Maties claim Varsity Cup
7 Apr 2008
A try in the final minute gave Stellenbosch a 16-10 win over UCT in the final of the inaugural Varsity Cup.
The match was as tight as the scoreboard suggests, with both teams making many errors and repeatedly turning over ball. The game was still an intense and entertaining affair played in front of an above capacity Danie Craven Stadium – there were even spectators watching from the forest above the the ground adding to the 17 000 inside.
The first half saw a player from each side being yellow carded. Firstly UCT prop Herbert Mayosi spent 10 minutes in the sin bin for foul play, and this cost his team three points as Maties wing Henoe Stoffberg kicked the opening penalty of the final. Stellenbosch centre Sarel Potgieter was also sin-binned, this time for offside, and UCT responded with a try from wing Marcello Sampson. Stoffberg kicked another penalty to give Maties a 6-5 lead going into the break.
The opening half an hour of the second stanza remained scoreless, but a Mathew Turner try 10 minutes from time gave what seemed the killer blow to Ikeys as they regained the lead 10-6. The drama was far from over: Maties thought they had scored the try to reclaim the advantage on the scoreboard, but UCT captain JJ Gagiano used his team’s white card for the half. This new innovation allows teams to challenge the referee’s decision, and the TMO decided the try should be disallowed. Maties kept pressurising, and flyhalf Ricardo Croy was rewarded with a drop-kick to narrow the gap to one point.
Maties fullback Joe Pietersen knocked the ball over the try-line, and it seemed the night was not to be the home side’s. However with the next phase of play the ball was spread wide to wing Morne Jooste who scored in the corner, while Stoffberg converted to rub salt into Ikey wounds.
*The Ikey Colts beat Dagbreek Koshuis 17-15 in the curtain-raiser.
Maties - Try: Morne Jooste. Conversion: Henoe Stoffberg. Penalties: Stoffberg (2). Drop-goal: Ricardo Croy.
Ikeys - Tries: Marcello Sampson, Mathew Turner.
By Grant Ball

246 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All
7 Apr 2008, 22:22 pm
Boerboel # 97
Brilliant!! Lol! I can sniff you from here! Hilarious. You got a good cover.
7 Apr 2008, 22:24 pm
Ja Ja Ja Boerboel, spin us nog n enetjie, girls beat rugby any day of the week, not so JE?
Was nice to play hard those days, but was also good to be loved, nie so nie?
7 Apr 2008, 22:25 pm
Nag Boerboel, lekker aand verder Mnr.
7 Apr 2008, 22:28 pm
Skop
Google “I’m not there”…There are a few actors playing Bob Dylan. Its a Biopic.
Kate Blanchett is SO like Dylan it will freak you out. Mid 60′s time. Freaky bru.
7 Apr 2008, 22:28 pm
Skop, hel ek kan nie gaan nie, te veel lekker stories. Ons het een aand skelm gaan swem op Coetzenburg en toe terug koshuis toe gestreak. Op Coetzenburg se brug stop ou oom en tannie om iets te vra en een pel (hy het slot gespeel) stap nader, nogal aan die tannie se kant. Sy tools hang toe so ooghoogte. Ek dink die tannie het vergeet om rigting te vra!
7 Apr 2008, 22:29 pm
Nou loop ek, cheers
7 Apr 2008, 22:31 pm
Expatinus # 90
“I know hindsight’s 20/20, but looking back it’s all still a little bit fuzzy to me” – sung by….?
Comment by Johannes Expatinus : April 7, 2008 @ 10:09 pm
Who sang that? Very lekker words.
7 Apr 2008, 22:31 pm
Man, those days were great, but having all facets of life & persona nicely developed and in place beats that.
7 Apr 2008, 22:34 pm
Expat
You said it. Met die grysheid kom die wysheid.
Hopefully!! Hahaha. Nah, for sure.
7 Apr 2008, 22:36 pm
Jinx, I may and probably will doubt what I just said in about 5 minutes, but I do think indeed I’m accurate in my assessment
Met die grysheid kom die wysheid.
7 Apr 2008, 22:40 pm
Expat
I won’t judge you if you change your mind. hehehe…I understand. Hilarious stuff.
7 Apr 2008, 22:40 pm
Ai arme tannie, al sy wou doen is n lekker lopie saam haar man oor die Coetzenburg brug te vat, en toe kom die ou kaal slot en haar rigting heeltemaal deurmekaar gesmyt.
Well we come, we stay, we tarry, we grow old then we depart again, so goes the story JE, from babes, to young lovers, to struggling adults, then to old age and out, so gaat die ou storie, ne die selle vir almal min of meer.
7 Apr 2008, 22:41 pm
Expat
Tune me about # 107
7 Apr 2008, 22:44 pm
grysheid = wysheid?
Wie se so?
miskien die teenoorgestelde partykeer dink ek.
7 Apr 2008, 22:47 pm
Megadeth!
Also threw in a little Jethro Tull earlier, the intro for ‘Jacks-in-the-green’ from a live concert.
7 Apr 2008, 22:48 pm
Skop # 112
Doesn’t have to be struggling adults. That’s a choice. No, I defy that. I know my death, so I live even deeper and with a more potent octane petrol. No regrets and plenty laughs. To live and love full volume inspite of whatever suffering and sacrifice…I will not be downcast. Nah…the horse in my heart, the eagle in my heart, the wolf in my heart, the leopard in my heart knows me better than that.
On my last day on this Blue planet I dance…f#ck that…
7 Apr 2008, 22:49 pm
By baie mense is grysheid wysheid. Hulle struggle so baie om hulself te aanvaar, dat hulle weinig groei.
7 Apr 2008, 22:51 pm
should read: “By baie mense is grysheid nie ook wysheid”…….
7 Apr 2008, 22:52 pm
Sweating Bullets
Artist:Megadeth
Hindsight is always 20-20,
But looking back it’s still a bit fuzzy
That the one JE?
7 Apr 2008, 23:02 pm
Spot-on skopskiet. My words were a little off, my memory is fuzzy indeed!
7 Apr 2008, 23:02 pm
Jinx we can pretend all we like, this expedition to discovering who we are is no picnic on the shady slopes of Table Mountain.
This excursion into materialism is neither no joke, if we’re serious about the ultimate discovery or real busting loose the shackles of our bonding to everything that is fickle and fading, then we will become mindful that it is in fact a fight to the death, you will have to conquer it ultimately if you sincerely intend to live beyond such limitation.
You seen the matrix – its not that far fetched after all, just a little way off cue, but conditioning to illusion remains our fallacy.
7 Apr 2008, 23:03 pm
Expat # 118
Very true indeed. Grysheid is no gaurantee of wisdom. The eyes never lie.
There’s a Jewish Proverb that says: It’s a great boon to have died when you were younger.
Getting older is then a sweet journey. No fear of death and in fact a huge out pouring of love. There is much knowledge in death and it is only in accepting death or experiencing “death”…which is just change …that we can truly explode into the SO WHAT…I live forever in my spirit.
I give my death a Lunch Bar and a Tex choc everyday and say,”It may be today that I go but f#ck that I’m going to live from my marrow. I will be in gratitude.”
7 Apr 2008, 23:06 pm
You only start living, when you’re ready to die.
7 Apr 2008, 23:10 pm
I just got home from the DC stadium. Tried to get in at Tollies and Bohemian – no luck, the place is cooking. The damn students do not have any respect for wyse grys old students!?.
7 Apr 2008, 23:11 pm
Skop # 121
That is the only fight worth fighting. If you don’t crack and break your social image of yourself you will always be living the way of a slave. You have to break all the rules that keep you boxed in. You have to love that hard road because it does open your heart.
It’s a good day to die…
Its important to give death its due and then say…F#ck you. It’s sobriety.
7 Apr 2008, 23:16 pm
Like yourself, and never be afraid to make your name total ***. Have your ducks in a row with your loved ones. And, ALWAYS back yourself, if you don’t, why should anyone else?
And take care of the garden.
7 Apr 2008, 23:20 pm
jeez wats up with the pages here?
massive blank hole above the content…eish
7 Apr 2008, 23:20 pm
Guys I must go…It’s been a pleasure.
Expatinus you live in Cherokee country in North Carolina. Breathe deeply my brother.
Skopskiet…you live where the Khoi Khoi called this mountain “Goerikama”…Great Mountain at the water. Or “Gutais”…Veiled in Clouds.
Love da fire.
Must go…early start tomorrow.
Slap sag…
7 Apr 2008, 23:24 pm
Slaap sag…
7 Apr 2008, 23:24 pm
To know life is to overcome death, but we talk glibly of this battle royal, we think its like a walk in the park, believe me to die before death overtakes you is no picnic, but if anyone is sincere about getting to grips with who they are, its the only road open to that discovery.
We pretend we can stare death in the face and challenge her naked, those that can are really very rare and few and far between.
Its the ultimate sacrifice to die daily.
7 Apr 2008, 23:30 pm
My head is bloody, but unbowed.
I am the master of my fate;
I am the captain of my soul.
-W.E. Henley (1849-1903) – in Invictus
7 Apr 2008, 23:35 pm
You should have just picked a young princess Robzim and headed off towards the sunrise. Ask JE here grys is wys, even when they don’t want to recognize it.
7 Apr 2008, 23:39 pm
I hope that I am not gatecrashing this depro party
What’s up with all this serious talk. Live life
7 Apr 2008, 23:52 pm
anyone wanna discuss who the options are for AB wing now that joe is out for 3-4 months.
nz papers are talking up nonu, vanikola,tuitevake, masaga.
i think henry and co will also be looking at victor vito although he doesnt have the pace of positional game, but could be give opportunity against teams like england and ireland to see if he can crack it.
top of the pile for me in terms of pecking order should be:
tuitevake
anesi
masaga
vito
nonu
smith
vanikola
7 Apr 2008, 23:53 pm
tomsta
They must be missing old Doug Howlett and Luke MacAllister now
7 Apr 2008, 23:57 pm
Ag wat JL now and then us ol fogeys we just like to get closer to the grave cos we know its just past there where we fly through the butterfly’s wing.
We live that we might learn to love, we love that we might learn to live, no other lesson is required of man.
Do you know where you’re going to?
Do you like the things that life is showing you
Where are you going to?
Do you know?
Do you get
What you’re hoping for
When you look behind you
There’s no open door
What are you hoping for?
Do you know?
We just passing time here on this here blog site
But If I could save time in a bottle
The first thing that Id like to do
Is to save every day
Till eternity passes away
Nope not really
Just watching the river flow.
8 Apr 2008, 00:01 am
Just one Kiwi in that list Tomsta, the rest sound like Tongans or Fijians, NZ rugby is getting further and further away from home base, no more place for pakehas out on the wing, days of Kirwin and Cullen seem to be long time gone.
8 Apr 2008, 00:21 am
and rico gear, who imo was nz’s best winger for years only to be snubbed for the WC.
yep not many white fellas on the wings for AB’s these days.
the highlanders fullback would probably have been a prospect since he has all black blood, but nowadays the white guys dont seem explosive enough to be wingers in this modern game.
8 Apr 2008, 01:17 am
IG
you gotta fix this page mate. you are missing a lot of traffic with the page seeming to load as a blank.
8 Apr 2008, 01:23 am
Therlow Pieterson…hmmmmmmmmm.
I thought as much (check my post on the ‘underdog’ thread).
Well done Ikeys, it was close.
Congrats Maties.
8 Apr 2008, 02:29 am
Epi whats his name has just got 6 weeks for headbutting.
8 Apr 2008, 02:54 am
epi tioane*. that was a bloody stoopid thing to do so he deserves it.
8 Apr 2008, 03:16 am
Tomsta
From a SA view NZ should play John Afoa on the wing against Chavanga.
Seriously though, Masaga and Tuitevake were the better players this year so far.
8 Apr 2008, 03:21 am
SA Universities vs British Lions next year, would be great game!
Tomsta
Yes, Sharks won’t be getting a lot of mileage from their ‘Tioane investment’.
Waste of money…another players enjoying the Durban sunshine at their expense.
8 Apr 2008, 03:24 am
I am sure the Sharks lawyers are clever enough to include in his contract: No pay for stupid play.
8 Apr 2008, 03:26 am
Amerifikaner
ofoa looks like he will get the #3 jersey for aB’s so will probably be popping up on the wing anyway.
players who have done their time are tuitevake and wulf. i dont rate wulf as highly as tuitevake but will have to wait and see who henry goes for.
i was amazed that tuitevake wasnt brought into squad when AB’s were having so much trouble at 13. and then tuitevake did well at junior ABs.
there is also much talk now about victor vito taking the step. its going to get interesting now.
also cant see how they will look past anesi who has AB caps. masaga is good, but still way too undisciplined. in a test match he will get eaten alive.
8 Apr 2008, 03:28 am
pietman
how can sharks have AJ on bench when you have a nutter like epi around?
8 Apr 2008, 03:34 am
Tomsta
I suppose Henry is not above surprises, but Vito will be a big surprise. Maybe in one of the warm up games but certainly not in the Trinations. Anyway you don’t have a shortage on the wing (Nonu won’t let any side down and has the experience) like South Africa have in the flyhalf (#10)department.
8 Apr 2008, 03:35 am
I agree, Afoa has been the formed #3 this year in all of the Super14 teams. Very consistent performances games after game.
8 Apr 2008, 03:47 am
amerifikaner
im a saffa living in nz.
i dont think henry is comfortable with nonu. nonu is a serious headcase. he is very average on defence in one on one tackles and struggles to understand defensive lines. he is an absolute liability in a test match.
in fact you can bet on it that if nonu gets consistant selection the other test nations will be smiling at the prospect of scoring more tries against ABs.
i think vito mite just get tried out if henry can get titjens to release him.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All