Blues edge better Bulls

A brave but ultimately fruitless effort by the Bulls saw them go down 23-21 to the Blues in Auckland.

It was a much improved all round performance from the Bulls who contained and countered efficiently. There’s no doubt that they were the better team, particularly for the last quarter of the match. But nobody will remember the performance. The loss, their fifth in seven matches, is the bottom line.

But for the first time this season they looked like a competent unit, worthy of the billing of defending champions. The improvement was built on solid defence, where they were patient and accurate, better tactical kicking and a committed chasing line that seldom allowed the Blues back three to get into the game and a good tackle fight, that often halted the Blues’ powerful ball carriers in their tracks and stopped the continuity they thrive on.

Pierre Spies, returning after an eight month illness lay-off, was impressive in this regard – his first contribution a crunching tackle on Benson Stanley which drove the midfielder 4m back. Sadly his impact on attack was limited, but his inclusion gave the back row a balance it’s lacked throughout the campaign. Wikus van Heerden was relieved of his ball carrying duties and allowed to play more towards the ball, while Pedrie Wannenburg thrived in a looser role. The trio were the standout performers for the Bulls, although Bryan Habana’s efforts on attack and defence must be lauded.

It was his outstanding counterattack that gave them the lead with 15 minutes to play, but they subsequently botched three great opportunities that would have killed off the Blues, the most telling of which came when Zane Kirchner knocked on in the in-goal area with three minutes left.

Their last chance came when Habana took a quick throw to Derick Hougaard, but the pivot knocked on, and with that any chance of an upset victory disappeared. They should have gone for the drop goal in the preceding passage of play. Hougaard was 15m out in the pocket, but Danie Rossouw opted to take it up one phase too many and conceded the turnover. It’s little errors like that that is the difference between this side and the 2007 champions.

Despite their possession and territorial advantage, the Blues hardly troubled the Bulls throughout the match. They’ve looked an average unit for the last three weeks now, and their performance certainly wasn’t the stuff title contenders are made off. Their ball control through the phases was poor, while in the first half they often had two players attacking the same space. They Bulls drift defence ushered them across the field when they looked to play expansively and the heavies were largely impenetrable when they got more direct.

Two debatable tries gave the Blues the ascendancy. The first to Troy Flavell, although television replays failed to prove conclusively that he had control of the ball when grounding it. In the second half Isaia Toeava appeared to be preventing Pierre Spies from making a tackle on Keven Mealamu, who slid around the blindside of a ruck to score. But the Bulls cannot lament those decisions, as they had opportunities to seal the victory.

Van Heerden powered over from close range soon after Flavell’s try, and the Bulls nearly struck again when Habana was bundled into touch by John Afoa just before half-time. At 10-7 they were certainly still in the match, but Mealamu’s five pointer opened up a useful lead.

However, Van Heerden bagged his brace to drag his side back into contention. But the Blues got themselves into the Bulls’ red zone, and capitalised through a Nick Evans drop goal.

Their opportunities to win came and went, and Bulls head coach Frans Ludeke was left to ponder what could have been. The pressure on him grows and with the Force laying in wait in their final tour match, his record doesn’t look like improving any time soon.

Blues - Try: Troy Flavell, Keven Mealamu. Conversion: Nick Evans (2). Penalty: Evans (2), Drop goal: Evans
Bulls - Try: Wikus Van Heerden (2), Derick Kuun. Conversion: Derick Hougaard (3)

494 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All

• 451.sinba556: Reply to this comment

Personally I thought both teams played fairly equally. Ref had some bad calls for both sides, so it’s tough to say that a different ref would have resulted in a different score. Bulls have certainly improved from the outing with the Reds. Blues still haven’t returned to the early form.

As for the french/abs game. Fact: Wayne Barnes did not penalise the French once in the second half despite 17 possible offenses. ABs were not playing as well as they have in the past, and were not as defensively astute as the French. Bounce of the ball ultimately dictated the game.

• 452.cane: Reply to this comment

Piet.#447.

At least he (JW) is still with us. Your Von Damme is a tragedy. Too many young lives are wasted in needless carnage on roads all over the world.

• 453.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Cane
    They still have the ‘Ewoudt von Damme Memorial’ race in Belgium every year, in his honour.

• 454.cane: Reply to this comment

Eish, memory fading fast over here….

Comment by Pietman : March 29,

It’s the boose (Liquor) Piet. It is rotting our brains…………and you are selling it.

• 455.Fern: Reply to this comment

Add Steve Prefontaine to the list Cane

• 456.Fern: Reply to this comment

Surfing wise add Eddie Aiku.”Eddie would go”.

• 457.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Aussie cheats stopped the Bulls!

• 458.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Cane
    Talking about tragedies, my friend through whom who I met these guys, has cancer of the bone-marrow
    Saw him in CT about a month ago.
    And this is a boy who won the Glden Oldies Marathon in Portugal last year, and who had held five SA records in his time.
    He is 53 now, and was still running until two months ago!
    But he says the treatment is slowly beginning to kick in and he might not need the marrow transplant after all, so let’s hope….

• 459.sinba556: Reply to this comment

Hey hey, Spies played pretty well considering the time off he’s had huh? It’s scary for us AB supporters to be honest, he can only go up from here.

• 460.cane: Reply to this comment

Fernly,#449.

My Rambling days are over. As a youngin I did plenty. The hard way.

But who knows, never say never.

If I won the Lottery my wish list would be:-
    1) Hong Kong 7′s.
    2) NZ/SA Test Match at Kings Park (or Newlands).No disrespect to the other venues in SA. Kings and Newlands just look the best.
    3) Visit the antiquities in Egypt.
    4) See the wildebeest migration in East Africa.
    5) Have lunch with Pete Townsend, Charlise Theron and Bishop Desmond.

Now if Piet can arrange that……in the school holidays………I’m on a plane tommorrow.

• 461.wls1: Reply to this comment

The only real bad decision came at the end, DR had hardly even stopped moving from going down and he was penalised? surly you have to wait? it was a match decision that one.
    Bulls much improved.
    Ref was clearly born in NZ on that pitch lol.

• 462.Pietman: Reply to this comment

cane
    Selling the boose isn’t the problem, it is the self indulgence!

• 463.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

SAy what you want, the bulls had chances to win the game, but fluffed it. Too often South african teams are on the wrong end of the dubious TV ref decisions. It should be stated that unless there is 100% evidence of a try, the benefit of the doubt must be given to the defending side.

Glad to see Habana winging it again, what a quality player, his talents are so wasted at the bulls with centres like olivier and nel. Bryan should be playing in Cape Town, the thought of Habana and Chavanga on the wings should scare the **** out of most teams.

• 464.church - like chch but pronounceable: Reply to this comment

Another big win for NZ

• 465.cane: Reply to this comment

Pietman,

Yes the treatment of some of cancers has progresed immeasurablely over the last 10 years.
    Good luck to your friend.

Some of us just go through each day not knowing how lucky we are.

• 466.church - like chch but pronounceable: Reply to this comment

cane,

were you at the game?

• 467.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Cane
    Thanks, will convey your well wishes.
    Phoning him on Sundays occasionally.
    Skoppie here knows him well also.

• 468.sinba556: Reply to this comment

Bulls were unlucky, but you can’t blame the ref completely. FdP should have sent the ball straight to Hougaard instead of DR. Some poor decisions made. Same can be said of the Blues, Pisi decides to kick an up and under in his own 22, 10 minutes from the end. Clearly a silly thing to do – gave the ball straight back to the bulls.

• 469.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Poor decision making lost the bulls the game.Especially not sending the ball back immediately to Hougie in the pocket.I mean c’mon the man was built for that!!!So was his knock on at the end after the quick restart by habana.Unlucky with Kirchner attempted try.

Kuun first decent game in the no.2 jersey,his speed to cover was outstanding,gave Rokocoko something to think about.Bulls fringe defence was HUGE.Bakkies,van Heerden,G.Steenkamp(much improved) were physically imposing.

Mealamu’s dubious try midway through the second half was crucial.

NZ commentators so biased its ridiculous.

SA aint afriad of travel as much i think.

Good sign for P. De Villiers and the Boks.

• 470.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Bulls scrum still kak though.Woodcock was DESTROYING GERBER!!!!

Toeava is overrated.Another nonu in the making-Anthony Tuituvake is better.

• 471.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

Here’s a classic quote that should be echoed around the globe…

When Kevin Mealamu scored the much talked about try where Pierrie Spies was blocked by Toeava from making the tackle, before awarding the try the referee ran to his touch judge (or assistant ref) and asked if there was any obstruction.

the response from the man standing at the try line was classic…

“I was not looking there”

So will someone please ask that Cheating idiot, where the FFFF he was looking? Was he admiring the grass? was he admiring Wynand Oliviers hair?

Its a fair question, and I would like to hear his reponse. Clearly, watching the Force win their first 2 games in SA in the dying seconds by complete refereeing errors, the Aussies are buying decisions. And with an Aussie coach theres no reason why the Blues couldn’t receive the same beneficial treatment.

I think there’s a plot against SA for taking most of the winnings. Is Australian rugby in financial trouble? I think they will be if they dont get a Semi final or even final.

Cheating scmucks, too many decisions that are not 50/50 but more like 90/10.
    Stevie Wonder would’ve seen that. FIRE that idiot.

• 472.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

Let me state… im not even a bulls fan, i just hate cheaters.

Italian soccer was marred by cheating, dont be surprised if the same scandal hits rugby soon.

• 473.marvinb: Reply to this comment

#471 you sound like a whinging Bok supporter My team the blues deserved their win and if the Bulls didnt play negative Rugby they might get somewhere.GO THE BLUES WELL DONE.

• 474.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

The same **** has been happening to the Cheatahs the whole season.

• 475.molla: Reply to this comment

ha ha the bulls lost again.I almost feel sorry for them, almost

• 476.JL1: Reply to this comment

You can’t stand the heat, or does the shoe fit mate??

• 477.saimone: Reply to this comment

#471 Its no co-incidence that the Bulls season is over.

• 478.JL1: Reply to this comment

The refs need to be sorted out, this rubbish cannot go on, I do not support the Bulls, but hell, the referee decisions has really been lower grade

They have to sort this out

• 479.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

The Blues knows that they got of jail ‘once again’. How many times has Flavell said that at the aftermatch interview, “once again”. Making excuses for winning a game of rugby! The Bulls played much, much better and it makes you wonder what caused this turnaround. Maybe HM is pulling the strings behind the scenes again. No way Ludeke can psyche them up enough to play a full 80 at that level of intensity. Whatever it is, doesn’t realy matter but SA need a confident Bulls outfit. I’m feeling even more optimistic than before about the 3N and Wales now.

• 480.saimone: Reply to this comment

#478 I dont think you can blame the Bulls horror season on last night’s referee. This is not their first loss, and it wont be their last loss of 2008. Last time I looked, the Bulls are only 4 points above the wooden spoon.

• 481.k1w1in0z: Reply to this comment

The sooner the IRB decide to change the “Drop Goal” score from 3 to 1, the bloody better.
    The Bulls played well and should have won that game on score anyway after that first “No Try” by the Blues.
    Drop goals are the resort of the weak teams (England & France) and should NOT be encouraged by more than 1 point, purely for the abillity, rather than the effort!.

• 482.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

481# Agree with the change in the drop goal points but at the end of the day a win is a win.

• 483.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

recovered from the big game outing..

I am happy with the team’s performance despite losing..sheer bounce of the ball. Nonetheless
    very proud the boys improved remarkibly from last weekend.

Spies, van Heerden and Wannenberg were very powerful in the loose and Habana was my Man of the Match.

yes. A lost is a lost but I am taking the positive from this lost…and there were many.

• 484.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

Would any of you kiwi’s deny that the bulls were robbed? Your NZ commentators mentioned at least 5 times during hte game how they felt thats a harsh decision against the bulls. Nowhere did i say anything about the bulls horror season being down to the ref, but last nights game was a definite, and the pattern seems to follow against other South Africa teams. The stormers are looking good for a semi-final. Could we see the Crusaders, Sharks, Blues and Stormers in the semis? Sorry Aussies, even with the cheating for your beloved Force by officials, you still won’t see a semi-final.

• 485.molla: Reply to this comment

if the drop goal changes to 1 point the bulls will be even less of a threat as for the bulls horror season what utter rubbish this is the norm

• 486.blueboy: Reply to this comment

To grt13gerber#483 like yourself i am a diehard bulls fan if you are happy with that performance, then you have low rugby standards.The bulls looked a better team today,but that is only because they have been playing such **** rugbyover the last few weeks,any little improvement would make them look good.There was no happier bulls fan than me when we won the super14,and the reason for that is we played bloody good rugby,not this **** we have to watch at the moment.I will not fall out with you as you are a bulls fan,as there is plenty of OTHER non-bulls fans to fall out with.At the end of the day it was another defeat and i ask when is this rubbish all going to end and the bulls get back to normal.MY BLOED IS BLOU MAAR MY HART IS SEER.

• 487.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

Jake_white – I think you maybe right, as long as the stormers hold form it should be a good semi. I would say the Crusaders are pretty well assured of a home semi at this stage but the Hurricanes are still in with a sniff and usually finish strong particularly after a showing like they had against the Crusaders.

• 488.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

” another defeat and i ask when is this rubbish all going to end and the bulls get back to normal.MY BLOED IS BLOU MAAR MY HART IS SEER.”

cheers bru :)

I am just contempt to accept taht they improved. I cannot bring myself to be too down on them. We wil l rise again.

• 489.mongrel: Reply to this comment

no complaints, the bulls were greedy and arrogant to gamble on a 5 point win when a 4 point win was there for the taking. take the win then lament the ‘cheating’ refs and the zane knock. big question about duppies decision to tap and go on a straight arm penalty too.

• 490.saimone: Reply to this comment

Funny how these Bulls supporters never complained about the drop-goal points after the 1995 rugby world cup final.

• 491.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

The Bulls were simply not good enough. Zane Kirchner did all he could to win the Bulls the game. The forwards aka Danie Rossouw did all he could to make sure they didn’t. That’s not brain surgery. I want to say to all those Afrikaner Boere who don’t like all the coloureds in their teams. I think you should bow down to them and say thank you for playing for us!! haha

• 492.Rognvald: Reply to this comment

#473 What a load of garbage! AS the commentators said (Kiwis) “It has to be a home town decisi0n”.
    Didn’t know the Boks were playing.
    Without those incredible islanders NZS wouldn’t even rate.
    Seems that you are still hung up about the world cup and that makes me feel good!

• 493.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

To me the biggest ‘influence’ by the ref has been blowing Danie for holding on under the Blues sticks. He didn’t even have a chance to place the ball and his support was on hand to clear the ruck. Apperently not quick enough for Mr Leckie. Rewind to the play leading up to Mealamu’s (no)try. Wikus was standing on top of the Blues player for what seemed like an age but Leckie allowed the support to arrive and clear him out. And he had the audacity afterwards to call Wikus to take his hands out for he was off his feet!! That was gross inconsistencies that had a possible 14 pt advantage to the Blues. But never no mind! The Bulls look like a team who wants to play esp Habana and Botha!

• 494.Rognvald: Reply to this comment

#491 Seems that you are feeling guilty. Quite understandable and not out of place. Student? Headed for a significant failure! As with #473 seems there is a distinct inverse bias.
    Sadly, when it comes to the big time the South Pacific players aren’t there for NZ, nor should they be. Consequently the All Blacks??? choke when it comes to the real business!

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.