Maties claim Varsity Cup
7 Apr 2008
A try in the final minute gave Stellenbosch a 16-10 win over UCT in the final of the inaugural Varsity Cup.
The match was as tight as the scoreboard suggests, with both teams making many errors and repeatedly turning over ball. The game was still an intense and entertaining affair played in front of an above capacity Danie Craven Stadium – there were even spectators watching from the forest above the the ground adding to the 17 000 inside.
The first half saw a player from each side being yellow carded. Firstly UCT prop Herbert Mayosi spent 10 minutes in the sin bin for foul play, and this cost his team three points as Maties wing Henoe Stoffberg kicked the opening penalty of the final. Stellenbosch centre Sarel Potgieter was also sin-binned, this time for offside, and UCT responded with a try from wing Marcello Sampson. Stoffberg kicked another penalty to give Maties a 6-5 lead going into the break.
The opening half an hour of the second stanza remained scoreless, but a Mathew Turner try 10 minutes from time gave what seemed the killer blow to Ikeys as they regained the lead 10-6. The drama was far from over: Maties thought they had scored the try to reclaim the advantage on the scoreboard, but UCT captain JJ Gagiano used his team’s white card for the half. This new innovation allows teams to challenge the referee’s decision, and the TMO decided the try should be disallowed. Maties kept pressurising, and flyhalf Ricardo Croy was rewarded with a drop-kick to narrow the gap to one point.
Maties fullback Joe Pietersen knocked the ball over the try-line, and it seemed the night was not to be the home side’s. However with the next phase of play the ball was spread wide to wing Morne Jooste who scored in the corner, while Stoffberg converted to rub salt into Ikey wounds.
*The Ikey Colts beat Dagbreek Koshuis 17-15 in the curtain-raiser.
Maties - Try: Morne Jooste. Conversion: Henoe Stoffberg. Penalties: Stoffberg (2). Drop-goal: Ricardo Croy.
Ikeys - Tries: Marcello Sampson, Mathew Turner.
By Grant Ball

246 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All
7 Apr 2008, 20:46 pm
Maties 16 / Ikeys 10…. final score
7 Apr 2008, 20:48 pm
Nooooo!!!
Shame. If ikeys had kicked properly they would’ve won.
I have mixed feelings about the “White Card”…. think too much time wastage, then again that dissallowed Maties try would have stood if the White Card was not called by Ikeys…
7 Apr 2008, 20:51 pm
Kobie Adriaanse, Maties prop, is MOTM
7 Apr 2008, 20:53 pm
Vanaand suip daai Maties Skellembosch poer in sy moer in…..
7 Apr 2008, 20:54 pm
Well done Maties. Ikeys were tentative in defending their lead instead of going for a hungry win. Too much kicking(way too much) and too many handling errors led to their downfall. It’s an 80 minute game and you HAVE to put your body on the line for all 80 minutes. You have too draw on deep reserves of mental strength. Ikeys didn’t believe fully from their core that they could do it. I certainly never felt it. Ikeys allowed the history of so many Maties wins over the years create doubt in their minds.
That’s it. When the chips are down Maties want it. They remember Maties Old Boys down the years and they play for the jersey. Ikeys don’t have that culture of winning finals.
Ikeys will rue taking their foot of the gas and allowing Maties to go for the kill.
I’m disappointed as an ex-Ikey but I’ll live on.
Ruck…well done.
7 Apr 2008, 20:56 pm
Jinxie, lod friend…… it was a good game..
Both teams gave it their all….. exciting window for upcoming talent !
Sorry your alma mater team lost bro…
7 Apr 2008, 21:02 pm
GBS
We will be old toopies one day and we will still see that the team that plays for ALL 80 minutes with a fighting heart comes on top in close games.
Maties wanted it more in my books.
If you can’t catch the ball then go and work on it.
It’s tough…as UCT came so close…but only 80 minutes will earn you a cigar.
7 Apr 2008, 21:03 pm
toppies not toopies…eish Jinx get a grip.Hehehehe
7 Apr 2008, 21:04 pm
very close tense affair full of drama at the end.
pity about the poor handling though
7 Apr 2008, 21:05 pm
Jinxie,
I’ll never be an old toppie….. I’ll remain a 24-year old…… in a “gedroogte rangskikking” for a body.
7 Apr 2008, 21:11 pm
OK, I’m outa here……….
Goooooooooiiiiiiiii Mieliessssssssssss
7 Apr 2008, 21:11 pm
Geluk Maties, and tough on Ikeys.
7 Apr 2008, 21:13 pm
GBS
I like that…Gedroogte rangskikking…new word for me. “A dried up arrangement”. Ja, soos ou biltong. In sitting here with my woordeboek. Ek moet die taal beter leer.Hehehe.
7 Apr 2008, 21:14 pm
Jinx, but gedroogde is the correct word, I think
7 Apr 2008, 21:19 pm
Boerboel
Thanks for the inside edge tuition. After all Boerboel, they speak funny up north. Hehehe.
7 Apr 2008, 21:19 pm
Boerboel
Thanks for the inside edge tuition. After all Boerboel, they speak funny up north. Hehehe.
7 Apr 2008, 21:29 pm
I’ve just phoned Ruck. No reply…Oooh she’s a HUGE Maties fan. Lives in Stellies, long Maties pedigree in her family DNA. I’ve just left a message to go easy on the roads because she can party. It’s going to be a loooooong night for her.
She’s a good lady with plenty sticks of dynamite in her attitude. I wish she could’ve given some to the Ikeys at halftime.
7 Apr 2008, 21:30 pm
Jinx, I really think this was tough on Ikeys. They should have had the home ground advantage. But I don’t complain too much, after all, I am a Matie
7 Apr 2008, 21:31 pm
Jinx, Ruck couldn’t get tickets for us, she is furious because a friend dropped her. We all had to watch on the tele!
7 Apr 2008, 21:32 pm
Boerboel
It was a bummer but that’s that now. They must improve and come back next year.
7 Apr 2008, 21:33 pm
Ikeys played well was a last movement affair that produced the final try, Joe Pietersen spilled two minutes before right on the try line should have been over then, but up to last 5 minutes Ikeys had better forays into Maties 22, it was a ding dong business, just poor handling but thats because they tried to do everything at double tempo speed, should have maybe slowed it down just a little to get some composure.
Ikeys can be proud, they came to Stellenbosch and almost beat a much heavier side with couple semi pro provincial players, if kicks went over may have been different, but they did well in spite of the loss, they never let the side down, not for a second, not one of them.
7 Apr 2008, 21:37 pm
ROM ROM ROM!!!!!
7 Apr 2008, 21:42 pm
Skop
I hear you but they didn’t make it stick when they had to. Shocking handling and way too much kicking.
They can hold their heads up high but they had to win it. They didn’t. They don’t have a culture of playing finals. It was there to win it tonight. They crumbled under their own pressure allowed Maties in.
If you don’t have a goal kicker on the night its also going to hold you back.
7 Apr 2008, 21:47 pm
Happy to see my alma-mater winning!
Remember the days in the 80′s watching from the forest above, where the grass is green.
Yes GBS, tonight Die Bos will be in overdrive.
What a beautiful town…if we ever had to return to SA, it would be to Stellenbosch.
7 Apr 2008, 21:49 pm
should have read: “where the grass is green and the girls are pretty”
7 Apr 2008, 21:50 pm
Couple times they came very close to putting it away even in the last quarter they nearly broke the Maties last line defense, just the last pass or the final movement didn’t come off, I thought they played with intense passion right through, they were much lighter up front and through the pack even through the backs, yet they produced most of the running forays and constructive backline moves, they fought like terriers to the last.
Sometimes a big powerful Boerbull (no disrespects Boerboel) will be just that little too powerful in the last dying moments against a courageous terrier, somebody has to go home the loser, life sometimes doesn’t always seem fair, but undoubtedly fair it always is.
Like a Roberto Duran vs a Marvin Hagler, the nifty street fighter may take the fight to the big guy, but if he can’t put his lights out early, he may get beat in the end.
7 Apr 2008, 21:51 pm
Expatinus
Home grown grass?? Naughty-naughty. Hehehe.
7 Apr 2008, 21:56 pm
Skop, no offense taken. The Boerbull won in the end as you rightly say.
7 Apr 2008, 21:56 pm
Have you seen the Dylan (Scorsese) movie ‘No direction Home’ Jinx?
7 Apr 2008, 21:58 pm
Skop # 78
Good post. True indeed.
I can tell you exactly where I was, what the weather was like, what I had for supper etc on THAT day in 1983 when Marvelous Marvin Hagler beat Roberto Duran. What a fight. Also the Sugar Ray Leonard/Duran fight. They had a few.
Tommy Hearns battles too. What a divison in those days.
7 Apr 2008, 21:59 pm
Jinx, while I was an accounting & tax major, that barely passed it has to be said, I always cared deeply about nature, and looked after all things that grow.
7 Apr 2008, 21:59 pm
Aai daai pragtige Stellenbosch se engeltjies, too many dream like memories hmm JE?
7 Apr 2008, 22:02 pm
The Leonard / Duran and especially the Leonard / Hagler and Leonard / Hearns fights were some that will never ever be achieved again for sheer artistry, courage and commitment, the probable pinnacle of boxing history never to be repeated again.
7 Apr 2008, 22:03 pm
Skop
No, not yet. It was made in ’05 I think.
Nor the one where Kate Blanchett plays Bob Dylan. Unbelievable how she was made to look like Dylan.
7 Apr 2008, 22:03 pm
Skop, how I dream of being 19 years old again and be on Stellies…..
7 Apr 2008, 22:05 pm
Gents – I never missed Duran, Leonard, Hagler, Hearns…with favorite being Leonard v Hagler, I think the 2nd one. They made boxing into an artform. Lately prefer UFC over boxing. But rugby, tennis still rules!
The other day stood next to Rick Flair [nature boy from WWF] at the Indiannopolis airport. Man he looks beaten up, his head is twice as big as mine, with his chest probably 3 times as big. Seemed to be a real friendly bloke. Just ugly as hell.
I WILL NOT MESS WITH HIM.
7 Apr 2008, 22:05 pm
Boerboel # 83
Ag, Jy is ‘n ware African man. Hehehe.
7 Apr 2008, 22:09 pm
Skop and Boerboel please stop.
Memories of 1986-1989…Lanzerac, Finley’s, Stal and some other happy hunting grounds come to mind.
“I know hindsight’s 20/20, but looking back it’s all still a little bit fuzzy to me” – sung by….?
7 Apr 2008, 22:11 pm
When did Kate Blanchett play Dylan?
I sat through both cd’s (dvd’s) last night as well as Scorsese’s ‘Last Waltz’ with The Band and Clapton, Joni Mitchell, Dr. John, Neil Young, Van Morrison and Bobby himself, two great movies, real music that they don’t seem to do much no more, its all gone visual and money mad the last 20 years.
There are moments in ‘No Direction Home’ that touch home, Joan Baez loved him more than he’ll ever know, the fool idiot.
Those kids were like philosophers and poets driving the whole generation bus at the tender ages of 21 and 22, the words and lyrics that poured from that acute mind, incredible.
7 Apr 2008, 22:11 pm
Guys, this is a nice chat but I must give a lecture at Stellies tomorrow. I still need to prepare, so long.
7 Apr 2008, 22:13 pm
Boerboel #87
Now now…Boerboel…Hahaaaa. They just look at us as if we are a bunch of toppies. But you wouldn’t want to be back at 19. Ooooh vok, all those insecurities, all that unrequited love.She loves me…she loves me not.
Nah, I like my 50 year old groove. I’m youthful but I’m moving on. It’s an achievement. I wear my badge with pride.
7 Apr 2008, 22:13 pm
cheers boerboel
7 Apr 2008, 22:14 pm
Careful Boerboel, you miss it so much you may just have to do it all over again, ask Jinxy,
Life can be extremely sweet when love is young and beautiful, so sweet it can capture and enrapture us forever. Aai tog.
7 Apr 2008, 22:17 pm
Skop # 91
In 2007. Its called “I’m not there”.
7 Apr 2008, 22:18 pm
Skop and Jinx, who said I referred to love? I just wanted to run on the Coetzenburg grass again as a 19 year old player!!!
7 Apr 2008, 22:19 pm
I’m not there? Whats it about?
7 Apr 2008, 22:19 pm
But now I must really say good night
7 Apr 2008, 22:20 pm
Boerboel
Oh, I see you teach ‘em at Stellies. Meneer Perve the Swerve. Hahaha.
Cheers boetie…
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All