Peter puts pen to paper

Springbok coach Peter de Villiers signed a contract with SA Rugby on Friday.

The contract saga has dragged on since 9 January when De Villiers was appointed. Two weeks ago an annual salary of R1.6 million was finalised, but there was still some deliberation on whether he would be allowed the final say on team selection.

Last Friday saw De Villiers win this right despite an initial hiccup. The KwaZulu-Natal Rugby Union allegedly voted against the motion, but later changed their vote to give De Villiers the freedom to pick his side.

De Villiers’s agent Jonty Goslett told keo.co.za the contract has now officially been finalised.

26 Comments

• 1.PlayBall: Reply to this comment

Dragons

• 2.PlayBall: Reply to this comment

Now he just needs to produce the corresponding results!!

• 3.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

speaking of peters, saw peter grant at coetzenberg today, i reckon i can take him :-)

• 4.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

About farking time too!

• 5.Skim: Reply to this comment

Hope SARU gives him better support than Jake.

• 6.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Yawn…..worse than Days of our lives…..

Um Knersboy , I dont think he is that way inclined !!!

• 7.Train: Reply to this comment

Is that the same Jonty Goslett who moderates Keo.co.za?

And did so when the contract saga was at its height?

Did he not delete a number of comments from the blogs because they were supposedly a slur on Rian (or is it his) name?

Pretty convenient when you make the news and you control the news.

• 8.crikey_mate_did you see that shark: Reply to this comment

yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwnnnnnnn

tomorrow we lead with a story that the stormers shower together….

yawn ywan yaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwnnnnnn

• 9.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Please do not select any of the following Pieter

Solly the childish professional
    Eddie the marshmellow
    Beast the latest craze
    Shimmie the forgotten one

thank you

• 10.GreatestBokCoachPDV: Reply to this comment

Beast will be selected greatestdoosinnz

• 11.Fern: Reply to this comment

greatestdoosinnz only names black players.
    he only supports the bulls and spits on the stormers the way his dad has taught him
    also cherishes his old sa flag.
    **** you china
    you and your dad are childish and pathetic.

• 12.wpw: Reply to this comment

Found this letter in tonights Cape Argus:

Stofile’s statement on Hoskins does SA no good
    April 04, 2008 Edition 1

I write this letter with great tribulation because of the great contribution that was made by the Stofile family in the struggle for liberation that I now enjoy.

Mike Stofile, the Freedom Charter aptly states that all national groups will have equal rights and that the people will share in the country’s wealth. Your attack on Oregan Hoskins, the president of the South African Rugby Union, that he is not black or implied that he is not African does South Africa no good.

All the people in South Africa are entitled to carry the name African as they are born and raised on its soil. It does not matter whether they are landed people or migrants from the rest of Africa.

Hoskins is descended from Africans who have lived in this country for the past 37 000 years. He is descended from the great heroes and heroines of the people of this country.

He is not less African than great men such as Steve Biko, Bram Fischer or John Joseph “JB” Marks. His ancestors count among the great heroes and heroines of the Khoisan communities of the African continent, those who live in modern day Angola, Botswana, South Africa, Mozambique, Namibia, Malawi or Tanzania.

The same Khoisan communities that delivered great men such as Kaptein Dikkop, Kaptein Boesak, Kaptein Trompetter and the more ancient of Khoisan chiefs such as Kamcemoea, Gogosoa, Qamata and a host of others. They were all Africans and are deeply entrenched into our collective memory.

Playing the race card or playing with tribalism is taking us back and not forward. The people of this country have sacrificed too much for us to shift the chess pieces of colonialism and colonial masters. The game has changed.

We have a South African Constitution, a democratically elected Parliament with a host of Chapter 9 Institutions. It saddens me to see that the intelligentsia of the country remains ignobly silent when it comes to dealing with historically created myths that the coloured community of today has something to do with black and white marriages that led to the coming into being of the coloured community.

This is the same myth as the one created by European colonisers who declared the country vacant on their arrival or that all the millions of Khoisan peoples had died by their diseases. The Khoisan communities had trade relations with people of the Middle, Near and Far East for years and were well immune to their diseases.

Now for Stofile to state that Hoskins is not black or to imply that he is not African is to fall in the well-laid traps of the colonial and apartheid masters who ruled using the divide and rule strategy. Frantz Fanon has written excellent books and articles to educate those who suffer from the post-colonial diseases.

South Africa presents it people with all kinds of opportunities to prosper at individual and collective levels. It’s up to us to identify those opportunities and to utilise them to build successful families and communities.

South Africa is a land of opportunities and it is exciting and interesting to live in and on this land. This country is part of the African continent, a part that cannot be washed away by the tide. We live on this continent in our millions and we are of many shades of brown.

Joe Marks

Retreat

• 13.wpw: Reply to this comment

‘beast the latest craze’

As apposed to white players like Meisiekind, Albert VD Berg, Jacques Cronje, Michael Claasens, Henno Mentz, Bosman (cheetahs centre)

• 14.Bongani: Reply to this comment

Nice work Joe Marks

• 15.Dwarslat: Reply to this comment

When Pieter d V was selected as coach, he was black enough for Stofile to celebrate. Now Hoskins is not black enough. Go figure.

• 16.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#12 cheers for that. Valid points. Stofile is a pig..simply on the gravytrain for the ride while the real problems of his people never change.

#11 Fern, to each their own bru..thats why they call it freedom of expression.

go take your chill pill.

• 17.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

3 RSA teams have reoccupied the bottom three places.

• 18.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

More Walla

I had my lunch money on your Force ;)

• 19.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Going without for a meal…you will fit in with most people in poor countries.

• 20.Fern: Reply to this comment

just using my freedom of speech,no use for a chill pill.
    childish pathetic okes like you and your dad dont get me worked up,i feel sorry for you lot.
    O ja go **** yourself I am not your bru jafa

• 21.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Morning all.
    What’s up on this beautiful Saturday?

RP
    Summer setting in quickly here now, cherry blossoms all over.
    Still cold over there?

• 22.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

Gday Pietman! Howz life in the east..

Fern has spoken his mind…good.

Today is make or break for me on sbru.

Hi RP – how r u?

My mate Bill did make it over to HK 7′s…had a blast it seems.

• 23.Pietman: Reply to this comment

JE
    Well thanks.
    Hoessit daar?

RP
    That Wilson #10 of the Highlanders, is that Jeff Wilson’s brother?
    He seems a look alike.

• 24.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

I also thought young James Wilson looks like Jeff Wilson, looks a lot like him even has similar natural rugby thinking through his brain.

• 25.Pietman: Reply to this comment

skoppie
    Yes, same kind of lazy running style, with the hip swing, deceptive.
    Hoegaat dit verder daar met jou onder die berg?

• 26.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Goed so ver dankie Piet en daai kant met jou?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.