’s like he was born to play here. When he comes, it’ll be a big piece in the puzzle in place. ”

What the hell!!? You lot are in the damned 2nd division! That’s like Sheffield Wednesday saying “Wayne Rooney was born to play for us!” The French are PATHETIC! Screw the french! At least the Sharks got their own back. Even the French players want to play in REAL rugby games. Not that **** up North. Oh it sickens me.

• 24.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Ruck

You’re forgetting our man Bolla. The sight of the newly improved beefed up stronger and faster version will have JP shitting his pants.

Bolla don’t flatten his opponents, he buries them under the turf!!

• 25.Green Machine: Reply to this comment

#17 Ruck,

I know you’re a fairly regular blogger at Keo, but truly, this has turned to a Sharks discussion…

:-D

• 26.ruck: Reply to this comment

#24 – Isi, if after 78 minutes no Stormer has had the opportunity to flatten JP, I swear I will invade the field and do the feckin job myself…..I give a **** for the repurcussions.

• 27.ruck: Reply to this comment

#25 – Who are the Sharks?

• 28.Green Machine: Reply to this comment

Sharks Starting XV

15. Francois Steyn / Stefan Terblanche
    14. Henno Mentz
    13 Waylon Murray
    12. Bradley Barritt
    11. JP Pietersen
    10. Frederic Michalak / Francois Steyn
    9. Ruan Pienaar
    8. Ryan Kankowski
    7. AJ Venter
    6. Jacques Botes
    5. Johann Muller (Capt)
    4. Johan Ackermann
    3. BJ Botha
    2. Bismarck du Plessis
    1. Beast Mtawarira

Beside Beast (love ya man), AJ, Frederic (Frenchie) and Henno, this could be a Springbok team. The Sharks are the new Bulls. No wait, what a lame comparison!!

• 29.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Ms Ruck

Perhaps he means the “Shawks” (phonetically speaking) ?

• 30.Green Machine: Reply to this comment

Haha Ruck. That’s like asking “Who are Toulon?” Oh wait… Who ARE Toulon????

• 31.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

Hey Ryan

You should ask Anton Oliver what it feels like to have something to throw at… must be something new for him to be winning so much of his own lineout ball…

• 32.Koos: Reply to this comment

Sure Vix will be along in the next couple of days but I just got an email to say little Vixene (will that suffice as a female Vix?) was born a little while ago, everything went fine and mom and baby are doing well…doctors are still trying to wake up Vix after he passed out at the sight of a little blood!

Geluk boet en sterkte met die min slaap!

• 33.ruck: Reply to this comment

#28 – i agree with you. Your forward pack looks awesome on paper. I have the Sharks to be top SA team. I am too scared to pick em to win the comp – cos we all know the Sharks don’t win finals.

BUT: this is a very good team indeed. Kankowski has to watch his discipline. And you better hope Michalak and Steyn don’t both implode in the same games…..(a rotation policy would be better) They are so talented, yet inclined to do such bizarre things.

I think Waylon is going to have a great season 2.

Do not take the Perth quokka throwing jaw breaking trash lightly….The Force will run yr boys.

OK – Sharks discussed..BACK TO THE STORMERS?

• 34.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Evening koos
    You still in the office :shock:

• 35.jb: Reply to this comment

27 – perenial chokers

• 36.cab: Reply to this comment

lol, sounds lekker for Victor. nice little town.
    Great team, some real legends like Grergan and Umaga too.

• 37.HangkasHarry: Reply to this comment

I don’t mind where our Boks are playing. The only thing that does worry me slightly is the standards they play. I seriously doubt that Matfield must perform at the same level at Toulon every week as he would do at the S14. I hope he doesn’t sit back & enjoy the “easy” living of earning da bucks but fading away from international rugby because of playing below-par club/provincial rugby. This is exactly what happend to Jaco vdW when he played for NEC in Japan. Then when he came back to SA it was too late to get back to S14/international level.

• 38.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

who is the stormers???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? lol

• 39.ruck: Reply to this comment

CONGRATS TO CUZZY….

• 40.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Ruck

What has Cuz done ?

• 41.ruck: Reply to this comment

#38 – We are the team who has won 2 Currie Cups between 1996 and now…….(Actually had a trophy in the cabinet)

• 42.ruck: Reply to this comment

Princess, Cuzzy has become a daddy for the first time. Little girl.

• 43.tbannaz: Reply to this comment

Hi Guys, Speaking of S14 any ideas of a good fantasy league?

• 44.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Ruck
    See, that is how you know there is a God & she is woman. She gives the wild boys daughters to worry about :lol:

I highly reccomend using a Spa as a hiding place … Primped & Folder within an inch of my life then finished with a 30 minute scalp massage :-D

• 45.ruck: Reply to this comment

#44 – LMFAO. Hell, that actually sounds pretty good. The only massage I’m getting to day is those of the mispelt message type…

• 46.racheltjiedebeer: Reply to this comment

Is this Toulon mob top of their league? Will they be promoted next season?

• 47.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Ruck
    It was FABULOUS … now organising dinner out at a fabby new place that has things like Gorgonzola & Pear Bruschetta on the menu in addition to gorgeous wines by the glass !

Yes, an all round tough day …. ssiigghh :razz:

• 48.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Die stormers gaan hierdie jaar herleef dis verseker. Dink die Bulls supporters is bietjie bekommerd hierdie jaar. Maar die team om dop te hou is die Sharks. Gaan moeilik wees om hulle te klop. Dis die span wat die beste op vorm is volgens my. Stormers gaan volgende jaar stem dik maak maar hierdie jaar gaan hulle defnitief verbeter op die vorige paar jare.

• 49.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Ruckles

Meeting Cuzzy a bit later for a couple of beers. We’ll tjorts the first cold one on you!!!

• 50.Green Machine: Reply to this comment

:-) Thank you for making my day Ruck.

Yes, even as a Sharks fan I am too cautious to make great predictions about chokers.

The Stormers on the other hand… well, what can a GREAT coach do with an average team? Let’s be honest here? Some stars in Grant at flyhalf, Bolla at scrummie, De Wet Barry, Jean De Villiers and of course Schalk the Hulk. But can the rest of the forwards provide a platform to build on?

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.