Botha’s contractual bungle set to explode

Bakkies Botha’s transfer saga continues to get more twisted, with both the Bulls and Toulon laying claim to him.

Botha is one of a number of elite players targeted by the French second division club, who already own Botha’s Springbok lock partner Victor Matfield, legendary Australia scrumhalf George Gregan, All Blacks Anton Oliver and Andrew Mehrtens, while All Blacks great Tana Umaga coaches the galaxy of stars.

When keo.co.za spoke to millionaire Toulon president Mourad Boudjellal on a recent visit to the club, he explained that Botha had signed a pre-contract with them, and would join on 1 April. He said the document indicated Botha’s intent to sign an official contract but explained that Botha was now legally obligated to join the club.

The Bulls, however, refused to release the player, despite his request, citing the fact that he was bound to the franchise by a four year contract he signed in late 2007.

This website has learned that Boudjellal last week showed the Toulon media the contract with Botha’s signature on the dotted line. Boudjellal insisted that they would secure Botha’s services irrespective of the Bulls’ assertions to the contrary.

If Botha failed to arrive on the specified date, Boudjellal said the club would proceed with legal action against the player. As it stands Botha is with the Bulls in Perth preparing for their Super 14 match against the Force. Unless the lock has developed a supernatural ability to teleport himself across the world, he is unlikely to show up for work in the south of France.

Toulon claim they have sent a copy of the signed contract to the South African Rugby Union [Saru]. However, Saru general manager of policy and regulations, Christo Ferreira, insists he has not received anything of the sort – but explained that manager of national teams Andy Marinos may be in possession of the document. Marinos asked to be contacted later on Tuesday, but would neither confirm or deny having received the contract.

“If the two parties are looking for mediation on the matter, the IRB usually deals with that. But Saru may intervene if they are requested to [by the IRB] although that hasn’t been the case to date,” Ferreira told keo.co.za.

Botha’s agent, Bernie Habana, failed to respond to questions around where the process stood, while Bulls CEO Barend van Graan was vehemently opposed to discussing the matter. “Please don’t ask me about Bakkies. I’m not talking about that. No comment,” Van Graan barked.

As it stands both the Bulls and Toulon have a contract with Botha, and Toulon will feel they have a watertight case should they opt to take legal action. The Bulls won’t relent on their position that the player has committed to them for the next four years, so the battle could get even messier in the coming weeks.

How Botha got himself into this situation is perplexing. He has no escape clause in his Bulls contract. In fact, he requested a long-term contract from the Bulls so that he would have financial security. Yet he, or his agent acting on his behalf, felt it appropriate to sign a legally bonding document with Toulon and he now finds himself in the middle of a brutal battle.

441 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 151.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ja gbs, ek kry dieselfde nuus. dis wat my so pla op so ‘n mooi dag!

• 152.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#148 “Yes Whatdafuk”

wow subtle Cane.

maybe you should come up Auckland and we have that beer eh?

• 153.rangerman: Reply to this comment

greatest
    i think they will push him out without our lame duck presidents help. he better go now or there will be blood spilt, i see it all clearly.

• 154.JL1: Reply to this comment

Pietman

That can not be right as Sky tv crew is blocked from Zim, they are all waiting at Beitbridge

• 155.Snoek: Reply to this comment

G13G ek is in, daardie opleiding in Oudsthoorn moet vir iets tel!!

• 156.rangerman: Reply to this comment

sheesh, there are people more angry than me today lol!
    on the bright side, we got chavanga, beast and mujati from that afflicted land.

• 157.JL1: Reply to this comment

ranger

Yes and 3 million illegal immigrants

• 158.Pietman: Reply to this comment

GBS/Ranger

This is from the Canadian news, reporting to CNN.
    Just before that, I heard the same report as you about the 109 results.
    So hopefully they have updated that correctly through their Canadian colleagues, who strangely enough, are in Harare..

(Agreed ranger, the populace must just swamp them on the streets, 1 million against 35,000 soldiers, no contest.)

• 159.rangerman: Reply to this comment

jl1
    we could use some of those immigrants iof our government was a bit more proactive. hundreds of zim doctors unemployed and we bring in tunisians and cubans whilst they work as car guards. make them work in rural clinics as a prerequisite for citizenship! thousands of lives could be saved!

piet
    the zim army is rotten with hiv and aids by all accounts so they probably cant even field 35000. they will probably lay down their arms anyway if the people show they wont take it any more. their families are probably suffering too.

• 160.Snoek: Reply to this comment

I think Mugabe is a blogger @ KEO. Probably a Bulls Supporter.

Maybe………………..Robert Mugabe (Robbertse)?
    You never know!!

• 161.cane: Reply to this comment

#120 Dish it out boet, but then take it as well!! Doos

Comment by whatever

You dish up your usual shi!t every chance you get Sunshine.

And you know it. Mine is just a bit of retaliation……..that you deserve.

You are a migrant to NZ and you malign other newcomers every chance you get.

What am I suppose to think?

• 162.rangerman: Reply to this comment

lol snoek!

• 163.Pietman: Reply to this comment

JL1
    Don’t know how they got the info bru, but this was about 10 minutes ago.

This other Mad Dog in N-K has also started his nonsense again, threatening to kill the newly appointed S-K president because he is Bush ally…
    We had all sorts of ‘radar blocks’ today, even Internet was wobbly for a while, that is why I had the PC doc in. He then explained that was because of the ‘scanning’ at our military base, just up the road from my office.

• 164.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

#160 SE MOER!!!!!!!

• 165.4man: Reply to this comment

No doubt Mugabe must go and should have gone years ago. Looks like he might not have a choice now. The generals will try a coup, this being the case, they know which side their bread is buttered.
    What concerns me is if all goes to plan and Tsvengurai gets into power….the man heads up the main trade union, in this part of Africa this is tantamount to putting the communists in charge. I am afraid I do not see a solution for a long time to come yet.

• 166.rangerman: Reply to this comment

morgan aint no commie 4man. he is also not the charismatic leader that zim has needed but he is the best they have.

• 167.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Fokkit Snoek jy het my nou terug gesit jou bliksem!!!!

• 168.Snoek: Reply to this comment

Sorry Kwagga Mugabe……
    It was just a Theory, not a fact!!

• 169.4man: Reply to this comment

KWAGGA is it true!!!! I cant believe it, you are Bob in disguise…jis…slaan my dood.

• 170.Pietman: Reply to this comment

4man
    But how come a renowned sniper like you don’t accept R10m and take the dog out with a 50cl interdiction long range?
    You can do it, I know!

• 171.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Kwagga of sal ek sê Bob……… hehehe

Pieta, ek sien op TV sommige van Bob Mugabe se persoonlike lyfwagte is solid wit ouens….. seker huursoldate… van die bestes in die wêreld

Ou Bob is noggie klaar nie, hy gaan nog GROOOOOT akkies maak met sy Weermag en Poelieste….. watch.

• 172.rangerman: Reply to this comment

africa is turning. you can see it wherever you look. malawi, zambia, mozam, namibia are all on the up. bots is as stable as ever. zim will turn, i just fear we may have to go through our own cycle here is sa. no better learning curve than the hard way though is there?

• 173.4man: Reply to this comment

#166 Ranger

I hear you….I am not so sure about his politics. Do you know the man?

• 174.Pietman: Reply to this comment

171# GBS
    Mossad?

• 175.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Zuma better pay attention to whats going happen to his mate Bob

• 176.JL1: Reply to this comment

Pietman

There are 4 mad dogs

The Korean chap, the Robert Mugabe mess, Putin and then last but not least Amejhihad (spelling) from Iran. They reckon he has killed 1000 people personally

• 177.4man: Reply to this comment

#170 Pietman

C squadron 22 SAS missed him in 1978. We were told not to interfere.

• 178.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Ryan Vrede you fecking tool.

There is a world of difference between signing a Letter of Intent and signing an employemnt contract.

How do they allow you to write such drivel when you clearly have no clue?

A letter of intent is simply not a binding agreement as you can at any time claim a change of intent. A letter of intent is useless in this instance.

Reporting on sensationalist article is one thing but this is blatant nonsense.

I really hope this is an April Fools joke because the alternative is some very poor reporting.

• 179.4man: Reply to this comment

#170 Pietman

I would consider it for £10 m though :)

• 180.whatever: Reply to this comment

#143 Not you Kwagga, Cane!

#161 Cane, do you want a box of tissues dude?
    Retaliation for what? Quite frankly I’m not too concerned what you think….sniff :)

• 181.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Gonna have lunch and a smoke.

Bob signing off……… :lol:

PS: Snoek…..slaap met een oog oop!!! HEHEHEHEHEHE

• 182.Snoek: Reply to this comment

Kwagbob……..he he he!!

• 183.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

grootblousmile

Thanks for the info about the Suspensive Condition in Bakkies Toulon contract.

If it is indeed there and conditional upon Bulls release then you are correct – Nothing to worry about.

It is also not a worthy news article then

• 184.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

WTF?

• 185.rangerman: Reply to this comment

nah 4man, i dont know him personally but have mates who have met him. he aint no madiba, thats for sure. he doesnt have the charisma. but he is a dedicated man who hasnt taken the soft route. he still lives a simple life and is respected internationally. there is so much investment awaiting bobs demise and recovery plans are already in place.
    funny, a guy i worked with was from zim. they had the largest banana farm in africa and were kicked out. the trees were burnt to make way for maize and the irrigation pipes all sold for scrap. then 6 months later, the zim guv begged them to take the land back.
    Their answer: *** off! they have now been granted 20,000 hectares in zambia. gratis!

• 186.4man: Reply to this comment

#184 Greatest.

Read Pieta’s comment.

Anyway Rhodesia/Zimbabwe have let us have a lot of good rugby players over the years. The “Beast” is current, so is “Ngwenya” the ou who ran around Bryan Habana while playing for the USA, Ray Mordt, Adrian Garvie come to mind quickly, both Springboks. Lets hope the country can start playing some serious rugby again soon.

• 187.rangerman: Reply to this comment

strue greatest, sas were on standby to take bob out but the poms wouldnt allow it. the order just never came through. still a bit of a mystery why as i understand it.

• 188.cane: Reply to this comment

Pietman

There are 4 mad dogs

Comment by JL1

Wrong Jl1 there are 5 mad dogs:
    -Kim Il Song (N.Korea) (spelling).
    -Mugabe.
    -The Brothers Castro.
    -George W.
    -Bakkies Botha.

• 189.whatever: Reply to this comment

#172 Ranger that sure is positive for the rest of Southern Africa….not a good “short” term outlook for SA though!

• 190.rangerman: Reply to this comment

lol cane, you are enjoying yourself today i see.

• 191.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Zuma beware!

• 192.4man: Reply to this comment

#185 Ranger

A lot of the farmers have taken the Zambia route and also Mocambique, they get funding assistance aswell, the government just wants them to bring their expertise, its unreal…politicians are really the vilest thing on the planet when they are crooked. What are your friends doing in Zambia, bananas again?
    I hear the logistic costs on transport to the coast for export are a bit daunting?

• 193.asha1: Reply to this comment

it is a shame that someone who once fought for his people’s freedom has now become worse than the oppressor he once fought!

• 194.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Biscuit,

Not having seen the actual pre-agreement with my own eyes but getting the facts from a source very, very close to old Bakkies, Habana, Meisiekind & Bernie….. I take the existence of the Suspensive Condition as serious and indeed being there….

It was also reported in the past Weekend media that the pre-agreement indeed contain a Suspensive Condition…

So I really think Bakkies is OK….. Mourad Boudjellal is a loud-mouth rich prat who over-estimates his sphere of influence.

• 195.Snoek: Reply to this comment

SA is going the same way with their Kak land reform policies, my dad has a farm, and it has a land claim on it. Unsure times for the poor farmers!! It’s all eskoms fault!!

• 196.whatever: Reply to this comment

Cane, Bakkies has obviously has made a huge impression on you. Is it his power, strength, athletic ability or the fact that your boys all **** in their pants when he runs onto the park that impresses you? All of the above perhaps?

• 197.JL1: Reply to this comment

cane

I am not biting dude or are you ***?

• 198.4man: Reply to this comment

Dagse GBS

Ja…I hope old Bakkies is ok, I think Vic will see his year out and then come back to play for Bulls next year…he is missing home big time.

• 199.rangerman: Reply to this comment

4man
    they are doing hunting in zambia. real bush country and no communities for miles. dry place though. couple of zim families in nigeria farming, nigerian guv set them up. they are all homesick though and say they will head back to zim asap. maybe by tomorrow they can.

• 200.cane: Reply to this comment

#161 Cane, do you want a box of tissues dude?
    Comment by whatdafuk.

Whatdafuk……………tissues you cretin…..I only use cotton handkerchiefs……..they are recyclable………take your your carbon footprint home with you when you leave.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.