Third time lucky for Boks
6 Apr 2008
The Springbok Sevens team beat New Zealand 15-7 in the Cup Final of the Adelaide tournament.
This was the third successive time the two teams have met in the final, and the victory meant the Springboks broke the All Blacks’ 47-match winning streak. The Springboks’ extra-time semi-final win over Samoa was expected to have a negative effect on the players in the final, but they came out storming to score two tries in the opening five minutes.
Robert Ebersohn, the 19-year-old recruit playing in his first year of international Sevens, scored his sixth try of the competition when he ran 50 metres to out-sprint the cover defence to give the Boks a 5-0 lead. Man of the Tournament Fabian Juries scored another great counter-attacking try to extend the lead going into the shed.
The South Africans exhibited a committed and aggressive defence throughout the match which rattled the All Blacks, forcing them into uncharacteristic errors. However a Victor Vito score early in the second stanza would have had South African coach Paul Treu worried as the Kiwis narrowed the lead to three.
But Juries got his second try to seal the Springboks’ first Cup title since December 2006 in Dubai.
For all the results click here.
By Grant Ball

246 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All
6 Apr 2008, 14:12 pm
ET
When last have you been to Newlands?
6 Apr 2008, 14:17 pm
Jinxie
I also picked up Michel MacDonald’s “soul speak” … is how I imagine how hot chocolate sounds 8)
6 Apr 2008, 14:23 pm
RP
Very niice. ( I love the way you say niice…it’s so much more than nice.)Like an extra dollop of all that’s “lekker” as we say in SA.
Michael MacDonald is a legend. His voice is so unusual.
You like chocolate voices hmm? Dark choc is best.
6 Apr 2008, 14:25 pm
Pietman, Jinxie,
Ek dink die Ebersohn tweeling (Sias & Robert) is die seuns van Tiaan Ebersohn wat saam met my ouboet by Grey College in 1976 klaargemaak het.
6 Apr 2008, 14:25 pm
“is how I imagine how hot chocolate sounds “.
RP,
Carefull Honey……….Chocolate makes no sound, get yourself back to ground Zero. Get a grip of yourself………..come on you can do it.
Chocolate don’t speak…….well not English anyway.
6 Apr 2008, 14:26 pm
RP I can give you some free kama sutra lessons if you like.
Dankie GBS
Tiaan gespeel iewers?
kiwia choked again?
full credit to the Sevens Boks
6 Apr 2008, 14:27 pm
Jinxie
Yes, he is sweet, smooth … all enveloping – what’s not to like ? His is music to listen to by firelight when it is cold & wet outside
6 Apr 2008, 14:27 pm
Pieta,
Hierdie ET mannetjie is ‘n suurgat wat nie oor die verlede kan kom nie……. los die freegin snotkop laat hy in sy eie bittergeit versuip….. die lewe sal hom geen gunste doen met daai attitude nie.
6 Apr 2008, 14:28 pm
I don’t think Robert Ebersohn is S14 material yet. He has skills, but give him another season to develop physically (biulk up). Francois Steyn could play S14 rugby at u19 level because he ate lots of pies (uhm 100+ kg’s). Eberson twins are still around 80 kg’s. Not S14 material.
6 Apr 2008, 14:29 pm
Pieta,
Tiaan Ebersohn was ‘n uitstekende skoolspeler daai tyd, weetie of hy verder gespeel het of nie.
6 Apr 2008, 14:30 pm
GBS
Seker so broer.
Maar sy soort maak my moeg.
Weet fokkol van die game, wil net politiek praat, en dit kan hulle nie eens behoorlik doen nie.
Sy moer man, hy is te lig in die broek…
6 Apr 2008, 14:30 pm
GBS
Maybe Frikkie is an uncle to the twins.
6 Apr 2008, 14:31 pm
#111 these 7s players are all too small
6 Apr 2008, 14:32 pm
Maybe Jinx…. dunno
6 Apr 2008, 14:33 pm
Cane
Sure it does – You lack imagination is all, relax & let go
Fernly
Kind as your generous offer is I am all set – tks
G13
Either Kiwi boys choked or your boys played great – choose. Don’t disrespect both of them ;x
Jinxie
Another molten chocolate voice for you – Tito Schipa.
6 Apr 2008, 14:33 pm
ET is soos ‘n kitaar met net een snaar….. die musiek kom net uit op een noot……. freegin vals en kaak!
6 Apr 2008, 14:38 pm
Jinne Pieta…..
Jy moet sien hoe lyk my “Load Shedding” skedule wat in ons plaaslike koerantjie uitgekom het….. vir die hele April het ek 6 uit elke 7 dae “load shedding” van 3 ure per dag….. elke dag 3 ure later as die vorige dag…….. dis ‘n royal fokkoppppppp…… soos ET
6 Apr 2008, 14:39 pm
Rugby Princess # 109
You said it.
In fact he is a travelling firelight open to anyone to tap into when they feel cold and needing a bit of soul warmth and understated encouragement.
His voice is like a never ending bowl of the best soul-soup from the Cauldron of the Dagda. Hehehehe.
6 Apr 2008, 14:40 pm
Greatest ********,
Every great Team looses sooner or later. And the NZ 7′s Team that lost to SA was a goodin.
Credit where it is due……..or is that beyond you.
Chokers…….just can’t help yourself can you.
6 Apr 2008, 14:40 pm
I was born by the river in a little tent
Oh and just like the river I been a runnin’ ever since
It’s been a long, a long time coming but I know
A change gonna come oh yes it will
It’s been too hard living but I’m afraid to die
Cause I don’t know what’s up there beyond the sky
It’s been a long, a long time coming but I know
A change is gonna come oh yes it will
6 Apr 2008, 14:42 pm
Friends don’t let friends listen to techno music.
6 Apr 2008, 14:43 pm
Evening Skoppie
6 Apr 2008, 14:43 pm
Saracens speel mooi teen die Ospreys…
6 Apr 2008, 14:47 pm
Jinxie
Have a listen to TS performing “Una furtiva lagrima” from L’elisir – the original molten chocolate
Fernly
a rare ocassion – we agree
6 Apr 2008, 14:48 pm
Fernly,
Have you married your finger yet?
A match made in heaven, I would think.
(frown)
6 Apr 2008, 14:50 pm
Oohh Cane …
RP
Tito Schipa. You love opera… obviously. He is considered one of the finest tenore di grazia in operatic history. Good on you Princess. Only the greats sing in your Princess Palace.
Gonna put the kettle on…I’ll be back. ( he says with his best Terminator Austrian accent)
Jirretjie, daar is darem ‘n paar bosbere wat rugby speel in die Heinekin Cup……… bebaarde en bebos-harrige skermonkels….. dis seker die weer daar….. hehehe
Thanks RP
I hate brainless music.
Sheesh you should see the local Afrikaans music scene.
Tacky,bad,vomit inducing.
6 Apr 2008, 14:55 pm
Fern,
Not all Afrikaans music is bad…. or tacky… embrace your own language bro….. enjoy your roots……. die lewe is ook ‘n Afrikaanse Lied…
6 Apr 2008, 14:57 pm
gbs majority of it is.
6 Apr 2008, 14:58 pm
Evening princess .. gracias a la vida, mon cherie
6 Apr 2008, 15:00 pm
gbs is right .. plenty good Afr. music specially amongst the young rocking set.
6 Apr 2008, 15:03 pm
Fern, you talk ****…. pray tell why then it is that ALL the Afrikaans Festivals…. the whole Afrikaans Culture revival is at it’s highest ebb in it’s history….
It might be that the majority of Afrikaans music does not fall within your Music apperciation…. an indication of narrow-mindedness perhaps?
I enjoy a wide variety of music from almost the whole spectrum of International and Local content…. even Classical music…
The only music I don’t dig / understand or listen to is Rap and Hip Hop…. yet I don’t begrudge other people their enjoyment thereof.
6 Apr 2008, 15:05 pm
Jinxie
Yes, Tito is an all time favourite. Loved Pavarotti too, bless him.
Fern
I guess it depends on what speaks to your soul, we are all different – that is what makes the world such an interesting place.
Skoppie
How are you today ?
6 Apr 2008, 15:05 pm
gbs nothing personal I just dont enjoy it.If people want to go Afrikaans Music Festivals then let them go.
6 Apr 2008, 15:09 pm
Fern,
Sure, you might not enjoy it…. that does not mean it’s bad or tacky though…. it’s only an indication of your inability to appreciate it…. nothing more, nothing less.
6 Apr 2008, 15:11 pm
Music is music, has a language of its own, far better than the bunkum we mostly let through our lips, if more people would listen and appreciate the sounds of harmony and pure communication, less would be the strife in our world, music is the language of our soul, has no affiliation to caste, creed or color, in fact the sooner we all shut up and start listening, the better it will be for all.
6 Apr 2008, 15:12 pm
Sarries win against Ospreys….. good game…
I’m off to the shops……. now that is bad & tacky, to say the least….. I don’t enjoy shopping…
#139.
Point taken and accepted gbs
Congratulations RSA. I watched it all day and they deserved it. Now you can crow for seven more days. Lol.
The commentators were Buddha (Queensland and Wallabies prop) and the Kiwi who used to do all the rugby on NZ TV, until the Kiwi public got sick of him.
6 Apr 2008, 15:16 pm
Soul is a feeling, feeling deep within,
Soul is not the colour of your skin,
Soul is the essence, the essence from within,
Soul is where everything begins.
VAN THE MAN
6 Apr 2008, 15:25 pm
So if Van knows and recognizes it, how come the rest of humanity can’t, or just maybe won’t?
6 Apr 2008, 15:29 pm
RP # 137
(Your comment to Fern) Tis true. We all have the same essence…but we all have different realisations.
We are all the aspects of who we are. When we don’t react but rather witness, we are peaceful because we choose the right groove and don’t leak chi and nurture senseless illusions.
Auntie Aretha Franklin was right…you got to have “Respect”.
I’m off for a walk in the forest. Cool 18 degrees. A niice autumn day.
The school of hard knocks does eventually win the day. Even if it take a billion life times.
Take care guys…
6 Apr 2008, 15:31 pm
go well jinx
6 Apr 2008, 19:34 pm
Its becomming easier for PdV to select a team where skin colour will not be in question. These are the players available (am I missing some)
Tighthead props: Brian Mujati
Loosehead props: Guthro Steenkamp/Beast Mtawarira/Eddie Andrews
Hookers: Chilliboy Rallepele/Jody Jeneker/Hanyani Shimangi
Locks: Rito Hlongwane
Looseforwards: Hilton Lobberts/Kabamba Floors
Scrumhalves: Ricky Januarie/ Paul Delport/Bolla Conradie/Tewis de Bruyn
Flyhalves: Earl Rose/Ishmaeel Dollie
Wingers: Bryan Habana/JP Pietersen/Tonderia Chavanga/Jongi Nokwe/Ryno Benjamin/Dusty Noble/Geo Aplon/Odwa/Akona Ndungane
Centers: Wayne Julies/Waylon Murray/Adrian Jacobs/Morgan Newman
Fullbacks: Tiger Mangweni/Conrad Janjes/Zane Kirshner
6 Apr 2008, 19:37 pm
Only 46 more consecutive wins to go in order to be ranked up there with the Kiwis…
6 Apr 2008, 19:38 pm
it was a good display, the academy is going to start reaping rewards.
They outclassed the AB for the first time this season.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All