Maties claim Varsity Cup
7 Apr 2008
A try in the final minute gave Stellenbosch a 16-10 win over UCT in the final of the inaugural Varsity Cup.
The match was as tight as the scoreboard suggests, with both teams making many errors and repeatedly turning over ball. The game was still an intense and entertaining affair played in front of an above capacity Danie Craven Stadium – there were even spectators watching from the forest above the the ground adding to the 17 000 inside.
The first half saw a player from each side being yellow carded. Firstly UCT prop Herbert Mayosi spent 10 minutes in the sin bin for foul play, and this cost his team three points as Maties wing Henoe Stoffberg kicked the opening penalty of the final. Stellenbosch centre Sarel Potgieter was also sin-binned, this time for offside, and UCT responded with a try from wing Marcello Sampson. Stoffberg kicked another penalty to give Maties a 6-5 lead going into the break.
The opening half an hour of the second stanza remained scoreless, but a Mathew Turner try 10 minutes from time gave what seemed the killer blow to Ikeys as they regained the lead 10-6. The drama was far from over: Maties thought they had scored the try to reclaim the advantage on the scoreboard, but UCT captain JJ Gagiano used his team’s white card for the half. This new innovation allows teams to challenge the referee’s decision, and the TMO decided the try should be disallowed. Maties kept pressurising, and flyhalf Ricardo Croy was rewarded with a drop-kick to narrow the gap to one point.
Maties fullback Joe Pietersen knocked the ball over the try-line, and it seemed the night was not to be the home side’s. However with the next phase of play the ball was spread wide to wing Morne Jooste who scored in the corner, while Stoffberg converted to rub salt into Ikey wounds.
*The Ikey Colts beat Dagbreek Koshuis 17-15 in the curtain-raiser.
Maties - Try: Morne Jooste. Conversion: Henoe Stoffberg. Penalties: Stoffberg (2). Drop-goal: Ricardo Croy.
Ikeys - Tries: Marcello Sampson, Mathew Turner.
By Grant Ball

246 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All
8 Apr 2008, 03:54 am
#137 — Cullen played for NZ Maori, so he’s a Maori too.
8 Apr 2008, 04:03 am
I have not seen Vito played yet. I see on the Internet he is a flanker, but they also talk about him as the new Lomu. At 6ft3in and 109Kg he will be something to stop on the wing. But them Lumo never scored against SA. Defense swarmed him like bees.
8 Apr 2008, 04:28 am
tomsta – my AB backline?
9. leonard
10. carter
12. – ?? brett??
13. smith
11. sivi
14. mils
15. old macdonald
ellis evans nonu on bench. maybe even evans for brett at 12.
a back 3 of sivi, mils and macdonald would be devastating under ELV’s as their positional play, counter attacking and tactical kicking would be unrivalled given both wingers have played 15 plenty.
AB’s have no worries in the backline. it is their tight 5 that looks a bit weak to me, and where PDV must target them.
8 Apr 2008, 04:40 am
hey tickles – i found this on another thread and seeing as you’ve decided to pop in….
“Easy peasy lemon squeezy. The Black Wave just rolls on.
Be afraid, pilgrims. Be very afraid.
Comment by TheTackler : September 8, 2007 @ 4:30 pm ”
“Relying on the cliche of “on the day anything can happen” smacks of desperation and wishful thinking.
The thing that will happen on the day is that the best team wins. And the best team wears all black.
Comment by TheTackler : September 8, 2007 @ 5:51 pm ”
When New Zealand beat Portugal 108-13…
“Come on! The target was to post 100 points. Who cares about the other side of the scoreboard?
Target achieved.
The anchovies were duly eaten.
Comment by TheTackler : September 15, 2007 @ 11:41 pm ”
“The Porras were howling because the ABs were squeeshing dere tomatsh an vegetablsh.
Comment by TheTackler : September 16, 2007 @ 1:17 am”
When the All Blacks beat the Scots 40-0…
“It’s 40 to zip. That’s a very, very big score, pilgrims! Bigger than the 33-6 hiding the Boks copped in NZ a few months ago where the ABs clinched all the annual 3N silverware yet again.
No, it’s not perfect, but it’ll do.
Comment by TheTackler : September 23, 2007 @ 11:28 pm”
“And the Kiwis also beat the **** and the Yarps to with the WHOLE show in 2011 to defend their title at home!
Comment by TheTackler : September 24, 2007 @ 7:35 am”
And of course on that fateful night of 6 October 2008, when the All Blacks lost 20-18 to France:
(By the way, that thread ended up containing more than a few thousand posts)
Oh, and most of the posts were while the game was still carrying on:
“It’s a knockout game. All you need to do is win by one point. That’s convincing enough for anyone.
Comment by TheTackler : October 6, 2007 @ 9:53 pm”
“To be worthy RWC winners you first have to win the final. Fair and square. No poisonings.
And even a one point victory will do.
Comment by TheTackler : October 6, 2007 @ 10:00 pm”
“Ridiculous yellow card. McAlister was contesting for the falling ball and not “cynically obstructing”.
Comment by TheTackler : October 6, 2007 @ 10:08 pm”
“He turned around to get squarely under the floating ball and it’s perfectly legitimate to do so. The Frenchman ran into him as he held his line. Ridiculous yellow. Wayne Barnes, the ref, is inexperienced and his touchies —incl. Kaplan — are giving him no assistance.
Comment by TheTackler : October 6, 2007 @ 10:14 pm ”
“It’s a knockout game, pilgrims! A one-point win will do. Pool play is the time for those big fancy blow-out scores. Knock-out rugby doesn’t require that.
Just one point. That’s all.
Comment by TheTackler : October 6, 2007 @ 10:31 pm ”
It’s only the quarters, pilgrims! No need to roll out the heaviest artillery yet. Save it for later. A one-point win will be good enough.
Comment by TheTackler : October 5, 2007 @ 2:12 am
Graham Henry can select horses for courses because he’s been shuffling his rotation-squad around for four years already. He KNOWS who’s the best horse for any given course.
He’s not picking some impact-playing greenhorn out of nowhere and hoping he can dream up something new like a brace of long-range droppies and be a hero, and then having him crash and burn a week later in the Currie Cup final back to being a zero. And then trying to pretend that this bolter has all along been a KEY part of his all-or-nothing four-year RWC plan.
Jake’s ad libbing. He makes things up from week to week. There’s nothing even faintly resembling a carefully-sculpted four-year plan.
That’s why he’ll go home without any silverware, as usual.
Comment by TheTackler : October 5, 2007 @ 12:42 am
You’ve got THREE games to win in order to claim the Billy Ellis Mug. You can’t play your number one team for all three games because the intensity of it will mean that by Game Three the BIG one of your players will be injured, niggly, burnt-out or mentally past their peak.
So you have to box clever.
You must save your squad so that they collectively hit their peak for Game Three (the RWC final).
There’s no experimentation with combinations left any longer. That time is long over.
Now it’s all about the optimal rotational use of the 30-man squad for WINNING three crucial games in three consecutive weekends, but saving your very best for that last 20 minutes of the last game. Each of the three knockout games can be satisfactorily won by even one solitary point. Margins of victory and match statistics are now quite meaningless. Only victory matters. By only one point and as ugly as sin will do just fine.
Graham Henry has planned it all very thoroughly.
Jake White hasn’t.
Comment by TheTackler : October 2, 2007 @ 11:26 pm
The French aren’t playing good rugby and they haven’t been doing so for an awfully long time.
France are complete rubbish.
Comment by TheTackler : October 3, 2007 @ 4:37 am
Well, they’re NOT going out in the quarters. Or the semis. Or the final.
So McCaw’s team will be defined as Winners RWC2007?.
Comment by TheTackler : October 3, 2007 @ 5:14 am
A true champion makes EVERY test matter.
Comment by TheTackler : October 3, 2007 @ 5:30 am
NZ doesn’t send weak teams up north and get beaten. The send a strong squad, make 10 changes from one week to the next and still win everything.
Get your facts right.
Comment by TheTackler : October 3, 2007 @ 10:03 am
Last year the ABs were beaten (once, away, by one point, in a dead rubber). That wasn’t their peak.
This year they’re unbeaten.
This is their peaking year.
Be afraid. Be very afraid.
Comment by TheTackler : October 3, 2007 @ 11:16 am
France to lose by 30+ yet again. ABs might even put 50 on the scoreboard against them unless it’s rainy.
Comment by TheTackler : October 1, 2007 @ 1:40 am
poilt for choice. And ALL of these possible combinations have, in the last two years, actually played test rugby against one or more of the Top Six nations and not just a risk-free hit-out against a minnow.
Graham Henry’s brilliant rotation policy. THAT is what proper planning is about. (And Henry’s risk-taking didn’t involve getting plenty of defeats to learn what works and what doesn’t and to wreck the ABs proud win-loss ledger!
Comment by TheTackler : September 28, 2007 @ 7:45 am
No, they won’t miss Carter. The Frogs are so absolutely awful the ABs could even pull old Grant Fox off the commentators’ bench and he’ll get the job done.
Comment by TheTackler : September 29, 2007 @ 4:40 am
And the Kiwis also beat the **** and the Yarps to with the WHOLE show in 2011 to defend their title at home!
Comment by TheTackler : September 24, 2007 @ 7:35 am
Well, that’s NOT going to happen because (guess what?) the Webb-Ellis cup with that silly little pineapple on top is coming home to NZ 4 more years of bragging rights!
Comment by TheTackler : September 22, 2007 @ 11:59 am
France has about as much chance of beating NZ as what Pope Benedict has of fathering a child with Margaret Thatcher.
Comment by TheTackler : September 19, 2007 @ 10:18 am
NZ will win.
The cup.
That’s it.
Comment by TheTackler : September 19, 2007 @ 12:37 pm
Facts are facts. No point in egg-dancing around it, hey?
The ABs WILL win the cup.
End of story.
Comment by TheTackler : September 19, 2007 @ 12:41 pm
8 Apr 2008, 04:45 am
More boys
Munki
Pls remember he originally is one of yours !
Wow – talk about twisting the knife
8 Apr 2008, 04:49 am
munki
with the elvs you have a point about selecting a back 3 capable of good positional play.
i think i still prefer this lineup in terms of ability and strategy for them.
9 leonard
10 evans
11 siti
12 carter
13 smith
14 tuitevake
15 mils
bench
ellis
toeavo
mcdonald
8 Apr 2008, 04:51 am
munki those posts by tackler are hilarious
8 Apr 2008, 04:54 am
howzit RP
8 Apr 2008, 05:03 am
Good enough I suppose … I dropped 1 spot on the weekend with some dodgy picks … only solace was a lot you must have made even worse choices than me
Daylight saving is finished there now – right ?
& you ?
8 Apr 2008, 05:05 am
R_P – there was a story on the radio the other day about a south african, who now lives in NZ who holds something like 30 world records.
having done things like – breaking the most cucmbers in one minute and other randonly stupid things. what chances this person is tackler?
the reason i think it must be him is because the DJ’s thought it was terrible NZ immigration had let this guy into NZ, and that he should have stayed in SA to avoid any embarrasing links to his new country. sound familiar?
8 Apr 2008, 05:07 am
tomsta – i like your backline too. not convinced on tuitevake, although saw an interview with him and he seems like a nice humble kid so good luck to him.
also – how can you leave macdonald on the bench – in a tight test match he is very important, and his play at the back for crusaders this season is incrtedible. his positional play and kicking is killing the opposition
8 Apr 2008, 05:09 am
yeah tomsta – i think we need to hang onto them, so whenever he pops up we can just remind him of what he tool he can be when the inspiration takes him.
8 Apr 2008, 05:20 am
Munki
You could be right … Clearly standards have dropped in recent years… Once upon a time we had high standards & you Saffas had to marry your way in !
At least he was described as a Saffa residing in NZ
8 Apr 2008, 05:21 am
RP daylight saving has happened now. its dark so early now
munki
i played against tuitevake at school level. the kid was sensational then too. ive met him a bunch of times while out on the town. he is a good guy. not just humble but respectable unlike many other sportstars.
i rate his attacking game, and his defense is solid. has huge x factor.
in terms of mcdonald, well his nickname does it for me, Panadol. the dude is always getting smashed out. his play is quite consistent but at test level he seems to crack most times. under the happy go lucky crusader brand he fairs well but in test matches i dont think he copes too well.
mils was the best 15 around till henry started messing him around.
8 Apr 2008, 05:26 am
with the FTA with china you can bet on a heap more ‘tourists/immigrants’ coming from there in the next decade.
8 Apr 2008, 05:26 am
Boys
At least Tackler is still around
But you remember St.Michael, and his predictions about the Poms taking the WC again?
He has disappeared completely!
Talking about ‘missing bloggers’, how about the following/:
X-kreniWP
Blouballas
Jurgens
Bluebarb
Doosdiefdrieduisend
loftus
blueboy
yebo
Handbagslasher
Bluehippo
Bluezippo
Only gerber13 stuck it out, together with Kwagga, Cuzzy, AB, GBS, superBul, Supa, Staal and Steyn.
8 Apr 2008, 05:28 am
Dagse almal!
8 Apr 2008, 05:30 am
Howzit Pete, krapping ou koeie uit die sloot today I see. A few we can survive without Pete…
And superBul is one game away from packing it in too!
8 Apr 2008, 05:30 am
Tomsta
Yes, sister was moaning no more motorcycle rides after work around Mt Maunganui … Some people have it tough eh ? She does not do well in the winter … something to do with a reptilian circulatory system I think
8 Apr 2008, 05:32 am
what ever happended to the *** bulls fan named stan? or did he morph into twaticus?
as for st michel he only ever popped in from time to time. in fact a lot of people have gone missing, or i just dont really read them now i post in nz time zone not UK.
yeah R_P i did it the easy way – marrying in. only thing is i never knew how lucky i was… ha ha. nice place to live for a while i reckon.
8 Apr 2008, 05:32 am
Whats happening with keo, the top of the page looks a little like the Kalahari, miles and miles of f-all!
8 Apr 2008, 05:33 am
More Koos
Ja, die ouens kom en gaan, soos die gety draai!!!
Daar was n paar wilde ouens op die blou golf verlede jaar hierdie tyd.
8 Apr 2008, 05:34 am
munki
Old Tacitus still makes the odd appearance…
8 Apr 2008, 05:36 am
Koos
Yes, I have noticed the page has gone ‘topless’.
8 Apr 2008, 05:36 am
yeah koos
i mentioned that earlier and nothing has happened????
RP
yep, ive gotten used to going for a run after work now with the sun pretty much over the waitaks when i get home, its pretty much gloom and doom winter season in akl.
blimming missus wanted the ‘ultra’ thick duvet inner on last nite. vek was it hot or wat. its still bloody 20deg at night.
8 Apr 2008, 05:49 am
ja last night was very warm. the cold of winter is a long way off still tomsta. just a bit chillier in the mornings and darker in the evenings but the water is still warm and we wont be skiing for months yet.
8 Apr 2008, 05:51 am
More Koos & Piet
Tomsta
I used to wander along the waterfront around Kohi at sunset – really nice, good for the soul.
I am the opposite – cannot bear blankets at all, even in winter. Here you can buy a half & half quilt – solves problems like that
8 Apr 2008, 05:56 am
RP
you have just brought back memories of my last flat. have just left kohi. was exactly 22seconds from front door to beach. spent many many afternoons running/walking the tamaki drive with sunnies on. the eye candy in summer is quality…esp the volleyball girls
heck where can i get a half and half quilt, that would solve things. its just too warm at night.
munki
bro, im planning hard to get some snow in this year. missed out last year, thankfully it wasnt a good season. but this year it looks to be on like donkey kong.
8 Apr 2008, 05:58 am
keo gone topless
can’t think of a quicker way to get rid of bloggers!
Ultra thick Tomsta, hehe one of those girls that weigh the blankets to work out if it will be warm enough?
Tell you what, a few years in the tropics and suddenly we get cold when the temp goes below 20!!! I think I will die in NZ…
8 Apr 2008, 05:59 am
Tomsta
Yes, Tamaki Drive is a terrible way to spend a late afternoon & all those places to stop in at for a chilled “something something” … ssiigghh 8)
8 Apr 2008, 06:01 am
Morning guys and girls!
To find my Bulls mates these days is like trying to find a Nat supporter!
8 Apr 2008, 06:10 am
Koos
You need to be at Carrisbrook when it is sleeting
More AB
8 Apr 2008, 06:10 am
Is it the smell or the team that gets me ignored this morning?
8 Apr 2008, 06:11 am
i got 2 weekends at whakapapa last year and was surprised at how good it was – especially the second time when base layer was over 2m. went to Qtown on business last week and itching to get there one winter. it wont be this one though given our 1st child is only 6 months old and the missus does not like snow.
sure ruapehu can be dodgy – and the queues were not exactly short, but considering you can pop down for the weekend i cant complain. i’ve long dreamed about having a ski field in driving distance.
8 Apr 2008, 06:11 am
Hoe gaan dit daar Princess?
8 Apr 2008, 06:12 am
koos
from memory i found the cape winter harsher than what we get in auckland. the storms for sure in the cape were hardcore delivered straight from antarctica, where as auckland seems to have the tropical storm twist to things.
to compare. in winter at school in CT id have a blazer on over a long white shirt, with long pants and shoes. where as in akl i was wearing short sleeve golf shirt with shorts and jandals
RP
i bet not much has changed on the mission bay strip past kohi to st helliers, its still packed with cafes, bars and restaurants..and yes the traffic is still ridiculous daily.
8 Apr 2008, 06:15 am
munki
you hit up snowplanet during that long summer stretch yet? did it in january with a bit of the new luge. was a solid day.
ive yet to do queenstown too. but expense wise it starts to take its toll with accomodation down their.
ruapehu does the trick. im keen to see this new 6 seater lift in operation.
8 Apr 2008, 06:16 am
More AB, no the smell is fine…you get use to it after a while
8 Apr 2008, 06:17 am
Morning all.
It’s getting a bit nippy in the mornings now in Pta,the season is turning
8 Apr 2008, 06:18 am
Harare – Zimbabwean police said on Monday they had arrested seven election officials for undercounting votes cast for President Robert Mugabe in the March 29 presidential poll.
“There are seven people who have been arrested in connection with irregularities in the presidential poll,” police spokesperson Wayne Bvudzijena said.
“We’re still investigating, but we have established that there was deflation of figures in respect of one candidate … the Zanu-PF presidential candidate (Mugabe),” Bvudzijena said.
Now can someone explain how the government can have access to the ballots casted? I thought it should be impartial! This arsehole will do anything to stay in power!
8 Apr 2008, 06:18 am
Munki
Try the other side of the mountain – Turoa, it used to be quieter.
AB
It is going well … Think I am changing jobs … Will keep me on my toes for a while
Tomsta
Park & stroll, or better yet, come in by boat 8)
8 Apr 2008, 06:21 am
was waiting for something to happen. mugabe was never going to go down without a fight.
what next, a complete recount by his officials?
8 Apr 2008, 06:21 am
was waiting for something to happen. mugabe was never going to go down without a fight.
what next, a complete recount by his officials?
8 Apr 2008, 06:26 am
sorry for double post. itchy trigger finger…when there is mention of mugabe hahahaha.
Turoa is pretty good. still gets ridiculously busy now. is probably the prefered side for boarders as its wider.
RP
was having breaky at cafe kohi one sunday, and watched a boat drive out up the boat ramp and down the road. ordered another drink after that.
8 Apr 2008, 06:34 am
It is Africa after all Tomsta, you know they keep on counting till the right party wins…
8 Apr 2008, 06:38 am
koos
we all know it. mugabe is still running the show, and will run it till someone takes him out.
the zimbos ive met, wow some absolute horror stories…thanks to mugabe.
8 Apr 2008, 06:42 am
i was so positive for zim at first, but despair is creeping in that he wont give in, and africa and the west wonmt do anything to stop him.
if only zim had oil instead of tobacco. bush would have been in there ages ago. saddam was a saint compared to this regime.
8 Apr 2008, 06:43 am
R_P want to try turoa – i believe it is mroe boarder firendly but was led astray by the people i taged along with. still need to make some boarding mates here.
8 Apr 2008, 06:45 am
cheers folks. outta here
8 Apr 2008, 06:46 am
Tomsta
Sounds like you should have switched to a medicinal “something something”
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All