Big Vic’s homesick
11 Mar 2008
Toulon’s big signing Victor Matfield has unfinished business in South Africa.
SA Rugby magazine’s Ryan Vrede spent a day in France with the Bok lock, who admits he can’t wait to come home.
“I think I made the move to France two years too early,” Matfield reveals. “The decision to come here was based on the fact that I believed I had two years of international rugby left in me. In my mind, the Lions tour in 2009 was going to be my final series, so I decided that it would be good to finish by experiencing a different rugby culture and be paid handsomely for it in the process.
“Then, after the World Cup, I felt great. At this stage I want to play Test rugby for another four years, with the World Cup in New Zealand the obvious target. If I want to realise that goal, I need to be playing my rugby in South Africa.”
In the article, Matfield talks about his specific goals for the next four years, why he agreed to stay in SA if Heyneke Meyer got the Bok job, playing under Peter de Villiers, his French villa, braaiing in the cold, mentoring a future great and his poker nights.
Also in the new issue of SA Rugby magazine:
– What Toulon owner Mourad Boudjellal wants, he gets. We sit down with the man who’s spared no expense in his quest to gain promotion to the French Top 14
– SA players and coaches on the new laws
– Helping our referees: why the TMO should play a greater role in rugby
– Does Sevens justify the time and money invested in it by Saru and Sasol? We investigate
PLUS: AJ Venter, Timana Tahu, Varsity Cup, Warren Gatland, Gavin Henson, Isma-eel Dollie, Jake White & Bob Skinstad columns
The new issue is on sale from Wednesday. For article layouts visit the SA Rugby magazine page on Facebook. To subscribe click the subscription link under the magazine covers on the home page

213 Comments
11 Mar 2008, 07:14 am
Big surprise
11 Mar 2008, 07:16 am
Come home Vic – the Bulls need you…
11 Mar 2008, 07:21 am
Not only the Bulls…the boks as well.
Probably still the best line -out lock in world rugby. Not even marginally, by far!
11 Mar 2008, 07:23 am
Does his bank manager think that he is home sick?
11 Mar 2008, 07:31 am
Would it not be ironic. Vic and Bakkies saying hallo and good buy on O R Tambo.
Till when is his contract? I mean when can he go back to the Bulls?
11 Mar 2008, 07:37 am
Tacitus must be bursting with elation!!!
11 Mar 2008, 07:38 am
I would love to read that interview but I don’t live in SA. Could comeone help me and send it?
11 Mar 2008, 07:38 am
BIG VIC IS COMING BACK
11 Mar 2008, 07:41 am
8 chaser
nada – not so easy my friend! We might not even see him this year in SA!.
11 Mar 2008, 07:43 am
Loosehead
Thats why Tacitus has been absent of recent. He’s confining himself to the 4 walls of his toilet!
Add Spies coming back as well and he’ll be setting up camp at the main gate of Roftus.
11 Mar 2008, 07:44 am
I don’t think De Villiers will select him because Vic clearly prefered Heyneke as coach.
11 Mar 2008, 07:44 am
Hallo oom staal.
Wat is Spies se laaste. Wanneer speel hy weer?
11 Mar 2008, 07:47 am
kwensie
Vic is too good to be left out a team even if a coach don’t like him.
Its simple, you want to win games, you pick Vic. Look at the Bulls 2008 results.
Ask Toulon owner Mourad Boudjellal, he’ll confirm this.
11 Mar 2008, 07:56 am
Yes I agree,
Jake White wasn’t to fond of him either but he selected him. I just hope ‘stemmetjie” does not want to make a point.
11 Mar 2008, 08:02 am
Didn’t we have something similar last year?
The Super XV for Week Four:
1. Jamie MacKintosh (Highlanders), 2 Schalk Brits (Stormers), 3 Greg Somerville (Crusaders), 4 Nathan Sharpe (Force), 5 Andries Bekker (Stormers), 6 David Pocock (Force), 7 Richie McCaw (Crusaders), 8 Mose Tuiali’i (Crusaders), 9 Rory Kockott (Sharks), 10 Kurtley Beale (Waratahs), 11 Sitivini Sivivatu (Chiefs), 12 Meyer Bosman (Cheetahs), 13 Ryan Cross (Force), 14 Lote Tuqiri (Waratahs), 15 Leon MacDonald (Crusaders).
The Bok Barometer for Week Four:
1. Jannie du Plessis (Sharks), 2 Schalk Brits (Stormers), 3 BJ Botha (Sharks), 4 Johann Muller (Sharks), 5 Andries Bekker (Stormers), 6 Keegan Daniel (Sharks), 7 Wikus van Heerden (Bulls), 8 Duane Vermeulen (Cheetahs), 9 Rory Kockott (Sharks), 10 Derick Hougaard (Bulls), 11 Jongi Nokwe (Cheetahs), 12 Meyer Bosman (Cheetahs), 13 Wynand Olivier (Bulls), 14 Akona Ndungane (Bulls), 15 Conrad Jantjes (Stormers).
Match of the Week: Whoo boy this one had the judges stuck. The nine-try thriller between the Force and the Crusaders?, the Stormers winning impressively against the Reds in Brisbane or the Sharks taking the Blues down a peg or two? And the award goes to?… the Sharks for providing an object lesson on how to play, and beat, a New Zealand side.
Try of the Week: Again there were many, a couple from the Crusaders and the Force, some gems from the Stormers, good ones from the Cheetahs, the Chiefs and the Waratahs but the SuperWrap revelled in one of the finest sights in rugby — a really pacy wing put away on the outside for a looping sprint to the far goal line, so the golden sphere goes to Jongi Nokwe of the Cheetahs.
Bully boys: That’s the Bulls, who have clearly forgotten everything Heyneke Meyer taught them about discipline. Against the Crusaders the champions had Deon Stegmann yellow-carded and JP Nel cited. Against the Sharks Danie Rossouw was yellow-carded while JP Nel and Jaco Engels were cited — the former being banned for a week and the latter for two weeks. Then against the Lions Bakkies Botha was yellow-carded and cited and Zane Kirchner red-carded, earning a suspension. All of which adds credence to whispers that all is not well at Loftus.
ELV stands for Exasperating Law Variations: As if the ELVs are not hard enough we now also have the BLVs, JCVs, PMVs, LBVs, WRVs and a few others to deal with. Puzzled? It stands for Bryce Lawrence Variations, JC Fortuin Variations, Paul Marks Variations, Lyndon Bray Variations and Willie Roos Variations. As the SuperWrap said about ‘crouch, touch, pause,engage,’ this too will pass.
The best advertisement for the ELVs?: The Six Nations.
Lost in translation: Referees clearly did not think it all the way through when they decided that touch judges would be renamed assistant referees. So from TJ we’ve gone to AR… and the plural is?
Down under the carpet again: You have to wonder about the evenhandedness of Australian citing officers. In the Waratahs vs Brumbies match there were shots of Daniel Vickerman punching and Brett Sheehan abusing a TJ, sorry an AR. Was there a citing? Not on yer life mate!
It’s a game of two halves! After only four rounds this year’s Super 14 has thrown up an interesting phenomenon — ten matches in which one of the teams did not score a point in the second half. Interestingly, the Stormers have already managed it three times, the Hurricanes, Highlanders and Brumbies twice and the Lions once.
Och aye, Bravehearts all: Down Dunedin way, the capital of the mullet, they think of themselves as the Edinburgh of the south and, but for a small detail, they could have quite a line-up in the Highlanders frontrow. Jamie MacKintosh, Jason MacDonald and Clint ‘Mac’Newland.
Congratulations to:
Pedrie Wannenburg – 60th consecutive game for the Bulls.
Joe Rokocoko – 50th game for the Blues.
Scott Hamilton – 50th game for the Crusaders.
Rob Horne – of the Waratahs on becoming the third youngest player ever in Super Rugby at the age of 18 years 205 days. (The youngest was David Pocock of the Force at 18 years 19 days with Kurtley Beale of the Waratahs having been 18 years 27 days when he made his debut).
Quote of the Week I: “I don’t know if the HMS Bismarck was a cruiser or a destroyer.†— we can see where Gavin Cowley was going, but seeing as the Bismarck was a German battleship it could not have been one of His Majesty’s Ships!
Quote of the Week II: “We’re going to do it my way.†— James “Sinatra†Leckie to the Waratahs and Brumbies packs.
Quote of the Week III: “Look at that face people. I give you three months and the grey hairs will start growing.†— Naas Botha on Rassie Erasmus.
Quote of the Week IV: “That’s just straightforward bad.†— Naas Botha on TJ Lyndon Bray ruling that the Stormers had taken the ball into their 22 and had thus conceded a lineout close to their line when the ball was kicked directly to touch when replays showed Ricky Januarie clearly inside the line when he passed the ball.
11 Mar 2008, 08:03 am
If I remember correctly White at the beginning didn’t like Vic as well. But couldn’t win without him.
11 Mar 2008, 08:03 am
Note how Matfield is sporting a red top on that magazine cover.
Remember how we’ve been saying for weeks now that the Lions need a Matfield-type lock.
Consider how well his replacement, Steenkamp, is doing in the Bulls second row.
Think how hard it will be for him to return from vibrant, cutting-edge Europe to Snôr City.
Take into account that Heyneke Meyer is no longer at the Bulls.
Makes sense, doesn’t it?
11 Mar 2008, 08:07 am
Hey katman, it looks as if the Lions will have to play an away semi-final.
11 Mar 2008, 08:08 am
yeah, where is old taci these days? never took him for a fair weather supporter so i reckon he must be busy, gibve him the benefit of the doubt.
i have the same problem myself, although the weather is pretty fair for the sharks…
11 Mar 2008, 08:08 am
Yep, sorting out their tickets to NZ as we speak. Not ideal, but sometimes one must do things the long way round.
11 Mar 2008, 08:09 am
good work.
Lets hope Vic doesn’t get stale there in Toulon
11 Mar 2008, 08:10 am
Nice cover!
I’m homesick too and I live here.
11 Mar 2008, 08:10 am
Loosehead @ #15
The worst advertisement for the ELVs?: The Six Nations.!
See Spiro Zavos’ column on rugbyheaven.com.au for some interesting views;
TAHS STUCK IN THE ’80′s
THE experimental law variations (ELVs) are working. That is the good news. The bad news is that the Western Force seem to be the only Australian side that understands how to exploit them.
The essential point about the ELVs is that they do not impose radical changes. They make the game easier to understand and play and, essentially, provide some scope for sides to exploit their skills, fitness and pace. Despite the nonsense spouted by northern hemisphere critics, the ELVs allow for attritional scrumming play, if teams want to play this game.
The pulsating Force-Crusaders match turned with about 20 minutes left and the Force holding a handy lead when the Crusaders won a series of scrums, some of them on Force put-ins.
This scrum dominance enabled the Crusaders to set up a series of attacks down the blindside. Tries were scored in quick succession and a game that was seemingly lost was snatched back from the locals. Earlier in the match, too, a strong Crusaders scrum and the five-metre gap enabled Daniel Carter to run at and through Matt Giteau to score his side’s first try.
The ELVs also allow for expansive play that exploits the full width of the field. And this is the point about the ELVs. Sides have to be accurate in the contest for possession at the rucks and mauls. If they make mistakes a turnover, either through a steal or a short-arm penalty, allows the opposition to set up a quick and often lethal passing attack.
The Force scored a memorable try through No.8 Richard Brown after a breakout from a turnover and strong running and skilful off-loading by Scott Staniforth and Ryan Cross. The Cheetahs, Hurricanes, Blues, Chiefs, Stormers and, of course, the Crusaders all scored breakout tries where the ball was moved at pace to set up the sort of crowd-pleasing tries that are virtually never seen in the Six Nations, except by Shane Williams for Wales.
Critics of the ELVs complain that they bring union closer to league. This is a woeful misreading of the variations. If you want to look for a similar football code to ELVs-rugby, that code is Australian football. Like AFL, ELVs-rugby features a continual contest for possession of the ball. Turnovers are frequent. Play can move frenetically up and down the field. Teams that can exploit the turnovers are able to score points quite rapidly. Five of the seven matches this round featured teams desperately trying to win the game at the end, and sides just as desperately trying to hang on.
It was all tremendously exciting. Breakouts can happen at any time. But only if teams are prepared to play for them. A missed touch finder by the Brumbies, for instance, provided the chance for Kurtley Beale to make a sizzling break that led to Tom Carter scoring the Waratahs’ first try.
Unfortunately, this was a rarity for the Waratahs. Admittedly, rain started falling at the SFS virtually with the kick-off. The Waratahs gained their third win by kicking the ball away nearly every time they had it. It was NSW’s 500th win since their first – against Queensland in 1882.
NSW lost the return match of that series. The game was played in the rain. The Queensland captain told his players: “The ball is wet, boys. Don’t pass it.”
The Waratahs got their win on Saturday by playing the Queensland 1882 game. They are in the top four on points difference. But in the era of ELVs, the Waratahs need to play more like the Force if they want to win the tournament.
Playing like the 1882 Queensland side is probably setting up the Waratahs for yet another Wara-wobblies season.
spiro@theroar.com.au
11 Mar 2008, 08:12 am
Went for the money and now he is squealing! the saffa rugby players that do not respect their contracts are an embarrassment to South Africa and stifle the chances of future players.
It’s a contract, just like any other employment contract – get used to it, Vic.
11 Mar 2008, 08:13 am
As far as i know they don’t want him back as a bok ? also think he made a mistake. Should have stayed a little longer in South Africa , but Pieter will be stupid if he doesn’t bring him back to south africa. What about FDP , is he getting a bok contract ?
11 Mar 2008, 08:20 am
I think Vic have been watching a bit of super rugby and realises that he no.5 jumper might go to muller of becker
11 Mar 2008, 08:29 am
Hey Keo, just a question, why the hell are the bloody s14 fixtures played down under and NZ not displayed in local time, last I checked this was a SA site not a international site. At least put the local time next to the venue time, please, it is such a shlep to go work out the time!!!!!!
11 Mar 2008, 08:31 am
Staal, Vic’s got a 6 month contract, renewable if both parties agree. There’s nothing to stop him coming home.
As for Bakkies, he’d be homesick even faster than Vic. I played 2 years in France and I think I might be right.
The owner of Toulon is a puffed up, self aggrandizing bully. Toulon is an OK place, but hardly what I’d call the pearl of the Cote d’Azur.
11 Mar 2008, 08:36 am
I’ve added a video clip of the 1st Lions try in the match against the Bulls for download on my site, click on my name to go and have a look.
11 Mar 2008, 08:36 am
no katman…it’s a new advertising campaign for red bull…
is it true ackerman has retired from the sharks?
what’s up with the gunners?
11 Mar 2008, 08:43 am
More Almal/All,
VIC maak geld en kom terug broer, die Bulle kort jou
11 Mar 2008, 08:45 am
Dunno Buck. Beat AC Milan in Milan but can only draw with Wigan at home? Makes no sense.
11 Mar 2008, 08:50 am
BuckT # 30
The Gunners are having what Liverpool have had for years. Beat top teams but lose or draw to the lower echelons. I’m afraid friggin’ United will take the league now. As Katman indicates…you cream AC Milan with marvelous football but draw to Wigan, Birmingham and Aston Villa. Eish, Meneer Wenger.
11 Mar 2008, 09:01 am
Vic must first wait for this ELV nonsense to pass and a return to the old rules, then he can come back and play real rugby.
11 Mar 2008, 09:07 am
I am a Gunner.
I am also a Stormer.
11 Mar 2008, 09:24 am
gunners will win the league.
the red slime are done and dusted.
11 Mar 2008, 09:35 am
there is no Spur in Toulon
11 Mar 2008, 09:41 am
# 11
That would be really petty and narrow minded of PDV
11 Mar 2008, 09:52 am
victor is playing flank for his club…………
11 Mar 2008, 09:55 am
read die burger this morning. zuma denies supporting hoskins. he said that whoever is president of sa rugby, he will support. hoskins is such a twister and a liar. zuma did not say he supports hoskins but rugby and transformation. hoskins added his own spin. he is a liar.
11 Mar 2008, 10:12 am
40#jhs
The truth will come out, it always does.
11 Mar 2008, 10:18 am
Makes sense.
The Stormers are tailgunners.
11 Mar 2008, 10:44 am
Can you get this mag in the UK?
11 Mar 2008, 10:48 am
I AM A STORMER. And it was great being a Stormer in Lynwood Park Ridge, Pretoria on Saturday afternoon…
11 Mar 2008, 10:49 am
It was also pretty cool being Peter Grant and Luke Watson’s NO 1 fan too.
11 Mar 2008, 10:50 am
Didnt pure old Percival get ripped apart by the illiterate blue masses when he posed for a magazine?
Times sure have changed!
Now the bulls even have “Bother Louis” at centre. (Modern Talking)
11 Mar 2008, 10:52 am
#46 – Yip, my ladyboys/posers/models were ripped apart.
Can’t wait to see what the Bullbellies do when Victor poses for the Stade calendar.
Modern talking – yeah, real w*nkers.
11 Mar 2008, 10:55 am
jondead!!!!
My old nemesis.
11 Mar 2008, 10:56 am
No integrity. What a shame.
11 Mar 2008, 10:57 am
Kom nou Stawm hou op suurgat wees
11 Mar 2008, 11:02 am
Hello Kwagga. Ek het leka gekuier in Pretoria. Was by so “dames” breakfast by so Utopia plek. Jenna Clifford, Ryk Neethling fundraising ding vir Louis Botha en Jackaranda kinderhuise.
11 Mar 2008, 11:07 am
#51 Magtig en sê vir niemand nie jou stouter!!
Union caterers vir julle kos gemaak??
BTW baie geluk met jou span. Dammit hulle het goed gelyk!!
11 Mar 2008, 11:12 am
Looks like Big Vic is already missing the sounds of Hofmeyer’s Liefling!! The Bulls need him. Victor is the best rugby player in the world. Finish and klaar!!
11 Mar 2008, 11:13 am
#52 – Ja hulle het. Een van my sus se companies het die ding ge-sponsor. So, ons het die 7de Laan akteurs by ons tafel gehad – lol – en ons almal engelsprekend. Maar ek ken 7de laan. Damn nice 2 mense, die 2 akteurs.
Ek was in menlyn ook, maar kon tot my spuit nie Loftus maak Vrydag aand. Was in MP.Next time for sure.
11 Mar 2008, 11:16 am
#54 Asseblief laat weet dan reel ons. Self nie erg oor Menlyn nie. Loop mens ahlf moer toe in daai plek. As ons soentoe gaan laat ek die vrou maar los en ek gaan sit en drink n koue enetjie by die Dros of Boabab.
11 Mar 2008, 11:26 am
More Kwagga
Hoe hang die balle? Wat sê die mure van Loftus. Vic terug wanneer en Spies speel wanneer?
11 Mar 2008, 11:28 am
Toulon
what percentage of their squad are non french??
it would be interesting to know. The owner seems to have a Manchester United mindset.
YES!..come back Vic, Meyer will be coach in two yrs so not long to go if PDV stuffs up
11 Mar 2008, 11:32 am
What about the story of Jake White succeeding Brian Ashton as England coach?
11 Mar 2008, 11:34 am
Halloo Iigidi
Nee gaan half oraait. Die griep het my aan die outjies beet man. Loftus se gemoedere is ietwat beter maar die disiplinie gaan ons nog erg kos. Geluk met daai manne van jou!!
11 Mar 2008, 11:34 am
ruck
How’s the research going?
11 Mar 2008, 11:40 am
Jake english coach?
more payback in the works then
11 Mar 2008, 11:42 am
White in line for red rose again
Tuesday 11th March 2008
Jake White: A step closer to the England job?
Six Nations 2008 – £20 Free Matched Bet
BET NOW on top pointscorer, wooden spoon, top tryscorer and round 3 matches: Ireland v Scotland, Wales v Italy and France v England.
Click here for all Six Nations markets
A report in Tuesday’s Guardian suggests, once again, that Jake White is set to be brought in as England coach, this time in the wake of England’s disastrous Six Nations campaign.
The report, citing ‘sources at the RFU’, says that an inquest to be held post-tournament and conducted by Rob Andrew should be concluded within two weeks of the Six Nations’ completion, and will point at the lack of forward direction in the England team since the run that took them to the World Cup final in October.
Ashton’s authority has been increasingly undermined both by criticism – especially over the Danny Cipriani affair which nobody felt was well-handled – and the lack of a response by the team to the criticism.
There has been a dearth of leadership throughout the tournament, and a mental apathy that has had most pointing to the sidelines.
White, who coaches the South Africa team that beat England in that final, has already said he sees the England job as the ideal one.
“They have a rugby culture and they have played in three World Cup finals out of six. They have a lot of things going for them,” he has said.
11 Mar 2008, 11:46 am
they’re all bloody liars…nothing new there
11 Mar 2008, 11:46 am
if shton was 35 and not 65, would they be getting into him soo much?
11 Mar 2008, 11:50 am
If he was in two minds and doubtful he should never have signed up in the first place, obviously can’t quite make up his mind where to be, they all thought after Jake if Meyer did not get the job then why stick around rather go over there and earn pounds or euros, now that the reality strikes home they realise, home is where the heart is and our defunct rugby we play over here is still one hell of a lot more competitive and exciting than the boring pedantic stuff they regurgitate over there, plus you stay away long enough and somebody else might just steal your limelight or your thunder.
11 Mar 2008, 11:55 am
He wont comeback! Money is to good and Meyer was not appointed bok coach so he wont be captain! He will still play for the boks if asked to play but I dont think he will come play for an SA team soon!
11 Mar 2008, 11:56 am
give him the bloody job already he’s wanted it since 2005, give it to him but sans Eddy Jones.
Then lets see how he does with all that exciting talent, they just better make sure they don’t switch to elv’s though else he’ll really be up the creak without a paddle.
11 Mar 2008, 12:00 pm
#60 – Scary….very scary.
11 Mar 2008, 12:06 pm
Just testing the water Kwagga! Percy proved them all wrong anyway! Credit to him!
Skop
Seems JW is your Viagra?
11 Mar 2008, 12:07 pm
After four rounds of Super 14 rugby, statistics suggest that South African players are more injury prone.
The figures are taken from injury stoppages in Super 14 2008.
These figures suggest that South African teams have had an average of seven more injuries, nearly two per match, than New Zealand teams who are slightly better off than Australian teams.
The New Zealand average is 11, Australia’s 10, South Africa’s 17.
The teams with fewest injures are the Crusaders, the Reds and the Hurricanes.
The teams with the most injuries are the Bulls, the Lions and the Stormers.
Australia
Brumbies: 2 + 2 + 3 + 4 = 11
Force: 5 + 4 + 2 + 4 = 15
Reds: 3 + 2 + 1 + 1 = 7
Waratahs: 2 + 2 + 2 + 5 = 11
New Zealand
Blues: 4 + 2 + 3+ 2 = 11
Chiefs: 0 + 5 + 4 + 4 =13
Crusaders: 1 + 1 + 1 + 1 = 4
Highlanders: 4 + 1 + 3 + 6 = 14
Hurricanes: 3 + 2 + 2 + 0 = 7
South Africa
Bulls: 3 + 5 + 5 + 9 = 22
Cheetahs: 2 + 3 + 3 + 4 = 12
Lions: 2 + 3 + 8 + 6 = 19
Sharks: 4 + 2 + 3 + 5 = 14
Stormers: 3 + 6 + 4 + 3 = 16
11 Mar 2008, 12:09 pm
What a big girls blouse…sissy mary!
11 Mar 2008, 12:09 pm
Foook, so tired of reading about the rumblings and speculations of Brothels White. Let Brothels actually get a coaching job and then let the articles continue
11 Mar 2008, 12:16 pm
I wonder what Big Hit will think of Jake White as the England coach?
11 Mar 2008, 12:21 pm
Supposedly the UK has crazy *** adult clubs. Wonder whether Brothels will actually get any coaching done with such distractions. No worries here tho. This will ensure the English team remains clueless.
11 Mar 2008, 12:27 pm
What are you on about?
11 Mar 2008, 12:28 pm
70 THE MAULER,
The stats are wrong as some players as missed games for other reasons. For example the Crusaders should be 3 as Scott Hamilton missed last week through family reasons
11 Mar 2008, 12:29 pm
Stawm,
Post 62, 72 & 74.
Brothels White is me nick name for Jake White.
11 Mar 2008, 12:31 pm
70 MAULER,
…and the math is bad … even without Hamilton the NZ total of 49 divided by 5 teams can not equate to 11!!!!
11 Mar 2008, 12:32 pm
Why though?
11 Mar 2008, 12:33 pm
70 THE MAULER,
Aus have 44 which when divided by 4 equals 11!!!!
What is happening in the South African education system?
11 Mar 2008, 12:35 pm
Going the same way as South African journalism!
11 Mar 2008, 12:35 pm
This website is losing its appeal….
Too many half promises…
-Keo says he will be on site regularly
-We have a Keo tipping comp…no results of current standings.
-No new website
-The webmaster is a ghost
-No bones
-nothing contriversial
see how many people are contributing…the numbers are dropping fast.
11 Mar 2008, 12:37 pm
82 Wallabie,
I must agree that lunch breaks in SA used to get more posts than this
11 Mar 2008, 12:38 pm
83 must be nice weather outside
11 Mar 2008, 12:40 pm
What education system?
Everybody is out Toy-toying!!
11 Mar 2008, 12:42 pm
PLus we are getting articles that have poor grammar and spelling, the latter being something that can be easily fixed by using a spell checker.
11 Mar 2008, 12:45 pm
…and protesting the fact that they have to pay their school fees, and protesting the fact that they are required to pass their exams in order to qualify for higher honours……
11 Mar 2008, 12:45 pm
85 Snoek,
Toying?
11 Mar 2008, 12:48 pm
Not much news on the Saders site either
Kade Poki should be available for selection this week though.
11 Mar 2008, 12:48 pm
chch
Toyi-toyi is the national dance of South Africa.
It is usually utilised in the streets by large crowds in front of government buildings to convey how displeased they are.
11 Mar 2008, 12:50 pm
chch
I reposted that from another site! It is just showing that SA have an injury problem!
11 Mar 2008, 12:50 pm
Toyi-toyi is a Southern African dance originally from Zimbabwe that became famous for its use in political protests in the apartheid-era South Africa.
Toyi-toyi could begin as the stomping of feet and spontaneous chanting during protests that could include political slogans or songs, either improvised or previously created. Some sources claim that South Africans learned it from Zimbabweans.
After Apartheid ended, people have used toyi-toyi to express their grievances against current government policies.
In October 2004 Robert Mugabe of Zimbabwe banned toyi-toyi even indoors because of its use as a protest.
The toyi-toyi was also used with chants such as “Amandla” (“power”) and “Awethu” (“ours”). These two sayings were often used together.
The UK band, UB40, incorporated the “Amandla, Awethu” chant into Sing Our Own Song from the 1986 album Rat In The Kitchen.
11 Mar 2008, 13:09 pm
Thanks WPTID
That was some interesting info. Are you a politician?
11 Mar 2008, 13:26 pm
snoek
Ha, not a chance. I detest politicians.
11 Mar 2008, 13:29 pm
Yes Walla I agree fully. Empty promises on this blog.
Hell, its been so long since I was pissed off with you, I can’t even remember?
And fook, I’m agreeing with you!
This latest site hick-up cost Keo big time. Wonder who fixed it?
11 Mar 2008, 13:37 pm
WPTID # 92
Amanda Awethu means Power to the Ancestors. Not us.
Awethu= Ancestors.
11 Mar 2008, 13:40 pm
This blog dies if I don’t say anything.
11 Mar 2008, 13:40 pm
And Amanda = that cutie who used to play tennis.
11 Mar 2008, 13:41 pm
Don’t take it all on. Something’s need to die in order to bring about rebirth. Hehehehehe.
11 Mar 2008, 13:44 pm
did you hear this Quote of the Week: “We’ve got a hungry Hore tonight.†— The inimitable Mex on the Hurricanes’ hooker.
11 Mar 2008, 13:44 pm
Katman
Ooops, yes you sharp-sharp man. Amandla. Pardon me squire.
Fanks for der help wiff marshmallow Easter eggs.
Amanda Coetzer yeah she was quite a racket!
11 Mar 2008, 13:46 pm
Tried to talk her into some no-strings fun, but she wouldn’t bite.
11 Mar 2008, 13:48 pm
Katman
She probably felt shy and said: “Katman my man, wait a few years and have a real delicious babe…Ana Ivanovic!!”
11 Mar 2008, 13:52 pm
jinx
is she related to the serbian dictators daughter, slobberdownmycockabitch?
11 Mar 2008, 13:57 pm
Rangerman
Jeez, that’s er…er…um… A bit rough on the ear. You’re a married man an’ all. Keo could ban you heavy-heavy and the Sharks could lose and Zuma could be turned on.
11 Mar 2008, 13:58 pm
Great comment!!
11 Mar 2008, 13:59 pm
ja sorry jinx! just couldnt help meself. one time thing and yes, i am a happily married man with a wonderful wife who has a wicked sense of humour (she has two older brothers!).
lol, wouldnt want to turn Mr Zuma on now, we all know how that ends!
11 Mar 2008, 14:01 pm
marriage obviously and i dont know if i can afford any more taxes!
shot snoek!
11 Mar 2008, 14:03 pm
Jeez, next you’ll have Cane giving his jism chirps again. He was outrageously funny with Captail Fantail the other day.
11 Mar 2008, 14:04 pm
Captain
11 Mar 2008, 14:08 pm
I must admit, I enjoy cane’s comments a lot.
11 Mar 2008, 14:08 pm
“Tried to talk her into some no-strings fun, but she wouldn’t bite.
Comment by katman : March 11, 2008 @ 1:46 pm”
Always infringing on my territory.
11 Mar 2008, 14:09 pm
Hi all,
gee, Ryan Vrede’s getting around lately? Great reporting.
This story on Vic. Surely we all saw it coming!? I mean, it was only a matter of time before these expats got home sick. I wonder how the likes of Butch James, Brent Russel and the others that went to the UK are feeling?
11 Mar 2008, 14:09 pm
The UK adult clubs are pretty crappy.
Very expensive and often have bouncers that won’t allow you to leave unless they think you have spent enough money.
11 Mar 2008, 14:10 pm
blueblood – spearmint and rhino?
11 Mar 2008, 14:11 pm
kat – you ever see amanda in real life, she was about 5 foot flat! cute though
11 Mar 2008, 14:13 pm
BuckT
Was she smaller than Dinky Van Rensburg?
11 Mar 2008, 14:14 pm
Dawn,
Sjoe, you sound like a premier class domestic executive – cook, clean, extra services. So what’s Katman’s pay like?
11 Mar 2008, 14:14 pm
5 foot?
Midget.
Easy prey.
11 Mar 2008, 14:15 pm
Post #114
This is a family blog. Please, no more of your dirty secrets about how you got ripped off in Soho.
11 Mar 2008, 14:16 pm
Post #119
And you’re a bit psycho … you sure have it all
11 Mar 2008, 14:17 pm
Wouldn’t say katman is a fair and equitable employer … pays average, empties the leftover wine into a bucket outside the shack, chucks leftover supper through the door (after the labbies are done with it), and I have to wash the Landie and Missus Katman’s Z4 which she use to go shopping.
11 Mar 2008, 14:17 pm
Nice song…Psycho killer by Talking Heads.
11 Mar 2008, 14:19 pm
little johnnie is in the bath when mommy walks in.
points to his nuts and says “are these my brains?”
“not yet”…. says mommy
11 Mar 2008, 14:21 pm
But there’s always a healthy stash from your prolific plant outside your window and he did give you a nice Sony ghetto blaster with a collection of Bob Marley CD’s.
11 Mar 2008, 14:22 pm
Nice one Charo!
You from Phoenix or Chatsworth?
11 Mar 2008, 14:23 pm
Nee Baas Jinx
Daai goed behoort aan my man, Benjamin.
Hy raak bedonnerd if I touch his plants or his CDs.
11 Mar 2008, 14:24 pm
Does that mean Dawn has a green thumb?
11 Mar 2008, 14:25 pm
Green Machine
What about Verulam an’ all?
11 Mar 2008, 14:26 pm
calling dr greenthumb…..calling dr greenthumb…..
11 Mar 2008, 14:27 pm
the hinnian ous are the cleverest.
nooit gm, from the larnie part – reservoir hills ekse
11 Mar 2008, 14:28 pm
I would be happy enough as long as he brings Eddie Jones along with him.
green, saffa howdy guys!
machine were you at the game on sat? fark, i nearly screamed my stomach out but luckily the beer weighed it down.
Charo
Hahahaha!
11 Mar 2008, 14:29 pm
Nothing about me is green.
11 Mar 2008, 14:29 pm
charo
you play for the resevoir hills rhinos?
we play them this year i think. maybe we can have an ale after.
11 Mar 2008, 14:30 pm
Toyi Toyi = Industrial Aerobics
11 Mar 2008, 14:30 pm
Dawn does not do the thinking man’s cigarette.
She is purely a Famous Grouse.
11 Mar 2008, 14:31 pm
anyone ever heard about the em-otion-ssss paati in chats?
11 Mar 2008, 14:32 pm
bobby threw the party and everyone had to dress up as an emotion.
11 Mar 2008, 14:33 pm
Charo,
Resi’s hey? Lukka!! On the North or South side of the M19? The larnie side is the South side, you know that right?
Ranger!!
Of course I was there! Parked at Rovers at 3:30pm. What a freaking jol!!! I majorly damaged by vocal chords though, especially after that 19 second try!
But honestly, when the Blues scored their 2nd try, I was silent until the final whistle. I then proceeded to hit the roof! It actually reminded me alot of the Crusaders game last year. When Ndungane scored that try, I really didn’t think Ruan would slot the kick. So I was fairly glum till those flags went up! Delirious is how I would describe myself after that!
I was East Stand, upper again. You must’ve been in your box again, right?
11 Mar 2008, 14:34 pm
sivan turned up naked with only a hollowed out pear on his willy.
“what is this n’all?”said bobby “what kind of emotion are you sivan?”
“i’m in dis-pear!” said sivan.
11 Mar 2008, 14:34 pm
Jinx
I will smoke the thinking man’s cigarette for him, after I drink all his Grouse.
11 Mar 2008, 14:36 pm
too old for rugger these days rangerman.
even my missus reckons i’m passed it for the couch version
eish
11 Mar 2008, 14:36 pm
nah green, in the stands with the plebs as most of my mates went to the berg, b#stards!
but i had the last laugh as there was no tv there (loteni, you know it?) so they couldnt even watch the game!
what a jol!
11 Mar 2008, 14:37 pm
ag nee man charo!!! you gotta show her you can still crouch, touch, pause….well, you get the analogy i’m sure.
11 Mar 2008, 14:39 pm
Problem is most guys don’t bind properly, so they get penalised.
11 Mar 2008, 14:39 pm
so siresh turns up at the em-otion-sssss paati also naked with his willy in a bowl of custard.
“what the hell are you thinking!” says bobby “what kind of emotion are you, you silly naked fella!”
“i’m f#cking dis-custard!” says siresh.
11 Mar 2008, 14:40 pm
HAHA!!!!
How can anyone go away to a place with no TV on the weekend of the Sharks vs Blues AT the tank!!??
Loteni? I been there, mate! Quiet lil’ hunting farm with a quaint river running in the valley. Same place, right?
11 Mar 2008, 14:40 pm
ok, no more jokes from me!
dawnie, i thought you only got penalised for not entering thru the gate?
11 Mar 2008, 14:42 pm
Gate business is the least of the problems.
The scrum collapses often, and has to be reset.
11 Mar 2008, 14:42 pm
After all the Grouse? En dan ‘n 3 blader doobie. Nay man, tjy sal om en dom wies. Tjy sal die Alibama sien kom oor die see met purple seildoeke. OO-a haa. Tafelberg sal dans en die suid-oos wind sal smile. Bob Marley sal vir die Bo-Kaap kuier en ****…die Cops sal blomme in hul hare dra. Easy skanking…skanking it easy.
11 Mar 2008, 14:43 pm
Ja, thanks Ranger. Who knows what was next at that party…
11 Mar 2008, 14:44 pm
no hunting green, but awesome river! its probably the highest camp in the lower berg, straight into the mountains from notties! good fishing. the hut (simes cottage) has no electricity but a dam right outside the door. you have to book it months in advance. parks board place, good fishing, good hiking.
lol, ja my mates shafted themselves proper. probably thought that we would lose! hahahaha!
11 Mar 2008, 14:44 pm
Entering from the side is also a penalisable offence.
11 Mar 2008, 14:45 pm
You are liable to be blown for that.
11 Mar 2008, 14:46 pm
ja, my jokes have all been in bad taste today! sorry all.
11 Mar 2008, 14:46 pm
This sexual undertone in your language!!! Liable to be blown for that. Really!!?
11 Mar 2008, 14:47 pm
Ok, Dawn. Enough of your bedroom antics thank you!
Ranger, gotta love the Berg mate. It’s another great reason why Durbs has a few up on Cape Town. Catcha later mate.
Right, I’m outta here! Squash with my wife at Virgin Active. Yeah!
Chow chow!
Ranger, gotta love the Berg mate. It’s another great reason why Durbs has a few up on Cape Town…
11 Mar 2008, 14:48 pm
lol dawn!
i was allowed hands in the ruck long before the new rules!
11 Mar 2008, 14:49 pm
Dawn, stop teasing the lads. They’re at work for goodness sake. Baas Katmaaaaaan, kom **** vir Dawn! Sy is weer raasind
11 Mar 2008, 14:49 pm
cheers green. hope those courts have aircon, its a scorcher today! drink plenty of water.
11 Mar 2008, 14:51 pm
saffa mate, sorry i havent mailed you yet, will get round to it sharpish!
11 Mar 2008, 14:52 pm
ranger, no hurry bud
11 Mar 2008, 14:54 pm
Isigidi
Were you formerly known as IG?
When have i pissed you off…i have always been a jolly good fella!!
11 Mar 2008, 14:58 pm
And don’t even think about going over the top!
11 Mar 2008, 14:59 pm
I hear the IRB is thinking of reviewing one of the rules though.
Holding on will be allowed.
11 Mar 2008, 15:03 pm
sheez dawn, you are becoming funnier than katman.
will be in the beautiful cape in about 10 days time – hope to catch up with you guys for a beer
11 Mar 2008, 15:03 pm
All you sensitive manne!
I am talking rugby here.
11 Mar 2008, 15:04 pm
charo
The Firm will be happy to entertain you.
11 Mar 2008, 15:08 pm
I am going to be in the cape in a couple or so months time…do I get the same audience?
11 Mar 2008, 15:09 pm
No.
11 Mar 2008, 15:12 pm
172 Dawnie
I thought you would get excited!!!
11 Mar 2008, 15:12 pm
One of the muppits told me you are a HOT number!!
is it true?
11 Mar 2008, 15:17 pm
I don’t do hot.
I do smouldering.
11 Mar 2008, 15:18 pm
a bit worried about this group called “the firm”.
there is a chain of slimming studios here called “the firm”.
your lot not related i assume.
11 Mar 2008, 15:18 pm
And it takes a lot more than a insomniac Aussie to make me excited.
11 Mar 2008, 15:19 pm
Wallabie, got a couple of sheep on my farm, you will find them absolutely hot!
11 Mar 2008, 15:20 pm
charo … not at all!
11 Mar 2008, 15:21 pm
175 Dawn
He just said Hot!!
Does that mean he was disappointed or you gave him a snippet to appreciate your sizzling smoulder!
11 Mar 2008, 15:21 pm
Isomnia is good…when going the distance!!
11 Mar 2008, 15:22 pm
Go to it. Your wife’s waiting.
11 Mar 2008, 15:25 pm
I am not hinting at you…just telling you that you are in demand.
The wife is tired out!!
11 Mar 2008, 15:28 pm
Ok, seems that its just me and you 2 on this thread. With all this “flirting”, I am outa here!
11 Mar 2008, 15:28 pm
Walla howzit
Whats going on here. You sizing up Dawn?
11 Mar 2008, 15:36 pm
nobody sizes up dawn.
she is the only one doing the sizing up
11 Mar 2008, 15:37 pm
sheesh people, this site is getting to be a little saucy!
dawn, i am coming down to cape town in a few weeks with my gorgeous wife. if there is any rugby, maybe the firm can escort a rangerman and missus from the woods into the rugby cauldron that is newlands?
11 Mar 2008, 15:38 pm
whats the stormers schedule over easter weekend you stormers fans?
11 Mar 2008, 15:40 pm
rangerman … anytime!
We did same for BuckT and his poor wife who had to schlep all the way from Forries to stadium and she’s pregnant!
Concerned I was.
11 Mar 2008, 15:41 pm
Will check who’s playing what where.
ruck is the overall CHAIRPERSON of the Firm but I’m sure she won’t mind me deputising.
11 Mar 2008, 15:45 pm
185 dawn
Sizing up??
I am just checking if she takes my size!!
11 Mar 2008, 15:45 pm
shot dawn!!! *** i hope there is some rugger on but if not, we can meet up for one or three drinks at one of those places the firm always gaans on about!
my wifes family stay in fresnaye so we arent too far from the city bowl. me, i dont know slaapstad too well but the wife is a cape town and stellies girl.
11 Mar 2008, 15:46 pm
191 Kwagga
Sorry Dawn not all posts lead to you…probably all about you…you HOT meisie!!
11 Mar 2008, 15:46 pm
ruckles and bod and jinx, the whole shebang! as we say in zululand, “could be naaice!”.
11 Mar 2008, 15:48 pm
meisie eh walla? you throwing the taal around now, wont help you, dawn is outta your league buddy!
11 Mar 2008, 15:49 pm
i forgot the katman!
11 Mar 2008, 15:49 pm
rangerman
we will organise something.
11 Mar 2008, 15:50 pm
195 ranger
I gathered that…i am not cheap!!
11 Mar 2008, 15:53 pm
ok lekker dawn!
walla, you keep trying it on buddy. it will take more than a gps to find your way into dawns heart and baas katman is prone to letting off his shotgun at suspicious figures creeping around his servants quarters at night.
anyway all, i am off. have a great afternoon.
11 Mar 2008, 15:57 pm
rangerman (142 & 148)
Finally Ravi turns up at the party wearing a floral frock.
“No man,” says Bobby. “What for an emotion is this?”
“Can’t you see?” says Ravi. “I’m in dis-dress.”
11 Mar 2008, 15:58 pm
ha ha katman!!!!
i am off now seriaas!!
11 Mar 2008, 15:59 pm
Are you implying that Dawn is Katmans servant?
11 Mar 2008, 16:03 pm
Then there was the animal theme party.
This guy rocks up up – buck naked with a naked girl on his back.
“Hold it there” says the doorman. “What kind of creature are you?”
“I’m a snail,” says the bloke, “and this here is michelle.”
11 Mar 2008, 16:38 pm
LOL katman!!
11 Mar 2008, 16:46 pm
Ou Matfield is a legend. Come back to SA.
11 Mar 2008, 18:50 pm
Please come back Matfield.
11 Mar 2008, 20:48 pm
Stay away, Matfield! Pls stay away!
This guy went public and said he’ll only stay in SA if HM is made coach. WTF? So he threw his toys and effed off to France. Now he had a think about it and realised, like most expats that ‘there is no place like home’. Are we to just forgive and forget? Yes… we probably should ’cause not seeing the look of despair on Mealamu, Paul or any other hooker’s face anymore is too big a price to pay. Come back, all is forgiven!! And don’t do it again! Next time we won’t be as forgiving!
11 Mar 2008, 20:51 pm
Says he that feathered his nest over yonder on one of the two poxy little isles out in the far flung reaches of the south pacific.
11 Mar 2008, 20:56 pm
I’m there always in spirit, skoppie! Don’t make me beg!
11 Mar 2008, 21:25 pm
Beg for what Bok, you made your choice, I’m sure it was a good one?
17 Mar 2008, 11:05 am
Another World Cup Winning Coincidence:
Both Captains were not heavily underappreciated
17 Mar 2008, 11:06 am
Another World Cup Winning Coincidence:
Both Captains were heavily underappreciated
17 Mar 2008, 11:07 am
Ignore Comment 211