Super Smitty shines again
24 Mar 2008
John Smit maintained his impressive return to form as Clermont edged within a point of table-topping Toulouse in the French Top 14.
Smit’s form and that of Springbok fullback Percy Montgomery will no doubt please Springbok coach Peter de Villiers. Smit will captain the Boks this year and De Villiers met with Montgomery two months ago to discuss his international future. Both players have responded positively to the new Bok coach’s interest and Smit’s form, in particular, will bring a smile to De Villiers, who won’t have taken much comfort from the first six weeks of South African Super rugby performances.
Smit, speaking to Keo.co.za, said he had fully recovered from the knee injury that sidelined him for six weeks and that being back at peak fitness was critical to his recent performances.
“The mind is strong but equally important is that the body has to be strong. I am feeling really good at the moment, enjoying my rugby and the team is getting good results. I’ve now had six successive matches and in each one the knee has felt better and with each week I have felt I’ve made a bigger contribution to the team.”
Smit said he watched as much Super 14 rugby as possible and was in constant contact with players in South Africa.
“I am following the Sharks very closely and I’ve seen what’s been televised here. The competition seems to be settling down now and despite results not always going the way of the South African teams I still think there has been some very good rugby played by South African sides. Individually there has also been good performances, so I am very optimistic about the international season.”
Smit also singled out Clermont teammate and former Springbok centre Marius Joubert’s performances this season as being special.
“For me he has been the form centre in the competition and consistently the best in France. He has a huge desire to play for the Springboks again and the change of pace in lifestyle seems to have been good for his game. He is playing outstanding rugby.”
Clermont hammered Montpellier 56-17 to consolidate second position in the league, while Montgomery’s outstanding goalkicking has lifted Perpignan into fifth place.
Montgomery kicked three conversions and four penalties in the 45-7 win against Albi.
Toulouse remain top of the table, despite sending a second team to play Stade Francais in Paris, where they got smashed 29-0.
Results of Round 15
Biarritz vs Brive, 10-0
Bourgoin vs Auch, 36-0
Castres vs Montauban, 21-7
Dax vs Bayonne, 11-6
Perpignan vs Albi, 45-7
Clermont Auvergne vs Montpellier, 56-17
Stade Français vs Toulouse, 29-0
Standings after Round 15
1. Toulouse 58
2. Clermont 57
3. Stade Francais 44
4. Biarritz 41
5. Perpignan 40
6. Castres 40
7. Montauban 35
8. Bourgoin 34
9. Bayonne 33
10. Montpellier 30
11. Brive 27
12. Albi 25
13. Dax 20
14. Auch 10

206 Comments
24 Mar 2008, 18:58 pm
Skop would be proud of you John Smit.
24 Mar 2008, 19:07 pm
i was laughed at in here for as long time when i said smit was the best hooker in south africa by far and i still believe that
this man always had greatness written all over him
all those non sharks supporters that always spoke of him like trash must surely be eating their words ??
i am sure they wish like they called him fat barney could be playing for their team
YOU GO SMITTY YOU HAVE AND ALWAYS WILL BE IN THE HEARTS OF THE SHARKS PEOPLE,,,,
AND YES EVEN SOME TRUE RUGBY LOVERS IN SOUTH AFRICA
24 Mar 2008, 19:16 pm
What other Boks are doing well overseas?
Very impressed with you O Captain my Captain!
24 Mar 2008, 19:26 pm
wheres the article slamming the bulls and Ludicrous keo?
24 Mar 2008, 19:33 pm
John Smit is a truly great Springbok and a truly great Springbok Captain. The Boks will need a man of his stature this year.
24 Mar 2008, 19:34 pm
Smitty well done skipper. Now I hope that PdV has has convinced you to come and play super rugby again. The Mighty Lions will welcome you that you can count on.
24 Mar 2008, 19:35 pm
have to agree loosehead mate
pity most out their dont understand what this man and player means to us
24 Mar 2008, 19:37 pm
hiyas lion sorry bro he will come straight back to sharks
24 Mar 2008, 19:37 pm
true that ..^^ Last I heard of others was that Willemse is not having a good time at all overseas and sidelined by another injury …sad sad stuff
24 Mar 2008, 19:39 pm
hey guys do urself a favour ? go visit sharksworld.co.za site its awesome
and no its not only for sharks supporters
loosehead i know you will enjoy it
24 Mar 2008, 19:40 pm
Why is it that you hear news on how well Smitty is doing?
And why is it you hear nothing, nadda, nought from that overrated what his name Botha? Yes the coward that ran away from the challenge of a crippled Chiliboy!
24 Mar 2008, 19:41 pm
nahtino no disrespect mate but he should never have been back in the bgok setup , and that not because he aint got the ptotential
he is wrecked with injuries and never had the time to recover properly or get totally match fit again in a lower leaugue
24 Mar 2008, 19:43 pm
who knows lion
all i know is gary was and never will be in the same class as smitty
chiliboy i am afraid is a wreck with injuries ?
a pity because he showed huge potential
24 Mar 2008, 19:44 pm
Gary Botha is doing well with Harlequins – they struggled in the beginning of the season but have been playing well and winning the last few games.
24 Mar 2008, 19:45 pm
oh and to answer you on why you hear about smitty ???
lets give keo credit HE UNDERSTANDS HOW GOOD AND WHAT SMITTY MEANT TO SOUTH AFRICAN RUGBY
so thank you Keo
24 Mar 2008, 19:47 pm
Well done Smitty – YOU the BEST . Come HOME!!!!
24 Mar 2008, 19:47 pm
well good to hear princess , it should be that all our players are doing well there
well so one always hopes
24 Mar 2008, 19:50 pm
princess
I am suprised. He does not strike me as one who enjoys playing in mud, running from one scrum to the next – are the pommy props not able to dominate him?
24 Mar 2008, 19:54 pm
Botha is playing of the bench only for Quins. And hardly setting the world alight, although Quins, after a pretty bad spell are winning again. Even Barry is back in the starting team and pulling his weight.
24 Mar 2008, 19:56 pm
see this is why i was always saying gary is more a flank where smitty is a hooker
hookers do the dirty work on the ground so others can look good runniing around
thats why most always spoke **** about smitty
they only saw the flashyness of gary
not the hard graft of smitty in the enjin room
24 Mar 2008, 19:57 pm
of course the blue bulls supporters would not agree with what i just said
24 Mar 2008, 19:59 pm
amazing how long ago one saw tacitus in here
24 Mar 2008, 19:59 pm
Splinters Gary Botha. That must be what they are calling him, shame.
24 Mar 2008, 20:02 pm
RL
24 Mar 2008, 20:07 pm
As I have said before, SA have not got the depth that they are dreaming of
especially at wing, centre, flyhalves, tightheads and captains, hey that is almost half a team
24 Mar 2008, 20:10 pm
exactly jl1
now with butch gone we see what we are missing
i means imagine that some are saying D H for the boks
what a joke
tightheads we have 3 good ones at least
captains ??? eish smitty come back soon is all i can say lol
24 Mar 2008, 20:15 pm
Sharkslover
DH is a CC player and that is it
I think the backline is really thin and has always been
24 Mar 2008, 20:21 pm
my sentiments too JL1
24 Mar 2008, 20:22 pm
The Bulls have had cut costs due to the teams recent poor performances. Now 3 players will have to share a room for the remainder of the tour and poor Liefling has to bunk with the Meisiekind and JP, yes the Liefie is going to be the patty in the sandwich so to speak.
24 Mar 2008, 20:22 pm
i hope peter grant can build on his form and work hard on his game because he seems all we have left unless we can get butch back this year
24 Mar 2008, 20:23 pm
the other option is ruan at flyhalf
we have many good scrummies but not flyhalves
24 Mar 2008, 20:24 pm
lmao @ RL
24 Mar 2008, 20:26 pm
one would think ruan might be our best option at flyhalf now
problem is when will he get a start there for the sharks???
24 Mar 2008, 20:28 pm
Grant or Ruan at flyhalf
But is Butch not eligible?
The rooming together of Liefie and MeisieKind may possibly improve their understanding of leaveing no gap in the backline unfilled, or what?
24 Mar 2008, 20:30 pm
lol dust
butch is eligible
i am good friends with one of south africas top refs , he recently told me no doubt that dolly would be next bok flyhalf
24 Mar 2008, 20:32 pm
Ruan Pienaar at flyhalf, now there we someone that can do something for the Boks
24 Mar 2008, 20:32 pm
DH sharks_lover? Serious or Ludicrous?
24 Mar 2008, 20:33 pm
7 lean years??
24 Mar 2008, 20:38 pm
nope dust pdv loves fish_mail dolly lol
he is touted tobe next bok fly half
he cant even make it as 3rd choice for stormers
24 Mar 2008, 20:39 pm
sharks_lover #35 now that would be a qouta, maybe next year, he is still playing CC
24 Mar 2008, 20:42 pm
boerboel remember dolly played for junior boks when pdv coached them
its said its his first choice
i agree the kids nowhere near ready or big enough i think
playing seniors to under 19 is a big diffs
24 Mar 2008, 20:47 pm
sharks_lover, being a WP/Stormers supporter I’ve seen Dolly a few times. I like him. If he was bigger he would certainly be in the running. IMO he is far better than DH and he is the same size. So, if DH is being considered I’ll rather go for Dolly! But, PdV also liked Grant with last year U/23 tour. This will be a difficult call if Butch is not playing/available.
24 Mar 2008, 20:59 pm
certainly hope it won’t be Dolly, how sure you of your facts SL?
Butch was a middle of the road fly half, it took persevereance and consistent belief to turn him into a winner, same with JS.
We have plenty talent here more than most other countries, just takes consistency and belief to turn ordinary players into world stars.
JL Potgieter has shown tremendous potential at fly half, Grant has potential, so too Pienaar, not too much problem in the talent stakes, we can easily select two whole teams of international players, its up to the coaching to produce winners out of them.
24 Mar 2008, 21:01 pm
boerboel again i agree just dont think dolly is big enough
but it just proves what we are saying without butch we rather thin at flyhalf
and i only see grant and ruan as that option
the rest are very poor of standard
it would only be a bulls supporter saying DH is good enough for boks
24 Mar 2008, 21:03 pm
skopskiet i am only saying what i was told
i just dont wanna name the ref that told me as he is a friend
i am talking in the top 4 of refs
he told me about PDV before he was named as coach
24 Mar 2008, 21:04 pm
Congratulations on Ikeys with their excellent performance in the Varsity cup. If Maties now only can win Tuks in their rematch at Newlands it will be an all-Cape final. Wow!
24 Mar 2008, 21:08 pm
Skop, I am also impressed with JL Potgieter. The Bulls made a mistake to let him go!
24 Mar 2008, 21:10 pm
Havent we learned anything from Jake White?
Either – great experience (Os)
or – stand-out performance in testing circumstances (Frans)
or – both
Even then we still needed a game plan and some years to get cohesion
I hope PdV doesnt show he cannot step up to the top level by some inexperienced choices.
24 Mar 2008, 21:18 pm
White was floundering big time with all his stars in his team after two years in charge they lost 49-0 with JS, Matfield, Spies, Bakkies, Roussouw, FdP, etc. They were all in that team that lost 49-0
People have short memories.
24 Mar 2008, 21:41 pm
Ja Skop, donner trane en stof
What was happening behind the scenes that match?
You want to put a flyhalf no-one’s heard of up against the Welsh loose trio? Not me.
24 Mar 2008, 21:42 pm
Skop
49-0 behind infighting, political games, mediocre assistants and no flyhalf for 3 of his 4 years
SA did not have quality in the backs then, now we have a flyhalf problem or a problem not playing the same guy there regularly
By the way how is my friend charo?
24 Mar 2008, 21:46 pm
The Boks had a great first 15, but terrible backup players
Albert vd Berg, Wynand Olivier, Gary Botha, DH, etc
24 Mar 2008, 21:49 pm
jl1,
I’m very well thanks mate – how is chilly london?
still contemplating oz?
skoppie and i had a great chat this evening – knows his rugby – no doubt at all.
always good to meet up face to face with the cyber bloggers – must be my age!
24 Mar 2008, 22:00 pm
PDV needs to keep the previous team intact
he then needs to blood and prepare the ruans etc for the future
to make whole sale changes would be ludacrous
most of that WC team is young so why throw away winners???
seriously we would be as normal
the laughing stock of the world
24 Mar 2008, 22:04 pm
F. B. – Kirchner, Jantjes, Terblanche, Percy. (2 bl. 2 wt.)
Wings – Habana, JP, Chavanga, Nokwe, Passens. (5 bl)
Centres – Steyn, Jacobs, Jdv, Fourie, Murray, la Grange, Bosman, Julies, J.Pretorius, van Schalkwyk, Grant. (3 bl, 8 wt.)
Fly Halves – JL Potgieter, Grant, Pienaar, Van Schalkwyk, Butch, Dolly (1 bl, 5 wt.)
Scrum halves – Fdp, Vermaak, Kockott, Adams, January, Bolla, Pienaar. (3 bl, 4 wt.)
8th man – Vermeulen, van Niekerk, Kankowski, Burger, Spies, D. Potgieter, Wannenberg, Lobberts. (1 bl, 7 wt.)
Flanks – Burger, Smith, Watson, Brussouw, Wikus, Grobbelaar, Botes, Floors, Louw. (1 bl, 8 wt.)
locks – Botha, Bekker, Matfield, Roussouw, Skeate, AJ. (6 wt.)
Props – Heinke, Beast, Mujati, Geldenhuis, BJ, CJ, Gurthro, J.dup (3 bl. 5 wt.)
Hooker’s – Bismark, Liebenberg, Wessels, Weppener, Brits, Chilliboy, Smit. (1 bl, 6 wt.)
That is a whole lot of potentially international class rugby players, give any decent international coach a selection of players like that and they should be able to create 3 not 1 world class sides from such abundant talent.
24 Mar 2008, 22:12 pm
Yes was very good to meet with Charo a great guy and a first class gentleman, its great to know such first class people of substance abound on this here blog.
Charo is tops JL
24 Mar 2008, 22:15 pm
Nice to know that the rendezvous went well down in the south.
24 Mar 2008, 22:23 pm
Thanks to the Linx man Jinx da Lynx.
Ty minstrel man.
24 Mar 2008, 22:29 pm
Skop, you can’t be serious. AJ cannot be in the run for any position anymore!! The rest I agree with.
24 Mar 2008, 22:33 pm
AJ is verby.
24 Mar 2008, 22:43 pm
Lekker Jinx!!
Goodnight to all
24 Mar 2008, 22:44 pm
Ok pick another lock, I just threw him in there as an old was horse warrior, but I agree he’s probably fought his last battle a while ago, though Jake kept Os whipping along till 36 and so too Ackerman till 37.
24 Mar 2008, 22:46 pm
we know we have the talent but most of those4 players not ready for the big time
we have seen that so many times
24 Mar 2008, 22:47 pm
as far as i know it aj retired from international rugby so he is out anyhows
24 Mar 2008, 22:49 pm
eish the sharks squad is looking good
also no injuries except adi has a slight calf strain
this could be a huge factor for the sharks not having injuries
24 Mar 2008, 22:51 pm
would love to know what team **** is going to choose for saturday
24 Mar 2008, 22:52 pm
night night bb / jinx
24 Mar 2008, 23:03 pm
Flyhalf my biggest worry now that it seems that Matfield, Smit and maybe Percy are secured.
Reckon PDV should just secure Butch for another season.
Trouble is PDV likes Peter Grant. I like him too but he needs to do more to play for the Boks.
Apart from the above and our world beaters we have plenty of depth I think.
24 Mar 2008, 23:17 pm
skopskiet
Nice extended squad.
Locks -> You have left off (accidentally) Muller – The current 2nd choice lock)
AJ has retired from international rugby
24 Mar 2008, 23:27 pm
Sorry Biscuit, Muller just doesn’t cut it for me, I’d rather play with a big loosie like Vermeulen or van Niekerk or even Smith, Lobberts or Wannenberg at lock than go with Muller.
I think in the modern game and especially if Elv’s are here to stay, I’d most definitely choose mobility and toughness ahead of height
24 Mar 2008, 23:33 pm
gges skopskiet muller is more mobile then aj right now
and more mobile the bakkies
24 Mar 2008, 23:50 pm
I agree about their lack of mobility Bakkies and AJ but they make up with grunt, Muller has neither imo, anyway I would like a combo of one outright line out man like Bekker or Matfield and one fire and brimstone man, and because we have so many big loosies available I may opt for an extra loosie in the mix rather than 3 or 4 locks.
Bekker / Roussouw is not a bad option at 4 and 5, and then can pick van Niekerk and Vermeulen at 8 or cover at lock. Best of all worlds mobility and fire for Africa. Still got Kanko and Spies to choose for 8, what about Wannenberg, Smith, just too many tall loosies who could add speed and mobility to second row, then can pick real fetcher’s at 6 and 7, Burger, Brussouw, Watson, Floors, Botes, Grobbelaar. Just too many options available.
25 Mar 2008, 00:00 am
The two Potgieter’s at 8 and 10, Dewald and Jean Louis, these are two boys to look out for, stars in the making if the coaches don’t stuff them up, same with Brussouw and Vermeulen, the talent here is frightening.
I am convinced you can take the entire WC team away and we still left with more than enough talent to become world beater’s in a short while with the correct strategies and coaching.
25 Mar 2008, 00:02 am
Hey guys
Skop
I also can’t fault your squad except Muller. He is pretty mobile and does the donkeywork pretty well. Imo. And there’s one other thing. We need to groom someone to take the mantle from Smit one day. Can’t see any candidates standing out except maybe Watson but don’t know if that will happen or the rest of the players will accept him, which leaves only Muller
25 Mar 2008, 00:08 am
And with the abundance at loosies, not a given that Watson will be selected. But it is interesting to hear about Smittie and Percy and Vic doing well and committing to the national cause. But a strange omission so far is Butch. And its the one position we are particularly thin as far as candidates goes. PdV should get him to commit or did he already?
25 Mar 2008, 00:13 am
I like Wikus or Watson as captaincy material BokiNZ. Always have even before when Smit was captain I thought Wikus would be a fine captain, and because Watson’s character has been hung out to dry by JW and cronies, that has made it far more difficult now to groom him for captain, but captaincy material he has in his head and on his shoulders in abundance.
25 Mar 2008, 00:13 am
Also feel that NZRU is going to alter its stance on their int players playing overseas depending on the success of the Bokteam this yr. Might be wishfull thinking with not a single int shot fired as yet but if the Boks dominate this yr we might see Hayman and co back in the fold nxt season.
25 Mar 2008, 00:17 am
Anyway I been bugging away far too long on here now, time to hit the hay stack.
So long.
25 Mar 2008, 00:20 am
Uhmmm…. Wikus! Don’t know if you would want your cpt playing the fetcher in todays rugby. McCaw is lucky in the sense that he hasn’t been sinbinned more often but the times he had to leave it was always touch and go for his team. Same might apply to Watson but somehow he seems to avoid being binned. Might be the 4inches between the ears
25 Mar 2008, 00:42 am
“Smit’s form, in particular, will bring a smile to De Villiers, who won’t have taken much comfort from the first six weeks of South African Super rugby performances”
I disagree, i think he will be happy with the amount of players that have put their hands up for international selection, especially new players, and especially at hooker. (Brits, Liebenburg, Du Plessis, Wepener, Kuun), all these SA Hookers have been playing outsandingly well and are definately the form S14 hookers, maybe Mealamu may be up there as well
25 Mar 2008, 01:01 am
Smit’s got experience, form and on top of it, he is an inspirational leader. The hookers above realy only got form on their side and you can put inconsistent next to anyone of them. Liebenberg and Wepener most probably the pick of ‘em. That’s in all the probablility why PdV is smiling.
25 Mar 2008, 01:48 am
#49 Doos
25 Mar 2008, 03:34 am
Kaapstad. – Oregan Hoskins, president van die Suid-Afrikaanse Rugbyunie (Saru), is nie gereed om die deur na die Springbok-span onvoorwaardelik oop te maak vir spelers wat hul heil oorsee soek nie.
Hoskins sê die getal spelers moet op dieselfde wyse beperk word as toe Jake White die Bok-afrigter was.
“Dis iets wat ons op die volgende vergadering van die presidentsraad sal bespreek.
“Ek dink nie ons moet meer as twee spelers kies wat oorsee gesetel is nie,” sê Hoskins.
Die Springbok-afrigter, Peter de Villiers, het reeds aangekondig John Smit sal sy kaptein wees.
Smit, onder wie se leierskap Suid-Afrika die Wêreldbeker-toernooi in Frankryk gewen het, speel vir die Franse klub Clermont.
SA Rugby sal egter probeer om hom na Suid-Afrika terug te bring.
De Villiers het ook gesprekke met die Bok-slot Victor Matfield gevoer.
Matfield speel vir Toulon in die Franse tweede liga, maar sy kontrak verstryk binnekort en hy kan hom weer by die Blou Bulle aansluit.
Ander spelers wat in die Bokke se beginspan in die eindstryd van die Wêreldbeker-toernooi in aksie was en tans oorsee speel, is die heelagter Percy Montgomery en die losskakel Butch James?.
25 Mar 2008, 03:54 am
More Boys
Whatever i see you didn’t waste anytime expanding your vocabulary over the weekend
JS is very highly thought of by non-Saffas as a Captain, a rugger b*gger & a man.
25 Mar 2008, 03:59 am
I’m glad you noticed JS is a man RP
Skoppy with get the doos treatment by me whenever he harps on ad nausem about JW and 49-0
25 Mar 2008, 04:01 am
Was it just a coincidence that his post was #49??
25 Mar 2008, 04:01 am
Morning RP just a little update on Zimbabwe, you were lucky to see that country, its becoming more and more dificult there by the minute. Not a place to be for the next few weeks, with Saturdays election coming up
Not even time for a last shopping spree…
Zim a shoppers paradise…
Mar 24 2008 9:09PM
Harare – Want to shop till you drop in shortage-riddled Zimbabwe? You can at a supermarket near President Robert Mugabe’s retirement mansion.
The packed aisles of the Borrowdale Brooke Spar supermarket show none of the empty shelves most Zimbabweans have got used to in the months following last year’s price blitz.
In this exclusive store set amid the rolling hills and huge mansions of the north of Harare, shoppers can choose from a selection of luxury goods unthinkable in the city’s townships.
Luxury comes at a price though.
A jar of black olives costs Z$375m this weekend, an entire monthly salary for a teacher. Mugabe promised teachers earlier this month that they would get huge salary hikes. But some teachers say they discovered last week that they had been paid just the same as last month: on average, around Z$370m.
There are tiger prawns for sale in this store, at more than Z$1bn a packet. That’s the amount candidates for this Saturday’s presidential election had to deposit when they were registering their applications to vote.
A chicken – rarely seen in shop freezers in Zimbabwe – costs Z$208m here. Reports say officers for the state Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) last month got paid just Z$10m per day.
Opposition will ‘never ever’ win
The luxury doesn’t end there. At an exclusive lingerie boutique in the same complex as Spar, shoppers can choose from Calvin Klein or Dolce and Gabbana designer underwear.
Not for wealthy shoppers the cheap Chinese clothes sold on city flea-markets or the second-hand goods smuggled into the country by the bale-full.
Borrowdale Brookes Western-style shopping experience is in stark contrast to a supermarket in Harare’s central Sam Nujoma Street. Here, on Easter Monday, there’s no chicken, no milk, no cooking oil, no cheese, no flour and – most worryingly – no sign of the staple maize-meal.
Borrowdale Brooke Spar franchise is reportedly owned by a top ruling ZANU-PF party official who appears not to have to worry about recent threats to jail those charging high prices.
25 Mar 2008, 04:04 am
“John Smit is a truly great Springbok and a truly great Springbok Captain. The Boks will need a man of his stature this year.”
lets not get carried away..and for the record, IMO, he is an average test player BUT great captain though..ala Pienaar.
25 Mar 2008, 04:05 am
Uli is the greatest bok hooker ever
25 Mar 2008, 04:08 am
I thought Uli played wing?
25 Mar 2008, 04:11 am
superBul
Morning.
Yes, and not so long we had a blogger here who stated that Zim had enough food to feed the RSA!
Remember that one, during the Proteas tour last year?
But very worrying indeed, this Zim business, for the whole region.
I have started to shy away over here from trying to answer questions about Zim and SA anymore.
It is here on the telly news daily.
25 Mar 2008, 04:12 am
Whatever
Be the bigger man then & engage him on another topic ! I am sure it was a coincidence.
Yes, JS is well noticed as being a “manly man” by my half of the species
SuperBul
Oohh shame ! I adored the place when I was there. It had an exquisite natural beauty in it’s countryside, animals & art works (of which I shipped back many) & delightful people everywhere you turned.
I was aware that my friends were wealthy white folks (it was hard not to) but they really did look after their staff very well. The wife was a kiwi girl & when they left found all the staff employment with good families who vowed to look after their new employees as well as she had done.
25 Mar 2008, 04:15 am
Imagine the stories this 14 tourists will tell back at home. Cant see how people still want to come here. The little town Origstad is 60km from my hometown, scary stuff.
This will be my last post from the news papers , i will rather talk about the Bulls 70th birthday yesterday.
Tourists hear frantic
cries for help
24/03/2008 23:06 – (SA)
Hilda Fourie, Beeld
Ohrigstad – Police have stepped up their search for kidnapped Hennielene Botha, 46, after a group of foreign tourists heard a woman’s cries for help coming from the boot of a car.
That was while Hennielene’s suspected abductors were robbing the tourists after their vehicle had broken down near Graskop.
Cor Cross, a member of the Ohrigstad Farmers’ Union, told Beeld that they would be concentrating their search efforts in the Graskop area.
Police spokesperson Armand de Beer said the vehicle in which the 14 tourists – from Britain, Canada and the US – were travelling, broke down near Graskop.
Three robbers
A car stopped and three men – armed with what is believed to have been shotguns and a hunting rifle – robbed them of money, cameras and cellphones.
That’s when they heard shouts coming from the boot.
After the robbers had left, the tourists had contracted the police and given them a description of the car and its registration number.
It was Hennielene Botha’s silver Toyota Corolla, registration number BMN 559 L. It’s suspected that her kidnappers had bundled her into the car’s boot.
De Beer said scores of police as well as residents were taking part in the search for Hennielene.
Hennielene’s husband Albert, 53, earlier said he was trying to remain positive.
“But, deep inside, you start worrying.”
Hennielene was kidnapped on their farm on Saturday night. They own Iketla Lodge about 7km from Ohrigstad.
Heard car being driven
25 Mar 2008, 04:16 am
RP, I’m not engaging him, just pointing out his fallbacks. He is like a druggie in rehab, he needs a klap every now and again to get him to concentrate and look you in the eye. Except, I think he is beyond redemption. But, I’ll keep trying..
25 Mar 2008, 04:16 am
Hello RP
Even if Mad Bob loses this election and we see a new government in Zim soon, the damage this lunatic has done to the country is irreparable.
The tragedy of it all is that we as South Africans stood idly by and let it all happen….
25 Mar 2008, 04:17 am
well, he had the skills of a wing and a flyhalf
I think Naas was a bit annoyed with some of Uli antics at times
25 Mar 2008, 04:20 am
superBul
Illegal immigrants become a threat in those parts. And with the likes of Charles, McBride and Selebi running safety and security affairs, don’t expect order soon.
Our police are rather targeting student pubs now!
25 Mar 2008, 04:20 am
g13g, did’nt Uli play his best Rugger in the White and Red?
25 Mar 2008, 04:21 am
greatest
Uli is not far from you these days, is it Brisbane or Sydney where he set up practice recently?
25 Mar 2008, 04:23 am
Howzit Pietman, jeez I read a radical article about McBride today. Bloody lunatic that man! Should have known when he bombed Magu’s Bar that he was a rubbish!
25 Mar 2008, 04:25 am
More Pietman, i see you feel much more positive about your team. Bulls missed the bus this time. Are you also believing that Rassie is the real reason why the Stormers are picking up the pieces?
Ek dink hy ploeg met Fester se Kalwers
25 Mar 2008, 04:28 am
Whatever
Good to know you are not a quitter – esp with your place on the ladder ! Although your “klap every now and again” approach is kind of interesting … not one I recall anyone having told they experienced in rehab
Piet
RSA is not alone in looking the other way … We are all responsible. Martin Niemöller had it right :
First they came for the Jews
and I did not speak out
because I was not a Jew.
Then they came for the Communists
and I did not speak out
because I was not a Communist.
Then they came for the Trade Unionists
and I did not speak out
because I was not a Trade Unionist.
Then they came for me
and there was no one left
to speak out for me.
25 Mar 2008, 04:30 am
Hehe RP, he does not have a “normal” addiction
25 Mar 2008, 04:31 am
Tomsta, where are you Boet? Talk me through Eden Park ………what happenned?
25 Mar 2008, 04:32 am
whatever
McBride is a gangster, and so are his top brass.
superBul
Yes, I think Stormers are on the up.
They shouldn’t have lost those first two games at home though.
The one at Newlands against the Bulls was there for the taking, but Peter Grant screwed it up.
I remember saying to Boerboel, who sat in the box with me, that if the Bulls played the way they did that day, they would get nowhere near a win on their overseas leg.
The Bulls simply cannot play these new rules, I saw it at Newlands already.
25 Mar 2008, 04:35 am
Whatever
I suspect you don’t either … so, do I get to “klap” some sense into you too ?
25 Mar 2008, 04:39 am
Feel free RP, if you think it nessesary! I’m just buggered if I’m going to let those comments go by without drawing to his attention his boring repetition. We all know his feelings about the subject. If I have to become boring in the process then so be it…
25 Mar 2008, 04:43 am
Whatever
Take heart – you are amusing with it (usually) & we all need to have a passion for something !
I need to you to come here & sort my housekeeper out … she is the worlds WORST housekeeper & yet I don’t have the gumption to fire her
Which is exactly what needs doing !
25 Mar 2008, 04:47 am
whatever,
we do not speak of Uli time for Tvl
Pietman,
yes, Uli is not far, he left SA because of the change in politics. I can still remember him back in ’93 coming out and saying “Blacks don’t play rugby”
classic
25 Mar 2008, 04:48 am
mmmmmm, RP, with “pleasure”. I’m called the “Hatchet Man” at work as those jobs always seem to land on my desk……
25 Mar 2008, 04:51 am
greatest
Yes, Uli and Sonia (also a doctor) are in Oz now, left for safety reasons.
The used to practise in ‘The Village’, near Menlo Park, not far from where I lived.
25 Mar 2008, 04:53 am
whatever,
they call us “big brother” at my work
25 Mar 2008, 04:53 am
More almal, Pete not sure he is around here…
25 Mar 2008, 04:54 am
Koos
I think he is in Brisbane.
25 Mar 2008, 04:55 am
Pietman,
cheers for the update, so I gather he is your doctor??
wonder if he still has that short fuse?
25 Mar 2008, 04:57 am
I’ll check then.
25 Mar 2008, 04:58 am
Koos/Gerber
Uli is in Warnervale, asst coach and medical consultant to the ‘Wildcats’.
Koos, Warnervale in Brissie, no?
25 Mar 2008, 05:00 am
nope Pete, does not ring a bell. Only Wildcats I know is the Perth Wildcats…basketball team?!
25 Mar 2008, 05:01 am
Just asked my friend old Googles…
Warnervale is a rapidly growing town in the Australian state of New South Wales. It lies approximately 95 km north of the Sydney CBD, located west of Tuggerah Lake, a large shallow coastal lake, and just north of Wyong
25 Mar 2008, 05:02 am
Koos
I just ‘googled’ Uli He has his own wbsite!).
He lives in Kanwal, NSW, where he practises sports medicine.
Guess it is near Sydney then.
25 Mar 2008, 05:02 am
‘wildcats’ ?
25 Mar 2008, 05:03 am
118# Koos
OK.
No we know where Uli hangs out.
25 Mar 2008, 05:05 am
Well there you go.
121# ‘Now we know….’
Whatever
I started to fire her just before Chinese New Year but by the end of the conversation I had given her a holiday & a bonus
25 Mar 2008, 05:07 am
cheers Pietman,
I ask Google van Heerden as well
25 Mar 2008, 05:07 am
Couple of photies of Uli on the Warnervale rugby site.
25 Mar 2008, 05:08 am
You softy RP
25 Mar 2008, 05:12 am
Hey evryone! All over the shock and dissapointment of the wk/nd?
RP
You must’ve had a terrible shock when your picks came thru? But don’t get too excited, you know what they say about the blind squirrel?
Boyz
Praat julle van Uli die boelie!
25 Mar 2008, 05:12 am
126# whatever
Nice, aren’t they?
Uli is a legend, so was the late old Louis, the original Blue Bull.
(I walked past his house in Stanford Bay the other day, same street as my brother’s.)
25 Mar 2008, 05:13 am
Bok
The Stormers are OK still, no worries ek se.
25 Mar 2008, 05:17 am
Molefe
They need to win in Perth. Non-negotiable. From there, their toughest assignment will be Hurricanes and Waratahs at home. But a win in Perth is a must.
25 Mar 2008, 05:20 am
Greatest2Schmidt
25 Mar 2008, 05:21 am
WP are gone for the season..much like my side
25 Mar 2008, 05:23 am
Can’t say much about Uli. My childhood heroes were Peter Jooste, Irvin October and ‘Spoekie’ September et al. Would’ve liked to see Naas Botha and September go head to head. If I had to pick, it would be September, just because he could tackle as well.
But with the boot they were both prolific. IMHO.
25 Mar 2008, 05:24 am
Whatever
But she still managed to make me feel sorry for her … feck
Well, she started to tell me how I was her ONLY customer now … blah blah blah … Frankly given her “talent” I am not surprised – my antique furniture will never be the same again following her “ministrations”
BokiNZ
Cheeky brat ! Did you consider that I may have followed my own hunches instead of listening to a bunch of boys for a change ?
25 Mar 2008, 05:26 am
BokiNZ
They are not going to win in Perth … Last year they lost to WF 22-3 in RSA ! What has changed so dramatically since then ?
25 Mar 2008, 05:27 am
Irvin October
25 Mar 2008, 05:28 am
Greatest, WP do not play in the S14. Live in the present dude. The Stormers however, are still in with a shout
25 Mar 2008, 05:30 am
G13G
) and only Hurricanes, Waratahs and Force should be challenging! Pls note, I said SHOULD be…! As for the Bulls, well, not even Ludeke knows how they’re going to go! At least, he remains positive, albeit a bit comical.
Stormers are still in it, of that there is no doubt! They’ve played all the tough sides already (apart from the Bulls, of course!
25 Mar 2008, 05:31 am
more like a whisper
25 Mar 2008, 05:33 am
Whispering louder than the Bulls “snort” boet!!
25 Mar 2008, 05:34 am
Rp
Let me put it this way. Lst yr the Bulls totaly annihilated the Reds in Pta 92-3 and this season lost to the same side 40-8. Moral of the story….that is sooooo last year!!
25 Mar 2008, 05:34 am
Oh, greatest, remind me of the log positions of the STORMERS and the heffers again!!
25 Mar 2008, 05:38 am
I do not find it fair all these daggers pointing in Ludeke back. It is indeed sad.
25 Mar 2008, 05:39 am
#134 Howzit BokiNZ. Never saw those dudes, so can’t comment unfortunately. Is that not the kak thing about our SA past??
25 Mar 2008, 05:40 am
no comment
25 Mar 2008, 05:42 am
Come now Greatest, he is a kak coach. period. Just look at his record. He is given a s14 Champion side and look what happens. Sure the players have to take some blame, but hey it all ends up at the coaches door eventully!
25 Mar 2008, 05:42 am
Now whatever! Be nice! No need to be condescending!! G13G can’t help it if his S14 champion side are utter drivel who will even struggle to get a result at home! Normaly they are **** on their away leg and good at home but NORMALY HM would be their coach. And he’s not there to hold their hands. Maybe he knew the paw-paw was going to hit the fan this season!
25 Mar 2008, 05:45 am
eventully? …….jeez that was poor
25 Mar 2008, 05:45 am
Bok
You talking about Peter, the current selector?
Who did he play for, and what position?
Scrummie, I think.
No, I remember Green Vigo, Wilfred Cupido, Christie Noble, Don Samsodien, Stanley Bruintjies, Turkey and Hennie Shields, and of course, Thinus Linee (geez, this oke could tackle!)
Green Vigo would have walked into any Springbok team, los hande…
25 Mar 2008, 05:46 am
BokiNZ
You sound like some over the top dramatic Fashionista with your “that is sooooo last year!!”
Has either team changed dramatically ? I didn’t think so but am willing to be corrected as long as you don’t “klap” me when you do it.
25 Mar 2008, 05:47 am
BokiNZ
I admit, grey clouds were ominus once Meyer left but there was always hope(helped by the win against WP). However, harsh reality has occurred and the season is very much over. BUT I myself do not blame it on Frans, he was always going to be in for a fight during this “post meyer” period.
25 Mar 2008, 05:48 am
Even if the Stormers won’t make the play offs, they are going to do the Sharks a huge favour….this coming weekend!
You heard it here first.
25 Mar 2008, 05:52 am
Pietman,
as I found out, quite a few blacks from EP had opporttunities to play league with Vigo.
Does anyone know what happen to Aviril Williams after ’84???
he disappeared quite fast
25 Mar 2008, 05:52 am
Holding thumbs Pietman. No reason why they should not!
25 Mar 2008, 05:53 am
whatever
Yes. It is a bit of a drag and unfortunately by the looks of it here to stay! But no politics today!! I can tell you stories about a courageous Peter Jooste, who you now know as Bok selector. He realy was the heart and soul of Tygerberg Union team. Another day maybe, when we all feel like walking down memory lane and comparing notes.
25 Mar 2008, 06:01 am
Nah Pieta. Peter played for SARU while the others were playing their rugby on the Federation (SARVU) side. SARU was affiliated with SACOS (Sam Ramsamy) which was, as you know, against ‘normal sport in an abnormal society’. But enough of the history lesson! Aren’t we all glad the Sharks are playing this week?
25 Mar 2008, 06:06 am
Ja Boki, just so long as SA does not end up having “abnormal sport in a normal society”
25 Mar 2008, 06:07 am
Yes, BokiNZ, i am glad the Sharks are playing this weekend, and i hope they can live up to expectations. Every week they put out what many would regard as the ‘dream team on paper’, yet never seem to really get the result you would expect. It’s a bit like watching the US basketball team at the Olympics every 4 years – they have all the big names and reputations, but can only do enough to scrape through every time.
25 Mar 2008, 06:07 am
Bok
I see PJ is listed as a rugby legend on our Sarsu website, but I regret not knowing more about the man.
He seems a very enlightened person, the little I could find about him, with the way he handles things at the selections and so on.
25 Mar 2008, 06:09 am
Bok
Yep, the Sharks carry all of SA’s hopes for this S14, let’s hope bro…….
25 Mar 2008, 06:13 am
RP you know what ‘klap’ means? But I’ll leave all the “klapping” to whatever. Not that he would want to klap you though! The biggest difference in Stormers camp is the change in management. Rassie is a much better coach than the previous one (he can’t be named as it would cause a relapse in most Stormers supporters. They needed treatment to forget that whole episode. Sort off what the Bulls gonna need after Ludeke!
) Force remained much the same as can be seen in their performances. They looks like a team thats together for 2-3 yrs.
25 Mar 2008, 06:22 am
Talking of “klapping”. It’s a short week here in NZ and I”m now going to “klap” a few beers with some mates and shed some tears about the week-ends rugger and swear and cuss about a few refs, especially Marks, who I thought has a shocker!
Catch ya all later
25 Mar 2008, 06:22 am
BokiNZ
Yes do know what it is … Sorry … got my “klappers” mixed up … I think he would given the chance
Still think your lunch money is being bet by your heart & not your head.
25 Mar 2008, 06:29 am
Kwas
Some would say that that is a sign of a good team. Like the Blues on Saturday. They weren’t all that flash and managed to get the result by playing at the right side of the field near the end. To me, the Sharks totaly blasted the Blues in their game. Make no mistake, they’re a class outfit.
Pieta
He was one of the those they handed Bok blazers to as recognition for playing the game in the ‘apartheid’ days, like Cheeky. Personaly, I think he could’ve done more on the ‘transformation’ front. He was President of Tygerberg (who was that WP lock went and played for them) coupla yrs ago and at the same time WP selector, I think. Anyway, long story short, Tygerberg ended top of premier league in WP, beating Maties twice (if I remember correctly) but only 1 player (Patrick Peterson) got selected in WP side. That’s not much, you would say, but same season Noordelikes ended 2nd or 3rd (not sure). So, I think he missed an opportunity there or, the cynic in me says, he got an opportunity there. Anyway, that is the last time I’ll talk about him or any other ‘old’ SARU players, unless you are realy interested.
25 Mar 2008, 06:39 am
Rp
uhm! Maybe I am. The results stand as is but some of the refs had a hand in it, I would suggest. As whatever above I to believe Marks had a shocker, same as your mate Lyndon Bryce, or whatever the hell his name is. Hopefully Stormers get arguably best Kiwi ref in Steven Walsh! And then we’ll see whose betting whose lunch money overhere!
25 Mar 2008, 06:39 am
Bok
Interesting.
Is Tygerberg/Tech the same side you are talking about?
I think Tommie Loubser and Tiaan Strauss played for them, or was it Noordelikes?
25 Mar 2008, 06:42 am
Not a good weekened for saffas!!
Stormers looked very good….i reckon the best saffa team this year.
Sharks have been benficiaries of good luck.
BokiNZ
Hang on a minute
You are complaining to a NZer about poor quality refereeing interfering with the outcome of a game ?
Surely not !!
Look, if you just want to throw your money away – just give it to me
weekend
25 Mar 2008, 06:43 am
Bok
Cheeky never got the blazer!
He was guest of honour at that function when Zola and those got capped, but strangely enough Cheeky not.
Wonder why?
I have the link of that party somewhere, will let you know.
25 Mar 2008, 06:44 am
& I put all those
in especially for Bod who ought to be here any minute to remonstrate
me for excessive use
25 Mar 2008, 06:54 am
Not too sure, Piet. Was the time when Chester was coach at Noordelikes.
25 Mar 2008, 07:01 am
morning Wallabie
Signs are looking good for Wallaby side this year.
Good coach, potent backline with Cross, Latham, Gittau, Mortlock, Loti etc.
Just a bit at scrumhalf
25 Mar 2008, 07:02 am
Should read a bit thin at scrumhalf
25 Mar 2008, 07:04 am
Piet
But you let me know when you get it. Would make for an interesting read.
Ah! That IS interesting! Would’ve thought he’d be one of the firsts to have got one! Can you blame the man for being on the warpath now that his son gets the same treatment?
RP
Can’t concentrate with all that smileys around. Think your message gets lost in all that! About my hard earned $’s. Thought you had enough of that lying around!
25 Mar 2008, 07:09 am
Bok
I am searching, it is in the EP Herald archives somewhere around Oct 2002, when that function was held down in PE (I think it was).
Gotta run, will check some more later at the office and get back to you.
25 Mar 2008, 07:10 am
Yah but daniel… we all know that’s not where they get ‘klapped’. They had a potent bacline back in Oct as well. Admit they have much better coach in Deans
25 Mar 2008, 07:13 am
Sure thing Pieta! Will search as well.
25 Mar 2008, 07:13 am
Agreed, their forwards are not there to instill fear in the opposition, but to be honest, who does nowadays?
I’m impressed with this Cross bloke, and if you put him next to Gittau and Mortlock it could be dangerous.
25 Mar 2008, 07:14 am
BokiNZ
Don’t worry it was only a wind up for “Bod”.
Not my fault you are easily distracted
I am just saying if you are going to just throw them (your hard earned $$s) away – send them over here & I will put them to good use !
25 Mar 2008, 07:26 am
morning princess..i hope he doesn’t remonstrate you to excessively…my goodness! how were your picks this weekend?
25 Mar 2008, 07:34 am
More Bucky
Got to throw him a bone every now & then
“MY” picks were pretty good thanks – I am back in the top 40 ! I cannot say the same however for the “JV” … Gosh – some people just will not listen to reason ! But, what can a girl do ?
How did you do ?
25 Mar 2008, 07:47 am
is it a phirm bone, now that is the question!!
i almost had 6, but then latham ruined the party…still not to bad…going to pick the stormers this week though. so you actually get to watch any of the games?
25 Mar 2008, 07:48 am
what’s the JV again?
25 Mar 2008, 07:49 am
mmmmm… full of ourself this morning I see. Sweetie, if it wasnt for some real weed of a Kiwi linesman backing down, the “mighty Blues” wouldnt be so mighty this morning and you wouldnt be so brazen.
“Ref… No 4 threw a punch at the Stormers player during the ruck”
“Did he connect, as that would be a red card offence”
“Ummmm”
“Did he connect”
“Ummmm… I am not sure” (Despite his head doing a full 180 deg recoil after the punch smashed into his face)
“Whats your recommendation?”
“Ummmm…. penalty only”
Pathetic little twaz…. Imagine if the roles had been reversed…
25 Mar 2008, 07:53 am
hey bod, it’s amazing at how easy they can turn a blind eye…any citings this week i doubt it…you healthy again, have a good long weekend?
25 Mar 2008, 07:57 am
morning All…
Cheez the Cheetahs and the Stormers could have won!!!!
Eosh my Bulls team was as pathetic as last week… No commitment!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I see Vic is negotiating to come back to the Bulls and Pierre spies is going to help us… Will this be the turn of the tide???
25 Mar 2008, 08:02 am
Buck
The JV is where I am supposed to make reccomedations to Bod & he is supposed to follow them – after all I am the majority shareholder … NOT that I am one complain you understand
Again I must ask – is someone here REALLY
about poor refereeing to an NZer ?
Are you sure that was not your “flu meds” talking to you?
Anyway what makes you think 14 Blues could not have held your Stormers at bay anyway ?
Oohh … did I really ask that ?
Good morning Bod 8)
25 Mar 2008, 08:13 am
Morning Bod,Buck and Rugby Princess
Such an idyllic morning in Cape Town. Intoxicatingly lekkerrrrrrrrrrrrr!
25 Mar 2008, 08:14 am
Good morning Jinixe =8)
Nice Easter break ?
25 Mar 2008, 08:17 am
As RP would say…niicce!
It really is niicce this morning. Give me autumn.
27 degrees today. I want 20 degrees but will be patient for the temp drop. I need cool after the long summer heat.
25 Mar 2008, 08:27 am
Buck
What is it a “phirm bone” ? Saffa doggie treat ? Maybe Bertie likes them ?
I also almost had 6, but then that convict ruined my little victory party
I will pick the Force, but the JV will no doubt pick the Stormers
Yes I did get to watch a few of the games … only 2 live though – still it is better than nothing !
25 Mar 2008, 08:29 am
Jinxie is 20 degrees & over cast here now but we are heading into months of hot, wet & steamy weather
I really only like hot weather when I am on vacation & not far from water of some kind …
25 Mar 2008, 08:54 am
skopskiet – forgets that Jake White, John Smit, and hte rest are world champions – like it or not they are WC……….
Agree that Dolley is hte biggest bang gat rugby player I have seen for a long time…..
Marius Joubert IS playing fantastic rugby and is hte top center in France this seson – he should be bok again……
25 Mar 2008, 09:00 am
morning jinx!
joubert…hmmm might be playing well up north, but remember he passes less than devilliers, so don’t expect him to be breaking the line to often against NZ and OZ
RP – it can be a treat and depends entirely on the style
25 Mar 2008, 09:09 am
Buck
Que? So, it is dog food ? I don’t have a dog, which is why I wanted Bertie so much
But I travel too much & it would not be fair to him
25 Mar 2008, 09:37 am
Howzit Buck
**** weekend… still laid low. I tried a round at Royal Parow, but lasted 15 holes before the virus kicked in…. its ok though as Chelsea soothed all my woes and pains this weekend!
25 Mar 2008, 09:59 am
Cheetahs, Bulls, and Lions teams are strong this year.
………….must be to hold up the entire log
25 Mar 2008, 10:01 am
#196 3 tries in one match v NZ don’t forget! Thats breaking the line in my book?
25 Mar 2008, 11:23 am
only doos’s are those f’ak eyed idiots that cannot see fact from fiction, 49-0 losses remain 49-0 losses whatever your doos faced opinionated asswit idiocy pretends it to be, it will not eradicate the fact from the records.
No matter who these doos’s pretend or preen their ostrich feathers, or how punk eyed ostriched headed the doos’s want to be.
Punk eyed doos’s remain punk eyed doos’s for ever and a day. Whatever they wanna wish away the fact or whatever their punk eyed opinion might be whatever is just it, stupidity reigns, whatever the circumstances the idiots lost 49-0 so doos away all you like your idiocy remains a fact too, punk faced idiot incarnate.
25 Mar 2008, 12:34 pm
Well done Smitty, glad to hear you are fit again. Good for the Boks.
25 Mar 2008, 12:52 pm
Haven’t you got another thing to whine about.
Since that loss the Boks have won the World Cup & beaten the Ozzies & Kiwis.
You have GOT to get over that. Why would you cling to one loss 2 years ago when there are more recent games that you can consider.
If you continue to focus on the one game, you lose credibility in a discussion, because you are the one with your head in the sand.
25 Mar 2008, 13:59 pm
would be great to see john back playing super rugby at the sharks again..
as for joubert, most talented centre we’ve produced in the last decade- a welcomed return to the boks i hope!!!
25 Mar 2008, 16:07 pm
Skop,
You must stay off the budget til til after 12 otherwise I just think you’re stupid. Really you should move on boet.
Now I’m disappointed Adams didn’t turn out for the Bulls. He might have been a catalyst or woken up FdP.
Personally I think your idea of discarding all SA’s grizzled WC veterans wholesale for unproven youngsters is typical SA bonehead thinking. SA’s useless discards often shine overseas and the more enlightened bring them back.
I think SA needs better, smarter coaching. They are the only difference between players who are “useless” here and do well in Europe.