Kankowski to burn off Bok bench

Gary Teichmann believes red hot Sharks eighthman Ryan Kankowski can make his biggest impact off the bench for the Springboks.

Teichmann, a former Springbok captain and Sharks eighthman, was unreserved in his praise of Kankowski, who has been outstanding in the Super 14 to date. His intercept try against the Highlanders shifted momentum in his side’s favour. The Sharks have relied heavily on these moments of brilliance from the 22-year-old to galvanise them in flat periods.

Kankowski debuted for the Springboks in the year-end Test against Wales in 2007 and his current form certainly warrants inclusion in Peter de Villiers’ first squad, due to be named at the conclusion of the Super 14.

However, there will be no easy passage to Test rugby for Kankowski, who will go head to head with in-form Bulls eighthman, Pierre Spies. Spies only recently returned from injury after an eight-month illness layoff. However, such was his performance in his return match against the Blues in Round 7 that it prompted legendary All Black turned commentator, Murray Mexted, to wonder aloud whether ‘the kid has grown an extra lung in his time out’.

‘Ryan has been outstanding and has been one of the few players in the [Sharks] side to make a big impact this season,’ Teichmann told keo.co.za.

‘His primary threat has been in general play where he’s broken the line on numerous occasions and that’s something that’s been a rarity for the Sharks. At this stage not even New Zealand has an eighthman who has been quite as dynamic as him.’

‘Even so, I think Spies probably still has the inside lane in terms of [Springbok] selection because he has experience at Test level, and also given the composition of the back row De Villiers is likely to go with, he [Spies] will probably be his man.’

‘But depending on the strengths and weaknesses of the opposition, the two of them could be interchanged. Spies wouldn’t be out of place at blindside flank either in which case we could possibly field both of them. We’re blessed with so many quality options in the loose forwards.’

‘But I think Ryan will probably be used to make an impact off the bench, which is not a terrible thing. Not many countries can boast an impact player of Ryan’s quality.’

Asked whether Kankowski was the ideal eighthman under the ELVs – where his pace, ball skills and ability to read the game is invaluable – Teichmann agreed conditionally.

‘It depends what the composition of the back row is,’ he said. ‘When you have someone playing tighter allowing him to play a looser role then he certainly is the ultimate eighthman with the ELVs in place.’

Teichmann attributes a large part of Kankowski’s success to forward coach John Plumtree’s influence. He pointed to the New Zealander’s philosophies about attacking space and looking to offload, rather than simply trying to smash into the defender and going to ground.

‘Mentally New Zealanders are very strong,’ he added. ‘Your second season is always more difficult than the first because the opposition have had an opportunity to analyse your strengths and weaknesses. But John would have helped Ryan make the adjustment mentally and tactically which is massive factor in what looked a relatively easy transition between his rookie year and his second season.’

‘He’s an unbelievable talent and if managed correctly he could go on to be a player that dominates on the Test stage.’

76 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.stew: Reply to this comment

I believe that the team playing at the WC , with the same coach , same momentum could beat the ABs at the House of Pain ……… it will be difficult for Devillers but not impossible – they just need belief.

• 52.katman: Reply to this comment

I really feel sorry for Joe van Niekerk, but even more so for Willem Alberts. Playing for the Lions this year just won’t get you noticed, regardless of your talent. And Alberts is such a talented 8thman. But he’s behind a Bok in the Lions pecking order. And neither of them are likely to feature on De Villiers’s Bok radar.

Last year Rassie tried to sign Alberts. This could have meant a starting spot for the big lad (I think he’s better than Watson and Diack), but now he’s really battling to make a name for himself. When he comes on in the second half he invariably plays a blinder, but in a team that routinely gets fucked seven ways from Sunday.

Depressing.

• 53.voshd: Reply to this comment

Spies is physically outstanding and great with ball in hand when his pack is on top. Sa has loads of players like that. But it is true that the **** erotic worship of him at Loftus is hype.

A good number 8 is also good when the going gets tough, in fact, that is probably the deciding factor.

Teichman was an outstanding exponent of beligerence. Unlike Spies, Teichman also played with intelligence. Spies is just not that bright.

I would put Jean Smith at 8.

• 54.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

i tell you one thing, pedrie and danie’s days as springbok loose forwards are over. maybe danie can still play lock.

• 55.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

I don’t believe Spies is the super athlete as hyped by the Loftus crowd. Speed, size and strength are only part of a running rugby players arsenal. The 4th overlooked and equally important characteristic is balance. Kanko, Skinstad (before the knees went) and Kamamba all have (had) great balance. Watson uses watermelons to achieve his balance and look at him go. Spies still needs work.

• 56.Subliminal: Reply to this comment

According to this article Pierre is injured.

• 57.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

You knobjockeys should start thinking of 22 men in the side… it hasn’t been 15 man rugby for years…

22man 85min rugby… the complete team… the bench being just as important…

• 58.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

goodstuff – I agree with you about Smith. Could be the next Bok captain if his english wasn’t so delicious. I have only seen the highlights of the S14 this year, sky in the uk is far too expensive and you inhereit too much junk pgms. I am just hoping that the Bok players in the Bulls camp are just in a horrible situation with a below par coach and are just unhappy, otherwise we have 13 Boks who have just gone bye bye this year! But the Sharks sound solid and are just doing enuff to win their games, very clever i think. However the stormers to me sound like the most exciting team in SA currently which i put down to a great coach, Rassie!!

• 59.mongrel: Reply to this comment

The problem with forwards stems from the fact that they a: play for themselves, b: they are paid complements and money for how many yards they make c: they are not prepared or coached to offload d: quick recycle is not in their vocabulary and e: the current crop of boks were selected for the rwc games against European teams.

Its not the elvs, sa teams got there asses handed to they as long as the superrugby is in existence and now we understand why the bulls won last year. This is not school boy or varsity rugby when every year you have the next best thing to god tearing up the pitch.

Most successful loose trio currently is rodders colins and mccaw. I base this on the fact that they have consistently held down the job in a country that traditionally produces the best loose forwards. Each have specific jobs, which complement each other and each knows exactly where the other is at any given situation on the field – attack or defense.

This ethic is reiterated among the forwards and the backs. Kiwis also like to play forwards against backs and vice visa, but not just by having forwards loitering in the backline, but by defensive and attacking lineups from the breakdown – this also means that forwards don’t cover so much ground across field.

The elvs have hurt sa rugby because they have not concentrated on attack from set plays (lineouts and scrums). This means that the main weapon of attack is the up and under because they cannot pass back into the 22, chasing has been poor and kiwi counter attacks have been lethal. So even if they dominate the set pieces sa teams k@k off.

So getting back to the point: juan is the most effective sa loosie (blindside) , I would start kanko at 8 and play someone like wikus openside, maybe. Burger is big and hard, hits the rucks first but lands on his *** most times, never stands up and to turn over ball. If you play kanko then neither joe or luke will feature, too many flash players when you need hard grafters.

I would look to spies, pakslae, bakkies, whoever, to do the hard yards, like a Nathan sharpe. Loosies must have brains and durability.

Mongrel out

oh – jake has had his shot at the abs, the rwc medals around their necks will only make it harder to win in kiwi land.

• 60.pierre: Reply to this comment

I agree with saffa. There is a huge disjuncture between Spies’ hype and his actual performances. He often still appears to be a wing trying to acclimatise to the role of a loose forward. Murray Mexted and Tacitus may think Spies is WonderBoy, but then Murray constantly talks garbage, and Tacitus wishes Spies was his husband.

At the moment, Spies is (or should be) behind Kanko, Vermeulen and Big Joe in the pecking order, and that’s not even considering the incumbent who everyone seems so eager to discard despite the fact that he possibly secured the World Cup with his tackle on Mark Cueto.

• 61.Joejoe: Reply to this comment

Vermeulen the best by a country mile at present. Spies, apart from that first game has been quiet.

• 62.AAA: Reply to this comment

Good afternoon manne!

At last something me and Saffa agree on – Spies is a bit overrated! Don’t get me wrong, he has what it takes to become a rugby great, but still work to be done.

JoeJoe is 100% correct, Vermeulen is at present the best by far. Van niekerk also looking good.

As for inside center, I thought Meyer Bosman looked pretty sharp lately! Had an excellent 2007 CC as well. But will he be Bok again, I am not sure.

• 63.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Look Scalla and Juan must be there.

At No 8 is where the debate starts. My mind says that you want to look at a guy that compliments Scalla and Juan the best.

This is a hard one. Pierre Spies in a winning Bulls team has been sensational. However, I still dont like him being bumped off easily in the tackle situation and I have seen this several times. And while I’m talking about the Bulls, in my view, Pakslae’s days are numbered in the Bok jersey.

With Kanko and this new boy Duane Vermeulen, both athletic and strong, these 3 (and Pierre) should be battling it out for top honours. At the moment Kanko slightly ahead with Duane 2nd but Spies should get better in the 2nd half of the Super 14.

Then I want to add another twist. Robbie Diack should actually be No 8 for Stormers. Watson probably gets the nod based on his game reading and linking skills. But Diack more the classic mould of a No 8. My guess is that he started taking things for granted as it seemed so easy in 2006. In 2007 he started doubting himself and in 2008 he is slowly but surely (when he gets a chance) getting back to where he should be. But I have faith in this boy.
    As a strategy he should look to playing under the proverbial blanket with Scalla and Louw. I want to see more interplay between 6,7 and 8. When this happens the Stormers will be invincible (but they will have to restrict Bobo’s role to defence)

• 64.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Duane Vermeulen and Tino junior are very similer

not long ago..everyone was saying similer things about a J’burg boy nick named ‘Big Joe’

• 65.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

I don’t think No8 is our problem. We can choose one of 4 and any one of those picks would work. The other parts of the back 3 pick themselves. The bench is a little more interesting but we are spoilt for options there as well.
    We should be concentrating our minds on our halfback combinations(run-on and replacement) and the No12 to partner JF. The rest of the team debatably picks itself. If PdV gets a decent halfback pairing to start, we have half the battle won in IMveryHO.

• 66.cane: Reply to this comment

Mongrel, #59.

Good Post.

• 67.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Spies is by far a more gifted athlete then Kankow, he just needs to leave the loser Bulls, maby move to the Stormers, a speedy no 8 would be awsome. Rassie will help improve him, rather then those idiots at loftus.

• 68.grunk: Reply to this comment

Spies was nowhere to be seen in a beaten team.
    Vermeulen is always seen in any team both in open and ruck situations.
    Kankowski likewise has plenty of visibility but doesn’t appear to get too involved in digging into the rucks/protection situations.
    Joe looks good in the more open phases.
    Luke is probably the best thinker and has the best rugby brain of the lot.
    (Why can’t we clone a Vermeulen/Watson breed?).

• 69.TheArchitect: Reply to this comment

Kankowski is an amazing player with all the attributes to be a legend, but he must not be rushed. It would be best to let him gain experience off the bench. These young stars need to be nurtured.

In test rugby you are not afforded the same space as in the super 14. He will not simply run through gaps as easily in international rugby. As a number 8, he needs another year to learn how to play a tighter game as it will be required at the top level where space is at a minimum.

• 70.Mzila: Reply to this comment

kankowski is sheer brilliance i admit he deserves a look into as a possible bok 8th man legend, dont let this one escape SARugby. We need young talented players like Him, oh and Luke Watson ( His rugby speaks for him – brilliant brilliant brilliant)

• 71.OCO: Reply to this comment

Have to agree with the sentiments of Pietman et al.
    SInce coming back from injury Spies has been nothing more than average – and I’ve been paying particular attention to him because of all the hype.

Kanko is os far ahead of the rest it’s frightening should he get injured.
    Joe is second best behind Kanko. Spies doesn’t even come into the reckoning. IMO.

• 72.OCO: Reply to this comment

P.S. If you read the article correctly it does not say that Teich thinks Spies is the inform player. This seems to be Ryan’s statement.
    All that Teich appears to have said is that Kanko would be best off the woodwork.
    Teich said that Spies has the inside track “because he has more experience at test level” – not because he is a better or ‘inform’ player – in particular the later statement is very far from the truth.

• 73.CHAZ: Reply to this comment

Stew, keep smoking the weed jappie, your great WC SAFFA’s got blitzed by the BABA’s didn’t they???

• 74.princess: Reply to this comment

Spies has played a few games afetr a long long lay off – how can be rated the form no 8 at this stage ???? No doubting he is a good player but certainly don’t think he is the no 1 at the moment

• 75.Grey Boytjie: Reply to this comment

Kankowski is our man at no8, no question about it. Spies will return to his best in due time, and Vermeulen is a good prospect too, but for this year Kankowski should, if fairness prevails, get the nod at no8. Watson should never again play Springboks, I don’t care what Stormers supporters may think. The okes don’t want him in the team, he didn’t even get initiated and when he’s around there’s a kak vibe in the squad.

• 76.CRAZY-Shark: Reply to this comment

Hey guys!

Ryan Kankowski is a BISCUIT!
    :-D
    We have uploaded a quality desktop wallpaper of the main man Ryan Kankowski on our site! Click on my nick to find the download.

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.