Maties claim Varsity Cup

A try in the final minute gave Stellenbosch a 16-10 win over UCT in the final of the inaugural Varsity Cup.

The match was as tight as the scoreboard suggests, with both teams making many errors and repeatedly turning over ball. The game was still an intense and entertaining affair played in front of an above capacity Danie Craven Stadium – there were even spectators watching from the forest above the the ground adding to the 17 000 inside.

The first half saw a player from each side being yellow carded. Firstly UCT prop Herbert Mayosi spent 10 minutes in the sin bin for foul play, and this cost his team three points as Maties wing Henoe Stoffberg kicked the opening penalty of the final. Stellenbosch centre Sarel Potgieter was also sin-binned, this time for offside, and UCT responded with a try from wing Marcello Sampson. Stoffberg kicked another penalty to give Maties a 6-5 lead going into the break.

The opening half an hour of the second stanza remained scoreless, but a Mathew Turner try 10 minutes from time gave what seemed the killer blow to Ikeys as they regained the lead 10-6. The drama was far from over: Maties thought they had scored the try to reclaim the advantage on the scoreboard, but UCT captain JJ Gagiano used his team’s white card for the half. This new innovation allows teams to challenge the referee’s decision, and the TMO decided the try should be disallowed. Maties kept pressurising, and flyhalf Ricardo Croy was rewarded with a drop-kick to narrow the gap to one point.

Maties fullback Joe Pietersen knocked the ball over the try-line, and it seemed the night was not to be the home side’s. However with the next phase of play the ball was spread wide to wing Morne Jooste who scored in the corner, while Stoffberg converted to rub salt into Ikey wounds.

*The Ikey Colts beat Dagbreek Koshuis 17-15 in the curtain-raiser.

Maties - Try: Morne Jooste. Conversion: Henoe Stoffberg. Penalties: Stoffberg (2). Drop-goal: Ricardo Croy.
Ikeys - Tries: Marcello Sampson, Mathew Turner.

By Grant Ball

246 Comments

• 1.JL1: Reply to this comment

Dragons

• 2.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Maties 6 / Ikeys 5…. after 36 min…

First White Card….. by Ikeys……. alleged punch by a Maties

• 3.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

No 6 of Maties punched………. only a penalty, no yellow card….

• 4.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Close game…… halftime, scores unchanged

• 5.jon beer: Reply to this comment

either team taking control is it even?

• 6.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

It is quite even…

• 7.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Halftime stats as given on TV also shows it is quite even on most counts

• 8.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Looking at players performing well…. I suppose Joe Petersen, Maties winger (who has also Played WP & Stormers on occasion and failed miserably at that level) has had a good game so far.

Some exciting youngsters coming through…. the Ikeys No 10…. the Maties scrummie…. some good tackling by the 1 Ikeys winger…

• 9.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Sorry Joe Peterson is playing Fullback, not wing

• 10.jon beer: Reply to this comment

have heard and read from various people that the UCT 10 is pretty good.

• 11.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Lots of Afrikaans surnames in the Ikeys “soutie” squad

• 12.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

UCT no 10 has a mule boot on him…….. definate talent there

• 13.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Ikeys no 10 = Rosslee

• 14.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Ikeys backline looks full of running good shape and direction, one can see Flekkies influence immediately.

• 15.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Lotsssssssss of ball getting lost in the tackles… both sides

• 16.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Hopwood, Ikeys No 15 copped a head in the face….accident…… he is off

• 17.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Deesdae is dit nie meer noodsaaklik dat die soutie naam by die soutie ou behoort, of anderste om, ne soos Juan ‘Smith’ teen John ‘Smit’

• 18.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Attempted drop by Joe Petersen from Maties…. missed left

• 19.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

17 min into 2nd half….. still Maties 6 / Ikeys 5

• 20.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Peter Costa at Hooker for Ikeys is playing damn well

• 21.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Mathew Turner, wing of Ikeys score a good try in the corner….

Ikeys 10 / Maties 6, kick to come

• 22.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Pretty rough no compromise game Good try Ikeys, the souties playing the more enterprising rugby

• 23.jon beer: Reply to this comment

Koster… his younger brother was SA schools captain last year i think.

• 24.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Kick misses

Ikeys backline quite enterprising…

• 25.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Try Wilhelm Koch, Maties scrummie

Maties 11 / Ikeys 10, kick to come

• 26.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Peter Koster must be Nick Koster’s brother. navies break away try from loose ball. 11-10

• 27.jon beer: Reply to this comment

how much time left?

• 28.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Ohhhh White Card by Ikeys…. disputing the try…. this will be interesting….

• 29.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Navies = Maties

Ikeys captain calling Tmo into play to determine offside or not, try disallowed.

• 30.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Bum call for the White Card…. I think this try will be allowed…..

I would still award the try….

TMO Veldsman ruling that Maties players were’nt back 10m after kick………. no try…… this is harsh….

• 31.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

So…….. score is still Ikeys 10 / Maties 6

• 32.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

12 min left

• 33.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Droppie Richardo Croy for Maties

Ikeys 10 / Maties 9

9 min left

• 34.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

drop goal Maties is it enough?

• 35.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

come on Ikeys!

• 36.jon beer: Reply to this comment

sounds like a “home team” call… but not

• 37.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

time left please guys

• 38.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

6 min

• 39.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

ikeys need 2 score again and convert!

• 40.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Ikeys penalty within kicking range….. this will eat up time and might put them 4 up again…

Way short…

Maties counter attack

• 41.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

who is ikeys goalkicker?

• 42.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Jeeeeeeeezzzz Joe Petersen carries it over his tryline……. unforgivable from such an experienced player…….

Maties call a White Card

• 43.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Ruling against Maties…. scrum 5m for Ikeys

• 44.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

High Tackle from 11 Ikeys…….. is it kickable?

Maties go for line-out on 22m line

Petersen scores a vital try??? in corner…. referred to TMO

• 45.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

No try….

• 46.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

no try jammer ou matie

• 47.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Time is up…. Ikeys scrum…..

• 48.jon beer: Reply to this comment

is it over?

• 49.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

last second winning try right wing Maties

• 50.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Tryyyyyyyyyyyy Maties…….. Morne Jooste….

Maties winsssssssss

Maties 14 / Ikeys 10, kick to come

• 51.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Maties 16 / Ikeys 10…. final score

• 52.No_Comment: Reply to this comment

Nooooo!!!

• 53.silent_shadow: Reply to this comment

Shame. If ikeys had kicked properly they would’ve won.

• 54.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

I have mixed feelings about the “White Card”…. think too much time wastage, then again that dissallowed Maties try would have stood if the White Card was not called by Ikeys…

• 55.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Kobie Adriaanse, Maties prop, is MOTM

• 56.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Vanaand suip daai Maties Skellembosch poer in sy moer in…..

• 57.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Well done Maties. Ikeys were tentative in defending their lead instead of going for a hungry win. Too much kicking(way too much) and too many handling errors led to their downfall. It’s an 80 minute game and you HAVE to put your body on the line for all 80 minutes. You have too draw on deep reserves of mental strength. Ikeys didn’t believe fully from their core that they could do it. I certainly never felt it. Ikeys allowed the history of so many Maties wins over the years create doubt in their minds.

That’s it. When the chips are down Maties want it. They remember Maties Old Boys down the years and they play for the jersey. Ikeys don’t have that culture of winning finals.

Ikeys will rue taking their foot of the gas and allowing Maties to go for the kill.

I’m disappointed as an ex-Ikey but I’ll live on.

Ruck…well done.

• 58.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Jinxie, lod friend…… it was a good game..

Both teams gave it their all….. exciting window for upcoming talent !

Sorry your alma mater team lost bro…

• 59.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

GBS

We will be old toopies one day and we will still see that the team that plays for ALL 80 minutes with a fighting heart comes on top in close games.

Maties wanted it more in my books.

If you can’t catch the ball then go and work on it.

It’s tough…as UCT came so close…but only 80 minutes will earn you a cigar.

• 60.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

toppies not toopies…eish Jinx get a grip.Hehehehe

• 61.Fern: Reply to this comment

very close tense affair full of drama at the end.
    pity about the poor handling though

• 62.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Jinxie,

I’ll never be an old toppie….. I’ll remain a 24-year old…… in a “gedroogte rangskikking” for a body.

• 63.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

OK, I’m outa here……….

Goooooooooiiiiiiiii Mieliessssssssssss

• 64.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

Geluk Maties, and tough on Ikeys.

• 65.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

GBS

I like that…Gedroogte rangskikking…new word for me. “A dried up arrangement”. Ja, soos ou biltong. In sitting here with my woordeboek. Ek moet die taal beter leer.Hehehe.

• 66.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

Jinx, but gedroogde is the correct word, I think

• 67.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Boerboel

Thanks for the inside edge tuition. After all Boerboel, they speak funny up north. Hehehe.

• 68.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Boerboel

Thanks for the inside edge tuition. After all Boerboel, they speak funny up north. Hehehe.

• 69.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

I’ve just phoned Ruck. No reply…Oooh she’s a HUGE Maties fan. Lives in Stellies, long Maties pedigree in her family DNA. I’ve just left a message to go easy on the roads because she can party. It’s going to be a loooooong night for her.

She’s a good lady with plenty sticks of dynamite in her attitude. I wish she could’ve given some to the Ikeys at halftime.

• 70.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

Jinx, I really think this was tough on Ikeys. They should have had the home ground advantage. But I don’t complain too much, after all, I am a Matie

• 71.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

Jinx, Ruck couldn’t get tickets for us, she is furious because a friend dropped her. We all had to watch on the tele!

• 72.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Boerboel

It was a bummer but that’s that now. They must improve and come back next year.

• 73.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Ikeys played well was a last movement affair that produced the final try, Joe Pietersen spilled two minutes before right on the try line should have been over then, but up to last 5 minutes Ikeys had better forays into Maties 22, it was a ding dong business, just poor handling but thats because they tried to do everything at double tempo speed, should have maybe slowed it down just a little to get some composure.

Ikeys can be proud, they came to Stellenbosch and almost beat a much heavier side with couple semi pro provincial players, if kicks went over may have been different, but they did well in spite of the loss, they never let the side down, not for a second, not one of them.

• 74.Die Dier: Reply to this comment

ROM ROM ROM!!!!!

• 75.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Skop

I hear you but they didn’t make it stick when they had to. Shocking handling and way too much kicking.

They can hold their heads up high but they had to win it. They didn’t. They don’t have a culture of playing finals. It was there to win it tonight. They crumbled under their own pressure allowed Maties in.

If you don’t have a goal kicker on the night its also going to hold you back.

• 76.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

Happy to see my alma-mater winning!

Remember the days in the 80′s watching from the forest above, where the grass is green.

Yes GBS, tonight Die Bos will be in overdrive.

What a beautiful town…if we ever had to return to SA, it would be to Stellenbosch.

• 77.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

should have read: “where the grass is green and the girls are pretty”

• 78.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Couple times they came very close to putting it away even in the last quarter they nearly broke the Maties last line defense, just the last pass or the final movement didn’t come off, I thought they played with intense passion right through, they were much lighter up front and through the pack even through the backs, yet they produced most of the running forays and constructive backline moves, they fought like terriers to the last.

Sometimes a big powerful Boerbull (no disrespects Boerboel) will be just that little too powerful in the last dying moments against a courageous terrier, somebody has to go home the loser, life sometimes doesn’t always seem fair, but undoubtedly fair it always is.

Like a Roberto Duran vs a Marvin Hagler, the nifty street fighter may take the fight to the big guy, but if he can’t put his lights out early, he may get beat in the end.

• 79.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Expatinus

Home grown grass?? Naughty-naughty. Hehehe.

• 80.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

Skop, no offense taken. The Boerbull won in the end as you rightly say.

• 81.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Have you seen the Dylan (Scorsese) movie ‘No direction Home’ Jinx?

• 82.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Skop # 78

Good post. True indeed.

I can tell you exactly where I was, what the weather was like, what I had for supper etc on THAT day in 1983 when Marvelous Marvin Hagler beat Roberto Duran. What a fight. Also the Sugar Ray Leonard/Duran fight. They had a few.

Tommy Hearns battles too. What a divison in those days.

• 83.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

Jinx, while I was an accounting & tax major, that barely passed it has to be said, I always cared deeply about nature, and looked after all things that grow.

• 84.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Aai daai pragtige Stellenbosch se engeltjies, too many dream like memories hmm JE?

• 85.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

The Leonard / Duran and especially the Leonard / Hagler and Leonard / Hearns fights were some that will never ever be achieved again for sheer artistry, courage and commitment, the probable pinnacle of boxing history never to be repeated again.

• 86.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Skop

No, not yet. It was made in ’05 I think.

Nor the one where Kate Blanchett plays Bob Dylan. Unbelievable how she was made to look like Dylan.

• 87.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

Skop, how I dream of being 19 years old again and be on Stellies…..

• 88.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

Gents – I never missed Duran, Leonard, Hagler, Hearns…with favorite being Leonard v Hagler, I think the 2nd one. They made boxing into an artform. Lately prefer UFC over boxing. But rugby, tennis still rules!

The other day stood next to Rick Flair [nature boy from WWF] at the Indiannopolis airport. Man he looks beaten up, his head is twice as big as mine, with his chest probably 3 times as big. Seemed to be a real friendly bloke. Just ugly as hell.

I WILL NOT MESS WITH HIM.

• 89.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Boerboel # 83

Ag, Jy is ‘n ware African man. Hehehe.

• 90.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

Skop and Boerboel please stop.

Memories of 1986-1989…Lanzerac, Finley’s, Stal and some other happy hunting grounds come to mind.

“I know hindsight’s 20/20, but looking back it’s all still a little bit fuzzy to me” – sung by….?

• 91.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

When did Kate Blanchett play Dylan?

I sat through both cd’s (dvd’s) last night as well as Scorsese’s ‘Last Waltz’ with The Band and Clapton, Joni Mitchell, Dr. John, Neil Young, Van Morrison and Bobby himself, two great movies, real music that they don’t seem to do much no more, its all gone visual and money mad the last 20 years.

There are moments in ‘No Direction Home’ that touch home, Joan Baez loved him more than he’ll ever know, the fool idiot.

Those kids were like philosophers and poets driving the whole generation bus at the tender ages of 21 and 22, the words and lyrics that poured from that acute mind, incredible.

• 92.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

Guys, this is a nice chat but I must give a lecture at Stellies tomorrow. I still need to prepare, so long.

• 93.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Boerboel #87

Now now…Boerboel…Hahaaaa. They just look at us as if we are a bunch of toppies. But you wouldn’t want to be back at 19. Ooooh vok, all those insecurities, all that unrequited love.She loves me…she loves me not.

Nah, I like my 50 year old groove. I’m youthful but I’m moving on. It’s an achievement. I wear my badge with pride.

• 94.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

cheers boerboel

• 95.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Careful Boerboel, you miss it so much you may just have to do it all over again, ask Jinxy,

Life can be extremely sweet when love is young and beautiful, so sweet it can capture and enrapture us forever. Aai tog.

• 96.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Skop # 91

In 2007. Its called “I’m not there”.

• 97.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

Skop and Jinx, who said I referred to love? I just wanted to run on the Coetzenburg grass again as a 19 year old player!!!

• 98.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

I’m not there? Whats it about?

• 99.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

But now I must really say good night

• 100.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Boerboel

Oh, I see you teach ‘em at Stellies. Meneer Perve the Swerve. Hahaha.

Cheers boetie…

• 101.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Boerboel # 97

Brilliant!! Lol! I can sniff you from here! Hilarious. You got a good cover.

• 102.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Ja Ja Ja Boerboel, spin us nog n enetjie, girls beat rugby any day of the week, not so JE?

Was nice to play hard those days, but was also good to be loved, nie so nie?

• 103.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Nag Boerboel, lekker aand verder Mnr.

• 104.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Skop

Google “I’m not there”…There are a few actors playing Bob Dylan. Its a Biopic.

Kate Blanchett is SO like Dylan it will freak you out. Mid 60′s time. Freaky bru.

• 105.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

Skop, hel ek kan nie gaan nie, te veel lekker stories. Ons het een aand skelm gaan swem op Coetzenburg en toe terug koshuis toe gestreak. Op Coetzenburg se brug stop ou oom en tannie om iets te vra en een pel (hy het slot gespeel) stap nader, nogal aan die tannie se kant. Sy tools hang toe so ooghoogte. Ek dink die tannie het vergeet om rigting te vra!

• 106.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

Nou loop ek, cheers

• 107.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Expatinus # 90

“I know hindsight’s 20/20, but looking back it’s all still a little bit fuzzy to me” – sung by….?

Comment by Johannes Expatinus : April 7, 2008 @ 10:09 pm

Who sang that? Very lekker words.

• 108.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

Man, those days were great, but having all facets of life & persona nicely developed and in place beats that.

• 109.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Expat

You said it. Met die grysheid kom die wysheid.

Hopefully!! Hahaha. Nah, for sure.

• 110.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

Jinx, I may and probably will doubt what I just said in about 5 minutes, but I do think indeed I’m accurate in my assessment :)

Met die grysheid kom die wysheid.

• 111.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Expat

I won’t judge you if you change your mind. hehehe…I understand. Hilarious stuff.

• 112.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Ai arme tannie, al sy wou doen is n lekker lopie saam haar man oor die Coetzenburg brug te vat, en toe kom die ou kaal slot en haar rigting heeltemaal deurmekaar gesmyt.

Well we come, we stay, we tarry, we grow old then we depart again, so goes the story JE, from babes, to young lovers, to struggling adults, then to old age and out, so gaat die ou storie, ne die selle vir almal min of meer.

• 113.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Expat

Tune me about # 107

• 114.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

grysheid = wysheid?
    Wie se so?

miskien die teenoorgestelde partykeer dink ek.

• 115.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

Megadeth!

Also threw in a little Jethro Tull earlier, the intro for ‘Jacks-in-the-green’ from a live concert.

• 116.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Skop # 112

Doesn’t have to be struggling adults. That’s a choice. No, I defy that. I know my death, so I live even deeper and with a more potent octane petrol. No regrets and plenty laughs. To live and love full volume inspite of whatever suffering and sacrifice…I will not be downcast. Nah…the horse in my heart, the eagle in my heart, the wolf in my heart, the leopard in my heart knows me better than that.

On my last day on this Blue planet I dance…f#ck that…

• 117.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

By baie mense is grysheid wysheid. Hulle struggle so baie om hulself te aanvaar, dat hulle weinig groei.

• 118.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

should read: “By baie mense is grysheid nie ook wysheid”…….

• 119.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Sweating Bullets
    Artist:Megadeth

Hindsight is always 20-20,
    But looking back it’s still a bit fuzzy

That the one JE?

• 120.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

Spot-on skopskiet. My words were a little off, my memory is fuzzy indeed!

• 121.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Jinx we can pretend all we like, this expedition to discovering who we are is no picnic on the shady slopes of Table Mountain.

This excursion into materialism is neither no joke, if we’re serious about the ultimate discovery or real busting loose the shackles of our bonding to everything that is fickle and fading, then we will become mindful that it is in fact a fight to the death, you will have to conquer it ultimately if you sincerely intend to live beyond such limitation.

You seen the matrix – its not that far fetched after all, just a little way off cue, but conditioning to illusion remains our fallacy.

• 122.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Expat # 118

Very true indeed. Grysheid is no gaurantee of wisdom. The eyes never lie.

There’s a Jewish Proverb that says: It’s a great boon to have died when you were younger.

Getting older is then a sweet journey. No fear of death and in fact a huge out pouring of love. There is much knowledge in death and it is only in accepting death or experiencing “death”…which is just change …that we can truly explode into the SO WHAT…I live forever in my spirit.

I give my death a Lunch Bar and a Tex choc everyday and say,”It may be today that I go but f#ck that I’m going to live from my marrow. I will be in gratitude.”

• 123.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

You only start living, when you’re ready to die.

• 124.Robzim: Reply to this comment

I just got home from the DC stadium. Tried to get in at Tollies and Bohemian – no luck, the place is cooking. The damn students do not have any respect for wyse grys old students!?.

• 125.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Skop # 121

That is the only fight worth fighting. If you don’t crack and break your social image of yourself you will always be living the way of a slave. You have to break all the rules that keep you boxed in. You have to love that hard road because it does open your heart.

It’s a good day to die…

Its important to give death its due and then say…F#ck you. It’s sobriety.

• 126.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

Like yourself, and never be afraid to make your name total ***. Have your ducks in a row with your loved ones. And, ALWAYS back yourself, if you don’t, why should anyone else?

And take care of the garden.

• 127.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

jeez wats up with the pages here?

massive blank hole above the content…eish

• 128.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Guys I must go…It’s been a pleasure.

Expatinus you live in Cherokee country in North Carolina. Breathe deeply my brother.

Skopskiet…you live where the Khoi Khoi called this mountain “Goerikama”…Great Mountain at the water. Or “Gutais”…Veiled in Clouds.

Love da fire.

Must go…early start tomorrow.

Slap sag…

• 129.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Slaap sag…

• 130.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

To know life is to overcome death, but we talk glibly of this battle royal, we think its like a walk in the park, believe me to die before death overtakes you is no picnic, but if anyone is sincere about getting to grips with who they are, its the only road open to that discovery.

We pretend we can stare death in the face and challenge her naked, those that can are really very rare and few and far between.

Its the ultimate sacrifice to die daily.

• 131.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

My head is bloody, but unbowed.
    I am the master of my fate;
    I am the captain of my soul.

-W.E. Henley (1849-1903) – in Invictus

• 132.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

You should have just picked a young princess Robzim and headed off towards the sunrise. Ask JE here grys is wys, even when they don’t want to recognize it.

• 133.JL1: Reply to this comment

I hope that I am not gatecrashing this depro party

What’s up with all this serious talk. Live life

• 134.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

anyone wanna discuss who the options are for AB wing now that joe is out for 3-4 months.

nz papers are talking up nonu, vanikola,tuitevake, masaga.

i think henry and co will also be looking at victor vito although he doesnt have the pace of positional game, but could be give opportunity against teams like england and ireland to see if he can crack it.

top of the pile for me in terms of pecking order should be:

tuitevake
    anesi
    masaga
    vito
    nonu
    smith
    vanikola

• 135.JL1: Reply to this comment

tomsta

They must be missing old Doug Howlett and Luke MacAllister now

• 136.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Ag wat JL now and then us ol fogeys we just like to get closer to the grave cos we know its just past there where we fly through the butterfly’s wing.

We live that we might learn to love, we love that we might learn to live, no other lesson is required of man.

Do you know where you’re going to?
    Do you like the things that life is showing you
    Where are you going to?
    Do you know?

Do you get
    What you’re hoping for
    When you look behind you
    There’s no open door
    What are you hoping for?
    Do you know?

We just passing time here on this here blog site

But If I could save time in a bottle
    The first thing that Id like to do
    Is to save every day
    Till eternity passes away

Nope not really

Just watching the river flow.

• 137.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Just one Kiwi in that list Tomsta, the rest sound like Tongans or Fijians, NZ rugby is getting further and further away from home base, no more place for pakehas out on the wing, days of Kirwin and Cullen seem to be long time gone.

• 138.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

and rico gear, who imo was nz’s best winger for years only to be snubbed for the WC.

yep not many white fellas on the wings for AB’s these days.

the highlanders fullback would probably have been a prospect since he has all black blood, but nowadays the white guys dont seem explosive enough to be wingers in this modern game.

• 139.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

IG

you gotta fix this page mate. you are missing a lot of traffic with the page seeming to load as a blank.

• 140.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Therlow Pieterson…hmmmmmmmmm.
    I thought as much (check my post on the ‘underdog’ thread).
    Well done Ikeys, it was close.
    Congrats Maties.

• 141.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Epi whats his name has just got 6 weeks for headbutting.

• 142.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

epi tioane*. that was a bloody stoopid thing to do so he deserves it.

• 143.Amerifikaner: Reply to this comment

Tomsta

From a SA view NZ should play John Afoa on the wing against Chavanga.

Seriously though, Masaga and Tuitevake were the better players this year so far.

• 144.Pietman: Reply to this comment

SA Universities vs British Lions next year, would be great game!

Tomsta
    Yes, Sharks won’t be getting a lot of mileage from their ‘Tioane investment’.
    Waste of money…another players enjoying the Durban sunshine at their expense.

• 145.Amerifikaner: Reply to this comment

I am sure the Sharks lawyers are clever enough to include in his contract: No pay for stupid play.

• 146.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

Amerifikaner

ofoa looks like he will get the #3 jersey for aB’s so will probably be popping up on the wing anyway.

players who have done their time are tuitevake and wulf. i dont rate wulf as highly as tuitevake but will have to wait and see who henry goes for.

i was amazed that tuitevake wasnt brought into squad when AB’s were having so much trouble at 13. and then tuitevake did well at junior ABs.

there is also much talk now about victor vito taking the step. its going to get interesting now.

also cant see how they will look past anesi who has AB caps. masaga is good, but still way too undisciplined. in a test match he will get eaten alive.

• 147.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

pietman

how can sharks have AJ on bench when you have a nutter like epi around?

• 148.Amerifikaner: Reply to this comment

Tomsta

I suppose Henry is not above surprises, but Vito will be a big surprise. Maybe in one of the warm up games but certainly not in the Trinations. Anyway you don’t have a shortage on the wing (Nonu won’t let any side down and has the experience) like South Africa have in the flyhalf (#10)department.

• 149.Amerifikaner: Reply to this comment

I agree, Afoa has been the formed #3 this year in all of the Super14 teams. Very consistent performances games after game.

• 150.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

amerifikaner
    im a saffa living in nz.

i dont think henry is comfortable with nonu. nonu is a serious headcase. he is very average on defence in one on one tackles and struggles to understand defensive lines. he is an absolute liability in a test match.

in fact you can bet on it that if nonu gets consistant selection the other test nations will be smiling at the prospect of scoring more tries against ABs.

i think vito mite just get tried out if henry can get titjens to release him.

• 151.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#137 — Cullen played for NZ Maori, so he’s a Maori too.

• 152.Amerifikaner: Reply to this comment

I have not seen Vito played yet. I see on the Internet he is a flanker, but they also talk about him as the new Lomu. At 6ft3in and 109Kg he will be something to stop on the wing. But them Lumo never scored against SA. Defense swarmed him like bees.

• 153.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

tomsta – my AB backline?

9. leonard
    10. carter
    12. – ?? brett??
    13. smith
    11. sivi
    14. mils
    15. old macdonald

ellis evans nonu on bench. maybe even evans for brett at 12.

a back 3 of sivi, mils and macdonald would be devastating under ELV’s as their positional play, counter attacking and tactical kicking would be unrivalled given both wingers have played 15 plenty.

AB’s have no worries in the backline. it is their tight 5 that looks a bit weak to me, and where PDV must target them.

• 154.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

hey tickles – i found this on another thread and seeing as you’ve decided to pop in….

“Easy peasy lemon squeezy. The Black Wave just rolls on.

Be afraid, pilgrims. Be very afraid.

Comment by TheTackler : September 8, 2007 @ 4:30 pm ”

“Relying on the cliche of “on the day anything can happen” smacks of desperation and wishful thinking.

The thing that will happen on the day is that the best team wins. And the best team wears all black.

Comment by TheTackler : September 8, 2007 @ 5:51 pm ”

When New Zealand beat Portugal 108-13…

“Come on! The target was to post 100 points. Who cares about the other side of the scoreboard?

Target achieved.

The anchovies were duly eaten.

Comment by TheTackler : September 15, 2007 @ 11:41 pm ”

“The Porras were howling because the ABs were squeeshing dere tomatsh an vegetablsh.

Comment by TheTackler : September 16, 2007 @ 1:17 am”

When the All Blacks beat the Scots 40-0…

“It’s 40 to zip. That’s a very, very big score, pilgrims! Bigger than the 33-6 hiding the Boks copped in NZ a few months ago where the ABs clinched all the annual 3N silverware yet again.

No, it’s not perfect, but it’ll do.

Comment by TheTackler : September 23, 2007 @ 11:28 pm”

“And the Kiwis also beat the **** and the Yarps to with the WHOLE show in 2011 to defend their title at home!

Comment by TheTackler : September 24, 2007 @ 7:35 am”

And of course on that fateful night of 6 October 2008, when the All Blacks lost 20-18 to France:

(By the way, that thread ended up containing more than a few thousand posts)

Oh, and most of the posts were while the game was still carrying on:

“It’s a knockout game. All you need to do is win by one point. That’s convincing enough for anyone.

Comment by TheTackler : October 6, 2007 @ 9:53 pm”

“To be worthy RWC winners you first have to win the final. Fair and square. No poisonings.

And even a one point victory will do.

Comment by TheTackler : October 6, 2007 @ 10:00 pm”

“Ridiculous yellow card. McAlister was contesting for the falling ball and not “cynically obstructing”.

Comment by TheTackler : October 6, 2007 @ 10:08 pm”

“He turned around to get squarely under the floating ball and it’s perfectly legitimate to do so. The Frenchman ran into him as he held his line. Ridiculous yellow. Wayne Barnes, the ref, is inexperienced and his touchies —incl. Kaplan — are giving him no assistance.

Comment by TheTackler : October 6, 2007 @ 10:14 pm ”

“It’s a knockout game, pilgrims! A one-point win will do. Pool play is the time for those big fancy blow-out scores. Knock-out rugby doesn’t require that.

Just one point. That’s all.

Comment by TheTackler : October 6, 2007 @ 10:31 pm ”

It’s only the quarters, pilgrims! No need to roll out the heaviest artillery yet. Save it for later. A one-point win will be good enough.
    Comment by TheTackler : October 5, 2007 @ 2:12 am

Graham Henry can select horses for courses because he’s been shuffling his rotation-squad around for four years already. He KNOWS who’s the best horse for any given course.
    He’s not picking some impact-playing greenhorn out of nowhere and hoping he can dream up something new like a brace of long-range droppies and be a hero, and then having him crash and burn a week later in the Currie Cup final back to being a zero. And then trying to pretend that this bolter has all along been a KEY part of his all-or-nothing four-year RWC plan.
    Jake’s ad libbing. He makes things up from week to week. There’s nothing even faintly resembling a carefully-sculpted four-year plan.
    That’s why he’ll go home without any silverware, as usual.
    Comment by TheTackler : October 5, 2007 @ 12:42 am

You’ve got THREE games to win in order to claim the Billy Ellis Mug. You can’t play your number one team for all three games because the intensity of it will mean that by Game Three the BIG one of your players will be injured, niggly, burnt-out or mentally past their peak.
    So you have to box clever.
    You must save your squad so that they collectively hit their peak for Game Three (the RWC final).
    There’s no experimentation with combinations left any longer. That time is long over.
    Now it’s all about the optimal rotational use of the 30-man squad for WINNING three crucial games in three consecutive weekends, but saving your very best for that last 20 minutes of the last game. Each of the three knockout games can be satisfactorily won by even one solitary point. Margins of victory and match statistics are now quite meaningless. Only victory matters. By only one point and as ugly as sin will do just fine.
    Graham Henry has planned it all very thoroughly.
    Jake White hasn’t.
    Comment by TheTackler : October 2, 2007 @ 11:26 pm

The French aren’t playing good rugby and they haven’t been doing so for an awfully long time.
    France are complete rubbish.
    Comment by TheTackler : October 3, 2007 @ 4:37 am

Well, they’re NOT going out in the quarters. Or the semis. Or the final.
    So McCaw’s team will be defined as Winners RWC2007?.
    Comment by TheTackler : October 3, 2007 @ 5:14 am

A true champion makes EVERY test matter.
    Comment by TheTackler : October 3, 2007 @ 5:30 am

NZ doesn’t send weak teams up north and get beaten. The send a strong squad, make 10 changes from one week to the next and still win everything.
    Get your facts right.
    Comment by TheTackler : October 3, 2007 @ 10:03 am

Last year the ABs were beaten (once, away, by one point, in a dead rubber). That wasn’t their peak.
    This year they’re unbeaten.
    This is their peaking year.
    Be afraid. Be very afraid.
    Comment by TheTackler : October 3, 2007 @ 11:16 am

France to lose by 30+ yet again. ABs might even put 50 on the scoreboard against them unless it’s rainy.
    Comment by TheTackler : October 1, 2007 @ 1:40 am
    poilt for choice. And ALL of these possible combinations have, in the last two years, actually played test rugby against one or more of the Top Six nations and not just a risk-free hit-out against a minnow.
    Graham Henry’s brilliant rotation policy. THAT is what proper planning is about. (And Henry’s risk-taking didn’t involve getting plenty of defeats to learn what works and what doesn’t and to wreck the ABs proud win-loss ledger!
    Comment by TheTackler : September 28, 2007 @ 7:45 am
    No, they won’t miss Carter. The Frogs are so absolutely awful the ABs could even pull old Grant Fox off the commentators’ bench and he’ll get the job done.
    Comment by TheTackler : September 29, 2007 @ 4:40 am
    And the Kiwis also beat the **** and the Yarps to with the WHOLE show in 2011 to defend their title at home!
    Comment by TheTackler : September 24, 2007 @ 7:35 am

Well, that’s NOT going to happen because (guess what?) the Webb-Ellis cup with that silly little pineapple on top is coming home to NZ 4 more years of bragging rights!
    Comment by TheTackler : September 22, 2007 @ 11:59 am

France has about as much chance of beating NZ as what Pope Benedict has of fathering a child with Margaret Thatcher.
    Comment by TheTackler : September 19, 2007 @ 10:18 am

NZ will win.
    The cup.
    That’s it.
    Comment by TheTackler : September 19, 2007 @ 12:37 pm

Facts are facts. No point in egg-dancing around it, hey?
    The ABs WILL win the cup.
    End of story.
    Comment by TheTackler : September 19, 2007 @ 12:41 pm

• 155.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

More boys :-D

Munki
    Wow – talk about twisting the knife :shock: Pls remember he originally is one of yours !

• 156.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

munki

with the elvs you have a point about selecting a back 3 capable of good positional play.

i think i still prefer this lineup in terms of ability and strategy for them.

9 leonard
    10 evans
    11 siti
    12 carter
    13 smith
    14 tuitevake
    15 mils

bench
    ellis
    toeavo
    mcdonald

• 157.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

munki those posts by tackler are hilarious :)

• 158.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

howzit RP

• 159.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Good enough I suppose … I dropped 1 spot on the weekend with some dodgy picks … only solace was a lot you must have made even worse choices than me ;)

Daylight saving is finished there now – right ?

& you ?

• 160.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

R_P – there was a story on the radio the other day about a south african, who now lives in NZ who holds something like 30 world records.

having done things like – breaking the most cucmbers in one minute and other randonly stupid things. what chances this person is tackler?

the reason i think it must be him is because the DJ’s thought it was terrible NZ immigration had let this guy into NZ, and that he should have stayed in SA to avoid any embarrasing links to his new country. sound familiar?

• 161.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

tomsta – i like your backline too. not convinced on tuitevake, although saw an interview with him and he seems like a nice humble kid so good luck to him.

also – how can you leave macdonald on the bench – in a tight test match he is very important, and his play at the back for crusaders this season is incrtedible. his positional play and kicking is killing the opposition

• 162.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

yeah tomsta – i think we need to hang onto them, so whenever he pops up we can just remind him of what he tool he can be when the inspiration takes him.

• 163.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Munki
    You could be right … Clearly standards have dropped in recent years… Once upon a time we had high standards & you Saffas had to marry your way in ! ;)

At least he was described as a Saffa residing in NZ :-D

• 164.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

RP daylight saving has happened now. its dark so early now :(

munki
    i played against tuitevake at school level. the kid was sensational then too. ive met him a bunch of times while out on the town. he is a good guy. not just humble but respectable unlike many other sportstars.

i rate his attacking game, and his defense is solid. has huge x factor.

in terms of mcdonald, well his nickname does it for me, Panadol. the dude is always getting smashed out. his play is quite consistent but at test level he seems to crack most times. under the happy go lucky crusader brand he fairs well but in test matches i dont think he copes too well.

mils was the best 15 around till henry started messing him around.

• 165.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

with the FTA with china you can bet on a heap more ‘tourists/immigrants’ coming from there in the next decade.

• 166.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Boys
    At least Tackler is still around
    But you remember St.Michael, and his predictions about the Poms taking the WC again?
    He has disappeared completely!

Talking about ‘missing bloggers’, how about the following/:

X-kreniWP
    Blouballas
    Jurgens
    Bluebarb
    Doosdiefdrieduisend
    loftus
    blueboy
    yebo
    Handbagslasher
    Bluehippo
    Bluezippo

Only gerber13 stuck it out, together with Kwagga, Cuzzy, AB, GBS, superBul, Supa, Staal and Steyn.

• 167.Koos: Reply to this comment

Dagse almal!

• 168.Koos: Reply to this comment

Howzit Pete, krapping ou koeie uit die sloot today I see. A few we can survive without Pete…

And superBul is one game away from packing it in too!

• 169.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Tomsta
    Yes, sister was moaning no more motorcycle rides after work around Mt Maunganui … Some people have it tough eh ? She does not do well in the winter … something to do with a reptilian circulatory system I think ;)

• 170.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

what ever happended to the *** bulls fan named stan? or did he morph into twaticus?

as for st michel he only ever popped in from time to time. in fact a lot of people have gone missing, or i just dont really read them now i post in nz time zone not UK.

yeah R_P i did it the easy way – marrying in. only thing is i never knew how lucky i was… ha ha. nice place to live for a while i reckon.

• 171.Koos: Reply to this comment

Whats happening with keo, the top of the page looks a little like the Kalahari, miles and miles of f-all!

• 172.Pietman: Reply to this comment

More Koos
    Ja, die ouens kom en gaan, soos die gety draai!!!
    Daar was n paar wilde ouens op die blou golf verlede jaar hierdie tyd.

• 173.Pietman: Reply to this comment

munki
    Old Tacitus still makes the odd appearance…

• 174.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Koos
    Yes, I have noticed the page has gone ‘topless’.

• 175.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

yeah koos

i mentioned that earlier and nothing has happened????

RP

yep, ive gotten used to going for a run after work now with the sun pretty much over the waitaks when i get home, its pretty much gloom and doom winter season in akl.

blimming missus wanted the ‘ultra’ thick duvet inner on last nite. vek was it hot or wat. its still bloody 20deg at night.

• 176.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

ja last night was very warm. the cold of winter is a long way off still tomsta. just a bit chillier in the mornings and darker in the evenings but the water is still warm and we wont be skiing for months yet.

• 177.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

More Koos & Piet :-D

Tomsta
    I used to wander along the waterfront around Kohi at sunset – really nice, good for the soul.

I am the opposite – cannot bear blankets at all, even in winter. Here you can buy a half & half quilt – solves problems like that :-)

• 178.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

RP

you have just brought back memories of my last flat. have just left kohi. was exactly 22seconds from front door to beach. spent many many afternoons running/walking the tamaki drive with sunnies on. the eye candy in summer is quality…esp the volleyball girls :)

heck where can i get a half and half quilt, that would solve things. its just too warm at night.

munki
    bro, im planning hard to get some snow in this year. missed out last year, thankfully it wasnt a good season. but this year it looks to be on like donkey kong.

• 179.Koos: Reply to this comment

keo gone topless :shock: can’t think of a quicker way to get rid of bloggers!

Ultra thick Tomsta, hehe one of those girls that weigh the blankets to work out if it will be warm enough?

Tell you what, a few years in the tropics and suddenly we get cold when the temp goes below 20!!! I think I will die in NZ…

• 180.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Tomsta
    Yes, Tamaki Drive is a terrible way to spend a late afternoon & all those places to stop in at for a chilled “something something” … ssiigghh 8)

• 181.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

Morning guys and girls!
    To find my Bulls mates these days is like trying to find a Nat supporter!

• 182.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Koos
    You need to be at Carrisbrook when it is sleeting :lol:

More AB :-D

• 183.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

Is it the smell or the team that gets me ignored this morning?

• 184.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

i got 2 weekends at whakapapa last year and was surprised at how good it was – especially the second time when base layer was over 2m. went to Qtown on business last week and itching to get there one winter. it wont be this one though given our 1st child is only 6 months old and the missus does not like snow.

sure ruapehu can be dodgy – and the queues were not exactly short, but considering you can pop down for the weekend i cant complain. i’ve long dreamed about having a ski field in driving distance.

• 185.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

Hoe gaan dit daar Princess?

• 186.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

koos

from memory i found the cape winter harsher than what we get in auckland. the storms for sure in the cape were hardcore delivered straight from antarctica, where as auckland seems to have the tropical storm twist to things.

to compare. in winter at school in CT id have a blazer on over a long white shirt, with long pants and shoes. where as in akl i was wearing short sleeve golf shirt with shorts and jandals :)

RP

i bet not much has changed on the mission bay strip past kohi to st helliers, its still packed with cafes, bars and restaurants..and yes the traffic is still ridiculous daily.

• 187.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

munki
    you hit up snowplanet during that long summer stretch yet? did it in january with a bit of the new luge. was a solid day.

ive yet to do queenstown too. but expense wise it starts to take its toll with accomodation down their.

ruapehu does the trick. im keen to see this new 6 seater lift in operation.

• 188.Koos: Reply to this comment

More AB, no the smell is fine…you get use to it after a while ;-)

• 189.Fern: Reply to this comment

Morning all.
    It’s getting a bit nippy in the mornings now in Pta,the season is turning

• 190.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

Harare – Zimbabwean police said on Monday they had arrested seven election officials for undercounting votes cast for President Robert Mugabe in the March 29 presidential poll.

“There are seven people who have been arrested in connection with irregularities in the presidential poll,” police spokesperson Wayne Bvudzijena said.

“We’re still investigating, but we have established that there was deflation of figures in respect of one candidate … the Zanu-PF presidential candidate (Mugabe),” Bvudzijena said.

Now can someone explain how the government can have access to the ballots casted? I thought it should be impartial! This arsehole will do anything to stay in power!

• 191.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Munki
    Try the other side of the mountain – Turoa, it used to be quieter.

AB
    It is going well … Think I am changing jobs … Will keep me on my toes for a while :-)

Tomsta
    Park & stroll, or better yet, come in by boat 8)

• 192.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

was waiting for something to happen. mugabe was never going to go down without a fight.

what next, a complete recount by his officials?

• 193.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

was waiting for something to happen. mugabe was never going to go down without a fight.

what next, a complete recount by his officials?

• 194.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

sorry for double post. itchy trigger finger…when there is mention of mugabe hahahaha.

Turoa is pretty good. still gets ridiculously busy now. is probably the prefered side for boarders as its wider.

RP
    was having breaky at cafe kohi one sunday, and watched a boat drive out up the boat ramp and down the road. ordered another drink after that.

• 195.Koos: Reply to this comment

It is Africa after all Tomsta, you know they keep on counting till the right party wins…

• 196.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

koos
    we all know it. mugabe is still running the show, and will run it till someone takes him out.

the zimbos ive met, wow some absolute horror stories…thanks to mugabe.

• 197.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

i was so positive for zim at first, but despair is creeping in that he wont give in, and africa and the west wonmt do anything to stop him.

if only zim had oil instead of tobacco. bush would have been in there ages ago. saddam was a saint compared to this regime.

• 198.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

R_P want to try turoa – i believe it is mroe boarder firendly but was led astray by the people i taged along with. still need to make some boarding mates here.

• 199.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

cheers folks. outta here

• 200.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Tomsta
    Sounds like you should have switched to a medicinal “something something” ;)

• 201.superBul: Reply to this comment

I am still around just speechless, read all your wisdoms.
    In hibernation too on the prediction front.

One thing poorer than the Bulls is my predictions , one out of six this week, rather keep quiet, in Afrikaans they say “luister en leer” something like listen and learn.

Work also keeps me busy, visited a game ranch yesterday, very remote and under utilized, was once a busy place , now under a lands claim and absolutely nothing happening there. The once fammous Letaba Ranch.

• 202.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

More almal/all…

I didn’t see the game, but taped it on the PVR…

Koos waar is jy donner….

Morning RP :!:

• 203.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

Super
    Seems like I have the same problem; one out of six, pathetic!

• 204.Koos: Reply to this comment

Aish superB, now what the hell do they want the farm for?

• 205.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

superbul,

Ek ken Letaba Ranch en het gehoor dat dinge maar lekwar kuk lyk na die grondeise daar… Dis moer sad!!!!!!!

• 206.Koos: Reply to this comment

Cuzzy, net hier. Sien jy gaan weer suip die naWEEK!

• 207.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

More AB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Nee ek het net 3 games verkeerd toe ek laas onthou het…

• 208.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

Ek ry vandag tot Vrydagoggend na n game lodge toe op Vaalwater saam my swear en my pa’ dis n boy’s week… Heheheheheh!!!!

Vrydagoggend 10h00 tee ons dan af op Nylstroom golfbaan vir 18 gaatjies… Ons gaan bietjie suip, poach en business met mekaar discuss…

• 209.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

Yes Couzy!
    Hoe lyk dinge daar by jou? Daai game gistraand was moerse nice! Maties lekker lucky hier teen die end!

• 210.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

Koos hoe dan anders… ek het mos twee pa’s…

Die een se naam is Jack en dan my regte pa… Hehehehehe!!!

• 211.Koos: Reply to this comment

Vet Cuzzy, ons gaan jou mis…NOT!

• 212.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

munki
    I used to visit Turoa before it was commercial … nniicceee ! Had some seriously wicked weekends there ;) Wish I could say “memorable” but the recollection is somewhat hazy …

SuperBul
    You picking with your heart ?

Cuz
    More :-D

• 213.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

AB

Nee ek het hom gemis ou maat… Gaan hom gou later kyk!!!! Ek isen een van daai Ebersohn boeties speel al SA 7′s en het moer goed gedoen innie final. Sy naam is Robert…

• 214.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

Koos jou tannie in Brits is vet man… :mrgreen:

• 215.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

RP,

How’s things going with bertie???

• 216.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

AB,

Gaan jy vandag JHB toe :?:

• 217.superBul: Reply to this comment

Cuzzy jy moet kyk of jy vir Paul Kruyswijk by die Golf Klub kan kry, baie nice ou jy kan hom nie mis nie hulle noem hom die Grootman, hy is seker 6voet 1 meter laank. Hy is toe ek laas gehoor het klub bestuurder, ek en hy kom n lang pad.

Letaba Ranch is n sad case ek was saam een van die rangers wat se stam n land claim gelodge het, hy het my ook n lodge gewys wat iemand daar gebou het , seker nie die regte kanale gevolg nie en die plek, baie mooi staan soos n wit olifant daar, die stam baklei oor wie die bribe gekry het. Ai soveel stories in hierdie land.

• 218.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Cuz
    Good, he has his own email address now so we can chat off line as it were – He is quite the erudite little puppy !

• 219.Koos: Reply to this comment

Nee man Cuzzy, jy kan mos nou nie so van jou stiefma praat nie!!

Robert did play well, he did not shy away from the big PI’s.

• 220.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

Cuzzy
    Nee ek was gister daar.

• 221.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

Superbul,

Ek sal vrydag vra of hy daar is… Is jy seker die ou is nie 7voet 1 nie?? Ek is 6voet 2 en nie groot nie, maar ongeag ek sal **** of hy daar is en dan hom bietjie vra oor jou…

Nee kyk dis sad as ons sulke grond mors oor kuk… Wanneer stuur jy bietjie weer vir ons nice foto’s vannie wild daar swaer :?:

• 222.Bod: Reply to this comment

“Wicked weekends in Turoa”… oh my, now I wonder what on earth could those consist of??

• 223.superBul: Reply to this comment

RP think so, my bleeding heart.

Eish its hard to be a Bull , just hope they win a few, ending last would be so humiliating, and give so many bloggers here far too much satisfaction.

• 224.superBul: Reply to this comment

Photos will follow….soon

Right i am of to work will catch up the wisdoms later, have a nice day.

• 225.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

RP :lol:

Koos nee kyk sy is dik man…

AB,

Wat gaan jy doen behalwe niks vandag nie???

• 226.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

Cheers superbul, praat later!!!!!!

• 227.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

BOD,

Wouldn’t you like to know :lol:

RP

• 228.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

Cuzzy
    So bietjie blog dan kyk wat die dag inhou!

• 229.Koos: Reply to this comment

Groter as Explayer Cuzzy?

Cheers super.

• 230.Bod: Reply to this comment

Cousin

She has told many a story of naked men chained to trees, others getting rodgered and the like… so the mind boggles at Princess’ idea of a “wicked weekend in Turoa”

• 231.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

KOOS,

nee dit betwyfel ek sterk of iemand groter as hy kan wee… :lol:

BOD :mrgreen:

• 232.Koos: Reply to this comment

Ook weer waar, jy kry groter, groter, Explayer!

• 233.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Bod
    Terrible debauchery … or so I am reliably informed ;) And that was JUST one joke – with the tree & the rodgering …

SuperBul
    Oohh well – at least you are faithful.

Cuz
    My afrikaans is not that good :-(

• 234.Cyborg: Reply to this comment

Am i the only person who feels the Maties were against the spirit of the game in dropping players who had taken them to the final to replace them with the likes of Joe Pietersen?

• 235.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

RP,

I will teach you someday!!!!!

• 236.Bertie: Reply to this comment

Koos is supposed to be teaching me but he has been very slack of late !

• 237.Koos: Reply to this comment

:lol: Cuzzy can’t even speak his home language (English) properly and then he wants to teach another person Afrikaans!!! The only language he is fluent in is swearing…

• 238.Judge: Reply to this comment

WHERE IS VLEIS???FROM PARYS

• 239.Judge: Reply to this comment

WHERE IS VLEIS???FROM PARYS

• 240.Dieselboys: Reply to this comment

Congratulations Maties.
    I’m hurting, have lost too many close games on that bloody field.
    Anyways, I agree its a little much to have Joe Pietersen playing.
    But ja, I guess they could, so they did.
    Also, the games organisation was terrible.
    From the stupid announcer to the constant horrible music that drowned the atmosphere of the crowd.
    Most of all, the game should have been at Newlands. About 2000 plus people were left stranded outside unable to get in.
    Funny how Steinhoff supports Maties…
    Not sour grapes, a win’s a win. But the whole saga just leaves a bad taste in the mouth.
    I really feel for the Ikey team. To finish top of the log and then lose the right to play at home is unfair. Then to lose so close…
    Ah, it hurts.

But ja, Congrats Maties. Wwell deserved win.
    I’ll take it on the chin.
    Now on to Liverpool tonight, Stormers on Saturday.

• 241.charo: Reply to this comment

heartbreaking finish for us ikey supporters but well done to the maties for sticking it out to the end.
    i think ikeys probably have the lowest number of registered players of all the varsities competing so bloody well done guys.
    game was played in good spirit – hope this monday night intervarsity cup continues for a long time.

• 242.pearly: Reply to this comment

Maties were unsportsmanlike to bring in some big names for the final and drop the guys who got them there. Not right. and to submit a false team sheet to UCT. and get the home ground..

Having said that all UCT had to do was kick that last ball out.

• 243.Dieselboys: Reply to this comment

Pearly, I was ripping my hair out when the forwards opted to bash it up on the right of that ruck!
    What the hell?
    Where was the capataincy? That ball should have come back and been booted to China!
    Game won.
    I live in Stellies and I tell you its hard.
    UCT, needs to come good and devlop its program for sure, there is talent out there. Just think of all the talent that is wasted at Maties.
    But ja, I wont hate. Well done Maties.
    But I am incredibly proud of what our guys achived, against all odds.

• 244.Dieselboys: Reply to this comment

Excuse my spelling!

• 245.wotawoly: Reply to this comment

You ikeys can be happy you played in the final after last weeks game against the pukke.

I feel sorry for the ikey tight five. Maties realy hurt them all game.

Maties forever!!!!!!!!!!

• 246.jambai: Reply to this comment

Being an old matie ,I felt sorry for Uct as deserved a home final.think it was just one bridge too far for them.on the night it was maties but the winner was rugby.look at the talent Turner,Koster,Uct scrumhalf and some other maties playrs surely have a bright future ahead.Steinhoff ceo is an ex matie as well as fnb ,so maybe pick ‘pay should sponsor the event next year ,then ikeys might pull thru.Great Game ,great sportmanship ,great tournament well done all involved

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.