Super Smitty shines again

John Smit maintained his impressive return to form as Clermont edged within a point of table-topping Toulouse in the French Top 14.

Smit’s form and that of Springbok fullback Percy Montgomery will no doubt please Springbok coach Peter de Villiers. Smit will captain the Boks this year and De Villiers met with Montgomery two months ago to discuss his international future. Both players have responded positively to the new Bok coach’s interest and Smit’s form, in particular, will bring a smile to De Villiers, who won’t have taken much comfort from the first six weeks of South African Super rugby performances.

Smit, speaking to Keo.co.za, said he had fully recovered from the knee injury that sidelined him for six weeks and that being back at peak fitness was critical to his recent performances.

“The mind is strong but equally important is that the body has to be strong. I am feeling really good at the moment, enjoying my rugby and the team is getting good results. I’ve now had six successive matches and in each one the knee has felt better and with each week I have felt I’ve made a bigger contribution to the team.”

Smit said he watched as much Super 14 rugby as possible and was in constant contact with players in South Africa.

“I am following the Sharks very closely and I’ve seen what’s been televised here. The competition seems to be settling down now and despite results not always going the way of the South African teams I still think there has been some very good rugby played by South African sides. Individually there has also been good performances, so I am very optimistic about the international season.”

Smit also singled out Clermont teammate and former Springbok centre Marius Joubert’s performances this season as being special.

“For me he has been the form centre in the competition and consistently the best in France. He has a huge desire to play for the Springboks again and the change of pace in lifestyle seems to have been good for his game. He is playing outstanding rugby.”

Clermont hammered Montpellier 56-17 to consolidate second position in the league, while Montgomery’s outstanding goalkicking has lifted Perpignan into fifth place.

Montgomery kicked three conversions and four penalties in the 45-7 win against Albi.

Toulouse remain top of the table, despite sending a second team to play Stade Francais in Paris, where they got smashed 29-0.

Results of Round 15
Biarritz vs Brive, 10-0
Bourgoin vs Auch, 36-0
Castres vs Montauban, 21-7
Dax vs Bayonne, 11-6
Perpignan vs Albi, 45-7
Clermont Auvergne vs Montpellier, 56-17
Stade Français vs Toulouse, 29-0

Standings after Round 15

1. Toulouse 58
2. Clermont 57
3. Stade Francais 44
4. Biarritz 41
5. Perpignan 40
6. Castres 40
7. Montauban 35
8. Bourgoin 34
9. Bayonne 33
10. Montpellier 30
11. Brive 27
12. Albi 25
13. Dax 20
14. Auch 10

206 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All

• 101.superBul: Reply to this comment

More Pietman, i see you feel much more positive about your team. Bulls missed the bus this time. Are you also believing that Rassie is the real reason why the Stormers are picking up the pieces?

Ek dink hy ploeg met Fester se Kalwers

• 102.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Whatever
    Good to know you are not a quitter – esp with your place on the ladder ! Although your “klap every now and again” approach is kind of interesting … not one I recall anyone having told they experienced in rehab :lol:

Piet
    RSA is not alone in looking the other way … We are all responsible. Martin Niemöller had it right :

First they came for the Jews
    and I did not speak out
    because I was not a Jew.
    Then they came for the Communists
    and I did not speak out
    because I was not a Communist.
    Then they came for the Trade Unionists
    and I did not speak out
    because I was not a Trade Unionist.
    Then they came for me
    and there was no one left
    to speak out for me.

• 103.whatever: Reply to this comment

Hehe RP, he does not have a “normal” addiction :)

• 104.whatever: Reply to this comment

Tomsta, where are you Boet? Talk me through Eden Park ………what happenned?

• 105.Pietman: Reply to this comment

whatever
    McBride is a gangster, and so are his top brass.

superBul
    Yes, I think Stormers are on the up.
    They shouldn’t have lost those first two games at home though.
    The one at Newlands against the Bulls was there for the taking, but Peter Grant screwed it up.
    I remember saying to Boerboel, who sat in the box with me, that if the Bulls played the way they did that day, they would get nowhere near a win on their overseas leg.
    The Bulls simply cannot play these new rules, I saw it at Newlands already.

• 106.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Whatever
    I suspect you don’t either … so, do I get to “klap” some sense into you too ? :eek:

• 107.whatever: Reply to this comment

Feel free RP, if you think it nessesary! I’m just buggered if I’m going to let those comments go by without drawing to his attention his boring repetition. We all know his feelings about the subject. If I have to become boring in the process then so be it… :)

• 108.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Whatever
    Take heart – you are amusing with it (usually) & we all need to have a passion for something !

I need to you to come here & sort my housekeeper out … she is the worlds WORST housekeeper & yet I don’t have the gumption to fire her :( Which is exactly what needs doing !

• 109.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

whatever,

we do not speak of Uli time for Tvl :(

Pietman,

yes, Uli is not far, he left SA because of the change in politics. I can still remember him back in ’93 coming out and saying “Blacks don’t play rugby”

classic :)

• 110.whatever: Reply to this comment

mmmmmm, RP, with “pleasure”. I’m called the “Hatchet Man” at work as those jobs always seem to land on my desk…… :)

• 111.Pietman: Reply to this comment

greatest
    Yes, Uli and Sonia (also a doctor) are in Oz now, left for safety reasons.
    The used to practise in ‘The Village’, near Menlo Park, not far from where I lived.

• 112.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

whatever,

they call us “big brother” at my work :D

• 113.Koos: Reply to this comment

More almal, Pete not sure he is around here…

• 114.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Koos
    I think he is in Brisbane.

• 115.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Pietman,

cheers for the update, so I gather he is your doctor?? :D

wonder if he still has that short fuse?

• 116.Koos: Reply to this comment

I’ll check then.

• 117.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Koos/Gerber
    Uli is in Warnervale, asst coach and medical consultant to the ‘Wildcats’.
    Koos, Warnervale in Brissie, no?

• 118.Koos: Reply to this comment

nope Pete, does not ring a bell. Only Wildcats I know is the Perth Wildcats…basketball team?!

• 119.Koos: Reply to this comment

Just asked my friend old Googles…

Warnervale is a rapidly growing town in the Australian state of New South Wales. It lies approximately 95 km north of the Sydney CBD, located west of Tuggerah Lake, a large shallow coastal lake, and just north of Wyong

• 120.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Koos
    I just ‘googled’ Uli He has his own wbsite!).
    He lives in Kanwal, NSW, where he practises sports medicine.
    Guess it is near Sydney then.

• 121.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

‘wildcats’ ?

• 122.Pietman: Reply to this comment

118# Koos
    OK.
    No we know where Uli hangs out.

• 123.Koos: Reply to this comment

Well there you go.

• 124.Pietman: Reply to this comment

121# ‘Now we know….’

• 125.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Whatever
    I started to fire her just before Chinese New Year but by the end of the conversation I had given her a holiday & a bonus :(

• 126.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

cheers Pietman,

I ask Google van Heerden as well :D

• 127.whatever: Reply to this comment

Couple of photies of Uli on the Warnervale rugby site.

• 128.whatever: Reply to this comment

You softy RP :)

• 129.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

Hey evryone! All over the shock and dissapointment of the wk/nd?

RP
    You must’ve had a terrible shock when your picks came thru? But don’t get too excited, you know what they say about the blind squirrel?

Boyz
    Praat julle van Uli die boelie!

• 130.Pietman: Reply to this comment

126# whatever
    Nice, aren’t they?
    Uli is a legend, so was the late old Louis, the original Blue Bull.
    (I walked past his house in Stanford Bay the other day, same street as my brother’s.)

• 131.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Bok
    The Stormers are OK still, no worries ek se.

• 132.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

Molefe
    They need to win in Perth. Non-negotiable. From there, their toughest assignment will be Hurricanes and Waratahs at home. But a win in Perth is a must.

• 133.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Greatest2Schmidt :)

• 134.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

WP are gone for the season..much like my side

• 135.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

Can’t say much about Uli. My childhood heroes were Peter Jooste, Irvin October and ‘Spoekie’ September et al. Would’ve liked to see Naas Botha and September go head to head. If I had to pick, it would be September, just because he could tackle as well. :lol: But with the boot they were both prolific. IMHO.

• 136.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Whatever
    Well, she started to tell me how I was her ONLY customer now … blah blah blah … Frankly given her “talent” I am not surprised – my antique furniture will never be the same again following her “ministrations” :( But she still managed to make me feel sorry for her … feck :x

BokiNZ
    Cheeky brat ! Did you consider that I may have followed my own hunches instead of listening to a bunch of boys for a change ? :roll:

• 137.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

BokiNZ
    They are not going to win in Perth … Last year they lost to WF 22-3 in RSA ! What has changed so dramatically since then ?

• 138.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Irvin October :)

• 139.whatever: Reply to this comment

Greatest, WP do not play in the S14. Live in the present dude. The Stormers however, are still in with a shout :)

• 140.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

G13G
    Stormers are still in it, of that there is no doubt! They’ve played all the tough sides already (apart from the Bulls, of course! :lol: ) and only Hurricanes, Waratahs and Force should be challenging! Pls note, I said SHOULD be…! As for the Bulls, well, not even Ludeke knows how they’re going to go! At least, he remains positive, albeit a bit comical.

• 141.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

more like a whisper

• 142.whatever: Reply to this comment

Whispering louder than the Bulls “snort” boet!! :lol:

• 143.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

Rp
    Let me put it this way. Lst yr the Bulls totaly annihilated the Reds in Pta 92-3 and this season lost to the same side 40-8. Moral of the story….that is sooooo last year!! :razz:

• 144.whatever: Reply to this comment

Oh, greatest, remind me of the log positions of the STORMERS and the heffers again!!

• 145.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

I do not find it fair all these daggers pointing in Ludeke back. It is indeed sad.

• 146.whatever: Reply to this comment

#134 Howzit BokiNZ. Never saw those dudes, so can’t comment unfortunately. Is that not the kak thing about our SA past?? :(

• 147.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

no comment

• 148.whatever: Reply to this comment

Come now Greatest, he is a kak coach. period. Just look at his record. He is given a s14 Champion side and look what happens. Sure the players have to take some blame, but hey it all ends up at the coaches door eventully!

• 149.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

Now whatever! Be nice! No need to be condescending!! G13G can’t help it if his S14 champion side are utter drivel who will even struggle to get a result at home! Normaly they are **** on their away leg and good at home but NORMALY HM would be their coach. And he’s not there to hold their hands. Maybe he knew the paw-paw was going to hit the fan this season!

• 150.whatever: Reply to this comment

eventully? …….jeez that was poor :)

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.