Botha’s contractual bungle set to explode
1 Apr 2008
Bakkies Botha’s transfer saga continues to get more twisted, with both the Bulls and Toulon laying claim to him.
Botha is one of a number of elite players targeted by the French second division club, who already own Botha’s Springbok lock partner Victor Matfield, legendary Australia scrumhalf George Gregan, All Blacks Anton Oliver and Andrew Mehrtens, while All Blacks great Tana Umaga coaches the galaxy of stars.
When keo.co.za spoke to millionaire Toulon president Mourad Boudjellal on a recent visit to the club, he explained that Botha had signed a pre-contract with them, and would join on 1 April. He said the document indicated Botha’s intent to sign an official contract but explained that Botha was now legally obligated to join the club.
The Bulls, however, refused to release the player, despite his request, citing the fact that he was bound to the franchise by a four year contract he signed in late 2007.
This website has learned that Boudjellal last week showed the Toulon media the contract with Botha’s signature on the dotted line. Boudjellal insisted that they would secure Botha’s services irrespective of the Bulls’ assertions to the contrary.
If Botha failed to arrive on the specified date, Boudjellal said the club would proceed with legal action against the player. As it stands Botha is with the Bulls in Perth preparing for their Super 14 match against the Force. Unless the lock has developed a supernatural ability to teleport himself across the world, he is unlikely to show up for work in the south of France.
Toulon claim they have sent a copy of the signed contract to the South African Rugby Union [Saru]. However, Saru general manager of policy and regulations, Christo Ferreira, insists he has not received anything of the sort – but explained that manager of national teams Andy Marinos may be in possession of the document. Marinos asked to be contacted later on Tuesday, but would neither confirm or deny having received the contract.
“If the two parties are looking for mediation on the matter, the IRB usually deals with that. But Saru may intervene if they are requested to [by the IRB] although that hasn’t been the case to date,” Ferreira told keo.co.za.
Botha’s agent, Bernie Habana, failed to respond to questions around where the process stood, while Bulls CEO Barend van Graan was vehemently opposed to discussing the matter. “Please don’t ask me about Bakkies. I’m not talking about that. No comment,” Van Graan barked.
As it stands both the Bulls and Toulon have a contract with Botha, and Toulon will feel they have a watertight case should they opt to take legal action. The Bulls won’t relent on their position that the player has committed to them for the next four years, so the battle could get even messier in the coming weeks.
How Botha got himself into this situation is perplexing. He has no escape clause in his Bulls contract. In fact, he requested a long-term contract from the Bulls so that he would have financial security. Yet he, or his agent acting on his behalf, felt it appropriate to sign a legally bonding document with Toulon and he now finds himself in the middle of a brutal battle.

441 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All
1 Apr 2008, 13:11 pm
Helloooooooo sammajoor
I think we’ll see Vic back here just after the close of the current French competition….
1 Apr 2008, 13:14 pm
GBS
there was someone on one of the threads yesterday who said that Ludeke getting the players motivated was a big problem and that some senior players have started to call the shots, in particular Wikus was mentioned. Whats your take on this?
1 Apr 2008, 13:14 pm
snoek
the game reserve i worked on has been handed back to the local community with the proviso that the current land use (safaris) cannot change. it was the biggest land deal done so far. awesome stuff as it puts the money back into the community. i spent time in those communities and the gov has done some seriously good things. they now have a road into the area, electricity and running water, for the first time ever! brings tears to your eyes when you see that the things we take for granted mean so much to these poor people. maybe your dad should cut a deal?
poor old eksdom!
1 Apr 2008, 13:15 pm
#199 a-hole
Cotton handkerchiefs? WTF …..
1 Apr 2008, 13:16 pm
Ranger
Would that be Duku duku perhaps?
ok, enough politics, more rugby.
gotta go guys, have a good one.
what about the poor elephants??
anyone saving them??
1 Apr 2008, 13:17 pm
Cane, Bakkies has obviously has made a huge impression on you. Is it his power, strength, athletic ability or the fact that your boys all **** in their pants when he runs onto the park that impresses you? All of the above perhaps?
Comment by whatever
Whatdafuk,
No it’s because he is a filthy player. (period), (full stop), (end of story).
And has now been shown to be a double dipper. Or in Layman’s terms…. a thief. A reneger, a man who’s word is worth whatdafuk.
1 Apr 2008, 13:17 pm
close 4man, phinda. cheers, chat later.
1 Apr 2008, 13:18 pm
cheers Ranger, clearly the surf is good today
1 Apr 2008, 13:18 pm
Sammajoor,
I’ve heard the same rumours that senior Bulls players are taking on the motivation, taking responsibility……. even that some senior players are contributing towards the actual coaching.
If this is the case, then it’s good because the players will have the attitude of “enough is enough”…. we will not lie down…… we will fight !
1 Apr 2008, 13:19 pm
snoek @ 195
so, your family once did NOT have a farm (if i understand you correctly???) then one day someone came and tell you that you can get one, free or for a small price?
so that is fine??
mugabe do the same thing … and he’s wrong???
(forget for one moment that in sa’s case it worked out well and in zim’s case it lead to disaster .. then suddenly you start to see similarities???)
1 Apr 2008, 13:22 pm
cane
I am not biting dude or are you ***?
Comment by JL1
I’m not Jl, but if you are, that’s cool. There’s nothing wrong with that between consenting adults. So go for it Jl….. get your aaarse out of the closet.
1 Apr 2008, 13:22 pm
Cane the amount of noxious gas that has emitted from your mouth/keyboard has screwed your carbon footprint for months. Bakkies has your boys phyched….you would not even mention him otherwise. Oh yeah, he also has a WC medal. What do your boys have?
1 Apr 2008, 13:24 pm
Rangerman
Nobody is interested to talk deal, they want it all. I’m glad things worked for you guys, but unfortunately it’s not like that everywhere!!
And with the government taking their time with land reform, it makes these wannabee Farmers very aggresive, endangering the lives of many farmers. My parents are old, and can’t defend themselfes anymore. It makes me worry!!
1 Apr 2008, 13:24 pm
# 211 GBS
True, true. I once more have picked them for a win this weekend, they must come right soon.
1 Apr 2008, 13:26 pm
And I suppose Nonu is a fukking angel, Collins never tackles high and your refs are on the level?
Once a doos always a doos….outaya
Greatest,
What Curry Cup Team are the Elephants. And why do they need saving?
asha1,
There is NO CASE STRONG ENOUGH to support or condone what Bob Mugabe has done to Zim, to it’s people, to the farmers, to that beautiful country’s economy !
He is stinking rich from the fruits of Zim, stolen from his own population.
He is an abberation, a dictator, a fool…… end of story.
1 Apr 2008, 13:27 pm
Hi all……..
Have also picked Bulls for this weekend!!!!!
1 Apr 2008, 13:27 pm
Asha at #212
I’m not even going to try and explain to you. It’s obvious you will not understand.
1 Apr 2008, 13:29 pm
Asha1 do I understand correctly that you actually support satans spawn Bob?
I can really not believe it!!!!
What he has done to his country and his people in under 30 years is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay worse than what the so called “colonials” did……
Suppose it hasn’t affected you directly therefor you condone his actions?
1 Apr 2008, 13:30 pm
APRIL FOOL????
1 Apr 2008, 13:31 pm
asha, go light your necklace……..
1 Apr 2008, 13:31 pm
#218 Cane
Used to be known as Eastern Province, I think they play as the “mighty elephants” now. There is a very large base of rugby playing in the district and I think the area has more players registered than anywhere else with the exception of Western Province (Stormers), but the area is huge and there appears to be little co-ordination at club level….the blight of the system, as the clubs are integral to a good workable rugby system that works from junior to senior and from amateur to professional. A lot of good players come from there, but they are playing their trade at other franchises. Much like Natal used to be in the 70′s and early 80′s.
1 Apr 2008, 13:32 pm
4man,
I will be predicting a Bulls win this weekend as well………. they better perform…. there’s a Jacaranda tree with a big thick rope waiting for Ludeke in Pretoria if they don’t !
SILENCE!!! I KILL YOU!!!!!
Oh yeah, he also has a WC medal. What do your boys have?
Comment by whatever : April 1, 2008 @ 1:22 pm
True……..So go home and build a monument to him. You will be happy there. Go now……..follow your dream.
1 Apr 2008, 13:33 pm
227 Bwaaaaaaaaaahahahahaha gestreepte perd!!!!!
1 Apr 2008, 13:34 pm
Kwagga jou bliksem, hoe was daai smokebrake?
Hehehehe KwaggaBOB
#227 Bob !!!!! jou bliksem, get on your striped horse and leave town
:):):)
Cane your prejudice is blinding you hehehehe
1 Apr 2008, 13:36 pm
No Cane..
talking about massive cull of Elephants SA govt has planned..due to damage caused to national parks.
1 Apr 2008, 13:37 pm
Hi manne!
Bob is the same as Hitler no argument!
A bloody disgrace to any African leader!(pun intended)
1 Apr 2008, 13:38 pm
PLAAS ek nice was met die fokking mense…….hehehehehe
1 Apr 2008, 13:40 pm
Old Bakkies…………Rotten to the ****** core.
I’ll bet he even charges his Mum to mow her lawns.
Comment by cane : April 1, 2008 @ 11:53 am
This you know, or just assuming?
Rather Bakkies than the good wife beater Sivivatu, or is this acceptable in NZ?
1 Apr 2008, 13:41 pm
4man…..225.
Thank You for that. I just thought it odd that a Rugby team would call themselves Elephants.
This Area…. Eastern Province. Is this not also the “Spears” Region?
4man, I also thank you for your civility. It is more than I deserve.
Cane.
1 Apr 2008, 13:43 pm
Hehehehehe. Lekker om rond te toffie.
Snoek
Thanks man. Camel het weer sy deel vir longe gedoen
Halllooooooo 3E!!!
Gooi self weer steun agter die bulletjies in die naweek!!
1 Apr 2008, 13:44 pm
Cane your prejudice is blinding you hehehehe
Comment by Tripple E :
No EEE,
I am blind because that filthy mongrel Bakkies eye gouged me.(figuratively).
1 Apr 2008, 13:45 pm
guys, relax!!
the only thing i tried to say was that you IGNORE the fact that bob’s reform was a disaster and sa’s produced results, you will find that BOTH countries took away land from one to give it to another!!
i never said he was right OR that i supported what he did!!
1 Apr 2008, 13:47 pm
Cane you *******, are you sure you didn’t grow up in parys, vrystaat? It sounds like you were beaten alot as a kid!! Probably by your sister!!
1 Apr 2008, 13:48 pm
See here on SABC news an interview with a MDC MP who was declared the winner on Sunday morning after the results was declared. The results was send to IEC that same morning, it is still not announced? F@king suspicious!
1 Apr 2008, 13:49 pm
Rather Bakkies than the good wife beater Sivivatu, or is this acceptable in NZ?
Comment by Greenfever .
In South Africa the conviction rate for rape remains low at an average of 7%. A third of the estimated number or rapes were reported in 2003 (Police Annual Report for the year ending March 2003).
Don’t get to pious Greeny. At least we convict our fellows. Next please……
howdy all, i am back!!!
mdc are pulling ahead, yeeeeeha!!
ja asha, i see where you are coming from but many farmers in sa have title deeds from before 1913 so they are safe for now.
the game reserve i worked on was taken from the locals and given to returning soldiers after the second world war. so it has now come full circle.
Robert Mugabe receives a coded message from a Farmer. It reads:
S30d – 0773H
Mugabe was stunned.
He called his trusted intelligence chief but he could not crack the code.
He called the CIA and FBI, but neither could crack the code.
Finally, Bob called Koos Van der Merwe, Superintendent at the SAPS Intelligensie Eenheid (Intelligence Unit).
Koos’s reply was quick and to the point……
“You’re holding the paper upside down man”
1 Apr 2008, 13:51 pm
236 LOL
Hallo Kwaggatjie
1 Apr 2008, 13:52 pm
hahahaha!!!!!!! hello p#es! hahahaa!
1 Apr 2008, 13:53 pm
246 BWaaaaaahahahahaha
1 Apr 2008, 13:53 pm
#246 YEEEEEHAAAAAAA……Brilliant!!!!!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All