UCT fight for final venue
2 Apr 2008
Ikeys are not prepared to play the inaugural Varsity Cup final against Maties in Stellenbosch.
The University of Cape Town, who were ranked seventh before the tournament began, finished top of the log ahead of arch-rivals Stellenbosch University. But because the floodlights at UCT aren’t good enough for a televised night match, the organisers decided before the semi-finals to hold the final at the Danie Craven Stadium. UCT then beat Pukke 32-31 in the first semi-final, before Maties edged Tukkies 47-44.
Ikeys on Monday decided they would rather play the final under lights at Newlands, which is just down the road from their university. WP MD Rob Wagner said he was happy to throw the gates open, only for the Varsity Cup organisers to insist that the game be played on a campus.
While the decider is now officially taking place in Stellenbosch next Monday at 6.45pm, Ikeys are keen to play at UCT at 2:30pm, with the game televised (delayed) at 6.45pm on SuperSport.
“I feel very sorry for Ikeys who topped the log and deserve to play the final at home,” former WP flyhalf Gareth Wright, who has played for UCT in recent years, told keo.co.za. “Would the Stormers play a home Super 14 final at Loftus? Of course not. I don’t see why they can play a Varsity Cup semi-final at 2:30pm but not a final. Maties should come to UCT and try to win the final fair and square.”

115 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All
2 Apr 2008, 13:35 pm
Dragons – My first
2 Apr 2008, 13:36 pm
My first FIRST!
2 Apr 2008, 13:36 pm
Bliksem Play Ball!
2 Apr 2008, 13:38 pm
play it at newlands. UCT is too small a venue to host the expected crowd and I dont want to have to drive all the way to stellies on Monday.
2 Apr 2008, 13:39 pm
Newlands might be a better option then…
Back in the days the intervarsity clash also took place @ Newlands…
2 Apr 2008, 13:40 pm
Playing it at Stellies is exactly like the Stormers playing this year’s semi against the Crusaders at Loftus.
Play it earlier or at a venue of UCT’s choosing. They topped the log, its only fair.
But….I am very confident UCT can beat Maties in Stellies.
2 Apr 2008, 13:44 pm
That’s rediculous play the game at Newlands or else a day game!
I see administrators at this level are just as dumb as the a-holes at National level.
2 Apr 2008, 13:45 pm
They’re scared of the Stellies cops, I think.
2 Apr 2008, 13:46 pm
Ha ha. The Ikeys should be scared!
2 Apr 2008, 13:47 pm
Play it at UWC
2 Apr 2008, 13:48 pm
Newlands
2 Apr 2008, 13:50 pm
Athlone stadium!
2 Apr 2008, 13:50 pm
athlone staduim PLEASE
2 Apr 2008, 13:51 pm
Vygieskraal!
2 Apr 2008, 13:51 pm
Athlone certainly is a cool looking stadium.
2 Apr 2008, 13:53 pm
You could always take it to the Piley Rees, Bishops!! Many Stellenbosch schools ( they know who they are) have left in pieces….
2 Apr 2008, 13:53 pm
De Beers football club
2 Apr 2008, 13:54 pm
City Park.
2 Apr 2008, 13:54 pm
#6 what “exactly” does Loftus have to do with Stormers and Crusaders? Your analogy should rather be that it is similar to having last year’s S14 final at Loftus because Kings Park was unsuitable for some reason.
2 Apr 2008, 13:55 pm
William Herbert!
2 Apr 2008, 13:55 pm
Vygieskraal!
How about Lentegeur or Grassy Park!
2 Apr 2008, 13:56 pm
They can come play it in my backyard as well…
2 Apr 2008, 13:56 pm
Somerset west croquet club
2 Apr 2008, 13:58 pm
why not play it later? bigger crowds? or are they expecting enough students to turn out?
should be a cracker
2 Apr 2008, 13:59 pm
Why not play it at one of those I mentioned.
Now that would be a lekker jol.
2 Apr 2008, 13:59 pm
This thread has just degenerated like you don’t understand! We are all starting to spew **** now!
2 Apr 2008, 14:00 pm
Matador
Your “Ageing Persons Social Club” has already hired the croquet club for that day.
Or have you forgotten?
2 Apr 2008, 14:00 pm
A day game at Ikey’s stadium is the fairest decision.
2 Apr 2008, 14:01 pm
TightBalls.
Take off the vice.
It’s making you tetchy.
2 Apr 2008, 14:02 pm
Or get yourself a pair of boxers.
Better than that thong you wearing now.
2 Apr 2008, 14:04 pm
#28, 29
:lol::lol: Didn’t see those ones coming… How about LooseDuo then…
2 Apr 2008, 14:07 pm
Mathew Turner is a god! When was the last time you saw a wing so small but as devastating as him. Just take the game to Newlands. Give the game a “professional”, cup deciding match.
Robben Island ???
Looseduo and a fetcher?
2 Apr 2008, 14:08 pm
# 31 match- “feel”
2 Apr 2008, 14:08 pm
Who gives a ****, Ikeys isn’t even a real university…
2 Apr 2008, 14:10 pm
What is the code for the ‘tongue in cheek’ smiley?
2 Apr 2008, 14:14 pm
#36 Jou Moer? just playing…
2 Apr 2008, 14:15 pm
What kak is this?
You play the log leaders at their home venue finish and klaar.
I understand the organizers and sponsors want it to be a spectacle, but Maties simply never earned the right to play at home and this is coming from a Matie supporter.
2 Apr 2008, 14:16 pm
Isi jy kwaad vandag?
2 Apr 2008, 14:19 pm
Julle Hollandse mense is maar snaaks.
2 Apr 2008, 14:19 pm
31 – Have you seen Shane Williams recently?
2 Apr 2008, 14:20 pm
Hallo Kwakka
Nee wat, vredeliewend en liefdevol.
Sê jy my net wat die organiseerders gedink hulle sou maak as Tukkies teen Ikeys gespeel het in die final?
Op Coetzenburg gehou het…..Ikeys op Loftus toe gevlieg het?
2 Apr 2008, 14:22 pm
i dont get why, if newlands are keen, UCT want to play the game at 2:30? makes no bloody sense to me, it is not the time that is the issue, it is the whole “on campus” thing.
a bit unfair i agree, i am happy though, Danie Craven is a whole 5 min bike ride from my place.
2 Apr 2008, 14:24 pm
Ek dink hulle moet in elk geval die finaal in a proper stadion hou – bv Loftus as TUKS bo aan die log is, Nuweland vir Maties of Ikeys ens. Dis cool vir die spelers en die stadions kan meer mense huisves.
2 Apr 2008, 14:31 pm
Kerneels
Dis verstommend dat niemand gekyk het aan die begin van die kompetisie na die deelnemers en voor die tyd op venues besluit het indien hulle in ‘n finaal sou speel.
Ikeys se home ground was nog altyd Newlands, miskien moes die organiseerders hierdie veld aangewys het van die begin af.
I mean, was die PC hier ook betrokke?
2 Apr 2008, 14:31 pm
The game becomes a traditional inter varsity.
The traditional inter varsity become a public affair in neutral territory and goes to the Capes top stadium – Newlands so that the public and Western Cape can all share in this.
Bigger stadium with a cap on ticket prices and fill it to the rafters with rugby fans.
2 Apr 2008, 14:32 pm
How can they allow White Trash Wright to have any opion?
2 Apr 2008, 14:33 pm
Hehehe Isi – daardie f*^ken PC het ook ‘n vinger in alle rugby pies in hierdie land. More lees ons dat Tony McKeever se Francois Pienaar het van die studente se geld gesteel…
2 Apr 2008, 14:33 pm
42 – No, UCT want to play at Newlands. But the organisers are insisting that it takes place on a campus. Which is stupid. I remember watching a Tukkies game at Loftus and the atmosphere was amazing.
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All