Matfield D-Day looms
22 Apr 2008
Victor Matfield will decide this week whether to return to the Bulls or stay with French second division club Toulon.
Matfield, widely regarded as the world’s best lock, joined big spending Toulon in December 2007 on a multi-million rand deal. He does, however, have a clause in his contract that allows him to reassess his position after six months.
In a recent interview with SA Rugby magazine Matfield hinted strongly that he would like to return to play for the Bulls, but said his earning potential and being able to spend more time with his family was the appealing thing about staying in the southern French city.
“Two or three seasons here would set me up for life financially and being able to see [his wife] Monja and [daughter] Jaime everyday is something I’m loving,” he said.
“[But] I think I made the move to France two years to early. The decision to come here was based on the fact that I believed I had two years of international rugby left in me. In my mind the Lions tour in 2009 was going to be my final series, so I decided that it would be good to finish by experiencing a different rugby culture and be paid handsomely for it in the process. Then, after the World Cup, I felt great, and at this stage I want to play for another four years, with the World Cup in New Zealand the obvious target. If I want to realise that goal I need to be playing my rugby in South Africa.
Asked whether the incessant pressure he was under in South Africa wouldn’t deter him from coming home Matfield said: “You’d think that I grew tired of it, but I really miss the pressure for some strange reason.
“To test yourself against the world’s best players weekly is a privilege, and something that I miss terribly. Toulon is a great club and I‘m still dead set on playing my part in getting us into the Top 14. They’ve been very good to me, and for that I’ll be eternally grateful. But the Bulls have a special place in my heart. I miss what we’ve built up over the last eight years. The majority of that squad went through hell in the early 2000s in the (then) Super 12. We came through that together, and won the competition last year. So there’s a strong bond between the guys.
“If I can get stuff sorted out with Toulon and back in South Africa I’ll probably be coming home.”
Last year, South Africa lost a host of World Cup winning Springboks to lucrative contracts with European clubs and there are currently 93 other South Africans playing in the Premiership, French Top 14 and Frennch Pro 2 Division. Matfield said players who sign to play in Europe have to be clear in their motivation.
“If they’re coming here for the retirement package and more time with their families, there really isn’t a better place than France, Toulon in particular. But if they still have ambitions to achieve something in South Africa, those “what if” questions will always be there. Those questions have haunted me a lot since I‘ve been here.”
Toulon are known to be very reluctant to release their star signing, hoping that he will be their trump card if they gain promotion to the Top 14 – which now looks likely with them seven points clear at the top of the table with six rounds remaining. It would not be surprising if millionaire club president Mourad Boudjellal offered to improve Matfield’s current deal to retain his services.
Boudjellal told SA Rugby Magazine that he envisages creating a team of stars who are able to compete for the title in their first year in the Top 14. Toulon, who are coached by Tana Umaga, already boast players of the calibre of George Gregan, Anton Oliver and Andrew Mehrtens. Last year they attempted to sign Schalk Burger and Jerry Collins but were rejected, while an approach was made to Bulls Super 14 winning coach Heyneke Meyer. Most recently they’ve been linked with Dan Carter, although French giants Toulouse look favourites to land the All Black flyhalf.
Matfield’s Springbok lock partner Bakkies Botha recently expressed his desire to move join Matfield at Toulon. Boudjellal told keo.co.za that he had signed a pre-contract agreement, committing himself to the club from 1 April 2008. However, the Bulls refused to release Botha, who last year signed a four year extension to his existing Bulls contract.

301 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All
22 Apr 2008, 14:42 pm
Ek sal maar die galgtou en die Jakarandaboom ding MOET doen met Ludeke……. want ek gaan nie vir 5 jaar opgeskeep sit met hierdie twakkies nie…….
#197 WP Till I Die: Ya, I hate those “draadsitting” bokd@se!
#192 Tacitus: Oh don’t you believe it – the Bulls won last week the faithful will flood Loftus again! It will be a while before Ludeke makes an exit!
22 Apr 2008, 14:43 pm
184/PissAnt
That was brilliant Sir, could not have wished for better.
22 Apr 2008, 14:45 pm
Thats the problem with this country. The majority accepts patheticness. If the govt. stuffs up people just accept it and sugarcoat it by saying things like ‘oh but it happens in Mongolia too’, ask Rangerman, the oke who justifies crime but saying that it is a worldwide problem.
Why should we accept Ludekak? No reason too. He had his chance. Jannie Botterbal could at least have made 6th or 7th spot with the Super14 champs.
The’aint, who calls their flyhalf liefling? Not the Bulls. Don’t even go there because the WP are the tinkerbells of SA rugby. Look at Bobby girl and Percy. Percy remains the only player to have the unique ability to always face the camera regardless of the direction he is running in.
#197 WP Till I Die:
And that is reason we love supporters like Tac and G13. True allegiance to the end.
#201 Gr8ter: The faithful? Surely you meant to say “two-timing sons of *******” hehe
#200 thesaint: They are not true supporters of the game! Just want to say they support a winning side when they are around a fire toasting a chop so they can fit in!
22 Apr 2008, 14:47 pm
Why coloureds can’t be terrorists:
We are always late. We would have missed all 4 flights.
“Mooi kinnes” on the plane would have distracted us.
We talk loud and would bring attention to ourselves.
Met free kos en cooldrink oppie plane, we’ll soema forget why we’re there.
We praat with our hands, so we’ll continually be putting the weapons down.
We would ALL want to fly the freaking plane, ending in a moerse fight with each other.
We’ll somma argue and start a fight in the terminal before we even get on the plane & one of us bound will say out loud: “Gaan kak man! dan hijack jy die ****** plane alleen!!
Os kannie ‘n secret hou nie. We would have told everyone a week before doing it, telling them: Moet vir niemand sê nie, ho!
We would have insisted that the plane fly past Strandfontein Pavillion.
We would have all lined up to get our photograph taken by one of the hostages.
When we enter the cockpit, we would have used the intercom system for a karaoke session, with one doos trying to sing ‘I did it my way”.
We would first rob everyone’s of their Ray-Bans, cellphones and goldteeth, just before we crash the plane.
Our whole freaking family plus neighbors would have been at the airport to see us off, crying their bladdie eyes out, and your mother saying to the white ou next to her: I’m so proud of him. It’s the first time he’s hijacking a plane!
We would have dressed like terrorists for our airport go-way clothes: balaclavas, jumpsuits, karate skoentjies, dark glasses, en ‘n moerse attitude.
Two of us would have forgotten our passports at home.
Three of us would have overweight luggage.
All of us would have luggage.
We would have all wanted to watch the in-flight movie finished first.
Before we went over into action, we would have all queued up at the toilet to first gel our hair.
We would have taken the plane for a joyride first, played the music at full blast and try to park the plane somewhere where kinnes can see us.
22 Apr 2008, 14:48 pm
Tac,
Van Graan is appointed by individuals over which you, and Joe Soap on the street has no influence over, unless of course, you are an active member of an affiliated club within the union.
Ludeke, is appointed on these very same principles.
The Lions has survived as a union through back-stabbing, baatjie vir boeties and similar tactics with only 5 people pitching up for games in the last 5 years, so it did not actually affect their bottom line now did it? So how will it affect the Bulls’?
The Lions, WP and SARU are 3 major entities within SA Rugby that has bordered on annual financial losses for more than a couple of years now, yet they still go about doing things exactly the same way things have been done in the last 20 years and even longer.
I remember telling you specifically during the whole Spears saga a while back that be careful on how you interpret decisions made, as was the case with the Spears, where tactics are used to stab people in the back and screw people out of opportunities, money and games, i.e. success in rugby – because if it is done today to one guy, nothing stops it from being done tomorrow to another guy, maybe even a guy that screwed guy A in the first place!
You can picket all you want to, you can exceed the Bill Gates emails of paying you $1 for every mail you forward with petitions, fact remains, these guys at the top, does not gives a rats *** what you do mate.
As long as they are in their positions of power, you are powerless.
Which brings me back to another thing I have told you and many others before; supporters in SA Rugby deserve exactly what they get from administrators in our game…
Because as long as their kak decision making does not affect you, you are happy and even defend it – as soon as it affects you however, which it surely will any supporter irrespective of what team you support, you want to picket and sign petitions…
22 Apr 2008, 14:49 pm
#203 BlueBlood: Are you denying that Derick Hougaard is “Die Liefling van Loftus?” and that he has his own theme song? That is sacriledge you better watch your back in Pretoria hey, I know a few oompies that will gut you like a fish…
Oh, and Percy and Bobby both lost their jobs at WP and went to the Sharks, we give them(the sharks) all the credit…
22 Apr 2008, 14:49 pm
I am Gods gift to rugby.
May as well be the headlines after reading the latest SA Rugby mag. Meyer will win every S14,or World Cup or Curry Cup or Pretoria North under 10 league, if only only he had been given the opportunity to put his vision into practice.
Thank you God, he is not the coach and Victor not the captain.
22 Apr 2008, 14:50 pm
#205 thesaint: Supportes are fickle – I went to Kings Park for home games when Natal played B division – would like to see most of the “fans” do that today!
22 Apr 2008, 14:51 pm
#203 BB
Pity that Bob and Percy must be brought up.
Skinstad had more natural talent in one finger than all the Bulls loosies combined.
Percy, who was booed at loftus, has certainly showed that they know f…all about rugby.
Danie and JP look like idiots so they play like idiots.
Province guys look sharp so they play sharp
22 Apr 2008, 14:52 pm
Woohoo!
22 Apr 2008, 14:54 pm
#211 Gr8ter: Same here, I am a Stormer, and will stay a Stormer, through good and bad, yes, we had bad, but the wheel always turns…
22 Apr 2008, 14:54 pm
#203 BlueBlood: And Wynan Olievier isn’t a poser????!!!! BB are full of them as well!
22 Apr 2008, 14:56 pm
OK, I’m out!
22 Apr 2008, 14:57 pm
#209 thesaint:
Thanks for giving Percy and Bobby to us, we developed them into world cup gold.
22 Apr 2008, 14:57 pm
#214 thesaint: The Lions are still trying to invent this wheel.
22 Apr 2008, 14:58 pm
Saint
Its def coaching! The Stormers only have a few new guys in the team. Last year players like Moller werent even mentioned! Look at him now that Rassie is there. Jantjies is playing some of the best rugby in his career! Coincidence? The locks? Rassie! Chavanga? Rassie! The list goes on. Ludeke has no inspiration at the Bulls! If the Lions and The Cheetahs won their close games they would have been mid table now! So you cant compare it!
22 Apr 2008, 14:59 pm
#214 thesaint: it does indeed – we had Kevin “Bloody” Putt for a while you had Kobus – the Lions & the Bulls had Frans ( pity BB didn’t learn from the Lions mistake).
22 Apr 2008, 14:59 pm
Only a Blue Bull supporter would ever challenge the pedigree of Percy or Bobby, Bob was never a favourite of mine but with all respect he was a great player! Percy on the other hand is on paper the according to stats that i think count the Best Springbok – most caps, most points, (i think most tries in Green and gold)!!! How can you muppets challenge this!!!
Are you trying to say you got to be an ugly F#$ck to play good rugby? Clearly it’s a Bulls requirement only!
22 Apr 2008, 15:00 pm
Ek’s freegin honger, ek forkoff nou om te gaan eet……… dink ek moet biltong ook gaan koop……. en kondensmelk…….. en sweets…….
22 Apr 2008, 15:03 pm
#219 THE MAULER: Too true – on paper a few years ago no one would have given the Cheetas a chance to win the CC – Rassie took a average team and made them great – I’m sure he will have the same effect in WP – its all about passion, belief and unity!
22 Apr 2008, 15:04 pm
Pissant
Van Graan is accountable for the financial performance of the Bulls. By the accounts of some of the players (Kuun, if I recall correctly), he flew over to Perth specifically to give the squad an earfull about the financial consequences of empty stadiums if they didn’t lift their game.
I disagree with you therefore. If the bottomline feels it, then the CEO feels it.
I cannot speak for the Lions or WP, but at the Bulls the effect of the supporters unhappiness – specifically their stay away action from the stadium – has had and will continue to have a significant impact.
Van Graan may stick it out to give Ludeke a more than fair chance to prove himself, but the pressure he is under is undeniable.
What happens at the Lions is anyone’s guess, as they ceased to be a major union about a decade ago. Let’s face it, they are in such a state that they struggle to attract and retain top players to their franchise.
The Bulls fans are FAR more volatile and impatient than the fans of any other union, and their tolerance for lack of performance seems to be very low. (Maybe because of the stark memories of the 90′s, a return of which they want to avoid at all costs.)
22 Apr 2008, 15:05 pm
You forgot their hooker, seriously is that the best they have .they should try and make jp nel a hooker
22 Apr 2008, 15:05 pm
middag moffies ……..
o, en middag aan al die stormers, sharks, lions en cheetahs ondersteuners!
22 Apr 2008, 15:07 pm
#219 THE MAULER: You’re right brother…… it’s coaching……
It’s making the team believe in the coach…….
It’s man-management and motivation.
It’s about not picking doooooooooose like Demas.
It’s about laying the law down about dicipline !
It’s about picking the right assistants to enhance / supplement the coaching staff.
It’s about Ludeke’s inability to do all the above !
22 Apr 2008, 15:08 pm
How does Warren Buffet put it? In the business world, the rear view mirror is a lot cleaner than the windscreen!
#14 Tacitus:
“The Bulls union’ success is built for the most part on structures and culture, rather than pure technical coaching expertise. In that context Ludeke’s appointment makes sense.
Especially if Meyer is envisaging returning at some point in the future as Director of Bulls Coaching.
Protecting the family culture at the Bulls is of primary concern. The results will follow after that.
As for the Bok position: Of course White is going to recommend whatever candidate will regard his own possible future involvement/influence most favourably.
Personally, given SARU’s rocky relationship with White, I reckon White’s recommendation might well be the final nail in the coffin for Allistair’s bid.
Teh smart money is still on Heyneke.”
22 Apr 2008, 15:09 pm
Oops, that didn’t work properly. Anyway, the comment byline should read:
14 Tacitus
December 5th, 2007 at 9:40 am
22 Apr 2008, 15:09 pm
Tac,
Mallet also flew over a year or so back and I remember some tongue lashing after a loss to Boland by WP a while back too.
IN a professional environment it does show at the end for sure, but unfortunately once the damage has been done like the case is with the Lions, it is almost impossible to reverse.
I simply believe that for all this to change, and for the supporters’ voices to truly mean something with actions as mentioned above, rugby needs a constitutional change at SARU level making the companies (unions) answerable to investors from all walks of life.
Until that happens, we are pissing against the wind mate.
22 Apr 2008, 15:11 pm
Privatise rugby !!
22 Apr 2008, 15:14 pm
WPTILLIDIE
What’s the point of that? I got it right that Allistair wouldn’t get the Bok job.
I said Heyenke would, and I was wrong by 1 vote. We all know the circumstances surrounding that decision.
As for Ludeke, well, he has been a disappointment, hasn’t he. That’s why I am in favour of the supporters insisting on drastic action.
22 Apr 2008, 15:15 pm
#227 grootblousmile: Sounds like the Bulls need kamp staaldraad!
You are right, but it’s also about different thinking and not drilling routines into teams, they need to use thier flair, the bulls have some great players but when you drill the natural flair out of players you basically remove sections of their skills tool box they need to differentiate themselves and win games! Good coaches playing the Bulls can read their rigid structure like a book and they pay for this approach to the game!
22 Apr 2008, 15:15 pm
It’s safe here on the ground, under the flying missiles.
22 Apr 2008, 15:17 pm
#228 WP Till I Die: Is that egg on Tac’s face?
22 Apr 2008, 15:17 pm
thesaint & WP till I die:
Super rugby:
2008 Bulls 16 Stormers 9
2007 Bulls 49 Stormers 12
2006 Bulls 43 Stormers 10
2005 Bulls 75 Stormers 14
22 Apr 2008, 15:19 pm
Im not saying Bobbygirl and Percy couldn’t play rugby or didn’t have talent. I am saying that they are tinkerbells who were afraid to get dirty.
We must kick FL now, or we will go back to those dark days of 1998 – 2001.
22 Apr 2008, 15:20 pm
#236 Eina bliksem!!!!! So hoe kuk is dan nou eintlik. Sien 2008 is ook n wen…..sjoe
22 Apr 2008, 15:22 pm
Egg on my face? For predicting a good S14 for a team full of World Cup and S14 champions?
If believing that such a team will do well is outrageous, then I fully accept that label. Any reasonable person, however, would no doubt believe otherwise.
In fact, Ladbrokes had the Bulls as 3rd favourites for the 2008 title, when the competition kicked off. So I guess I wasn’t completely alone in my thinking…
22 Apr 2008, 15:24 pm
#233 PlayBall: For sure, a head coach MUST have the vision to assess the strenghts and weaknesses in his group, to then decide on how to most effectively implement that so that the strenghts are enhanced and the weaknesses minimalised….
I say the head coach needs not be the most astute technical coach but a master tactitian and superb man-manager. His assistants however need to be excellent technical coaches.
For a looooooong time I have believed most of our coaches in SA has neglected flair and natural talent and wrongly forced overly rigid structures off on individual players and teams…….
22 Apr 2008, 15:25 pm
Bulls Stormers
1996 Semi Finalists 1999 Semi Finalists
2005 Semi Finalists 2004 Semi Finalists
2006 Semi Finalists
2007 Champs
22 Apr 2008, 15:25 pm
Tinkerbelle!
Just a matter of time before that came out.
22 Apr 2008, 15:27 pm
1998: Stormers 9th, Bulls 11th
1999: Stormers 2nd, Bulls 12th
2000: Stormers 5th, Bulls 11th
2001: Stormers 7th, Bulls 12th
2002: Stormers 7th, Bulls 12th
At least the Stormers were never, ever wooden spooners…
22 Apr 2008, 15:29 pm
Bulls
1996 Semi’s
2005 Semi’s
2006 Semi’s
2007 Champs
Stormers
1999 Semi’s
2004 Semi’s
22 Apr 2008, 15:30 pm
Ons MOES mos ‘n paar houtlepels bymekaarmaak om mee PAP te roer…….. daar innie Kaap eet julle mossie pap nie !
Hehehehe
22 Apr 2008, 15:33 pm
243-True, both teams have had their ups and downs. I’m trying to encourage some fact-based balance!
22 Apr 2008, 15:34 pm
Lions (Transvaal)
1993 – Champions
22 Apr 2008, 15:36 pm
Super Rugby ranking table, showing the ranking point positions of each team since the first Super 12 match in 1996:
1. Crusaders (87.6315)
2. Sharks (84.7636)
3. Chiefs (83.9305)
4. Waratahs (83.4056)
5. Hurricanes (82.9247)
6. Stormers (82.8433)
7. Brumbies (81.9590)
8. Blues (79.9765)
9. Bulls (78.2094)
10. Force (77.2454)
11. Reds (76.4332)
12. Cheetahs (74.3490)
13. Highlanders (73.4055)
14. Lions (72.9227)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All