Aussies want laws changed
18 Mar 2008
Australian Rugby Union chief executive John O’Neill wants the ELVs to be played worldwide by 1 September.
The IRB has not yet made a decision, but said the northern hemisphere unions would be encouraged to trial the new laws starting at club level. But Australia want their November Tests in Europe played under the ELVs.
“Certainly our preference – our very strong preference – is that every game from 1 September is played under the ELVs,” O’Neill told the BBC. “If the IRB is truly the governing body of world rugby it should just mandate that 1 September is the date from which every competition should use the experimental laws.”
The IRB’s Laws Project Group is meeting with the representatives of the Six Nations unions on 27 and 28 March in London. It is termed as an “information and consultation meeting” with the hope that the northern hemisphere unions can be persuaded to start trialling the changes in their top-level club game.
The IRB plans to hold a vote in November in order to decide whether some or all of the ELVs will be introduced into the sport for a further 12 months.

34 Comments
18 Mar 2008, 11:42 am
O’Neill wants quite a lot of things…
Mate, forget about it, after watching Guiness Premiership and the 6N as well as HC, you have a snowball’s chance in hell the NH will vote for these laws.
They base their game around structures and one law in specific will screw them – passing back into the 22 to kick out.
IN slow wet fields, you have zero chance they will adapt these laws.
Best chance is for them to adapt or agree to 5 meter off-side law at the scrum, and the off-side tackle law and perhaps the scew throw in at quick line outs.
Other than that, forget about it.
Mind you, they might fall for hands in the ruck one but the amount of free kicks now which spells the death of flyhalfs like Wilko, will not happen.
18 Mar 2008, 11:49 am
“If the IRB is truly the governing body of world rugby it should just mandate that 1 September is the date from which every competition should use the experimental laws.”
Lol typical Aussies sports administrator
18 Mar 2008, 11:54 am
Please listen and obey – JO’N has spoken!
18 Mar 2008, 12:00 pm
Dream on Prisoner 345-49-SB
Your Northern hemisphere warders will never allow it.
18 Mar 2008, 12:03 pm
Who is this clown??? He is also the idiot who wanted the Bokke kicked out of the TN for failing to send their best side to the overseas leg, the same ‘B’ side who jumped to a 17-0 lead. We are the World Champions, not them, and even if they were it doesnt give them the right to dictate.
18 Mar 2008, 12:47 pm
This oke is seriously starting to tick me off. He is always making demands and wants to change the entire game to suit Aus. You would swear he controls rugby on planet earth.
Idiot.
18 Mar 2008, 12:51 pm
5. What you saffas don’t appreciate is that here in Aus its hard to compete against the football codes. count yourself lucky about that, O’Neil is doing this because he has to, The old rules are just too slow and cumbersome.
18 Mar 2008, 12:51 pm
bit of a dictator this one.
18 Mar 2008, 12:55 pm
SA Aussie,
Rugby in Aus has survived for many years – of course professionalism brings its own challenges where you compete for advertisers and sponsors money, but those who play and love the game, will continue to do so.
It is not like Aus is a third world country you know….
18 Mar 2008, 12:57 pm
Simple reality is sponsors and advertisers supports a winning brand they want to associate with their public or customers.
O’Neill should rather concentrate on sorting Aus rugby out with all its shenanigans and get them to win something again rather than trying to shift the goalposts – that will not make the problems disappear, it will only provide temporary relief.
18 Mar 2008, 13:01 pm
Just scrap the bloody ELVs
18 Mar 2008, 13:21 pm
ELVs allows smaller unions to compete..eg Fiji, tonga, samoa.
I think RSA is worried that they could get beat by these smaller nations.
18 Mar 2008, 13:36 pm
Wallabie @ 12
Despite that comment being an OBVIOUS baiting for a little inflamed response, I am interested in how you would justify that the ELV’s allow smaller unions to compete any more than before?
The only reason O’Neill is opening his considerable pie-hole is because he knows that with Australias HUGE downward turn, the game is in trouble fo losing alot of support amongst the convicts. He loves the idea of union becoming about nothing more than 15 people of equal ability and size just running and kicking the ball around without any structure for 80 minutes.
Sort of a combination of league and Aussie Rules.
18 Mar 2008, 13:47 pm
If Elv’s had made rugby more exciting I would say go for it but it has not. If anything it has made the game less interesting. Teams dont have different styles anymore everybody plays exactly the same.
I say bring back rucking! That will speed the game up because you are not going to get idiots lying all over the ball anymore. Getting rid of rucking is probaly the number one reason for the game going more defensive and has resulted in less tries. With rucking allowed you wont need the ref to police the breakdown as much. The players will sort it out themselves.
18 Mar 2008, 13:48 pm
9. what you say is true in a way, those who love the game will always love it, but thats not enough to pay the bills, vetkeok your also correct. The other codes in Aus are definelty getting more aggresive when it comes to market share. The AFL is also looking at getting into your neck of the woods, how do you feel about that
18 Mar 2008, 14:01 pm
O’Neil is fame/bonus seeker and he is propagating rules that don’t reflect too much integrity:
ELV’s is a joke… if the Aussies were dominating world rugby; no one would have dared to touch the rules.
I have to agree with PA about the 5m, lineout and the tackle law. That is all that they can look into; looking at this years actual play verses last year’s, there is not that much of an improvement in actual game time.
Back to my initial statement… I really hate the deliberate infringements which only get punished by a free kick, of which the offender, for punishment, then get the lineout ball… and back into the attack they are again; sweet crooked justice hey?
What makes it worse is the referee interpretation of whether it is a deliberate professional infringement or not!
Believe me… for years to come there will be problems and new gaps for the bookies.
Additionally, if the teams do there home work… and start to THINK, by slowing down the game at just the right point in time, they can actually get stuck into the opposition side of the field.
It’s like playing a new type of “percentage rugby”, the only difference… in this version; by applying strategic offences one gets the upper hand and the BALL every time.
Nice lesson in life for the children out there hey… the player mustn’t fight because that’s ugly, but it’s ok to bend and break the rules to gain the advantage and possession; the “punishment” is worth it!
18 Mar 2008, 14:03 pm
#13 ditto!
18 Mar 2008, 14:05 pm
no aussie product will ever work in sa…we do not like the aussie logo…well, we might eat kangaroo..thats about it
18 Mar 2008, 14:35 pm
what is wrong with this inmate. always demanding stuff. is he an aborigine?
18 Mar 2008, 14:38 pm
19 wp Matador
whats your point?
It seems you have a statement to declare about being aborigine!!
18 Mar 2008, 14:54 pm
Howzit Walla
No mate, no statement or innuendo there. Point is if these wonderful people don’t demand they get NOTHING, very similar to the previously disadvantaged in this country.
18 Mar 2008, 15:55 pm
Some of the ELVs is not my cup of tea. For example the rules at the ruck. If you play negative you get a short arm against you. By the time the attacking team can use their sort arm penalty, the defence had an extra 5 seconds to get into place. 5 Seconds that can prevent a try. This rule is robbing us of good rugby.
I don’t mind about the other rules though.
18 Mar 2008, 16:00 pm
wie dink john o’neill is hy? moet almal nou altyd spring as die dom f@kker sy vingers klap.die elvs het nog steeds nie sy land se rugby bevorder nie. maak nie saak wat hy probeer doen nie,die bokke sal steeds beter as die wallabies bly.DIE AUSSIES MAAK MY SIEK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
18 Mar 2008, 16:23 pm
He is right this moment trying very hard to get Mugwabe on his side.lol
18 Mar 2008, 16:39 pm
wp matador
But that is life in general if one does not demand one does not get…it is very unfortunate.
In business the squeeky wheel gets the oil.
18 Mar 2008, 16:43 pm
Ok so:
1) The next Australian Rugby Coach is currently dominating more than any other coach under the new rules.
2) Oz does not have a scrum.
3) Oz Rugby is getting taken to the cleaners by gaining grounds and open gates. (NFL & AFL)
4) Oz rugby union has not won anything in some time = pressure.
This is why they are trying to change and hence all judgement and logic has been thrown out the window.
Fark the elvs
18 Mar 2008, 17:10 pm
I say kick the convicts out of SANZAR and let them join Japan – to be called JPAU.
18 Mar 2008, 18:50 pm
Sounds like he wants to be leader of the new world order or rugby.
Is anyone actually taking this guys comment seriously? Like SANZAR etc?
18 Mar 2008, 20:36 pm
I prefer the old laws – the game of rugby rules – if we wanted league we’d play league; the old way favors us (Boks) because of the structured and the imperative of forward play with its curious combination of brutality and finesse. The Aussies were blown out in WC 2007 because they didn’t have a front rank – take away the beauty and importance of the props and hooker and you don’t have rugby anymore; not as I understand it anyway. He must f@#$%&*ck off right now.
18 Mar 2008, 23:06 pm
I think you should also remember that OZ had won TWO RWC’s, before SA did.
In practice there are really only TWO new rule changes, they are….The ball can’t be kicked out on the full from a pass-back into the 25, and the 5 metre rule. The 5 metre rule virtually replacing the system before Jake brought in his rush defence, so not too much difference there. For MOST of the lineouts we are currently playing exactly the same way as before the change. All these tricky little do-da’s in the lineouts have proved to be useless.
I’d be quite happy with the 5 metre rule, full 7 man lineouts,and leave it at that. No, more Penalty Kicks should be given because players are giving away Free Kicks so they can get into a better defensive position. Perhaps in the defending half, ALL kicks should be penalty kicks thus taking away deliberate players infringing,
Patrick.
19 Mar 2008, 07:18 am
funny that the aussie coaches are moaning about the new laws? maybe they should have a netter around a shrimp barbie and get one story and stick to it.
19 Mar 2008, 14:00 pm
#7. If Aust rugby is struggling against league and afl then that is an Australian problem which reqiures an Australian solution.Hardly surprising that your gates are down when last year you dished up such **** in the S14. If you improved the quality of your performances then the crowds will return.Play **** rugby even with ELVs and you will still go broke.Don’t expect world rugby to come running to help you guys – sort it out yourselves.Several years ago AFL clinics were held in South Africa and didn’t exactly make an impact – especially having to compete with soccer!
19 Mar 2008, 14:04 pm
#20. Wallabie – wrt that comment it would be better not to open up the debate about the aboriginal people. Some of us know about what goes on in the NT , the intervention and the reasons for it.It is a stain on the Australian nation. Drop it!!!
19 Mar 2008, 17:10 pm
Frankly John O’Neill is about a million light years ahead of the guys that administrate rugby in South Africa. I wish we had someone that thought about the game more than the next free glass of KWV Brandy in a private box, or the speed limit from Sprinbok to Kimberly.
Some of the laws are good, and open up the game. Those that lose the character of rugby union in terms of forward play – should be looked at again.
We need Australia to be strong again. Those that are interested in developing a global game would agree with that. Or else we can just have the Currie Cup and the old N Vs S games.
And if we think we’re going to beat them easily in the Tri-Nations we might be in for another rude awakening.