Matfield D-Day looms

Victor Matfield will decide this week whether to return to the Bulls or stay with French second division club Toulon.

Matfield, widely regarded as the world’s best lock, joined big spending Toulon in December 2007 on a multi-million rand deal. He does, however, have a clause in his contract that allows him to reassess his position after six months.

In a recent interview with SA Rugby magazine Matfield hinted strongly that he would like to return to play for the Bulls, but said his earning potential and being able to spend more time with his family was the appealing thing about staying in the southern French city.

“Two or three seasons here would set me up for life financially and being able to see [his wife] Monja and [daughter] Jaime everyday is something I’m loving,” he said.

“[But] I think I made the move to France two years to early. The decision to come here was based on the fact that I believed I had two years of international rugby left in me. In my mind the Lions tour in 2009 was going to be my final series, so I decided that it would be good to finish by experiencing a different rugby culture and be paid handsomely for it in the process. Then, after the World Cup, I felt great, and at this stage I want to play for another four years, with the World Cup in New Zealand the obvious target. If I want to realise that goal I need to be playing my rugby in South Africa.

Asked whether the incessant pressure he was under in South Africa wouldn’t deter him from coming home Matfield said: “You’d think that I grew tired of it, but I really miss the pressure for some strange reason.

“To test yourself against the world’s best players weekly is a privilege, and something that I miss terribly. Toulon is a great club and I‘m still dead set on playing my part in getting us into the Top 14. They’ve been very good to me, and for that I’ll be eternally grateful. But the Bulls have a special place in my heart. I miss what we’ve built up over the last eight years. The majority of that squad went through hell in the early 2000s in the (then) Super 12. We came through that together, and won the competition last year. So there’s a strong bond between the guys.

“If I can get stuff sorted out with Toulon and back in South Africa I’ll probably be coming home.”

Last year, South Africa lost a host of World Cup winning Springboks to lucrative contracts with European clubs and there are currently 93 other South Africans playing in the Premiership, French Top 14 and Frennch Pro 2 Division. Matfield said players who sign to play in Europe have to be clear in their motivation.

“If they’re coming here for the retirement package and more time with their families, there really isn’t a better place than France, Toulon in particular. But if they still have ambitions to achieve something in South Africa, those “what if” questions will always be there. Those questions have haunted me a lot since I‘ve been here.”

Toulon are known to be very reluctant to release their star signing, hoping that he will be their trump card if they gain promotion to the Top 14 – which now looks likely with them seven points clear at the top of the table with six rounds remaining. It would not be surprising if millionaire club president Mourad Boudjellal offered to improve Matfield’s current deal to retain his services.

Boudjellal told SA Rugby Magazine that he envisages creating a team of stars who are able to compete for the title in their first year in the Top 14. Toulon, who are coached by Tana Umaga, already boast players of the calibre of George Gregan, Anton Oliver and Andrew Mehrtens. Last year they attempted to sign Schalk Burger and Jerry Collins but were rejected, while an approach was made to Bulls Super 14 winning coach Heyneke Meyer. Most recently they’ve been linked with Dan Carter, although French giants Toulouse look favourites to land the All Black flyhalf.

Matfield’s Springbok lock partner Bakkies Botha recently expressed his desire to move join Matfield at Toulon. Boudjellal told keo.co.za that he had signed a pre-contract agreement, committing himself to the club from 1 April 2008. However, the Bulls refused to release Botha, who last year signed a four year extension to his existing Bulls contract.

301 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 1.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

I don’t think he’s coming back. he’s making anough money that side. He will maybe come and play a year in south africa again and than retire from rugby. He will never get the kind of money he’s getting overseas.

• 2.bighead: Reply to this comment

Come home Dragon!!!!

• 3.eight ball: Reply to this comment

Why on earth would he come back to be coached by the loser Frans?

• 4.Alicamousa: Reply to this comment

I think the Toulon money will be too good to refuse. Their promotion looks certain now so it would be back to the French Top division, but obviously not the Heineken Cup for 2008/09.

Planet Rugby are reporting that Northampton are after him too. Same thing there, promoted to Premiership, no Heineken Cup.

• 5.st.a.t.w: Reply to this comment

if he is comes back he should go play for a team besides the bulls

• 6.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Maybe he’s coming to coach the Bulls for next year. One never know’s what can happen

• 7.Snoek: Reply to this comment

No loadshedding in france, he is better off. Although he might be able to afford a big generator.

• 8.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Come back Big Vic………. the Bulls & Bokke need you here, firing on all cylinders…..

• 9.kwensie: Reply to this comment

One of the Bulls weak points this year was their Line-outs. Ludeke needs this guy more than he will ever realize…..because he is a bad coach

• 10.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

Matfield stay there because: The money is greener and also you have a many CurrieCup championships, a Super14 Title and Worldcup under your cap.
    Nothing more you can get from South Africa.

On the other hand if it was a shark player ” hell then you got alot to play for”
    No Curriecup… no Super14.

No wonder sharks run away to go play on other side of the world.

• 11.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Posted in Europe by Ryan

Showoff.

Could be Bosnia for all we know.

• 12.skunk: Reply to this comment

Vic is going to England.

• 13.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I see that one of the high priority action plans in the Bulls management’s “turnaround strategy” is to do everything possible to get Big Vic back in Pretoria.

And talk about getting business partners invovled to sponsor key players with more attractive offers has been doing the rounds for some time.

So I reckon Vic will get an offer from the Bulls that is much greater than any Bulls players has gotten before, plus he will be getting massive fringe benefits and sponsorships.

Still not equal to what this Boudelealalala character can offer, but hopefully enough to convince him to return home. Hopefully being the operating word…

• 14.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

#8 grootblousmile: Howzit , jou span het goed gespeel Saterdag. Dis hoe ek die Bulls ken.

• 15.FrenklyMuDeah: Reply to this comment

Between Bakkies and Matfield they don’t seem to know what they want. Perhaps they were confusing themeslves with line calls last year which is why the opposition couldn’t read them! Make sure the scrumhalf makes the line calls in French

• 16.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Ryan flashing his CT arrogance

youwhoo..europe

• 17.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Vic will play for boks this yr. Mark my words.

• 18.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Corporate sponsorships over and above union contracts is a must if the game in the Southern Hemisphere is going to survive

• 19.rangerman: Reply to this comment

if toulon are promoted, they can only have two foreigners playing for them at any time innit? so, who will they ditch? will it be the big lock they play at flank or one of the all blacks? arent they after fancy dan too?

• 20.King Shark: Reply to this comment

LOL Dawn!

Don’t know if it was intentional, but Europe is a category like Springboks, Super 14, Currie Cup…

• 21.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Vic is tailor-made for Snor City.

• 22.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Hooooowzit julle klomp stoutertjies!!!!

Dammit ek sukkel om hier op Keo uit te kom. Vrek besig. Anyways…….Vic kry jou gat in rat en in Pretoria. Miskien kan jy FL se kop bymekaar kry!!

• 23.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

G13G

Tell me, what’s life like there in NZ?

Standard of living and so on. What is the average salary of a management level graduate, say with a master’s degree?

And if you’ll be so kind, how does that compare to the average house price?

Just doing a bit of research, and tapping into your knowledge gained on the ground over there.

Appreciate the help.

Oh, and very importantly, do you get to see all the Bulls games over there?

• 24.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Tackler is tailor-made for a kakhuis…….

• 25.King Shark: Reply to this comment

Lekker Kwagga!

Ons het revenge gevat vir julle met die action cricket! Ek het daai windgat laaitie moer hard geboul! LOL!

• 26.Is It Batman? Is It Superman? No, Its Wonder Watson! AKA Saffa_Guy: Reply to this comment

#15 greatest13gerber:

I’m beginning to wonder whether you were once slapped around by a few Greenpoint Moffies hence all this CT contempt

• 27.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#13 Andre_WP: Ja dankie broeder, Bulls het met passie gespeel Saterdag.

Ek moet sê, ek is netso beindruk met jou span, hulle lyk of hulle nou die regte spoed beginne vang !

• 28.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Sharkie

Nee dis goed so. Het die eerste game die jaar teen hulle amper sy kop af geboul. Daarna was hy so mak soos n lammetjie met my….hehehehehe

• 29.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#27 KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Hello Pampierdier !

• 30.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

GBS

Dagsê ou grote. Hoop rerig ons bulletjies dra hierdie vorm oor na volgende naweek. Ons kan net baat daarby as ons n goeie laaste drie games het.

• 31.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

TheHeckler, true, was in “Snorcity” last week. Fitting name.

Vic musn’t come back to the disgrace that is the Bulls right now. Let us first work together to get rid of FL then we can look at it again. Those of us that have been humiliated and embarassed for the last few months must stand together to get FL fired.

It will take years for us to get over this lowest of lows. From champs of 2007 to the utter rubbish of 2008. We have never been so utterly humiliated as this season. So let’s first get rid of the first and biggest probelm i.e. Ludekak.

Once he is gone we can move on to phase two of salvaging what is left of our pride.

• 32.katman: Reply to this comment

#22 Tacitus: You leaving us? To join the other two stooges, tackler and g13g?

You know that the only lekker-luister ligte Afrikaanse vermaak over there is Jurie Els?

• 33.King Shark: Reply to this comment

Boys, ek hoop julle bewys ons n paar gunsies oor hierdie volgende week of twee! Julle kan die Waratahs en die Brumbies vir ons opdoner!

• 34.Ryan: Reply to this comment

Dawn 10 and G13G 10 – I certainly can’t help that the web guy set that line up to read Posted in Europe by Ryan. If you look at the other threads “Posted in Super 14 by Ryan” for example, you’ll see that I’m very much in CT flashing my arrogance. So Dawn, if you want those spanky pants and fake eyelashes you left at my place last night I’ll meet you in Thibault square at 1. G13G I’ve got a bag of personality for you … meet me at the same place.

• 35.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Tacticus

Listen very very carefully. It is NZ. If by odd chance you get invited to Jurie’s house for a ‘skaap boud’ be very very careful….hehehehehe

• 36.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

#30 BlueBlood:

Blueblood, I too am pissed off about the state of affairs, but one must be careful not to become a 2nd Skopskiet in his blind hatred of Jake White.

If Ludeke has indeed turned the corner, then I think we should wait and see what happens. If on the other hand, we keep stumbling along as we have until now, then he must go.

Lets see what happens next weekend first. A 30 point thumping of the Waratahs will go a long way in convincing me that the Bulls are back. A narrow victory on the other hand, will still leave me with a lot of doubts. And needless to say, a loss will mean Ludeke needn’t close the door on his way out.

• 37.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ooh, ryan hits back! good one ryan but maybe you should keep that bag of personality for yourself old chum.

• 38.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Bwahahahahahahaha. Nice one Ryan!!!! :lol:

• 39.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#29 KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Ja my mater, ek hoop ook die hoofligte is nou aangeskakel by die Bulls spelers en van hier af aan ry hulle nie meer op dimms nie.

Fokkkittt ons getroue Blou ondersteuners het al swaar gekry die seisoen !

• 40.stroebel: Reply to this comment

France versus Frans…. tough call

• 41.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Rangerman

How yo doin?

• 42.rangerman: Reply to this comment

howdy kwagga! well done to your team on the weekend.
    just to let you know, i am in touch with skunk and plan to help out.

• 43.katman: Reply to this comment

#33 Ryan: What are spanky pants? Do you get them at Adult World?

• 44.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

GBS

Baie jare laas soveel pakslae oor my span gekry maar ek is soos n olifant. Die wat nou uitdeel beter ****** koes kom die tyd dat die Bulle weer in volle vaart terug kom!!!!

• 45.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Rangerman.

Good stuff bud. Your mail sorted out? Same addie?

• 46.$: Reply to this comment

#22 Tacitus: the bulls games are shown Teusdays at 8 on New Zealand’s Funniest Home Videos.

• 47.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#43 KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Ja Kwagga, die wiel draai al draai hy stadig, ons beurt om shots uit te deel sal weer kom, een of ander tyd.

• 48.King Shark: Reply to this comment

Van Jurie Els gepraat:

Steve Hofmeyer, Patricia Lewis en Jurie Els stap in die veld. Hulle kom by n doringdraad en Jurie die sensitiewe gentleman hou die draad oop dat Patricia kan deurklim.

Met die deurklim haak haar bos hare vas en Steve sien n gap. Hy gryp haar beet en laat sy legacy voortleef. Toe hy klaar is gryp hy die draad en se vir Jurie: Vat so ou maat – jou beurt!

Jurie begin huil. Steve vra: “Nou wat nou”

Jurie: “My hare gaan nie vashaak nie!”

• 49.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

#45 $(the blogger formerly known as peanut): Same time as your attempt at “One night in Paris”

• 50.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

#47 King Shark

Hehehehehe. Goeies!!

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.