Botha’s contractual bungle set to explode
1 Apr 2008
Bakkies Botha’s transfer saga continues to get more twisted, with both the Bulls and Toulon laying claim to him.
Botha is one of a number of elite players targeted by the French second division club, who already own Botha’s Springbok lock partner Victor Matfield, legendary Australia scrumhalf George Gregan, All Blacks Anton Oliver and Andrew Mehrtens, while All Blacks great Tana Umaga coaches the galaxy of stars.
When keo.co.za spoke to millionaire Toulon president Mourad Boudjellal on a recent visit to the club, he explained that Botha had signed a pre-contract with them, and would join on 1 April. He said the document indicated Botha’s intent to sign an official contract but explained that Botha was now legally obligated to join the club.
The Bulls, however, refused to release the player, despite his request, citing the fact that he was bound to the franchise by a four year contract he signed in late 2007.
This website has learned that Boudjellal last week showed the Toulon media the contract with Botha’s signature on the dotted line. Boudjellal insisted that they would secure Botha’s services irrespective of the Bulls’ assertions to the contrary.
If Botha failed to arrive on the specified date, Boudjellal said the club would proceed with legal action against the player. As it stands Botha is with the Bulls in Perth preparing for their Super 14 match against the Force. Unless the lock has developed a supernatural ability to teleport himself across the world, he is unlikely to show up for work in the south of France.
Toulon claim they have sent a copy of the signed contract to the South African Rugby Union [Saru]. However, Saru general manager of policy and regulations, Christo Ferreira, insists he has not received anything of the sort – but explained that manager of national teams Andy Marinos may be in possession of the document. Marinos asked to be contacted later on Tuesday, but would neither confirm or deny having received the contract.
“If the two parties are looking for mediation on the matter, the IRB usually deals with that. But Saru may intervene if they are requested to [by the IRB] although that hasn’t been the case to date,” Ferreira told keo.co.za.
Botha’s agent, Bernie Habana, failed to respond to questions around where the process stood, while Bulls CEO Barend van Graan was vehemently opposed to discussing the matter. “Please don’t ask me about Bakkies. I’m not talking about that. No comment,” Van Graan barked.
As it stands both the Bulls and Toulon have a contract with Botha, and Toulon will feel they have a watertight case should they opt to take legal action. The Bulls won’t relent on their position that the player has committed to them for the next four years, so the battle could get even messier in the coming weeks.
How Botha got himself into this situation is perplexing. He has no escape clause in his Bulls contract. In fact, he requested a long-term contract from the Bulls so that he would have financial security. Yet he, or his agent acting on his behalf, felt it appropriate to sign a legally bonding document with Toulon and he now finds himself in the middle of a brutal battle.

441 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All
1 Apr 2008, 11:04 am
I wonder who is faster, Habana or Chavanga
Chavanga looks faster to me
1 Apr 2008, 11:05 am
# 51 – They just hoofed us off, i hope you got my response? Otherwise i’ll write it again?
By the way I’m rude hi there and how you doing today?
1 Apr 2008, 11:05 am
Wierd, sites taken down
Whatever we need some goalkickers
Bakkies is in die kakkies
1 Apr 2008, 11:10 am
The cheeta is the fastest
1 Apr 2008, 11:12 am
Play Ball
I am good, thanks, nearly beer o’clock over here (6:15 pm).
I didn’t get your resonse, sorry, say again please.
You in CT?
1 Apr 2008, 11:12 am
56# ‘response’…
1 Apr 2008, 11:13 am
43 – I agree wholeheartedly with Chris Hewitt.
Jantjes, Habana and Chavanga are the form outside backs of 2008 and would make a devastating Bok back three. And JP as the perfect impact player to replace any of them.
And while we’re talking in-form scrummies, let’s not forget Jano Vermaak. In a struggling Lions outfit he has managed to shine in every single game. Does the basics exceptionally well and makes great instinctive decisions.
Nokwe? Are you serious?
I haven’t seen alot of the stormers games, can anyone tell me how Chavanga’s positional play is?
Speed isn’t everything!!
And can he kick if under pressure? Tackle?
1 Apr 2008, 11:14 am
I don’t know what the hoohaa is all about….
There is a Suspensive Condition in the contract (or pre-contract) Bakkies signed with Toulon…. it states that the validity of the contract is subject to the Bulls releasing Bakkies and SARU doing the same.
We know that the Bulls won’t release Bakkies…. so the terms of the Suspensive Condition has kicked in and the Toulon Contract becomes of no force or effect.
This is standard contract Law…. nothing sinister about it.
Bakkies has nothing to worry about other than paying for his expensive farm which it is rumoured he cannot afford unless he receives a better pay package.
Bernie Habana better get himself accredited with SARU first before trying to act as agent for players other than his son, Bryan. Apparently Bernie is also the Agent for Meisiekind.
It is rather simple…..see !
1 Apr 2008, 11:19 am
Agree katman
Jano and rory are playing well this year, Fourie is strugling a bit.
1 Apr 2008, 11:19 am
GBS
Does Bernie act as agent for Meisiekind for Vogue and Cosmo shoots
1 Apr 2008, 11:21 am
# 56 Pietman
I’m in Pretoria – hang on hang on I’m not a Bull, i’m a Shark supporter just moved up for studies then work!
I’m leaving for Belfast Northern Irealnd in October after i get married. I race off-road bikes and i found a niche while i was over in Europe last year, i opened my import business in Belfast in January this year after some months work, i’m a British citizen through my mom even though i was born in SA. I work for a big corporate and my career has stagnated for the reasons you understand from the previous thread. So i’m taking the oppertunity as things are going really well in Belfast/Europe with the business – the demand for the product has exceeded my wildest expectation. It’s tough though to sell off my properties in SA as the market is not great, but anyway i’m looking forward to being a Safa in Belfast. My new local team i will support will be Ulster but i will always be a Shark and a Bok!!!
1 Apr 2008, 11:22 am
fastest rugby player I ever saw were Doug Jeffries
and Jaco Reinach..not much between the two.
None of the current lot I’ve seen I reckon could match these two.
1 Apr 2008, 11:22 am
#54 JL1, Steyn at 12….he’ll do the kicking? or Kockett at 9, shite Pienaar and FdP are gonna have to shine up if they want to be the no1 9. Not doing the business at the momment.
1 Apr 2008, 11:26 am
JL1,
As far as I’m aware Bernie is a partner in Meisiekind’s Hairdresser business…….. hehehe
1 Apr 2008, 11:29 am
Play Ball
Perhaps you should hang on to that property for a while, is it in Pta,
I hope not Pta East, because then you have to sell it asap, prices are dropping over there for reasons you well know.
Stay in touch, some Saffas there in Belfast as well.
Sorry, the pc doctor is here, I have to shut down for a while.
1 Apr 2008, 11:31 am
#64 a natal supporter in pretors?
best not wear your colors about local scene, you understand bru?
1 Apr 2008, 11:33 am
greatest
things have changed in pretoria. there are sharks supporters around evry corner nowdays. some of them are even allowed to date the pretoria girls!
1 Apr 2008, 11:34 am
#66 whatever
I am concerned that we (saffas) chop and change too many times, class is permanent and loss of form temporarily. Guys like FdP are made for the big occasions and other players must not just be marginal better, they must be exceptional and also regularly to get the man in the position lifted. I always say let them perform for 2 seasons at that level and then evaluate.
I mean why would we suddenly leave JP Pietersen out beacuse Chavanga has had 6 good games. Hell JP has played 14 test matches or so and tackled a Fidjian out of the RWC 2007. Chavanga is doing well and must keep on knocking on the door in my opinion. Consistency helped Jake White and Nick Mallet.
I do however say build on the squad and let these incumbents play in the smaller games (our Bok B side is kak)
1 Apr 2008, 11:35 am
# 69 g13g
The Black and White doesn’t show up to badly at Loftus?
Moenie my moer nie asb.!!
You from Pta? Where you hang out(local scene)?
1 Apr 2008, 11:35 am
Hey pasop vir julle wat so kuk praat hier van Petoorsdorp. Meeste van my pelle is Sharks Play Ball. Jy sal altyd welkom by my huis wees vir n braai..
1 Apr 2008, 11:37 am
Kwagga,
As Pretoorsdorp ‘n see gehad het was dit die ideale plek op aarde……… jammer dis laagwater…
Hehehehe
1 Apr 2008, 11:38 am
Doug Jeffries??………fffhhhaaafff…thuuuuu!
15 Jantjes
14 Chavanga/JP
13 J de Villiers/Murray
12 Steyn
11 Habbana
10 James/Grant
9 Kockott/FdP
8 Kankowski/Spies
6 Burger
7 Smith
4 Bakkies/Bekker
5 Matfield
1 Mujati
2 Bismark/Smit
3 BJ/CJ
I think we can put a **** hot squad together!!
1 Apr 2008, 11:38 am
play ball
greatest is a saffa from pretoria living in nz.
1 Apr 2008, 11:39 am
GBS My mail is sat. Sien jou trippie Kaap toe is nie meer nie. Dis nou blerrie jammer!!
1 Apr 2008, 11:40 am
kwagga ou tjom! hoe gaan dit?
i havent spent much time in prtoria but i have done a bit of business there and the people i have dealt with were real gentlemen. i will take you up on that braai sometime!
1 Apr 2008, 11:40 am
Ja Kwagga……. miskien ook maar goed my trippie Kaap toe is af…. ek sou seriaaaaaas rugby op TV gemis het….. hehehe
1 Apr 2008, 11:41 am
i will miss all the rugby this weekend as i will be in the bush. not too bad though as i will be reaquainting myself with the ways of the wild!
1 Apr 2008, 11:42 am
# 74 Rangerman
Thanks, was wondering? We never use the words local scene in Pretoria.
I’ve only been on the blog for 3 weeks, trying to work things out seems there are lots of Saffas in NZ! Where are most of the others from?
1 Apr 2008, 11:43 am
Kwagga,
Is jou Mail Monster weer op sy stukke vandag?
1 Apr 2008, 11:44 am
Play Ball
You will not be alone in Belfast many a Saffa there
1 Apr 2008, 11:45 am
Is Bernie Bryan’s daddy?
#78 Rangerman.
No problems at all bud. Let us know when are in town again. Will be great to have a couple of beers with you. We’ll round up all the local bloggers and have a couple of ‘skuimkoppe’!!
#71 JL1, that “B” side, I reckon is starting to look a lot better.
The other players not even mentioned are
Big Joe
J Fourie
Pienaar
Beast
S Brits
Looke Watson
Muller
The cupboard is not empty. The BIG question however,is ..can PdV gel the obvious player quality into an AB beating side? That my friend is the million dollar question!
pietman is in korea. there are loads in aus and nz and there was a guy from rajasthan (desert stormer). there are a few in the uk. cab works in france. aint this cyberspace an incredible thing?
1 Apr 2008, 11:46 am
qwerty,
Yip !
1 Apr 2008, 11:46 am
GBS
Nee wat die wireless is weer op sy stukke. Sien die net loop darem nie te sleg nie.
1 Apr 2008, 11:48 am
cheers kwagga, will do. i was at my local last night and had a few beers with an aussie who owns four cruise ships in thailand! his life sounds like a huge party. he is here for a few months while the ships are refitted. he was probably the only reds supporter in the pub the other night.
1 Apr 2008, 11:49 am
Bakkies, hey, he slipped away,
Bernie Habana caught up to him the very next day,
They got the money, hey,
You know they got away,
They headed down south and they’re still running today,
Singin …”go on take the money and run”.
“Go on take the money and run,
Go on take the money and run.”
(Steve millar)
gerber13
Doug ‘Judge’ Jeffries was also the SA 200 meters champ, I recall.
From Namibia originally.
Played with Tito Kankofski, didn’t he?
#87 ranger, one thing in common,.. SA Rugby, except gerber of course, he only supports the friggin Bulls and anyone who plays against the Stormers
1 Apr 2008, 11:50 am
whatever
That b-side is not great when it boils down to experience and leadership in roles
I felt last year that the bench did not really do their bit and that test against Tonga, hell the B-side players were pathetic, goalkicking petoors could not get one over the sticks even if it was right in front
1 Apr 2008, 11:51 am
I’ve just figured out why wallabie is coming to South Africa.
Alexandra Nett has just won herself R1.1 mil at the African Palace online casino.
Ek reken wallabie gaan vir hom kom vrou vat.
1 Apr 2008, 11:53 am
Rangerman
S-Korea please, big difference between the two Koreas!!!!!!!!!!
Mugabe’s friend in the North causing all sorts of problems here again since yesterday, hence my computer problems.
Bokdrol-in-India is also in the desert somewhere, oil exploration.
Flametop and Pietskeate are in Dublin.
Old Bakkies…………Rotten to the ****** core.
I’ll bet he even charges his Mum to mow her lawns.
Rangerman @ 89
Hope there was’nt any bulls supporters around or they would’ve gotten some serious stick!!! What a life to have Bliksem!!!! Obviously makes a bit more than R50 bucks a month with those ships…….Lekkerrrrrrr!!
Ex girl of mine worked on a ship in the Carribean. Those things are massive. The one she was on is the biggets of the lot. Takes about 6000 passengers!! Needless to say thats where the relationship went belly up.
1 Apr 2008, 11:55 am
cane, just like Jack, McAllister, Hayman, Gear etc??
1 Apr 2008, 11:55 am
cane
And Dan Carter will be there next year, so what
1 Apr 2008, 11:57 am
#96 Cane….doos comment. Your point is?
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All